Iowa DOT Quick Tour, February 2012

(2012) Iowa DOT Quick Tour, February 2012. Transportation, Department of


File Size:313kB


The Iowa DOT, created by the Iowa Legislature, began operating July 1, 1975. The newly formed Department of Transportation had a staff of 4,568 full-time equivalents (FTEs). These employees and their responsibilities came from the Highway Commission, Reciprocity Board, Aeronautics Commission, and parts of the Commerce Commission, Department of Revenue and Finance, Department of Public Safety and the Energy Policy Council. The Iowa DOT continually looks at ways to become more efficient in serving our customers. As a result, the current workforce equals approximately 2,818 full-time employees. The seven transportation commissioners set policy for the department and are appointed by the governor, with no more than four from one political party. Membership on the commission is gender-balanced. Commissioners are confirmed by the Iowa Senate and serve on a staggered basis for four-year terms. Commission meetings are usually held monthly in Ames. The meetings are open to the public and follow a printed agenda.

Item Type: Departmental Report
Keywords: Transportation, DOT, Quick Tour
Subjects: Transportation > Research
Transportation > Roads and highways
Transportation > Design and Construction
ID Code: 13586
Deposited By: Margaret Barr
Deposited On: 21 Aug 2012 15:46
Last Modified: 21 Aug 2012 15:46