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Over the Internet … 
Learn what you need to be a safe boat operator online!  
The complete course with exciting visuals awaits you on 
the Net. Interactive graphics help you learn and retain 

information on boating safely in Iowa. Successfully complete the online 
test, and you will receive an Iowa Department of Natural Resources 
boater education certificate by mail.

Start today at  www.boat-ed.com/ia

1.

A Course on Responsible Boating
Boater education certification is required by law 
for some Iowa boaters. Even if it’s not required for 
you, becoming certified  may  
save you money on boat 
insurance. You have 
three ways to be certified:

white boat >

By correspondence … 
Contact the Iowa Department of Natural Resources to 
find out about this home-study option.

Call  515-281-5918  for information  
3.

In a classroom … 
Share the learning experience with other interested 
students and a qualified instructor. Iowa Department of 

Natural Resources can help you find a classroom course in your area.

Call  515-281-5918  for information  
or visit  www.iowadnr.gov

2.
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It’s the LAW!LAW!

What is a vessel? 
In this handbook, the term “vessel” means every type 
of watercraft, other than a seaplane, used or capable of 
being used as a means of transportation on water or ice. 
What are the federal reservoirs in Iowa?
Federal Reservoirs in Iowa include Saylorville, Red Rock, 
Rathbun, and Coralville Reservoirs.
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Boating BASICSBASICS

Stay abreast of new boating laws …
For state boating law information,   ◆

contact the Iowa Department of 
Natural Resources at:

515-281-5918•	
www.iowadnr.go•	 v

For federal boating laws, visit  ◆

the U.S. Coast Guard’s boating safety website at: 
www.uscgboating.org

Information in this handbook does not replace what is specifically legal 
for boating in Iowa, which is found in Iowa Code and federal law.
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4 It’s the Law!

All operators are required to obey laws that  
regulate your vessel’s registration and operation.

Registering Your Vessel
You must have an Iowa Registration Certificate and regis- ◆

tration decals to operate a vessel on Iowa’s public waters 
legally. Exceptions to registration are:

Inflatable vessels that are 7 feet or less in length •	
Canoes and kayaks that are 13 feet or less in length and  •	
have no motor or sail
Vessels properly registered in another state and using •	
Iowa waters 
for 60 or fewer 
days within one 
calendar year

The Registration  ◆

Certificate 
(pocket-sized 
registration certificate) must be on board and available for 
inspection by an enforcement officer whenever the vessel is 
operated.
The registration number and registration decals must be  ◆

displayed as follows. 
Number must be painted, applied as a decal, or •	
otherwise affixed to the forward half of each side of the 
vessel, placed for maximum visibility.
No other numbers may be displayed on either side of •	
the bow.
Number must read from left to right on both sides of •	
the vessel.

Before Going Out  
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IA 3717 ZW   ■   

Number must be in at least 3-inch-high, bold, •	 BLOCK 
letters.
Number’s color must contrast with its background.•	
Letters must be separated from the numbers by a space •	
or hyphen: IA  3717  ZW or IA-3717-ZW.
Decals must be affixed on each side of the vessel, toward •	
the stern of the registration number, 4 inches from and 
in line with the number.

If a vessel is propelled by sail alone, the registration  ◆

number may be placed in a position to provide maximum 
visibility, including placement on the mast.
A sailboard is not required to display the registration  ◆

number, but the decal must be placed on the bottom 
surface of the bow of the sailboard.
If your vessel requires registration, it is illegal to operate it  ◆

or allow others to operate your vessel unless it is registered 
and numbered as described above.

■   IA 3717 ZW

Spaces or hyphens 
should appear here.

Registration Decal

13

450247

8

Vessel’s capacity 
number (see page 9)
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Where To Register
The Registration Certificate and registration decals are 
obtained by presenting the proper application form and 
fee to the County Recorder in the county of residence 
of the owner if the owner is an Iowa resident or in the 
county where the vessel is principally used if the owner is 
a non-resident.

Registration Questions?
Call the Iowa Department of Natural 
Resources at 515-281-5918.

Registration Fees
(renewal)

Type and Length of Vessel Fee
No Motor or Sail, any length $12.00
Motorboat or Sailboat

Less than 16 ft. long (Class I) $22.50
16 ft. to less than 26 ft. long (Class II) $36.00
26 ft. to less than 40 ft. long (Class III) $75.00
40 ft. long or longer (Class IV) $150.00

Personal Watercraft $45.00
Documented Vessel, any length $25.00
Note: An additional $1.25 writing fee is charged by the County 
Recorder for each registration.

Copyright © 2010 Boat Ed, www.boat-ed.com
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Other Facts About Titling and Registering
All vessels 17 feet long or longer must have a title when  ◆

purchased new, transferred, or a lien exists against the 
vessel. Inflatables, kayaks, and canoes are exempt from 
titling. 
A Registration Certificate is valid for three years and  ◆

expires on April 30th of the last calendar year of the regis-
tration period. Owners of vessels that have been registered 
previously may be sent a renewal notice to their residence.
If a numbered vessel is abandoned or destroyed, or if  ◆

the owner’s address or name is changed, the owner must 
notify the County Recorder within 10 days of the event.
If you lose or destroy your Registration Certificate or  ◆

decals, you must apply for a duplicate and pay a $1.00 
duplicate fee plus a $1.25 writing fee.
A vessel that has an expired registration certificate from  ◆

another state may be registered in Iowa when the owner 
submits the proper application, payment of all applicable 
registration and writing fees, and payment of a $5.00 
penalty. 
Larger recreational vessels owned by U.S. citizens may  ◆

(at the option of the owner) be documented by the U.S. 
Coast Guard. Call the USCG at 1-800-799-8362 for 
more information. Documented vessels also must be 
registered and display only the registration decals.

Copyright © 2010 Boat Ed, www.boat-ed.com
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Buying or Selling a Vessel
The steps for transferring ownership 
of a vessel are essentially the same 
whether the “seller” is a marine 
dealer or the “buyer” is an indi-
vidual purchasing a pre-owned vessel from an 
individual “seller.” 

The “seller” must complete the form on the back of the  ◆

Registration Certificate and deliver it to the “buyer” at the 
same time the vessel is delivered. If the vessel is titled, the 
“seller” also must sign the back of the certificate of title 
and deliver it to the “buyer,” with an assignment on it 
showing the title in the buyer’s name. 
The “buyer” must apply for the transfer of registration, or  ◆

for original registration of a new vessel, within 30 days of 
the purchase. In the case of a new vessel, the “buyer” may 
operate the vessel without displaying a registration number 
for a period of not more than 35 days after the purchase 
date, provided the vessel has attached a sign available from 
the dealer bearing the words “Registration Applied For,” 
the special certificate number of the dealer, and the date 
of purchase. Vessels may not be on Iowa waters without a 
current Registration Certificate and decals.
No vessel will be registered by the County Recorder until  ◆

receipts, bills of sale, and the seller’s current registration 
and title have been presented to the Recorder. 

If the vessel is purchased new from a dealer, the M.S.O. •	
or M.C.O. and a bill of sale are required. 
If the vessel is already titled, the original title is required. •	
If the vessel has an expired registration from another •	
state, an additional $5.00 penalty fee is required.

FOR SALE
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display of Vessel Capacity
The passenger capacity of a vessel must be painted on or  ◆

attached to the starboard (right) side of the vessel within 
9 inches of the transom and be clearly visible above the 
waterline when the vessel is fully loaded. The displayed 
passenger capacity must match the passenger capacity 
designated on the Registration Certificate.

Most vessels have a U.S. Coast Guard or manufac- ◆

turer’s plate that shows capacity in number of persons 
(see “Vessel Capacity” on page 38). This is the capacity 
number that must be on the Registration Certificate and 
displayed on the right side of the vessel. If a vessel does 
not have a capacity plate, the capacity of the vessel is the 
“operator’s responsibility” and the letters OR must be on 
the Registration Certificate and displayed on the vessel 
instead of a capacity number.
The displayed capacity number (or  ◆ OR) must be the 
same size as the registration number on the bow.
It is illegal to deface, destroy, remove, or alter a vessel’s  ◆

capacity plate.

8

Vessel’s capacity number

■   IA 3717 ZW

Copyright © 2010 Boat Ed, www.boat-ed.com
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Hull Identification number
The Hull Identification Number 
(HIN) is a unique, 12-digit 
number assigned by the manu-
facturer to vessels built after 
1972. 

Hull Identification Numbers  ◆

distinguish one vessel from 
another. They are engraved 
or stamped in the hull transom, or on a metal plate 
attached to the transom, or are printed on inflated rafts 
and kayaks.
Record the HIN and put in a place separate from your  ◆

vessel in case warranty problems arise or your vessel is 
stolen.
If your vessel is homemade, the County Recorder may  ◆

issue you a HIN, which you then must affix permanently 
to the transom.
It is illegal to  ◆

destroy, remove, 
cover, or mutilate a 
HIN.

Marine Events
Permits for regattas,  ◆

motorboat or other 
boat races, marine parades, tournaments, or exhibitions 
to be held on Iowa state waters must be obtained by 
applying to the Iowa Department of Natural Resources at 
least 30 days in advance of the event. If the event is being 
held on federally controlled waters, a permit from the 
U.S. Coast Guard is required also.
The permit application for an event to be held on Iowa  ◆

state waters is available online at: 
www.iowadnr.com/law/boating/permits.html.

 ABC  67689  B6  06

   Hull Serial       Model 
  Number  Year
Manufacturer’s  Date of 
  Identification   Manufacture
     Code
     (MIC)
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Who May Operate a Vessel
A person under 12 years of age ◆  may operate a vessel 
propelled by a motor of more than 10 horsepower, 
including a personal watercraft, only if he or she is accom-
panied on board by a responsible person who is at least 18 
years old and experienced in operating the vessel.
A person 12 years of age or older but younger than 18  ◆

years of age may operate a vessel propelled by a motor of 
more than 10 horsepower, including a personal watercraft, 
only if he or she:

Has successfully completed a boater education course •	
approved by the Iowa Department of Natural Resources 
or …
Is accompanied on board by a responsible person who •	
is at least 18 years old and experienced in operating the 
vessel.

Persons required to  ◆

have successfully 
completed a boater 
education course must 
carry their boater 
education certificate 
on board and make it 
available upon request by an enforcement officer. 
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Required Equipment 
When preparing to go out on a vessel, first  
check that the legally required equipment is on board.

Life Jackets
All vessels must have at least one USCG–approved Type I,  ◆

II, III, or V life jacket for each person on board.
In addition to the above requirement, one USCG– ◆

approved throwable flotation device must be on board 
vessels 16 feet or longer except canoes or kayaks. 

Each person on board a personal watercraft (PWC) or  ◆

being towed behind a vessel on water skis, a surfboard, or 
similar device must wear a USCG–approved Type I, II, 
III, or V life jacket. Inflatable life jackets are not approved 
for persons on PWCs or being towed. Windsurfers are 
not required to wear a life jacket.
Life jackets must have a legible USCG approval tag and be: ◆

In good and serviceable condition.•	  Life jackets must not 
have a torn or missing strap; punctured flotation bag; 
waterlogged flotation material; rotted material in straps, 
webbing, or cover; missing laces; missing hardware; 
torn or perforated envelope; torn stitching; or any 
other condition that impairs the operating efficiency. 
Inflatable life jackets must have operable gas cartridges. 
Readily accessible,•	  which means you are able to put the 
life jacket on quickly in an emergency. 
Of the proper size for the intended wearer.•	  Sizing for life 
jackets is based on body weight and chest size.

Children Must Wear Life Jackets: While underway on a 
recreational vessel on any Iowa waters, a child under 13 
years old must wear a USCG–approved life jacket unless 
the child is below deck or in an enclosed cabin.

Copyright © 2010 Boat Ed, www.boat-ed.com
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TYPE I: Offshore Life Jackets
These vests are geared for rough or 
remote waters where rescue may take 
awhile. They provide the most buoyancy, 
are excellent for flotation, and will turn 
most unconscious persons face up in the 
water.

TYPE II: near-Shore Vests
These vests are good for calm waters 
when quick rescue is likely. A Type II 
may not turn some unconscious wearers 
face up in the water.

TYPE III: Flotation Aids
These vests or full-sleeved jackets are 
good for calm waters when quick rescue 
is likely. They are not recommended for 
rough waters since they will not turn 
most unconscious persons face up. 

TYPE IV: Throwable Flotation devices
These cushions and ring buoys are 
designed to be thrown to someone in 
trouble. Since a throwable flotation 
device is not designed to be worn, it is 
neither for rough waters nor for persons 
who are unable to hold onto it.

TYPE V: Special-Use devices
These vests, deck suits, hybrid life 
jackets, and others are designed for 
specific activities such as windsurfing, 
kayaking, or water-skiing. To be accept-
able, Type V life jackets must be used in 
accordance with their label.

Note: Inflatable life jackets are not 
approved for use by persons under the age 
of 16.

Copyright © 2010 Boat Ed, www.boat-ed.com
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navigation Lights
The required navigation lights must be displayed between 
sunset and sunrise and whenever the weather reduces 
visibility.
Power-driven Vessels When Underway
If less than 65.6 feet long, these vessels must exhibit the 
lights as shown in illustration 1. Remember, power-driven 
vessels include sailboats operating under engine power. The 
required lights are:

Red and green sidelights visible from a distance of at least  ◆

two miles away—or if less than 39.4 feet long, at least one 
mile away—on a dark, clear night.
An all-round white light or both a masthead light and a  ◆

sternlight. These lights must be visible from a distance 
of at least two miles away on a dark, clear night. The 
all-round white light (or the masthead light) must be at 
least 3.3 feet higher than the sidelights.

Sailboats When Underway 
If less than 65.6 feet long, these vessels must exhibit the 
lights as shown in illustration 2. The required lights are:

Red and green sidelights visible from a distance of at least  ◆

two miles away—or if less than 39.4 feet long, at least one 
mile away—on a dark, clear night.
A sternlight visible from at least two miles away. ◆

Manually Powered Vessels When Underway 
Manually powered vessels are boats that are paddled, poled, 
or rowed. If less than 23.0 feet long, these vessels should 
exhibit a white light visible for 360° around the horizon and 
visible from a distance of at least one mile away if operating 
on natural lakes, Corps of Engineers impoundments, border 
rivers, or impoundments on inland rivers. If this light is 
partially obscured due to the nature of the vessel, an addi-
tional white light must be on hand to be shown in sufficient 
time to prevent a collision.
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1. Power-driven Vessels Less Than 65.6 Feet

2. Sailboats Less Than 65.6 Feet

Vessel operators should 
never leave shore without 
a flashlight. Even if you 
plan to return before dark, 
unforeseen developments 
might delay your return 
past nightfall.

3. Manually Powered Vessels Less Than 23.0 Feet

An alternative 
to the sidelights 
and sternlight is a 
combination red, 
green, and white 
light, which must be 
exhibited near the 
top of the mast.

Less than 39.4 feet only

The masthead light and 
sternlight may be combined 
as an all-round white light on 
vessels less than 39.4 feet long. 

All Vessels When not Underway 
All vessels are required to display a white light visible for 
360° around the horizon whenever they are moored or 
anchored outside a designated mooring area between sunset 
and sunrise.

Copyright © 2010 Boat Ed, www.boat-ed.com
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Fire Extinguishers
All vessels on federally controlled waters (see page 19) are  ◆

required to have a Type B fire extinguisher(s) on board if 
one or more of the following conditions exist:

Inboard engine•	
Double bottoms not sealed to the hull or not filled •	
completely with flotation materials
Closed living spaces•	
Closed compartments where flammable or combustible •	
materials may be stored
Permanently installed fuel tanks•	

Vessels on Iowa state waters are required to have a Type B  ◆

fire extinguisher(s) on board if the vessel is propelled by 
an outboard motor of greater than 10 horsepower.
Approved types of fire extinguishers are identified by the  ◆

following marking on the label—“Marine Type USCG 
Approved”—followed by the type and size symbols and 
the approval number.
Extinguishers must be placed in an accessible area—not  ◆

near the engine or in a compartment. Check all extin-
guishers regularly to make sure they are charged.

Fire Extinguisher Requirements
 Classification Foam Carbon Dioxide Dry Chemical 
 type & size minimum gallons minimum pounds minimum pounds 
 B-I 1¼ 4 2 
 B-II 2½ 15 10

  Without  With 
Length of Vessel Fixed System  Fixed System* 
Less than 26 ft.  one B-I None
26 ft. to less than 40 ft.  two B-I or one B-II one B-I
40 ft. to less than 65 ft.  three B-I or  two B-I or  
   one B-II and one B-I one B-II
 * refers to a permanently installed fire extinguisher system
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On this style of fire extinguisher, 
the needle indicator should be in 
the “full” range.

Fire Extinguisher Charge Indicators

green button

Check the charge level of your fire extinguishers regularly. 
Replace them immediately if they are not fully charged.

To check this style of extinguisher, depress the 
green button. If it is fully charged, the green 
button should pop back out immediately.

Copyright © 2010 Boat Ed, www.boat-ed.com
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Backfire Flame Arrestors
Backfire flame arrestors are 
designed to prevent the ignition 
of gasoline vapors in case the 
engine backfires. 

On Iowa state waters, all  ◆

powerboats (except outboards) 
that are fueled with a volatile 
liquid (such as gasoline) must 
have an approved backfire flame arrestor, backfire trap, or 
similar device on each carburetor. 
Backfire flame arrestors must be: ◆

In good and serviceable condition •	 and …
U.S. Coast Guard–approved (must comply with SAE •	
J-1928 or UL 1111 standards).

Periodically clean the flame arrestor(s) and check for  ◆

damage.
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Ventilation Systems
The purpose of ventilation systems is to avoid explosions 
by removing flammable gases. Properly installed ventila-
tion systems 
greatly reduce 
the chance of a 
life-threatening 
explosion.

All vessels with gaso- ◆

line-powered engines operating on federally controlled 
waters, and constructed in a way that would entrap 
fumes, must have at least two ventilation ducts fitted 
with cowls to remove the fumes. On Iowa state waters, 
every powerboat, except open boats, using any liquid of a 
volatile nature as fuel, must be provided with the means 
for properly and efficiently ventilating the bilges of the 
engines and fuel tank compartments so as to remove any 
explosive or flammable gases.
If your vessel is equipped with a power ventilation system,  ◆

turn it on for at least four minutes both after fueling and 
before starting your engine. 
If your vessel is not equipped with a power ventilation  ◆

system (for example, a personal watercraft), open the 
engine compartment and sniff for gasoline fumes before 
starting the engine.

Federally Controlled Waters
Vessels must observe federal requirements on these waters:

Coastal waters•	
The Great Lakes•	
Territorial seas•	
Waters which are two miles wide or wider and are •	
connected directly to one of the above
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Mufflers and noise Limits
The exhaust of every internal combustion engine on any  ◆

powerboat must be effectively muffled by equipment 
constructed and in use to reasonably muffle vessel noise. 
Powerboats must meet the following SAE sound level  ◆

tests.
Stationary sound level test: Engines manufactured •	
before January 1, 1993, must not exceed a noise level of 
90 dBA. Engines manufactured on or after January 1, 
1993, must not exceed a noise level of 88 dBA.
Shoreline sound level test: Engines must not exceed a •	
noise level of 75 dBA.

All muffling devices used on powerboats must be in  ◆

good working order and in constant operation to prevent 
excessive or unusual noise.
The use of cutouts is prohibited, except for vessels  ◆

competing in an authorized marine event.

Sound-Producing devices
In periods of reduced visibility or whenever a vessel operator 
needs to signal his or her intentions or position, a sound-
producing device is essential. 

If on State Waters or on the Mississippi River, Missouri River, 
or Federal Reservoirs*
Less than 16 feet long 
(Class I)

None required, but at least a 
whistle is recommended

16 feet long or longer 
but less than 26 feet long 
(Class II)

Whistle or other sound-producing 
device required

26 feet long or longer 
(Class III or IV)

Whistle or other sound-producing 
device and a bell required

* Federal reservoirs in Iowa include Saylorville, Red Rock, 
Rathbun, and Coralville Reservoirs.
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Sound Signals
Some common sound signals that you should be familiar 
with as a recreational boater are as follows.

Changing Direction
One short blast•	  tells other boaters “I intend to pass you 
on my port (left) side.”
Two short blasts•	  tell other boaters “I intend to pass you 
on my starboard (right) side.”
Three short blasts•	  tell other boaters “I am backing up.”

Restricted Visibility
One prolonged blast•	  at intervals of not more than two 
minutes is the signal used by power-driven vessels when 
underway.
One prolonged blast plus two short blasts•	  at intervals 
of not more than two minutes is the signal used by 
sailing vessels.

Warning
One prolonged blast•	  is a warning signal (for example, 
used when coming around a blind bend or exiting a 
slip).
Five (or more) short, rapid blasts•	  signal danger or 
signal that you do not understand or that you disagree 
with the other boater’s intentions.

If on Federally Controlled Waters
Less than 65.6 feet long 
(includes PWCs)

Whistle or horn audible for at least 
one-half mile required

65.6 feet long or longer Whistle or horn and a bell audible 
for at least one mile required
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Visual distress Signals (VdSs)
Visual Distress Signals (VDSs) allow vessel operators to signal 
for help in the event of an emergency. 

VDSs are not required on Iowa state waters, but it is  ◆

strongly recommended that you carry VDSs on your vessel.
Vessels on federally controlled waters must be equipped  ◆

with visual distress signals that are U.S. Coast Guard–
approved, in serviceable condition, and readily accessible.
All vessels, regardless of length or type, are required to  ◆

carry night signals when operating between sunset and 
sunrise. Most vessels must carry day signals also; excep-
tions to the requirement for day signals are:

Recreational vessels that are less than 16 feet in length•	
Non-motorized open sailboats that are less than 26 feet •	
in length
Manually propelled vessels•	

If pyrotechnic VDSs are used, a minimum of three must  ◆

be carried in the vessel. Pyrotechnic VDSs must be dated 
and may not be carried past their expiration date.
The following combinations of signals are examples of  ◆

VDSs that could be carried on board to satisfy U.S. Coast 
Guard requirements:

Three handheld red flares (day and night)•	
One handheld red flare and two red meteors (day and •	
night)
One handheld orange smoke signal (day), two floating •	
orange smoke signals (day), and one electric light (night 
only)

It is prohibited to display visual distress signals while  ◆

on the water unless assistance is required to prevent 
immediate or potential danger to persons on board.

Copyright © 2010 Boat Ed, www.boat-ed.com



23It’s the Law!

 Electric Light Orange Flag
 Night Signal Day Signal

VDSs are classified as day signals (visible in bright 
sunlight), night signals (visible at night), or both day and 
night signals. VDSs are either pyrotechnic (smoke and 
flames) or non-pyrotechnic (non-combustible). 

Arm Signal
Although this signal 
does not meet VDS 
equipment require-
ments, wave your 
arms to summon 
help if you do not 
have other distress 
signals on board.

Pyrotechnic Visual distress Signals

Orange Smoke Red Meteor Red Flare
 Day Signal Day and Night Signal Day and Night Signal

non-Pyrotechnic Visual distress Signals
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On the Water

Unlawful Operation of a Vessel
In Iowa, these dangerous operating practices are illegal.

Reckless or Negligent Operation ◆  of a vessel or the 
reckless manipulation of water skis, a surfboard, or similar 
device is operating in a manner that causes danger to the 
life, limb, or property of any person. 
Improper Speed or Distance  ◆ (the most common 
violation) is not maintaining a proper speed or distance 
while operating a vessel. Specifically, it is illegal to operate 
a vessel:

At greater than “slow, no wake speed” in any posted “no •	
wake zone”
At greater than 5 miles per hour (mph) within 100 feet •	
of another vessel that is underway at 5 mph or less
At greater than 5 mph within 50 feet of another vessel •	
that is underway at greater than 5 mph
At greater than 10 mph unless vision is unobstructed for •	
at least 200 feet ahead
At greater than 10 mph within 300 feet of shore (except •	

“Slow, No Wake Speed”—This is a speed at which 
the vessel does not produce a wake. “Wake” means any 
movement of water created by a vessel that adversely 
affects the activities of another person or that may 
adversely affect the natural features of the shoreline.

Top Three Violations by Iowa Boaters
Various registration violations ◆

Inadequate life jackets ◆

Improper speed or distance ◆
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in specially zoned areas) on any inland lake or federal 
impoundment
At greater than 25 mph between one-half hour after •	
sunset and sunrise on any lake in Dickinson County
At greater than 10 mph between one hour after sunset •	
and one hour before sunrise on Lake Delhi

Overloading  ◆ is loading the vessel with more passengers 
and crew than the capacity number recorded on the 
Registration Certificate. It is illegal to operate a vessel if 
its capacity would be exceeded by the persons in the vessel 
plus the persons being towed on water skis, a surfboard, or 
similar device.
Overpowering ◆  is powering the vessel beyond the recom-
mended carrying horsepower shown on the capacity plate 
installed by the vessel manufacturer. 
Interference with Search or Rescue ◆  is operating a vessel 
in areas where search-and-rescue operations are being 
conducted or in an area affected by a natural disaster, 
unless authorized to be there by the officer in charge of 
the operation. If authorized to enter, you must operate 
your vessel at a “slow, no wake speed” and keep clear of 
all vessels engaged in the search-and-rescue or disaster 
operation.
Leaving Vessel Unattended ◆  is leaving an unattended 
vessel tied or moored to a dock that is located imme-
diately adjacent to a public boat launching ramp or to 
a dock that is posted for loading and unloading. It also 
is illegal to leave a vessel anchored away from the shore 
and unattended unless it is attached to a legal mooring 
buoy. Permits are required for using a mooring buoy. 
Applications may be obtained through the Iowa DNR.

Remember—As an owner of a vessel, you are respon-
sible for any injury or damage caused by the negligent 
operation of your vessel.
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diver-down Flag
Scuba divers, skin divers, and snorkelers must display a  ◆

diver-down flag that marks their diving area. 
Vessels not engaged in diving operations must stay at least  ◆

50 feet away from a displayed diver-down flag.
Two types of flags are used to indicate diving activity. ◆

Obstructing navigation
It is illegal to:

Operate any vessel in such a way that it will interfere  ◆

unnecessarily with the safe navigation of other vessels.
Anchor a vessel in the traveled portion of a river or  ◆

channel in a way that will prevent or interfere with any 
other vessel passing through the same area.
Moor or attach a vessel to a buoy (other than a mooring  ◆

buoy), beacon, light, or any other navigational aid placed 
on public waters by proper authorities.
Move, displace, tamper with, damage, or destroy any  ◆

navigational aid.
Obstruct a pier, wharf, boat ramp, or access to any facility. ◆

Homeland Security Restrictions 
Do not approach within 100 yards and slow to minimum  ◆

speed within 500 yards of any U.S. Naval vessel. If you 
need to pass within 100 yards of a U.S. Naval vessel for 

divers Flag
A rectangular red flag with a 
white diagonal stripe, attached 
to a vessel, float, or buoy

Alfa Flag
A blue and white 
International Code Flag A 
(or Alfa flag), flown from a 
vessel

Copyright © 2010 Boat Ed, www.boat-ed.com



27It’s the Law!

safe passage, you must contact the U.S. Naval vessel or the 
USCG escort vessel on VHF-FM channel 16. 
Observe and avoid all  ◆

security zones. Avoid 
commercial port 
operation areas, espe-
cially those that involve 
military, cruise-line, or 
petroleum facilities.
Observe and avoid other restricted areas near dams, power  ◆

plants, etc. 
Do not stop or anchor beneath bridges or in the channel.  ◆

Keep a sharp eye out for anything out of the ordinary.  ◆

Report all activities that seem suspicious to the local 
authorities, the U.S. Coast Guard, or the port or marina 
security.

Enforcement
Iowa Department of Natural 
Resources conservation officers 
have the authority to enforce 
Iowa’s boating laws. The U.S. 
Coast Guard also has enforce-
ment authority on federally controlled waters.

Officers have the authority to stop and inspect a vessel  ◆

being launched, being operated, or being moored on Iowa 
waters to determine whether the vessel is properly regis-
tered, numbered, and equipped.
Officers may board a vessel in the course of an inspection  ◆

if the operator is unable to supply visual evidence that the 
vessel is properly registered and equipped.
It is illegal to fail to bring your vessel to a stop, or to  ◆

attempt to elude an officer, after being given a visual and 
audible signal to stop. An officer may signal you to stop 
by displaying a blue light or flashing blue and red lights, 
or by sounding a horn or siren.
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Alcohol and drugs
Iowa law prohibits anyone from 
boating while intoxicated (BWI). 
This includes the operation of 
any vessel or manipulation of any 
water skis, surfboard, or similar 
device while under the influence 
of alcohol; marijuana; a narcotic, hypnotic, or other drug; 
or any combination of these substances. Alcohol and drugs 
cause impaired balance, blurred vision, poor coordination, 
impaired judgment, and slower reaction time. 

Iowa law states that a person is considered to be boating  ◆

while intoxicated (BWI) if he or she:
Is under the influence of alcohol or other drug or a •	
combination of such substances or …
Has a blood, breath, or urine alcohol concentration of •	
0.10% or more or …
Has any amount of a controlled substance present in his •	
or her person, as measured in blood or urine.

Iowa law establishes the following penalties for BWI. ◆

Upon a first conviction, a person may be fined up to •	
$1,000, jailed for at least 48 hours, and prohibited from 
operating a vessel for one year.
Upon a second conviction, a person may be fined up to •	
$5,000, jailed for at least 7 days, and prohibited from 
operating a vessel for two years.
Upon the third and subsequent convictions, a person •	
may be fined up to $7,500, jailed for up to one year, 
and prohibited from operating a vessel for six years.
In addition, persons convicted of BWI will be assigned •	
to substance abuse evaluation/treatment and must 
attend a course for drinking drivers.
Persons convicted of BWI who caused the death or •	
injury of someone will receive severe penalties in 
addition to those above.

Don’t Drink and Boat!

For your  
safety and the safety  
of your passengers … 
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By operating a vessel on Iowa waters, you have given  ◆

“implied” consent to alcohol testing. For a first offense 
of refusing to be tested, you can be fined up to $500 and 
lose your operating privileges for up to one year.

Boating Accidents and Casualties
An operator involved in a boating accident must: ◆

Stop his or her vessel •	 immediately at the scene of the 
accident and … 
Assist anyone injured or in danger from the accident, •	
unless doing so would seriously endanger his or her own 
vessel or passengers and …
Give, in writing, his or her name, address, and vessel •	
identification to anyone injured and to the owner of any 
property damaged by the accident.

Vessel operators involved in an accident must report the  ◆

accident to the Iowa Department of Natural Resources 
(IDNR). 

The operator must report the accident in writing to •	
IDNR within 48 hours of the occurrence in cases that 
result in death, disappearance, or personal injuries 
requiring medical treatment.
The operator must report the accident in writing to •	
IDNR within five days if damage to the vessel and/or 
other property exceeds $2,000.

Accidents should be reported on accident report  ◆

forms available from the Iowa Department of Natural 
Resources. Report forms are available online on IDNR’s 
website: www.iowadnr.gov.

Top Three Boating Accidents in Iowa
A boat collides with an object while cruising. ◆

A water-skier, tuber, or kneeboarder falls. ◆

A boat is operated in a reckless manner. ◆
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discharge of Trash
It is illegal to dump refuse, garbage, or plastics into  ◆

any state or federally controlled waters. Store trash in a 
container on board, and place it in a proper receptacle on 
shore. 
If boating on federally controlled waters and your vessel  ◆

is 26 feet or longer, you must display a Garbage Disposal 
Placard that is at least 4 x 9 inches and notifies passengers 
and crew about discharge restrictions. 

discharge of Oil and Other Hazardous Substances
You are not allowed to discharge oil or hazardous  ◆

substances into the water.
You are not allowed to dump oil into the bilge of the  ◆

vessel without means for proper disposal. 
You must dispose of oil waste at an approved reception  ◆

facility. On recreational vessels, a bucket or bailer is 
adequate for temporary storage.
If boating on federally controlled waters and your vessel  ◆

is 26 feet or longer, you must display a 5 x 8-inch placard 
near the bilge pump switch stating the Federal Water 
Pollution Control Act’s law.

If your vessel discharges oil or hazardous 
substances into the water:

Immediately call the U.S. Coast Guard at  ◆

1-800-424-8802. 
Also notify the Iowa Department of Natural  ◆

Resources, Emergency Response Unit by calling  
515-281-8694.
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discharge of Sewage and Waste 
If you have a recreational vessel with installed toilet facili- ◆

ties, it must have an operable marine sanitation device 
(MSD) on board.

Vessels 65 feet long or less may use a Type I, II, or III •	
MSD. 
Vessels over 65 feet long must install a Type II or III •	
MSD. 

All installed devices must be U.S. Coast Guard–certified.  ◆

Types of MSds

There are three types of MSDs.

Types I and II MSDs are usually found on large  ◆

vessels. Waste is treated with special chemicals to kill 
bacteria before the waste is discharged. Types I and 
II MSDs with “Y” valves that would direct the waste 
overboard must be secured so that the valve cannot be 
opened. This can be done by placing a lock or non-
reusable seal on the “Y” valve or by taking the handle 
off the “Y” valve in a closed position.

Type III MSDs provide no treatment and are either  ◆

holding tanks or portable toilets. Collected waste 
should be taken ashore and disposed of in a pump-out 
station or onshore toilet.

Drainage to  
pump-out station

“Y” valve 
must be 
secured
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Aquatic nuisance Species
Introducing non-native species  ◆

into Iowa waters can upset the 
balance of the ecosystem, thereby 
harming the environment. 
Aquatic nuisance species, such as  ◆

zebra mussels, quagga mussels, milfoil, and hydrilla, 
most often spread between waterways by hitching a 
ride on vessels and trailers. When transplanted into 
new waters, these organisms proliferate, displacing 
native species and damaging the water resource. 
In Iowa, it is illegal to possess, introduce, purchase, sell,  ◆

or transport aquatic nuisance species. It also is illegal 
to operate a vessel in a marked aquatic nuisance species 
infestation area. A person violating any of these regula-
tions is subject to a $500 fine. 
To help protect Iowa waters: ◆

Inspect your boat, trailer, and equipment and remove •	
any visible plants, animals, or mud before leaving the 
area.
Drain the water from your boat, motor, live well, and •	
bilge on land before leaving the area.
Dispose of unwanted bait in the trash. Never release •	
fish, animals, or plants into a body of water unless 
they came from that body of water.
Rinse or dry your boat, trailer, and fishing equipment •	
to remove or kill species that were not visible when 
you left a body of water. Before transporting to 
another body of water, rinse your vessel with high 
pressure and/or hot (104° F) water or air-dry it for at 
least five days.
Learn to identify aquatic nuisance species, and report •	
any suspected sightings to the nearest DNR fisheries 
station.
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Specifically for PWCs
PWC operators must obey additional legal requirements that 
apply specifically to the operation of personal watercraft on 
Iowa waters. 

Requirements Specific to PWCs
Each person  ◆

on board a 
personal water-
craft must 
wear a USCG–
approved Type 
I, II, III, or 
V life jacket. 
Inflatable life 
jackets are not 
approved for use on PWCs.
PWCs may not be operated between sunset and sunrise. ◆

If the PWC is equipped with a lanyard-type ignition  ◆

safety switch, it must be maintained in an operable 
condition and must be attached to the person, clothing, 
or life jacket of the operator whenever the PWC is running 
and in use.
It is illegal to operate a PWC in a careless, reckless,  ◆

or negligent manner that endangers the life, limb, or 
property of anyone. For example, it is illegal to operate:

At greater than “slow, no wake speed” in any posted “no •	
wake zone”
At greater than 5 miles per hour (mph) within 100 feet •	
of another vessel that is underway at 5 mph or less
At greater than 5 mph within 50 feet of another vessel •	
that is underway at greater than 5 mph
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At greater than 10 mph unless vision is unobstructed for •	
at least 200 feet ahead
At greater than 10 mph within 300 feet of shore (except •	
in specially zoned areas) on any inland lake or federal 
impoundment

It is illegal to chase or harass wildlife with a PWC. ◆

Remember—there are age and boater education restric-
tions for PWC operators:

A person under 12 years of age ◆  may operate a PWC 
only if accompanied on board by a responsible person 
at least 18 years old and experienced in operating a 
PWC.
A person 12 years of age or older but younger than  ◆

18 may operate a PWC only if he or she has completed 
successfully an approved boater education course or is 
accompanied on board by a responsible person at least 
18 years old and experienced in operating a PWC.

IA 3717 ZW   ■   
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Vessel operators towing a person(s) on water skis, a surfboard, 
or other similar device have additional laws to follow.

Requirements for Towing Skiers
Every vessel towing a person(s)  ◆

on water skis, a surfboard, 
or other device must have 
on board, in addition to the 
operator, a responsible person 
in a position to observe the 
progress of the person(s) being towed.
All persons being towed behind a vessel on water skis, a  ◆

surfboard, or other device must wear a USCG–approved 
life jacket. Inflatable life jackets are not approved for use 
by persons being towed.
A boat may tow a person(s) on water skis, a surfboard,  ◆

or other device between sunrise and one-half hour after 
sunset only. If the towing vessel is a PWC, it may tow 
between sunrise and sunset only.
It is illegal to operate any vessel in a careless, reckless, or  ◆

negligent manner. It is illegal to operate a vessel:
At greater than 5 miles per hour (mph) within 100 feet •	
of another vessel that is underway at 5 mph or less
At greater than 5 mph within 50 feet of another vessel •	
that is underway at greater than 5 mph

Local speed restrictions exist. It is illegal to operate at: ◆

Greater than 25 mph between one-half hour after sunset •	
and sunrise on any lake in Dickinson County
Greater than 10 mph between one hour after sunset and •	
one hour before sunrise on Lake Delhi

Specifically for Skiing

IA 3818 ZW  ■ 
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Knowing proper hand signals will help the skier(s) 
communicate with their boat operator or the observer.

Hand Signals for Skiers

Back to dock

Stop

Turn rightTurn left Speed OK

Slow downSpeed up

Skier OK

Skier down—watch!

A person may not operate a vessel if its capacity would  ◆

be exceeded by the persons in the vessel plus the persons 
being towed. If towing a person with a PWC, the PWC 
must be rated to carry at least three people—the operator, 
the observer, and the person being towed. 
Exemptions exist for exhibitions authorized by IDNR. ◆

It is recommended that boaters use a skier-down flag  ◆

that is at least 12" x 12" in size and blaze orange in color. 
This flag should be raised into the air when the towed 
person(s) is in the water preparing to be towed or awaiting 
pick up by the towing vessel.
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Avoiding Propeller Strike Injuries
Most propeller strike accidents result from 
operator error. Victims include swimmers, 
scuba divers, fallen water-skiers, and boat 
operators or passengers. Most propeller 
accidents can be prevented by following 
basic safe boating practices.

Maintain a proper lookout. The  ◆

primary cause of propeller strike accidents is operator 
inattention.
Make sure the engine is off so that the propeller is not  ◆

rotating when passengers are boarding or leaving a boat.
Never start a boat with the engine in gear. ◆

Slow down when approaching congested areas and  ◆

anchorages. In congested areas, always be alert for 
swimmers and divers.
Learn to recognize warning buoys that mark swimming  ◆

and hazardous areas.
Keep the boat away from marked swimming and diving  ◆

areas. Become familiar with the red and white or blue and 
white diver-down flags signaling that divers are below the 
surface.
Make sure that passengers are seated properly before  ◆

getting underway. Some operators of larger boats with 
several passengers have caused injuries by putting the 
engine in gear while people were still swimming or diving 
from the boat.
Never ride on a seat back, gunwale, transom, or bow. ◆

devices that Reduce Propeller Strikes
There are several new technologies designed to reduce 
propeller strikes. The effectiveness of the devices varies, 
depending on the boat and the operating environment. 
For more information, read the article “Propeller Injury 
Intervention” on the U.S. Coast Guard’s Boating Safety 
website: www.uscgboating.org.
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Before Going Out 
Before going out on the water, take steps to  
make the outing safe and enjoyable.

Vessel Length Classes
A vessel’s length class dictates the equipment  ◆

necessary to comply with federal and state 
laws.
Vessels are divided into length classes: ◆

Less than 16 feet (Class I)•	
16 feet to less than 26 feet (Class II)•	
26 feet to less than 40 feet (Class III)•	
40 feet to less than 65 feet (Class IV)•	

Length is measured from the tip of the bow  ◆

in a straight line to the stern. This does not 
include outboard motors, brackets, rudders, 
bow attachments, or swim platforms and 
ladders that are not a molded part of the hull.

Vessel Capacity
Always check the capacity plate, which is usually found  ◆

near the operator’s position or on the vessel’s transom. You 
must not exceed either the maximum weight capacity or 
the maximum number of whole people stated on the plate.
PWCs and some other vessels are  ◆

not required to have a capacity plate. 
Always follow the recommended 
capacity in the owner’s manual and 
on the manufacturer’s warning decal.

Fueling a Vessel
Never fuel at night unless it is an emergency. If you must refuel 
after dark, use only electric lights. Try to refuel away from the 
water or on a commercial fueling ramp. 

Le
ng

th
Le

ng
th

Inboards

Outboards

MAXIMUM CAPACITIES

THIS BOAT COMPLIES WITH U.S. COAST 
GUARD SAFETY STANDARDS IN EFFECT ON 

THE DATE OF CERTIFICATION
ABC  BOATS 

XYZ MANUFACTURING, INC.  
ANYWHERE, USA   99999

7 PERSONS OR 1050 LBS.
1400 LBS. PERSONS, MOTORS, GEAR
130 H. P. MOTOR
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Before beginning to fuel: ◆

Dock the boat securely and ask all passengers to exit.•	
Do not allow anyone to smoke or strike a match.•	
Check all fuel lines, connections, and fuel vents. •	
Turn off anything that might cause a spark—engines, •	
fans, or electrical equipment.
Shut off all fuel valves and extinguish all open flames, •	
such as galley stoves and pilot lights.
Close all windows, ports, doors, and other openings to •	
prevent fumes from entering the boat.
Remove portable fuel tanks and fill them on the dock.•	

While filling the fuel tank: ◆

Keep the nozzle of the fuel-pump hose in contact with •	
the tank opening to prevent producing a static spark.
Avoid spilling fuel into the boat’s bilge or the water. •	
Never fill a tank to the brim—leave room to expand.•	

The most important safe fueling practice …
If your vessel is equipped with a power ventilation system, 
turn it on for at least four minutes both after fueling and 
before starting your engine to remove gas vapors in the bilge.

After fueling: ◆

Wipe up any spilled fuel.•	
Open all windows, ports, doors, and other openings.•	

Additional Safety Procedures for PWCs
Do not tip the PWC in order  ◆

to fill it all the way up. If the 
tank is overfilled, the fuel may 
expand and spill into the water.
After fueling, open the door of  ◆

the engine compartment and 
sniff to check for any evidence 
of gas fumes. Do this before starting the engine. If you do 
smell gas fumes, determine the source and make repairs 
immediately.
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Fuel Selector Switch on a PWC
This switch can help you avoid becoming stranded without 
fuel. 

Use the “Off” position when the PWC’s  ◆

engine is turned off.
Use the “On” position while you are  ◆

underway.
Use the “Reserve” position if you run  ◆

out of fuel while underway. This will allow you to return 
to shore. Don’t forget to switch back to “On” after 
refueling.

Preventing Theft
Defend against theft of your vessel and equipment.

Store your vessel so that it is not easily accessed.  ◆

Store your vessel and trailer in a locked garage or •	
storage area.
Park another vehicle in front of the trailer, or lock the •	
trailer to a fixed object in a well-lighted area.
Secure the vessel and trailer to a fixed object with a •	
good quality chain and lock. If moored, secure the 
vessel to the dock with a steel cable and lock.
Remove a trailer wheel if parked for an extended time.•	
Purchase a quality trailer hitch lock and use it.•	

Chain and lock the motor and fuel tanks to the vessel. ◆

Mark or engrave all equipment with an identifier such as  ◆

your driver’s license number.
Photograph or videotape the interior and exterior of your  ◆

vessel, showing all installed equipment and additional 
gear and equipment. Make a complete inventory of your 
equipment, vessel, and trailer.
Remove expensive electronics or other valuables if the  ◆

vessel is left unattended. 
Cover your vessel and always remove the keys. ◆

Title and register your vessel. ◆
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Trailering Your Vessel Safely
Before leaving home: ◆

Secure all gear in the vessel and arrange it so that the •	
weight is evenly distributed in the vessel.
Properly secure the vessel with several tie-down straps •	
and/or safety lines to prevent it from shifting. If trans-
porting a canoe or kayak, make sure it is fastened 
securely to your vehicle. 
Tilt and secure the engine •	
to increase clearance. 
Crisscross the safety •	
chains when attaching 
them to the towing 
vehicle.
Make sure the trailer brakes and lights are working.•	

On the road: ◆

Think farther ahead on the road than usual. Remember •	
the length added by your trailer. 
Be aware that there may be lower speed limits for •	
vehicles with trailers.

Launching your vessel from a trailer: ◆

Prepare your vessel well away from the boat ramp. •	
Back the vessel into the water until the lower unit of the •	
engine can be submerged while on the trailer. 
Once the engine is warmed up, back the trailer further •	
until the vessel floats. Then back slowly off the trailer.

Retrieving your vessel: ◆

Back the trailer into the water so that approximately •	
two-thirds of the rollers or bunks are submerged.
Move the vessel onto the trailer far enough to attach the •	
winch line to the bow eye of the vessel. Finish pulling it 
onto the trailer by cranking the winch.  
Tow the vessel off the ramp out of the way of others.•	
While at the ramp area, remove all weeds from the •	
vessel, remove the drain plug, and drain live wells. 
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Filing a Float Plan
Before going out on a vessel, it is always a good idea to leave 
a float plan with a relative or friend, or at least with a local 
marina. A float plan is especially important for those partici-
pating in paddlesports. A float plan should: 

Describe the vessel, including its registration number,  ◆

length, make, horsepower, and engine type.
State where you are going, the detailed route, your  ◆

planned departure time, and your expected return time.
Give the name, address, and telephone number of each  ◆

person on board and an emergency contact. 

1. Name  of  person  filing  this  plan: _______________________________________________________________________ 

T elephone  #: (  ________  )  _________  -  _________________ 

2. Description  of  boat: Registration  number : _________________  T ype: _____________ Mak e: ________________ 

Color : ____________ T rim: ______________________________ Length: ___________ Name: _______________ 

3. Names of persons on board: 
Age: Addr ess: 

______________________________________ ____ ___________________________________________________ 

T elephone  #: (  ________  )  _________  -  __________________ 

______________________________________ ____ ___________________________________________________ 

T elephone  #: (  ________  )  _________  -  __________________ 

______________________________________ ____ ___________________________________________________ 

T elephone  #: (  ________  )  _________  -  __________________ 

______________________________________ ____ ___________________________________________________ 

T elephone  #: (  ________  )  _________  -  __________________ 

______________________________________ ____ ___________________________________________________ 

T elephone  #: (  ________  )  _________  -  __________________ 

______________________________________ ____ ___________________________________________________ 

T elephone  #: (  ________  )  _________  -  __________________ 

4. Description  of  engine: T ype: ___________ Horsepo we r: ________     #  of  engines: ________     Fuel  capacity: ________ 

5. Survival equipment on board. Check as appropriate:

❏ Life jackets (PFDs) ❏ Flar es ❏ Flashlight ❏ Signal  mir ro r ❏ EPIRB ❏Anchor(s) 

❏ Smok e  signals ❏ Horn ❏Wa te r ❏ Paddles ❏ Raft  or  dingh y ❏ F ood 

6. Radio  ❏Ye s ❏ No       T ype: ___________________ Fr equencies: _______ Call  sign: ____________________ 

7. T rip  expectations 

Lea ving  fr om: ____________________________________    Going  to: _______________________________________ 

Depar ting  on: ___________  /  _________  ❏ am    ❏ pm Returning: ___________  /  _______  ❏ am    ❏ pm 

date time 

date tim e 

And, in  no  ev ent, r eturning  later  than: ___________  /  _______  ❏ am    ❏ pm 

date tim e 

8. Other  per tinent  information: _________________________________________________________________________ 

9. Description  of  automobile: 

T railer  license  #: ___________________________ 

Mak e: ______________ Color : ______ License  #: _____________ Wher e  park ed: ____________________________ 

10. If  not  r eturned  by: ___________  /  _________  ❏ am      ❏ pm  

Call: 
date tim e 

U. S  Coast  Guar d  telephone  #: (  ________  )  _________  -  ________________ 

Local  authority: ____________________________________ T elephone  #: (  ________  )  _________  -  ______________ 

FLO AT 
PLAN 

Complete  this  f orm  befor e  going  out  on  y our  boat  and  lea ve   it  with  a  r eliable  person  who  can 

be  depended  upon  to  notify  the  Coast  Guar d  or  other  r escue  organization  in  case  y ou  do  not 

r eturn  as  scheduled. Do  not  file  this  f orm  with  the  Coast  Guar d. A  wo rd   of  caution: In  case  yo u 

ar e  dela y ed and  it  is  not  an  emergency , inform  those  with  y our  float  plan, the  police, and/or 

Coast  Guar d  of  yo ur  dela y  in  or der  to  av oid  an  unnecessar y  sear ch!
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Pre-departure Checklist
You can help assure a good time while operating your 
vessel by performing this pre-departure check.

Check the weather forecast for the area and time frame  ✓
during which you will be boating.
Make sure that the steering and throttle controls operate  ✓
properly and all lights are working properly.
Check for any fuel leaks from the tank, fuel lines, and  ✓
carburetor.
Check the engine compartment for oil leaks. ✓

Check hose connections for leaks or cracks, and make sure  ✓
hose clamps are tight. 
Drain all water from the engine compartment, and be sure  ✓
the bilge plug is replaced and secure.
Check to be sure you have a fully charged engine battery  ✓
and fire extinguishers. 
If so equipped, make sure the ignition safety switch and  ✓
wrist lanyard are in good order.
Make sure you have the required number of life jackets,  ✓
and check that they are properly fitted for each person on 
board and in good condition.
Leave a float plan with a reliable friend or relative. ✓
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On the Water
Safe navigation on Iowa waterways is everyone’s  
responsibility. All operators are equally responsible for taking 
action as necessary to avoid collisions.

Encountering Other Vessels
There are some rules that every operator should follow when 
encountering other vessels. It is the responsibility of both 
operators to take the action needed to avoid a collision. 

Encountering Vessels With Limited Maneuverability
When operating a power-driven vessel, you must give  ◆

way to:
Any vessel not under command, such as an anchored or •	
disabled vessel
Any vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver, such as a •	
vessel towing another or laying cable, or one constrained 
by its draft, such as a large ship in a channel
A vessel engaged in commercial fishing•	
A sailboat under sail unless it is overtaking•	

When operating a vessel under sail, you must give way to: ◆

Any vessel not under command•	
Any vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver•	
A vessel engaged in commercial fishing•	

When operating a power-driven vessel or a vessel under  ◆

sail, you must give way to any manually propelled vessel.

To prevent collisions, every operator should follow 
the three basic rules of navigation.

Practice good seamanship.  ◆

Keep a sharp lookout.  ◆

Maintain a safe speed and distance. ◆
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navigation Rules 
There are two terms that help explain these rules.

Stand-on vessel: ◆  The vessel that should maintain its 
course and speed 
Give-way vessel: ◆  The vessel that must take early and 
substantial action to avoid collision by stopping, slowing 
down, or changing course

Power vs. Power Power vs. Sail

Power vs. Power

Power vs. Power Power vs. Sail

Power vs. Sail

Meeting Head-On
Power vs. Power: Neither 
vessel is the stand-on vessel. 
Both vessels should keep to 
the starboard (right).
Power vs. Sail: The 
powerboat is the give-way 
vessel. The sailboat is the 
stand-on vessel.
Crossing Situations
Power vs. Power: The vessel 
on the operator’s port (left) 
side is the give-way vessel. 
The vessel on the operator’s 
starboard (right) side is the 
stand-on vessel. 
Power vs. Sail: The 
powerboat is the give-way 
vessel. The sailboat is the 
stand-on vessel. 
Overtaking
Power vs. Power: The vessel 
that is overtaking another 
vessel is the give-way vessel. 
The vessel being overtaken is 
the stand-on vessel.
Power vs. Sail: The vessel 
that is overtaking another 
vessel is the give-way vessel. 
The vessel being overtaken is 
the stand-on vessel.

Give  
way!

Give  
way!

Give  
way!

Give  
way!

Give  
way!

Give  
way!

Give  
way!
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nighttime navigation
Be on the lookout for the lights of other vessels when 
boating at night. Several types of lights serve as navigational 
aids at night. There are four common navigation lights.

Sidelights: ◆  These red and green lights are called side-
lights (also called combination lights) because they are 
visible to another vessel approaching from the side or 
head-on. The red light indicates a vessel’s port (left) 
side; the green indicates a vessel’s starboard (right) side. 
Sternlight: ◆  This white light is seen only from behind 
or nearly behind the vessel.
Masthead Light: ◆  This white light shines forward 
and to both sides and is required on all power-driven 
vessels. A masthead light must be displayed by all 
vessels when under engine power. The absence of this 
light indicates a sailboat under sail.
All-Round White Light: ◆  On power-driven vessels 
less than 39.4 feet in length, this light may be used to 
combine a masthead light and sternlight into a single 
white light that can be seen by other vessels from any 
direction. This light serves as an anchor light when 
sidelights are extinguished. In Iowa, an all-round white 
light is required on manually powered vessels while 
underway and at anchor.

sternlight
sidelights 
(combination)

masthead light 
(225 degrees)

sidelights 
(combination)

all-round white light 
(360 degrees)
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Encountering a  
Sailboat at night
When you see only a red light 
or only a green light, you 
may be approaching a sailboat 
under sail and you must give 
way. The sailboat under sail is 
always the stand-on vessel!

Give way!

Give way!

When you see only a white light, 
you are overtaking another vessel. 
It is the stand-on vessel whether 
it is underway or anchored. You 
may go around it on either side.

When you see a green and a 
white light, you are the stand-on 
vessel. However, remain alert 
in case the other vessel operator 
does not see you or does not 
know the navigation rules.

When you see a red and a 
white light, you must give way 
to the other vessel! Slow down 
and allow the vessel to pass, or 
you may turn to the right and 
pass behind the other vessel.

Give way!

Stand on

Give way!

Give way!

Encountering Vessels at night

Encountering a  
Manually Powered Boat at night

When you see only a white  
light, you may be approaching  

a manually powered boat  
and you must give way. 

Give way
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U.S. Aids to navigation System (ATOn)
Buoys and markers are the “traffic signals” that guide vessel 
operators safely along some waterways. They also identify 
dangerous or controlled areas and give directions and infor-
mation. As a recreational boat or PWC operator, you will 
need to know the lateral navigation markers and non-lateral 
markers of the U.S. Aids to Navigation System.

Lateral Markers
These navigation aids mark the edges of safe water areas; for 
example, directing travel within a channel. The markers use 
a combination of colors and numbers, which may appear on 
either buoys or permanently placed markers.

Red colors, red lights, and even numbers 
indicate the right side of the channel as a 
boater enters from the open sea or heads 

upstream. 

Green colors, green lights, and odd 
numbers indicate the left side of the 
channel as a boater enters from the open  
sea or heads upstream.

Red and green colors and/or lights 
indicate the preferred (primary) channel. If 
green is on top, the preferred channel is to 
the right as a boater enters from the open 

sea or heads upstream; if red is on top, the 
preferred channel is to the left.
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Nuns are red cone-shaped buoys  
marked with even numbers.

Cans are green cylindrical-shaped  
buoys marked with odd numbers.

Lighted Buoys use the lateral marker colors 
and numbers discussed above; in addition, 
they have a matching colored light.

Daymarks are permanently 
placed signs attached to structures, 

such as posts, in the water. Common 
daymarks are red triangles (equivalent to 

nuns) and green squares (equivalent to 
cans). They may be lighted also.

Red Right Returning
is a reminder of the correct course when returning from 

open waters or heading upstream. 

open 
waters

channel channel

open 
waters
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non-Lateral Markers
Non-lateral markers are navigational aids that give infor-
mation other than the edges of safe water areas. The most 
common are regulatory markers which are white and use 
orange markings and black lettering. These markers are 
found on lakes and rivers.

Information
Squares indicate where to find food, 
supplies, repairs, etc. and give directions 
and other information.

Controlled
Circles indicate a controlled area such as 
speed limit, no fishing or anchoring, ski 
only or no skiing, or “slow, no wake.”

Exclusion
Crossed diamonds indicate areas off-limits 
to all vessels such as swimming areas, dams, 
and spillways.

danger
Diamonds warn of dangers such as rocks, 
shoals, construction, dams, or stumps. 
Always proceed with caution.

ROCK

SWIM AREA

MARINA
IDLE

SPEED
NO WAKE

GAS

ROCK

SWIM AREA

MARINA
IDLE

SPEED
NO WAKE

ROCK

SWIM AREA

MARINA
IDLE

SPEED
NO WAKE
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Other non-Lateral Markers

Safe Water Markers are white with red 
vertical stripes and mark mid-channels or 
fairways. They may be passed on either 
side.

Inland Waters Obstruction Markers 
are white with black vertical stripes and 
indicate an obstruction to navigation. You 
should not pass between these buoys and 
the nearest shore.

Mooring Buoy
Mooring buoys are white with 
a blue horizontal band and are 
found in marinas and other 
areas where vessels are allowed to 
anchor.
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Weather Emergencies
Weather can change very rapidly and create unexpected 
situations for boat operators. Even meteorologists have 
trouble predicting rapid weather changes. You should always 
monitor weather developments. One way is to tune a VHF 
radio to the frequencies listed on the next page.

What To do If Caught in Severe Weather 
Prepare the boat to handle severe weather. ◆

Slow down, but keep enough power to maintain •	
headway and steering.
Close all hatches, windows, and doors to reduce the •	
chance of swamping.
Stow any unnecessary gear.•	
Turn on your boat’s navigation lights. If there is fog, •	
sound your fog horn. 
Keep bilges free of water. Be prepared to remove water •	
by bailing.
If there is lightning, disconnect all electrical equipment. •	
Stay as clear of metal objects as possible.

Prepare your passengers for severe weather. ◆

Have everyone put on a USCG–approved life jacket. If •	
passengers are already wearing their life jackets, make 
sure they are secured properly.  
Have your passengers sit on the vessel floor close to the •	
centerline for their safety and to make the boat more 
stable. 

Decide whether to go to shore or ride out the storm. ◆

If possible, head for the nearest shore that is safe to •	
approach. If already caught in a storm, it may be best to 
ride it out in open water rather than try to approach the 
shore in heavy wind and waves.
Head the bow into the waves at a 45-degree angle. •	
PWCs should head directly into the waves.
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If the engine stops, drop a “sea anchor” on a line off the •	
bow to keep the bow headed into the wind and reduce 
drifting while you ride out the storm. In an emergency, 
a bucket will work as a sea anchor. 
If the sea anchor is not sufficient, anchor using your •	
conventional anchor to prevent your boat from drifting 
into dangerous areas.

VHF Frequencies Broadcasting nOAA Weather Reports
162.400 MHz
162.425 MHz

162.450 MHz
162.475 MHz

162.500 MHz
162.525 MHz

162.550 MHz

These are the most commonly used VHF channels on 
United States waters.
Channel 6 Intership safety communications.
Channel 9 Communications between vessels (commercial and 
recreational), and ship to coast (calling channel in designated 
USCG Districts).
Channel 13 Navigational use by commercial, military, and 
recreational vessels at bridges, locks, and harbors.
Channel 16 Strictly for distress and safety calls to U.S. Coast 
Guard and others, and to initiate calls to other vessels; 
often called the “hailing” channel. (Some regions use other 
channels as the hailing channel.) When hailing, contact the 
other vessel, quickly agree to another channel, and then 
switch to that channel to continue conversation.
Channel 22 Communications between the U.S. Coast Guard 
and the maritime public, if directed by the U.S. Coast Guard. 
Severe weather warnings, hazards to navigation, and other 
safety warnings are broadcast on this channel.
Channels 24-28 Public telephone calls (to marine operator).
Channels 68, 69, and 71 Recreational vessel radio channels and 
ship to coast.
Channel 70  Digital selective calling “alert channel.”
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Specifically for PWCs
Although a personal watercraft (PWC) is 
considered an inboard vessel and comes under the same 
rules and requirements of any other vessel, there are specific 
considerations for the PWC operator.

steering control

steering nozzle

Steering and Stopping a PWC
PWCs are propelled by drawing  ◆

water into a pump and then forcing it 
out under pressure through a steering 
nozzle at the back of the unit. This 
“jet” of pressurized water is directed 
by the steering control—when the 
steering control is turned, the steering 
nozzle turns in the same direction. 
For example, if the steering control 
is turned right, the nozzle turns right 
and the jet of water pushes the back 
of the vessel to the left, which causes 
the PWC to turn right.

Remember—no power means no steering control …
You always must have power in order to maintain control. 
If you allow the engine to return to idle or shut off during 
operation, you lose all steering control. The PWC will 
continue in the direction it was headed before the engine 
was shut off, no matter which way the steering control is 
turned.

A PWC has no brakes.  ◆ Always allow plenty of room for 
stopping. Just because you release the throttle or shut off 
the engine does not mean you will stop immediately.
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Ignition Safety Switches
Most PWCs and power- ◆

boats come equipped by 
the manufacturer with an 
important device called an 
emergency ignition safety 
switch. This is a safety device that is designed to shut 
off the engine if the operator is thrown from the proper 
operating position.
A lanyard is attached to the safety switch and the opera- ◆

tor’s wrist or life jacket. The safety switch shuts off the 
engine if the operator falls off the PWC or out of the 
powerboat. If your vessel does not come equipped with 
an ignition safety switch, you should have one installed.
If the PWC is equipped with a lanyard-type ignition  ◆

safety switch, it must be maintained in an operable 
condition and must be attached to the person, clothing, 
or life jacket of the operator whenever the PWC is in use.

Reboarding a Capsized PWC
After a fall, the PWC could be overturned completely. You 
should be familiar with the proper procedure to right the 
PWC and to reboard from the rear of the craft.

Most manufacturers have placed a  ◆

decal at the rear or bottom of the 
craft that indicates the direction 
to roll your PWC to return it to 
an upright position. If no decal exists, 
check your owner’s manual or ask the dealer. If you roll it 
over the wrong way, you could damage your PWC.
Practice reboarding with someone else around to make  ◆

sure you can handle it alone. Don’t ride your PWC if you 
are very tired because reboarding would be difficult. Also, 
avoid riding where there are strong currents or winds, 
which could hamper your reboarding efforts.
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Courtesy When Encountering Other Vessels
Jumping the wake of a passing boat, or riding too close to  ◆

another PWC, a boat, or a canoe/kayak, creates risks and 
is restricted or even prohibited in some states. The vessel 
making the wake may block the PWC operator’s view 
of oncoming traffic and also conceal the PWC operator 
from approaching vessels.
Excessive noise from PWCs often makes them  ◆

unwelcome with other vessel operators and people on 
shore. Be a courteous PWC operator.

Vary your operating area, and do not keep repeating the •	
same maneuver.
Avoid congregating with other PWC operators near •	
shore, which increases annoying noise levels.
Avoid making excessive noise near residential and •	
camping areas, particularly early in the morning.
Avoid maneuvers that cause the engine exhaust to lift •	
out of the water because that increases noise levels.
Do not modify your engine exhaust system if it •	
increases the noise. Improperly modified exhausts will 
not make your PWC faster and may raise the noise to 
an illegal level.

Environmental Considerations
When operating your personal watercraft, consider the effect 
you may have on the environment.

Make sure that the water you  ◆

operate in is at least 30 inches 
deep. Riding in shallow water 
can cause bottom sediments or 
aquatic vegetation to be sucked 
into the pump, damaging your 
PWC and the environment.
Avoid causing erosion by  ◆

operating at slow speed and 
by not creating a wake when 
operating near shore or in 
narrow streams or rivers.

Copyright © 2010 Boat Ed, www.boat-ed.com



57Boating Basics

Do not dock or beach your PWC in reeds and grasses.  ◆

This could damage fragile environments.
Take extra care when fueling your PWC in or near the  ◆

water. Oil and gasoline spills are very detrimental to the 
aquatic environment. Fuel on land if possible.
Never use your PWC to disturb, chase, or harass wildlife. ◆

Other PWC Considerations
Remember that everyone on board a PWC must  ◆ wear a 
life jacket. 
Keep hands, feet, loose clothing, and hair away from the  ◆

pump intake area. Before cleaning debris away from the 
pump intake, be sure 
to shut off the engine.
Keep everyone clear  ◆

of the steering nozzle 
unless the PWC is shut 
off. The water jet can 
cause severe injuries.
Frequently inspect  ◆

your PWC’s electrical 
systems (e.g., starter and engine gauge connections) 
to ensure there is no potential for electrical spark. Gas 
fumes could collect in the engine compartment, and 
an explosion could occur. After fueling, sniff the engine 
compartment for any evidence of gas fumes.
Every operator and passenger should know how to swim. ◆

Never exceed the manufacturer’s recommended capacity  ◆

for your PWC.
Know your limits, and ride according to your abilities. ◆

See page ◆  33 for other requirements specific to PWCs.
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Specifically for Paddlesports

Paddling down a river can 
be an enjoyable and safe 
activity. But, according to 
statistics, paddlers in small 
crafts, such as canoes, 
kayaks, and rafts, are more 
than twice as likely to 
drown as those operating 
other types of vessels. 

Paddlers need to consider 
themselves “boaters.” They 
must adhere to the same laws as operators of any other type 
of vessel and should follow the same safety practices. 

Preparing for Safety
As a paddler, you can take steps to make sure you come 
home safely. 

Always wear a life jacket. See pages 12-13. ◆

Make sure you have the skills needed to operate a small,  ◆

unstable craft safely and to reboard the craft from the 
water. These skills are best learned through hands-on 
training. 
Never paddle alone. Bring along at least one other boater.  ◆

Three crafts with two paddlers each is recommended. 
If unfamiliar with the waterway, be sure to paddle with 
someone who is knowledgeable about it. 
Never overload the craft. Tie down gear, and distribute  ◆

weight evenly. Maintain a low center of gravity and three 
points of contact. Keep your weight centered in the craft. 
Leaning a shoulder over the edge of the craft can destabi-
lize it enough to cause it to capsize.
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Stay seated. Standing up or moving around in a small  ◆

craft also can cause it to capsize. 
Leave a float plan with a friend or relative. Map a general  ◆

route with a timetable when embarking on a long trip.  
Know the weather conditions before you head out. While  ◆

paddling, watch the weather and stay close to shore. Head 
for shore if the waves increase.

Safety While Paddling
Always wear a life jacket. Also wear a helmet when  ◆

paddling on rapid waters.
Don’t overload the craft with passengers or gear.  ◆

Fasten down all ropes so that there is no danger of  ◆

becoming entangled in case you overturn. 
If you capsize, stay at the upstream end of the craft. If  ◆

carried by the current, float on your back with your feet 
pointed downstream, keeping your toes up and your feet 
together. Never try to stand up unless the water is too 
shallow to swim. 
Be alert to changing weather conditions. Get out of the  ◆

water before a storm hits.
Before paddling on a river, make sure you understand the  ◆

special challenges you may encounter.
Consult a map of the river before your trip, and know •	
where any low-head dams are located. Water going over 
a low-head dam creates a strong recirculating current 
at the base of the dam, which can trap you against the 
face of the dam under the water. Always carry your craft 
around a low-head dam.
When approaching rapids, go ashore well upstream and •	
check them out before continuing. In dangerous condi-
tions, carry your craft around rapids. 
Be alert for strainers, which are river obstructions that •	
allow water to flow through but block vessels and could 
throw you overboard and damage or trap your craft.
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A vessel equipped with any size motor may be operated only at “slow, no wake 
speed” on artificial lakes that are under the custody of the Department of Natural 
Resources and are more than 100 acres in size. Lakes included in the regulation are: 

Lake  County 
Ahquabi Warren 
Anita  Cass 
Badger Creek  Madison 
Big Creek  Polk
Brushy Creek  Webster 
Darling  Washington 
Geode  Henry 
Green Valley*  Union 
Hawthorn  Mahaska 
Icaria*  Adams 
Little River  Decatur 
Miami  Monroe 

Lake  County 
Pleasant Creek  Linn
Prairie Rose  Shelby
Rock Creek  Jasper
Sugema  Van Buren
Swan  Carroll
Three Mile*  Union
Twelve Mile  Union
Union Grove  Tama
Viking  Montgomery
Volga  Fayette
Wapello  Davis
West  Clarke

*Special regulations exist. 
On artificial lakes less than 100 acres in size, only a powerboat equipped with 
one or more outboard battery-operated electric trolling motors is allowed. There 
is no motor restriction on natural lakes or federal reservoirs.
Other lakes managed by counties and municipalities also have regulations. 
Always check local regulations. Please note that:

On Lake Macbride, Johnson County, a boat with a motor exceeding 10 •	
horsepower may be used only from September 8 through May 20 of each 
year and operated only at “slow, no wake speed.”
Only motors of 100 horsepower or less may be used on Loch Ayr, •	
Ringgold County.

Motors of any horsepower operated at “slow, no wake speed” only are allowed 
on the following lakes: 
Lake  County 
Beaver Lake Dallas
Beeds Lake Franklin
Black Hawk Pit Sac
Crawford Creek Lake Ida
Deer Creek Lake Plymouth
Fogle Lake Ringgold
George Wyth Lake Black Hawk 

Lake  County 
Lake Iowa Iowa
Lake of Three Fires Taylor
Meadow Lake Adair
Otter Creek Lake Tama
Silver Lake Delaware
Thayer Lake Union
Williamson Pond Lucas

Motor Regulations for Lakes
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Water occurring in any river, stream, or creek having definite 
banks and bed with visible evidence of the flow of water is 
declared to be public waters of the state of Iowa and subject to 
use by the public for navigation purposes in accordance with law.

Specific Regulations and Zoning
Special Regulations regarding zoning; safety areas; and other 
right-of-way, speed, and distance restrictions apply to the 
following areas:

Black Hawk Lake, Sac Cty
Brown’s Lake, Woodbury Cty
Carter Lake, Pottawattamie Cty
Cedar River, Black Hawk Cty
Cedar River,  

Floyd City (Charles City)
Cedar River, Mitchell Cty
Cedar River, Chickasaw Cty 

(Nashua)
Coralville Lake, Johnson Cty
Crystal Lake, Hancock Cty
Des Moines River, Lee City
East & West Okoboji Lakes, 

Dickinson Cty
Five Island Lake, Palo Alto Cty
Harpers Slough, Allamakee Cty
Ingham Lake, Emmet Cty
Iowa River, Hardin Cty
Iowa River, Johnson Cty
Joyce Slough Area, Clinton City
Lake Odessa, Louisa Cty
Lake Icaria, Adams Cty
Lake Manawa, Pottawattamie Cty
Little Wall Lake, Hamilton Cty
Lost Island Lake, Palo Alto Cty/

Clay Cty

Maquoketa River/Lake Delhi, 
Delaware Cty

Massey Slough, Dubuque Cty
Mississippi River, above and below  

all navigation lock and dam 
structures and other designated 
areas (Contact Conservation 
Officer, Corps of Engineers, or 
lock master for special rules.)

Mt. Ayr City Lake (Loch Ayr), 
Ringgold Cty

Raccoon River Regional Park Lake, 
Polk Cty

Rathbun Lake, Appanoose Cty
Red Rock Lake, Marion Cty
Saylorville Lake, Polk Cty
Shell Rock River (Greene 

Impoundment), Floyd Cty
Snyder Bend Lake, Woodbury Cty
Spirit Lake, Dickinson Cty
Storm Lake, Buena Vista Cty
Swan Slough, Clinton Cty
Three Mile Lake, Union Cty
Upper Gar Lake, Dickinson Cty
Wapsipinicon River, Linn Cty

The specific regulations for each area may be obtained online 
at www.Legis.state.ia.us/IAC.html (look for Natural Resource 
Commission Code 571, Chapter 40).

white boat >

Public Use Waters

Copyright © 2010 Boat Ed, www.boat-ed.com
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Boater Education Certificate On Board

Registration Certificate On Board

Registration decals displayed 

Vessel Capacity displayed

Life Jackets: Type I, II, III, or V

Throwable Flotation device 

Type B-I Fire Extinguisher(s)

Backfire Flame Arrestor

Ventilation System

Muffler

Horn, Whistle, or Bell

daytime Visual distress Signals 

nighttime Visual distress Signals 

navigation Lights 

 ✓1 ✓1 ✓1

 ✓ ✓ ✓

 ✓ ✓ ✓

 ✓ ✓ ✓

 ✓2 ✓ ✓

   ✓

 ✓ ✓ ✓

 ✓ ✓3 ✓3

 ✓ ✓ ✓

 ✓ ✓ ✓

  4 ✓

   ✓5

  6 ✓5 ✓5

  6 ✓ ✓

 PWC Boat Less  Boat 16 Ft. 
  Than 16 Ft. to Less 
   Than 40 Ft.

white boat >

Required Equipment Checklist

Required for operators under 18 years of age. 1. 
Every person on board a PWC must 2. wear a life jacket at all 
times. 
Required on inboard and stern drives only.3. 
None required, but at least a whistle is recommended. 4. 
Required only if operating on federally controlled waters. 5. 
Some items are not applicable to personal watercraft since 6. 
these vessels may not be operated between sunset and sunrise.

Other equipment requirements may apply to vessels longer than 
40 feet.
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Des Moines Office 515-281-5918
TTY Users—Contact Relay Iowa—1-800-735-2942

24-Hour Emergency Response (Spills) 515-281-8694
TIP, Turn In Poachers 1-800-532-2020

REGIONAL OFFICES
(DNR Fish, Wildlife, and Law Enforcement)

HEAdQUARTERS
Wallace State Office Bldg. 
502 E. 9th St. 
Des Moines, IA 50319-0034
515-281-5918

nORTHEAST
Manchester Fish Hatchery 
22693 205th Avenue
Manchester, IA 52057 
563-927-3276

nORTH-CEnTRAL
Fish and Wildlife Station 
1203 North Shore Drive
Clear Lake, IA 50428 
641-357-3517

nORTHWEST
Spirit Lake Fish Hatchery 
122 252nd Ave.  
Spirit Lake, IA 51360 
712-336-1840 

SOUTHWEST
Cold Springs State Park 
57744 Lewis Rd. 
Lewis, IA 51544 
712-769-2587

SOUTHEAST
Lake Darling State Park 
110 Lake Darling Road
Brighton, IA 52540  
319-694-2430

www.iowadnr.gov

In Case of a Boating Accident or Emergency, Contact a 
Conservation Officer or a Public Safety Communication Center

■   IA 3717 ZW

Atlantic  ............... 712-243-3854
Cedar Falls  ......... 319-277-4761
Cedar Rapids  ...... 319-396-4414

Des Moines  ......... 515-323-4360
Fairfield  .............. 641-472-5001
Storm Lake  ......... 712-732-1341

Iowa Department of 
Natural Resources

parks

fishing

boating

regulations
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