Iowa School of Letters announces the 1985 \$1,000

award for short fiction

in cooperation with the Iowa Arts Council, Iowa Writers' Workshop, and University of Iowa Press

Sponsors

The award was established in 1969 to encourage writing in a typically American literary genre. Each year, over 300 manuscripts are entered in the Short Fiction Award competition. Preliminary professional readings are organized by the Writers' Workshop, and the final judgment is made by a prominent writer or critic. Previous winners and judges are:

Past Winners

Cyrus Colter
The Beach Umbrella Judges: Vance Bourjaily/Kurt Vonnegut 225 pages. Cloth, \$6.95 Philip F. O'Connor Judge: George P. Elliott 1971 Old Morals, Small Continents, Darker Times 198 pages. Cloth, \$6.95. Paper, \$3.95 Jack Cady Judge: Joyce Carol Oates 1972 The Burning & Other Stories 157 pages. Cloth, \$6.95. Paper, \$3.95 1973 H. E. Francis Judge: John Hawkes The Itinerary of Beggars 278 pages. Cloth, \$7.95. Paper, \$4.95 Natalie L. M. Petesch J After the First Death, There Is No Other 208 pages. Cloth, \$7.95. Paper, \$4.95 Judge: William H. Gass 1974 Barry Targan Judge: Get Harry Belten and the Mendelssohn Violin Concerto 288 pages. Cloth, \$8.95. Paper, \$5.95 Judge: George Garrett 1975 Judge: Donald Barthelme C. E. Poverman 1976 The Black Velvet Girl 272 pages. Cloth, \$8.95. Paper, \$5.95 Pat M. Carr Judge: Leonard Michaels 1977 The Women in the Mirror 152 pages. Cloth, \$8.95. Paper, \$4.95 Lon Otto Judge: Stanley Elkin 1978 A Nest of Hooks 152 pages. Cloth, \$8.95. Paper, \$4.95 Judge: John Gardner 1979 Fly Away Home 257 pages. Cloth, \$9.95. Paper, \$5.95

176 pages. Cloth, \$9.95. Paper, \$5.95

Annabel Thomas Judge: Doris Grumbach
The Phototropic Woman

Judge: Francine du Plessix Gray

168 pages. Cloth, \$12.50. Paper, \$7.95

1082 Dianne Benedict Judge: Raymond Carver

Dianne Benedict Judge: Haym Shiny Objects
146 pages. Cloth, \$12.95. Paper, \$8.95

1983 Ivy Goodman
Heart Failure
176 pages. Cloth, \$12.95. Paper, \$8.95

■ Susan Dodd Judge: Frederick Busch

Tentatively titled *Old Wives' Tales*Book available in late September

James Fetler

Impossible Appetites

continued on back

1980

STATE LIBRARY OF IOWA Historical Building DES MOINES, IOWA 50319

award for short fiction

lowa School of Letters

17 U582SL 7:A964 1985 c.2

> Iowa School of Letters Award for Short Fiction Department of English, EPB

The University of Iowa Iowa City, Iowa 52242

Eligibility

Any writer who has not previously published a volume of prose fiction is eligible to enter the competition. Revised manuscripts which have been previously entered may be resubmitted. Writers who have published a volume of poetry are eligible also.

Prize

The winning author will receive a \$1,000 cash award provided by the Iowa Arts Council. The manuscript will be published by University of Iowa Press.

Manuscript

The manuscript must be a collection of short stories of at least 150 typewritten pages. Stories previously published in periodicals are eligible for inclusion. Xeroxed copies are acceptable. Stamped, self-addressed return packaging must accompany the manuscript. Please do not send cash, checks, or money orders. Reasonable care is taken, but we are not responsible for loss of manuscripts in the mails or for the return of those not accompanied by a stamped envelope. We assume the author retains a copy of the manuscript.

Submission

Manuscripts should be mailed to:

Iowa School of Letters Award for Short Fiction Department of English English-Philosophy Building The University of Iowa Iowa City, Iowa 52242

No application forms are necessary. Entries for the 1985 competition should be submitted between August 1, 1984, and September 30, 1984. Announcement of the winner will be made early in 1985.

Potential entrants wishing to review the books by previous winners may order them from University of Iowa Press, Order Department, Oakdale Campus, Iowa City, Iowa 52242.

