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IOWA SALES AND USE TAX 
INFORMATION BOOKLET 

INTRODUCTION 
hi s booklet is being made available to all the new retail 
:tles tax permit holders, out-of-state retailers registered 
> collect use tax, and the general public to clarify the 
)Wa sales and use tax laws. Because its contents are 
eneral, it should not be used to bind the Iowa Depart-
1ent of Revenue in any legal issue. This booklet will not 
nswer all questions; so we urge you to contact your local 
)wa Department of Revenue field office or the Taxpayer 
ervices Section in Des Moines if you need further assistance. 
he mailing address and telephone number(s) for the 
epartment offices are listed on page 19. 

NATURE OF IOWA SALES 
AND USE TAX 

he Iowa sales tax is imposed upon the gross receipts 
·om all sales of tangible personal property and certain 
txable services sold in this state to a consumer or user , 
nless the sale meets a specific exemption described by 
;atute. The exemptions from tax are discussed starting 
n. page 4. 
he Iowa use tax is complementary to the Iowa sales tax 
nd imposed on the use of tangible personal property in 
)Wa which is purchased out-of-state with the intent to 
se the property in Iowa. Use tax is also applicable if 
txable services are performed in this state, or if the 
roduct or result of the service is used in this state. For 
se tax purposes, a "use" of tangible personal property in 
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Iowa is defined as the exercise by any person of any right 
or power over tangible personal property incident to the 
ownership of that property. 

THB TAX BASE AND RATES 
The Iowa sales tax is imposed upon the retailer's gross 

, receipts. Gross receipts do not include discounts allowed 
and taken if the sales tax associated with the discount 
was not collected from the buyer. Furthermore, gross receipts 
do not include the sale price of property returned by 
customers for which the total sales price was refunded in 
cash or by credit. When tangible personal property is 
traded toward the purchase price of other tangible per­
sonal property the gross receipts are only that portion of 
the purchase price which is payable in money to the 
retailer if the following conditions are met: (1) The 
tangible personal property traded to the retailer is the 
type of property normally sold in the regular course of 
the retailer's business. (2) The tangible personal property 
traded to the retailer is intended by the retailer to be 
ultimately sold at retail and will be subject to the tax 
under section 422,43 when sold, or the tangible personal 
property traded to the retailer will be remanufactured 
into a like item which is intended to be ultimately sold at 
retail. 

TAX BRACKETS 
The following sales or use tax schedule has been approved 
by the Department to be used in lieu of a straight four 



percent (4%) calcul>ation of sales or use tax. 
$0.00 - $0.12 = $0.00 $2.88 - $3.12 = $0.12 

0.13 - 0.37 = 0.01 3. 13 - 3.37 = 0.13 
0.38 - 0.62 = 0.02 3.38 - 3.62 = 0.14 
0.63 - 0.87 = 0.03 3.63 - 3.87 = 0.15 
0.88 - 1.12 = 0.04 3.88 - 4.12 = 0.16 
1.13 - 1.37 = 0.05 4.13 - 4.37 = 0.17 
1.38 - 1.62 = 0.06 4.38 - 4.62 = 0.18 
1.63 - 1.87 = 0.07 4.63 - 4.87 = 0.19 
1.88 - 2.12 = 0.08 4.88 - 5.12 = 0.20 
2.13 - 2.37 = 0.09 5.13 - 5.37 = 0.21 
2.38 - 2.62 = 0.10 5.38 - 5.62 = 0.22 
2.63 - 2.87 = . 0.11 5.63 - 5.87 = 0.23 

For sales larger than $5.87 tax is computed at a straight 
four percent. One-half cent or more is treated as one cent. 

TAXABLE SALES AND SERVICES 
In addition to the sale or use of tangible personal 
property, the Iowa sales and use taxes are applicable to 
the following items and services: 
l. The sale, furnishing, or service of gas, electricity, 
water, heat , and communication services, including the 
sale of these items to the general public by municipal 
corporations. 
2. The sale of tickets or admissions to places of amuse­
ment, fairs, and athletic events except those of ele­
mentary and secondary schools. 
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3. Private club fees paid for the privilege of partici­
pating in any athletic sports provided by club members. 
4. Gross receipts derived from the operation of all forms 
of amusement devices and games of skill, games of 
chance, raffles, and bingo games, and commercial amuse­
ment enterprises (a state gambling license is also 
required). Ciries and counties are not subject to sales tax. 
The tax shall also be imposed upon the gross receipts 
derived from the sale of lottery tickets. The tax on the 
lottery tickets or shares shall be included in the sales 
price. 
5. Receipts from musical devices, weighing machines, shooting 
galleries, billiard and pool tables, bowling alleys, pinball 
machines, slot-operated devices, vending machines of all 
types and devices or systems where prizes are awarded to 
patrons. 
6. Receipts from fees charged for participation in any 
game or other form of amusement (Entry fees are 
taxable, except that portion designated as prize money, 
which is returned to the participants). 
7. Gross receipts from renting rooms, apartments, or 
sleeping quarters in any hotel, motel, inn, public lodging 
house, rooming house, or tourist court, or in any place 
where sleeping accommodations are furnished to trans­
ient guests for rent if the accommodations are rented by 
the same person for a period less than thirty-two consecu­
tive days. 



The gross receipts from the following services, except 
1en performed on or\connected with new construction, 
:onstruction, alteration, expansion , or remodeling of 
tl property. Alteration and garment repair; armored 
·; automobile repair; battery, tire and allied; invest­
!nt counseling, excluding investment services of trust 
partments; bank service charges; barber and beauty; 
:i.t repair; car wash and wax; carpentry; Roof, shingle, 
:1 glass repair; dance schools and dance studios; dry 
aning, pressing, dyeing and laundering; electrical and 
ctronic repair and installation; rental of tangible 
rsonal property; excavating and grading; farm im­
!ment repair of all kinds; flying service, except agri­
.tural aerial application services and aerial com­
!rcial and charter transportation services; furniture, 
5, upholstery repair and cleaning; fur storage and 
mir; golf and country clubs and all commercial recrea­
n; house and building moving; household appliance, 
evision , and radio repair; jewelry and watch repair; 
LChine operator; machine repair of all kinds; motor 
)air; motorcycle, scooter, and bicycle repair; oilers and 
>ricators; office and business machine repair; painting, 
pering, and interior decorating; parking facilities; 
>e fitting and plumbing; wood preparation; licensed 
~cutive search agencies; private employment agencies, 
~luding services for placing a person in employment 
. ere the principal place of employment of that person is 
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to be located outside of the state; sewing and stitching; 
shoe repair and shoeshine; storage warehousing of raw 
agricultural products; telephone answering service; test 
laboratories, except tests on humans; termite, bug, roach 
and pest eradicators; tin and sheet metal repair, turkish 
baths, massage, and reducing salons; weighing; welding; 
well drilling; wt'apping, packing, and packaging of 
merchandise other than processed meat, fish , fowl and 
'1egetables; wrecking service; wrecker and towing; cable 
television; campgrounds; carpet and upholster cleaning; 
gun and camera repair;janitorial and building mainten­
ance or cleaning; lawn care, landscaping and tree trim­
ming and removal; lobbying service; pet grooming; 
reflexology; security and detective services; tanning beds 
or salons; and water conditioning and softening. 
9. Gross receipts derived from the sale of optional service 
or warranty contracts which provide for the furnishing 
of labor and materials. The sale of optional service or 
warranty contracts is a sale of tangible personal pro­
perty. 
10. Effective 7-1-85 the gross receipts from the lease or 
rental of certain motor vehicles subject to registration , 
which are registered for a gross weight of thirteen tons or 
less, recreational vehicles and recreational boats are 
subject to tax when the lease or rental contract is for a 
period of sixty days or less . 



EXEMPT FROM TAX 
Taxation is the rule and exemption from taxation the 
exception. Therefore, exemption statutes must be strictly 
construed and any doubts are resolved in favor of taxation 
and against the exemption. The person claiming the 
exemption must be able to show he or she is entitled to it. 
Following is a summary of the sales tax and use tax 
exemptions provided in the Iowa Code: 
1. Tangible personal property and services purchased 
for resale. Tangible personal property is sold for the 
purpose of resale when it is sold to retailers, wholesale, 
jobbers, or any person who is not the ultimate user or 
consumer of the property and who holds property for the 
purpose of selling it to another. Services are for resale 
when the purchaser is not the final user or consumer of 
the service. An example of a service sold for resale would 
be when a printer sub-contracts a job to another printer. 
The subcontractor would be performing a service for 
resale. Exemption certificates must be obtained from the 
purchaser and retained by the seller as evidence of an 
exempt transaction. Exemption certificates can be 
obtained upon request from the Department, or the seller 
may provide exemption certificates in the form pre­
scribed by the Director. 
2. Resale of tangible personal property in connection 
with a service. Property is resold in connection with a 
service when it is (1) transferred to the customer in a form 

4 

or quantity which is capable of any fixed or definite price 
value, and (2) is actually sold to the customer in conjunc­
tion with the performance of the service as indicated by a 
separate charge for the identifiable item. 
3. Agricultural breeding livestock and domesticated 
fowl, or commercial fertilizer, or agricultural limestone, 
or herbicide, pesticide, insecticide, food and medication 
and agricultural drain tile and installation thereof which 
are to be used in disease control, weed control, insect 
control, or health promotion of plants or livestock pro­
duced as part of agricultural production for market. 
4. Electricity or steam or any taxable service purchased 
and used in the processing of tangible personal property 
intended to be ultimately sold at retail. 
5. Tangible personal property (including containers) 
sold for processing when it is intended that such property: 

A. by means of fabrication, compounding, manu­
facturing, or germination becomes an integral part 
of other tangible personal property intended to be 



ultimately sold at_retail. 
B. is consumed as fuel in creating heat, power, or 
steam for processing, including grain drying, for 
providing heat or cooling for livestock buildings or 
for generating electric current, or consumed in self­
propelled implements of husbandry engaged in agri­
cultural production, (e.g. fuel used in a farm tractor 
used to plant corn). 
C. is a chemical, solvent, sorbent, or reagent, which 
is directly used and consumed, dissipated, or depleted 
in processing tangible personal property which is 
intended to be sold ultimately at retail even if it does 
not become a component or integral part of the 
finished product. 

<emption certificates must be obtained from the pur­
aser and retained by the seller as evidence of an exempt 
rnsaction. 
Sales of service performed on property delivered into 

terstate commerce, or sales of tangible personal 
operty delivered into interstate commerce. Delivery 
to interstate commerce is made when the seller uses his 
,n vehicles to deliver the goods out of Iowa or directly 
signs goods to a common carrier for shipment out of 
wa. Delivery to a buyer in Iowa is prima facie evidence 
a use in Iowa and sales or use tax should be charged by 
e seller. 
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7. The gross receipts from the sale or furnishing of 
transportation services. 
8. The gross receipts from educational, religious, or 
charitable activities if the entire proceeds are expended 
for educational, religious, or charitable purposes. The 
gross receipts from games of skill, games of chance, 
raffles, and bingo do not qualify for the exemption. 
Organizations and individuals conducting events which 
may produce tax-exempt gross receipts should obtain a 
free copy of departmental guidelines relating to this 
exemption. It should be noted that there are no special 
exemptions for tangible personal property or services 
which are purchased, used, or consumed by churches and 
other religious organizations. 
9. The gross receipts from sales of vehicles subject to 
registration are exempt from sales tax but subject to 
Iowa use tax. The use tax is payable upon registration to 
the County Treasurer, Department of Transportation, or 
Department of Revenue. The use tax is also applicable 
when vehicles are sold between private individuals. 
10. The gross receipts from the sale of services or goods, 
wares, and merchandise used for public purposes to any 
tax-certifying or tax-levying body of the state of Iowa, 
governmental subdivision thereof, including the State 
Board of Regents, State Department of Social Services, 
State Department of Transportation, any municipally­
owned solid waste facility which sells all or part of its 
processed waste as fuel to a municipally-owned public 



utility, and all divjs ions, boards, commissions, agencies, 
or instrumentalities of state, federal, county, or munici­
pal government which have no earnings, going to the 
benefitofan equity investor or stockholder. NOTE .... sales 
of goods, wares or merchandise or sales of services 
rendered , furni shed, or performed and used in con­
nection with the operation of any municipally-owned 
pub! ic utility engaged in selling gas, electricity, or heat to 
the ge neral public are not exempt from tax. Contractors 
should obtain a copy of the department's booklet relating 
to construction contracts. 
11. Gross Receipts From Casual Sales. The casual sale 
exemption applies to tangible personal property or 
services if (1) it is a sale of a nonrecurring nature when a 
sell er does not own or operate a retail business or (2) a 
seller is making retail sales but makes a sale of a 
nonrecurring nature outside the regular course of busi­
ness and the sale is unrelated to the business. Sales of 
capital assets such as equipment, machinery, and fur­
ni shings are usually deemed outside the regular course of 
business and the casual sales exemption applies as long as 
such sales are nonrecurring. 
Two separate selling events outside the regular course of 
business within a twelve month period is considered non­
recurring. Three separate se lling events within a twelve 
month period is considered recurring. Tax applies com-
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mencing with the third separate selling event. However, 
when a sale event is planned and occurs consistently over 
a span of years, the sale is recurring and not casual , even 
though only one sale event occurs each year. 
When a retailer sells all or substantially all of the 
tangible per8'0nal property held or used in the course of 
their business, for which the retailer is required to hold a 
sales tax permit, the casual sale exemption will apply 
when the following circumstances exist: (1) The trade or 
business must be transferred to another person and (2) 
The transferee must engage in a similar trade or business. 
12. The gross receipts ofall sales of goods, wares, merchandise, 
or services used for educational purposes to any private 
nonprofit educational institution in Iowa. Also, see special 
provisions relating to construction contracts on page 8. 
13. Gross receipts from the sale of newspapers, free 
newspapers, or shoppers guides, and services for the 
printing and publishing of these items. 
14. The gross receipts from the sale of personal property 
used or to be used as railroad rolling stock, or as materials 
or parts therefor. 
15. The gross receipts from the sale of motor fuel and 
special fuel consumed for highway use or in watercraft 
where the fuel tax has been imposed and paid and no 
refund has been or will be allowed. 



. The gross receipts from the sale of all foods for 
man consumption which are eligible for purchase with 
,d coupons issued by the United States Department of 
rriculture pursuant to regulations in effect on July 1, 
74 , regardless of whether the retailer from which the 
,ds are purchased is participating in the food stamp 
ogram. "Foods" do not include meals prepared for 
mediate consumption which can be consumed on or off 
~ premises of the retailer, and does not include foods 
d through vending machines. Candy, candy-coated 
ms, and other candy products; beverages, excluding 
L and coffee, and all mixes and ingredients used to 
oduce such beverages, which do not contain a primary 
iry product or dairy ingredient base or which contain 
s than fifteen percent natural fruit or vegetable juice; 
,ds prepared on or off the premises of the retailer which 
~ consumed on the premises of the retailer; foods sold 
caterers and hot or cold foods prepared for immediate 
1sumption off the premises of the retailer. "Foods pre­
red for immediate consumption" include any food pro­
ct upon which an act of preparation, including but not 
1ited to, cooking, mixing, sandwich making, blending, 
a ting or pouring, has been performed by the retailer so 
~ food product may be immediately consumed by the 
rchaser. 
. The gross receipts from the sale of prescription drugs 
1ich are dispensed for human use or consumption by a 
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registered pharmacist or licensed physician, surgeon, 
dentist , or podiatrist. 
18. Gross receipts from the sale of insulin, hypodermic 
syringes, and diabetic testing materi als for human use 
and consumption. 
19. The gross re"ceipts from the sale or rental of pros­
thetic, orthotic, or orthopedic devices for human use. 
20. The gross receipts from sale of oxygen prescribed for 
human use by a licensed physician , surgeon, osteopathic 
physician or surgeon, dentist, or podiatrist. 
21. The gross receipts from the sale of draft horses used 
primarily as a source of power for pulling or moving 
loads, such as the breeds of Clydesdale, Shire, Belgian or 
Percheron. 
22. All articles of tangible personal property brought 
into this state by a nonresident individual for his or her 
own personal use or enjoyment while within the state are 
exempt from Iowa use tax. 
23. Advertising and promotional material, seed catal­
ogs, envelopes for same, and other similar material tem­
porarily stored in Iowa which are acquired outside Iowa, 
and subsequent to being brought into Iowa, are sent out of 
state. 
24. When trucks, truck tractors, road tractors, trailers 
and semitrailers are purchased for lease, and actually 
leased to a lessee for use outside Iowa, and the sole 



mbsequent use in Iowa is in interstate transportation, the 
)urchase of the vehicle is exempt from use tax. 
~5. The purchase of tangible personal property which by 
'abrication, compounding or manufacturing becomes an 
ntegral part of trucks, truck tractors, road tractors, 
;railers or semitrailers, when manufactured for lease to a 
essee, actually leased to a lessee for use outside Iowa and 
;he sole subsequent use is interstate transportation, is 
~xempt from use tax. This exemption does not apply to 
;ales of tangible personal property subject to the Iowa 
·etail sales tax. 
~6. If tangible personal property is purchased for leas­
ng, the purchase is exempt from tax provided (1) the 
)erson purchasing the property is regularly engaged in 
;he business of leasing, (2) the period of the lease is for 
nore than one year, and (3) the receipts from the lease are 
mbject to taxation. This exemption does not apply to 
rehicles subject to registration: 
~7. The gross receipts from the sale of containers, labels, 
:artons, pallets, packing cases, wrapping paper, twine, 
)ags, bottles, shipping cases, and other similar articles 
;old to retailers or manufacturers for the purpose of 
)ackaging or facilitating the transportation of tangible 
)ersonal property sold at retail. 
~8. The gross receipts from sales or services rendered , 
'urnished, or performed by a county or city. This exemp-
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tion does not apply to the tax specifically imposed under 
section 422.43 on the gross receipts from the sales, 
furnishing or service of gas, electricity, water, heat, and 
communication service to the public by a municipal 
corporation in its proprietary capacity and does not 
apply to fees pajd to cities and counties for the privilege of 
participating in any athletic sports. 
29. The transfer of vehicles subject to registration from a 
business or individual conducting business in Iowa as a 
sole proprietorship or partnership to a corporation 
formed by the sole proprietorship or partnership when 
all of the stock in the corporation is owned by the sole 
proprietor and the sole proprietor's spouse or by all the 
members of a partnership. The exemption also applies to 
vehicles transferred from a corporation to a sole pro­
prietorship or partnership formed by the corporation. 
30. The gross receipts from the sale of envelopes used 
primarily for advertising. 
31. Services used in the processing of tangible personal 
property include the reconditioning or repairing of tang­
ible personal property normally sold in the regular 
course of the retailer's business and which is held for sale 
upon which sales or use tax will be paid when the tangible 
personal property is sold. 
32. The gross receipts from the sales by a trade shop to a 
printer of lithographic offset plates, photoengraved 
plates, engravings, negatives, color separations, typ-



tting, and end proqucts of image modulation, or any 
.se material used as a carrier for light sensitive emul­
ms to be used by the orinter to complete a finished 
oduct for sale at retail. 
. Effective July 1, 1987, the gross receipts from the 
le or rental on or after July 1, 1987, of industrial 
achinery and equipment and computers and farm 
achinery and equipment, including replacement parts 
1ich are depreciable for state and federal income tax 
1rposes. The gross receipts from the sale or rental of 
.nd tools are not exempt. The gross receipts from the 
le or rental of pollution control equipment qualifying 
1der paragraph "a" shall be exempt. The gross receipts 
)m the sale or rental of industrial machinery, equip­
ent, and computers, including pollution control equip­
ent, within the scope of section 427 A.l, subsection 1, 
. ragraph "h" and "i" shall not be exempt. 
ihicles subject to registration, as defined in section 
3.1, or replacement parts for such vehicles, shall not be 
gible for this exemption. 
)TE: From 7-1-85 to 6-30-87, tax is paid and refund 
ven, unless the business has a valid 280B agreement 
th a community college or vocational school. 
. Effective 7-1-85 the gross receipts from the sale or 
ntal of tangible personal property or from services 
rformed, rendered, or furnished to certain nonprofitcorpora­
ins. 
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1. Residential facilities licensed under Iowa Code 
chapter 237. 

2. Residential care facilities licensed under Iowa Code 
chapter 135C. 

3. Community mental health centers accredited under 
Iowa Code chapt_er 225C. 

4. Rehabilitation facilities accredited by the commis­
sion on accreditation of rehabilitation facilities or the 
accreditation council for mentally retarded. 
35. Mobile homes are exempt from use tax if the tax has 
been previously imposed pursuant to Iowa Code section 
423.2 and paid. 
36. Vehicles registered under Iowa Code chapter 326 are 
exempt from use tax if the gross weight is thirteen tons 
and more and accrues at least 25% of its mileage outside of 
Iowa . 
37. The gross receipts from the rendering, furnishing or 
performing the services of design and installation of new 
industrial machinery or equipment, including electrical 
and electronic installation. The exemption will apply 
regardless whether the design and installation is on or 
connected with new construction. 

CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTORS 
Contractors, subcontractors, builders, and owners are 
consumers by statute of building materials, supplies and 
equipment used by them in the performance of construc­
tion contracts, and tax applies to the sales of all such 



ms made to them. There are also special statutory 
)visions for contra'ctors who are also retailers. In 
:iition, the sale of certain machinery and equipment to 
1tractors which remains tangible personal property 
er installation can be purchased for resale. The de­
rtment urges persons in the construction industry to 
1uest a copy of our guidelines on construction contracts 
writing to the Taxpayer Services Section in Des 

1ines. 

RESPONSIBILITY FOR TAX 
Iowa sales tax is not imposed on the article sold or the 
ice rendered, but is an excise tax imposed on the 
:s receipts from such sales. The retailer is required by 
to add the tax to the price of the goods sold or services 
lered and collect the tax from the consumer as a part 
1e total charge for the goods or services. The retailer 
1erefore, ultimately liable for the remittance of the 
The ultimate liability for the remitting of the tax can 
:ansferred to the purchaser if a valid exemption cer­
ate is taken in good faith by the seller. In this event, 
)urchaser is solely liable for the tax. A valid exemp­
certificate is the complete and correct according to 
·equirements of the director. In order for the seller to 
an exemption certificate in good faith, he or she must 
·cise reasonable prudence to determine the facts sup­
ing the exemption certificate. 
Iowa use tax is imposed on the privilege of using 
·ible personal property or taxable services in this 
!, and the "user" is responsible for paying tax if no 
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previous Iowa tax has been paid. The use tax is computed 
at four percent of the purchase price of the goods or 
services. 

ABSORBING TAX PROHIBITED 
It is unlawful for any retailer to advertise, hold out, or to 
state to the public Qr any consumer, directly or indirectly, 
that any part of the sales tax is being assumed or 
absorbed. If a retailer wishes to include sales tax in his or 
her price to the consumer, such as in the price of drinks or 
in the price of admissions, notice must be given in the 
form of a posted sign or a statement on the invoice or 
ticket that the purchase price includes state sales tax. 

RECORDS REQUIRED 
Every retailer required or authorized to collect sales or 
use taxes and every person using tangible personal prop­
erty or taxable services in this state subject to the consu­
mer's use tax must keep records, receipts, invoices, and 
other pertinent records for five years. In the absence of 
records, the department may estimate the tax due. 

PERMITS 
Retail sales tax. Persons transacting business as an Iowa 
retailer must obtain from the department a retail sales 
tax permit at no charge. 
Once issued , a sales tax permit is effective until cancelled 
or revoked. A permit is required of each place of business 
and must be conspicuously displayed at all times. The 
permit is not assignable and is valid only for the person in 
whose name it is issued and for the place of business for 
which it is designated. If a business location is changed, a 



new permit is required . However, a new permit will not 
be required because.of a change in mailing address. Any 
change in business ownership will require a new permit. 

Persons not regularly engaged in selling at retail and not 
having a permanent place of business but who are tem­
porarily engaged in selling from trucks, portable road­
,ide stands, and concessionaires can operate without a 
,ales tax permit by obtaining a nonpermit identification 
certificate from the department, which is free and is good 
for the duration of the event. 
Regular permit holders also conducting business at tem­
porary locations can remit tax collected at a temporary 
event using their regular sales tax permit. 
Consumer's use tax. Persons regularly purchasing tangi­
ble personal property or taxable services from an out-of­
,tate source for use in Iowa must register with the 
department.No permit is issued and there is no registra­
tion fee. 
Retailer's use tax. Every out-of-state retailer who main­
tains a place of business in lowa and who makes sales of 
tangible personal property or of taxable services for use 
in this state must register with the department. A retail­
ers use tax certificate will be issued without charge to the 
out-of-state retailer. A retailer maintains a place of busi­
ness within Iowa if he or she maintains either directly or 
by a subsidiary, an office, distribution house, retail 
:mtlet, warehouse, or any other place of business, or has 
an agent permanently or temporarily in Iowa. 
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REVOCATIONS 
If a holder of a sales tax permit fails to comply with any 
provision of the sales tax law, orders, or rules of the 
department, the director after giving notice of a hearing 
may revoke the permit. When a permit is revoked the 
director may set forth a period of time the retailer ~ust 
wait be~ore the permit can be restored or a new permit 
can be issued. The waiting period can be as long as 90 
days_ from the date of revocation. Persons knowingly 
n:iakmg s~les without procurring a permit are guilty of a 
simple 1:11sdemeanor. Persons knowingly making sales 
after a license has been revoked and before it is restored 
are guilty of a serious misdemeanor. When a retailer goes 
out of business or if the type of business ownership 
changes, the sales tax permit should be canceled. Cancel­
lation can be done by notifying the department. 

BONDING REQUIREMENTS 
The department, when necessary and advisable to secure 
the collection of tax, may require a bond of any permit 
holder. The department generally requires a bond of a 
ne~ applicant only if the person applying,or an active 
offI_cer m a corporation, has held a previous permit for 
which the department has established an unfavorable 
filing and remittance record for prior tax obligations 
experienced prior collection problems, or knows that th~ 
applicant's financial status is such t hat he or she may be 
unable to timely remit tax. Existing permit holders will 
be required to post a bond when they have had two or 



,re delinquencies in remitting tax during a twenty-
1r month period if filing returns on a quarterly basis, 
en they incur four or more delinquencies during a 
enty-four month period if filing on a monthly basis, or 
.en they incur eight or more delinquencies during a 
enty-four month period iffilingsemi-monthly. If there 
) recurring payments of tax with unhonored checks, a 
1d will also be required. 
1en it is determined that a bond is required of a quar­
ly filer , the minimum amount of bond will be equal to 
·ee quarters (nine months) of sales tax liability. 
mthly filers will be required to post a bond equal to five 
mths sales tax liability. Semi-monthly filers will be 
1uired to post a bond equal to three months sales tax 
bility. A bond of a greater amount can be required if 
! facts so warrant a larger amount. No bonds are 
1uired to be less than $100. 
e department will accept cash, certificates of deposit, 
d surety bonds as a means of meeting a bonding 
1uirement. 
.ilure to post a bond when one is required will result in 
! revocation of the permit. 

RECEIVING RETURNS 
.Jes tax permit holders collecting less than $50 a month 
tax will receive a quarterly sales tax return during the 
st week of the month following the end of the quarter. 
ose collecting more than $50 a month in sales tax will 
:eive a packet each quarter containing two monthly 
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deposits and a quarterly return. Those collecting more 
than $4,000 in sales tax in a semi-monthly period will 
receive a packet each quarter containing five semi­
monthly deposits and a quarterly return . Those permit 
holders collecting less than $120 per year will receive one 
return per year. 
Retailers use ta~ permit holders collecting less than 
$1,500 a month in use tax will receive a quarterly use tax 
return during the first week of the month following the 
end of the quarter. Those collecting more than $1,500 a 
month in tax will receive a packet each quarter contain­
ing two monthly deposits and a quarterly return. 
Consumers use tax returns are mailed quarterly to those 
persons registered. 
If you do not receive your return, please contact the 
department at 1-515-281-5805 (no collect calls accepted). 

FILING REQUIREMENTS 
Retailers collecting less than $50 a month in tax are 
required to file quarterly returns. Those collecting more 
than $?0 but less than $4,000 semi-monthly in sales tax, 
must file a monthly sales tax deposit. Such persons who 
have the option of either depositing the actual tax 
collected or one-third of the tax collected and paid during 
the preceding quarter. 

For the third month of each quarter, permit holders will 
receive a retailer's sales tax quarterly return. This form 
is to reflect the gross sales, goods consumed and deduc­
tions for the entire quarter. On this form, there is a line 



where credit can be taken for any monthly deposits made 
during the quartet\ 

Retailers collecting $4,000 or more in sales tax semi­
monthly will be required to remit sales tax on a semi­
monthly basis. Tax collected from the first to the fifteenth 
of the month will be deposited by the twenty-fifth of the 
same month. Tax collected from the sixteenth to the end 
of the month will be deposited by the tenth of the follow­
ing month. However, taxes collected in the last semi­
monthly period of the quarter will be due with the filing 
of the quarterly return on the last day of the month fol­
lowing the quarter. Semi-monthly filers may remit 
either the actual tax collected or one-sixth of the tax 
collected and paid in the prior quarter, or one-sixth of the 
tax collected and paid during the same quarter of the 
previous year. Retailers required to make semi-monthly 
deposits under any of the above methods of estimating tax 
based upon a period when the tax rate was three percent 
shall adjust deposits for periods beginning on or after 
March 1, 1983, to reflect the increase in the tax rate to 
four percent. 
If a retailer's annual tax liability does not exceed $120 for 
a calendar year, upon request to the Director of Revenue, 
the retailer can file returns on an annual basis. When 
annual filing is allowed, the return and tax are due and 
payable no later than the January 31 following the 
calendar year. 

When claiming deductions, the total amount of these 
deductions must be itemized on the schedule of deduc­
tions, lines 14-21, on the back of the quarterly return. The 
department will not process a sales or use tax return if 
deductions are not itemized, or other allowable deduc­
tions, such as bad debts at line 20 are not explained. 

Retailers who file a monthly deposit late and remit the 
applicable penalty and interest for late filing with the 
monthly deposit, or who are billed penalty and interest 
for late filing, should not include the amount of penalty 
and interest as part of the monthly deposit on line 9 of the 
quarterly return . 
Consumer's use tax can be remitted on the quarterly sales 
tax return by including the purchase price of tangible 
personal property, enumerated services, and goods con­
sumed, which have not been subjected to Iowa sales tax, 
on line 2 of the return. 
Retailer's use tax permit holders who collect $1,500 or 
more a month will be required to file on a monthly basis. 
The monthly deposits for the first two months of a quarter 
will be deposited by the twentieth of the month following 
the month during which the tax was collected. The quar­
terly return and last deposit will be due by the last day of 
the month following the calendar quarter. Penalties for 
fai lu re to remit the tax or file the return are the same as 
currently applicable to the quarterly return. 



EXTENSIONS 
O day extension of l ime for filing may be granted if 
essary. The request for the extension must be written 
I received on or before the original due date of the 
1rn. It will be granted only if the person requesting 
extension shall have paid by the twentieth day of the 
rith following the close of such quarter, ninety percent 
he estimated tax due. 
,TRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING 
E RETAILER'S SALES TAX RETURN 
}ROSS SALES: Includes all sales of tangible per­
al property, admissions, amusements, taxable enu­
rated services, and the rental of sleeping quarters for 
!riod less than 31 consecutive days. Tax does not apply 
abor charges when they are performed on or in con­
tion with new construction, reconstruction, altera­
t, expansion or remodeling of real property. 
MPORTANT:DONOTINCLUDETHE 
ALESTAXCOLLECTEDONTAXABLE 
ALES IN THE GROSS SALES AMOUNT. 
}OODS CONSUMED: Enter on this line the total 
·chase price of all tangible personal property or enu­
rated taxable services purchased by you for your own 
and upon which an Iowa tax 4% has not been paid. 
s also includes all inventory items purchased tax 
mpt in Iowa for resale purposes which were subse­
ntly used for business or personal reasons. 
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3. TOTAL: This is the total of lines 1 and 2. 
4. DEDUCTIONS FROM LINE 21: This is the 
amount brought forward from line 21. If deductions are 
claimed on line 4 you MUST itemize them on the 
schedule on the back side of the card; deductions which 
are not itemized will be disallowed . • 
5. TAXABLEAMOUNT: Subtractline4fromline3. 

6. STATETAX Multiplyamountofline5bytaxrate 
and enter here. 
7. LOCAL OPTION TAX (from line M page two). 
8. TOTAL TAX: Add lines 6 and 7. 
9. MONTHLY OR SEMI-MONTHLY DEPOSITS: 

If you are a monthly or semi-monthly filer, enter the 
total amount of tax deposited. This amount should not 
include penalty and interest paid. 
10. TOTAL: Subtract line 8 from line 9. 
11. PENALTY: If you are filing your return late, for 
taxes due and payable prior to Jan. 1, 1985, there shall be 
added to the tax due a penalty of 5% of the amount of the 
tax if the failure is for not more than one month with an 
additional 5% for each additional month or fraction 
thereof during which such failure continues, not to 
exceed 25% in the aggregate. See Page 13. 



12. INTEREST: Prior to January 1, 1982, interest at 
the rate of ¾ of 1 %' per month, shall accrue on the unpaid 
tax from the due date of the return . For calendar year 
1982 the interest rate is 1.4% per month and for calendar 
year 1983 the interest rate is 1.2% per month. and for 
calendar years 1984 and 1985 the interest rate is .8% per 
month. For periods thereafter, interest accrues at the 
rate prescribed by law. Any fraction of a month is con­
sidered as a whole month for purposes of computing 
penalty or interest. 
13. TOTAL AMOUNT DUE Add lines 10, 11 and 12. 

14. SALES IN INTERSTATE COMMERCE: Iowa 
based retail sales tax permit holders may take a deduc­
tion for tangible personal property sold and DELIVER­
ED out-of-state by the seller, common carrier, or mails. 
15. SALES TO GOVERNMENTAL UNITS OR NON­
PROFIT EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS: Sales 
made directly to governmental units and private non­
profit educational institutions for educational purposes 
where payment is made by them; but not to include sales 
to contractors who contract with governmental units. 
Sales to any tax-levying body used by or in connection 
with the operation of any municipally-owned utility en­
gaged in selling gas, electricity, or heat to the general 
public are NOT exempt from sales tax. 
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16. SALES FOR RESALE OR PROCESSING: Tang­
ible personal property purchased for the purpose of 
resale or processing where a resale or processing certifi­
cate is completed. This amount must be included in item 
1. 
17. SALES OF GASOLINE AND DIESEL FUEL: 
Motor fuel a~d special fuel consumed for highway use or 
in watercraft where the fuel tax has been imposed and 
PAID and no refund has been or will be allowed. 

18. SALES OF NEW AND USED VEHICLES SUB­
JECT TO REGISTRATION: Enter all sales of vehi­
cles which are required to be registered and which are 
subject to USE TAX before registration, payable to the 
County Treasurer, Department of Transportation, or 
Department of Revenue. All sales of vehicles subject to 
registration must be included in the gross sales amount 
on line 1. 

19. EXEMPT FOOD, DRUGS, AND MEDICAL DE­
VICES: Sales of foods (which may be purchased with 
food coupons pursuant to regu lations in effect on July 1, 
197 4), prescription drugs, prescribed oxygen, prescribed 
orthotic and orthopedic devices, prosthetic devices 

20. OTHER ALLOW ABLE DEDUCTIONS: All 
allowable deductions not included in above. Explain 
fu lly on a separate sheet. 



esigned for a particular individual, hypodermic syr-
1ges, insu lin , and di'abetic testing materials are exempt 
·om sales tax. 
1. TOTAL DEDUCTION: For entire quarter, add 
nes 14 through 20 and enter here. This aggregate figure 
, to be entered on line 4. 

-M LOCAL OPTION SALES TAX: All or part of 
mr taxable sales may be subject to local option sales tax. 
he local jurisdictions which are imposing a local option 
(!es tax will be identified for permit holders. 
URISDICTION: Enter the name of the taxing local 
risdiction in which the sales took place in the first 
tlumn labAled "Jurisdiction". 
ODE: In the column labeled "Code" enter the code 
:signed to the local jurisdiction named in the first 
1lumn. 

ATE: Enter the local sales tax rate for the jurisdic­
)n in the "Rate" column. 

AXABLE SALES: In the column labeled "Taxable 
iles" enter only the amount of sales taxable in the 
risdiction named in the first column. For further 
formation concerning taxable sales please refer to the 
,ocal Option Flier" 31-003, or contact your local Depart­
ent of Revenue office. 
AX: Multiply the amount of taxable sales by the local 
Jes tax rate and enter the result in the last column 
beled "Tax". Repeat these instructions for each juris­
ction which is imposing local option sales tax. 
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LINE M. TOTAL LOCAL OPTION SALES TAX: 
Add the figures in the Tax column and enter the total 

on line M and on line 7 page one. 

IMPORT ANT: The return MUST be filed timely even 
though no sales were made during the period indicated. 
Any adjustments•must be made on the appropriate lines 
on the back side of the return or attached explanation. 

PEN AL TIES AND INTEREST 
Failure to file returns timely or to remit tax timely is a 
serious matter and will result in the assessment of 
penalty and interest against the tax due. See Page 14. 

In addition to the penalties imposed, recurring failure to 
file returns or to pay tax timely will result in the 
imposition of a bond or revocation of the permit. 

AUDITS AND APPEALS 
The department may audit a return anytime within five 
years from the date a return is filed . Persons are 
encouraged to utilize informal procedures provided in 
Ru le 7.11(17 A) in order to reach settlement of any 
disputed matters, thereby eliminating contested case 
proceedings. 
However , a person wishing to contest an assessment, 
refund claim, or any other department action, except 
licensing, which may culminate in a contested case 
proceeding, shall file a protest with the department's 
hearing officer within the time prescribed by the ap-



plicable statute or rule for filing notice of application to 
the director for a h'earing. Failure to timely file a written 
protest will be construed as a waiver of opposition to the 
matter involved unless the director on his or her own 
motion, pursuant to statutory authority, exercises his or 
her power of abatement. Upon failure of a person to 
submit a proper protest, the department may at its 
discretion, either require such person to follow the 
provisions for this rule pointing out the defects and 
details needed to comply with the rule before accepting 
for filing or dismiss the protest for failure to comply with 
this rule. 

All protests to be filed with the department must be filed 
either by certified mail return receipt requested or by 
personal delivery in the office of the hearing officer, dur­
ing business hours. 
When you receive an assessment notice by certified mail, 
you have, by statute, thirty days (30) from the date the 
certified assessment notice is issued to file a formal 
appeal with the department's hearing office in accor­
dance with the provisions of Rule 7.8. 

REFUNDS 
The department may approve refunds of erroneously 
paid sales and use taxes if a claim is filed within five years 
after the tax payment becomes due or within one year 
after the tax payment was made, whichever time is the 
later. The refund can only be made to the person who 
actually paid the tax, which in most cases is the retailer's 
customer. However, a claim can be made by a retailer for 
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his customer if the retailer can show proof that he is 
acting as an agent for his customer. A refund is not 
allowed fo r taxes voluntarily paid when the refund is 
based on a portion of the Iowa Code which is found to be 
unconstitutional by the Iowa or federal courts. 
Errors by retailers in completing a return or in comput­
ing the tax o•n the return can be corrected by making an 
adjustment on the next return that is filed and attaching 
a letter to the return that explains the adjustment. 

CREDITS 
When sales or use taxes are paid to other states on the sale 
of purchase price of tangible personal property which is 
also subject to Iowa use taxes, a credit may be allowed for 
those taxes paid; but in no case will the credit exceed the 
Iowa use tax computed on the sale or purchase price. 

IOWA LOCAL OPTION SALES TAX 
Local option sales tax has been adopted by certain cities 
and counties in Iowa. The rate of local option sales tax can 
be up to 1.00%. Please contact the Taxpayer Services 
Section if you require additional information. 

IOWA HOTEL/ MOTEL TAX 
Certain cities and counties in Iowa have adopted a local 
option hotel/ motel tax which is assessed on the renting of 
sleeping rooms in any hotel,motel, inn, public lodging 
house, rooming house, tourist court or in any place where 
sleeping accommodations are furnished to transient 
guests for rent. Such rentals are also subject to state sale 



The rate of local hotel/motel tax can range from 1 % to 
?lease contact the Tb.xpayer Services Division if you 
tire additional information. 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
mid be impossible to explain every matter relating to 
; and use taxes in the general information booklet. 
·ever, there is additional information available upon 
test. The following is a brief summary of that 
·mation, all of which is free of charge: 
1) Department Rules. Department of Revenue 
ules are set forth in Chapter 730 of the Iowa Adminis­
rative Rules. Specific rules may be requested by 
)pie or number. 

o) Director's Newsletter. Four times a year, the 
)irector of Revenue issues a newsletter concerning 
11 taxes. If you would like to be placed on the mailing 
st, please let us know. 
~) Business Tax Newsletter. The Taxpayer Serv­
~es Section publishes a quarterly newsletter to all 
ermit holders each quarter. 
1) Guidelines for Nonprofit Corporations, Churches 
nd Relig ious Organizations. This booklet provides 
detailed description of the sales and use tax respon-
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sibilities of nonprofit organizations and persons seek­
ing a sales tax exemption under section 422.45(3) of 
the Iowa Code. 
(e) Guidlines for Construction Contractors. This booklet 
provides a detailed analysis of the Iowa statutes and 
departmental .rules for persons in the construction 
industry. 

(f) Garn bling Information Booklet. This booklet pro­
vides a general review of the gambling responsibilites 
for individuals and organizations who participate in 
games of skill , games of chance, bingo and raffles. 
(g) Letters. The Taxpayers Services Section will 
try to respond to any questions you have relating to 
sales and use tax matters within five working days of 
receipt of the written facts. 
(h) Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax Booklet. This booklet explains 
the Iowa fu el tax statutes and how tax is to be collected 
and remitted by licenses. 

Address all correspondence to: 
TAXPAYER SERVICES SECTION 
IOWA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
P. 0. BOX 10457 
DES MOINES, IOWA 50306 
515/281-3114 



Region 1 
Badgerow Bldg. 
Suite 938 
622 4th Street 
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Sioux City, Iowa 51101 
(712) 258-4561 
Spencer Shopping Center 
Spencer, Iowa 51301 
(712) 262-7595 
900 Central A venue, Suite 26 
Fort Dodge, Iowa 50501 
(515) 576-7428 
Region 2 
22 N Georgia 
P.O. Box 1193 
Mason City, Iowa 50401 
(515) 421-7595 
KWWLBldg. 
Fourth Floor 
500 East 4th Street 
Waterloo, Iowa 50703 
(319) 232-8100 

REVENUE FIELD OFFICES 

Nesler Center 
209 Town Clock Plaza at 8th 
Dubuque, Iowa 52001 
(319) 556-2166 

Region 3 
119 South Main 
Suite #350 
P.O. Box 1766 
Council Bluffs, Iowa 51501 
(712) 328-3362 

P.O, Box 669 
625 North West Street 
Carroll, Iowa 51401 
(712) 792-4845 

Region 4 
P.O. Box 6128 
E. Des Moines Station 
313 E. 7th St. 
Des Moines, Iowa 50309 
(515) 281-5178 

Region 5 
Iowa Building 
221 4th Avenue, SE 
P.O. Box 4010 
Cedar Rapids, Iowa 52407 
(319) 366-8488 

P. 0. Box 515 
226 W. Main, Suite 210 
Ottumwa, Iowa 52501 
(515) 682-8035 

Region 6 
Union Arcade Bldg. 
Mezzanine Floor 
P.O. Box 490 
Davenport, Iowa 52801 
(319) 326-6438 

P.O. Box 1012 
1000 North Roosevelt 
Burlington, Iowa 52601 
(319) 753-5123 

These offices are open Monday through Friday, from 8:00 
a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The Department of Revenue also main­
tains a number of offices in other cities that are open one 
or two days a week for several hours. To find out the 

location of the office nearest you and the day and times it 
is open, please call the major office listed here closest to 
you. 
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