



lowa's Safety Belt Law

Beginning July 1, 1986, Iowa law requires drivers and front seat passengers to use safety belts when they ride in a motor vehicle on lowa's public roads.

Safety belts will save 100-150 lives each year in lowa, and the number and severity of injuries could be greatly reduced if safety belts are used by everyone.

Who Must Use Safety Belts?

- Driver and front seat occupants who are 6 years of age or older must use the safety belt in vehicles required by federal law to have the belts as standard equipment at the time the vehicle was first sold. Children under the age of 6 are covered by lowa's Child Safety Seat Law.
- Persons in 1966 and newer vehicles.
- Persons in out-of-state vehicles traveling in lowa.

Penalties

- Warning tickets will be issued from July 1 to December 31, 1986.
- Effective January 1, 1987, the fine for not using safety belts will be \$10 fine plus court costs, which will bring the total fine to more than \$20.
- Driver and passengers may be charged separately.
- Owner of 1966 or newer vehicles may be charged if the vehicle is not equipped with safety belts, or if the belts are unusable.
- Violations will go on the violator's driving record, but will not be used to determine suspensions, revocations, or cancellations of driving privilegEATE LIBRARY OF IOW

Historical Building

DES MOINTES 101

Who is Exempted From the Law?

- Drivers or passengers who must frequently get in and out of vehicles to perform their jobs, as long as the vehicles are not driven faster than 25 mph between stops.
- Bus passengers.
- Front seat passengers of emergency vehicles while being transported in an
 - emergency. (The driver is not exempt.)
- Rural letter carriers driving between first and last delivery points.
- A person possessing a medical exemption form signed by a physician.
- Occupants of a motor vehicle manufactured prior to 1966.

Iowa's Child Safety Seat Law

Who must use safety belts or seats?

 Children under the age of 3 are required to be protected in a car safety seat whenever they are transported. Children between the ages of 3 and 6 must be secured in a safety seat or by a safety belt. The law also applies to non-residents of lowa.

What is the penalty?

 There is a \$10 fine plus court costs, which brings the total to more than \$20 for all violations of the law.

What are the exemptions?

The law does not apply to children transported in school buses, on motorcycles, in vehicles weighing more than 5 tons, or in vehicles built before 1965. The law does not apply to children transported by peace officers on duty, or to children transported in an ambulance or other authorized emergency vehicle. The law was effective January 1, 1985.

This information is a cooperative effort by:

Iowa Department of Transportation Iowa Department of Public Safety Iowa Department of Public Instruction Iowa Traffic Safety Now

For more information contact: 1-800-532-1121 or (515) 281-3586

