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Citizenship

What is my legal residence?
There are various tests for determining residence, but

commonly your residence is the place you maintain as your
home with the intent to remain there permanently or for an
indefinite or undeterminable time.

Am I eligible for jury service?
Yes, under the same terms and conditions as male citizens.

Are there laws about voting?
Yes, they apply equally to men and women.  You must be at

least 18 years old to vote, but may register at 17 1/2 years old.
There are no length of residency requirements for voting in

Iowa.  All Iowans, however, must be registered to vote eleven
days before a general or primary election and ten days before all
other elections.

You may have only one residence for voting purposes.
Your registration will remain valid, unless you have failed to

vote once in four consecutive calendar years after you last
voted or after you last registered to vote . You must notify the
commissioner of elections of any change in your address; if you
fail to do so, you could lose your right to vote.  Voting
privileges of persons convicted of a felony are suspended, but
may be reinstated by the Governor.

If I move, do I lose my vote?
If you otherwise meet the requirements for voting and you

move, either within Iowa or out of state, and you don’t meet
the voting requirements at your new residence, you may
continue to vote at your old residence until you meet the voting
requirements of the place where you have moved.
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How do I register to vote?
You may register to vote at the office of your city clerk or

county auditor, in person; or you may register to vote by mail
by completing the correct postcard registration form, obtainable
from your city clerk, county auditor, all state offices, in many
public buildings, and on the Iowa Secretary of State’s website,
<www.sos.state.ia.us>.  Postcard registration forms must be
postmarked at least 15 days prior to the election or delivered to
the county auditor by 5 p.m. on the date registration closes.

How do I vote by absentee ballot?
Apply for an absentee ballot in person or by mail to the

county auditor’s or election office of the county in which you
are registered to vote on any day except election day not more
than seventy days prior to the date of the election.  You may
also obtain an application for an absentee ballot and on the
Iowa Secretary of State’s website, <www.sos.state.ia.us>.   You
may vote by absentee ballot if you expect to be absent from the
precinct in which you are registered, expect to be prevented
from going to the polls and voting through illness or physical
disability, or expect to be unable to go to the polls and vote on
election day.
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Credit and Finance

What is credit?
Credit is defined as the amount of goods, services, or money

a person may receive and pay for in the future.  It includes such
things as loans, charge accounts, credit cards, and mortgages.

What determines whether I can get credit and how much I
can receive?

The two basic factors which determine your “credit
worthiness” are ability to pay, based on the amount and stability
of income, debts owed, and living expenses; and willingness to
pay, usually based on your credit history, that is, your record of
regular and prompt payment of bills.

Is sex discrimination in credit prohibited by law?
Yes.  On the state level, the Iowa Civil Rights Act and the

Iowa Consumer Credit Code prohibit sex discrimination in
credit transactions.  The federal Equal Credit Opportunity Act
(ECOA) states that race, color, age, sex, and marital status may
not be used to discriminate against you in any part of a credit
dealing.  These laws do not guarantee that you will get credit.
You must still pass the creditor’s tests of “credit worthiness.”
The laws,  however,  require that such tests be applied fairly,
impartially, and without discrimination on the basis of sex.

Under the law, a creditor cannot use sex as an excuse to 1)
discourage you from applying for a loan, 2) refuse you a loan or
require that you have a cosigner if you have sufficient financial
resources of your own, or 3) lend you money on terms different
from those granted to another person of similar financial
circumstances.  Generally, under the ECOA, creditors may not
even ask your sex on an application form (one exception is on a
loan to buy or build a home).  The use of the titles  Miss,  Mrs.,
or Ms. on an application form is optional and should be so
designated on the form.  You can pick any title or none.
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Can I get a credit card in my own name?
Yes, assuming that you have sufficient financial resources to

obtain credit.

If both my husband and I are employed, can both incomes be
used in acquiring a loan?

Yes.  Discounting the wife’s income in computing the
qualifications for a loan is illegal.

Can I be denied credit because of my marital status?
Marital status is an independent prohibited basis for

discrimination under both state and federal Equal Credit
Opportunity Acts.

Can I be required to disclose my plans to have children or my
methods of contraception in order to obtain credit?

No.  You can be asked about your employment/career plans,
but only if men seeking credit are asked about their employment
plans.

Can I be required to have my husband’s or father’s co-
signature on a loan?

No, not if you are otherwise qualified to receive the loan.
However, if you are going to offer jointly held property as
collateral (such as a jointly owned home), the creditor can
require the joint owner’s signature on the document that gives
them a “security interest” in that collateral.

What is a credit bureau and how does it work?
Credit reporting agencies, or credit bureaus, are companies

that collect and store information about borrowers.  Those with
whom you have credit report routinely to the credit bureau
disclosing the amount of credit you have received and how
regularly and promptly you pay your bills.  Credit bureau
records also note matters of public record such as arrests,
divorces, bankruptcies, and lawsuit settlements.
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Credit bureaus maintain such information on your credit
history and will release it to creditors who inquire about your
credit rating.  Your credit future depends on your credit history
and you should verify the accuracy of the information kept on
you by these bureaus.  Over the last several years, there have
been many complaints throughout the country that credit
bureau reports often contain inaccurate information.  Make sure
that the credit bureaus have a file for you and that the
information is accurate.  By law you are entitled to review your
credit file.  If it is not accurate, contact them and tell them
specifically why the information is inaccurate.

There are essentially three major credit bureaus in the United
States.  To find their names and addresses, check the yellow
pages of the telephone directory under “Credit Reporting
Agencies” or ask a bank or store with whom you do business
for the name of the credit bureau they use.

In the past, many married women did not accumulate credit
histories because creditors had reported accounts in the
husband’s name only.  Since 1977, records of new joint
accounts must be reported in both names.  Accounts established
before 1977 must be reported in both parties’ names, upon
either one’s request.  A wife may also open her own individual
account to be sure of starting her own credit history.

How do I establish credit?
Some creditors will rely entirely on your salary, job status,

and other financial information you provide on your credit
application.  Most creditors turn to credit bureaus to obtain
information about your experience in handling credit.  If you
have never used credit, however, the credit bureau will not have
a credit rating for you.  There are several ways you can start to
build up a good credit history.  Open a checking and savings
account in your own name.  These will not start a credit history
but will be considered as part of it.  Apply for a department
store credit card; these are usually easier to obtain than national
bank credit cards that have higher credit history standards.  Get
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a small loan from your bank or credit union just for the sake of
obtaining credit.  Arrange the bank or credit union loan to
purchase an item such as a washing machine.  You can use your
savings account or your insurance policy as collateral for the
loan.  Then maintain a good repayment pattern by making the
payments promptly.

This method of establishing credit is quicker than using
credit cards. It may cost more because of the interest charges
on the loan, if you pay your credit card bills immediately, in full.
But credit cards are more expensive than bank or credit union
loans if you pay the debt over time.

If I am denied credit can I find out why?
     Under the federal Equal Credit Opportunity Act, you must
be notified within 30 days after completing a credit application
whether it has been approved or not; if credit is denied, this
notice must be in writing and it must explain the specific
reasons for denying credit or tell you of your right to request an
explanation.   The lender must supply the explanation upon
request.  The federal Fair Credit Reporting Act applies in cases
where you are denied credit because of unfavorable information
in your credit report.  If you are denied credit because of a
report from a credit bureau, the lender must tell you the name
and address of the agency that prepared the report.  By law the
credit bureau must tell you the nature, substance, and, usually,
the sources of information and to whom the information was
sent.  The bureau is required to help you interpret the
information in your file when it is raw data.  If you are
challenging a credit refusal made within the past 60 days, the
bureau must provide the information free; otherwise, the bureau
can charge a reasonable fee for giving you the information.  If
you disagree with information in your file, the agency must
reinvestigate it and remove any incorrect information.  The
agency must inform those creditors receiving your credit
reports during the past 6 months of the corrected or modified
information.  If the reinvestigation does not resolve the dispute,
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you are entitled to file a short statement in your record
explaining your side of the story.  Future reports to creditors
must include this statement, or a summary of it.  Information
older than seven years should not be present in your credit
record except for bankruptcy information, which can be
reported for ten years.

What can I do if I think I have been a victim of
discrimination in credit?

If your application for credit is refused, try to solve your
problem directly with the creditor or credit bureau.  If this fails
and you feel you have been discriminated against solely because
of your sex, there are several alternatives.  You can engage an
attorney who can bring action against the creditor under either
federal or state law. If you win, the credit reporting agency may
be required to pay your attorney fees. You can also file a
complaint with a state or federal agency. There is no charge for
filing such a complaint.  On the federal level, there are
numerous agencies responsible for enforcement of the Equal
Credit Opportunity Act depending upon the type of financial
institution involved.  The creditor who denied your application
must, by law, give you the name and address of the appropriate
federal enforcement agency to contact. On the state level,
contact the Iowa Civil Rights Commission or the Iowa Attorney
General’s Office.

Are there any special risks that women should be aware of in
taking on a credit obligation?

Recent years have seen an increase in “predatory” lending,
particularly mortgage loans putting the home at risk.  These
loans are very expensive in relation to the benefits, and these
lenders often do not pay attention to whether the debtor’s
income is adequate to repay the debt while still meeting other
needs, such as medical expenses and utilities. Elderly women,
and elderly minority women in particular, are sometimes
targeted for these kinds of loans.  These women often have not
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gone out looking for these loans, but get into them as a result
of, for example, a door-to-door home improvement salesperson
selling services and arranging these kinds of loans to pay for
them.  As these loans bring a very real risk of foreclosure, and
health problems related to the stress of those problems, family
and friends should be alert for warning signs.  There are
frequently legal claims and defenses that can be raised to
challenge these loans, so it is helpful to seek the advice of an
attorney knowledgeable in this kind of law as soon as possible,
or notify the state banking division or the attorney general’s
office.
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Education

Must I send my child to school?
Iowa law provides for a free elementary and secondary

education to all children who reside in the state.  Iowa law
requires that each child between the ages of six and fifteen, who
has not completed the requirements for graduation or attained a
high school equivalency diploma, must attend a public school,
an accredited nonpublic school, or “competent private
instruction.”  Statutes regarding competent private instruction,
which were added to Iowa law in 1991, allow for private
instruction under the supervision of a licensed practitioner or by
a child’s parent, guardian, or legal custodian.  Under this law, a
parent, guardian, or legal custodian may provide home school
instruction to their own child even though they are not licensed
as a teacher.  A parent, guardian, or legal custodian wishing to
home-school their child must, however, comply with the
requirements of Iowa Code chapter 299A and the
administrative rules promulgated by the State Board of
Education to implement that chapter.  The State Board rules
appear as Iowa Administrative Code 281 — chapter 31.
Information regarding the procedural requirements for home
schooling may be obtained from the Iowa Department of
Education or your local school.

Is special education available?
Children under twenty-one years of age who are limited in

their ability to obtain an education because of physical, mental,
communication or learning disabilities or who are behaviorally
disordered are provided with free appropriate special education
as required by state and federal law.  To the maximum extent
possible, children requiring special education are educated with
children who do not require special education.
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Are problems concerning sexism addressed?
Iowa law requires that the educational program in Iowa

public schools shall be taught from a multicultural, gender-fair
approach.  Iowa teachers, as a condition of certification, must
complete an approved course in human relations.

Do women have opportunities in higher education?
Iowa has a long tradition of providing higher education to its

citizens on an equal basis.  The University of Iowa was
coeducational when it was established in 1847.  All other public
colleges and universities established thereafter have been and
are coeducational.  Participation of women in higher education
programs, activities and employment is monitored carefully.

What about career and vocational education?
Iowa law requires that the concept of career education be

incorporated into the educational program of elementary and
secondary schools to enable students to become familiar with
the values of a work-oriented society.  Essential elements in
career education include awareness of self in relation to others
and the needs of society, exploration of employment
opportunities and experience in personal decision-making, and
experiences which will help students to integrate work values
and work skills into their lives.  Federal law prohibits sex
discrimination, sex bias, and sex stereotyping in vocational
programs assisted under the Carl D. Perkins Vocational and
Technical Education Act of 1998. A variety of services related
to vocational education are available in Iowa schools and can
provide an excellent opportunity to encourage students to
explore their aptitudes and interests in both traditional and
nontraditional occupations for their gender.

Is sex discrimination prohibited in education?
Yes, the Iowa School Standards Act, the Iowa Civil Rights

Act, and Title IX of the U.S. Education Amendments prohibit
sex discrimination in education.  If you have reason to believe
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that your school district is discriminating on the basis of sex,
contact your local school district’s Equity Coordinator (whose
name, address, and phone number should be published in all
major publications as well as in the annual notification to all
patrons of the community), the Iowa Department of Education,
the Iowa Civil Rights Commission, or the U.S. Department of
Education.
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Employment

At what age may I work?
You may work at any occupation when you are 18.

Between the ages of 16 and 18, you may work at any
occupation except those declared by statute to be hazardous;
however, you must secure a certificate of age, obtainable from
your superintendent of schools or Iowa Workforce
Development.  If you are under 16, you may work only in
certain jobs and must secure a work permit from your
superintendent of schools or Iowa Workforce Development
before you are employed.

What is the minimum wage and to whom does it apply?
All employers in Iowa who do business of any kind in Iowa

or outside the state are required by federal and state law to pay
most employees a minimum wage of $5.15 per hour.  This
includes most businesses, hospitals, retail establishments, and
public agencies. Specific dollar volume amounts are set and
businesses or retail establishments may be exempt if they do not
meet those requirements.  Some domestic workers are covered
by the minimum wage law.  Contact the Wage and Hour
Division of the U.S. Department of Labor for specific
information.

Also, federal law requires, with certain exceptions, the
payment of overtime if an employee works more than 40 hours
in a week.  Contact the Wage and Hour Division of the U.S.
Department of Labor if you have any questions.

Does the law prohibit discrimination on the basis of sex in
employment?

Yes, several federal, state, and local laws prohibit
discrimination in hiring, promotion, discharge, pay, job
classification, and all other terms and conditions of employment
on the basis of sex.  Employers, employment agencies, and
labor organizations are covered by the Iowa Civil Rights Act
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unless they have fewer than four regular employees or the
employment involves only domestic or personal service to the
employer or the employee’s family.  It is also illegal for an
employer to retaliate against an employee for filing a civil rights
complaint or otherwise attempting to secure legally guaranteed
rights.  There is no charge for filing a civil rights complaint with
the Iowa Civil Rights Commission.

Courts have generally found that sexual harassment is
unlawful sex discrimination.  Sexual harassment includes
unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, and
other verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature that is
offensive to the recipient.  This includes telling jokes of a sexual
nature as well as displaying posters of pin-ups of a sexual
nature.  Your employer is liable for the acts of its agents and
supervisory employees, regardless of whether those acts were
authorized or forbidden by the employer or whether the
employer knew or should have known of their occurrence.  If,
however, your employer has an internal procedure for
complaining about sexual harassment you should make sure to
utilize it if at all possible. Your employer may escape liability for
harassment if you “unreasonably” fail to use an available
employer-provided harassment complaint procedure.  The
employer will be held responsible for acts of sexual harassment
by coworkers, if the employer knew or should have known
about them and did not take immediate and appropriate
corrective action.  For instance, if a coworker is engaging in
conduct of a sexual nature, the employer may be held
responsible if the employer knew or should have known of the
conduct and did not correct it. Under state law a harasser can
be personally liable even if your employer is not liable.

What are some examples of sex discrimination in
employment?

1) If an employer does not hire you because coworkers,
clients, or customers prefer not to work with a woman.

2) If an employer does not hire you because the job has been
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traditionally held by men.
3) If an employer does not hire you because the job requires

supervision over men or working with men.
4) If an employer does not hire you because the job involves

late-night hours, travel, or heavy physical labor.  You are
entitled to choose for yourself whether you wish to take a job
involving those requirements; the employer cannot
automatically assume that because you are a woman you could
not or would not take such a job.

5) If an employer does not hire you because you have
children or makes inquiries into your use of birth control
methods.  Pre-employment inquiries about child care
arrangements are also discriminatory unless asked of male and
female applicants alike.

6) If an employer refuses to promote you for any of the
above reasons.

7) If an employer discharges you or forces you to take a
certain amount of time off without pay because of pregnancy.

8) If an employer does not allow you to use accumulated
sick leave for the purpose of childbirth and this is allowed to
other temporarily disabled employees.

9) If an employer refuses to give you your job back after
your pregnancy, provided jobs are held open for persons gone
for other medical reasons.

10) If an employer hires only women for some jobs and only
men for others.

11) If your employer requires sexual favors as a condition of
continued employment or promotion.

12) If your company health insurance plan covers most
temporary disabilities except pregnancy disabilities.

13) If your employer is subject to federal Civil Rights Law
and requires that you contribute more to pension or retirement
plans than your male coworkers.

14) If an employer, supervisor, or coworker makes
unwelcome sexual advances or engages in other verbal or
physical conduct of a sexual nature.
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This is not intended to be a complete list.  If you have
questions about your job situation, contact the Attorney
General’s Office, the Civil Rights Commission, or the U.S.
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission.

What questions can I be asked on a job interview?
Neither state nor federal civil rights laws specifically prohibit

the use of any question in an interview in and of itself; however,
questions that have the flavor of discrimination are suspect.  An
employer who asks questions that disproportionately screen out
members of one sex must be able to show that such questions
are accurate predictors of job  performance, or are necessary to
the safe and efficient operation of the business.  Questions that
do not relate to job performance or business necessity and
serve, either intentionally or unintentionally, as barriers  to
employment for members of one sex are unlawful.  The general
rule is that all applicants should be treated in the same way.  For
example,  requiring information on child care arrangements only
from female  applicants is unlawful.  Inquiries concerning race,
color, religion, sex, age, national origin, or physical or mental
disability status may be discriminatory since employers would
have difficulty proving that such questions validly predict
successful job performance or that the questions relate to
legitimate business purposes.  If you believe a prospective
employer asked discriminatory questions, contact the Iowa Civil
Rights Commission.

Do I have job rights as a pregnant worker?
Both the U.S. Civil Rights Act and the Iowa Civil Rights Act

prohibit discrimination against pregnant workers in hiring, pay,
promotion, or access to fringe benefits.  It is illegal for
employers to set arbitrary time limits either on when a woman
must stop working because of pregnancy or on when she can
return to work after giving birth.

In addition, the Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993
requires an employer to allow an eligible employee a total of 12
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work weeks without pay during any 12-month period for
1) the birth of a child,
2) placement of a child with the employee for adoption or

foster care,
3) care for the spouse, child, or parent of the employee if the

individual has a serious illness, and
4) because of a serious health condition making the

employee unable to perform the functions of the position of
such employee.

The entitlement to leave for individuals using it for the birth,
adoption or foster care for a child begins on the date of the birth
or placement  and expires at the end of a 12-month period.
Leave taken for the birth, adoption, or foster care of a child
may not be taken “intermittently” or on a reduced schedule
unless the employee and the employer agree on the schedule.
Leave for illness, whether on the part of the employee, the
employee’s spouse, child, or parent of the employee may be
taken intermittently or on a reduced schedule.

If the employer provides paid leave for fewer than 12 work
weeks, any additional weeks of leave necessary to attain 12
weeks of leave may be provided without compensation.  The
employer may require the employee to substitute any accrued
paid vacation leave, personal leave or family leave for leaves
relating to the birth, adoption or foster care of a child or for
health care for a family member.  For serious health conditions,
the employer may require the employee to substitute any
accrued paid vacation, personal leave, medical or sick leave.

Any employee taking a leave shall be entitled, upon return, to
1) restoration by the employee to her previous position or to

an equivalent position, and
2) no loss of any employment benefit accrued prior to the

date on which the leave began. But, the employee does not
accrue seniority rights or other employment benefits during the
leave.

To utilize these benefits, the employee should give the
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employer timely notice of her intent to take the leave.  Also, the
employer may require medical certification before approving the
leave.

If you have questions about your rights as a pregnant
worker, contact the Iowa Civil Rights Commission.

What protection do I have on the job?
Working conditions must meet the safety and health

requirements established under both the federal and state
Occupational Safety and Health Acts.  Any suspected violations
should be reported to the Department of Labor of either the
state or federal government.  It is illegal for your employer to
fire you or discipline you in any way for reporting suspected
violations.

If you are injured on your job, you are entitled to benefit
payments while you are disabled.  Contact the state Industrial
Commissioner at Iowa Workforce Development or your lawyer.

Am I protected if I lose my job?
Iowa’s unemployment insurance program is known as job

insurance and is designed to financially aid workers who lose
their jobs through no fault of their own.  Generally, to be
eligible for job insurance benefits you must have worked in
employment covered by the Iowa Employment Security Law.
You must also meet certain other requirements, such as
registering for work with Iowa Workforce Development.  The
Iowa Employment Security Law is complicated and does have
its exceptions.  As soon as you become unemployed, contact
your local Iowa Workforce Development office, in order to
establish your eligibility and to understand your responsibilities
under this program.

Can I get disability income insurance?
Yes.  If a company offers disability income insurance to men,

such coverage must also be available to women.  Present law
and regulations allow insurance companies to charge women
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higher rates than men.  The terms, conditions, and benefits paid,
however, must be comparable for men and women when both
are similarly employed and when other legitimate factors used
to determine insurability, such as health or age, are equal.

Can a homemaker with no recent job experience get help in
finding a paying job?

You may be eligible for assistance as a displaced homemaker.
Displaced homemakers are women who have spent most of
their adult years working as homemakers and have suddenly
lost that option due to divorce, death, or desertion.  Women
who are or have been dependent on government assistance, or
who are supported as the parent of a child who is 16 or 17
years of age, are also displaced homemakers.  The State of
Iowa provides funds each year to selected programs that
provide services to displaced homemakers and assist them in the
transition to the labor force.  Contact your local YWCA,
Women’s Center, Area Community College, or Iowa Workforce
Development office for information on programs in your area.
You may also contact the Iowa Commission on the Status of
Women for a copy of their booklet for displaced homemakers,
“How to Get Your Bearings...How to Get A Job.”
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Health

Where can I get advice concerning family planning,
contraception, childbirth, sexually transmitted infections,
etc.?

You can get this information from your physician, a local
health clinic, or your local family planning agency.  The state
Department of Public Health does not provide family planning
advice but can refer to other sources that do provide advice.
Your family planning agency can be found listed under birth
control or family planning in the phone book or by contacting
your local Human Services office or the Iowa Department of
Public Health.

What will it cost?
Services of state family agencies are available to all persons

regardless of ability to pay; charges, if any, are based on
income.  A few private clinics also provide services based on
ability to pay, but you should contact any private clinic or
doctor’s office directly for information on fees charged.

Can I get an abortion in Iowa?
Yes, subject to certain conditions in Iowa law relative to

stage of pregnancy.  Contact your physician, a local health
clinic, or your family planning agency.  If you are under age 18,
your parent or guardian must be notified 48 hours in advance of
your scheduled abortion unless this requirement is waived by a
court.

Can a needy pregnant woman get financial and medical
help?

A woman who is pregnant for the first time and who meets
certain financial and other guidelines may qualify for medical
assistance under the state Medicaid program, or under the state
Medically Needy program.  If she has a child, a woman who is
pregnant and who meets the guidelines may qualify for both
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financial assistance under the Family Investment Program
(formerly AFDC) and for Medicaid; if she does not qualify for
financial assistance under the Family Investment Program, she
might still qualify for the Medically Needy program.

Conditions of eligibility vary from program to program and
from year to year;  contact your local Human Services office for
information.  Other prenatal care services are available through
WIC (Women, Infants, and Children) and the Maternal and
Child Health program.  Contact the State Department of Public
Health for information on programs in your area.

Is medical assistance available to low-income women who are
not pregnant and to children?

Many programs provide medical assistance to low-income
persons of all ages.  Conditions that must be met to receive
medical care at no cost or at a lesser cost vary from program to
program.  Persons should contact the State Department of
Public Health or the local Human Services office for
information and assistance.  Also, local hospitals provide certain
care and treatment to indigent residents directly in their hospital
facilities or through the University of Iowa Hospitals and
Clinics; many public and private hospitals provide medical care
to needy persons under federal or private programs.  Contact
your physician, the social services department of your hospital,
or the local Human Services office for information and
assistance.

Are voluntary sterilizations legal in Iowa?
Voluntary sterilizations properly consented to by a

competent adult are legal in Iowa.  However, involuntary
sterilizations upon an incompetent person at the request of
another are not presently recognized by the laws of Iowa unless
ordered by a district court.  A competent adult may undergo a
sterilization procedure without prior consent of the person’s
spouse; generally, however, health practitioners will encourage
discussion between spouses to assure that both parties to the
marriage agree to the sterilization procedure.
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Must a minor have parental consent to seek treatment for
sexually transmitted infections?

No.  Iowa law allows treatment of a minor for sexually
transmitted infections even though parental consent is not
sought or is not given.

Must a minor have parental consent to seek and receive
treatment for substance abuse?

No.  A minor may voluntarily seek and consent to treatment
and rehabilitation for substance abuse.  The facility where
treatment is sought and received and its personnel may not
report or disclose the fact of treatment to the minor’s parents or
legal guardian without the minor’s consent.

Are living wills legal in Iowa?
Yes, subject to conditions in Iowa’s Life-Sustaining

Procedures Act.  A living will must be signed by the person
making the living will (or signed by another at the person’s
direction) and witnessed and signed by two other persons.
Once a person makes a living will, that person bears
responsibility to give the living will to the person’s attending
physician.  Only competent adults may execute a living will.
The living will becomes effective only where the patient is
unable to give directions concerning care and treatment and
where the attending physician and one other physician
determine that the patient’s condition is terminal, that life-
sustaining procedures serve only to prolong the patient’s
existence, and that death without the life-sustaining procedures
will occur in a relatively short time. Further information may be
available from your physician, your area hospital, your attorney,
local or state bar association offices, or local legal services
offices.  Legal assistance should be received by contacting your
own attorney or the local legal services office that may provide
such assistance to low-income persons.
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Is organ donation legal in Iowa?
For several years, Iowa has had in place the Uniform

Anatomical Gift Law.  The law allows any individual of sound
mind and eighteen years or more to give all or any part of the
individual’s body for any purposes set forth in the law; the gift
will take effect at the time of death.  A minor between the ages
of 14 and 17 may be an organ donor with parental consent.  A
gift may be made by will or by use of a donor card.  Information
and forms are available from the Department of Transportation
and local driver’s license stations; many local hospitals may also
have organ donation information.  A donor may later revoke the
donation in a manner set forth in the law.  Also, family members
may donate all or part of a deceased person’s body; the law
names those persons, listed in order of priority, who may make
a donation on behalf of a deceased family member in the
absence of actual notice of contrary indications by the decedent.
All hospitals are now required by federal and state law to adopt
protocol requesting family members of deceased persons who
are medically-suitable donors to consider organ donation.

Are services available in Iowa for persons living with HIV
disease or AIDS?

Yes.  Testing and counseling services are provided at
alternative testing and counseling sites and at sexually
transmitted infection clinics as designated or established by the
Iowa Department of Public Health.  A variety of federal and
state programs are available to assist persons with HIV or
AIDS. Contact the Department of Public Health or your local
health department or your physician for further information.
Two AIDS Hotline numbers are available:  800/445-2437 or in
Spanish 800/344-7432.

Is testing for HIV confidential?
Under Iowa law, a person seeking testing for HIV, the virus

that causes AIDS, may request anonymous testing and the
health care provider must either provide testing on an
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anonymous basis or refer the person to a site that provides
anonymous testing at no cost.  Even where testing is not done
anonymously, strict provisions in law are designed to assure
confidentiality of testing and of test results except in specified
situations when the physician may notify a third party.  Positive
HIV test results are reportable to the Iowa Department of
Public Health anonymously.  However, documentation of an
HIV test result in your medical or dental records may prevent
you from obtaining new health or life insurance.  Health care
providers are required by law to provide pre- and post-test
counseling.

Can a minor seek testing and treatment for HIV without
parental consent?

Yes. A minor may under Iowa law voluntarily seek screening
or treatment for HIV-AIDS and other sexually transmitted
infections directly to a licensed physician or family planning
clinic.  Report or disclosure of the fact that a minor sought such
services is prohibited except for statistical purposes.  Prior to a
minor receiving testing for HIV, however, the minor must be
informed that if the test result is positive, the minor’s parents or
legal guardian shall be informed by the facility performing the
test of the positive test result unless that facility is precluded by
federal regulations from informing the parents.  Testing facilities
are required to have a program which assists minors and parents
or legal guardians with the notification process.
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Housing

Does the law prohibit discrimination on the basis of sex in
housing?

Yes, you cannot be denied the right to purchase or rent any
form of housing because you are a woman.  There are limited
exceptions, in the cases of nonprofit and/or religious
institutions.

If a woman wishes to rent out a room in her home, may she
specify that the renter must be another woman?

Yes, use of a common bathroom or hallway between
bedrooms or entrance to the home allows you to specify the sex
of boarders.

Can I be denied the right to purchase or rent a home because
of my marital status?

No, unless men of the same marital conditions are not
permitted to buy or rent the same property.

Can I be denied the right to purchase or rent a home because
I have children?

No, you cannot be denied the right to purchase or rent
housing because you have children.  “Adult Only” policies are
illegal.  Property owners may still use reasonable occupancy
limits.

What do the terms “homestead” and “homestead rights”
mean?

The homestead is a dwelling used by the owner as his/her
place of residence.  If it is within a city or town, it must not
exceed one-half acre in size; otherwise it must not contain more
than 40 acres.  Homestead rights are certain legal privileges
accorded to a person’s residence or home.
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What are some of these homestead rights?
Some of the more important rights include:
1) With few exceptions, the homestead of every individual,

single or married, is exempt from force of sale to pay debts.
Any waiver of this exemption from force of sale must be in
writing and prominently placed in the contract.

2)  Neither husband nor wife can remove the other or the
children from the homestead without the consent of the spouse.

3) Upon the death of either husband or wife, the survivor
may retain the homestead for life; if no spouse survives, it may
be held as a homestead by the children.
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Marriage and Divorce

When can I get married?
If you are 18 years or older, you need no consent to marry.

If you are 16 or 17, you must obtain consent from your parents
or legal guardian and consent from the Court before you may
wed.  The judge of the District Court will grant approval of
your marriage if you can show two things: the underage
person(s) can handle the responsibilities of marriage, and
marriage serves the best interests of the underage person(s).
Pregnancy alone does not establish that marriage is in the
couples’ best interest.  If a parent or guardian refuses to
consent to the marriage, the Court can determine if consent has
been unreasonably withheld and grant the parties permission to
marry.  If you are younger than 16, you may not marry in Iowa.

Do I have to get a marriage license?
You may become married without obtaining a marriage

license.  This is called a common law marriage.  A common law
marriage is as valid as a ceremonial marriage and is terminated
in the same way.  In order to create a valid common law
marriage, the couple must fulfill three requirements.  First, both
the man and the woman must intend and agree to be married.
Second, the couple must live together continuously as husband
and wife.  Third, the couple must publicly represent themselves
as married.  In addition, both must be free to marry.  However,
common law marriage cannot be formed if the parties are
related to certain degrees by blood or if one of the parties is
underage.  If you do not obtain a license, you may have
problems proving you are married or collecting Social Security,
Worker’s Compensation and other benefits.

What must I do to get a marriage license?
Both parties must sign and file with the Clerk of Court an

application for a marriage license.   The parties must also
submit to the Clerk an affidavit (a signed, written declaration)
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from a competent, disinterested third person as a witness.  The
witness must attest to the parties’ ages and competency to
marry.  After filing the application, the Clerk will usually issue a
license after a three-day waiting period.  You must solemnize
the marriage by ceremony within one year of issuance of the
license, or the license will be void.  Any judge, judicial
magistrate, or ordained person may solemnize the marriage.  If
an emergency exists, the parties may ask a judge to authorize
the issuance of a license prior to the expiration of the three-day
waiting period.

If I marry in another state or country, is my marriage legal in
Iowa?

If the marriage is legal in the place where you marry, it is
legal in Iowa.

Can my marriage be annulled?
A decree of annulment destroys the existence of the

marriage; it is as if you had never married.  You may annul your
marriage for any one of four reasons:

1) The law prohibited the marriage, such as where the
parties were underage or related by blood;

2) Either party was impotent at the time of the marriage;
3) Either party was already married to someone else,

providing that the parties have not cohabited after the death of
previous spouse(s) or the dissolution of the previous
marriage(s);

4) Either party was a ward under guardianship and was
found by the court to lack capacity to contract a valid marriage.

What happens to my children if my marriage is annulled?
If your marriage is annulled, your children are still legitimate

as to both you and their father, unless the court declares
otherwise upon proof that they are not legitimate.

An annulment proceeding is the same as a divorce
(dissolution) proceeding and custody and support of the
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child(ren) can be determined and the couple’s property and debt
will be divided.

What are the grounds for dissolution (divorce) in Iowa?
In order to end your marriage, you do not have to prove

fault or blameworthiness of your spouse.  Instead, a court will
grant a divorce if you can show two things:

1) the marital relationship has broken down so that the
legitimate objectives of matrimony have been destroyed, and

2) there is no reasonable likelihood that the marriage can be
saved.

How long does it take to get a divorce?
It will take at least 90 days before a court will grant a

divorce decree.  However, the court has the authority to grant a
divorce immediately in an emergency.  If the property, support
or the custody issues are complex, it may take longer than 90
days before the decree becomes final.  It may also take longer if
either party seeks a mandatory reconciliation period from the
court.  In that case, you and your spouse must attempt to
reconcile during a 60-day period. This is usually accomplished
by joint counseling. Mandatory reconciliation means that both
parties must attend counseling; it does not have to be joint and
the court does not order people to attempt to reconcile.

What can I do once the papers are filed?
While waiting for the final hearing, you may live as you will

after divorce.  However, you may want to consult your attorney
for advice on such matters as dating or cohabitation, especially
if you and your spouse cannot agree to a child custody
arrangement.  Prior to the final hearing, the court may order
temporary child custody, temporary child support, and
temporary alimony.  The court will determine permanent awards
of alimony, support, custody, and property during the divorce
hearing.
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Who gets the home and other property?
The court decides how all real estate and personal property

will be divided.   The court, however, will usually adopt any
reasonable settlement agreed to by both parties.

Can I get separate maintenance instead of divorce?
Yes, the grounds and process are the same as for divorce.

Can I or my spouse get support payments or child support?
Either spouse can seek financial support from the other.  The

court can order spousal support or alimony payments or child
support to either spouse after hearing evidence from both
parties at the divorce hearing.  A spouse does not have an
absolute right to support.  The court will consider the need for
support of the spouse requesting support and the other party’s
ability to pay and may also order one party to pay attorney’s
fees and other legal costs of the divorce.  The court considers
factors similar to those it considers when dividing property.
The court may also require either party to pay child support to
the other.  Child support is determined based on parental
incomes and the Iowa Child Support guidelines. At the time of
the decree, the court will typically enter a wage assignment so
that child support is deducted from the spouse’s paycheck.

Do homemakers have property rights in a divorce?
Yes.  Under the law, courts are required to recognize a

homemaker’s economic contributions to the marriage when
property is divided in a divorce.  Some of the other factors the
court must consider in determining equitable property division
are duration of the marriage, earning capacity of each party, age
and health of each party, and the contribution of either party to
the education, training, or earning power of the other.
(Inherited property is generally exempt from division unless this
proves a hardship on one spouse or the children.)  Educational
levels, earnings capacities, age and health of the parties, and
other factors must also be considered in setting alimony
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payments.  Child support payments are to be based on the
parents’ financial resources and the needs of the child, but
courts must also consider the desirability of full-time parenting
in the home by the custodian, as well as the value of such care.
(Child support awards should also reflect the cost of child care
if the custodial parent works outside the home.)

Can I get support without filing for divorce?
Yes. A court may order your spouse to pay an allowance to

you and your children without requiring you to seek divorce or
dissolution.  This allowance is called separate maintenance.  In
order for the court to grant separate maintenance, you must
show the same grounds as required in a divorce or dissolution
proceeding.

How does a change in marital status affect the filing of tax
returns?

A person who has become divorced by the close of the tax
year should file an individual tax return as a single person or
Head of Household.  A person who has become separated,
however, will usually file as a married taxpayer.  Under certain
conditions a married taxpayer with a child who has not lived
with the spouse for the final six months of the year, may file as
Head of Household.

Both of us are employed, and now that I have custody of the
children, who gets to claim the children for income tax
purposes?

The custodial parent is entitled to the exemption for the child
unless he or she expressly waives the right to claim the
exemption.  This 1985 rule applies not only to cases of divorce,
legal separation, and separation by written agreement, but also
to cases where the parents live apart during the last six months
of the calendar year.  In addition, the rules do not apply to
situations where the non-custodial parent has been awarded the
right to claim the exemption under an instrument executed

Iowa Women & the Law/30



before January 1, 1985, and such parent continues to meet the
$600 annual support requirement.  IRS rules governing proof of
dependency are subject to change, however, and you should
contact your IRS office for specific information.

My husband and I have several debts — who has to pay
them?

If both parties to a divorce are employed making
approximately the same amount of money, it is not unusual for
the court to order payment of marital debts by both parties on a
50-50 basis.  Of course, debts of a personal nature are usually
ordered paid by the party who incurred the debts.  Please
remember, however, that if the debts were incurred by you or
the debts were family debts, the creditor can look to you for
payment even if the court ordered your husband to pay the
debts.

Can the court change child custody, support, and alimony if I
or my former spouse move or lose our jobs in the future?

Yes, the court can modify or change the divorce decree if the
parties can show a substantial change in circumstances that the
court did not contemplate at the time of the decree.  A decree
may also be modified by agreement of the parties as long as it is
in the child’s best interests.

What happens if my spouse refuses to pay other bills for
which our house has been put up as collateral?  Can my
children and I be put out into the street?

Yes.  Even if the divorce decree specifies that the bills should
be paid by your spouse but he/she fails to do so subsequent to
the divorce, your house could be foreclosed and household
goods repossessed by any creditor who has a security interest
therein.  Creditors have no obligation to honor a divorce
decree; you may have to sue your former spouse to secure
those payments.  Do ask your attorney for creative approaches
in reaching a settlement to assure bills will be paid.
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What can I do if my former spouse refuses to pay court-
ordered child support?

You can contact the Iowa Department of Human Services
that runs the Iowa Child Support Recovery Unit.  This office
will attempt to locate your former spouse and enforce the child
support obligation.  Public assistance recipients receive these
services free; others must pay an application fee that will not
exceed $25.   For assistance, contact the Child Support
Recovery Unit nearest you or a private attorney.  If child
support payments become one month delinquent, the Child
Support Recovery Unit or the Court may enter an order to
assign wages or other income.  The person who disobeys a
court order to pay child support may be found in contempt of
court which is a quasi-criminal offense and the penalty can be
imprisonment.  For individuals whose payments are processed
by the Collection Services Center of the Department of Human
Services, there are a variety of electronic fund transfer options.

For information, contact the Collection Services Center at
800/223-1302 or 515/281-8994.

Who gets custody of the children in a divorce?
Only children who are under 18 years of age and unmarried

are affected.  The court decides who gets custody after taking
evidence and on the basis of the best interests of the child or
children; there is no automatic gender preference.  The court
will normally consider awarding joint legal custody unless the
court determines that joint legal custody is not in the best
interests of the child, and the parental relationship should be
severed.  The court may award physical custody to one or both
parents and may award visitation rights to grandparents.  The
court may require either the husband or wife to pay child
support and it has final jurisdiction over the amount of child
support awarded.  The child support could include
contributions toward the college education of a child between
the ages 18 and 22.
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What is the difference between legal custody and physical
custody?

Legal custody is having a say in the child(ren)’s major life
activities, i.e. health, religion, medical care, and schooling.
Physical custody, on the other hand, is physical care – who
cares for the child on a day-to-day basis.

Is it possible for a father to have custody of the children in a
divorce?

Yes, on the same basis as for the mother.  Because judges
realize the traumatic effect a divorce has upon children, the
court is likely to award the children to that parent whose plan
for the care of the children is the least disruptive of their normal
life, friends, and school.

Can a husband or wife testify for or against one another?
In state courts, generally speaking, neither husband nor wife

can testify without the other spouse’s consent except in:
1) Criminal prosecutions for crimes committed by one

against the other, such as assault or desertion;
2) Civil actions brought by one against the other, such as

divorce or domestic abuse actions;
3) When a child abuse report is filed.
In federal criminal trials, the witness-spouse alone has a

privilege to refuse to testify adversely.  Communications solely
between husband and wife, made during the marriage, are
always confidential, even after the marriage ends.  In any case,
husbands and wives may testify in favor of each other.

May I keep my name when I marry or return to my name
after I divorce?

You may use any name you want when you marry so long as
you change all official records, such as your driver’s license and
Social Security records.  It will require a court order to restore
your own name following a divorce if this was not in the
divorce decree.
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When can I marry again?
You can remarry any time after the final divorce decree.

Does a wife have the right to work and use the money earned
in any way she wishes?

Yes.

Can a wife have a separate bank account and make contracts
and buy property in her own name?

Yes.
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Parental Responsibility/Children and Adoption

Who has custody and control of my children?
You and your child’s father do unless a court of law has

declared your child to be in need of assistance or delinquent and
the court has decided it best for the child to be elsewhere.

Your children may not be removed from your custody
without court action of which you must be notified and after a
hearing at which you have a right to be present. If your child is
believed to be in need of assistance because of abuse, neglect or
special treatment needs you are unable to provide, you will have
the right to be represented by an attorney and a chance to
defend your rights as a parent.

Who is responsible for support and education of my
children?

You and your child’s father must provide the necessary
support and education for your child dependent on your
incomes.  You must provide support even if your child is in
foster care or, for some other reason, living outside your home.
Failure to provide that support or failure to require the child’s
attendance at school can result in legal proceedings against you.

How long am I responsible for my child?
The rights and responsibilities of a parent remain in effect

until the child reaches the age of 18 (and beyond the child’s
18th birthday if the child is likely to become a “public charge” if
not supported) or until the parent and child make it clear by
their mutual actions that the parent has renounced all legal
rights of a parental nature, and the child has accepted such
release.

Is my second husband responsible for my child?
A stepparent does not automatically assume the rights and

responsibilities of a parent.   He must make it clear that he
voluntarily assumes such responsibilities.  A stepparent who
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legally adopts a child, however, assumes full legal
responsibilities.

May I keep my illegitimate child?
You have custody of your child, unless court action is

undertaken and determines otherwise (e.g., the court grants
custody to the child’s father or the child is removed due to
abuse or neglect).  You and the child’s father owe the child
necessary maintenance, education, and support.

Can single people adopt a child or children?
Yes.

What if my child works?
The parent having legal custody of the minor child is entitled

to the services and earnings of the child.
If your child’s employer refuses or fails to pay wages earned,

you have a legal right to recover those wages. If the employer
has already paid the child, however, you cannot require the
employer to pay those wages a second time.

What if my child is injured?
You and the child’s father may recover for the loss of the

child’s services and other money damages if the child is injured
by the wrongful act or negligence of another person.

Am I responsible if my child causes loss or injury?
Parents are liable where the unlawful act of a child causes

loss or injury to another person, but this liability is limited.
If your child is under 18 and in your legal custody, you may

be liable for up to $2,000 for any one act or $5,000 for two or
more acts committed by the child against the same person.

Can a child be taken away from his or her parents?
Yes.  When a child is believed to be delinquent, neglected, or

abused, proceedings can be initiated to bring the child within
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the jurisdiction of the juvenile court.  The court may then order
appropriate treatment or place the child outside the parents’
home. Usually, every effort is made to keep families intact.

When the court places an abused or neglected child outside
the parents’ home, the parents are offered treatment services.
Although there are exceptions, parents usually have up to 15
months to correct the conditions that led to the child’s being
placed outside the home. If the court then determines that it is
still not safe to return the child home, a legal action may be filed
to terminate parental rights and sever the parent-child
relationship. If parental rights are terminated, the child can be
adopted.

Parental rights will not be terminated when a child is placed
outside the home because he or she is found to be delinquent
(i.e., to have broken the law).

Are the parents notified and given an opportunity to be heard
before any action is taken?

Yes.  If the child is accused of committing an illegal
(delinquent) act, parents have a right to be notified and be
present at all court hearings. If the child is believed to be abused
or neglected, parents may also have lawyers to represent them,
question witnesses and present their view of the case to the
judge. If you cannot afford an attorney, the court will appoint
one for you.

After the judge determines that the child is delinquent,
abused or neglected, there is a second hearing to decide what
response by the court would be in the child’s best interest. The
court may leave the child in the parent’s custody or place the
child elsewhere, and may also order the child and/or the parents
to participate in counseling or a treatment program.
In an emergency, a doctor, peace officer or juvenile court
officer may temporarily remove a child from the parent’s care
prior to a hearing. A hearing will be held shortly after the
removal.
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What is my responsibility if I am aware of child abuse or
neglect?

Under Iowa law, doctors and other medical personnel, social
workers, psychologists, school employees, childcare personnel,
Head Start and child development program employees, and law
enforcement officers are required to report suspected child
abuse and neglect to the Iowa Department of Human Services.
Any other person who believes a child has been abused or
neglected may also make a report.  The law creates a central
registry for child abuse information, and provides both
immunity to those reporting in good faith and penalties for
persons who fail to report as required.
To report child abuse or neglect, call 800/362-2178 at any time
of the day.  The Department of Human Services must notify you
within 24 hours whether your complaint is being investigated.
You can also notify your local law enforcement agency.

What is the policy on abused children?
The state of Iowa’s policy on abused children as set forth in

Section 232.67 of the Code of Iowa is:
“... to provide the greatest possible protection to victims or
potential victims of abuse through encouraging the increased
reporting of suspected cases of such abuse, ensuring the
thorough and prompt assessment of these reports, and
providing rehabilitative services, where appropriate and
whenever possible to abused children and their families which
will stabilize the home environment so that the family can
remain intact without further danger to the child.”

What is the public policy of Iowa regarding the care,
protection, and control of children?

Case law indicates that the best interest of the child is the
focus of Iowa juvenile proceedings. In delinquency cases,
consideration is also given to the safety of the community.
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Privacy Issues

Why is it important to maintain privacy?
As more information is becoming more widely available,

there are some potential dangers. Personal information can be
used for “identity theft” - when someone takes your Social
Security number or bank or credit card account numbers to
commit fraud or theft. In addition, people may use personal
information to harass or stalk you.

How can I keep information about myself private?
Be aware of when you are asked to provide personal

identifying information. Avoid using your Social Security
Number unless it is required. For example, you are not required
to include your Social Security Number on your driver’s
license. Do not include your Social Security Number on your
checks.

Do not carry extra credit cards with you, and do not give out
credit card information over the telephone unless you have
initiated the telephone call. Don’t just throw away bills or other
information sent to you from your credit card company or other
companies that include personal or financial information about
you -- shred or tear it up.
Send “opt-out” letters to credit bureaus, mailing firms and state
agencies who have “opt-out” provisions (such as driver’s
license or voter registration). Ask them to send you written
confirmation of the receipt of your letter, including any special
measures they will take to ensure your privacy.

Send letters to companies or organizations that maintain
personal information about you telling them about the
importance of maintaining the confidentiality of all of your
records. Ask for written confirmation of the receipt of your
letter, and any special measures that the company will take to
ensure your privacy. The companies or organizations may
include your bank, credit union, employer, insurance company,
health care provider, church, charitable organization,
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professional organization, Internet provider, schools, or alumni
associations. City directories often include information about
your name, address, and number of persons in your household.

If you sign up for contests or sweepstakes, your personal
information may be shared with many other people. Magazine
subscription information also may be shared widely.

Get an unlisted telephone number, and send a letter to the
telephone company to emphasize the need to keep your
information completely confidential.

Use a pseudonym for any e-mail address or Internet address,
so that you cannot be easily identified.

How can I limit Internet access to information about me?
Internet domains may gather information from a variety of

sources. By limiting the information that you give to various
companies, you necessarily limit the information that becomes
available on the Internet.

In addition, be aware that some Internet service providers
and some web sites use “cookies” to track information about
you. Check with your Internet service provider about any
privacy protections offered through your provider. You can
browse the Internet more anonymously by using certain
“anonymizers.”

What should I do if I think that I am the victim of identity
theft?

Contact the local police department or your county attorney
about conducting an investigation or filing criminal charges.
Contact the fraud unit of credit reporting companies and check
verification companies, and contact your creditors immediately
to alert them to the identity theft.

For more complete information about preventing or responding
to identity theft, contact the Consumer Protection Division in
the Iowa Attorney General’s office (telephone 515281-5926) or
pick up brochures at the office on the second floor of the
Hoover Building, Des Moines, Iowa 50319.
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Public Assistance/Welfare

Who is responsible for family support?
Both husband and wife can be held liable for the support of

the family.  Neither the husband nor the wife can be sued for the
debts of the other, unless those debts were incurred for family
household expenses.

What type of support must the parents supply?
This support includes necessities such as food, clothing,

medical care, a place to live, and other things consistent with
their own means, income, and position in life.

Where can I go for help if my husband refuses to supply the
needs of the family?

You can go to the county attorney of the county in which
you live, contact your local Human Services office, or the local
Legal Services office.  The Child Support Recovery Unit of the
Human Services offices will assist in collecting court-ordered
child support for a small fee even if you do not receive public
assistance.

What if I require public assistance or Family Investment
Program assistance (formerly AFDC and now federally
called TANF)?

Public assistance is available for emergencies and for persons
who meet certain requirements and who can show need.
Contact your local Human Services office or the Legal Services
office.

Can my husband remain in our home while my family
receives public assistance?

Yes, public assistance may be available if you meet certain
requirements. Contact your local Human Services office.
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Social Security

Must I pay Social Security if I work?
For almost all jobs, you are required to pay Social Security

taxes.  Consult your employer or the Social Security office in
your area.

Can I find out if my Social Security records show proper
work credits?

Yes.  Simply fill out the appropriate form available from your
local Social Security office.  The records should be checked
every three years.  One important thing to remember is to
ensure that your Social Security record shows your correct
name.  Whenever you change the name you use - whether
because of marriage, divorce, or other reasons - you should
report the change to Social Security.  Otherwise, your earnings
record may be incorrect and you may not receive all the Social
Security credit due for your work.  Full-time homemakers
should also notify the Social Security office of any name
change.  If you choose to continue using your maiden name
after marriage, as many women do today, you do not have to
report your marriage.

How and when can I collect Social Security?
This depends on many things including age, work record,

medical condition, and dependency status.  If you think you
may be eligible, contact your Social Security office.  Remember
that the only way that you can find out for sure whether you are
eligible for Social Security is to file a claim at the Social
Security office.  The following are general eligibility guidelines
for women:

Working Women:  If you have enough work credit under
Social Security, you and your dependents are entitled to
monthly cash benefits when you reach retirement, or if you
become disabled.  Your dependents are eligible for benefits if
you die.  You can retire early at age 62, with reduced benefits.
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Full benefits are available if you wait until your legal retirement,
which ranges from age 65 to 67, depending on the year you
were born. If you’re married, you can get retirement payments
either on your own record or that of your husband, provided he
is receiving disability or retirement benefits.  Whether you
receive benefits on your own record or your husband’s will
depend upon which will pay you the larger amount.

Family Farm/Business:  If a husband and wife jointly operate
a business (such as a farm), but the income is attributed to only
the husband, then the wife’s social security benefits will be
dependent upon the husband’s accrued benefits. In that
situation, the wife can accrue credits for benefits if some of the
income is attributed to her work, although the spouses also
should consider annual income tax implications in splitting the
income.

Homemakers:  If your husband worked long enough under
Social Security, the kinds of benefits listed below are available.
(A married woman in the paid labor force is entitled to these
benefits but may be earning too much to receive payments.)

Wife: Regardless of your age, you can get payments when
your husband is entitled to retirement or disability benefits, if
you are caring for a child under age 16 or a disabled child who
is entitled to benefits.  If you don’t have a child in your care,
you must be 62 or older to get benefits when your husband
begins receiving disability or retirement benefits.  If you opt for
benefits before age 65, the payments will be reduced.

Widow: You may get a small lump sum payment following
the death of your husband regardless of your age, provided
your husband was insured under Social Security at the time of
his death.  If you are age 60 or older and your husband was
insured under Social Security at the time of his death, you may
also be eligible for monthly widow’s benefits.  The amount of
these benefits will vary depending upon at what age you file to
receive them and how much your deceased husband earned
under Social Security.  If you apply to receive widow’s benefits
before age 65, the amount of benefits you will receive will be
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reduced.  If you become severely disabled, you may be eligible
to receive widow’s disability benefits at age 50.

Widow With Children: You can get widow’s benefits at any
age if you are caring for the child of your deceased husband
who is under age 16 or disabled and entitled to benefits.  Your
unmarried children under age 18 can also receive monthly
checks.  In a few instances, a child who is a student over 18 can
receive benefits.  Your benefits will stop when you no longer
have a child entitled to benefits in your care or when the child is
no longer eligible for benefits.  Usually your benefits will stop if
you remarry.  Benefits to your children will continue as long as
they remain eligible regardless of your remarriage or your
employment status.  A widow who remarries at age 60 or older
or who marries another Social Security beneficiary may
continue to receive benefits on her deceased husband’s record.
The woman, however, could opt to take a wife’s benefits at age
62 on her new husband’s record, if it would be larger than the
widow’s benefit and her spouse is receiving retirement or
disability benefits.

Divorced Women: You can receive benefits when your ex-
husband starts collecting retirement or disability checks if you
are age 62 or over, were married to him at least 10 years, and
have not remarried.  Even if your ex-husband is not actually
receiving benefits, you can get retirement payments at age 62
provided your ex-husband is eligible for benefits and you have
been divorced for at least 2 years.  If you remarry before age
60, you are ineligible for benefits on your first husband’s record
unless your second marriage ends; if you remarry after age 60
you can receive benefits based on your ex-husband’s record.
You may also get payments if your ex-husband dies, provided
you are 60 or older (50, if you are disabled), were married 10
years or more, or you have children entitled to benefits on his
record.

The laws governing Social Security are complex and
frequently change.  To obtain up-to-date accurate information
regarding your rights to Social Security benefits, contact the
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Social Security office nearest you.
It is probable that competent attorneys are available on a

contingent basis to handle Social Security claims.  Attorney fees
are controlled by the Social Security Administration.

What is Medicare and when may I draw its benefits?
Medicare is health insurance under Social Security and is

divided into two parts—hospital insurance (Part A) and medical
insurance (Part B).  Part A of Medicare is hospital insurance
and pays for inpatient hospital care and certain follow-up care
after you leave the hospital.  You are automatically enrolled for
Part A at age 65 if you receive monthly Social Security benefits,
or at an earlier age if you have been receiving Social Security
disability payments on your own account for 24 consecutive
months.  There is no monthly premium for Part A of Medicare.
Check with your Social Security office about 3 months before
you reach 65 to ensure that you are properly enrolled for Part
A.

Part B of Medicare, or medical insurance, covers physician’s
and certain outpatient services, ambulance service if authorized
by a physician, some home nursing visits, and other services.
Since there is a premium charge for Part B, you have a choice
whether to enroll.  Medicare does not cover all medical
expenses; private insurance is available to supplement it.  Care
should be taken in purchasing private Medicare supplement
health insurance.  Usually, it is best to purchase one good
supplemental policy, as several policies may duplicate coverage
and costs.  Contact the Iowa Insurance Commissioner for
information on purchasing Medicare supplement insurance and
your local Social Security office for information on Medicare
benefits.

Must I pay Social Security taxes for part-time household
workers who work in my home?

Yes, you must pay Social Security quarterly if you pay more
than $50 per quarter to household employees.  If you pay more
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than $200 during a quarter, you must also pay Worker’s
Compensation benefits.

Contact the Internal Revenue Service for the proper forms
and assistance in completing them.
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Violence Against Women

Domestic Violence
What legal protection is available if I am being abused by my
husband or partner?

If you are being hit, beaten, threatened, or otherwise
physically abused, you may call the police for immediate
protection.  The criminal laws regarding assault apply to
couples as they do to others.  If the police decide that there is
probable cause that an assault took place and that your partner
or husband injured you, they are required to make an arrest.  In
addition to taking your partner or husband from your home on
your request, the police will take you to get medical treatment
or to a shelter.

Iowa law permits you to have a victim counselor (from a
domestic violence project) with you during police interviews
and other proceedings related to the crime.  Victim counselors
can also assist you in dealing with medical personnel and
attorneys.

You can also file for a court order of protection whether or
not an arrest is made.  If your partner violates the protective
provisions of the order, the police can take him away from your
home and before a judge.  If the judge finds that the abuser
violated the order, he or she may find him in contempt of court
and order him to jail.

Do I have to be married in order to qualify for legal
protection from someone who is abusing me?

No.  The special domestic abuse laws regarding arrest and
protective orders apply to persons in other relationships, too.  If
you are married but separated from your husband, if you are
divorced from each other and not living together, if you have a
child in common, or if you are unmarried but lived together
within the past year, you qualify for protection under the
domestic abuse laws.  If you are living with someone in an
intimate relationship (heterosexual or homosexual), the laws
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apply to you, as well.  Finally, the laws also cover blood
relatives or persons related by affinity (such as in-laws) if they
are living together, except for persons under the age of 18.

How do I go about getting a protective order?
If the police arrest someone under the domestic abuse laws,

the judge or magistrate will likely order that person to have no
contact with you or your children while the criminal case is
pending.  You can ask the county attorney to request this no
contact order if the judge or magistrate does not issue it on his/
her own.

You may also get a protective order even if no criminal
charge is filed.  Your private attorney can apply to the court for
this protection, or, Legal Services can act on your behalf if you
qualify under their income guidelines.  You also have the right
to apply on your own behalf, that is, without an attorney (pro
se) for a protective order from the court. There are no filing
fees.  The clerk of court at your county courthouse can give
you the forms you need to file for protection on your own.  A
booklet entitled “How to Protect Yourself from Domestic
Violence Without A Lawyer” is available at the county
courthouse or at your local domestic violence shelter.

Securing a long-term protective order requires a hearing
before a judge.  Notice must be given to the defendant (or
abuser) concerning the hearing which the defendant has a right
to attend.  To obtain a hearing, you must file a petition in your
district court.  The court will usually set a date for a hearing on
the long-term order at the time you file the petition or ask for a
short-term order. The defendant (abuser) must be notified of the
hearing time. If domestic abuse is established at the hearing, the
court may order the abuser to stay away from your residence,
school, or place of employment, or authorize any other needed
relief.  Such orders can last up to one year.  You may ask the
court to extend your order before it expires. There is no limit on
the number of times an order can be extended. You do not have
to have lived with the abuser since the order was issued in order
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to apply for an extension.
It is also possible to obtain a temporary, or short-term, order

to protect you from violence prior to the hearing.  Where an
immediate threat of violence exists, the court may grant a
temporary order, effective until the hearing.  You may ask the
judge for a temporary order when you file the petition for a
hearing, or at any time during the interim between filing the
petition and the hearing.  If you need immediate protection
when court offices are closed, such as at night or on weekends,
you may file a petition for an emergency order before a district
judge or a designated district associate judge.  Such an
emergency order will be effective no longer than 72 hours.  It
will give you time, however, to secure a longer order from the
court when it resumes business.  The police department should
be able to tell you where to seek an immediate emergency
order.

What will a protective or restraining order cover?
You can ask the court for a variety of protective measures.

The court will consider your special situation and your requests.
The court can order your abuser to stop the abuse, to have no
contact with you, to get counseling, and/or to move out of your
home.  The court can order the abuser to pay you money for
maintaining a separate household and for child support.  If there
are children, the court can set custody and visitation for the
time that the order is in effect.

Where can I get help in dealing with domestic abuse?
Many Iowa communities offer services for domestic violence

victims and their families.  Counseling, advocates to help you
deal with the legal and social service systems, and emergency
housing or shelter for yourself and your children, are some of
the services that may be available in your community.  Contact
your local domestic violence shelter, YWCA, sexual assault
center, women’s center, mental health center, Human Services
office, County Attorney, law enforcement agency, or crisis

Iowa Women & the Law/49



telephone line for information on services in your area.  The toll
free domestic abuse hotline number in Iowa is 800/942-0333
and is answered 24 hours a day.  Legal assistance can be
obtained from an attorney or, if you are low income, from your
local Legal Services office.

Sexual Assault
What should I do if I am sexually assaulted?

You may, but are not required to, contact the local police
department.  If you live in an area served by a sexual assault/
rape crisis center, call the center for assistance.  Iowa law
permits you to have a victim counselor with you during police
interviews and other proceedings related to the crime.  Victim
counselors can also assist you in dealing with medical personnel
and attorneys. The cost of the medical exam for purposes of
gathering evidence is covered by the Crime Victim Assistance
Division.  A person may have an examination without reporting
the crime to a law enforcement agency.

NOTE:  To preserve evidence, it is important that you do
not bathe, douche, or otherwise change your physical
appearance except under a doctor’s care, and call the proper
authorities as soon as possible.  If you are the victim of a
violent crime and have reported that crime within 72 hours, you
may apply for compensation for medical care, loss of income,
funeral burial expenses and other costs.  Contact the Crime
Victim Compensation Program at 515/281-5044.

Is it necessary to have corroborating evidence of the rape in
order to bring criminal charges?

No.  The law on rape prosecution has changed. It is no
longer necessary to produce corroborating evidence. A victim’s
testimony alone may be enough to convict. In addition, the
“rape shield” law limits questions about the victim’s sexual
history.
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Can a spouse be charged with sexual assault?
Yes.  If the act is done by force or against the will of the

participant, a spouse can be charged with sexual assault.

What if I am the victim of sexual assault and am concerned
about AIDS?

Only your own test can give reliable information; contact a
rape crisis center or an AIDS Hotline for referral to an
anonymous testing site.  Victims of sexual assault may petition
the court for a search warrant to require an alleged offender be
tested for HIV.  They also may petition the court and learn the
HIV test results of an offender; a convicted offender’s positive
HIV test, however, is a poor indication of your own risk.  The
assailant may not have transmitted the virus during the assault,
or the assailant may have contracted it later.

Stalking
What is stalking?

Stalking behavior can include a variety of actions, ranging
from harassing phone calls, to continued surveillance, to serious
threats. Stalkers generally exhibit some sort of compulsive
behavior and become fixated on their target. Women are stalked
far more often than men, and the stalker often is a former
boyfriend or husband. But stalkers may be strangers or mere
acquaintances, and stalkers and targets can be of either gender.
The threatening conduct may be directed at the target of the
stalking, or at people who are close to the target (family,
friends, or coworkers), or even at the targeted person’s pets.

Is stalking a crime?
Iowa has a crime called “stalking,” but the stalker may

commit a wide variety of other crimes, as well. The crime of
Stalking covers a very narrow range of activities: a repeated
course of conduct intended to cause fear of bodily injury or
death to the target or to a member of the target’s immediate
household.
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Stalking behavior also may include the commission of other
crimes, such as Harassment (written, telephonic or personal
contact made with the intent to threaten, alarm, or intimidate);
Assault (threats of immediate injury or offensive acts or
physical attacks that may cause injury, or intentionally pointing
a firearm at someone); Criminal Trespass (coming onto
property with an intent to commit a public offense); Going
Armed with Intent (taking a dangerous weapon along, with the
intent to use it against someone); Attempted Murder (setting a
course of events in motion that are intended to result in death);
or Sexual Abuse (committing a sex act against the will of
another person).

How do I know if I am in danger?
Most people can sense when they are in danger, based on

subtle cues, but there are several factors that generally point
toward an escalation of danger. The risk increases when the
stalker makes threats of bodily injury or death, or actually uses
violence; when the stalker has access to firearms or explosives;
when the stalker maintains intensive surveillance for some
period of time; when the stalker abuses pets; when the stalker
ignores a protective order issued by a court; when the stalker
threatens suicide; or when the stalker breaks into a home or
office.

What can I do if I am being stalked?
There are several things that you should consider doing if

you are being stalked:
(1) Call the police or county sheriff. Many stalkers commit

some type of crime in the course of their stalking behavior.
Even if no crime has been committed, or if the stalker commits
only petty offenses, your local law enforcement agency may be
able to provide you with practical advice on how to respond to
the stalker.

(2) Take extra precautions. Be aware of what is happening
around you. Tell others about the threat (neighbors, family,
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co-workers), and ask them to keep an eye out for strange
occurrences. Use basic security measures, such as locking your
home with deadbolt locks, locking your car while driving and
when you park, checking inside your car before you enter it,
parking in well-lit and secure areas, and avoiding walking alone
in dark or isolated areas. Buy a firearm only if you know how to
use it, are willing to use it in self-defense, and are aware of the
risk that it could be used against you or a loved one.

(3) Get a civil protective order. If your stalker is or was your
intimate partner (spouse, former spouse, parent of your child,
or member of your household currently or in the past year),
then you qualify for a domestic abuse civil protection order. A
judge also may issue a civil protection order in any other
situation if you are a victim or a witness who is being harassed
or intimidated. If the stalker has been arrested for harassment or
stalking, you may be able to get a criminal no-contact order,
and if the stalker has been arrested for domestic abuse assault,
you may be able to get a criminal no-contact order.  To find out
what type of no-contact order you can apply for, contact a
private attorney, legal aid or legal services, the county attorney,
or the clerk of court.

(4) Keep a notebook or calendar. Record detailed
information about each encounter with the stalker. Your notes
can refresh your memory later, should you need to speak with
police or testify in court. Be sure to include the date, time,
location, full description of the person, words spoken, actions
taken during the incident, actions you took afterward, and
names of witnesses. You may wish to record threats made over
the telephone or other encounters. Iowa law generally permits
the taping of a conversation when one party to the conversation
consents. Thus, you can tape your own conversations, or
occurrences when you are physically present.

(5) Contact your county attorney’s office. Some counties
have victim/witness coordinators who can help you and keep
you informed about your case if charges are filed.

If you are being stalked in a domestic abuse situation, there
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is a network of domestic abuse programs throughout the state
that may be able to help. Domestic abuse programs offer free,
confidential advice and counseling. Most provide shelters to
victims who are not safe in their own home. These programs
also offer advocacy with the criminal justice system. Call your
local domestic abuse program or the statewide Iowa Domestic
Abuse Hotline at 1-800-942-0333. The phone is answered 24
hours a day, 365 days a year.
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Wills and Probate

What is an estate?
An estate is one’s property, debts, and obligations.

What is an estate plan?
This term usually means a plan for transferring all of one’s

property during life and after death.

What is included in an estate plan?
A Will that becomes effective at death, insurance policies,

various forms of ownership of real and personal property, gifts
during lifetime, and trusts are all part of a total estate plan.

What is a Will?
A Will is a document which disposes of property after death

according to the deceased person’s individual plan.

What happens to the property of a decedent if there is no
Will?

The State of Iowa writes the equivalent of a Will through its
statutory probate law that automatically disposes of property
through an established formula.  This formula generally
provides that if a decedent leaves a surviving spouse and no
children, or if a decedent leaves a surviving spouse and children,
all of whom are also children of the surviving spouse, the
surviving spouse receives all of the estate.  If, however, a
decedent leaves a surviving spouse and children, some of whom
are not children of the surviving spouse, the surviving spouse
receives the greater of (a) one-half of the estate or (b) $50,000,
and the decedent’s children divide the remaining portion of the
estate equally.  Natural and adopted children all are considered
children of the decedent and/or surviving spouse for purposes
of this formula.
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Who needs a Will?
Anyone who is not satisfied with the distribution of an estate

made by the State of Iowa should have a Will to express
individual wishes.

Is there any one best form of ownership of property?
No.  The three most common forms of ownership are:

individual proprietorship, tenancy in common, and joint tenancy
with right of survivorship.

What is best is an individual decision with regard to each
piece of property one owns.  An attorney can advise you
concerning the form of ownership appropriate for your
situation.

How should I file my tax return for the taxable year in which
my spouse died?

You can file as a married taxpayer during the calendar (or
tax) year in which your spouse died.

What is probate?
Probate is the legal procedure for amassing, accounting for,

and distributing property after death.

How much does a probate proceeding cost?
Estate settlement costs vary with each estate, but factors that

go into the total cost include federal estate tax, Iowa
inheritance tax, income taxes, court costs, attorney fees, and
executor fees.

Is a surviving spouse entitled to a certain portion of the
deceased spouse’s estate?

Yes.  If a surviving spouse is not satisfied with the share
given in the Will, the spouse may elect to take against the Will
and receive one-third of the estate with certain exceptions for
personal property.
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Are children entitled by law to a certain portion of their
parent’s estate?

A parent is not required to leave anything to a child, but if
there is no Will, the law provides that under some
circumstances children may receive a share of a deceased
parent’s estate.  A parent may by Will leave a child absolutely
nothing.

Does Iowa law recognize contributions of spouses not
employed outside the home?

Yes.  Iowa law presumes that one-half of the property held
in joint tenancy was contributed by each spouse.  Accordingly,
one-half of all property held in joint tenancy is presumed to
belong to the surviving spouse and is not subject to inheritance
taxation.  The surviving spouse, however, retains the option of
proving a contribution of more or less than one-half.

You should consult your lawyer in planning your estate and
drafting your Last Will and Testament.

Iowa Women & the Law/57



Where to Seek Help and Advice

These are some of the private sources and public agencies
available to you in Iowa.

About Marriage And Family
Your family doctor, minister, priest, or rabbi
A marriage counselor
A lawyer
Family Service Agency
Legal Services office
County District Court
County Department of Human Services
Family Planning Agency
Domestic Violence Hotline 1-800-942-0333

About Your Children
A lawyer
Your family doctor, minister, priest, or rabbi
County Department of Human Services
Family Service Agency
County Bar Association
Legal Services office
Your county juvenile court officer

About Employment And Social Security
Iowa Workforce Development
1000 East Grand Avenue, Des Moines, Iowa  50319
515/281-5387; 800/562-4692; <www.state.ia.us/iwd>

Social Security Administration
210 Walnut Street, Des Moines, Iowa  50309
800/772-1213; <www.ssa.gov>

U.S. Department of Labor - Wage and Hour Division
210 Walnut Street, Room 643, Des Moines, Iowa 50309
515/284-4625; <www.dol.gov/dol/esa/public/whd_org.htm>
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U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
310 West Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 800
Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53203
414/297-1111; 800/669-3362; for publications—800/669-4000;
<www.eeoc.gov>

About Discrimination On The Basis Of Sex
Iowa Civil Rights Commission
211 East Maple Street, 2nd Floor, Des Moines, Iowa  50319
515/281-4121; 800/457-4416; <www.state.ia.us/government/
crc/index.html>
U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
310 West Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 800
Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53203
414/297-1111; 800/669-3362; for publications—800/669-4000;
<www.eeoc.gov>

U.S. Office of Federal Contract Compliance
250 South Dearborn, Suite 570, Chicago, Illinois
312/353-7119; <www.dol.gov/dol/esa/public/ofcp_org.htm>

Iowa Attorney General’s Office
Hoover State Office Building, Des Moines, Iowa  50319
515/281-5164; <www.state.ia.us/government/ag/index.html>

Iowa Department of Education - Sex Equity Coordinator
Grimes State Office Building, Des Moines, Iowa  50319
515/281-8170; <www.state.ia.us/educate/index.html>

US Department of Education - Office for Civil Rights Region 7
10220 North Executive Hills Boulevard, 8th Floor
Kansas City, Missouri  64153-1367
816/880-4200; <www.ed.gov/offices/OCR>

Your city human rights or civil rights commission
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About Political Matters
Your city or township clerk
Your county commissioner of elections
Your precinct committee persons

Your political party headquarters
  Democrat – 515/244-7292; <www.iowademocrats.org>
  Green – 319/337-7341 ; <www.greens.org/iowa>
  Republican – 515/282-8105; <www.iowagop.org>

The League of Women Voters
<www.lwvia.org>

About Obtaining A Lawyer
Lawyer Referral Service (for a private attorney)
521 East Locust Street, Des Moines, Iowa  50309
515/280-7429 or 800/532-1108; <www.iowabar.org>

Legal Services Corporation of Iowa (legal assistance to low-
income persons)
For the number in your area, call:
Central Administrative Office
1111 9th Street, Suite 230, Des Moines, Iowa  50314
800/532-1275; 515/243-2151; <www.lsc.gov>

Legal Aid Society of Polk County
1111 9th Street, Suite 380, Des Moines, Iowa 50314
515/243-1193

About Problems With State Government
Citizens’ Aide/Ombudsman
215 East Seventh Street, Des Moines, Iowa  50319
515/281-3592; 800/358-5510; <staffweb.legis.state.ia.us/cao>
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About Victim Reparation
Crime Victim Compensation Program
Ola Babcock Miller Building, Des Moines, Iowa   50319
515/281-5044; 800/373-5044; <www.state.ia.us/government/
ag/cva.html>

About Women’s Issues
Iowa Coalition Against Domestic Violence
2603 Bell Avenue, Suite 100, Des Moines, Iowa  50321
515/244-8028; <www.icadv.org>

Iowa Coalition Against Sexual Assault
2603 Bell Avenue, Suite 102, Des Moines, Iowa  50321
515/244-7424; <www.iowacasa.org>

Iowa Commission of the Status of Women
Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines, Iowa 50319
515/281-4461 or 800/558-4427; dhr.icsw@dhr.state.ia.us;
<www.state.ia.us/dhr/sw>

The Iowa Commission on the Status of Women has many
publications that are available upon request to the Commission
office.  Current publications include:

Advocacy Directories, including Iowa Women Organizations Listing
Annual Report
Credit Card Rights
Divorce: Things to Consider
Domestic Violence/Sexual Assault Projects Wage/Benefits Report
Female Juvenile Justice Report
Financial Safety Planning for Older Women
How to Get Your Bearings: How to Get a Job
Iowa Certified Nursing Assistant Wage and Benefits Survey
Iowa Gender Wage Survey
Iowa Women and the Law in English and Spanish
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Iowa Women’s Hall of Fame Book
IoWoman, bimonthly newsletter
Promising Directions: Programs that Serve Iowa Girls in a
  Single-Sex Environment
Providing Gender-Specific Services for Adolescent Female
Offenders: Guidelines & Resources
Referral Information on Programs to Assist Women/Minorities
  in Establishing and Expanding Small Businesses
Sexism in Education
Sexual Harassment: It’s Against the Law
Status of Iowa Women Report
Why Not Women?
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