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MOTORISTS OF IOWA: 
Safety on the highways is important to drivers 

and pedestrians alike. A good knowledge of the 
laws and regulations, signs and highway markings 
is important. The proper observation of same is 
of even more importance. Iowa stands high among 
the states in its safety record, and to maintain and 
improve this record is the responsibility of all of us. 

I have asked the Commissioner of Public Safety 
to prepare this guide for the benefit of the drivers 
of the state in improving highway safety in Iowa. 

Governor 
State of Iowa 

OBJECTIVE: SAFER LIVING 

Governor Beardsley has asked me, as the Commis­
sioner of Public Safety, to prepare this guide for the 
benefit of the drivers of the State in improving high­
way saf e~y in Iowa. 

As you st udy the r ules contained in this guide and 
equip yourself to become a competent lawful licensed 
driver, you will be impressed with their importance 
in bringing pleasant and safe driviBg to the highways 
of Iowa. 

The value of this guide lies not only in the fact 
that it gives the latest word on the Iowa legislation 
governing the issuance and regulation of drivers' 
licenses but also in that this legislation represents 
the work and experience of a large number of experts 
equipped to prepare necessary laws and regulations. 

Skilful, efficient driving-driving which does not 
result in crashes-depends on no qmrlity which is in• 
herent in either youth or age . . Rather, it depends on 
a fortunate combination of such qualities as physical, 
mental and emotional soundness, adequate informa­
tion, driving technique, sufficient experience, proper 
attitudes and good habits. 

To reduce traffic accidents is one of the most pos­
itive duties of citizenship-it is a challenge 

SOUND DRIVING PRACTICES ARE ESSEN­
TIAL FOR A CLEAR RECORD. 

Commissioner 
Iowa Department of Public Safety 
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DRIVER'S LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 

A person drives a motor vehicle on the highwayl!I 
of the State of Iowa not as a matter of right, but 
as a privilege granted by the legislature. The legis­
lature has set forth rules and regulations governing 
the licensing of drivers, and the manner in which a 
vehicle shall be operated if the operator is to con­
tinue to enjoy the privilege of operating a motor 
vehicle on the highways. 

There are no provisions in the law whereby any 
person is permitted to drive a motor vehicle upon 
the highways without a license. This law particu­
larly n pp Hes to those who are learning to drive. 
In order to afford ample protection for those who 
wish to learn to drive a motor vehicle, the legislature 
enacted a law providing for the issuance of an 
instruction permit. This permit is issued only after 
the applicant has passed a satisfactory law examina­
tion and vision test. 

EVERY APPLICANT UNDER THE AGE OF 
EIGHTEEN YEARS MUST FURNISH THE WRIT­
TEN CONSENT OF BOTH PARENTS BEFORE 
HE CAN OBTAIN AN INSTRUCTION PERMIT­
OPERATOR'S OR CHAUFFEUR'S LICENSE. 
SPECIAL AFFIDAVIT FORMS ARE PROVIDED 
FOR SIGNATURE OF BOTH PARENTS. IF THE 
PARENTS WISH THEY MAY APPEAR BEFORE 
THE EXAMINER WITH THE APPLICANT AND 
GIVE THEIR WRITTEN CONSENT AT THE TIME 
THE APPLICATION IS ACCEPTED. 

The minimum age requirement is 16 years for an 
operator's license and 17 years for a regular chauf • 
feur's license, and persons 16 years of age may be 
licensed as chauffeurs to operate light delivery 
trucks, panel trucks, or pickups. No person who 
has a chauffeur's license is required to have an oper­
ator's license. 

Any peace officer, sheriff, constable or state high­
way patrolman may stop a driver at any time and 
inspect his license. 

If a person 's name is changed by man·iage or for 
any other reason, or if his address is changed, it 
need not be reported until again applying for a 
driver's license. This provision should not be con­
fused, however, with section 321.41 of the 1950 
Code, which states that the owner of a motor vehi~ 
cle registered in his own name must notify the 
county treasurer within ten days of any change in 
name or address. 

If a person has lo•st his license and wishes to 
continue to operate a motor vehicle, he must make 
application for a duplicate license. No pe1·son 
should drive a vehicle until after he has complied 
with this requirement. 
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321.41 Change of address or name. Whenever 
any person after making application · for or obtain­
ing the registration of a vehicle shall move from 
the address named in the application or shown 
upon a registration card such person shall within 
ten days thereafter notify the county treasurer of 
the county in which the registration of said vehicle 
is of record, in writing of his old a·nd new addresses. 

Whenever the name of any person who has made 
application for or obtained t he registration of a 
vehicle is thereafter changed by marriage or other­
wise such person shall within ten days notify the 
county treasurer of the county in which the regis­
tration of said vehicle is of record, of such former 
and new name. 

321.174 Operators and chauffeurs licensed. No 
person, _except those hereinafter expressly exempted 
shall drive any motor vehicle upon a highway in this 
state unless such person has a valid license as an 
operator or chauffeur issued by the department of 
pubiic safety. No person shall operate a motor 
vehicle as a chauffeur unless he holds a valid 
~hauff eur's license. 

321.176 Persons exempt. The following pe1·sons 
are exempt from license hereunder: 

l. Any person while operating a motor . vehicle 
in the service of the army, navy, or marine corps of 
the .United States. 

2. Any person while operating a farm tractor or 
implement of husbandry to or from the home farm 
buildings to any adjacent or nearby farm land for 
the exclusive . purpose of conducting farm opera­
tions. 

3. A nonresident who is at least sixteen year s of 
age and who has in his immediate possession a 
valid operator,s license issued to him in his home 
state or country may operate a motor vehicle in this 
t ate only as an operator. 

4. A nonresident who is at least eight een years of 
age and who has in his immediate possession a valid 
chauff eur,s license issued t o him in his home state 
or country may operate a motor vehicle in this state 
either as an operator or chauffeur except any such 
person must be licensed as a chauffeur her eunder 
before accepting employment as a chauffeur from a 
resident of this state. 

5. Any nonresident who is at least eighteen years 
of age, whose home state or country does not require 
the licensing of operators, may operate a motor ve­
hicle as an operator only, for a period of not more 
than ninety days in any calendar year, if the motor 
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vehicle se operated is duly registered in the home 
state or country of such nonresident. 

321.180 Instruction permits. Any person who, 
except for his lack of instructions in operating a 
motor vehicle, would otherwise be qualified to obtain 
an operator's license under this chapter, may apply 
for a temporary instruction permit, and upon appli­
cant meeting the requirements of section 321.186, 
other than driving demonstration, the department 
shall issue such permit, entitling the applicant, while 
having such permit in his immediate possession, to 
drive a motor vehicle upon the highways for a 
period of sixty days, but, except when operati:ng a 
motorcycle, such person must be accompanied by a 
licensed operator or chauffeur who is at least twenty. 
one (21) years of age; and who is actually occupyina 
a seat beside the driver. 

The department, upon receiving proper applica­
tion, may in its discretion, issue a restricted instruc­
tion permit effective for a restricted period of not 
to exceed five months, if such applicant is at least 
fourteen years of age and is enrolled in a driver 
training program approved by the department. 
Such instruction permit shall entitle the permittee 
when he has such permit in his immediate possession 
to operate a motor vehicle only when an instructor 
approved by the department is occupying a seat 
beside the permittee. Each applicant applying for 
an instruction permit under an approved driver 
training program shall furnish a certificate of 
eligibility and such certificate shall be valid only 
when signed by an approved instructor. 

321.190 Carried and exhibited. Every licensee 
shall have his operator's 01· chauffeur's license in hi! 
immediate possession at all times when operating 
a motor vehicle and shall display the same, upon de­
mand of a justice of peace, a peace officer, or a field 
deputy or examiner of the department. However, 
no per son charged with violating this section shall 
be convicted if he produces in court, within a reason­
able time an operator's or chauffeur's license there­
tofore issued to him and valid at the time of hie 
arrest. 

THE EXAMINATION 
A person desiring to secure an Iowa driver's li­

cense must pass an examination given by an Iowa 
driver's examiner. He may take the examination aa 
soon as he is eligible for an operator's license, and 
as soon as he feels that he has learned the rules and 
has had sufficient pr actice to pass the examination. 
Information relative to the examining points and 
dates may be obtained from any highway patrol of­
ficer, or at any sheriff's office or police department. 
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The purpose of the examination is to determine 
three things : 

1. Is the applicant physically and mentally com­
petent to operate a motor vehicle with safety? 

2. Does he know the law of the road and has he 
had sufficient experience to oper~te a motor 
vehicle with safety ? 

8. Is he willing t o keep his vehicle properly 
equipped for safe driving? 

Under . no circumstances will any person ( except 
a nonres1dent) be given an examination unless ac­
companied by a licensed driver. 

The examination consists of four parts: (1.) vehicle 
inspection; (2 ) driving test; (3) written or oral 
~est; ( 4) vision _test .. A person wishing to get an 
mstruct10n permit _w1!l be required to pass parts 3 
and 4; a person w1shmg to secure an operator's or 
chauffeu r's license will be required to pass parts 1, 
2, 3 and 4. 

The vehicle inspection will be made by the driver's 
examiner. The :7ehicle ~hall be roadworthy, shall 
be. P!oper_ly eqmpped _with two headlights and a 
tail light m good workrng order, rear vision mirror, 
m? ffier~ adequate foot and hand brakes, clear vision 
wmdsh1el? of _safety _plate glass, windshield wiper, 
~orn ?r s1gnalmg device, and shall have pr oper reg­
tStration plates and registration certificate. 
~ o per so:1 will be given a driving test until the 

vehicle which he presents for vehicle inspection 
meE:ts the. above requirements. An applicant whose 
vehicle !alls to pass the vehicle inspection test will 
be permitted to have the vehicle repaired and he may 
return for another vehicle inspection t he same day. 

YOUR CAR MUST 

l-leadlights · RearView 
(with high Safety Mirr 
ondlow beam) Glass 
Windshi<i?ld Wipers \ ~-=u._u 

~@ 
,?,- re 

Fron Registration 
Plate 

Rear Registration 
Plat~ nd light 

) 

Red Tail Light, 
Red Ref le.ctors 

t 

No aJ?plicant should attempt to take the driving 
te t until he has had at least thirty hours of drivin~ 
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experience under the direction of a competent in­
structor who is a licensed driver. A person who 
fails the driving test may request an instruction 
permit from the examiner. This will enable him to 
practice driving under proper supervision. l-See 
section 321.180) 

On the driving test the examiner will observe and 
pay particular attention to the following points: 

1. Is applicant seated properly so as t o be able to 
reach all control levers and also so as to have proper 
vision? 

2. Does applicant start smoothly and make proper 
observation? 

3. On right and left turns does applicant pull into­
proper lane and give correct signals in plenty of 
time to warn other drivers? 
· 4. Does applicant obey signs and enter intersec­
tion cautiously? 

5. Does applicant meander and look around while 
driving or does he stay in line, keep pace and pay 
attention? 

6. In passing other cars does applicant cut in too 
soon or does he allow a sufficient clear distance? 

7. Does applicant observe the speed regulations in 
the district in which he is driving? 

8. In parking is applicant slow and uncertain or 
does he get into the space easily without bumping? 

9. In backing does applicant use care and caution? 
10. Is the applicant courteous to and have the­

proper attitude toward other drivers? 

ISSUANCE OF LICENSES 

321.177 Persons not to be licensed. The depart­
ment shall not issue any license hereunder: 

1. To any person, as an operator, who is under the 
age of sixteen years, except that the department 
may issue a restricted license as provided in section 
321.194 or an instruction permit as provided in sec­
tion 321.180 to any person who is at least fourteen 
years of age. 

2. To any person, as a chauffeur, who is under the 
age of eighteen years, except that the department 
may issue to any person over the age of sixteen 
years a license to operate a light delivery truck, 
panel delivery t ruck or pickup. 

3. To any person, as an oper ator or chaufl'eur, 
whose license or driving privilege has been supend­
ed during such suspension or to any person whose 
license, or driving privilege, has been revoked, until 
the expiration of one year after such revocation. 

4. To any person, as an operat or or chauffeur, 
who is an habitual drunkard, or is addicted to the 
use of narcotic drugs. 
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5. To any person, as an operator or chauffeur, who 
has previously been adjudged to be afflicted with 
<>r suffering from any mental disability or disease 
and who has not at the time of application been re-
tored to competency by the methods provided by 

law. 
6. To any person, as an operator or chauffeur, 

who is r equired by this chapter to take an examina­
tion, unless such person shall have successfully 
passed such examinat ion. 

7. To any person when the commissioner has good 
cause to believe that such person by reason of physi­
cal or mental disability would not be able t o operate 
a motor vehicle with safety upon the highways. 

321.178 Chauffeur's age exception. Notwith-
standing the provisions of subsection 2 of section 
321.177 the department is hereby authorized to is­
sue to a person seventeen years of age a license to 
operate a motor vehicle as a chauffeur, upon appli­
ca tion showing the information and signature re­
quired in section 321.184. 

321.184 Application of minors. The application 
of any person under the age of eighteen years for . an 
instruction permit, oper ator's license, or permit is­
sued under section 321.194 shall be signed and veri­
fied before a person authorized to administer oaths 
by both the father and mother of the applicant, i:f 
both ar e living and have custody of him, or in the 
event neither parent is living then by t he person or 
guardian having such custody or by an employer of 
such minor. 

321.186 Examination of new or incompetent. 
operators. The department may examine every new 
applicant for an operator's or chauffeur's license or 
any person holding a valid operator's or chauffeur's 
license when the department has reason to believe 
that such person may be physically or mentally in­
competent to operate a motor vehicle, or whose 
driving record appears to the department to justify 
such an examination. Such examinations shall be 
held in every county within periods not to exceed 
fif teen days. It shall include a test of the applicant's 
eyesigh t, his ability to read and understand highway 
signs r egulating, warning, and directing traffic, his 
knowledge o! the traffic laws of this state, and 
shall include an actual demonstration of ability to 
exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the 
operation of a motor vehicle and such further physi­
cal and mental examinations as the department 
finds necessary to determine the applicant's fitness 
to operate a motor vehicle safely upon the highways. 
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321.188 Sheriff may issue temporary license. 
When a department uniformed examiner is not 
available, the county sheriff may in his discretion 
accept from a person holding a valid operator'& 
license of this state or a valid chauffeur 's license 
of another state, application to the department for 
a chauffeur's license accompanied by the regular f.ee 
therefor, and is hereby authorized to issue a license 
to operate a motor vehicle as a chauffeur, using 
forms provided by the department, to expire fifteen 
days from issuance. The entire fee and application, 
shall be turned over to the department examiner­
on or before the date of expiration of such licens.e 
and if the applicant does not appear within the 
calendar year for examination the license fee shall. 
be considered an earned fee, but if upon examination 
the application is denied, the fee shall be returned 
to applicant by the department. No such license 
shall be issued to any person who has within the 
same calendar year been issued a license as herein 
provided or to any per son previously denied any 
license by the department. 

321.193 Restricted licenses. The department upon 
issuing an operator's or chauffeur's license shall 
have . authority whenever good cause appears to 
impose restrictions suitable to the licensee's driv­
ing ability with respect to the type of vehicle or 
special mechanical control devices required on a 
motor vehicle which the licensee may operate or such 
other restrictions applicable to the licensee, includ­
ing licenses issued under section 321.194, as the 
department may determine to be appropriate to as­
sure the safe operation of a motor vehicle by the 
licensee. 

The department may either issue a speci.al. re­
stricted license or may set forth such restrictions 
upon the usual license form. 

'rhe department may upon receiving satisfactory 
evidence of any violation of the restrictions of such 
license suspend or revoke the same but the licensee 
shall be entitled to a hearing as upon a suspension 
or revocation under this chapter. 

It is a misdemeanor, punishable as provided in 
section 321.482 for any person to operate a motor 
vehicle in any manner in violation of the restrictions 
imposed in a restricted license issued to him. 

321.194 Minors. A r estricted license may be is­
sued to any person between the ages of fourteen and 
sixteen years, to be valid only in going to and from 
school over the most direct and accessible route or 
at any time when accompanied by a parent or guard~ 
ian who is the holder of a valid operator's or chauf-
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feur's license, and who is actually occupying a seat 
beside the driver. 

321.196 E xpiration of operator's license. The 
epartment shall extend every operator's license 

numbered five hundred thousand a nd no hundredths, 
(500,000) and above expiring July 5, 1948 for a 
period not t o exceed the next birthday of the licensee 
nd shall e tend every operator's license numbered 

from one ( 1) to five hundred thou a nd and no hun-
redth (500,000) expiring July 5, 194 to July 6, 

1949 and , in addition thereto, for a period not to 
-exceed the next birthday of the licensee ; provided, 
·however, all licenses numbered from one ( 1) to five 
hundred t hou and a nd no hundredths (500,000) upon 

pplication for renewal shall pay, in addition to the 
regular lice nse fee, an additiona l fifty percent 
(50%) thereof to cover the period from July 5, 1949 
unti l their next birthday follo wing July 5, 1949. 
Each operator 's license issued after July 5, 1948 shall 
,expire two years from the licensee's birthday anni­
versary occu rring in the year of issuance. For the 

urpose of this section the birthday anniversary 
of a per on born on February 29 shall be deemed to 

ccur on 1arch 1. 
All appl icatio•ns for renewal of oper ators' licenses 

made after July 5, 1948 hall be made under the 
<lirect sup rvision of a uniformed member of the 
department and shall be approved by such uniformed 
membeL The commissioner may, in his discretion, 

utho_rize the r enewal of a valid license upon appli­
cation without an examination provided that, a per­
son holding uch license has not more than three 
(3) convictions of moving traffic violations during 
the previou two (2) years and, provided t hat such 
person satisfactorily passes a vision test as pre­
scribed by the department. 

The commiRsioner shall be au thorized t o assign 
not to e.x,ceed ten percent (10%) of the total num­
ber of Iowa highway safety patrolmen authorized 
by law for the purposes of carrying out the provi-
ions of this section. 

321.197 Expiration of chauffeur's licenses~ Eve_ry 
chauffeur's license issued hereunder shall expire 
annually on the licensee's date of birth. Persons 
whose birthdays occur on February 29th shall be 
eemed to occur on March 1st, for the purpose of 

this section. Any chauffeur's license issued to be 
valid for the calendar year 1949, shall be extended 
to the next birthday of the licensee in the year 1950, 
and shall be renewed on or before that date upon 
payment of the license fees required by law. The 
departm nt in its discretion may waive the exami­
nation of any such applicant previously licensed as 
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a chauffeur under thi chapter, provided that such 
person satisfactorily passes a visio!1 t~st as pre­
scribed by the department. All apphcatrnns for the 
renewal of a chauffeur's license made after J anua,ry 
1, 1950, shall be made under the direct supervision 
of a uniformed member of the department and shall 
be approved by such uniformed member. 

321.198 Military service exception. The effective 
date of a valid operator's license and of a valid chauf­
feur's license to the extent that it per mits the opera­
tion of a motor vehicle as an operator, issued under 
the laws of this state, held by any person at the time 
of entering -the milit ary service of the United States 
or of the state of Iowa subsequent to September 19. 
1940, notwithstanding the expiration of su~h license 
according to its terms, is hereby extended without fee 
until six months following the discharge of such per­
son from the mili tary service, provided uch discharge 
is honorable and such person is not suffering from 
such physical disabilities as to impair his competency 
as an operator and provided further that sucn licen­
see shall upon demand of any peace offic r furnish 
satisfactory evidence of his military service. How­
ever, no person entitled to the benefits of th is section, 
charged with operat ing a motor vehicle without n 
operator's license, shall be convicted if he produce. .. 
in court, within a reasonable time, a valid operator'• 
or chauffeur's license theretofore issued to him along 
with evidence of his military service as above men­
tioned. 

The department is hereby authorized to renew any 
operator' license falling within the provisions and 
limit ations of the preceding par agraph, without ex­
amination, upon application and payment of fee mad 
within six months following discharge from the mili­
tary service. 

SUSPEN TON OR REVOCATION OF 
DRIVERS' LICENSES 

A driver's license gives a person the privilege of 
using Iowa's hi~hways only so long as he does so 
safely. If he disobeys the motor vehicle laws of the 
state, or becomes physically incompetent to operate 
a motor vehicle with safety, his license may be 
taken away by the department of public safety. 
There are some reasons for which the law says a 
license must be taken away. 

The department examines and determines the gen­
uineness, regularity, and legality of every applica­
tion for an operator's or a chauffeur's license, and 
rejects any sue 1 application if not satisfied of the 
genuineness, regularity or legality thereof. 

321.199 Recor ds. The department shall file every 
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' ' PERMANENT REC ORD 
of 

/4t•.,m, ..... John ... .. Richard Doe ~ c· .. ··"· f"I RS T MI DDLE O R ,M AI DEN LA ST 

~:rJ~~~i'h, ... 229.2 .. ~!.J'!l~--~-~-•----------··----
;,~r~r Des Moines I Iowa. 

DATE OF B IRT H I S E jco~~:
5
oF ~ H EI G H T 1/ F i , IN 

DRIVE R'S LIC ENSE RECOR D INF' IRMITIES 
Year Issued l $ll1l-lJ.7i 
Number l5QQSOQ 
Renewal 

WARNINGS, ARflES TS, CONVICTIONS ACCI DENT RECORD 
Date Violation Dlsposlllon Dalo Acc. No. 

'> -10-1.!.1 Stop Slim Fine 9-1-11'! 2 7b 
--1.::./J,_-:-hl ImP. Pass . Fine -9-1-1.Jl Reck . Dr i . Fina 

-

I 
SUSPENSIONS, RE VOC ATI ONS, DENI ALS CROSS IIEF'iREN.CES 

CharQ I Beginning Data Termination 

Recommend a.t i on 
n f' /"'r,lJX.t_ 9-15-4.l 3·l5-l+2 Tr,u. Fi 1 A 

The above is an illustration of a permanent rec­
ord envelope used in the driver's license department 
in which are placed the records of each driver who 
has been involved in an accident, has received a 
warning or a summons ticket for a traffic violation, 
r whose operating privilege has been suspended, 

revoked or denied. The disposition of those cases 
wherein the licensee was before the court is noted 
thereon. The permanent record system enables the 
department to get an instant picture of any driver's 
past record. The importance of keeping one's driv- · 
ing record clean is r eadily understandable. 

application for a license received by it and shall 
maintain suitable indexes containing, in alphabetical 
rder: 
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1.. All applications denied and on each thereof not.e 
the reason for such denial. 

2. All applications granted. 
3. The name of every licensee whose license baa 

been suspended or revoked by the department and 
aftr each such name note the reasons for such 
action. 

321.200 Conviction and accident file. The depart­
ment shall also file all accident reports and abstracts 
of court records of convictions received by it under 
the laws of this state and in connection therewith 
maintain convenient records or make suitable· nota­
tions in order that an individual record of each 
licensee showing the convictions of such licensee and 
the traffic accidents in which he has been involved 
shall be readily ascertainable and available for the 
consideration of the department upon any applica­
tion for renewal of license and at other suitable 
times. 

321.201 Authority to cancel license. The depart­
ment is hereby authorized to cancel any operator's 
or chauffeur's license upon determining that the 
licensee was not entitled to the issuance thereof 
hereunder or that said licensee failed to give the re­
quired or correct information in his application ·or 
committed any fraud in making such application. 

321.202 Surrender of license. Upon such can­
cellation, the licensee must surrender the license so 
canceled to the department. 

321.203 Suspending privileges of nonresidents. 
The privilege of driving a motor vehicle on the high­
ways of this state given to a nonresident hereunder 
shall be subject to suspension or revocation by the 
department in like manner and for like cause as an 
operator's or chauffeur's license issued hereunder 

· may be suspended or revoked. 

321.204 Certification of conviction. The depart­
ment is further authorized, upon receiving a record 
of the conviction in this state of a nonresident driver 
of a motor vehicle of any offense under the motor 
vehicle laws of this state, to forward a certified copy 
of such record to the motor vehicle administrator 
in the state wherein the person so convicted is a res­
ident. 

321.205 Conviction in another state. The depart­
ment is authorized to suspend or revoke the license 
of any resident of this state upon receiving notice 
of the conviction of such person in another state of 
an offense therein which, if committed in this state, 
would be grounds for the suspension or revocation of 
the license of ;m operator or chauffeur. 
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321.206 Surrender of license--duty of court. 
Whenever any person is convicted of any offense 
for which this chapter makes mandatory the revo­
cation of the operator's or chauffeur's license of such 
person by the department, the court in which such 
conviction is had shall require the surrender to it of 
all operator's and chauffeur's licenses then held by 
the person so convicted and the court shall thereupon 
forward the same together with a record of such con­
viction t o the department. 

. 3_21._20'! Record forwarded .. Every court having 
JUnsd1ct1on over offenses committed under this chap­
ter, or any other law of this state or any city traffic 
or qinances, other than parking regulations, r egu­
latmg the operation of motor vehicles on highways, 
shall forward to the department a record of the con­
viction of any person in said court for a violation of 
any said laws, and may recommend the suspension 
of the operator's or chauffeur's license of the person 
s~ convicted, and the department shall thereupon con­
sider and act upon s uch recommendation in such 
manner as may seem to it best. 

The judge of said court shall also immediately en­
ter upon the r ever se side of the operator's or chauf­
feur's license of the convicted person, the date of 
said conviction, the code section violated and add his 
signature, which shall remain on said license until 
renewal unless ordered removed after a subsequent 
acquittal on appeal. 

321.208 "Conviction" defined. For the purpose 
of this chapter the term ''conviction" shall mean a 
final conviction. Also for the purposes of this chapter 

forfeiture of bail or collateral deposited to secure 
a defendant's appearance in court, which forfeiture 
has not been vacated, shall be equivalent to a con­
victio . 

321.209 Mandatory r evocat'on. The department 
8hall forthwith revoke the license of any operator or 
chauffeur, or driving privilege, upon receiving a 
record of such operator's or chauffeur's conviction of 
any of the fo llowing offenses, when such conviction 
has become final : 

1. Manslaughter resulting from the operation of a 
motor vehicle. 

2. Driving a motor vehicle while under the infl.u­
enc of intoxicating liquor or a narcotic drug. 

3. Any f elony in t he commission of which motor 
vehicle is used. 

4. Failure to stop and render aid as required under 
the laws of this state in the event of a motor vehicle 
accident resulting in the death or personal injury of 
another. 
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6. Perjury or the making of a false affidavit or 
statement under oath to the department under this 
chapter or under any other law relating to the own­
ership or operation of motor vehicles. 

6. Convict ion, or forfeiture of bail not vacated, 
upon three charges of reckless driving committed 
within a period of twelve months. 

321.210 Authority to suspend. The department 
is hereby authorized to suspend the license of an 
operator or chauffeur without preliminary hearing 
upon a showing by its records or other sufficient 
evidence that the licensee: 

1. Has committed an offense for which mandatory 
revocation of license is required upon conviction. 

2. Is an ha bit ually reckless or negligent driver of 
a m otor vehicle. 

3. Is an habitual violator of the traffic laws. 
4. Is incompetent to drive a motor vehicle. 
5. Has permitted an unlawful or fraudulent use o:t 

such license. 
6. Has committed an offense in another stat e 

which if committed in this state would be grounds 
for suspension or revocation. 

321.211 Notice and hearing. Upon suspending 
the license of any person as hereinbefore authorized 
the department shall im.mediately notify the licensee 
in writing and upon his r equest shall afford him an 
opportunity for a hearing before t he commissioner 
or his duly authorized agent as early as practical 
within not to exceed twenty days after receipt of 
such request in the county wher ein the licensee re­
sides unless the depart ment and the licensee agree 
that such hearing may be held in some other county 
Upon such hearing the commissioner or his duly 
authorized agent may administer oaths and may is­
sue subpoenas for the attendance of witnesses and 
the production of relevant books and papers and may 
require a r e-examination of the licensee. Upon such 
hearing the department shall either rescind its order 
of suspension or, good cause appearing therefor, may 
extend the suspension of such license or revoke such 
license. 

321.212 Period of suspension or revocation. The 
department shall not suspend a license for a period 
of more than one year , except that a license sus­
pended because of incompetency to drive a motor 
vehicle shall be suspended until the department re­
ceives satisfactory evidence that the former holder 
thereof is competent to operate a motor vehicle and 
a refusal to reinstate shall constitute a denial of 
license within the provisions of section 321.215; upon 
revoking a license the department shall not in any 
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event grant application for a new license until the 
expiration of one year after such revocation. 

321.213 Surrender of license. The department 
upon suspending or revoking a license shall require 
that such license be surrendered to and be retained 
by the department except that at the end of the 
period of suspension such license so surrendered 
shall be returned to the licensee. 

321.214 No operation under foreign license. Any 
resident or nonresident whose operator's or chauf­
feur's license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle 
in this state has been suspended or revoked as pro­
vided in this chapter shall not operate a motor ve­
mcle in this sta te under a license, permit, or regis­
tration certificate issued by any ot1ler state or coun­
try or otherwise during such suspension or after 
such revocation until a new license is obtained when 
and as permitted under this chapter. 

321.215. Appeal. Any person denied a license or 
whose license has been canceled, suspended, or re­
voked by the department except where such cancel­
lation or revocation is mandatory under the pro­
visions of this chapter shall have the right to file a 
petition within thirty days thereafter for a hearing 
in the matter in a cour t of record in the county 
wherein such person shall reside and such court is 
hereby vested with jurisdiction and it shall be its 
duty to set the matter for hearing upon thirty days 
written notice to the commissioner , and thereupon the 
court shall hear and determine the matter as an 
original pr oceeding upon a transcript of all the 
proceedings befor e the commissioner, and upon addi­
tional evidence and other pleadings as the court may 
require. The decision of the court shall be final. 

VIOLATION OF LICENSE PROVISIONS 
321.216 Unlawful use of license. It is a misde­

meanor, punishable as provided in section 321.482 
unless other pumshment is ot herwise pr ovided, for 
any person : 

1. To display or cause or permit to be displayed 
or have in his possession any canceled, revoked, sus­
pended, fictitious or fraudulently altered operator's 
or chauffeur's license. 

2. To lend his oper ator's 0 1· chauffeur's license to 
any other person or knowingly permit the use there­
of by another. 

3. To displa y or represent as one's own any oper­
a.tor's or chauffeur's license not issued t o him. 

4. To fail or refuse to surrender to the depart­
ment upon its lawful demand any operator's or 
chauffeur's license which has been suspended, re­
VQked, or canceled. 
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5. To use a false or fictitious nam~ i~ any appli­
cation for an operator's or chauffeurs license ?r to 
knowingly make a false statement or to knowingly 
conceal a mater ial fact or otherwise commit a fraud 
in any such application. 

6. To permit any unlawful use of an operator's or 
chauffeur's license issued to him. 

321.217 Perjury. Any person who makes any 
false affidavit, or knowingly .swears or affirms falsel.Y 
to any matter or thing reqmred by the terms of this 
chapter to be swo~ t? or affirmed, is . guilty of per­
jury and upon conv1ct1on. sha ll be pumsha?l~ by fine 
or imprisonment as other persons comm1ttmg per ­
jury are punishable. 

321 218 Driving while license denied, suspended, 
or r e;oked. . Any person whose operator's or cha_uf­
feur's license or driving privilege, has been demed, 
canceled suspended or revoked a s provided in this 
chapter, ' and who drives any moto~ vehicle up~~ t he 
highways of this state while such hcense or pr1vll~ge 
is denied canceled, suspended, or r evoked, 1s gmlty 
of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be pun­
ished by imprisonment f or not less t han t~ o days 
or more than thirty days. The sentence imposed 
under this section aball not be suspended by t he 
court notwit hstanding the provisions of sect ion 
247.20 or any ot her provision of statute. 

The department, upon receiving t~e r eco!d of the 
conviction of any person under th is sect ion upon 
a charge of driving a motor vehicle while the license 
of such person was suspen1ed or revoked_, shall ex­
tend the period of suspension or revocat ion f6r an 
additional like per iod, and the department shall not 
issue a new license during such additional period. 

321.219 Permitting unauthorized minor t o drive. 
No person shall cause or knowingly permit his child 
or ward under the age of eighteen year s to drive a 
motor vehicle upon any h igh way when such minor 
is not a uthorized hereunder or in violation of any of 
the provisions of this chapter. 

321.220 Perm itting unaut horized person to drive. 
No person shall authorize or knowingly permit a 
motor vehicle owned by him or under his control to 
be dr iven upon any highway by any pereon who is 
not authorized hereunder or in viola tion of any of 
the provisions of this chapter. 

321.221 Em ploying unlicensed chauffeur. No pe"'Q 
son shall employ as a chauffeur of a motor veb: -
any person not then licensed as provided in this ; 
ter. ,Po 

321.222 Renting 111otor vehicle to anr 
person shall rent a motor vehicle to any ' 
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unless the latter person is then duly licensed here­
under or, in the case of a nonresident, then duly 
licensed under the laws of the state or country of 
his residence except a nonresident whose home state 
or country does not require that an operator be 
licensed. 

321.223 License inspected. No person shall rent 
a motor vehicle to another until he has inspected the 
operator's or chauffeur's license of the person to 
whom the vehicle is to be rented and compared and 
verified the signature thereon with the signature of 
,mch person •written in his presence. 

OBEDIENCE TO AND EFFECT OF 
TRAFFIC LAWS 

321.229 Obedience to police officers. No person 
shall willfully fail or refuse to corpply with any law­
ful order or direction of any peace officer invested 
by law with authority to direct, control, or regulate 
traffic. 

321.230 Public officers not exempt. The pro­
V1s1ons of this chapter applicable to the drivers of 
vehicles upon the highways hall apply to the drivers 
of all vehicles owned or operated by the United 
States, this state or any county, city, town, district 
or any other political subdivision of the state sub~ 
ject to such specific exceptions as are set forth in 
this chapter with reference to authorized emergency 
vehicles. 

321.231 Emergency vehicles. The driver of any 
authorized emergency vehicle when responding to an 
emergency call upon approaching a red or stop sig­
nal or any stop sign shall slow down as necessary 
for safety but may proceed cautiously past such red 
or stop sign or signal. At other times drivers of 
authorized emergency shall stop in obedience to a 
stop sign or signal. 

321.232 Specia] privil ge restricted. No driver of 
any authorized emergency vehicle shall assume any 
special privilege under this chapter except when such 
vehicle is operated in response to an emergency call 
or in the immediate pursuit of an actual or suspected 
violator of the law. 

321.234 Bicycles or animal-drawn vehicle • Every 
person riding a bicycle or an animal or driving any 
animal drawing a vehicle upon a roadway shall be 
subject to. the provisions of this chapter applicable 
to th~ dnver of a . vehicle, except those provisions 
of this chapter which by their nature can have no 
application. 
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TRAFFIC SIGNS, SIGNALS, A D MARKI GS 
321.255 Local traffic-control devices. Local au­

thorities in their respective jurisdiction shall place 
and maintain such traffic-control devices upon high­
ways under their jurisdiction as they may _d~em 
necessary to indicate and to carry out the prov1s10ns 
of this chapter or local traffic ordinances or to regu­
late, warn, or guide traffic. All such traffic-control 
devices hereafter erected shall conform to the state 
manual and specifications. 

321.256 Obedience to official traffic-control de­
vices. No driver of a vehicle or motorman of a 
streetcar shall disobey the instructions of any official 
traffic-control device placed in accordance with the 
provisions of this chapter, unless at the time other­
wise directed by a police officer. 

321.257 Traffic-control signal legend. Whenever 
traffic is controlled by traffic-control signals exhibit­
ing words "Go", "Caution" or "Stop" or exhibitin(l 
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different colored lights successively one at a time 
the following colors only shall be used and said terms 
and lights shall indicate as follows: 

1. Green alone or "Go". 
Vehicular traffic facing the signal may proceed 

straight through or turn right or left unless a sign 
at such place prohibits either such turn. But ve­
hicular traffic shall yield the right of way to other 
vehicles and to pedestrians lawfully within the inter­
section at the time such signal is exhibited. 

Pedestrians facing the signal may proceed across 
the roadway within any marked or unmarked cross­
walk. 

2. Yellow alone or "Caution" when shown follow­
ing the green or "Go" signal. 

Vehicular traffic facing the signal shall stop be­
fore enter ing the nearest crosswalk at the intersec­
tion, but if such stop cannot be made in safety a 
vehicle may be driven cautiously through the inter­
section. 

Pt!destrians facing such signals are thereby ad­
vised that there is insufficient time to cross the road­
way, and any pedestrian then starting to cross shall 
yield the right o.f way to all vehicles. 

3. Red alo ne ur "Stop". 
Vehicul8:r traffic facing the signal shall stop be­

fore entermg the nearest crosswalk at an intersec­
tion or a~ ~uch ?ther point as may pe indicated by a 
clearly visible lme and shall r emam standing untiJ 
green or "Go" is shown alone. 

No pedestrian facing such signal shall enter the 
roadway unless he can do so safely and without 
interfering with any vehicular traffic. 

4. R ed with green arrow. 
Vehicular traffic facing such signal may cau­

tiously enter t he intersection only to make the move­
ment indicated by such arr ow but shall not interfere 
with other t raffic or endanger pedestrians lawfully 
within- a crosswaik. -

No pedestrian facing such signal shall enter the 
roadway unless he can do so safely and without in­
terfering with any vehicular traffic. 

The motorman of any streetcar shall obey all t he 
!lbove signals as apphcable to vehicles. 

321.258 Flashing signals. Whenever flashing red 
or yellow signals are used they shall require obe­
dience by vehicular t raffic as follows: 

1. Flashing red (Stop signal). When a red lens 
is illuminated by rapid intermittent flashes . drivers 
of vehicles shall stop before entering the nearest 
crosswalk at an intersection or at a limit iine when 
marked and the right to proceed shall be subject to 
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the rules applicable after making a stop at a stop 
sign. 

2. Flashing yellow ( Caution signal). When a yel­
low lens is illuminated with rapid intermittent 
flashes, drivers of vehicles may proceed through the 
intersection or past such signal only with caution. 

321.260 Interference with devices, signs, or sig­
nals. No person shall without lawful authority at­
tempt to or in fact alter, deface, injure, knock down, 
or remove any official traffic-control device or any 
railroad sign or signal or any inscription, .shield, or 
insignia thereon, or any other part thereof. 

WHAT TO DO IN CASE OF AN ACCIDENT 
321.261 Death or personal injuries. The driver of 

any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in in­
jury to or death of any person shall immediately 
stop such vehicle at the scene of such accident or aa 
close thereto as possible but shall then forthwith 
return to and in every event shall remain at the 
scene of the accident until he has fulfilled the re­
quirements of section 321.263. Every such stop shall 
be made without obstructing traffic more than ia 
necessary. · 

Any person failing to stop or to comply with said 
requirements under such circumstances shall upon 
conviction be punished by imprisonment for not Iese 
than thirty days nor more than one year or by fine 
of not less than one hundred dollars nor more than 
five thousand dollars, or by both such fine and im­
prisonment. 

The commissioner shall revoke the operator's or 
chauffeur's license of the person so convicted. 

321.262 Damage to vehicle. The driver of any 
vehicle involved in an accident resulting only in 
damage to a vehicle which is driven or attended by 
any person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the 
scene of such accident or as close thereto as possible 
but shall forthwith return to aild in every event shall 
remain at the scene of such accident until he has 
fulfilled the requirements of section 321.263. Every 
such stop shall be made without obstructing traffic 
more than is necessary. Any person failing to stop 
or comply with said requirements under such circum­
stances shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and pun­
ished as provided in section 321.482. 

321.263 Information and aid. The driver of any 
vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury 
to or death of any person or damage to any vehicle 
which is driven or attended by any person shall give 
his name, address, and the registration number of 
the vehicle he is driving and shall upon request and 
if available exhibit his operator's or chauffeur's Ii-
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cense to the person struck or the driver or occupant 
of or person attending any vehicle collided with and 
shall render t o any person injured in such accident 
t·easonable assist ance, including the carrying, or the 
mak'ng of a r rangement s for the carrying, of such 
per son to a physician, surgeon, or hospital for med­
ica l or surgica l trea tment if it is appar ent that such 
treatment is necessar y or if such carrying is r e­
quested by t he injured person. 

321.264 Striking unattended vehicle. The driver 
of any vehicle which collides with any vehicle which 
is unat tended shall immedia tely stop and shall then 
and •there either locat e and notify the operator or 
owner of such vehicle of t he name and addr ess of 
the driver and owner of t he vehicle striking the un­
attended vehicle or shall leave in a conspicuous place 
in the vehicle struck a written not ice giving the 
name and address of the driver and of the owner of 
the vehicle doing the striking and a sta t ement of the 
circumst ances thereof. 

321.265 Strikin g fixtures upon a highway. The 
driver of any vehicle involved in an accident result~ 
ing only in damage to proper ty legally upon or 
adjacent to a highway shall take r easonable steps 
to loca te and notify the owner or person in charge 
of such property of such fact and of his name and 
address and of the r egistration numbe1· of the vehicle 
he is dr iving and shall upon r equest and if available 
exhibit his operator's or chauffeur's license and sha11 
make repor t of such accident when and as required 
in sect ion 321.266. 

321.266 Reporting accidents. The driver of a 
vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury 
to or dea th of any per son shall immedia tely by the 
quickest means of communication give notice of such 
accident to the sheriff of t he county in which said 

PROTECT YOURSELF 
NOTIFY SHERIFF, POLICE, IOWA HIGHWAY PATROL 
OR NEAREST PEACE OFFICER IMMEDIATELY AFTER 

ACCIDENT-THEN SUBMIT WRITTEN REPORT 
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accident occurred, or the nearest office of the Iowa 
Highway Safety Patrol, or to any other p-eace officer 
as near as practicable to the place where the accident 
occurred. 

The driver of a vehicle involved in an accident 
resulting in injury to or death of any person, or 
total pr operty damage to an appar en t extent of fifty 
dollars ($50.00) or mor e shall al so, within twenty­
four (24) hour s after such accident, forward a writ­
ten r eport of such accident to the department. Every 
law enforcement officer who, in the regular course of 
duty, investigates a motor vehicle accident of which 
report must be made as required in this section, 
either at the time of and at the scene of the accident 
or thereafter by interviewing par ticipants or wit­
nesses shall, within twenty-four (24) hours after 
completing such investigation, forward a written re­
port of such accident to the department. 

321.267 Supplemental reports. The department 
may require any driver of a vehicle involved in an 
accident of which report must be made as provided 
in section 321.266 to file supplemental reports when­
ever the original report is insufficient in the opinion 
of the department and may require witnesses of 
accidents to render r eports to the department. 

321.268 Driver unable to report. Whenever the 
driver of a vehicle is physically incapable of making 
a required accident report and there was another 
occupant in the vehicle at t he time of the accident 
capable of making a report, such occupant shall 
make or cause to be made said report. 

321.271 Reports confidential-without prejudice. 
All accident r eports shall be in writing and the 
written report s:1all be without prejudice to . the 
individual so r eporting and shall be for the confi- _ 
dential use of the department, except that upon the 
request of any person involved in an accident, or 
the attor ney for such person, t he department shall 
disclose the identity of the per son involved in the 
accident and his address. A written r eport fi led with 
the department shall not be admissible in or used 
in evidence in a ny civil case arising out of the facts 
on which the r epor t is based. 

321.273 City may require reports. Any incor­
porated city, town, or other municipality may by 
ordinance requir e tha t the driver of a vehicle in­
volved in an accident shall also file with a designated 
city department a r epor t of such accident or a copy 
of any report herein r equired to be filed with the de­
par t ment. All such reports shall be for the confi­
dential use of the city department and subject to the 
provisions of section 321.271. 
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321.27 4 Accidents in first class cities. When the 
accident occurs within the corporate limits of any city 
of fifteen thousand or more population, the accident 
and all information in connection therewith, as re­
quired in this chapter, shall be reported at the office 
of the chi ef of police and when reported elsewhere 
shall not constitut e a compliance with the provisions 
of this section. 

DRIVING WHILE INTO XI CA TED AND 
RECKLESS DRIVING 

321.281 Operating while intoxicated. Whoever 
while in an intoxicated condition or under influence 
of narcotic and or hypnotic drugs, or a combination 
of such drugs and alcohol, operates a motor vehicle 
upon the public highways of this state, shall, upon 
conviction or a plea of guilty, be punished, for the 
first offense by a fine of not less than three hundred 
dollars nor more than one thousand dollars, or by 
imprisonment in the county jail for a period of not to 
exceed one year, or by both such fine and imprison­
ment; for the second offense by a fine or not less than 
five hundred dollars, nor more than one thousand dol­
lars, or by imprisonment in the penitentiary for a 
period of not to exceed one year, or by both such fine 
and imprisonment; and for a third offense and each 
offense thereaf ter by imprisonment in the peniten­
tiary for a period not to exceed three years. 

This section shall not apply to a person operating a 
motor vehicle while under the influence of narcotic 
or hypnotic drugs if such drugs were prescribed 
for such person and have been taken under such 
prescription and in accordance with the directions 
of a reputable doctor of medicine, provided how­
ever there is no evidence of the consumption of alco­
hol and further provided said doctor of medicine has 
not directed such person to refrain from operating a 
motor vehicle. 

The court in pronouncing sentence may provide as 
to the period dur ing which a new license to operate 
a motor vehicle shall not be issued to the defendant, 
provided such period shall be not less than sixty days 
nor more than one year from the date of revocation; 
and the clerk of court shall forthwith certify to the 
department a true copy of the judgment sentencing 
the defendant under this section. The department 
may receive an application for and shall grant a new 
license at the expiration of the period provided in the 
judgment of the court notwithstanding the provisions 
of sections 321.177 and 321.212. 

The cour t shall also in pronouncing sentence pro-
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vide for the immediate surrender of the defendant's 
liquor permit issued under chapter 123, Code 1946, 
which chapter is identified as the "Iowa Liquor Con• 
trol Act." The sentence shall further provide that a 
true copy of the judgment sentencing the defendant 
shall be forthwith certified by the clerk of court to 
the Iowa Liquor Control Commission. The Liquor 
Control Commission shall not thereaft~r issue the de­
fendant a liquor permit until such time as the court 
or judge of the court having original jurisdiction of 
the defendant for good cause shown shall so certify 
to the Iowa Liquor Control Commission. 

321.282 Violations. If any person who has been 
convicted or pleaded guilty to driving or operating 
a motor vehicle upon the public highways of this 
state while in an intoxicated condition is found 
driving or operating any motor vehicle in violation 
of the provisions of sections 321.174 and 321.209 he 
shall, without regard to any other punishment pro­
vided by law, be imprisoned in the county jail for a 
period of not to exceed thirty days. 

321.283 Reckless dr iving. Any person who drives 
any vehicle in such manner as to indicate either a. 
willful or a wanton disr egard for the safety of per ­
sons or property is guilty of reckless driving. 

321.284 Punishment. Every person convicted of 
reckless driving shall be punished upon a conviction 
by imprisonment for a per iod of not more than thir ty 
days, or by fine of not less than twenty-five dollars, 
nor more than one hundred dollars. 
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SPEED RESTRICTIONS 
321.285 Speed restrictions. Any per son driving 

a motor vehicle on a highway shall drive t he same 
at a careful and prudent speed not greater than nor 
less than is reasonable and proper , having due regard 
to the t raffic, surface and width of the highway and 
of any other condit ions then existing, and no person 
shall drive any vehicle upon a highway at a speed 
greater than will permit him t o bring it to a st op 
within the assured clear distance ahead, such driver 
having the right to assume, however, that all persons 
using said highway will observe the law. 

The following shal1 be the lawful speed except a s 
hereinbefore or hereinafter modified, and any speed 
in excess thereof shall be unlawful. 

1. Twenty miles per hour in any business or school 
district. 

2. Twenty-five miles per hour in any residence 
district. 

3. Forty miles per hour for any motor vehicle 
drawing another vehicle. 

4. Forty-five miles per hour in any surburban dis ­
trict. 

321.288 Control of vehicle. The· person operating 
a motor vehicle or motorcycle shall have the same 
under cont rol and shall reduce the speed to a reason­
able and proper rate: 

1. When approaching and passing a person walk­
ing in the traveled portion· of the public highway. 

2. When a pproaching and passing an animal which 
is being led, r idden, or driven upon a public highway. 

3. When approaching and traversing a crossing 
or int ersection of public highways, or a bridge, or a 
sharp turn, or a curve, or a steep descent, in a public 
highway. 

4. When approaching and passing a fusee, flares, 
red reflector electric lanterns, red reflectors or red 
flags displayed in accordance with section three 
hundred twenty-one point four hundred forty-eight 
(321.448). 

321.290 Special restrictions. Whenever the state 
highway commission shall determine upon the basis 
of an engineering and traffic investigation that any 
speed limit hereinbefore set forth is greater than is 
reasonable or Slife under the conditions found to 
exist at any intersection or other place or upon any 
par t of a highway , said commission shall determine 
and declar e a reasonable and safe speed limit thereat 
which shall be effective when appropriate signs giv­
ing notice thereof are erected at such intersect ions 
or other place or par t of the highway. 

321.293 Local authorities may alter limits Local 
authorities in _ their resp~ctive jurisdiction may in 
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their discretion authorize by ordinance higher speeds 
than those stated in section 321.285 upon through 
highways or upon highways or portions thereof 
where stop signs have been erected at the entrances 
thereto provided signs -are erected giving notice of 
the authorized speed, but local authorities shall not 
have authority to authorize by ordinance a speed in 
excess of fify-five miles per hour. 

321.294 Minimum speed regulations. No person 
shall drive a motor vehicle at such a slow speed as 
to impede or block the normal and reasonable 
movement of traffic except when reduced speed is 
necessary for safe operation or in compliance with 
law. Peace officers are hereby authorized to enforce 
this provision by directions to drivers, and in the 
event of apparent willful disobedience to this pro­
vision and refusal to comply with direction of an 
officer in accordance herewith the continued slow 
operation by a driver shall be a misdemeanor, and 
be punished as provided in section 321.482. 

DRIVING ON RIGHT SIDE OF ROADWAY­
OVERTAKING AND PASSING, ETC. 

321.297 Traveling on righ.t-hand side. The op­
erator of a motor vehicle, in cities and towns, shall 
at all times travel on the right-hand side of the 
center of the street. 

321.298 Meeting and turning to right. Persons 
on horseback, or in vehicles, including motor vehicles, 
meeting each other on the public highway, shall give 
one-half of the traveled way thereof by turning to 
the right . 

321.299 Overtaking a vehicle. The f ollowing 
rules shall govern the overtaking and passing o:f 
vehicles proceeding in the same direction, subject 
to those limitations, exceptions, and special rules 
hereinafter stated: 

The driver of a vehicle overtaking another vehicle 
proceeding in t he ame dir ect ion, shall pass to the 
left thereof at a safe distance and shall not again 
drive to the rig ht side of the roadway until safely 
clear of the overtaken vehicle. 

Except when overtaking a d passing on t he right 
is per mitted, the dr iver of an overtaken vehicle shall 
give way to the right in favor of the overtaking v -
hide on audible signal and shall not increase the 
speed of his venicle until completely passed by the 
overtaking vehicle. 

321.300 Failure to recognize s· gnal. Any driver 
of a vehicle that is overtaken by a faster moving 
vehicle who fails t o heed the signal of t he overtaking 
vehicle when it is given under such circumstances 
that he could, by the exercise of ordinary care and 
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observation and precaution, hear such signal and 
who _fails t~ yield that part ~f the traveled way as 
herem provided, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor 
punishable as provided in section 321.482. 

321.302 Overtaking on the right. · The driver of 
a vehicle may overtake and pass upon the right of 
another vehicle which is making or about to make a 
left turn. 
. The dri_ver of a vehicle may overtake and, allow­
mg _suffi~1ent clearanct:, pa_ss another vehicle pro­
ceeding m the same direction either upon the left 
or upon t he right of a roadway with unobstructed 
pavement of sufficient width for four or more lines 
of moving traffic when such movement can be made 
in safety. No person shall drive off the pavement 
or upon the shoulder of the roadway in overtaking 
or passing on the right. 

321.303 Limitations on overtaking on the left. 
No vehicle shall be driven to the left side the 
center of the roadway in overtaking and passing 
another vehicle proceeding in the same direction 
unless such left side is clearly visible and is free 
of oncoming traffic for a sufficient distance ahead 
to permit such overtaking and passing to be com­
pletely made without interfering with the safe 

Do N O T overtake 
when solid yellow 
line is on your side 
of center line 
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operation of any vehicle approaching from the oppo­
site direction or any vehicle overtaken. In every 
event the overtaking vehicle must return to the 
right-hand side of the roadway before coming within 
one hundred feet of any vehicle approaching from 
the opposite direction. 

321.304 Prohibited passing. No vehicle shall, in 
overtaking and passing another vehicle or at any 
other time, be driven to the left side of the road­
way under the following conditions: 

1.. When approaching the crest of a grade or upon 
a curve in the highway where the driver's view 
along the highway is obstructed for a distance of 
approximately seven hundred feet. 

2. When approaching within one hundred feet of 
any narrow bridge, viaduct. or tunnel. when so sign­
posted, or when approaching within one . hundred 
feet of or traversing any intersection or railroad 
grade crossing. 

3. Where official signs are in place directing that 
traffic keep to the right or a distinctive center line 
or off-center line is marked, which distinctive line 
also directs traffic as declared in the sign manual 
adopted by the state highway commission. 

321.305 One-way roadways and rotary traffic is­
lands. Upon a roadway designed and signposted for 
one-way traffic a vehicle shall be driven only in the 
direction designated. · 

A vehicle passing around a rotary traffic island 
shall be driven only to the right of such island. 

321.306 Roadways laned for traffic. Whenever 
any roadway has been divided into three or more 
clearly marked lanes for traffic the following rules 
in addition t o all others consistent herewith shall 
apply: 

A vehicle shall be driven as nearly as practicaJ 
entirely within a single lane and shall not be moved 
from such lane until the driver has first ascertained 
that such movement can be made with safety. 

Upon a roadway which is divided into three lanes 
a vehicle shall not be driven in the center lane except 
when overtaking and passing another vehicle where 
the roadway is clearly visible and such center lane 
is clear of traffic within a safe distance, or in 
preparation for a left turn or where such center 
lane is at the time allocated exclusively to traffic 
m-oving in the direction the vehicle is proceeding 
and is signpost ed to give notice of such allocation. 

Official signs may be erected direct ing slow-mov­
ing traffic to use a designated lane or allocating 
specified lanes to traffic moving in the same direc­
tion and drivers of vehicles shall obey the directions 
of every sueh sign. 
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Allow at least 
one car lenqth 
for every 10mph 
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Do N~ foLLOW Too C~osE 

321.307 . Following too closely. The driver of a 
motor vehicle shall not follow another vehicle more 
closely than is reasonable and prudent, having due 
regard for the speed of such vehicles and the traffic 
upon and the condition . of the highway. 

TURNING AND ST RTING ND SIGNAL ON 
STOPPING AND TURNING 

321.311 Turning at intersections. The driver of 
a vehicle intending to t urn at an intersection shalJ 
do so as follows: 

Both the approach for a right turn and right turn 
shall be made as close as practical to the right 
hand curb or edge of the roadway. · 

Approach for a left turn shall be made in that 
portion <?f the right half of the roadway nearest the 
cent.er lme thereof and after entering the inter-
ection th~ left tu_rn shall be . made so as to depart 

from the mtersection to the right of the center line 
of the roadway being entered. 
. Approach for a left turn from a two-way street 
mto a o~e-way street shall be made in that portion 
o.f the right half of the roadway nearest the center 
lme the!eof and ?Y passing to the right of such 
center lme where 1t enters the intersection. A left 
t rn from a one-way street into a two-way street 
s_hall be made by pas~ing to the right of the center 
~me of ~he street bemg ntered upon leaving the 
1ntersect10n. 

Local authorities in their respective jurisdictions 
m:3y. cause ~arkers, buttons, or signs to be placed 
w1~hm or a~Jacent o intersections and thereby re­
quire and direct that a different course from that 
specified in this section be traveled by vehicles 
turning at an intersection, and when markers but­
tons, or signs are so placed no driver of a v~hicle 
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shall turn a vehicle at an intersection other than as 
directed and required by such . markers, buttons, or 
signs. 

321.312 Turn ing on curve or crest of grade. No 
vehicle shall be turned so as to proceed in the op­
posite direction upon any curve, or upon the ap­
proach to , or near the crest of a· grade or hill, wher e . 
such vehicle cannot be seen by the driver of any 
other vehicle approaching from either direction 
within five hundred feet . 

TARTING PARKED VEHICLE 
321.313 St rting parked vehicle. No person shall 

star t a vehicle which is stopped, standing, or parked 
unless and until such movement can be made witb 
reasonable sa ety. 

STEPS TO UNPARKI G 

LOOK TO 
THE REAR 

LOOKTO~· · 
THE FRONT /1 ' \ 

~ 

C H A RT N! 2':i 

321.314 When signal required. No person shall 
turn a vehicle from a direct course upon a highway 
unless and until such movement can be made with 
reasonable safety and then only after giving a 
clearly audible signal by sounding the horn if any 
pedestrian may be affected by such movement or 
after giving an appropriate signal in the manner 
hereinafter provided in the event any other vehicle 
may be affected by such movement. 

321.315 Signal continuous. A signal of intention 
to turn right or left shall be given continuously dur­
ing not less than the last one hundred feet traveled 
by the vehicle before turning. 
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321.316 Stopping. No person shall stop or sud­
denly decrease the speed of a vehicle without first 
giving an appropriate signal in the manner pro­
vided herein to the driver of any vehicle immediately 
t? the rear when there is opportunity to give such 
signal. 

321.317-Signals by hand and arm or signal de­
~ce. The signals herein required may be given 
either by means of the hand and arm or other 
proper signal or signal device of a type approved 
by the department, provided, however, that no motor 
vehicle complying with the laws of the state shall 
be required to display an electrically operated direc­
tional signal lamp. 

UNIFORM HAND SIGNALS 
321_.318 Meth~d of g_iving h~nd and arm signals. 

All signals herem reqmred which may be given by 
hand and. arm shall wh_en so given be given from 
the left side of the vehicle and the following man­
ner and interpretation thereof is suggested: 

SLOW U.K dTOP LEFT TlJH..N KIGHT TURN 

1. Left turn.-Hand and arm extended horizon­
tally. 

2. Right turn.- Hand and arm extended upward. 
3. Stop or decrease of speed.-Hand and arm ex­

tended downward. 

RIGHT OF WAY 
321.319 Approaching or entering intersections 

Where two _vehicles are approaching on any publi~ 
street or highway so that their paths will inter­
sect and. there is danger of collision, the vehicle 
approachmg the other from the right shall have the 
right of way. 

RIGHT OF WAY 39 

The foregoing rule is modified at · through high­
ways and otherwise as hereinafter stated in this · 
chapter. 

LEFT TURN AT INTERSECTION 
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LECAL LEFT -T URN 

321.320-Turning left at intersection. The driver 
of a vehicle within an intersection intending to turn 
to the left shall yield the right of way to any ve­
hicle approaching from the opposite direction which 
is within the intersection or so close thereto as to 
constitute an immediate hazard, but said driver 
having so yielded and having given a signal when 
and as required by this chapter, may make such 
left turn and the drivers of all other vehicles ap­
proaching the intersection from said opposite direc­
tion shall yield the right of way to the vehicle mak­
ing the left turn. 

321.321 Entering through highways. The driver 
of a vehicle shall stop as required by this chapter 
at the entrance to a through highway and shall 
yield the right of way to other vehicles which have 
entered the intersection from said through highway 
or which are approaching so closely on said through 
highway as to constitute a hazard, but said driver 
having so yielded may proceed cautiously and with 
due care enter said through highway. 

321.322 Entering stop intersection. The driver 
of a vehicle shall likewise stop in obedience to a 
stop sign as required herein at an intersection 
where a stop sign is erected at one or more entrances 
thereto although not a part of a through highway 
and shall proceed cautiously, yielding to vehicles 
not so obl,iged to stop which are within the inter­
section or approaching so closely as to constitute a 
hazard, but may then proceed. 
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321.324 Operation on approach of emergency 
vehicles. Upon the immediate approach of an 
a?thor!zed e~ergency vehicle with any lamp or de­
vice displaymg a r ed light or flashing red light 
from directly in front thereof, or when the driver 
is giving audible signal by siren, exhaust whistle 
or be!l, the driver of every other vehicle shall yield 
the. i:ight of way and shall immediately drive to a 
position parallel to, and as close as po·ssible to the 
~ght-ha~d edge or curb of the highway clear of any 
1~tersectI_on and shall ~top and remain in such posi­
tion until the author ized emergency vehicle has 
passed, except when otherwise directed by a police 
officer. 

Upon the approach of an authorized emergency 
vehicle, as abo,ve stated, the motorman of every 
streetcar shall immediately stop such car clear of 
any intersection and keep it in such position until 
the authorized emergency vehicle has passed except 
when otherwise directed by a police officer. ' 

This section shall not operate to relieve the dr·ver 
of an authorized emergency vehicle from the duty 
to drive with due regard for the safety of all per­
Rons using the highway. 

PEDESTRIANS' RIGHTS AND DUTIES 

321.325 Pedestrians subject to signals. Pedes-
~ ians s~all be subject to traffic-control signals at 
mtersect1ons as heretofore declared in this chapter , 
but at all other places pedestrians shall be accorded 
the privileges and shall be subject to the restric­
tions stated in sections 321.327 to 321.331, incl usive . 

PEDESTRIANS 4,l 

321.326 Pedestrians on left. Pedestrians shall 
at all times when walking on or along a highway, 
walk on the left side of such highway. 

321.327 Pedestrian right of way. Where traffic­
control signals are not in place or in operation the 
driver of a vehicle shall yield t he right of way, 
slowing down or stopping if need be to so yield, to 
a pedestrian crossing the roadway within any 
marked crosswalk or within any unmarked cross­
walk at an intersection , except as otherwise provided 
in this chapter. 

321.32 Crossing at other than crosswalk. Every 
pedestrian cr ossing a r oadway at any point other 
than within a marked c-rosswalk or within an 
unmarked crosswalk at an intersection shall yield 
the right of way to all vehicles upon t he r oadway. 

Any pedestrian crossing a roadway at a point 
where a pede t r ian t unnel or overhead pedestrian 
crossing has been provided shall yield the right o1 
way to all vehicles upon the roadway. 

Wher traffic-control signals are in oper ation at 
any place not an intersection pedestrians shall not 
cross at any place except in a marked crosswalk. 

321.329 Duty of driver. Notwithstanding the 
provisions of section 321..328 every driver of a ve­
hicle shall exercise due care to avoid colliding with 
any pedesti·ian upon any roadway and shall give 
warning by sounding the horn when necessary and 
shall exercise due care upon observing any child or 
any confused or incapacitated person upon a road­
way. 

AAMV A 
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321.330 Use of crosswalks. Pedestrians shall 
move, whenever practicable, upon the right of cross­
walks. 
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321.331 Pedestrians soliciting rides. No person 
shall stand in a roadway for the purpose of soliciting 
a ride from the driver of any private vehicle. 

Nothing in this section or this chapter shall be 
construed so as to prevent any pedestrian from 
standing on that portion of the highway or roadway, 
not ordinarily used for vehicular traffic, for the pur­
pose of soliciting a ride from the driver of any ve­
hicle. 

321.332 White canes restricted to blind persons. 
For the purpose of guarding against accidents in 
traffic on the public thoroughfares, it shalJ be un­
lawful for any person except persons wholly or 
partially blind to carry or use on the streets, high­
ways and public places of the state any white canes 
or walking sticks which are white in color or white 
tipped with red. 

321.333 Duty of drivers. Any driver of a vehicle 
or operator of a motor-driven vehicle who approaches 
or comes in contact with a person wholly or partially 
blind carrying a cane or walking stick white in color 
or white tipped with red, shall immediately come to 
a complete stop, and take such precautions as may 
be necessary to avoid accident or injury to the per­
son carrying a cane or walking stick white in color 
or white tipped with red. 

321.334 Penalties. Any person who shall carry a 
cane or walking stick such as prescribed in section 
321.332, contrary to the provisions thereof, or who 
shall fail to heed the appr oach of a person lawfully 
so carrying a cane or walking stick white in color or 
whit e tipped with red, or who shall fail to immediate­
ly come to a complete st op, a nd take such precautions 
against accident or injury to such person, shall be 
fined not less than one dollar nor more than one hun­
dred dollars for each offense. 

STREETCARS AND SAFETY ZONES 

321.335 Passing streetcar on left. The driver of 
a vehicle shall not overtake and pass upon the left 
nor drive upon the left side of any streetcar pro­
ceeding in the same direction, whether such street­
car is actually in motion or temporarily at rest, 
except: 

1. When so directed by a police officer. 
2. When upon a one-way street. 
3. When upon a st reet wher e the tracks are so 

located as to prevent compliance with this section. 

321.336 Caution when passing. The driver of any 
vehicle when permitted to overtake and pass upon 
the left of a streetcar which has stopped for the 
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purpose of receiving or discharging any passenger 
shall reduce speed and may proceed only upon exer­
cising due caution for pedestrians and shall accord 
pedestrians the right of way when required by other 
sections of this chapter. 

DRIVING THROUGH STREETCAR ZONE 
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LEGAL DRIVING THRU STREET CAR ZONE 

321.337 Stopping at streetcars. The driver of a 
vehicle overtaking upon the right any streetcar 
stopped or about to stop for the purpose of receiving 
or discharging any passenger shall stop such vehicle 
at least fi ve feet to the rear of the nearest running 
board or door of such streetcar and thereupon remain 
standing until all passengers have boarded such car 
or upon alighting have reached a place of safety, 
except that where a safety zone has been established 
a vehicle need not be brought to a stop before pass­
ing any such streetcar but may proceed past such 
car at a speed not greater than is reasonable and 
proper and with due caution for the safety of pe­
destrians. 

321.338 Driving on streetcar tracks. The driver 
of any vehicle proceeding upon any streetcar track 
in front of a streetcar upon a street shall remove 
such vehicle from the track as soon as practical after 
signal from the operator of said streetcar. 

321.339 Driving in front of streetcar. When a 
streetcar has started to cr oss an intersection, no 
driver of a vehicle shall drive upon or cross the car 
tracks within the intersect ion in front of the street­
car. 

321.340 Driving through safety zone. No vehicle 
shall at any time be driven through or within a 
safety zone. 



44 DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

SPECIAL STOPS REQUIRE D 

321.341 Obedience t o signa l of train. Whenever 
any person driving a vehicle appr oaches a ra ilroad 
grade crossing and warning is given by automatic 
signal or crossing gates or a flagman or otherwise 
of the hnmediate approach of a train, t he driver of 
such vehicle shall stop within fifty f eet but not less 
than ten feet from the nearest track of such railroad 
and shall not proceed until he can do so safely. 

The driver of a vehicle shall stop and remain 
tanding and not traverse such a grade crossing 

when a crossing gate is lowered or when a human 
flagman gives or continues to give a signal of the 
pproach or passage of a t r ain. 

321.342 Stop at certain railroa d crossings. The 
state highway commission with reference t o primary 
highways and local authorities wit h reference to 
ot her highways under their jurisdiction are each 
hereby authoriz d to designate particularly danger­
ous highway grade crossings of r ailroads and to erect 
stop signs thereat. When such stop signs are er ected 
the driver o.f any vehicle shall stop within fifty feet 
but not less than ten feet from the nearest track of 
such grade crossing and shall proceed only upon ex­
ercising due car e. 

321.345 Stop at through highways. The stat e 
highway commission with reference to primary high­
ways, and local authorities with r eference to ot her 
highways under t heir jurisdiction may designate 
through highways and E:rect stop signs at specified 
entrances thereto or may designate any intersection 
as a stop intersection and erect like signs a t one o:r 
more entrances to such intersection. 

Every said sign sha ll bear the word "Stop'' in 
letters not less than six inches in height. Every 
stop sign shall be located a s near as practical at t he 
property line of the highway at the entrance t o 
which the stop must be rnade1 or at the nearest line 
of the crosswalk thereat, or, if none, at the nearest 
line of t h e roadway. 

Every driver of a vehicle and every mot or-man of 
a streetcar shall stop a t such sign or a t a clearly 
marked st op line befor e entering an intersect ion 
except when directed to proceed by a police officer 
r tr affic-control signal. 

321.353 Emerging from private roadwa y, alley, 
driveway or building. The driver of a vehicle 
emer ging from a priva te roadway, all ey, driveway, or 
building shal l stop such vehicle immediately, prior to 
driving onto t he sidewalk area and thereafter he 
shall proceed into t he sidewalk ar ea only when he 
can do so without danger t o pedest rian tra ffic and 

MISCELLANEOUS RULES 

he sha ll yield the right of way to any vehicular 
traffic on the str eet into which his vehicle is enter ­
ing . 

The driver of a vehicle about to enter or cross a 
highway from a private r oa d or driveway shall stop 
such vehicle immedia tely prior t o driving on said 
highway and shall yield t he r ight-of-way t o a11 
vehicles approaching on said highway. 

ENTERING STREET FROM ALLEY 
OR DRIVEWAY 
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STOPPING, STANDING, AND PARKING 

321.354 Stopping on traveled way. Upon any 
highway outside of a business or r esidence district 
no person shall stop, park, OT leave s tanding any 
vehicle, whether att ended or unat tended, upon the 
paved or improved or main t raveled part of t he high­
way when it is practica l to stop, park, or so leave 
such vehicle off such par t of said highway, but in 
every event a clear and unobstructed width of at 
least twenty feet of such part of t he highway oppo­
site such standing vehicle shall be left for the free 
passage of other vehicles and a clear view of such 
stopped vehicle be available from a distance of t wo 
hundred feet in each direct ion upon such highway; 
provided, h owever, school buses may stop on high­
way for receiving and discharging pupils and all 
other vehicles shall stop for school buses which are 
stopped to r eceive or discharge pupils, as provided 
in sect ion thr ee h11ndred twenty-one point three hun­
dred seventy-two (321.372). 

321.355 Disabled vehicle. Sect ion 321.354 shall 
not apply to the driver of any vehicle which is dis­
abled while on t he paved or impr oved or main trav-
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eled portion of a highway in such manner and to 
such extent that it is impossible to avoid stopping 
and temporarily leaving such disabled vehicle in such 
position. 

321.356 Officers authorized to remove. Whenever 
a!ly peac~ o~cer . finds a vehicle standing upon a 
h_ighway m ':10lat10n of any of the foregoing provi­
sions of sections 321.354 and 321.355 such officer is 
hereby_ authorized to move _such vehicle, or require 
the driver or other person m charge of the vehicle 
~o move the s~me, to a position off the paved or 
improved or mam traveled part of such highway. 

321.357 Removed from bridge. Whenever any 
peace officer finds a vehicle unattended upon any 
bridge or causeway or in any tunnel where such 
vehicle constitutes an obstruction to traffic, such 
officer is hereby authorized to provide for the re­
moval of sucn vehicle to the nearest garage or other 
place of safety. 

321.358 Stopping, standing, or parking. No per­
son shall stop, stand, or park a vehicle, except when 
necessary to avoid conflict with other traffic or in 
compliance with the directions of a police officer or 
traffic-controlled device, in any of the following 
places: 

1. On a sidewalk. 
2. In front of a public or private driveway. 
3. Within an intersection. 
4. Within five feet of a fire hydrant. 
6. On a crosswalk. 

. 6. Within te.n fee~ upon the approach to any flash­
mg beacon, stop sign, or traffic-control signal lo­
cated _at the side of a roadway. 

7. Between a safety zone and the adjacent curb 
or wi~hin ten feet of points on the curb immediately 
opposite the ends of a safety zone, unless any city 
or to_wn indicates a different length by signs or 
markmgs. 

8. Within fifty feet of the n·earest rail of a rail­
road crossing, except when parked parallel with such 
rail and not exhibiting a red light. 

9. Within twenty feet of the dnveway entrance 
t? any fire station and on the side of a street oppo­
site the entrance to any fire station within seventy­
five feet of said entrance when properly signposted. 

10. Alongside or opposite any street excavation or 
~bstruction when such stopping, standing, or park­
mg would obstruct traffic. 

11. On the roadway side of any vehicle stopped 
or parked at the edge or curb of a street. 

MISCELLANEOUS RULES 47 

12. Upon any bridge or other elevated structure 
upon a highway outside of cities or towns or within 
a highway tunnel. 

13. At any place where official signs prohibit stop­
ping, or parking. 

321.359 Moving other vehicle. No person shall 
move a vehicle not owned by such person into any 
such prohibited area or away from a curb such dis­
tance as is unlawful. 

321.360 Theaters, hotels and auditoriums. A space 
of twenty-five feet is hereby reserved at the side of 
the street in front of any theater, auditorium, hotel 
having more than twenty-five sleeping rooms, or 
other buildings where large assemblages of people 
are being held, within which space, when clearly 
marked as such, no motor vehicle shall be left stand­
ing, parked, or stopped except in taking on or dis­
charging passengers or freight, arid then only for 
such length of time as is necessary for such purpose. 

321.361 Additional parking regulations. Except 
as otherwise provided in this section every vehicle 
stopped or parked upon a roadway where there are 
adjacent curbs shall be so stopped or parked with the 
right-hand wheels of such vehicle parellel to and 
within eighteen inches of the right-hand curb. 

Local authorities may by ordinance permit parking 
of vehicles with the left-hand wheels adjacent to and 
within eighteen inches of the left-hand curb of a one­
way roadway. 

Local authorities may by ordinance permit angle 
or center parking on any roadway under their juris­
diction. 

MISCELLANEOUS RULES 

321.362 Unattended motor vehicle. No person 
driving or in charge of a motor vehicle shall permit 
it to stand unattended without first stopping the 
engine, or when standing upon any perceptible grade 
without effectively setting the brake thereon and 
turning the front wheels to the curb or side of the 
highway. 

321.363 Obstruction to driver's view. No person 
shall drive a vehicle when it is loaded, or when there 
are in the front seat such number of persons, ex­
ceeding three, as to obstruct the view of the driver 
to the front or sides of the vehicle or as to int erfere 
with the driver's control over the driving mechanism 
of the vehicle. 

No passenger in a vehicle shall ride in such posi­
tion as to interfere with the driver's view ahead or 
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to the sides, or to interfere with hi control over the 
driving me hanism of the vehicle. 

321.364 Control of v hicle-signals. The driver 
of a motor vehicle traveling through defiles or on 
approaching he crest of a hill or grade shall have 
such motor ve icle under control and on the right­
hand side of the roadway and, upon approaching any 
curve where t he view is obstructed within a distance 
of two hundred feet along the highway, hall give 
audible warning with t he horn of such motor vehicle. 

321.365 Coa ting prohibited. The driver of any 
motor vehicle when traveling upon a downgrad 
hall not c ast with the gears of such vehicle in neu­

tra . 

321.366 Disengaging clutch. The driver of a 
commercial motor vehicle when traveling upon a 
downgrade shall not coast with the clutch dis­
engaged. 

321.367 F ollowing fiTe apparatus. The driver of 
any v bicle other than one on official busine s shall 
not follo any fire apparatus traveling in response 
to a fire alarm closer than five hundred feet or drive 
into or park such vehicle within the block where 
fire apparatus has stoppe in answer to a fire 
alarm. 

321.368 Cro sing fire hose. No vehicle shall be 
driven over any unpro ected hose of a fire depart-
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men when laid down on any street, privat.e drive­
way, or streetcar track, to be used at any fire or 
alarm of fire, without the consent of the fire depart­
ment official in command. 

321..369 Putting glass, etc., on highway. No per­
son shall th1·ow or deposit upon any highway any 
glass bottle, glass, nails, tacks, wire, cans, or any 
other substanc likely to injure a ny person, animal, 
or vehicle upon such highway. 

321.370 Removing injurious material. · Any p r­
son who drops, or permits to be dropped or thrown, 
upon any highway any destructive or injurious ma­
terial shall immediately remove the same or causf> 
it to be removed. 

321.371 Clearing up wrecks. Any person remov ­
ing a wrecked or damaged vehicle from a highway 
shall remo e any glass or other injurious substance 
dropped upon the highway from such vehicle. 

321.372 Overtaking and pas ing school bus. 
(1) The driver of any school bus used to tran ·port 

children to and from a public school shall, when 
stopping to receive or discharge pupils, turn on the 
flashing stop warning signal lights at a distance of 
not less than three hundred (300) feet, nor more 
than five hundred (500 ) feet from the point where 
aid pupils are to be received r dis harg d from 

the bus. At the point of rec iving or discha ging 
pupils the driver of the bus shall bring bus to a stop 
and extend the stop arm. After receiving or dis­
charging pupils, the bus driver shalJ turn off the 
flashing stop warning lights, retract the stop arm 
and then proceed on the route. o school bus shall 
stop to load or unload pupils unless there is at lea t 
three hundred ( 300) feet of clear vision in ea 
direction. 

(2) All pupils shall be received and discharged 
from the right front entrance of every school hue 
and if said pupils must cross the highway, they ha)) 
be required to pa s in front of the bus, look in both 
directions, and proceed to cross the highway only TI 

signal from the bus driver. 
(3) The dri er of any vehicle when meeting a 

school bus on which the stop , arning signal lights 
are flashing shall reduce the speed of said vehicle 
to not more than twenty (20) miles per hour, and 
shall bring said vehicle to a complete stop when 
school bus stops and stop signal arm is extended and 
said vehicle shall remain stopped until stop arm ie 
retracted a.fter hich driver may proce d with du 
caution. 

The dri er of any vehicle overtaking a chool bu8 
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shall not pass a school bus when flashing stop warn­
ing signal lights are flashing and shall bring said 
vehicle to a complete stop not closer than fifteen (16) 
feet of the school bus when it is stopped and stop 
arm is extended, and shall remain stopped until the 
stop arm is retracted and school bus resumes motion, 
or until signalled by the driver to proceed. 

This section shall not apply to "business" and 
"residence" districts but shall apply in suburban 
districts of cities and towns. 

321.455 Projecting loads on passenger vehicles. 
No passenger-type vehicle shall be operated on any 
highway with any load carried thereon extending 
beyond the line of the fenders on the left side of 
such vehicle nor extending more than six inches be­
yond the line of the fenders on the right side thereof. 

EQUIPMENT 
No person can be classified as a safe driver unless 

the vehicle he operates is roadworthy, that is, in 
good mechanical condition. Many accidents on our 
highways are unavoidable, but records show that a 
large percent of accidents are caused by improperly 
equipped vehicles. It is recommended that every 
driver have his vehicle checked regularly by a com­
petent garage man. 

SAFETY STANDARDS 

321.381 Scope and ellect of regulations. It is a 
misdemeanor, punishable as provided in section 
321.482, for any person to drive or move or for the 
owner to cause or knowingly permit to be driven or 
moved on any highway any vehicle or combination 
of vehicles which is in such unsafe condition as to 
endanger any person, or which does not contain those 
parts or is not at all times equipped with such lamps 
and other equipment in proper condition and ad­
justment as required in this chapter, or which is 
equipped in any manner in violation of this chapter. 

321.382 Upgrade pulls-minimum speed. No 
motor vehicle or combination of vehicles, which can­
not proceed up a three percent grade, on dry concrete 
pavement, at a minimum speed of twenty miles per 
hour, shall be operated, after January 1, 1938, upon 
the highways of this state. 

LIGHTING EQUIPMENT 
Proper lighting equipment plays an important 

part in the highway safety program. The following 
sections prescribe the necessary equipment: 
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321.384 When lighted lamps required. 
1. Every vehicle upon a highway within this state 

at any time from a half hour after sunset to a half 
hour before sunrise and at any other time when 
there is not sufficient light to render clearly dis­
cernible persons and vehicles on the highway at a 
distance of five hundred feet ahead shall display 
lighted lamps and illuminating devices as hereinafter 
respectively required for different classes of vehicles, 
subject to exceptions with respect to parked vehicles 
as hereinafter stated. 

2. Whenever requirement is hereinafter declared 
as to the distance from which certain lamps and 
devices shall render objects visible or within which 
such lamps or devices shall be visible, said provisions 
shall apply during the times stated in subsection 1 
of this section upon a straight level unlighted high­
way under normal atmospheric conditions unless a 
different time or condition is expressly stated. 

321.385 Head lamps on motor vehicles. Every 
motor vehicle other than a motorcycle shall be 
equipped with at least two head lamps with at leaat 
one on each side of the front of the motor vehicle, 
which head lamps shall comply with the require­
ments and limitations set forth in this chapter. 

321.386 Head lamps on motorcycles. Every mo­
torcycle shall be equipped with at least one and not 
more than two head lamps which shall comply wit11 
the requirements and limitations of this chapter. 

321.387 Rear lamps and reflectors. Every motor 
vehicle and every vehicle which is being drawn at 
the end of a train of vehicles shall be equipped with 
a lighted rear lamp, exhibiting a red light plainly 
visible from a distance of five hundred feet to the 
rear. 

321.388 Illuminating plates. Either Buch rear 
lamp or a separate lamp shall be so constructed and 
placed as to illuminate with a white light the rear 

•t registration plate and render it clearly legible from 
a distance of fifty feet to the rear. When the rear 
license plate is illuminated by an electric lamp other 
than the required rear lamp, said two lamps shall 
be turned on or off only by the same control switch 
at all times whenever head iamps are lighted. 

321.389 Reflectors additional. Every new motor 
vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer hereafter sold and 
every commercial vehicle hereafter operated on a 
highway shall also carry at the rear, either as a 
part of the rear lamp or separately, a red reflector 
meeting the requirements of this chapter. 
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321.391 Approval of reflectors. No reflector as 
required by this chapter shall be used except of a 
type approved by the department and the department 
is hereby authorized to approve or disapprove types 
of reflectors submitted and to publish a list of such 
approved types by trade name or otherwise. 

321.395 Lamps on parked vehicles . Whenever a 
vehicle jg parked or stopped upon a r oadway or 
shoulder adjacent thereto, outside of a business dis­
trict whether attended or unattended during the 
times mentioned in ection 321.384, such vehicle shall 
be equipped with one or more lamps which shall ex­
hibit a white light on the roadway side visible from 
a distance of five hundred feet t o the front of such 
vehicle and a red light visible from a distance of 
five hundred feet t o the rear , except that local au­
thorities may provide by ordinance or r esolution that 
no lights need be displayed upon any such vehicle 
when stopped or parked in accordance with local 
parking regulations upon a highway wher e there is 
sufficient light to reveal any per son or object within 
a distance of five hundred feet upon such highway. 
Any lighted head lamps upon a parked vehicle shall 
be depressed or dimmed. 

321.396 E xception. Section 321.395 shall not ap­
ply when an accident extinguishes said light and 
renders a vehicle incap~ble of use, and when the 

· person in control of the vehicle erects, at the earliest 
opportunity after the accident, such p oper light at 
or near the vehicle as will give warning of the pr es­
ence of said vehicle. 

321.397 Lamps on bicycles. · Every bicycle shall 
be equipped with a lamp on the front exhibiting a 
white light, at the times specified in section 321.384 
visible from a distance of at least three hundred 
feet to the front and with a lamp on the r ear ex­
hibiting a red light visible from a distance of three 
hundred feet to the r ear ; except that a red reflector 
meeting the requirements of this chapter may b 
used in lieu of a r ear light. 

321.398 Lamps on other vehicles and equipment. 
All vehicles, including animal-drawn vehicles and 
including tho e ref erred to in section 321.383 not 
hereinbefore specifically required to be equipped with 
lamps, shall at the t imes specified in section 321.384 
be equipped with at least one lighted lamp or lantern 
exhibiting a white light visible from a distance of 
five hundred feet to the front of such vehicle and 
with a lamp or lantern exhibiting a r ed light vis­
ible from a distance of fi:ve hundred feet to the rear. 

321.402 Spot lamps. Any motor vehicle may be 
equipped with not to exceed one spot lamp and every 
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lighted spot lamp shall be so aimed and used upon 
approaching another vehicle that no part of the high­
intensity portion of the beam will be directed to the 
left of the prolongation of the extreme left side of 
the vehicle nor more than one hundred feet ahead of 
the vehicle. 

321.403 Auxiliary driving lamps. Any motor ve­
hicl may be equipped with not to exceed three 
auxiliary driving lamps mounted on t he front a t a 
height not less than twelve inches nor more t han 
forty-two inches above t he level surface upon which 
the vehicle stands, and every such auxiliary driving 
lamp or lamps shall meet the requirements and lim­
itations set fo r th in this chapter . 

321.404 Signal lamps and signal devices. Every 
motor vehicle shall be equipped with a signal lamp 
or signal device which is so constructed and located 
on the vehicle as to give a signal of intention t o stop 
which shall be red or yellow in color, which signal 
shall be plainly visible and understandable in normal 
sunlight and at night from a distance of one hundred 
feet to the rear but shall not project a glaring or 
dazzling light. 

321.405 Self-illumination. All mechanical signa l 
devices shall be self-illuminated when in use a t the 
times mentioned in section 321.384. 

3~1.406 _Cowl lamps. Any motor vehicle may be 
eqmpped with not more than two side cowl or fender 
lamps which shall emit an amber or white light with­
out glare. 

321.410 High lights. Ther e shall be an upper ­
most distr ibution of light, or composite beam so 
aimed and of such intensity as t o reveal persons and 
vehicles at a distance of at least three hundred fifty 
feet ahead for all conditions of loading. 'l' he maxi­
mum intensity of this uppermost distribution of light 
or composite beam one degree of arc or more above 
the horizontal level of the lamps when the vehicle 

, is not loaded shall not exceed eight thousand ap­
parent candlepower, and at no other point of t he 
distribution of light or composite beam shall there 
be an intensity of more than seventy-five thousand 

, apparent candlepower. 

321.411 Low lights. There shall be a lowermost 
distribution of light, or · composite beam, so aimed 
that: _ . 

1. When a vehicle is not loaded, none of the high­
intensity portion of the light which is directed to 
the left of t he prolongation of the extreme left side 
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of the vehicle shall, at a distance of twenty-five feet 
ahead, project higher than a level of ten inches be­
low the level of the center of the lamp from which 
it ·comes. This requirement shall be deemed to avoid 
glare at all times regardless of road conditions and 
loading. 
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mitted, shall be displayed, one on each side at the 
front of every motor vehicle except when such vehicle 
is parked subject to the regulations governing lights 
on parked vehicles. 

321.420 Number of lamps lighted. Whenever a 
motor vehicle equipped with head lamps as herein 
required is also equipped with any auxiliary lamps 
or a spot lamp or any other lamp on the front thereof 
projecting a beam of an intensity greater than three 

2. When the vehicle is not loaded, none of the 
high-intensity portion of the light which is directed 
to the right of the prolongation of the extreme left 
side of the vehicle shall, at a distance of twenty­
five feet ahead, project higher than a level of five 
inches below the level of the center of the lamp from 
which it comes. 

3. In no event shall any of the high-intensity of 
such lowermost distribution of light or composite 
beam project higher than a level of forty-two inches 
above the level on which the vehicle stands at a 
distance of seventy-five or more feet ahead. 

, hundred candlepower, not more than a total of four 
of any such lamps on the front of a vehicle shall be 
lighted at any one time when upon a highway. 

321.412 Intermediate lights. Where one inter­
mediate beam is provided, the beam on the left side 
of the road shall be in conformity with subsection 1 
of section 321.411 except when arranged in accord­
ance with the practice specified in section 321.414. 

321.413 Mandatory requirements. All roadlight­
ing beams shall be so aimed and of sufficient intensity 
to reveal a person or vehicle at a distance of at 
least one hundred feet ahead. 

321.416 Duty to lower lightl!I. Whenever the 
driver of a vehicle approaches an oncoming vehicle 
within five hundred feet, such driver shall use a dis­
tribution of lig-ht or composite beam so aimed that 
the glaring rays are not projected into the eyes of 
the oncoming driver, and in no case shall the high­
intensity portion which is projected to the left of the 
prolongation of the extreme left side of the vehicle 
be aimed higher than the center of the lamp from 
which it comes at a distance of twenty-five feet, 
ahead, and in no case higher than a level of forty-two 
inches above the level upon which the vehicle stands 
at a distance of seventy-five feet ahead. 

321.418 Alternate road-lighting equipment. Any t 

motor vehicle may be operated under the conditions 
specified in section 321.384 when equipped with two 
lighted lamps upon the front thereof capable of 
revealing per sons and object s seventy-five feet ahead 
in lieu of lamps required in sections 321.409 to 
321.414, inclusive, or section 321.417, provided, how­
ever, that at no time shall it be operated at a speed 
in excess of twenty miles per hour. 

321.419 Number of driving lamps required or per­
mitted. At all times specified in section 321.384 at 
least two lighted lamps, except where one only is per-

321.421 Special restrictions on lamps. Any 
lighted lamp or illuminating device upon a motor 
vehicle other than head lamps, spot lamps, or aux­
iliary driving lamps which projects a beam of light 
of an intensity greater than three hundred candle­
power shall be so directed that no part of the beam 
will strike the level of the roadway on which the 
vehicle stands at a distance of more than seventy-five 
feet from the vehicle. 

321.422 Red light in front. No person shall drive 
or move any vehicle or equipment upon any highway 
with any lamp or device thereon displaying or reflect­
ing a red light visible from directly in front thereof. 
This section shall not apply to authorized emergency 
vehicles. No person shall display any color of light 
other than red on the rear of any vehicle, except that 
stop lights may be red, yellow, or amber. 

321.423 Flashing lights. Flashing lights are pro­
hibited on motor vehicles, except on authorized 
emergency vehicles or as a means for indicating a 

. right or left turn, or intention of stopping. 
321.424 Selling or using lamps or devices. No 

;:,erson shall have for sale, sell or offer for sale for 
ilse upon or as a part of the equipment of a motor 
vehicle, trailer or semitrailer or use upon such vehicle 
any head lamp, auxiliary driving lamp, rear lamp, 
signal lamp or reflector which reflector is required 
hereund_er, or parts of any of the foregoing, which 
tend to change the original design or performance, 
unless of a type which has been submitted to the 
commissioner and approved by him. 

321.425 Selling or offering unsafe vehicles. No 
person shall have for sale, sell, or offer for sale any 
motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer which is in such 
unsafe condition as to endanger any person or which 
does not contain those parts or is not at all times 
equipped with such lamps and brakes and other equip­
ment in proper condition and adjustment as required 
in this chapter, or which is equipped in any manner 
in violation of this chapter. 
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321.428 Authority of commissioner. 
1. The commissioner is hereby authorized to ap­

prove or disapprove lighting devices. 
2. The commissioner is hereby required to ap­

prove or disapprove any lighting device, of a type on 
which approval is specifically required in this chap­
ter, wit hin a r easonable t ime after such device has 
been submitted. 

3. The commissioner is further authorized to set 
up the procedure which shall be followed when any 
device is submitted for approval. 

4. The commissioner upon approving any such 
lamp or device shall issue to the applicant a certifi­
cate of approval together with any instructions 
determined by him. 

5. The commissioner shall publish list s of all such 
lamps and devices by name and type which comply 
with the requirements of this chapter, together with 
instructions as to the permissible candlepower rating 
of the bulbs which he has determined for use therein 
and such other inst ructions as to adjustment as the 
commissioner may deem necessary. 

OTHER EQUIPMENT 
The law sets forth several ot her specific require­

ments r_;]ative to equipment, including: 

321.430 Brake requirements. 
1. Every motor vehicle, other than a motorcycle, 

when operated upon a highway shall be equipped 
wit h brakes adequate to control the movement of 
and to stop and hold such vehicle, including two 
separate means of applying the brakes, ead1 of which 
means shall be effective t o apply the brakes to at 
least two wheels. If these two separate means of 
applying the brakes are connected in any way, they 
shall be so constructed that f ailure of any one part 
of the operating mechanism shall not leave the 
motor vehicle without brakes on at least two wheels. 

2. Every motorcycle , and bicycle with motor at­
tached, when operated upon a highway shall be 
equipped with at least one brake, which may be 
operated by hand or foot. 

3. Every trailer or semitrailer of a gr oss weight 
of three thousand pounds or more, and every trailer 
coach intended for use for human habitation, shall 
be equipped with brakes adequate to control the 
movement of and to stop and hold such vehicle, and 
so de igned a to be applied by the driver of the 
towing motor vehicle from its cab, and said brakes 
sha ll, after January 1, 1939, he so designed and con­
nected that in case of an accidental breakaway of 
the t owed vehicle the brakes shall be automatically 
applied. Every semitra iler of a gross weight of three 
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thousand pounds or more shall be equipped with a 
separa te , auxiliary means of applying the brakes on 
the semitrailer from the cab of the towing vehicle. 

4. Every new motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer 
h~reafter sold in this state and operated upon the 
highways shall be equipped with service brakes upon 
all wheels of every such vehicle, except any motor­
cycle, and except t hat any trailer or semitrailer of 
less than three thousand pounds gross weight need 
not be equipped with brakes. 

321.431 Performance ability. 
1. The service brakes upon any motor vehicle or 

combination of motor vehicles, when upon dry 
asphalt or concrete pavement surface free from loose 
material where the grade does not exceed one per-
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cent, when traveling twenty miles an hour shall be 
adequate: 

a. To · stop such vehicle or vehicles having ~ ~088 
weight of less than five thousand pounds within a 
distance of thirty feet. 

b. To stop such vehicle or vehicles having ~ ~088 
weight in excess of five thousand pounds within a 
distance of forty-five feet. 

2 Under the above conditions the hand brake shall 
be ·adequate to hold such v~hicle or vehicles sta­
tionary on any grade upon which operated. 

3. Under the above conditions the service brakes 
upon a motor vehicle equipped with two-wheel 
brakes only and when permitted hereunder. shall be 
adequate t~ stop the vehicle within a distance of 
forty-five feet and the hand brake adequate to stop 
the vehicle within a distance of fifty-five feet. 

4. All braking distances spec~fied in this section 
■hall apply to all vehicles mentioned, whether. such 
Yehicles are not loaded or are loaded to the maximum 
capacity permitted under this chapter. 

6. All brakes shall be maintained in good working 
order and shall be so adjusted as to operate as 
equally as practicable wi_th respect to the wheels on 
opposite sides of the vehicle. 

121.432 Horns and warning devices. Every motor 
vehicle when operated upon a highway shall be 
equipped with a horn in good working order and 
capable of emitting sound audible under normal con­
ditions from a distance of not less than two hundred 
feet but no horn or other warning device shall emit 
an ~nreasonably loud or harsh sound or a whistle. 
The driver of a motor vehicle shall when reasonably 
neeessary to insure safe ope1·ation give a?dible warn­
ing with his horn but shall not otherwise use such 
horn when upon a highway. 

321.433 Sirens and bells prohibited. No vehicle 
shall be equipped with nor shall any person use upon 
a highway any siren, whistl_e, or bel~, excep~ a~ other­
wise permitted in this section.. It 1s _permiss1bl~ but 
not required that any commercial vehicle be eqmpped 
with a theft alarm signal device which is so arranged 
that it cannot be used by the driver as an ordinary 
warning signal. Any authorfaed emergency vehicle i 

may be equipped with a siren, whistle, or bell, cap~ble 
of emitting sound audible under normal conditions 
from a distance of not less than five hundred feet 
and of a type approved by the department, but such 
siren shall not be used except when such vehicle is 
operated in response to an emergency call or _in the 
immediate pursuit of an actual or suspected ~10lator 
:>f the law, in which said latter events the dnver of 
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such vehicle shall sound said siren when necessary 
to warn pedestrians and other drivers of the ap­
proach thereof. 

321.434 Bicycle sirens or whistles. No bicycl, 
shall be equipped with nor shall any person use 
upon a bicycle any siren or whistle. 

321.435 Loud signaling at night. Loud signaling 
devices shall not be used during the period from 
one hour after sunset to one hour before sunrise, 
unless absolutely necessary to avoid accidents. 

321.436 Mufflers, prevention of noise. Every mo­
tor vehicle shall at all times be equipped with a 
muffler in good working order and in constant opera­
tion to prevent excessive or unusual noise and an­
noying smoke, and no person shall use a muffler cu~ 
out, by-pass or similar device upon a motor vehicle 
on a highway. 

321.437 Mirrors. Every motor vehicle shall be 
equipped with a mirror so located as to reflect to the 
driver a view of the highway for a distance of at 
least two hundred feet to the rear of such vehicle. 
Any motor vehicle so loaded, or towing another ve­
hicle in such manner as to obstruct the view in a 
rear view mirror located in the driver's compartment, 
shall be equipped with a side mirror so located that 
the view to the rear will not be obstructed. 

321.438 Windshields, side-wings and windo,ws. No 
person shall drive any motor vehicle equipped with 
a windshield, side-wings, or side or rear windows 
which do not permit clear vision. 

321.439 Windshield wipers. The windshield on 
every motor vehicle shall be equipped with a device 
for cleaning rain, snow or other moisture from the 
windshield, which device shall be so constructed as 
to be controlled or operated by the driver of the ve­
hicle. 

321.440 Restrictions as to tire equipment. Every 
solid rubber tire on a vehicle shall have rubber on its 
entire traction surface at least one inch thick above 
the edge of the flange of the entire periphery. No 
pneumatic tire shall be used on a motor vehicle when 
such tire is worn to the extent that more than two 
layers of fabric or cords are exposed on the entire 
traction surface. 

' 321.444 Safety glass. No person shall sell any 
new motor vehicle nor shall any motor vehicle, man­
ufactured since July 1, 1935, be registered, or oper­
ated unless such vehicle is equipped with safety glass 
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wherever glass is u ed in doors, windows, and wind­
shields. Replacements of glass in doors, windows, or 
wind hields shall be of safety glass. 

PENALTIES 
321.482 P ena1t·es fo r misdemeanor. It is a mis­

demeanor for any per on to do any act forbidden or 
to fail to perform any act required by any. of ~he 
provisions of this chapter unless anr such violation 
i by this chapter or other law of this state declared 
to be a felony. Chapter 232 shall have no applica ­
tion in the p ·osecution of offenses committed in vio­
lation of this chapter. 

Every person convicted of a misdemeanor for a 
viola t ion of any of the provisions of this chapter for 
which another penalty is not provided shall be pun­
i hetl by a fine of not more than one hun~red dollars 
or by imprisonment for not more than thirty days. 

321.483 Penalty for felony. ny person who is 
convicted of a violation of any of the provisions of 
this chapter herein declare~ to con~titute a feloi:iy, 
nd for which another pumshment 1s not otherwise 

provided, shall be punished by imprisonment for a 
term · of not more than five years, or by a fine of 
not less than five hundred dollars nor more than five 
thousand dollars, or by both such fine and imprison­
ment. 

PARTIES, PROCEDURE UPON ARRES~ AND 
REPORTS IN CRIMINAL CASES 

321.484 Offenses by owne s. · It is unlawful for 
the owner, or any other person, employing or oth~r­
wise directing the dr iver of any vehicle to require 
r knowingly to permit the operation of such vehicle 

upon a highway in any manner contrary to law. 

321.485 Notice to appear. Whenever a peace offi­
er has reasonable cause to believe that a person has 
iolated any provision of this chapter punishable as 

a misdemeanor, such officer may: 
1. Immediately arrest such person and take him 

before a magistrate of the county in which the ap­
parent violation occurred ; or 

2. Without arresting the person, eit her 
a Prepare in triplicate a written summons to ap­

pear in court containing the name and address of 
such person, the operator or chauffeur license number 
if any, the reo-istration number !f any of his vehicle, 
the offense charged, and the time when and place 
where such person shall appear in court, which sha.11 
be within the county in which the offense charged ts 
lleged to have been committed; or 
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b. Prepijre in triplicate a memorandum of the al­
leged traffic violation containing the name and ad­
dress of such person, the registration number if any 
of the vehicle, the offense alleged to have been com­
mitted and such other information as may be pre­
scribed by the commissioner. 

321.486 Promise to appear. In lieu of bail th~ 
magistrate may r elease the arraigned person upon 
his written promise to appear in court for tria] at 
time a nd place designated by such magistrate. 

If the officer prepares either a summons or a mem­
orandum as provided in section 321.485, the alleged 
offender shall be requested to sign the same in trip­
licate, and if he does sign may be released without 
arrest. In case a summons is issued, the signing 
shall constitute a written promise to appear as stated 
in said summons. The duplicate summons shall be 
p_resented to the person named therein. If memo­
randum is prepared, the original shall be retained 
by the officer, the duplicate sent to the department, 
and the triplicate presented to t he person named 
therein. 

321.487 Violation of promise to appear. Any per­
son willfully violating a summons to appear in court 
given as provided in this chapter, is guilty of a mis­
demeanor, punishable as provided in section 321.482 
regardless of the disposition of the charge upon 
which he was summoned. 

An appearance in response to such summons may 
be made either in person or by counsel. 

321.492 P eace officers' authority. Any peace offi­
cer is a uthorized to stop any vehicle to r equire ex­
hibition of the driver's operator or chauffeur license, 
to serve a summons or memorandum of traffic viola­
tion, to inspect the condition of the vehicle, to in­
spect t he vehicle with reference to size, weight, car­
go, bills of lading or other manifest of employment , 
and safet y equipment, or t o inspect the registration 
certificate, the compensation certificate, travel order, 
or permit of such vehicle. 

321.493 Liability for damages. In all cases where 
damage is done by any car by reason of neg·ligence 
of the dr iver, and driven with the consent of the 
owner, the owner of the car shall be liable for such 
damage. 

321.494 Guest statute. The owner or operator of 
a motor vehic le shall not be liable for any damages 
to any passenger or person riding in said motor ve­
hicle as a guest or by invitation and not for hire 
unless da,mage is caused as a r esult of the driver 
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of said motor vehicle being under the influence of 
intoxicating liquor or because of the reckless opera­
tion by him of such motor vehicle. 

CHAUFFEURS 
The following sections of the Iowa motor vehicle 

law pertain particularly to information with which 
every person operating a motor vehicle as a chauf­
feur must be thoroughly conversant, in addition to 
those sections already set forth for the regular 
driver. 

321.175 Chauffeurs exempted as operators. Any 
person holding a valid chauffeur's license hereunder 
need not procure an operator's license. 

321.179 Special restrictions on chauffeurs. No 
person who is under the age of tweny-one years 
shall drive any motor vehicle while in use as a car­
rier of flammables or combustibles, or as a public 
or common carrier of persons, except a school bus. 

(Note: School bus drivers, see section 321.3.76.) 

HOURS OF OPERATION 
321.225 Maximum mechanical operation. No per­

son shall operate a commercial vehicle for hire for 
more than a period of twelve hours out of any period 
of twenty-four houd upon the highways of this state 
without being relieved from duty for ten consecutive 
h·ours and where a driver puts in twelve hours of 
driving out of any period of twenty-four hours, 
though not consecutive he must be given at. least 
eight hours off duty. 

321.226 Maximum operation by employee. No 
person, firm, partnership, association, or corporation 
shall require or permit any employee or person to 
drive or operate any commercial motor vehicle upon 
the public highways of this state in violation of the 
provisions of section 321.226. 

321.227 Violations. Any person, firm, partner­
ship, association or corporation violating any of the 
provisions of sections 321.225 and 321.226 shall be 
guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, may 
be fined not less than twenty-five dollars, nor more 
than one hundred dollars. 

CLEARANCE AND IDENTIFICATION LIGHTS 
321.392 Clearance and identification lights. Every 

motor truck, and every trailer or semitrailer of over 
three thousand pounds gross weight, shall be 
equipped with the following lighting devices and re­
flectors in addition to other requirements of this 
chapter, and such devices shall be lighted at the 
times mentioned in section 321.384. 

CHAUFFEURS-TRUCKS 

SIDE VIEW TRUCK 

R.V.M. 

{, FRONT REAR 

Equipment Required of Every Truck 
Regardless of Width or Length 

KEY TO LIGHTING ILLUSTRATIONS 

AC Amber Clearance Lamps 
RC Red Clearance Lamps 
AI Amber Identification Lamps 
RI Red Identification Lamps 
AS Amber Side Lamps 
RS Red Side Lamps 
AR Amber Reflectors 
RR Red Reflectors 
H Head Lamps 
T Tail Lamps 
SL Stop Light 
R.V.M. Rear View Mirror 

68 
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SIDE. VIEW 1' RUCK 

RVM. 

FRONT REAR 

Motor Trucks Eighty Inches or More in Width and 
Less than Thirty Feet in Over-all Length 

1. Every motor truck, whatever its size, shall have 
the following: 

On each side, one reflect or, at or near the rear; 
and 

On the r ear, two reflectors, one at each side. 
2. Every motor truck, eighty inches or more in 

width shall have the following in addition t o the 
requi;ements of subsection 1: 

a. If t hirty feet or less in over-all length-
On the front, two clearance lamps, one at each 

side; and 
On the r ear, two clearance lamps, one at each side. 
b. If mor e than thirty feet in over-all length­
On the front, two clearance lamps, one at each 

side; 
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SIDE VIEW TRUCK 

RV.M. 

FRONT 

Motor Trucks Eighty Inches or More in 
Width and More than Thirty Feet 

'n Over-all Length 

66 

On each side, two side-marker lamps, ne at or 
near the front, and one at or near the rear, and a• 
additional reflector at or near the front; and 

On the r ear, two clearance lamps, one at each 
side. 

3. Every truck t r actor or road tractor shall have 
the following: 

On the front, two clearance lamps, one a t each 
side, if the tractor c b is a s wide as, or w·der than, 
the widest part of the vehicle or vehicles towed; 

On each side, one side-marker lamp at or near the 
front; and 

On t he rear, one tail lamp. 
4. Every t r ailer or emitrailer h ving a gross 

weight in excess of three thousand pounds shall 
have the following: 

On the front, two clearance lamps, one at each 
eide, if the trailer is wider in its widest part than 
the cab of the vehicle towing it; 
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On each side, one side-marker lamp at or near 
the rear; two reflectors, one at or near the front 
and one at or near the rear; and 

On the rear, two clearance lamps, one at each side; 
one stop light; one tail lamp; and two reflectors, 
one at each side. · 

6. Every motor t ruck or com~ination of m?tor 
truck and trailer having a length m excess of thirty 
feet or a width in excess of eighty inches shall be 
equipped with three identification lights on both 
front and r ear. Each such group shall be ~venly 
spaced not less than six nor more than twelve mches 
apart a long a horizontal line near the- top of the 
vehicle. 

=-----J 
SIDE VIEW TRACTOR SIDE VIEW TRAIL.ER 

r---~r---1 

F'RONT FRONT REAR 
CAB NAR ROWER - TRAILER CAB WIDER - TRAILER Of T RACTOR 

T 

FRONT FRONT REAR 
TRAILER WIDER - CAS TRAILER NARROWER-CAB· OF' TRAILER 
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ADDITIONAL LIGHTING REQUIREMENTS 

321.390 Reflector requirements. Whenever a red 
reflec:tor is required or permitted to be used in sub­
stitution of · lamps upon a vehicle under any one of 
the provisions of this chapter, such reflector shall be 
mounted upon the vehicle at a height not to exceed 
forty-two inches nor less than twenty-four inches 
above the ground upon which. the vehicle stands, and 
every such reflector shall be so designed and main­
tained as to be visible at night from all distances 
within five hundred feet to fifty feet from such 
vehicle when directly in front of a motor vehicle dis­
playing lawfully lighted head lamps as provided in 
section 321.410. 

321.393 Color and mounting. No lighting device 
or reflector, when mounted on or near the front of 
any motor truck or trailer, shall displa_y any ot~er 
color than white, yellow, or amber; provided that m­
stallations heretofore in place and otherwise comply­
ing with the law may display a green light until re­
placements are made. 

No lighting device or reflector, when mounted on or 
near the rear of any motor truck of trailer, shall dis­
play any other color than red, except that the stop 
light may be red, yellow, or amber. 

Clearance lamps shall be mounted on the perma­
nent structure of the vehicle in such manner as to 
indicate the extreme width of the vehicle or its load. 

The provisions of this section shall not prohibit the 
use of a light ing device or reflector displaying a blue 
light when such lighting device or reflector is mount­
ed on a motor truck or trailer owned by this state, or 
any political subdivision of this state, or any munici­
pality therein, and such motor truck or trailer is 
equipped with a snow removal or sanding device and 
is -being used for the express purpose of removing 
snow or sanding on any public street or highway. 

Chapter 109, Acts of the 54th G. A. Motor Vehicle 
Blue Lights. A motor vehicle operated by a member 
of an organized volunteer fire department may be 
equipped with a lamp or device thereon displaying a 
flashing blue light visible from directly in front of 
such motor vehicle when such motor vehicle is duly 
authorized as hereinafter provided and while such 
motor vehicle is in actual use for fire or other emer­
gency service. 

No volunteer fireman shall be permitted to display 
a flashing blue light upon a motor vehicle as herein­
bef ore provided except while actually en route to the 
scene of a fire or other emergency requiring his serv­
ices as a volunteer fireman and unless he shall be an 
active member of an organized volunteer fire depart-
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ment and shall have been authorized in writing to so 
display a flashing blue light by the commissioner. 

The commissioner is_.)iereby empowered to author­
ize the display of a flashing blue light upon a private­
ly owned light delivery truck, panel delivery truck, 
pickup, station wagon, or passenger type vehicle ex­
cept a motorcycle or motor bicycle, owned or usually 
operated by a volunteer fireman, and to issue a 
certificate of author ization therefor, upon written 
request being made on forms provided by the depart­
ment and showing necessity for such authorization. 
Such writt0 n request shall be accompanied by a state­
ment in wr iting by the chief of the volunteer fire 
department of which the applicant is a member certi­
fying that the applicant is an act ive member in good 
tanding in said volunteer fire department and rec­

ommending that such authorization be granted. Such 
certificate of authorization issued by the commission­
er shall be at all time carried with the certificate of 
rngistrat ion of t he vehicle to which it r efers and shall 
expire at midnight on the thirty-first day of Decem­
ber in the year in which it was issued. The commis­
sioner may at any time revoke such cer tificate of 
authorizat· on upon a showing of abuse thereof or 
upon notification by the certifying fire chief that ap­
plicant has cea sed t o be an a ctive member of the vol­
unteer fi re department. 

The provisions of section 321.423 shall not apply to 
he use of a flashing blue light on a motor vehicle so 
uthorized by the commissioner, but such flashing 

blue light shall not be used except when such motor 
vehicle is actually en route to the scene of a fire or 
other emergency r equiring t he services of a volun­
teer fh·eman. · 

321.394 Lai p or flag on projecting load. When­
ever t he load upon any vehicle ext ends · to the rear 
four feet o,r m ore beyond the bed or body of such 
vehicle there shall be displayed at the extreme 
rear end of the load, at the t imes specified in sec­
tion 321..384, a red light or lantern plainly visible 
from a distance of at least five hundred feet to the 
sides and r ea r . The r ed light or lantern required 
under t his ection shall be in addit ion t o he r ed 
rear light required upon every vehicle. At a n other 
time there shall be displayed at the extreme r ear 
end of such load a red flag or cloth n ot less than 
sixteen inches square. 

321.447 Trucks to carry fl.ares . No person shall 
operate any motor truck or truck tractor upon a 
highway outside of a business or residence district 
at any time from a half hour af ter sunset t o a hali 
hour before sunr ise unless there shall be carried in 
such vehicle a sufficient number, not less than three, 
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of flares, red reflector electric lanterns, red reflec­
tors, or other s ignals capable of continuously produc­
ing three warning lights each visible from a distance 
of at least five hundred feet f or a period of at least 
eight hour s, except that a motor vehicle transporting 
flammabl s shall carry red reflector s or red reflector 
electric lant erns in place of the other signals above 
mentioned, and during daylight hours every truck 
shall carr y a sufficient number of red flags, not less 
than three. Every such fla r e, lantern, signal, or r~­
flector shall be of a type approved by the Commis­
sioner and he shall publish lists of those devices 
which he has approved a s adequate for t he pur­
poses of this section. 

321.448 Display of flares . Whenever a motor 
truck, or truck tractor, a trailer or a semitrailer 
drawn by a motor truck or a truck tractor is stopped 
upon or immed iately adjacent to the main traveled 
por tion of a highwa y outside of a business or resi­
dence dist r ict, dur ing the t imes when lighted lamps 
must be displayed, then the driver or other person 
in charge of such vc hicle shall, in addition to t he 
requirements of section 321.395, cause a light ed 
fusee t o be immediately placed on the roadway at 
the traffic side of such vehicle; as soon thereafter 
as possible, and in any case within the burning 
period of the fusee , three lighted flares , or three red 
reflector electric lanterns or three r ed reflectors 
shal1 be placed on the roadway, one at a distance 
of not less than one hundred f eet in a dvance of 
such vehicle, one at a distance of not less than one 
hundred f eet to the rear of such vehicle, and the 
third upon the traffic side of such vehicle ; provided 
that if such ~ehicle is stopped within three hundr ed 
feet of a curve, crest of a h ill, or other obst r uct ion 
to view, the flare, red reflector electric lantern or 
red reflectors, in that direct ion shall be so placed 
as to afford ample warning to other users of the 
highway, but in no case less than one hundr ed feet 
froip such v~hicle. Whe;n such flares are t a ken up, 
durmg the time when lighted lamps must be dis~ 
played, a lighted fusee shall be placed at the t raffic 
side of such vehicle. 

In the event such vehicle is used in the t ransporta­
tion of flammable liquids or ga ses, whether loaded 
or empty, no open burning flar es or fusees sha ll be 
used and red reflector electric lanterns or red re­
flectors shall be used in lieu thereof. 

During the times lighted lamps are not required, 
red flags shall be used in place of flares or red 
reflector electric lanterns or red reflectors, provided 
that if such parking continues into the period when 
lighted lamps are required, flares or red reflector 
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electric lanterns or red reflectors shall be placed as 
above provided. 

Each of the red flags required under this section 
shall be not less than sixteen inches square. 

321.449 Explosives. No person shall at any time 
operate a motor truck or truck tractor transporting 
explosives as a cargo or part of a cargo upon a high­
way unless it carries flares or electric lanterns _ as 
herein required, but such flares or electric lanterns 
must be capablP. of prGjucing a · red light and shall 
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be displayed upon the roadw-;,iy when and as required 
in section 321.448. 

321.450 Vehicles transporting explosives. Any 
person operating any vehicle transporting any explo­
sive as a cargo or part of a cargo upon a highway 
shall at all times comply with the provisions of this 
section. 

Said vehicle shall be marked or placarded on each 
side and the rear with the word "Explosives" in 
letters not less than eight inches high, or there 
shall be displayed on the rear of such vehicle a red 
flag not less than twenty-four inches square marked 
with the word · "Danger" in white letters six inches 
high. 

Every said vehicle shall be equipped with not 
· less than two fire extinguishers, filled and ready for 
immediate use, and placed at a convenient point 
on the vehicle so used. 

SIZE, WEIGHT AND LOAD 
321.452 Scope and effect. Except for offenses 

punishable under the provisions of section 321.463, 
it is a misdemeanor, punishable as provided in section 
321.482, for any person to drive or move or for the 
owner to cause or knowingly permit to be driven or 
moved on any highway any vehicle or vehicles of a 
size or weight exceeding the limitations stated in this 
chapter, and the maximum size and weight of ve­
hicles herein specified shall be lawful throughout this 
state, and local authorities shall have no power or 
authority to alter said limitations except as express 
authority may be granted in this chapter. 

321.453 Exceptions. The provisions of this chap­
ter governing size, weight, and load shall not apply 
to fire apparatus, road machinery, or to implements 
of husbandry temporarily moved upon a highway, 
or to a vehicle operated under the terms of a special 
permit issued as provided in sections 321.467 to 
321.470, inclusive. 

321.454 Widths of vehicles. The total outside 
width of any vehicle or the load thereon, except loose 
hay or straw, shall not exceed eight feet. 

321.456 Height of vehicles. No vehicle unladen or 
with load shall exceed a height of twelve feet sue 
inches; provided, however, that a vehicle used exclu­
sively for the transportation of motor vehicles may 
be of a total height, unladen or with load, of thirteen 
feet six inches. Nothing herein contained shall be 
construed to require the public authorities to provide 
sufficient vertical clearance to permit the operation 
of such vehicle upon the highways of this state. 
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Any damage to highways, hig·hway str uctures or 

underpasses caused by the increase in height of any 
vehicle provided for by this section shall be borne by 
the operator or owner of such vehicle. 

321.457 Maximum length. The maximum length 
of any motor vehicle or combination of vehicles, 
except fire fighting apparatus, shall be as follows: 

(a) No single t ruck, unladen or with load, shall 
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have an over-all length, inclusive of front and rear 
bumpers, in excess of thir ty-five (35) feet. 

(b) No single bus, unladen or with load, shall 
have an over-all length, inclusive of front and rear 
bumpers, in excess of forty ( 40) feet , provided that 
a bus in excess of thirty-five feet (35) in over-all 
length shall not have less than three (3) axles. 

(c) No combination of truck-tractor and semi­
trailer, nor any other combination of vehicles coupled 
together, unladen or with load, shall have an over­
all length, inclusive of front and rear bumpers, in 
excess of forty-five (45) f eet. 

321.458 Loading beyond front. The load upou 
any vehicle operated alone, or the load upon the 
front vehicle of a combination of vehicle~, shall not 
ext end more than thr ee f eet beyond the front wheels 
of such vehicle or the front bumper of such vehicle 
if it is equipped with such a bumper. 

321.459 Dual axle requirem nts. No motor ve­
hicle, trailer, or semitrailer having axles less than 
forty inches apart, center to center, hall b operated 
on the highways of this state. 

321.460 Spilling loads on highway. No ehicle 
shall be driven or moved on any highway unless 
such vehicle is so constructed or loaded as to ~e­
vent any of its load from dropping, sifting, leaking 
or otherwise escaping therefrom, except that ·sand 
may be dropped for the purpose of securing traction, 
or water or other substance may be sprinkled on a 
roadway in cleaning or maintaining such roadway . 

321.463 Axle-maximum gross weight. An axle 
may be divided into two or more parts, provided, 
however, that all parts in the same vertical trans­
verse plane shall be consider ed as one axle. 

The gross weight on any one axle of a vehicle, or 
of a combination of vehicles, operated on the high­
ways of this state, shall not exceed eighteen thousand 
pounds on an axle equipped with pneumatic tires , 
and shall not exceed fourteen thousand pounds on 
an axle equipped with solid rubber tires. 

No vehicle or combination of vehicles shall be oper­
ated with a t ot al gross weight in pounds in excess 
of the amount given in the foll owing table corre­
sponding to the distance in feet between the extreme 
axles of the said vehicle or combination of vehicles 
measur ed longitudinally to the nearest foot. 

No group of axles of any vehicle, or any combina­
tion of vehicles, shall carry a load in pounds in ex­
cess of the value given in the following table corre­
sponding to the distance in feet between the extreme 
axles of the group measured longitudinally to the 
nearest foot: 



74 DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

Distance in feet between 
the extremes of any 
group of axles or the 
extreme axles of the ve-

hicle or combination. 
4 
6 
6 
7 
8 
9 

10 
11 
12 
13 
14 
16 
16 
17 
18 
19 
20 
21 
22 
23 
24 
25 
26 
27 
28 
29 
30 
31 
32 
33 
34 
35 
36 
37 
38 
39 
40 

Maximum load in pounds 
carried on any group of 
axles or of the vehicle 

or combination. 

32,000 
32,000 
32,000 
32,000 
32,610 
33,580 
34,550 
35,510 
36,470 
37,420 
38,360 
39,300 
40,230 
41,160 
42,080 
42,990 
43,900 
44,800 
45,700 
46,590 
47,470 
48,350 
49,220 
60,090 
60,950 
61,800 
52,650 
53,490 
54,330 
55,160 
65,980 
56,800 
67,610 
58,420 
69,220 
60,010 
60,800 

A tolerance above the maximum legal weight of 
any axle or vehicle or combination of vehicles may 
be allowed as follows: 

Three percent on any axle, including tandem axles. 
Eight percent of the gross weight on any par­

ticular group of axles. 
Eight percent on the total gross weight of a 

vehicle or combination of vehicles. 
The weight on any one axle of a vehicle which 

is transporting livestock may exceed the legal maxi­
mum weight given in this chapter providing that 
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the gross weight on any particular group of axles 
on such vehicle does not exceed gross weight allow~ 
able under this chapter for such group of axles. 

Any person who operates any vehicle in violation 
of the provisions of this section, and any owner, or 
any other person, employing or otherwise directing 
the operator of any vehicle who requires or know­
ingly permits the operation of any vehicle in viola­
tion of the provisions of this section shall upon con­
viction or a plea of guilty be punished in accordance 
with the following schedule: 

AXLE AND TANDEM AXLE 
WEIGHT VIOLATIONS 

Percentage Amount of Fine 
of Overload Per Hundred Pounds 

Over 3% to and including 8% $1.00 
Over 8% to and including 10% 1.25 
Over 10% to and including 12% 1.75 
Over 12% to and including 14% 2.50 
Over 14% to and including 16% 3.50 
Over 16% to and including 18% 5.00 
Over 18% to and including 20% 6.50 
Over 20% 8.00 

GROSS OR GROUP OF AXLES 
WEIGHT VIOLATIONS 

Percentage Amount of Fine 
of Overload Per Hundred Pounds. 

Over 8% to and including 10% $1.00 
Over 10% to and including 12% 1.50 
Over 12% to and including 14% 2.50 
Over 14% to and including 16% 4.00 
Over 16% to and including 18% 5.00 
Over 18% to and including 20% 6.00 
Over 20% 8.00 

The penalties herein provided shall not be con­
strued to be in lieu of any other penalties provided 
for violations of other provisions of this chapter. 

Any person who issues or executes, or causes to be 
issued or executed, any bill of lading, manifest, or 
shipping document of any kind which states the false 
weight of the cargo set forth on such bill, manifest 
or document, to be less than the actual weight of 
such cargo, shall be punished by a fine of not more 
than one hundred dollars or by imprisonment for not 
more than thirty days. 

321.464 Investigation as to safety. The com­
missioner upon registering any vehicle under the 
laws of this state which vehicle is designed and used 
primarily for the transportation of property or for 
the _transport~tion of. ten or more persons, may 
require such mformat10n and may make such in~ 
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vesti.gation or test as necessary to enable him to de­
termine whether such vehicle may safely be operated. 
upon the highways in compliance with all the pro­
visions of this chapter. He shall register every such 
vehicle for a permissible gross weight not exceeding 
the limitations set forth in this chapter. Every 
such vehicle shall meet the following requirements: 

1. It shall be equipped with brakes as required 
in sections 321.430 and 321.431. 

2. Every motor vehicle to be operated outside of 
business and residence districts shall have motive 
power adequate to propel at a reasonable speed 
such vehicle and any load thereon or to be drawn 
thereby. 

321.465 Weighing vehicles and removal of excess. 
Any peace officer having reason to believe that the 
weight of a vehicle and load is unlawful is author­
ized to require the driver to stop and submit to a 
weighing of the same either by means of portable or 
stationary scales and may require that such vehicle 
b driven to the nearest public scales. 

Whenever an officer upon weighing a vehicle and 
load, as above provided, determines that the weight 
is unlawful, such officer may require the driver to 
stop the vehicle in a suitable place and remain stand­
ing until such portion of the load is removed as may 
be necessary to reduce the gross weight of such ve­
hicle to such limit as permitted under this chapter. 
All material so unloaded shall be cared for by the 
owner or operator of such vehicle at the risk of such 
owner or operator. 

Upon weighing a vehicle and load, as above pro­
vided, if such load is a sealed load, the weight officer 
shal.l issue a certificate setting forth the weights as 
determined by him and the seal number or numbers, 
if requested by the operator. 

Any driver of a vehicle who fails or refuses to stop 
and submi t t he vehicle and load to a weighing, or who 
fails or refuses when directed by an officer upon a 
weighing of the vehicle to stop the vehicle and other­
wise comply with the provisions of this section, shall 
be guilty of a misdemeanor and punished as provided 
in sect ion 321.482. 

321.4-66 Increased loading capacity-re-registra­
tion. An increased gross weight registi·ation may 
be obtained for any vehicle by payment of the dif­
ference between the annual fee for the higher gross 
weight and the amount of the fee for the gross 
weight a t which it is r egistered. 

With respect t o a vehicle held by a dealer for sale 
or trade, an increased gross weight registration may 
be obtained for any such vehicle on or after April 10 
of each year upon change of ownership by pa·yment 
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of one-twelfth of the difference between the annual 
fee for the higher gross weight and the amount of 
the f~e _for the gross weight at which it is registered, 
mult1phed by the number of unexpired months of the 
year. 

On or after July 1 of each year, the owner of 
a :r:notor truc_k, truck ~rac!or, road tractor, semi­
trailer or tra1ler may, 1f his operation thereof has 
not. resulted in a conviction under this section or an 
action .then pending against him for violation · of the 
sal'D;e, mcrease the _gross load of any such vehicle to 
a higher gross weight classification by payment of 
one-twelfth of the difference between the annual fee 
for the higher gross weight and the amount of the 
fee ~or_ the gross weight at which it is registered, 
mult1phed by the number of unexpired months of 
the year. 

Upon conversion of a truck to a truck tractor or 8 
tru~k traytor to a truck, an increased gross weight 
reg1strat1on ot the proper type may be obtained for 
a!ly such vehicle by payment of one-twelfth of the 
d1fferenc~ between the annual fee for the higher 
gross weigh~ and the amount of the annual fee for 
the gross we1ght at which it is registered . multiplied 
by the number of unexpired months of th~ year from 
the date of such conversion. 

It shall be unla_wful for any person to operate a 
mot?r ~ruck, trailer, truck tractor, road tractor, 
s~m1trailer ?r combination thereof, on the public 
h1g_hwa_y_s_ with. a gross weight exceeding that for 
which it 1s ~eg1stered by more than five percent of 
the gross weight for V.:hich it is ~egistered, provided, 
however, that any vehicle or vehicle combination re­
ferred to he.rein, :V~ile c~rrying a load of raw farm 
product.s, soil fertilizers, mcluding ground limestone, 
raw dairy prod~cts_ or livestock, live poultry, eggs, 
may be 4:>Peratea with a gross weight of twentr-five 
perce~t m ex~ess of the gross weight for which it 
ts registered. 

321.4~7 Permits f_or excess size and weight. The 
state h_1gh~a~ c~m~m1ssion with respect to highways 
under its ~ur1sd1ct1on and local authorities with re­
spe~t ~o h1~hways unde1· _their jurisdiction may, in 
their d1s~ret1on, upon apphcati_on in writing and good 
~a use . ~emg show~ _therefor, issue a special permit 
m writmg a~thorizmg the applicant to operate or 
move tor a d1stanc~ no_t exceeding twenty-five miles 
a yeh1cle or c_ombmat1on of vehicles of a size or 
we1~ht ot ve~1cle or load exceeding the maximum 
~pec1~ed m this chapter or otherwise not in conform­
ity with the pr~vi~io~s ?f this chapter upon any high­
way ~nder the Jurisdict~on of the party granting such 
permit and_ for the mamtenance of which said party 
1s responsible, provided, however, that the state 
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highway commission or such local authorities may in 
their discretion issue a special permit for the move­
ment of construction machinery, equipment or mate­
rial for a distance exceeding twenty-five miles if such 
machinery, equipment or material is to be moved to 
or from construction projects in this state or is man­
unf actured or assembled within this state. 

Provided further that, in an emergency, or very 
pecial or unusual cases, or as a means of cooperating 

with national defense officials, the state highway 
commission may grant permits for moving oversize 
or overweight vehicles or objects over the highways 
for a distance exceeding twenty-five miles if, in the 
judgment of the commission, such special, unusual, 
emergency or defense movement is essential. 

In no event, however, is the gross weight on any 
axle to exceed the maximum axle load as prescribed 
in section 321.463 hereof. 

The state highway commission as to primary roads, 
and the county board of supervisors as to secondary 
roads, may, in their discretion, grant permits for the 
operation of electric trolley buses, or trackless trol­
ley buses, on such roads in any township adjacent to 
any city of over one hundred fifty thousand popula­
tion, and which township has an unincorporated 
population and which township has an unincorporated 
population* of over seven thousand five hundred, all 
according to the latest available federal census. 

Such permit shall require that the person or com­
pany opera ting such buses shall, for the use of such 
highways, quarterly report and pay to the state high­
way commission for the benefit of the primary road 
fund, and to the county board of supervisors for the 
benefit of the secondary road fund of said county, an 
amount equal to two and three-fourths per cent of the 
total gross revenue derived from the operation of 
such trackless trolley buses on suet r oads in such 
township, divided according to the mileage of roads 
so used. 

321.468 Application. The application for any 
such permit shall specifically describe the vehicle 
or vehicles and load to be operated or moved and 
the particular highways for which permit to operate 
is requested, and whether such permit is requested 
for a single trip or for continuous operation. 

321 .469 Issuance. The state highway commission 
or local authority is authorized to issue or withhold 
such permit at its discretion; or, if such permit is 
issued, to limit the number of trips, or to establish 
seasonal or other time limitations, within which the 
vehicles described may be operated on the highways 

• According to enrolled Act. 
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i~dicated, or o~herwise to limit or prescribe condi­
tions of operat10n of such vehicle or vehicles when 
necessary to assure against undue damage 'to the 
road. foundations, surfaces, or structures, and may 
reqmre such undertaking or other security as may 
be deemed necessary to compensate for any injury 
to any roadway or road structure. 

321.470 Ca_rrie~ in vehicl~. Every such permit 
shall be carried m the vehicle or combination of 
yehicle~ to which it refers and shall be open to 
mspection by _any peac_e officer or authorized agent 
of any aut~or1ty grantmg such permit, and no per­
son shall v10late any of the terms or conditions of 
such special permit. 

32.1..471 . Local authorities may restrict. Local au­
t~oz:ities with respe~t to highways under their juris­
diction. may by ?rdmance or resolution prohibit the 
operation ?f _vehicles upon any_ such highway or im­
pose restrictions as to the weight of vehicles to be 
operated upon any such highway, for a total period 
of not to exceed ninety days in any one calendar 
year,. wh~never . any said highway by reason of 
deter1oration, ram, snow, or other climatic condi­
tions will be ser.iously damaged or destroyed unlesis · 
the use of vehicles thereon is prohibited or the 
permissible weights thereof reduced. 

. 321.472-Signs posted. The local authority enact­
mg any such ordinance or resolution shall erect or 
cause to .h~ erected and ~aintained signs designating 
the provisions of the ordinance or resolution at each 
end of that portion of any highway affected thereby 
and the ordinance or resolution shall not be effectiv~ 
un}ess and until such signs are erected and main­
tamed. 

321.473 L~miting trucks. Local authorities with 
respect to ~ighways under their jurisdiction may 
a_Iso, by ordmance or res~lution, _prohibit the opera­
~10n of t!u~ks . or other commercial vehicles, or may 
!mpose h1:mtat1ons as to the weight thereof, on des­
ignated high~ays, which prohibi~ions and limitations 
shall b.e designated by appropriate signs placed on 
such highways. 

321.4? 4 Highway commission may restrict. The 
state highway commission shall likewise have au­
thority as hereinabove granted to local authorities 
to determine by resolution and to impose restrictions 
as to the weight _of _ve~ic_les opera~ed upon any high­
way unde: t_he Jurisd1ct10n of . said commission and 
sue~ restrictions shall be effective when signs giving 
n_otice thereo~ are erected upon the highway or por­
tion of any highway affected by such resolution. 

• 
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321.476 Weighing vehicles by highway c?mmis­
sion. Authority is hereby given to the state hi.ghway 
commission to stop any motor vehicl~ o~ traI1er .on 
the highways for the purposes of weighmg and m­
spection, to weigh and inspect the same and to en­
force the provisions of the motor vehicle laws r~lat­
ing to the size, weight, and load of motor vehicles 
and trailers. 

Authority is also hereby granted to subject to 
weighing and inspection vehicles which have moved 
from a highway onto private property under c~rcu~­
stances which indicate that the load of the vehicle, 1f 
any, is substantially the same as _the load which the 
vehicle carried before moving onto the private prop­
erty. 

321.477 Employees as peace officers. The state 
high way commission may designate by resolutio_n 
certain of its employees upon each of whom there 1s 
hereby conferred the authority of a peace officer to 
control and direct traffic and weigh vehicles and to 
make arre ts fo r violations of the motor vehicle laws 
relating to the size, weight, and load of motor ve­
hicle and trailers. 

Any person who prevents or in any manner ob­
structs an officer attempting to carry out the provi­
sions of section 321.476 is guilty of a misdemeanor 
and shall be punished as provided in section 321.482. 

TOWING 

321.308 Towed vehicles-distance requirements. 
The driver of any motor truck, or of a motor vehicle 
drawing another vehicle, when traveling upon a 
roadway, outside of a business or residence district 
shall not follow within three hundred feet of another 
motor truck, or of a motor vehicle drawing another 
vehicle. The provisions of this section shall not be 
construed to prevent overtaking and passing nor 
shall the same apply upon any lane specially des­
ignated for use by motor trucks. 

321.309 Towing-convoys-drawbars. No person 
shall pull or tow by motor vehicle another motor 
vehicle over any highway outside the limits of any 
incorporated city er town, except in case of tempo­
rary movement for repair or other emergency, unless 
such person has complied with t_he provisions <?f 
sections 321.57 and 321.58. Provided, however, 1f 
uch per on is a nonresident of the state of Iowa and 

has complied with the laws of the state of his res­
idence governing licensing and registration as a 
transporter of motor vehicles he shall not be required 
to pay the fee provided in section 321.58 but only to 
submit proof of his status as a bona fide manu-
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facturer or transporter as may reasonably . be re­
quired by the department. 

Every person pulling or towing by motor vehicle 
another motor vehicle in convoy or caravan shall 
maintain a distance of at least five hundred feet 
between the units of said convoy or caravan. 

The drawbar or towing arm between a motor 
vehicle pulling or towing another motor vehicle shall 
be of a type approved by the commissioner. 

321.310 Four-wheel trailers behind trucks prohib~ 
ited. No truck shall after J a nuary 1, 1939, pull or 
tow any four-wheeled trailer, and no semitrailer shall 
pull or tow any additional trailer over any of the 
highways of this state, except in case of temporary 
movement for repair or emergency, and then only to 
the nearest town or city where the necessary repairs 
may be made. 

This seetion shall not be applicable to a truck oper­
ating under an "A" registration commonly known as 
a pickup truck or light delivery truck haulinO' less 
than two thousand pounds on said truck nor to a"" farm 
tractor pulling or towing a four-wheeled trailer. 

321.461 Trailers and towed vehicles. When one 
vehicle is towing another the drawbar or other con­
nection shall not exceed fifteen feet from one vehicle 
to the other except the connection between any two 
vehicles ~ransporting poles, pipes, machinery or 
other obJects of structural nature which cannot 
readily be dismembered. 

321.462 Drawbars and safety chains. When one 
vehicle is towing or pulling another vehicle the draw­
bar or other connection shall be sufficient strength 
to pull all weight towed t hereby and shall be fastened 
to the frame of the towing vehicle in such manner 
a~ to prevent_ sidesway, and in addition to such prin­
cipal connection there shall be a safety chain which 
shall be o fastened as to be capable of holding the 
towed vehicle should the principal connection for any 
reason fail. 

The connection between a truck tractor and . a 
semitrailer with a gross weight of three thousand 
pounds or more shall· be of a type approved by the 
commissioner, and the commissioner is hereby given 
authority to approve or disapprove such type of 
connection submitted to him. 

TRUCK SPEED LIMITS 

321.286 Truck speed limits. It shall be unlawful 
for the driver of a freight-carrying vehicle, with a 
gross weight of over five thousand pounds, to drive 
the same at a speed exceeding the following: 
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1. Fifty miles per hour for any frei_gh~-carrying 
vehicle which is equipped with pneumatic tires. 

2. Twenty miles per hour for any freight-carr~ing 
vehicle equipped with soli~ rubber tires, ~ .the weight 
of the vehicle and load 1s less than six tons, and 
twelve miles per hour for any freight-carrying. ve­
hicle equipped with sol_id rubber tire_s, if the weight 
of the vehicle and load 1s more than six tons. 

321-287 Bus speed limits. No . passenger-carry­
ing motor vehicle used as a common carrier, except 
school busses, shall be driven upon the highways at 
a greater rate of speed than fifty-five miies per hour 
during the day time or at a g':'eater rat~ of SJ:?eed 
than fifty miles per hour durmg the mght time. 
"Night time" means from one-half hour after sunset 
to one-half hour before sunrise, except at any other 
hour or any time when due to weather or other con­
ditions there is not sufficient light to make persons 
and vehicles clearly discernible at a distance of more 
than five hundred feet. No school bus shall be oper­
ated in violation of section 321.377. 

SPECIAL INFORMATION FOR SCHOOL BUS 
CHAUFFEURS 

321.343 Certain vehicles must stop. The driver of 
any motor vehicle carrying passengers for hire, or 
of any school bus canying any school child, or of 
any vehicle carrying explosive. substances or flam­
mable liquids as a cargo or part of a cargo, ~efore 
crossing at grade any track or tracks of a railroad, 
shall stop such vehicle within fifty feet but not less 
than ten feet from the nearest rail of such railroad 
and while so stopped shall listen and look in b~th 
directions along such track for any approachmg 
train, and for signals indicating the approach of a 
train, except as hereinafter provided, and shall not 
proceed until he can do so safely. 

No stop need be made at any such crossing where 
a police officer or a traffic-control signal directs traffic 
to proceed. 

This section shall not apply at street railway grade 
crossings within a business or residence district. 

321.373 Required construction. Every school bus 
except private passenger vehicles used as school 
buses shall be construed and equipped to meet the 
following standards: 

1. All structural parts of the school bus body 
shall be all steel, or of other metal with a strength 
equivalent to all steel, as certified by bus body manu­
factUI"ers. Suitable insulation materials shall be 
m;;ed. The bus body shall be of sufficient strength 
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to support the entire weight of a fully loaded bus 
on its top or side if overturned. . 

2. The body shall be painted national school bus 
chrome. 

3. There shall be but one compartment with seats 
arranged on each side of the bus body with an aisle 
at lea~t twelve (12) inches wide between said seats. 
The aisle shall not be blocked by placing seats or 
other o~structions t~erein, nor shall any seat or 
obstruct10n be permitted at any time across the 
emergency exit. 

_4. A service door at least twenty-four (24) inches 
wide and forty-eight ( 48) inches high the lower and 
upper panels of which shall be comp'osed of safety 
glass, !'hall be placed on the front right side, opposite 
the driver. 

5. The front door or doors shall be under the con­
trol of, and operated by the driver. 

6. There shall be an emergency door in the center 
of th~ rear e~d of the body, at least twenty-four 
(24). mches. wide and_ forty-eight (48) inches high 
provided with an easily operated safety catch not 
con~rolled from the driver's seat, but protected from 
accidental release. The emergency door in pusher 
and transit type school busses shall be· located as 
provided in the "standards of construction" estab­
lished for such vehicles. 

7. There shall be ample windows on each side. 
8. There shall be ample roof ventilators. 
9. It shall be equipped with an approved fresh 

air, h<;>t water or combustion type heater of sufficient 
capacity to adequately heat the bus. 

~O. There shall be a comfortable seat for each 
child. 

11. The fuel tank shall be located, filled drained 
and vented . outside the bus body. ' 

12. Bumpers on both front and rear shall be 
fastened directly to the chassis. 
. 13. Each bus shall carry the words "School Bus" 
m black letters at least eight (8) inches high on 
front of the bus above the windshield and rear of 
bus above the windows or emergency door. 
. 14. Each school bus shall be equipped with a stop 

signal arm at least twenty (20) inches long mounted 
on the left side of bus. The sign shall have the 
word "stop" printed on both sides in black letters at 
least five ( 5) inches high on national school bu~ 
chrome background. 

15. All school buses shall be equipped with four 
( 1>. flashing stop warning signal lights with a 
v.1s1ble !ens area of not less than twenty-eight (28) 
square mches and of sufficient intensity to be visible 
at le~st fiye hundred ( 5~0) feet in bright sunlight. 
1he light m front shall display an amber light. The 
hghts on the rear shal1 display a red light. The 
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two (2) amber flashing stop warning lights shall be 
mounted on the front of the bus body with the center 
line of the lamps not less than two ( 2) feet to the 
right or left of the center line of the bus and above 
the top line of the windshield. The two (2) red 
flashing stop warning lights shall be mounted on 
the rear of the bus body with the center line of the 
lamps not less than two (2) feet to the right or left 
of the center line of the bus above the top line of 
the r ear windows or emergency door. The top of 
the flashing stop warning lights shall be kept below 
the top lin of the bus roof. The lights shall be 
actuated manually with a switch mounted on the 
steering column. 

16. A vehicle designed as a passenger car and any 
ot her vehicle designed to haul eight (8) pupils or 
less when being used as a school bus shall be 
equipped with a sign bearing the words "School 
Bus" in at least six (6) inch black letters on national 
school bu chrome background and shall meet only 
such other requirements of this section and of estab­
lished standards for construction as are deemed nec­
essary by the superintendent of public instruction. 

17. Vehicles owned by private parties, used as 
school buses, must reverse or cover the words 
"School Bus" when vehicle is not in use as a school 
bus and flashing stop warning signals shall be used 
only as provided in section 321.372. 

321.374 Approval and inspection of school buses. 
No vehicle shall be put into service as a school bus 
until it is given an original inspection to determine 
if it meets all legal and established uniform stand­
ards of con truction for the protection of the health 
and safety of children to be transported. Vehicles 
which are approved shaH be issued a seal of ap­
proval by the superintendent of public instniction. 
All vehicles used as school buses shall be given a 
safety inspection at least once a year. Buses pass­
ing the inspection shall be issued an inspection seal 
of approval by the superintendent of public instruc­
tion. The seal of original inspection and the annual 
seal of in pection shalJ be affixed to the lower right 
hand corner of the windshield. 

321.375 Drivers. 'I'he drivers of school buses 
must: be at 1 ast sixteen years of age, be physically 
and mentally competent, not possess personal or 
moral habit which would be det rimental to the best 
interests of afety and welfare of the children trans­
ported, have an annual physical examination and 
meet all established requirements for physical fit­
ness. 
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Use of alcoholic beverages or immoral conduct on 
the part of the. driver sha ll automatically cancel his 
cont r act and his re-employment for the balance of 
the year is hereby prohibited. 

321.376 License and permit. The driver of every 
s_chool h:iis shall have a regular or special chauffeur's 
hcense issued by the department of public safety 
and in addition thereto, must hold a school bu~ 
driver's permit issued by the department of publir 
instruction. 

Notwithstanding the provision of subsection two 
(2) of sect ion three hundred twenty-one point one 
hun4red eventy-seven ( 321.177), t he department of 
public safety is hereby authorized to issue a special 
chauffeur's license to a person sixteen years of age 
to operate a school bus on request of local school 
board and recommendation of the state superin­
tendent of public instruction. 

321.377 Speed. No motor vehicle in use as a 
sc~ool bus sh::111 be operated at a speed in excess of 
th1r~y-five mile~ per hour. Any violation of this 
section, by a dnver, shall be deemed sufficient cause 
for canceling his contract. 

321.378 Applicability. The provisions of sections 
321.372 to 321.380, inclusive, shall apply to any and 
all types of school districts where children are trans­
ported to and from public schools. 

321.379 Violations. No school board, individual 
or organization shall purchase, construct or contract 
for use, to tn_rnsport pupils to or from' school, any 
school bus wh1ch does not comply with the minimum 
requirements of section 321.373 and any individual, 
O! any member o_r officer of such board or organiza­
tion who authorizes the purchase, constniction, or 
co_n~ract for an_y such bus not complying with these 
m1mmum reqmrements shall be guilty of a mis­
demeanor punishable as provided in section 321.482. 

321.380 Enforcement. It shall be the duty of all 
peace officers and of the highway safety patrol to 
~nfor~e the provisions of sections 321.372 to 321.379, 
mclus1ve. 
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WORDS AND PHRASES DEFINED 

321 1 Definitions of words and phrases. The fol­
lowing words and phrases when used in this chapter 
shall for the purpose of this chapter, have the mean­
ings 'respectively ascribed to them. 

1. "Vehicle" means every device in, upon, or by 
which any person or prop~rty is or ma~ be tr~ns­
ported or drawn upon a highway, excepti_ng devices 
moved by human power or used exclusively upon 
stationary rails or tracks. 

2. "Motor vehicle" means every vehicle whieh is 
self-propelled but not including vehicles known ~s 
trackless trolleys which are propelled by electric 
power obtained from overhead trolley wires, but not 
operated upon rails. The term "car" or "automobile" 
shall be synonymous with the term "motor vehicle." 

3. "Motorcycle'' means every mot~r vehicle h~ving 
a saddle or seat for the use of the rider and designed 
to travel on not more than three wheels in contact 
with the ground including a motor s~ooter and a 
bicycle with motor attached, but excludmg a t ractor. 

4. "Motor truck" means every motor vehicle ~e­
signed primarily for cal'rying livestock, merchandise, 
freight of any kind, or over seven persons as pas­
sengers. 

5. "Light delivery truck, pa_nel del~very truck or 
pickup" means any _motor vehicle. designed to carry 
merchandise or freight of any ku1.d, not to exceed 
two thousand pounds. 

6. "Truck tractor" means every motor vehicle. de­
signed and used primarily for drawing other vehicles 
and not so constructed as to carry a load other than 
a part of the weight of the vehicle and load so drawn. 

9. "Trailer" means every vehicle without motive 
power designed for carrying person~ or property and 
for being drawn by a motor vehicle and so con­
structed that no part of its weight rests upon the 
towing vehicle. 

10. "Semitrailer" means every vehicle without 
motive power designed for carrying perSOJ?-S or prop­
erty and for being drawn by a motor vehicle and so 
constructed that some part of its weight and t ba~ of 
its load rests upon or is carried by another vehicle. 

Wherever the word "trailer" is used in this chap­
ter, same shall be construed to also include "semi­
trailer." 

A "semitrailer" shall be considered in this chapter 
separately from its power unit. 

11. "Trailer coach" means either a trailer or semi­
trailer designed for carrying persons. 

12. "Specially cons~ructed vehic~e" means every 
vehicle of a type required to be registered hereunder 
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not originally constructed' under a distinctive name, 
make, model, or type by a generally recognized man­
ufacturer of vehicles and not materially altered from 
its original construction. 

13. "Reconstructed vehicle" means every vehicle 
of a type required to be registered hereunder ma­
terially altered from its original construction by the 
removal, addition, or substitution of essential parts, 
new or used. 

15. "Foreign vehicle" means every vehicle of a 
type required t o be registered hereunder brought into 
this state from another state, territory, or country 
other than in the ordinary course of business by or 
through a manufacturer or dealer and not registered 
in this state. 

17. "Special mobile equipment" means every ve­
hicle not designed or used primarily for the trans­
portation of persons or property and incidentally 
operated or moved over the highways, including road 
construction or maintenance machinery and ditch­
digging apparatus. The foregoing enumeration 'shall 
be deemed partial and shall not operate to exclude 
other such vehicles which are within the general 
terms of this paragraph; provided that nothing con­
tained in this section shall be construed to include 
portable mills or cornshellers mounted upon a motor 
vehicle or semitrailer. . 

18. "Pneumatic tire" means every tire in which 
compressed air is designed to support the load. 

19. "Solid tire" means every tire of rubber or 
other resilient material which does not depend upon 
compressed air for the support of the load. 

23. "Combination" or "combination of vehicles'' 
shall be construed to mean a group consisting of two 
or more motor vehicles, or a group consisting of a 
motor vehicle and one or more trailers, semit railers 
or vehicles, which are coupled or fastened together 
for the purpose of being moved on the highways as 
a unit. 

24. "Gross weight" shall mean the empty weight 
of a vehicle plus the maximum load to be carried 
thereon. The maximum load to be carried by a 
passenger-carrying vehicle shall be determined by 
multiplying one hundred fifty pounds by the number 
of passenger seats carried by such vehicle. 

25. "Combined gross weight" shall mean the gross 
weight of a motor vehicle plus the gross weight of a 
trailer or semitrailer to be drawn thereby. 

26. ' 'Authorized emergency vehicle" means ve­
hicles of the fire department, police vehicles, am­
bulances and emergency vehicles owned by the 
United States, this state or any subdivision of this 
state, or any municipality therein, and such privately 
owned ambulances, rescue or disaster vehicles as are 
designated or authorized by the commissioner. 
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27. "School bus" means <!Very vehicle operated for 
the transportation of children to or from school, ex­
cept privately owned vehicles, not operated for com­
pensation, or used exclusively in the transportation 
of the children in the immediate family of the driver. 

30. "Streetcar" means a car other than a railroad 
train for transporting persons or property and oper­
ated upon rail principally within a municipality. 

31. "Explosives" means any chemical compound 
or mech nical mixture that is commonly used or 
intended for the purpose of producing an explosion 
and which contains any oxidizing and combustive 
units or other ingredients in such proportions, quan­
tities, or packing that on ignition by fire, by friction, 
by concussion, by percussion, or by detonator of any 
part of the compound or mixture may cause such a 
sudd n generation of highly heated gases that the 
resultant gaseous pressures are capable of producing 
destructible effects on contiguous objects or of de­
stroying life or limb. 

32. "Flammable liquid" means any liquid which 
has a flash point of seventy degrees F. or less, as 
determined by a tagliabue or equivalent closed cup 
test device. 

33. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of 
public safety of the state. 

34. "Department" means the motor vehicle de­
partment under the commissioner of public safety. 

36. "Owner" means a person who bolds the legal 
title of a vehicle or in the event a vehicle is the 
subject of an agreement for the conditional sale or 
lease thereof ith the right of purchase upon per­
formance of the conditi ons stated in the agreement 
and with an immediate right of possession vested in 
the conditional vendee or lessee or in the event a 
mortgagor of a vehicle is entitled to possession, then 
such conditional vendee or lessee or mortgagor shall 
be deemed the owner for the purpose of this chapter. 

37. "Nonre ident" means every person who is not 
a resident of this state. 

42. "Operator" means every person, other than a 
chauffeur, who is in actual physical control of a 
motor vehicle upon a highway. 

43. "Chauffeur" means any person who operates 
a motor vehicle in the transportation of persons or 
freight, including school buses, and who receives 
any compensation for such service in wages, com­
mi ion or otherwise, paid directly or indirectly, or 
who as owner or employee operates a motor vehicle 
carrying passengers for bire or freigh t for hire, com­
mission or resale, including drivers of ambulances, 
passenger cars, trucks, light delivery, and similar 
conveyances except when such operation by the 
owner or operator is occasional and merely incidental 
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to his principal bu ine s. Subject to the provisions 
of section 321.179, a farmer or his hired help shall 
not be deem~d a chauff ur, when operating a truck 
o'Ylled by h1m, and used exclusively in connection 
with the transportation of his own products or prop­
erty. 

44. "Driver" means every person who drives or is 
in actual physical control of a vehicle. 

45_. "Peace officer" means every officer authorized · 
t? dir_ect or regulate traffic or to make arrests for 
violations of traffic regulations in addit ion to its 
meaning in section 7 48.3. 
. ~6. "Local authorities" mean every county, mu­

mc1~al, and other local board or body having au­
thority to adopt local police regulations under the 
constitution and laws of this state. 

47. "Pedestrian" means any person afoot. 
48. "Street or highway" means the entire width 

between property lines of every way or place of 
whatever nature when any part thereof is open to 
the use of the public, as a matter of right, for pur­
poses of vehicular traffic. 

49. "P:ivat~ road or driv:eway" means every way 
or place m private ownership and used for vehicular 
travel by the owner and those having express or 
implied permission from the owner but not by other 
persons. 
. 50. "Roadw~y'' means t~at :portion of a highway 
improved, designed, or ordmarily used for vehicular 
travel. 

51t "Sidewalk" means that portion of a street 
between the curb lines, or the 1 teral lines of a 
roadway, and the adjacent property lines intended 
for the use of pedestrians. 

52. "Laned highway" means a highway the road­
way of which is divided into three or more clearly 
marked lane for vehicular traffic. 
. 53. "Through . ( or thru) highway" means every 

h1g~way or portion thereof at the entrances to which 
ve~1cular traffic from intersecting highways is re­
qmred by law to stop before entering or crossing the 
~ame. and when stop signs are erected as provided 
m th~s chapter or such entranc s are controlled by 
a poh~e officer or traffic-control ignal. The term 
"arterial" shall be synonymous with "through" or 
"thru" when applied to highways of this state. 
. 54. "Intersecti_on" means the area embraced with-
1!1 the pro_longation or connection of the lateral curb 
Imes, or, 1f none, then the lateral boundary lines of 
the roadways of two highways which join one an­
other ~t, ~r app~oxim~tely at, right angles, or the 
a~ea w1th11:1 :V?ICh vehicles traveling upon different 
highways Jo1mng at any other angle may come i• 
conflict. 
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66. "Crosswalk" means that portion of. a roadwai 
ordinarily included wit_hin the :prolongation. or con­
nection of the lateral Imes of sidewalks at mtersec-
tions, or, . 

Any portion of a roadway distinctly ind1c~ted for 
pedestrian crossing by lines or other markmgs on 
the surf ace. 

66. "Safety zone" means the area or space !)1· 
ficially set apart within a roadway for t}:le exclusive 
use of pedestrians and which i~ protected or .so 
marked or indicated by adequate signs as to be plain­
ly visible at all times while set apart as a safety 
zone . . 

67. "Business district" means the territory con-
tiguous to and including a highway when fifty per­
cent or more of the frontage thereon for a distance 
of three hundred feet or more is occupied by build­
ings in use for business. 

58. "Residence district" means the territory with­
in a city or town contiguous to and including a high­
way, not comprising a business, suburban or school 
district, where for ty percent or more of the frontage 
on such highway for a distance of three hundred teet 
or more is occupied by dwellings or by dwellmgs 
and buildings in use for business. 

59. "School district" means the territory con- · 
tiguous to and including a highway for a distance 
of two hundred feet in either direction from a school­
house in a city or town. 

60. "Suburban district" means all other parts of 
a city or town not included in the business, school 
or residence districts. 

61. The linear measure of the plot of ground ~por1 
which the building is located abuttin~ upon the h1ih• 
way shall be deemed "frontage occupied by the build­
ing" and the phrase ."frontage on such highway for 
a di;tance of three hundred feet or more" shall mean 
the total frontage on both sides of the highway for 
such distance. 

62. "Official traffic control devices" means all 
signs, signals, markings, and devices not incons~stent 
with this chapter placed or erected by authority of 
a public body or official having jurisdiction, for the 
purpose of regulating, warning, or guiding traffic. 

63. "Official traffic control signal" means any de­
vice whether manually, electrically or mechanically 
ope;ated, by which traffic is alternately directed t o 
stop and to proceed. . 

64. "Railroad sign or signal" means any s1g~, 
signal, or device erected. by author:ity of a pu~hc 
body or official or by a railroad and mtended to give 
notice of the presence of railroad tracks or the ap­
proach of a railroad train. 

66. "'I'raffic" means pedestrians, ridden or herded 
animals, vehicles, streetcars, and other conveyances 
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either singly or together while using any highway 
for purposes · of travel. · 

66. "Right of way'' means the privilege of the im­
mediate use of the highway. 

67. "Alley" means a thoroughfare laid out, estab­
lished and platted as such, by constituted authority . 

68. "Used motor vehicle" or "second-hand motor 
vehicle" means any motor vehicle of a type subject 
to registration under the laws of this state, which ha 
been previously registered or for which a certificate 
of title has been issued in this or any other state. 

WHAT EVERY DRIVER SHOULD KNOW 
The relation of vision to driving. 
How general health and disabilities affect driving. 
The proper position at the wheel. 
How to read and interpret the gauges. 
The proper steps in starting the motor. 
The proper steps in starting the car. 
The smoothest method of steering. 
How to control attention and anticipate traffic 

conditions. 
The meaning of regulatory and warning signs. 
The importance of operating a r oadworthy ma­

chine. 
That road courtesy is displayed by yielding the 

right of way. 
The meaning of "right of way." 
The proper use of signals. 
The importance of driving in the proper lanes. 
The proper approach to an intersection. 
How to adapt speeds to hills and curves. 
The proper ways to cope with adverse weather 

conditions, darkness, and road surfaces. 
The best method of backing. 
How to start on an upgrade. 
The proper use of the brake. 
Methods of checking the cooling system. 
The proper lubrication. 
How proper care of the car prevents trouble. 

INCIDENTAL INFORMATION FOR DRIVERS 
AND CHAUFFEURS 

1. Examinations will be held under the direction 
of the Commissioner of the Department of Public 
Safety, and will be given by uniformed members of 
the Department. 

2. ALL APPLICANTS WHO ARE NOT LI­
CENSED AS OPERATORS ARE REQUIRED TO 
HA VE SOME PERSON WHO HOLDS A VALID 
OPERATOR'S LICENSE DRIVE THE MOTOR 
VEHICLE IN WHICH THEY EXPECT TO TAKE 
THEIR DRIVING TEST TO THE POINT OF EX­
AMINATION. Any person who holds a license in his 
possession issued outside of the State of Iowa and 
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whose license is valid in every respect is not required 
to have an Iowa licensed driver to drive his car to 
the point of examination. No applicant under the 
age of 18 years will be issued a license unless accom­
p nied by both parent s t o the place of examination, 
or unles the applicant submits the pa ent's signa­
ture affidavit filled out on the form provided by this 
office or the examiners . The affidavit must be made 
out in the presence of a notary public or justice of 
the peace. LICENSES OF PARENTS OR GUARD­
IAN MAY BE SUSPENDED FOR GIV ING IN­
CORRECT INFORMATION AS TO THE AGE OF 
THEIR CHILD OR w ARD. I 

3. No examinat ion will be given in any motor 
.-ehicle whether owned by the applicant or not, un­
less said vehicle is equipped with adequate brakes, 
lights, muffler, horn, rear vision mirror, r egistration 
plates, and registration certificate and is in good 
roadworthy condition. Any person appearing for an 
examination in a motor vehicle, which displays regis­
tration plates not issued by the State of Iowa will 
be required to obtain Iowa 1·egistration plates before 

· a driver's license is issued, if such vehicle is subject 
to reg istration in the State of Iowa. All applicants 
afflicted with physical impairments that may have 
an effect on the operation of their mot or vehicles 
may be required to insta ll satisfactory mechanical 
devices on the motor vehicle they operate before 
being granted a license to drive. 

4. The examination will consist of a practical test 
to de termine the applicant's ability to operate a 
motor vehicle safely and properly, and a written test 
to determine his knowledge of the Iowa Motor Ve­
hicle laws and rules and regulations of the highways, 
and a vision test to determine whether the applicant 
has adequate vision. Applicant shall be able to read 
and understand highway r egulator y, warning, and 
direct ion sign . The driver's examiner will not a t­
t mpt to confuse driver's license applicants by giving 
improper directions when giving the actual driving 
test. 

5. Applicant s failing to pass the dr iving or law 
test examinat ion will not be permitted a second ex­
amination on that same day. 

6. An Instruction P ermit will be issued by exam­
iners to any per son wishing t o learn t o drive after 
the applicant has passed required vision and written. 
examinations, including those who fa il t he actual 
driving test. Instruction permit holders will be re­
quired to wait at least two weeks from the date of 
the issuance of the instruction permit before ap~ 
pearing for the astual driving test. 

7. Examination hours are 8 :00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 
daily, except Sundays, holidays, and Saturday after--
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noons_ w~ere the C?urthouse or other places where 
exammations a re given are closed to the public. 

8. The <:hauffeur's examination consists of the gen­
eral questions of the law of the road and also special 
chauffeur's questions pertaining to truck laws. 
Ch~uff eurs taking driving tests in a passenger car, 
ta~1cab, or mot orcycle and scooter delivery, may 
dnve that type of ca r only as a chauffeur. This re­
st~·iction will not _be p~a~ed on the license if the a p­
plicant passes his dr1vmg test while operating a 
motor vehicle registered as a truck. 

Note: Examinations will be held at the courthouse 
or city hall in county seats and for information con­
cerning the exact location of the examiner's office in 
cities or towns other than the county seat we r efer 
you to the Police Department of your city. 

The questions used in the written test are based 
upon C~apter 321, Code of 1950. A copy of the Mo­
tor Vehicle Laws and Safety Regulations from which 
the questions are taken, may be secured 'at any sher­
iff_'s ~ffice, police station, or by writing to the Com­
m1ss10ner of The Department of Public Safety State 
House, Des Moines , Iowa. ' 

Under no circumstances will any examinations be 
give_n on the following dates: New Year's Day; Me­
morial J?a_y; July 4; Labor Day; Armistice Day; 
Thanksg1vmg Day; and Christmas. 

SAMPLE EXAMINATION QUESTIONS 

Following is_ a list o~ questions_ which you may 
expect to fi_nd m the writte~ exammation when you 
apply for either an operators or chauffeur's license. 
l!1 order to supply the correct answers to the ques­
tions you must be familiar with the information con­
tained in the Iowa Driver's Guide. No reference is 
made to the correct answers, but you are ref erred to 
~he page_ number o~ the Driver's Guide for general 
mformat10n concernmg the question asked. 

Operators 

Must an applicant apply for, and obtain an in­
struction permit before learning how to drive? Pages 
9 and 11. 

Is a person under the age of 16 ye!trs eligible to 
obtain a regular operator's license? Page 13. 

May an applicant who is under the age of 17 years 
obtain a chauffeur's license? Pag~s 13 and 84. 

M~y ~ny person _oper!-'1-te. a mot?r vehicle upon the 
pubhc highway while his license 1s under suspension 
or revocation? Page 22. 

Is a lie nse issued to any person who is an habitual 
drunkard or addicted to the use of narcotic drugs? 
Page 13. 
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Can a license be issued to any person who is 
afflicted with any mental disability or disease? Page 
14. 

May a license be issued to any person when the 
Commissioner has good reason to believe the person 
is mentally or physically unable to operate a motor 
vehicle on our highways in a safe manner? Page 14. 

Are there any circumstances under which persons 
may be exempted from obtaining a license? Page 10. 

Who is entitled to apply for a license to drive to 
and from school? Page 15. 

Is a driver's license issued to a person as a priv­
ilege, or a citizen's right? Page 9. 

May the Department refuse to grant a license? 
Pages 13, 17, and 21. 

Are there any conditions under which a license 
can be cancelled? Page 17. 

Are there any conditions under which a license of 
a r esident of Iowa may be suspended or revoked, if 
he is convicted of a violation of the motor vehicle 
laws in some other state? P age 20. · 

Are there any reasons for which, if a conviction 
becomes final, an pperator's or chauffeur's license 
may be revoked?· Page 22. 

Are there any reasons for which an operator's or 
chauffeur's license may be suspended? Pages 16, 
20. 

If a license is placed under suspension, may a per­
son ask for a hearing? Page 21. 

For w► <\t maxi mum length of time may a license 
be suspenJed? Page 21. 

A period of revoca tion is for what length of time? 
Page 21. (But see pages 22 and 31.) 

What is the penalty for driving while your license 
is under suspension, revocation, or has been denied? 
Page 23. 

Are drivers of vehicles or motormen of streetcars 
required to observe traffic control devices? Page 25. 

Many automatically controlled traffic devices use 
three words in controlling the movement of t raffic ; 
what are they ? Page 26. 

What three colors are used in automatically con­
trolled tra ffi c devices. Page 26. 

Are pedestrians required to observe automatically 
controlled traffic devices? Page 40. 

What are you required to do when approaching 
a traffic signal device while it is flashing a red light? 
Page 26. 

What are you required to do when you approach an 
automatically controlled traffic device flashing a yel­
low or amber light? Page 27. 

What is a driver required to do when involved in 
an accident which results in personal injury or 
death? P age 27. 

What a re the requirements as t o the report of an 
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accident where only property damage results·'! Page 
27. 

Does the law require drivers of vehicles involved 
in accidents to exchange their names, addresses and 
registration num hers, as well as driver's or chauf­
feur's license numbers without being required to do 
so by Peace Officers ? Page 27. 

In case of an accident where a driver strikes an­
other vehicle which is unattended, what is the driver 
who caused the accident required to do? Page 28. 

Does the law require an official report from the 
driver of any vehicle involved in an accident? Pages 
28 and 29. 

To whom do you report an accident if it occurs 
within the corporate limits of any city of the first 
class? Page 29. 

If occurring elsewhere, to whom must it be re­
ported ? Page 28. 

What is the penalty if convicted for the offense of 
operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated on a: 

A. First conviction? Page 30. 
B. Second conviction? Page 30. 
C. Third conviction? Page 30. 
What is the definition of reckless driving? Page 

31. 
What is the minimum and maximum penalty for a 

conviction of reckless driving? Page 31. 
What minimum and maximum penalty is provided 

for under the definition of misdemeanor? Page 60. 
What is the minimum and maximum penalty pro­

vided for persons convicted of an offense defined 
as a felony? Page 60. 

What is meant by the term "speed restriction" T 
Page 32. 

What are the lawful speed limits in a: 
A. Business. district? Page 32. 
B. School district? Page 32. 
C. Residential district? Page 32. 
What is the maximum speed limit for any motor 

vehicle drawing another vehicle? Page 32. 
What is the maximum speed on the open highway T 

Page 32. 
Are there any circumstances under which a person 

may be convicted for operating his motor vehicle 
at too slow a speed on our highways? Page 33. 

Under what four conditions does the law require 
you to r educe your speed to a reasonable and proper 
rate? Page 32. 

What does the law state that motorists shall do 
when meeting another vehicle upon the highway? 
Page 33. 

What are the rules that apply when one vehicle i■ 
passing another? Pages 33, 34 and 35. 
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Under what conditions is a person prohibited from 
passing another vehicle? Page 35. 

What are the rules governing right and left tm·ns 
at intersections ? Page 36. 

What are the three rules to observe when starting 
a vehicle from a standing or parked position at the 
curb? Page 37. 

At what minimum distance must a hand signal be 
given continuously before making a turn to the right 
or left? Page 38. 

When two vehicles are approaching an intersection 
so that their paths in ersect and there is danger of 
a collision, which vehicle shall have the right of way? 
Pages 38, 39, 44. 

What are the stop sign requirements? Pages 25, 
26, and 39. 

What does the law 1·equire you to do upon the ap­
proach of an emergency vehicle? Page 40. 

What i the rule in using the streets upon which 
streetcars are operating? Pages 42 and 43. 

What is the rule in overtaking a school bus which 
has stopped to unload or load passengers? Pages 
45, 49 and 50. 

What requirements does the law set out as to the 
stopping and parking of your car on a highway out­
side of a business or residential district? Page 45. 

There a r e at least 13 rules govern-ing the parking 
of .your automobile; can you name them? Pages 
46 and 47. 

How much space is reserved in front of hotels, 
theatres, auditoriums, and other public buildings 
wherein the law will not permit a vehicle to be 
parked? Page 4 7. 

In what po-sition must your car be parked to the 
curb to comply with the statute? Page 47. 

What is the exception? Page 4 7. 
Does t he law permit a vehicle to be parked and 

unattended while t he motor is running? Page 47. 
What does the law require you to do when parking 

your car on a grade or a hill? Page 4 .... 
What is the maximum number of persons that may 

occupy the front seat of a vehicle? Page 47. 
Does the law permit one to disengage his clutch 

in order to coast down a hill? Page 48. · 
What does the law state as to following a fire ap­

paratus in response to a fire alarm? Page 48. 
What does the law prescribe as being the proper 

time for headlights to be lighted on a vehicle? Page 
50. 

What is the minimum number of headlights one 
may have installed on the front of a vehicle? Page 
51. 

"\-Yhat lighting equipment does the law 1·equire as 
equipment on the rear of every motor vehicle? 
Page 51. 
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What lights are required on a vehicle which ii 
parked or stopped on the 1·oadway or shoulder ad­
jacent thereto? Page 52. 

Are animal drawn vehicles required to display 
lights if on the highway after sundown? Page 52. 

Are you required to dim your lights when meeting 
an approaching vehicle? Page 54. 

Does the law permit the use of a red light on the 
front of a vehicle? Page 55. 

What does the law state as to brake equipment 
and its performance ability? Pages 56, 57 and 58. 

Does the law require every motor vehicle to be 
equipped with a horn, or warning device mirror 
windshield wiper and safety glass? Pages 58 and 59'. 

Does the law require that an operator must have 
hi~ license in his possession at all times when oper­
atmg a motor vehicle on the public highways T 
Page 11. 

Does the law require a signal lamp or device on 
every vehicle so constructed and located as to give 
warning of the driver's intention to stop ? Page 53. 

What two colors of lights may be shown by a 
stop light? Page 53. 

May a passenger vehicle be loaded so that the load -
extends beyond the line of the fenders on the left. 
hand side? Page 50. 

How many inches beyond the running board or 
fender may the load extend on the right-hand side 
of a passenger vehicle? Page 50. 

Chauffeurs 

If a person is licen ed as a chauffeur is he also 
required to .obtain an opera tor's license? 'Page 62. 

May a chauffeur under the age of twenty-one oper­
ate a motor vehicle or truck which transports flam­
mables or combustibles, or a common carrier of per­
sons? Page 62. 

Can a license be issued to any person over the 
age of 16 years to operate a panel delivery truck or 
pickup? Page 13. 

What reflector equipment is required on every 
truck, regardless of the width or length? Page 64. 
(See illustration on page 63.) 

What additional equipment is required if a truck 
!s 80 inches or mo-re in width, and if 30 feet or less 
m over-all length? Page 64. (See illustration on 
page 64.) 

Is additional equipment required if the vehicle is 
more than 30 feet in over-all length? Pages 64 and 
65. (See illustration on page 65.) 

What lighting equipment is required ou every 
truck tractor? Page 65. 
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What lighting equipment is required on every 
trailer or semitrailer? Page 65. ( See illustration on 
page 66.) 

What minimum and maximum distance from Orn 
ground must a reflector be placed on a vehicle? 
Page 67. 

What color of r efl ector or lights may be installed 
on the front of a motor truck or trailer ? Page 67. 

What color may be mounted on the rear of a motor 
truck or trailer? Page 67. 

Can clearance lamps be mounted on any removable 
part of a truck, body or cab? P age 67. 

Are clearance lamps t o be mounted so as to show 
the extreme width of the vehicle load? Page 67. 

If any part of the motor vehicle extends four feet 
or more beyond the bed of the body, does t he law 
provide for additional lighting or warning equip­
ment? Page 68. 

At what times does t he law require the operator 
of a t r uck to carry kerosene flares or other types 
as may be require_d by law ? Page 68. 

At what minimum distance from the front and 
rear of a truck must a flare be placed when being 
used as a wa rning device? Page 69. ( See illustra­
tion on page 70.) 

Does the law r equire that one flare be placed 
directly along the side of a vehicle which is parked 
Of' stopped? Page 69. 

What ca rgo when transported on the highway re­
quires that the truck be equipped with at least two 
fire extinguisher s? Page 71. 

If for any reason a motor truck stops immediately 
upon or adjacent to the highway, what does the law 
require the operator t o do before flares are proper ly 
placed? Page 69. 

If a truck is stopped within 300 feet of a curve or 
cr est of a hill, how should the flar es be placed ? 
Page 69. 

What type of flare is to be used with trucks trans­
porting :flammable liquids, gases or explosives ? 
Page 70. 

What type of warning signal is required during 
daylight hours? Page 69. 

What maximum width truck is allowed to operate 
upon highways? Page 71. 

What maximum height vehicle is permitted to 
operate upon the highways ? Page 71. 

With the exception of fire fighting apparatus, 
what maximum length vehicle is permit ted to oper­
ate on the highway? Single unit ? Combination of 
vehicles ? Pages 71 and 72. 
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How far beyond the front wheels of a vehicle may 
the load extend? Page 73. 

How many inches of space are required between 
the center of the axles when the truck is equipped 
with dual axles? Page 73. 

What does the law require as to drawbars and 
safety chains wher e. one vehicle is towing or pulling 
another vehicle? Page 81. 

What is the maxim um load in tons permitted to 
rest on any one axle if equipped with pneumatic 
tires? If equipped with solid rubber? Page 78. 

Is any Peace Officer authorized to stop and weigh 
a truck if he has reason to believe the load carried 
is of an unlawful weight? Page 80. 

Whose permission must the owner or operator of 
a vehicle obtain before moving a vehicle over our 
hiihways, which is over-length, over-width, over­
height or overweight? Page 77. 

How many feet of space must there be between 
trucks or combinations of vehicles when they are 
traveling on highways and JlOing in the same direc­
tion? What is the exception l Page 81. 

Can a truck pull or tow any additional four-wheel 
trailer? Pages 80 and 81. 

What is the maximum speed limit of a truck where 
the gross weight is over 5,000 pounds? Pages 81 and 
82. 

School Bus Chauffeurs 

Does the law require the operator of a school bus 
carrying school children to stop before crossing a 
railroad track? Page 82. 

There are at least 17 regulations concerning school 
bus equipment. What are they? Pages 82 to 84. 

At what minimum age may an operator be licensed 
as a chauffeur to transport school children to and 
from school only? Page 84. 

Under what conditions must school bus drivers be 
hired? Page 85. 

Who must give school bus chauffeurs written per­
mission to operate a school bus? Page 85. 

What is the maximum speed permitted drivers of 
school buses? Page 86. 

See pages 86 to 91 for defl■ltlons of worcl1 a■d 
pllra1H Heel. 
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AUTOMOBILE SE'RIAL NUMBERS OF. IOWA 
COUNTIES 

Nonresident plates are purchased from the motor 
vehicle registration division of the department of 
public safety . Resident plates are purchased from 
the county treasurer of the county in which the 
owner of the vehicle resides. · 

No . County County Seat No. County County Seat 
r,o- Nonreslde·nt . .. . State House 50-Ja.sper . .... .. .. . Newton 

I- Adair .... . .... . Greenfield 51-J&ffet"son .. . ... .. F airfield 
2-Adams . . ..... . . . Coming 5 2-Joh nson ..... .. . Iowa Oity 
3- Allamakee . . ..... Waukon 5 3-Jon~ .......... Anamosa 
4- Appanoose . . . . . Centerville 54-Keokuk . .... ... Sigourney 
:'i- Audubon ..... . .. Audubon ii 5-K ossuth ... . ...... Algona 
fl- Ben ton .. . .... . ... Vinton ii 6-Lee .. .. . . .. F ort Madison 
7- Black Hawk ... .. Waterloo 57-Llnn . . ..... . Cedar Rapids 
8-Boo•ne ... .. . . ... .. Boone 5 8-Loulsa ... . .... .. Wapello 
9- Bremer . ........ Waverly 50- Lucas . .. ... . . .. Ohariton 

10-Buchanan ... Independence 60-Lyon . ...... . Rock Rapids 
11-Buena Vista ... Storm Lake 61- Madlson . .. . .. . Winterset 
1 2- Butler .. . ....... . Allison 62-Mahaska .. ... . . Oskaloosa 
1 3-Calhoun .... Rock well City Ga- Marlon . .... . . . Knoxville 
J 4- Carro-11 .... . ... .. Carroll 64-Marshall . . . . Marshalltown 
15- Cass ... . .... . .. Atlantic 65-Mllls ........ . . Glenwood 
1 <i - Cedar . .. . .... .. .. Tipton 66- Mltchell .. . ..... . • Osage 
l 7- Cerro Gordo . .. Mason City 67-Monona ...... .. . . Onawa 
l 8- Cherokee .... . ... Cherokee 68-Monroe . . .... . . .. . Albia 
l !l- Chlckasaw . .. ~ew Hampton GO- Montgomery .. . .. Red Oak 
:! 0- Clarke ......... Osceola 7 0- Muscatlne . . .. .. Muscatine 
:! 1- Clay . . . . .. . ... . . Spencer 71-0'Brlen ........ Primghar 
22- Cl aiyton .. . . . . . .. ~lkader 7 2- 0sceola .... .. .... . Sibley 
~a-Clinton . ...... . .. Clinton 7 3- Page ........ ... Clarinda 
:.!4 - Crawford . .. . .... Denison 74- Palo Alto . .. Emmetsburg 
:.!5-Dallaa .. . . . . . Adel 75-Pl!{mout h . . . . . . . Le Mars 
26- Davla . ... . .. .. Bloomfield 7 6- Pooahontas .. .. Pocahontas 
2 7- Decatur . . ... . . .. .. Leon 77- Polk . .. .... . . Des Moines 
2 8- Delaware .. ... . Manchester 7 8-Pottawntamle Council Bluffs 
20- Des Moines .. . . Burlington 79-Poweahlek . . . . . Montezuma 
30-Dlcklnson .. . .. Spirit Lake 80-Rlnggold .. .... Mount Ayr 
31- Dubuque ... . ... . DubuQue 81-Sac . . . .. .. .. ... Sac City 
32-Emmet .. . . . .. Esthenille 82----6cott . . ...... . Davenport 
33-Fayette . .. ... West Union 83-Shelby . .... .... . , Harlan 
34-Floyd . ...... Charles City 84-Sloux . ... ... . OraJlite City 
35-Franklln .. . .. .. Hampton 85-Story .. ... . .. . . . Nevada 
3 6-Fremont .. .. ... . . Sidney 8 6-Tama .... ... ... . • Toledo 
3 7 -Greene . . . . . . . . . Jefferson 8 7-Taylor .. . ... . . . . Bedford 
3 8-Grundy .... Grundy Center 88-Unlon1 • • . .•• •• • •• Creston 
39- Guthrle . ... Guthrie Center 80-Van Buren . .... KeosauQua 
40-Hamllton .... Webster Ci ty 0 0- Wapello .. . ... . . Ottumwa 
•11-Hancock . . .. ..... Gamer 9 1- Warren ... . . . .. Indianola 
4 2- Hardln . .. .. . .. .. . E ldora 02-Washlngton . .. Washington 
13-Harrlson ... ...... . Logan 03-Wayne . .... . ... . Corydon 
4 4- Henry ... .. Mount Pleasant 94-Webster . . . .. . Fort Dodge 
45-Howard . .. . . ..... Cresco 05-Wlnnebago . . .. Forest Cit:, 
4 6-H umboldt . .. . Dakota City 9G~Wlnneshlek .... . . Decorah 
4 7- lda .... . . ... . . Ida Grove 9 7- Woodbury . .... Sioux City 
48-lowa ... . . .... . . Marengo 98-Worth .. .. .. .. Northwood 
4 0-Jaok,on ... .. . . MaQuoketa 9 9-Wrlght . ....... . . Olarlon 



When you have finished 
with this book please present 
it to some other person who 
wishes to take the driver's 
examination or hand it to the 
examiner when you apply 
for your license. 
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