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Crime Victim Assistance Board  

The Attorney General’s Crime Victim Assistance Board was established in Iowa Code section 915.82 in 

1989. The Attorney General appoints Board Members to three-year terms of service. The Attorney 

General appoints a member to serve as Board Chair at the beginning of each state fiscal year. The Board 

is a governing Board for the programs of the Crime Victim Assistance Division; it gives guidance to the 

Division Director and adopts Administrative Rules that govern the programs of the Division. The Board 

also conducts a hearing and renders a decision on any appeal of a Division decision. 

Administrative Rules require that the Board meet a minimum of once in each quarter in the state’s fiscal 

year. Iowa Code section 915.80 requires that Board members include two crime victim survivors, one 

victim service provider, a licensed social worker or psychologist, two law enforcement officers, a 

prosecutor, a defense attorney, a medical provider, and an older Iowan. The list of board members 

below includes the constituency they represent, their County of residence, and the year that their 

current term ends.  

Crime Victim Assistance Board Members SFY18 

Mark C. Smith, Chair, State Public Defender's Office, Des Moines (2021)  

Linda Railsback, Doctor, Des Moines (2019)   

Mary Roche, Iowa Department of Corrections, Waterloo (2019)  

Gary Oldenburger, Represents Prosecutors, Ottumwa (2021) 

Vacant, Represents Older Iowans, Urbandale (20XX) 

Paul Fitzgerald, Story County Sheriff, Nevada (2021) 

Claudia Thrane, Represents Crime Victims, Des Moines (2019)  

Mary Ingham, Crisis Intervention Services, Mason City (2019) 

Dr. Sandra McGee, Represents Mental Health Professionals, Des Moines (2019)  

Tom Nichols, Represents Crime Victims, Evansdale (2020) 

 

Board member terms end in July of the noted year. 
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Crime Victim Assistance Division Programs 

Programs Within the Crime Victim Assistance Division (CVAD) 

The Crime Victim Assistance Division (CVAD) was created by the Iowa General Assembly and founded 

by Attorney General Tom Miller in July 1989. In 1989, the Division administered two programs with six 

staff. Today, CVAD administers eight programs with 28 staff. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Programs at a Glance 

Crime Victim Compensation Program (CVC) 

Compensation Paid for Crime Victims  $3,909,735.66 

Sexual Assault Exam Payments $2,178,537.08 

Crime Victim Applications Received  3,869 

Restitution & Subrogation Recovered $750,742 

 

Crime Victims 

Compensation 

Program

• Created in 1983 and 

moved to CVAD from 

the Department of 

Public Safety in 1989

Victims 

Services 

Support 

Program

• Created when four 

federal and state 

funding streams 

combined at CVAD in 

1989; program added 

two additional funding 

streams early 2000's

Sexual Abuse 

Examination 

Payment 

Program

• Created in 1979 and 

transferred to CVAD 

from the Deparment 

of Public Health in 

1990

IowaVINE

• Created in 1999

Iowa Identity 

Theft Passport 

Program

• Created in 2009

Iowa Protective 

Order 

Notification 

(IowaPON)

• Created in 2010

Registrant 

Watch

• Created in 2011

Safe at Home

• Created in 2016
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Victim Services Support Program (VSS) administers six fund streams for community based and system 

based victim services: 

• State Domestic Abuse (DA) funds 

• Federal Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) funds, Office for Victims of Crime, Office for Justice 

Programs, US Department of Justice 

• Federal Family Violence Prevention & Services Act (FVPSA) funds, US Department of Health and 

Human Services 

• State Sexual Abuse (SA) funds 

• Federal Violence Against Women (VAWA) funds, Office on Violence Against Women, US 

Department of Justice 

• Federal Sexual Abuse Services Program (SASP) funds, Office on Violence Against Women, US 

Department of Justice 

 

Victim Services Support Program 

State and Federal Award Amounts SFY18 

State Appropriation $5,016,708 

Federal Family Violence Prev. & Services (FV) Funds $1,277,178 

Federal Sexual Abuse Services Program (SF) Funds $430,662 

Federal STOP Violence Against Women (VW) Funds $1,731,716 

Federal Victims of Crime Act Assist. (VA) Funds $17,945,919 

Compensation Fund Reserve $693,611 

Total State and Federal Awards $27,095,794 
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IowaVINE (Victim Information and Notification Everyday) 

  SFY18 

New Registrations 87,669 

Total Searches 5,300,382  

 

Iowa Identity Theft Passport Program (IDPP) 

 SFY18 

Passport Applications 41 

Passports Issued 37 

Passport Applications Pending 4 

 

Iowa Protective Order Notification (IowaPON) 

 SFY18 

Total Registrations 1109 

Telephone Notifications 541  

E-Mails Delivered 426   

Total Notifications 967 
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Registrant Watch 

Members of the public are offered a means to protect themselves from individuals who have committed 

an offense requiring enrollment to the Sex Offender Registry. Individuals can register to receive 

information via email, phone call and text about the change in location of a specific sex offender or 

notable changes in appearance of a specific offender. Watches can be set so an individual can be 

notified if a registered sex offender moves into a city, county, zip code within five miles of a specific 

address or “area”.  

Safe at Home 

The Office of the Iowa Secretary of State unveiled the Safe at Home (SAH), address confidentiality 

program on January 1, 2016.  This program helps victims of crime improve their lives by using a 

substitute address so a physical address does not appear in public records, thereby helping keep the 

victim’s whereabouts safe.  THE SAH program also allows for repackaging and forwarding of a 

participant’s mail to ensure safe and secure delivery.  Participants can also register to vote through this 

program, without having to be listed on the public voter registration list.  Eligible participants include 

survivors of sexual assault, domestic violence, trafficking, stalking and other violent crimes.  CVAD 

partnered with the Secretary of State’s Office to provide financial support for the maintenance of the 

secure database used to maintain victim information, as well as to aid in the costs necessary to 

repackage and resend a participant’s mail.  CVAD also conducts statewide outreach and education to 

ensure victims are aware of the existence of this program.   

Training, Advocacy and Outreach 

The Crime Victim Assistance Division conducts regular training, advocacy and outreach to agencies, 

community groups and members of the public.   Training topics include basic information on the 

programs administered by the agency, information on victim service programs and best practices for 

serving victims of crime.  In addition, CVAD staff regularly attend and participate in partnership 

meetings with other statewide agencies and victim service programs. 

In FY 2018, CVAD staff conducted 34 presentations to community organizations and members of the 

public, providing information on our agency and programs to 3,096 individuals throughout the state of 

Iowa.  Staff also conducted 42 trainings for victim service, medical, legal and other professionals; 

training 2,037 individuals.   

CVAD has a trained advocate who provides information, support and resources to individuals who 

contact CVAD.  In FY 2018, the CVAD advocate provided services to 640 individuals.  Services provided 

included assistance completing the crime victim compensation application, criminal justice support and 

advocacy, housing advocacy and economic advocacy.  The CVAD advocate also provided more than 255 

referrals to victim service, community, legal and other agencies.    
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Crime Victim Compensation Program 

The Crime Victim Compensation Program (CVC) pays certain out-of-pocket expenses for victims 

physically or emotionally injured by crime. All funds for the program come from the Compensation 

Fund, which consists of fines and penalties paid by convicted criminals. The program does not 

compensate for damaged or stolen property. Eligible crime victims can be reimbursed for expenses they 

pay and payments can be made directly to a service provider on behalf of the crime victim for crime-

related expenses.  

 

  

Program Activity SFY18 

Applications received  3,869 

Applications approved  3,369 

Applications denied  500 

Victims served by advocate 640 

Count of restitution payments made 4,698 

Count of subrogation payments received 32 

Amount of restitution received $634,171 

Amount of subrogation received $116,571 

Compensation paid for Crime Victims $3,909,735.66 
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Benefits 

Crime Victim Compensation eligibility requirements and benefits are established in Iowa Code Chapter 

915. Actual out-of-pocket expenses of the victim can be paid up to the following amounts:  

 $25,000  Medical expenses for the victim 

 $5,000 Mental Health care for a victim, by a qualified professional 

 $6,000 Lost wages for work missed due to injury from crime 

 $1,000 Lost wages for work missed due to criminal justice proceedings 

 $1,000 Lost wages while taking a minor or dependent crime victim to receive medical or mental 

health care 

 $4,000 Loss of support for the dependent of a deceased or disabled victim 

 $1,000 Clean-up expenses of a residential crime scene 

 $500 Security items replacement for victim residence or residential crime 

 $200 Replacement of clothing or bedding held as evidence by law enforcement 

 $1,000 Dependent care during court or medical and mental health appointments 

 $2,000 Mental Health care for a victim’s family member or household member 

 $5,000 Mental Health care for survivors of a homicide victim 

 $3,000 Medical expenses for certain survivors of a homicide victim 

 $1,000 Dependent Care while a victim's parent or caretaker transports the victim to medical 

care, mental health care and criminal proceedings 

 $7,500 Funeral and Burial expenses for a homicide victim 

 $1,000 Transportation to medical care, mental health care, and court proceedings, and to the 

funeral of a homicide victim 

 $2,000 Shelter Assistance (not available for crimes filed after July 1, 2017) 

 $1,000 Emergency Relocation expenses 
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Paid Claims By Crime Type SFY18

 

 Crime Type Amount Paid 

Arson $4,272 

Assault $1,024,332.86 

Attempted murder $75,661.02 

Burglary $53,566.21 

Child abuse $10,547.82 

Child Abuse Murder $1,017.86 

Child Endangerment $14,122.61 

Child Pornography $13,891.96 

Domestic Abuse $646,142.98 

Domestic abuse resulting in a murder $51,708.95 

Drunk Driving $124,160.13 

Harassment $45,857.18 

Hit & Run $110,339.20 

Hit & Run Homicide $32,688.21 

Homicide Witness $19,274.08 

Human Trafficking $10,401.16 

Juvenile sexual assault by a family member $65,924.84 

Juvenile sexual assault by a non-family 

member $129,964.99 

Kidnapping $20,487.56 

Murder $946,443.23 

Other $4,013 

Property Damage $500 

Reckless Driving $11,714.22 

Robbery $55,584.31 

Sexual assault $193,073.76 

Sexual Assault Forensic Exam $2,178,537.08 

Stalking $1,167.46 

Vehicle Accident $3,337.69 

Vehicular Assault $3,763.10 

Vehicle as a weapon $3,042.95 

Vehicular Homicide $224,636.63 

Violation of No Contact Order $8,097.61 

   
TOTAL: $6,088,272.74 
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Compensation Payments by Expense Type - SFY18 

Payment Type Amount Paid 

Clothing and Bedding $20,039.36 

Mental Health Counseling $317,266.06 

Crime Scene Cleanup $3,813.07 

Dependent Care $595.50 

Emergency Relocation $169,249.59 

Funeral and Burial  $682,820.02 

Loss of Support $228,000 

Medical and Dental Care $1,285,887.86 

Residential Security Items $27,314.33 

Shelter Assistance $272,449.84 

Transportation, Mileage, Lodging $158,103.49 

Wage Loss $744,196.54 

Total $3,909,735.66 
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Applying for Crime Victim Compensation Benefits 

Mail applications to:   

Crime Victim Assistance Division 

321 East 12th Street 

Des Moines, Iowa 50319 

Fax applications to 515-281-8199  

Apply by telephone by calling 515-281-5044 from Des Moines or toll-free at 800-373-5044 

Apply online. 

More information about compensation is also available on our website.  
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Restitution 

Iowa Code provides that restitution shall be order for payments issued by the Crime Victim 

Compensation Program to the extent that the offender is reasonably able to pay. The program’s 

Restitution Coordinator will complete the following activities to collect restitution on behalf of the 

program: 

• Review all approved compensation applications to determine if an offender has been 

identified, and if so: 

o If the criminal case is still pending, the Restitution Coordinator will send a statement of 

pecuniary damages to the prosecuting attorney; or 

o If the defendant has already been convicted of the crime, but is awaiting sentencing the 

restitution coordinator will send a statement of pecuniary damages and submit it to the 

prosecuting attorney; or 

o If the defendant has been sentenced the Restitution Coordinator shall send a statement 

of pecuniary damages, motion to amend, and restitution order to the prosecuting 

attorney. 

• Monitor each offender’s restitution plan and payment history. 

• Initiate collection actions, including but not limited to formal payment agreements, income tax 

offsets, wage garnishments, and wage assignments if the offender does not comply with the 

established plan of payment. 
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Sexual Abuse Examination Payment Program 
The Iowa Sexual Abuse Examination Payment Program (SAE) was established in 1979 to pay the 

cost of a forensic examination of the victim for sexual abuse crimes that occur in Iowa. All funds for the 

program come from the Compensation Fund, which consists entirely of fines and penalties paid by 

convicted criminals. 

 Iowa Code section 915.41 states: 

The cost of a medical examination for the purpose of gathering evidence and the cost of 

treatment for the purpose of preventing venereal disease shall be paid from the fund 

established in section 915.94 [Victim Compensation Fund]. 

The purpose of a victim’s forensic medical examination after sexual abuse is to collect evidence and 

ensure the victim’s well-being. In Iowa, any person who states they were the victim of a sexual assault 

can receive the exam whether or not they choose to report the crime. Victims may seek forensic and 

medical treatment immediately and take additional time to consider whether or not to report to law 

enforcement and participate in the criminal justice system. Iowa’s policy allowing victims to have a 

forensic medical exam without a report ensures timely collection of critical evidence that prosecutors 

and law enforcement will need if the victim decides to make a criminal report later. 

The SAE Program pays the cost of the examination regardless of whether or not the victim reports the 

crime to law enforcement. A victim is never responsible for payment for a sexual abuse forensic 
examination or for medications required due to the assault. Medical providers and facilities submit 

the bill for the sexual abuse examination directly to the SAE Program. If the victim is billed by a 

medical provider for the examination, the SAE Program will reimburse that victim. The payment rates 

for a sexual abuse examination are established in Iowa Administrative Rules.  

The program will pay:  

§ Up to $300 for the examining room and facility.  

§ Up to $200 for the examiners fee (Sexual Abuse Nurse Examiner or Physician).  

§ All laboratory and medication costs related to the sexual abuse exam and for prevention of 

sexually transmitted diseases (STD) for the crime victim.  

§ Follow up appointments for the crime at the same rates as the initial examination. 

 

As of July 1, 2014, medical records or examiner’s notes must be submitted with SAE charges to 

document the charges that are being paid by the SAE Program. This is a change from previous years, 

where only an itemized statement, diagnosis codes, itemization of any lab work, names of 

prescriptions/medications, and patient name and date of birth were required. This change was 

implemented because the SAE Program currently issues roughly 1.678 million dollars in payments 

annually to reimburse providers for the cost of an SAE. Medical records are now being requested to 

verify that the services listed on the bill are in fact eligible for reimbursement. This new procedure has 
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been put in place as a means of auditing the payments we administer through this fund, with the goal 

of reducing errors in coding and eliminate the risk for erroneous payments. 

The SAE Program also purchases Rape Examination Kits for use in Iowa. The Iowa Crime Laboratory, 

Iowa Department of Health, and Iowa Coalition Against Sexual Assault design the kits. The kits are 

stored at and distributed by the Iowa Crime Laboratory. 

Historically, the CVAD has contracted with the vendor Tri-Tech Forensics to manufacture the SAE Kits 

used in Iowa. In Fiscal Year 2014, the State of Iowa created an open bid process, soliciting bids from 

various vendors to manufacture the SAE Kits. This resulted in a change in vendors and currently 

Arrowhead Forensics is manufacturing the SAE Kits.  

 

Sexual Abuse Examination Payment Program SFY18 

Amount Paid for Examinations  

 

$2,178,537.08 

Number of Examination Claims Submitted 
2,542 
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Victim Services Support Program 

The Victim Services Support Program (VSS) provides ongoing funds to programs providing services to 

victims of crime. VSS focuses on (1) effective stewardship of state and federal funds for victim 

services, law enforcement, prosecution and courts administration and (2) providing technical 

assistance to crime victim programs on program development, fiscal management and services. Due 

to the various types of funding streams, VSS is able to fund nonprofit and governmental agencies to 

provide a cadre of services to crime victims and the local community. Funds support programs focused 

on connecting victims of crime to advocacy services, improving investigations, increasing prosecution, 

and improving the medical and courts response to victims in Iowa. 

Fund Sources 

Below is a brief summary of the various funding streams administered by the VSS. 

Iowa Domestic Abuse (DA) and Iowa Sexual Abuse (SA) funds are appropriated by the Iowa 

Legislature through general funds. 100% of these funds are distributed to programs providing services 

to domestic abuse and sexual abuse/assault victims through comprehensive local and statewide 

service programs including victim-based shelters 

Iowa Compensation Reserve Fund funds are granted at the discretion of the Attorney General to 

supplement state appropriations and federal awards. In State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2018, these funds 

supported two (2) the Human Trafficking Summit and the Statewide CVAD Victim Conference.  

Federal Family Violence Prevention and Services Act (FV) funds are awarded to Iowa by the U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Administration for Children and Families, Office 

of Community Services. The U.S. Congress appropriates the funds annually. Each state receives a 

formula grant based on the state’s population. CVAD is allowed to keep 5% of the funds for 

administration, with the remaining 95% distributed to domestic abuse programs and victim-based 

shelters. 70% of the funds must be allocated to family violence shelters. FV funds have a 25% match 

requirement. 

Federal Sexual Abuse Services Program (SF) funds are awarded to Iowa by the U.S. Department of 

Justice, Office on Violence Against Women. The U.S. Congress appropriates the funds annually. Each 

state receives a base amount and additional funds based on a formula using the state’s population. 

CVAD is allowed to use up to 10% of the funds for administration. CVAD uses 5%. The remaining 95% 

is distributed to non-profit sexual abuse programs. SF funds have no required match component. 

Federal STOP Violence Against Women Act (VW) funds are awarded to Iowa by the U.S. 

Department of Justice, Office on Violence Against Women. The U.S. Congress appropriates the funds 

annually. Each state receives a base amount of $600,000 and additional funds based on a formula 

using the state’s population. CVAD is allowed to use up to 10% for administration. The remaining 90% 

is distributed to programs. Of the money directly granted to programs in Iowa, STOP requires the 
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following allocation: 5% to the courts, 25% to law enforcement, 25% to prosecution, 30% to victim 

services and the remaining 15% can be used at the state administrating agency’s discretion within the 

focus and purpose of the funds. VW funds have a 33.3% match requirement. 

Federal Victims of Crime Act Assistance (VA) funds are awarded to Iowa by the U.S. Department of 

Justice, Office for Victims of Crime. The funds come from the federal Crime Victims Fund, which 

consists entirely of fines and penalties paid by convicted federal criminals and collected by U.S. 

Attorney’s Offices. Each state receives a base amount of $500,000, and additional funds based on a 

formula using the state’s population. CVAD is allowed to keep 5% of the funds for administration, with 

the remaining 95% distributed to programs that provide direct services to crime victims. VA funds 

have a 25% match requirement. 

 

Service Model Summary 

In State Fiscal Year 2013, the VSS Program along with collaborative partners such as the Iowa 

Coalition Against Domestic Violence, Iowa Coalition Against Sexual Assault and other experts in the 

victim service field created a Strategic Funding and Services plan for victim services. The goal of the 

plan was to change how to distribute available funding in a manner that most effectively provides 

quality services to all crime victims across the state.  

The State of Iowa now uses the housing first model, which is focused on accessing and stabilizing safe 

housing as a first priority. After safe housing is established the victim/survivor is surrounded with 

support services, advocacy and other assistance identified by the victim and advocate for the victim to 

remain safe and violence-free. These services may include other items such as assistance with a 

protective order, financial housing assistance, transportation, car repairs, training or other items that 

enhance stabilization, safety and self-sufficiency. The service model incorporates different forms of 

housing such as a 24/7 emergency shelter, safe homes, hotel/motel, financial housing assistance, 

transitional housing and diverting victims from shelter and keeping them victim in their homes.  

The service model implemented a regionalization of services that divided Iowa’s services for domestic 

abuse and sexual abuse victims into six regions as shown in the map on the next page. The VSS 

Program determined available funds could support one or two programs in each region specific to 

each of the following types of services:  domestic abuse comprehensive (DAC), sexual abuse 

comprehensive program (SAC), and victim-based shelter programs (SH). This focus increases the 

number of sexual assault advocates and more equitably distributes the resources for victims of both 

sexual assault and domestic violence. 
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The plan incorporates mobile advocacy in Iowa’s rural areas of the state in order to meet victims in 

their communities rather than expecting victims to travel to another area of the state for services. It is 

critical for all cities and towns in Iowa have advocacy and outreach coverage. This plan means services 

are truly statewide. 

During this timeframe, the VSS Program restructured survivors of homicide programming and other 

violent crime services as well. The majority of Iowa’s homicide investigations are conducted by the 

Department of Criminal Investigations (DCI) through the Iowa Department of Public Safety. In order 

to create the most successful programming, funding for survivors of homicide programs was 

distributed based on the DCI Zones.  
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Performance Statistics and Information  

SFY18 was the fifth year of implementing the service model. The pie chart below breaks down the 

number of victims served by VSS-funded programs into three categories: domestic abuse (DA), sexual 

abuse/assault (SA) and other violent crime victims.  

In SFY18, victim service programs in Iowa served 77,147 victims. 

 

The statistics provided above includes all types of victim services agencies funded by the VSS Program 

including Victim Witness Coordinators through local prosecutor offices and survivors of homicide 

programs.  

The Table 1 on the next page provides a breakdown of the victims served by type of victimization in 

SFY18. In comparing SFY17 to SFY18 there was an overall increase of approximately 20% in the 

number of crime victims served (64,547: 77,147) and from SFY14 to SFY18 there was an increase of 

143% (31,687: 77,147). One of the most important statistics compares the overall victims served from 

before the restructure (SFY13) to how services are now structured and delivered (SFY18). There was 

an approximate increase of 175% in the number of victims served when comparing the old model of 

services (SFY13) to the fifth year of the new model of services or SFY18 (28,053: 77,147) which can be 

attributed to both the restructure and the increase in victim services funding.  

  

Domestic	
Abuse:
40,698		

Other	
Violent	
Crimes:
19,346		

Sexual	
Assault:
17,103		
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Domestic Assault and Sexual Assault Victims Served in Iowa 

State Fiscal Year Domestic Violence Victims 
Served 

Sexual Assault Victims Served 

FY2013  
(pre-restructure) 

20,616 4,431 

FY2014 23,067 

+12% from prior year 

5,158 
+16% from prior year 

FY2015 23,111 
+.19% from prior year  

+12% since restructure 

7,234 
+40% from prior year  

+63% since restructure 

SY2016 29,805 
+29% from prior year  

+45% since restructure 

10,011 
+38% from prior year  

+126% since restructure 

SY2017 35,228 
+18% from prior year 

+71% since restructure 

14,294 
+43% from prior year 

+223% since restructure 

SY2018 40,698 
+15% from prior year 

+97% since restructure 

17,103 
+20% from prior year 

+286% since restructure 



Crime Victim Assistance Division 
 

Annual Report SFY18 | 24 
 

 

Demographics of Victims Served 

Table 1:  Total Crime Victims Served in SFY18 

Crime Type 

Domestic Abuse Female 32,377 

DA Male 2,461 

DA Children 5,292 

Teen Dating Violence 568 

Total Domestic Abuse Victims 40,698 

Female Adult Sexual Abuse/Assault 8,332 

Male Adult Sexual Abuse/Assault 792 

Sexual Abuse Adolescent 2,772 

Child Sexual Abuse 3,157 

Female Survivor of Incest 1,131 

Male Survivor of Incest 230 

Total Sexual Abuse/Assault Victims 17,103* 

Child Physical Abuse 1,662 

Drunk/Intoxicated Driving  833 

Homicide Victim Survivors 1,730 

Elder Abuse 363 

Identity Theft 1,385 

Robbery 542 

Stalking 1,678 

Assault 2,588 

Human Trafficking – Labor  85 

Human Trafficking – Sex  689 

Bullying 2,380 

Hate Crime 1,705 

Other Violent Crimes 4,925 

Total Other Violent Crime Victims  

  

Total Crime Victims Served 77,147 
*includes sex trafficking  

 

 

Female

77%

59,565

Male

20%

15,254

Unknown

3%

2,328
GENDER
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Other Demographics: 

Immigrants, refugees or asylum seekers  8,376 

Rural Iowans      29,065 

Limited English proficient    8,811 

People with physical or cognitive disabilities 7,036   
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Shelter Services and Crisis Calls 
In the new service model, programs sheltered victims in various ways: keeping victims in their homes 

(diversion), traditional shelter building, safe homes and hotel/motels. Assessments are an important 

tool advocates use to assist victims in becoming and remaining violence-free and self-sufficient. In this 

service model advocates are conducting both housing stability and lethality assessments when 

assisting victims.  

Victim service advocates conducted 9,108 housing assessment in SFY18 which is a 17% increase from 

SFY17 (7,786:9,108) and increased by 153% from SFY14 to SFy18 (3,602: 9,108). When conducting 

these assessments, advocates assist crime victims through advocacy, problem-solving and financial 

assistance which are effective ways to stabilize survivors and to maintain safety and to increase self-

sufficiency. Advocates were able to divert 11,074 victims (women, men and children) from shelter in 

SFY18 by providing rent and utility assistance, other forms of financial assistance and problem solving 

and advocacy. The following table provides a 3-year breakdown of the shelter diversion information. 

 

Shelter Diversion  SFY16 SFY17 SFY18 

Rent/Utility Assistance 1,213 1,898 1,181 

Financial Assistance 1,387 1,778 1,896 

Problem Solving/Advocacy 7,848 3,276 3,658 

 

The table below provides a breakdown of the number of victims sheltered by type of victimization and 

number of nights of safety/shelter provided comparing SFY16, SFY17 and SFY18. The table illustrates 

there has been a 65% increase in the number of victims receiving traditional shelter from SFY16 to 

SFY18 (2,975: 4,909) but an 8% decrease from SFY17 to SFY18 (4,538: 4,909). There has also been a 

decrease in the number of victims receiving non-traditional shelter through safe homes and 

hotels/motels. Specifically, a decrease of 40% in sheltering victims in hotels and motels from SFY16 to 

SFY18 (1,728: 1,061); however, there was a slight increase (.4%) from SFY17 to SFY18 (1,056: 1,061). 

Programs provided more nights of shelter in SFY 18 in all three categories: traditional shelter, safe 

homes and hotels/motels than they provided in SFY17.  
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Victim Services Programs track the number of people turned away from shelter. In SFY18, programs 

reported they turned away 1,771 people as summarized in the chart below. 

Reason Children/Youth Women Men 

Inappropriate 121 502 43 

Shelter Full 579 475 18 

Unsafe 8 24 1 

Totals 708 24 62 

 

Total Crime Victims Sheltered (SFY16-SFY18) 

 

SFY16 SFY17 SFY18 SFY16 SFY17 SFY18 SFY16 SFY17 SFY18 

Traditional 
Shelter 

Traditional 
Shelter 

Traditional 
Shelter 

Safe 
Homes 

Safe 
Homes 

Safe 
Homes 

Hotels 
or 

Motels 

Hotels 
or 

Motels 

Hotels 
or 

Motels 
Domestic Abuse 

Female 
1,479 2,190 2,362 80 93 130 1050 511 483 

Domestic Abuse Male 11 78 138 1 3 5 23 20 20 

Domestic Abuse 

Children 
1,329 1,933 1,895 65 79 97 417 407 433 

Sexual Assault 

Victims 
132 226 212 4 9 11 63 70 103 

Other Violent Crime 

Victims 
24 111 302 0 0 3 175 48 22 

Total Victims 
Sheltered 

2,975 4,538 4,909 150 184 246 1728 1056 1,061 

                
Total Shelter Nights 142,412 117,689 148,421 7,663 4,502 13,676 15,198 2,505 7,493 

Advocates assist victims in many different ways including safety planning, individual counseling, 

group counseling, civil and criminal advocacy, personal advocacy, housing/economic advocacy, etc. 

These services are conducted in-person and through the crisis calls and chat or text lines. In SFY18, 

advocates assisted victims through 84,357 crisis calls, chats and texts an increase of approximately 

5% from the 80,202 crisis calls answered in SFY17. In addition, programs reported they spent 

approximately 52,422 service hours on crisis calls, chats and texts.  
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Community Support and Awareness 

Programs rely on community volunteers to help support victims by providing direct services and 

advocacy throughout Iowa. Some of these direct service activities include providing support groups to 

adults, teens and children, responding to emergencies at hospitals and law enforcement agencies, 

providing court accompaniment and transporting victims to shelter and appointments. In addition, 

many community volunteers also donate their time indirectly to support victims and the programs 

providing those services. Examples of indirect volunteering vary but could include to mowing the 

shelter lawn, conducting presentations, assisting a victim in moving, organizing donations, conducting 

fundraising and awareness activities.  

In SFY18, 9,990 Iowans volunteered slightly more than 275,138 hours to victim services programs 

in Iowa. This is equivalent to approximately 132 full-time staff donating their time. Volunteers gave 

122,273 hours providing direct services to crime victims and 152,864 providing indirect services.  

The number of volunteers increased by 20% from SFY17 to SFY18 (8,346: 9,990). When comparing 

pre-restructure in SFY13 to post-restructure in SFY18, there was an increase of 6,440 volunteers or 

181% (3,550:9,990) and an increase of 123,724 in volunteer hours, an increase of 82% 

(151,414:275,138).  

VSS funded programs increased outreach to the community through the media and through 

presentations. VSS funded programs had 11,361 media contacts with newspapers, television and 

radio through articles, interviews and advertisements. This is decrease from 12,983 media contacts in 

SFY17. The Internet is an important resource for VSS-funded programs to disseminate information or 

to conduct community outreach. Programs reported 687,595 hits on their websites or other uses of 

the Internet, such as Facebook or Twitter.  

Presentations are an important way to reach victims and to interact with other professionals. In 

SFY18, VSS programs reported they conducted 7,388 (5,968 in SFY17) different presentations 

reaching 210,704 people about their services for victims. This is an increase of 1,420 presentations; 

however, is a slight decrease in the number of people in the audiences (221,971 in SFY17).  

Professional Training and Collaborations 

Training and collaborating with other professionals is one way VSS-funded programs improve the 

response to crime victims. By improving collaborative relationships with other criminal justice and 

local community agencies, victims’ rights are ensured, and professionals have a clearer understanding 

of each agencies role.  

In SFY18, VSS-funded programs conducted 2,731 training sessions to 48,463 professionals. Since 

SFY14, VSS-funded programs conducted 9,362 training sessions to 180,954 professionals.  

Collaboration: Collaborating with other agencies is an important activity victim advocacy. The 

following chart provides a synopsis of collaboration from the past three state fiscal years.  
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State Fiscal Year  Collaborative Agencies  Collaborative Meetings 

2016 12,168 29,526 

2017 29,526 35,519 

2018 17,352 37,516 

 

Agencies reported on the meetings and referrals with the following types of agencies: courts, 

correction officials, DAC programs, governmental entities, healthcare providers, law enforcement, 

prosecution/victim witness coordinators, educational entities, SAC programs, shelter programs, 

therapist/counselors. 

Referrals: In SFY18 victim service programs received 49,707 referrals. The majority of referrals are 

from courts, DAC programs, law enforcement, prosecution/victim witness coordinators and 

governmental agencies. Law enforcement agencies and victim witness coordinators referred 2,218 

victims/survivors to governmental victim services programs and 2,308 victims/survivors to non-

governmental victim services programs.  
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Funding Application and Review Process 

In 2016, the VSS Program released a three-year funding application for victim services applicants and 

criminal justice programs. State fiscal year 2017, (July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017) was the first year of the 

three-year cycle, SFY2017-2019. The application/funding process is approved by the Crime Victim 

Assistance (CVA) Board. The application process began with the release of instructions and a technical 

assistance workshop outlining how to apply for the funding. Application writing workshops were 

conducted either in-person or through webinars. The workshop clarifies funding application 

requirements and the award process. The application process is outlined below 

 

Due Date Description 
November 2015 Funding Application Workshops:  

December 2015 Letters of Intent Due:  
January 2016 Applications  

March 2016 Application Review  

April 2016 Crime Victim Assistance Board approved recommended awards 

April 21, 2016 Denial and award letters mailed to funding applicants. 

May 2016 Appeals or Requests for Reconsideration  

June 2016 Crime Victim Assistance Board reviewed appeals for funding  

June 2016 Contracts are issued to all funded applicants 

 

Programs and agencies submitted a letter of intent to apply. Funding applications, or Requests for 

Proposals (RFP), were generally due approximately 9 weeks after the application instructions are 

released. In State Fiscal Year 2017, applicants were required to submit an application in the GEM 

System (IowaGrants.gov).  

A volunteer Application Review Committee (ARC) reviewed and recommended funding. Members of 

the ARC have expertise in victim service delivery or related profession, grant management, and/or 

public policy. Each application was evaluated for purpose, compliance, completeness, clarity, quality 

of services, number of victims served, community support, feasibility, programmatic efficiency, 

financial management, geographical area and size of the population served.  

The CVAD Director reviewed funding recommendations brought forth by the VSS staff and the ARC. 

The Director presented the recommendations and any alternate recommendations to the Crime 

Victim Assistance (CVA) Board. The amounts awarded to victim service programs were based on a 

formula that was approved by the CVA Board. The award amounts for law enforcement, prosecution 

or other non-victim service-based agencies were determined through a competitive process and non-

formula. Subsequent funding in the second and third years of the funding cycle will be based on the 

first-year award and the amount of funds available.  
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Applicants had the opportunity to appeal denials or award amounts within 10 working days after the 

notice of award was mailed. The Crime Victim Assistance Board reviewed each appeal, with their 

decision rendered the final funding/award decision.  

The VSS staff monitors the services, management, and fiscal operations of funded programs for 

compliance with state and federal regulations as well as quality services. Monitoring and oversight is 

conducted through on-site monitoring, desk monitoring and technical assistance meetings, 

conference calls and webinars. 

Bonuses 

It is the policy of the Victim Services Support Program that neither federal nor state funds will be used 

to reimburse bonuses to any VSS-funded program. This includes non-profit and nongovernmental 

agencies, or programs.  

Out-of-State Conferences/Training  

The table on the next page provides a breakdown of out-of-state travel for VSS Program staff in 

SFY18. The Victim Services Support Program sent 8 different staff to 15 different mandatory federal 

conferences required by the respective federal funding agency. Travel for these events was paid 

through federal administrative funds.  
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VSS Staff Out-of-State Travel 

Federal 
Funds 

State  
Funds 

Number 
of Staff 

National Crime Victim Center National Training 

Institute, Portland, OR  
$1,250.49  2 

VOCA Strategy Meeting, DC $1154.12  1 

VOCA Peer to Peer Regional Meeting, Seattle, WA $1,864.20  2 

Technology Summit, San Francisco, CA  $2,037.07  1 

Financial Training for OJP Grantees $1,191.71  1 

VAWA Peer to Peer Meeting, Nashville, TN $944.58  2 

VAWA Annual grant meeting, Atlanta, GA $1,802.46  2 

Freedom Network Anti-Trafficking Conference, 

Denver, CO  
$1624.89  1 

2018 Victims of Crime Act Conference, DC  $2,596.06  2 

Statewide Sexual Assault Reform in SAKI $793.18  2 

SAKI National Meeting, DC $1,124.88  1 

Family Violence Prevention grant meeting, Miami, FL $2,279.28  2 

NAVAA Peer to Peer Meeting, Winston-Salem, NC $837.84  1 

Alliance for Safety & Justice, San Francisco, CA  $1330.86  1 

VOCA Peer to Peer Regional Meeting Savannah, GA  $1,703.76  2 

 

Total $22,535.38 
 

$0 
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Overtime 

Iowa’s victim service advocates respond 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to victims at hospitals, law enforcement or other safe locations. VSS 

funds support eight emergency shelters in Iowa’s six regions. The victim service programs that paid overtime did so to cover shelter, hotline 

and emergency response services due to staff training, vacancies, sick leave, vacation and staffing shortages. Law enforcement used 

overtime to conduct follow-up investigations, victim safety checks, attend training and conduct arrests on violence against women cases. It is 

generally not cost effective for Iowa’s rural law enforcement agencies to fund a full-time law enforcement officer/investigator with Iowa’s 

STOP Violence Against Women (VW) funds. A requirement of the VW is to fund law enforcement agencies to improve the response to 

domestic abuse, dating violence, sexual assault and stalking victims. See Appendix A for a map of the shelters funded through the VSS 

Program. 

The total amount of claims paid in SFY18 is $29,138,693.51. Of this amount the VSS Program paid $101,951.74 in overtime, (0.03%). 

	
Main City Region Type of Program Contractor Name/Program Name 

Overtime 

Hours 
Overtime Cost 

Sioux City 1 DAC Council on Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence 33.5 1028.74 

Sioux City  1 SH Council on Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence  332.18 8586.85 

Sioux City  1 NI Jackson Recovery Centers, Inc. 83.75 $2,260.25 

Waverly 3 SH Cedar Valley Friends of the Family 201 $4,186.39 

Fort Dodge 3 HP Domestic Sexual Assault Outreach Center  .75 $18.00 

Fort Dodge 3 SH Domestic Sexual Assault Outreach Center  2.5 $59.18 

Mason City  3 DAC Crisis Intervention Services 25 $470.41 

Des Moines  5 SH Children and Families of Iowa  667.5 $15,819.90 

Davenport 6 HT Family Resources Human Trafficking  3.55 82.97 

Davenport 6 HP Family Resources SOHP 2.35 54.88 

Davenport 6 DAC Family Resources, Inc. SafePaths 18.46 346.42 

Davenport 6 SAC Family Resources, Inc. SafePaths 11.95 234.77 

Davenport 6 NI Family Resources, Inc. SafePaths .47 10.98 

Davenport  6 SH Family Resources, Inc. SafePaths 142.95 2,986.46 

Mason City  3 NI Elderbridge Agency on Aging  .25 6.56 

Dubuque 3 SAC Riverview Center  33 $849.00 

Council Bluffs 4 SH Catholic Charities 147.1 $4,023.31 
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Iowa City 6 SH Domestic Violence Intervention Program 164.25 $3,093.61 

Iowa City 6 NI Domestic Violence Intervention Program  1.5 $34.61 

Iowa City 6 DAC Domestic Violence Intervention Program  19.75 $451.89 

Ottumwa 6 NI Milestones Area Agency on Aging  .7 $19.38 

Moline, IL  6 NI SAL Family and Community Services  6.5 $130.19 

Sioux Center SW SW HL Family Crisis Centers, Statewide DA Hotline 619 $15,300 

      Victim Service Total 2517.96 $60,054.34  

 

 

	 	 	 	

Main City Region 
Type of 

Program 
Contractor Name/Program Name 

Total 

Overtime 
Hours 

Total Amount of 

Overtime Paid 

Mason City 2 LE Cerro Gordo County Sheriff's Office 28 $ 1,163.56 

Ames 2 LE Iowa State Police Department  21.5 $ 1,338.83 

Mason City 2 LE Mason City Police Department 358 $ 14,782.92 

Dubuque 3 LE  Dubuque County Sheriff/Police 165 $ 3,641.75 

Des Moines  5 LE Des Moines Police Department  334.67 $ 19,345.71 

Muscatine 6 LE Muscatine County Sheriff's Office 9.25 $ 558.63 

Johnston SW LE Iowa Law Enforcement Agency  23.25 $1,066.00 

      Law Enforcement (LE) Total 939.67 $41,487.66 

      Overall Total $3,457.63 $101,951.74 
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Breakdown of Expense Categories  

The following pages include tables of reimbursement by expense categories. The different tables are listed below.  

Overall Federal and State Funds 

• Region #1:  Northwest Iowa  

• Region #2:  North Central Iowa 

• Region #3: Northeast Iowa 

• Region #4:  Southwest Iowa 

• Region #5:  South Central Iowa  

• Region #6:  Southeast Iowa 

• Culturally-Specific Programs 

• Statewide Programs 

• Survivors of Homicide and Other Violent Crime Programs 

 

Each of the tables for reimbursement by expense categories has a breakdown of out-of-state travel, in-state conferences and in-state travel to 

provide services. Approximately 79% of the federal and state funds were for payroll and benefits for staff to provide services to crime victims. Each 

of the tables for reimbursement by expense categories has a breakdown of out-of-state travel, in-state conferences and in-state travel to provide 

services.  
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Overall Federal and State Funding Expenditures 

Expense 
Categories Total 

Advertising: $ 116,216.78 

Benefits: $ 4,173,633.10 

Communications: $ 278,319.21 

Contractual Services: $ 1,451,384.18 

Equipment: $ 93,785.36 

Insurance: $ 237,042.75 

Other Direct/Client Assistance: $ 1,351,548.93 

Payroll: $ 18,913,546.30 

Rent: $ 517,404.73 

Repairs & Maintenance: $ 124,930.24 

Supplies: $ 419,230.32 

In-State Travel for Training: $ 117,203.89 

In-State Travel for Services: $ 648,549.95 

Out-of-State Travel: $ 16,027.80 

Utilities: $ 134,794.83 

Indirect Costs $ 545,075.14 

Total: $ 29,138,693.51 
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Region #1 — Northwest Iowa 

Expense Categories Total 
Advertising:  $ 7,349.00 

Benefits:  $ 398,451.52 
Communications:  $ 24,052.91 

Contractual Services:  $ 81,958.18 
Equipment:  $ 10,800.76 

Insurance:  $ 0 
Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $ 139,857.65 

Payroll:  $ 1,857,249.87 
Rent:  $ 22,307.50 

Repairs & Maintenance:  $ 3,300.00 
Supplies:  $ 36,167.15 

In-State Travel for Training:  $ 15,212.24 
In-State Travel for Services:  $ 81,252.95 

Out-of-State Travel:  $ 0 
Utilities: 

Indirect Costs: 
 $ 9,105.42 
$ 13,378.92 

Total:  $ 2,697,144.07 
 

Agencies funded in Region #1: 

Centers Against Abuse and Sexual Assault, Clay County Attorney’s Office, Council on Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence (DAC and Shelter), Dickinson County Attorney, 

Family Crisis Centers (New Initiative and DAC), Emmet County Attorney’s Office, Iowa Lakes Community College, Jackson Recovery Centers, Inc. Lyon County Attorney’s 

Office, Mercy Child Advocacy Center, Northwest Iowa Mental Health Center, Plymouth County Attorney’s Office, Sac County Attorney’s Office and Sioux County Attorney’s 

Office.  
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Region #2 — North Central Iowa 

Expense Categories Total 
Advertising:  $ 8,400.00 

Benefits:  $ 472,493.18 
Communications:  $ 25,786.22 

Contractual Services:  $ 11,142.83 
Equipment:  $ 14,528.35 

Insurance:  $ 34,883.05 
Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $ 94,191.91 

Payroll:  $ 2,418,546.69 
Rent:  $ 27,440.00 

Repairs & Maintenance:  $ 25,106.18 
Supplies:  $ 57,653.66 

In-State Travel for Training:  $8,949.76 
In-State Travel for Services:  $ 118,730.38 

Out-of-State Travel:  $ 10,316.89 
Utilities: 

Indirect Costs: 
 $ 26,254.07 
$ 32,269.11 

Total:  $ 3,386,692.28 
 

Agencies funded in Region #2: 

 

Assault Care Center Extending Shelter & Support (DAC and SAC), Camp Fire Heart of Iowa, Cerro Gordo County Attorney’s Office, Cerro Gordo County Sheriff’s Office, Crisis 

Intervention Service (DAC, SAC, New Initiative and Human Trafficking), Domestic/Sexual Assault Outreach Center, Elderbridge Agency on Aging, Hancock County Attorney’s 

Office, Iowa State Police, Kossuth County Attorney’s Office, (Prosecutor and Victim Witness Coordinator), Marshall County Attorney’s Office (Prosecutor and Victim Witness 

Coordinator), Marshalltown Police Department, Mason City Police Department, Northern Lights Alliance for the Homeless, Story County Attorney’s Office, Webster County 

Attorney’s Office, Winnebago County Attorney’s Office, Youth and Shelter Services, Inc. (Youth Center and Human Trafficking) 
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Region #3 — Northeast Iowa 

Expense Categories Total 
Advertising:  $ 21,242.05 

Benefits:  $ 496,183.47 
Communications:  $ 38,405.72 

Contractual Services:  $ 67,919.58 
Equipment:  $ 7,569.51 

Insurance:  $ 18,711.90 
Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $ 151,402.16 

Payroll:  $ 2,494,933.25 
Rent:  $ 59,287.53 

Repairs & Maintenance:  $ 15,482.50 
Supplies:  $ 42,986.84 

In-State Travel for Training:  $ 15,359.96 
In-State Travel for Services:  $ 108,594.03 

Out-of-State Travel: 
Utilities: 

 $0 
$ 15,841.01 

Indirect Costs:  $ 60,099.68 
Total:  $ 3,614,019.19 

Agencies funded in Region #3 

 

Allamakee County Attorney's Office, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Northeast Iowa, Black Hawk County Attorney's Office, Black Hawk County Attorney's Office, Bremer County 

Attorney's Office, Catherine McAuley Center, Cedar Valley Friends of the Family (Shelter and Human Trafficking), Domestic Abuse Resource Center, Helping Services for 

Northeast Iowa, Dubuque County Attorney's Office, Dubuque County Attorney's Office, Dubuque County Law Enforcement, Fayette County Attorney's Office ,Heritage Area 

Agency on Aging, Horse and Soul Ranch, Jesse Cosby Neighborhood Center, The Exhale Project Julie Jack-CIS), Northeast Iowa Area Agency on Aging, Riverview Center Inc., 

Waterloo Police Department, Waypoint Services for Women, Children and Families, Winneshiek County Attorney's Office 
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Region #4 — Southwest Iowa 

Expense Categories Total 
Advertising:  $ 4,244.45 

Benefits:  $ 335,803.25 
Communications:  $ 44,120.44 

Contractual Services:  $ 45,616.00 
Equipment:  $ 5,200.00 

Insurance:  $ 25,902.00 
Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $ 61,181.76 

Payroll:  $ 1,584,226.50 
Rent:  $ 49,704.00 

Repairs & Maintenance:  $ 39,582.19 
Supplies:  $ 11,284.44 

In-State Travel for Training:  $ 194.44 
In-State Travel for Services:  $ 50,624.00 

Out-of-State Travel:  $0 
Utilities: 

Indirect Costs: 
 $ 14,122.00 
$ 27,442.30 

Total:  $ 2,299,247.77 
Agencies funded in Region #4: 

 

Catholic Charities (SAC, DAC and Shelter), Crisis Intervention & Advocacy Center (DAC and SAC), Heartland Family Service, Madison County Attorney's Office,  

Southwest Iowa Families Inc. 

.
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Region #5 — South Central Iowa 

Expense Categories Total 
Advertising:  $ 3,099.22 

Benefits:  $ 734,796.23 
Communications:  $ 35,894.91 

Contractual Services:  $ 260,764.26 
Equipment:  $ 8,093.73 

Insurance:  $ 45,903.46 
Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $ 88,463.46 

Payroll:  $ 3,357,459.48 
Rent:  $ 60,955.91 

Repairs & Maintenance:  $ 10,828.22 
Supplies:  $ 43,264.12 

In-State Travel for Training:  $ 22,067.90 
In-State Travel for Services:  $ 52,360.37 

Out-of-State Travel:  $ 0 
Utilities: 

Indirect Costs:  
 $ 17,317.85 
$ 116,492.56 

Total:  $ 4,857,761.68 
 

Agencies funded in Region #5 

 

Candeo, Children & Families of Iowa (Shelter and DAC), Crisis Center & Women's Shelter, Crisis Intervention Services (Shelter and SAC), Davis County Attorney's Office, Des 

Moines Police Department, Disability Rights Iowa, Ethnic Minorities of Burma Advocacy and Resource Center (EMBARC), Iowa Arts in Education, Iowa Justice for Our 

Neighbors, Iowa Legal Aid, Iowa Safe Schools, Polk County Attorney's Office, (SAC and Homicide), Project IOWA, Regional Child Protection Center, U.S. Committee for 

Refugees and Immigrants, Wapello County Attorney's Office, Wapello County Attorney's Office, Young Women's Resource Center, Youth Emergency Services & Shelter and 

Iowa Accountability Program, Iowa Judicial Branch.    
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Region #6 — Southeast Iowa 

Expense Categories Total 
Advertising:  $ 7,729.15 

Benefits:  $ 730,187.44 
Communications:  $ 18,714.15 

Contractual Services:  $ 28,239.11 
Equipment:  $ 2,484.99 

Insurance:  $ 25,121.05 
Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $ 177,473.28 

Payroll:  $ 2,790,598.78 
Rent:  $ 61,788.85 

Repairs & Maintenance:  $ 2,570.87 
Supplies:  $ 44,776.94 

In-State Travel for Training:  $ 13,358.31 
In-State Travel for Services:  $ 114,814.80 

Out-of-State Travel:  $ 5,710.91 

Utilities: 

Indirect Costs:$ 
 $ 4,826.70 
$ 242,044.26 

Total:  $ 4,270,439.59 
 

Agencies funded in Region #6 

 

Des Moines County Attorney's Office, Domestic Violence Intervention. Program (DAC, New Initiative, Shelter), Family Resources (New Initiatives(2), Human Trafficking, DAC, 

SAC, Shelter), Henry County Attorney's Office, Henry County Attorney's Office, Iowa City Police Department, Johnson County Attorney's Office, Milestones Area Agency on 

Aging, Muscatine County Sheriff's Office, Muscatine Police Department, Neighborhood Centers of Johnson County, University of Iowa (SAC, SART, New Initiative) , SAL Family 

and Community Services, Scott County Sheriff's Office, The Crisis Center of Johnson County, The Project of the Quad Cities, United Action for Youth (2 New Initiatives, Vera 

French Foundation  
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Culturally-Specific Programs 

 State 
Expense Categories Total 

Advertising:  $ 29,557.82 
Benefits:  $ 319,196.61 

Communications:  $ 45,907.30 
Contractual Services:  $ 279,885.78 

Equipment:  $ 31,195.22 
Insurance:  $ 27,287.51 

Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $ 64,891.98 
Payroll:  $ 1,381,817.30 

Rent:  $ 138,561.97 
Repairs & Maintenance:  $ 19,694.31 

Supplies:  $ 73,091.33 
In-State Travel for Training:  $ 23,814.89 
In-State Travel for Services:  $ 32,695.99 

Out-of-State Travel:  $ 0 
Utilities: 

Indirect Costs: 
 $ 18,852.69 
$ 8,686.34 

Total:  $ 2,495,137.04 
Culturally Specific Agencies: 

 

Amani (DAC and SAC). Monsoon (DAC, SAC), Deaf Iowans Against Abuse (DAC and SAC), Latinas Unidas por Nuevo Amanecer (LUNA) (DAC and SAC), Meskwaki 

Family Services (DAC and SAC), NISSA African Refugee Project (DAC and SAC), 
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Statewide Programs 

Expense Categories Total 
Advertising:  $ 28,100.12 

Benefits:  $ 429,506.25 
Communications:  $ 25,256.22 

Contractual Services:  $ 655,268.28 
Equipment:  $ 2,593.11 

Insurance:  $ 26,032.60 
Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $ 505,221.16 

Payroll:  $ 1,823,232.20 
Rent:  $ 40,261.65 

Repairs & Maintenance:  $ 3,300.00 
Supplies:  $ 84,028.75 

In-State Travel for Training:  $ 9,696.20 
In-State Travel for Services:  $ 21,917.57 

Out-of-State Travel:  $ 0 
Utilities: 

Indirect Costs: 
 $ 13,910.35 
$ 19,994.97 

Total:  $ 3,688,319.43 
 

Statewide Programs:   

 

Iowa Coalition Against Domestic Violence, Iowa Coalition Against Sexual Assault, Iowa Dept. of Public Health, Iowa Law Enforcement Academy, Monsoon – Iowa Coalition for 

Collective Change, Sexual Abuse Hotline, Rape Victim Advocacy Program, University of Iowa, State Court Administrator's Office, Boys State Training School and Family Crisis 

Centers Helpline.  
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Survivors of Homicide and Other Violent Crime Victim Programs 

Expense Categories Zone #1 Zone #2 Zone #3 Zone #4 

Advertising:  $ 600.00  $ 3,501.07  $ 2,393.90  $                      -    

Benefits:  $ 83,609.37  $ 34,769.79  $ 52,595.93  $ 86,040.06 

Communications:  $ 1,230.86  $ 4,058.17  $ 8,487.01  $ 6,405.30 

Contractual Services:  $ 50.50  $ 7,535.00  $ 2,059.84  $ 10,944.82 

Equipment:  $   $ 8,900.00  $ 2,419.69  $ 

Insurance:  $ 403.63  $ 23,162.33  $ 9,386.20  $ 249.02 

Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $ 14,587.91  $ 5,386.52   $ 19,132.77  $ 29,758.37 

Payroll:  $ 338,359.62  $ 260,472.83  $ 294,319.31  $ 312,330.47 

Rent:  $ 2,400.11  $ 24,960.21  $ 21,770.00  $ 7,967.00 

Repairs & Maintenance:  $      $ 5,800.00  $ 2,115.97  $ 450.00 

Supplies:  $ 2,405.85  $ 4,228.00  $ 10,197.15  $ 9,146.09 

In-State Travel for Training:  $ 101.35  $ 3,242.75  $ 4,777.48  $ 428.61 

In-State Travel for Services:  $ 8,580.58  $ 16,334.33  $ 16,425.88  $ 26,219.07 

Out-of-State Travel:  $   $  $  $ 

Utilities:  $  $ 5,700.00  $ 4,585.87  $ 4,278.87 

Indirect Costs: $ $ $ $ 24,667.00 

Total: 
 

$452,329.78 
 $ 408,051.00  $ 477,031.00  $ 535,227.62 

 

Agencies funded:   

 

Assault Care Center Extending Shelter & Support, Crisis Intervention & Advocacy Center, Crisis Intervention Services, Mothers Against Violence, Polk County Crisis & Advocacy 

Services, Wish Unit, Family Crisis Centers, Domestic/Sexual Assault Outreach Center, Crisis Intervention Service, Family Resources, Survivors of Homicide Program- Horizons 
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Appendix A:  Regional Map for VSS Funded Shelter-Based Victim Service Programs 
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Appendix B:  Regional Map for VSS Funded Domestic Abuse Comprehensive (DAC) 
Programs 
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Appendix C:  Regional Map for VSS Funded Sexual Abuse Comprehensive (SAC) 
Programs 



 

Crime Victim Assistance Division 
 

Annual Report SFY18 | 49 
 

 

Appendix D:  Regional Map for VSS Funded Survivors of Homicide (HP) Program 
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IowaVINE 
Iowa Victim Information and Notification Every Day (IowaVINE) is a free and anonymous telephone 
service that provides victims of crime with two important services:  information and notification. 
IowaVINE is provided by the Iowa Attorney General’s Crime Victim Assistance Division (CVAD) and the 
Iowa Department of Justice, initially implemented through a grant awarded by the Bureau of Justice 
Assistance. 

IowaVINE monitors the custody status of offenders in Iowa’s county jails and Iowa Department of 
Corrections facilities. The information is stored at the VINE Communications Center in Louisville, KY 
and is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The IowaVINE services are available in English, Spanish, 
Bosnian and Somali. Individuals can access the notification system via telephone at 888-742-8463, at 
www.vinelink.com, or the VINEMobile smartphone app. 

The information is open to anyone in the community with an interest in an offender held in custody. 
To search for an offender, the first and last name or offender identification number is needed. A 
secondary search option is the offender’s birthdate or age. Registrants can access the offender’s 
name, identification number, current custody status, location of offender, facility contact information, 
scheduled release date (if available), and information about crime victim services in the registrant’s 
area. 

The IowaVINE system began in 2006 with just a few counties. Today, all 99 counties participate along 
with the Iowa Department of Corrections (9 prisons). Of those 99 counties,  90 county jails and the 
Iowa Department of Corrections’ facilities have photographs of the offender available online.  

Registrants can choose to receive notifications via telephone, text and/or email. If the registrant 
chooses telephone, a four digit PIN number must be entered upon registration. The following are the 
automated call patterns of the system: 

Normal:  Calls will be made every 30 minutes for 24 hours or until the correct PIN is entered to 
confirm and stop the notification calls. If an answering machine or a person answers a call and 
the correct PIN is not entered, then calls will be made every 2 hours for the remainder of the 
24-hour period. 

Normal with Delay: Calls will be made every 30 minutes for 24 hours or until the correct PIN is 
entered to confirm and stop the notification calls. If an answering machine or a person answers 
a call and the correct PIN is not entered, then calls will be made every 2 hours for the 
remainder of the 24-hour period. Transfer notification calls will be delayed for 4 hours from the 
time the record is received by VINE. Death notification calls will be delayed for 24 hours from the 

time the record is received by VINE.  

Non-Emergency with Delay: Calls will be made every 30 minutes between 7:00 am – 10:00 pm 
for 24 hours or until the call is confirmed. Calls are confirmed and stopped by entering your 
PIN. If an answering machine or a person answers a call and the correct PIN is not entered, calls 
will continue every 2 hours for 24 hours between 7:00 am – 10:00 pm. 
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Over the past few years, IowaVINE has consistently seen an increase in use both for its search 
functions and its registration and notification capabilities.  There has been a consistent trend to 
electronic notification and specifically an increase in the use of text and email notifications.  The 
following tables show a five-year summary from SFY 14 to SFY18. 
 

SFY14 – SFY18 Total Searches 

 SFY14 SFY15 SFY16 SFY17 SFY18 

Phone 2,591 2,417 2,024 2,404 2,254 

VINEWatch 2,779 2,678 2,463 2,649 2,358 

VINELink 382,667 481,555 505,341 608,426 798,714 

VINEMobile 534,334 1,613,883 1,700,289 1,317,628 51,183 

MobilePatrol 0 530,875 2,602,580 3,672.463 4,445,873 

The next table outlines the five-year trend of notification and registration events. 

SFY14- SFY18 Total Registrations and Notifications 
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Total	Phone	Events 12,359 14,426 19,673 22,367 20,473
Total	TTY	Events 203 150 102 86 72
Total	Text	Events 28,734 40,056 50,457 77,140 94,044
Total	Email	Events 50,244 55,976 62,940 71,562 69,894
New	Registrations 47,547 54,401 62,624 78,760 87,669
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Iowa Identity Theft Passport Program 
The Iowa Identity Theft Passport Program was implemented on July 1, 2009. Iowans who are victims 
of identity theft after that date and who have reported the crime to the appropriate law enforcement 
agency may submit an application for an Identity Theft Passport. 

Iowa law defines an identity theft victim as someone whose “identification information” is stolen with 
intent to fraudulently use or attempt to use the information to obtain credit, property, or services 
without the authorization of the victim. An individual’s identification information includes his or her 
name, address, date of birth, telephone number, driver's license number, non-operator’s identification 
number, social security number, place of employment, employee identification number, parent's legal 
surname prior to marriage, demand deposit account number, savings or checking account number, or 
credit card number.  

An Identity Theft Passport will not be issued to a person in the case of an identity mistake or because 
the person has lost documents containing identifying information.  

When a victim reports identity theft to law enforcement, he or she can apply for an Identity Theft 
Passport. The law enforcement agency will submit the completed application, law enforcement 
verification form, and other necessary documents to the Identity Theft Passport Program. Once all 
necessary information is obtained, eligibility for an Identity Theft Passport will be determined. An 
application will generally be processed within 30 days of receipt by the program. 

A law enforcement agency, creditor, or consumer report agency may consider the Identity Theft 
Passport as they determine their course of investigation and action. The information may help 
prevent the victim’s arrest or detention for an offense committed by someone using their identity. The 
information may also help a creditor who is trying to determine if fraudulent charges were made 
against the victim’s accounts or if accounts were opened using the victim’s identity. And the Identity 
Theft Passport may be given to a consumer-reporting agency to show that there is an identity dispute 
on the victim’s consumer record. The consumer-reporting agency will include the Identity Theft 
Passport information in future credit reports related to the crime victim. 

An identity theft passport is valid for five (5) years from the date of issuance or renewal. A person can 
apply to renew an Identity Theft Passport within 30 calendar days after its expiration.  

A person issued an Identity Theft Passport must notify the Identity Theft Passport Program in writing 
of a change in their name or address. The holder of an Identity Theft Passport must immediately 
notify the program and the investigating law enforcement agency if the document is lost or stolen.  

Iowa Code Chapter 22 requires that an application for an Identity Theft Passport is confidential and is 
not a public record subject to disclosure. Any person other than the holder of the Identity Theft 
Passport will be directed to the victim or the law enforcement agency that was the source of the 
information.  
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The Iowa Legislature changed the eligibility requirements of the legislation around the Identity Theft 
Passport program. Before July 1, 2015 (SFY16), proof that the crime happened in Iowa was required. 
New legislative language clarified that the victim must reside in Iowa at the time of the crime. This 
change will allow more victims to receive Identity Theft Passports in the future. 

In SFY17 and SFY18, the program saw a slight decline in applications and approvals.  CVAD staff 
continue to raise awareness about the program.  As part of the Iowa Identity Theft Victim Assistance 
Coalition (IDTVAC), CVAD staff share information about the program with coalition members to 
increase awareness of the resource and how it works. The program is listed as a resource on an 
informational sheet that all members from the organization distribute to the populations they serve. 
CVAD staff have developed relationships with the Iowa DOT’s Bureau of Investigation & Identity 
Protection, Consumer Protection Division, Polk County Attorney’s Office, and various law 
enforcement agencies around the state regarding the program. CVAD staff utilize social media and 
display our brochures at tabling events to raise awareness of the program and reach more individuals. 

The chart below shows the Identity Theft Passport Program usage since its launch in SFY2014.  

 

Applications can be accessed on the website at https://www.iowaattorneygeneral.gov/for-crime-
victims/identity-theft-passport-program/. 
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Iowa Protective Order Notification (IowaPON) 
The Iowa Protective Order Notification (IowaPON) system is a service for domestic violence and 
sexual assault protective order petitioners, others deemed to be at-risk by the abuser (respondent), 
advocates, and officers. IowaPON is open to the public for registration. The information is free and is 
available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. IowaPON is available in English and Spanish and has 24-hour 
Operator Assistance. IowaPON is different from VINE (offender-based system). IowaPON is a service 
of the Iowa Attorney General’s Crime Victim Assistance Division (CVAD) and the Criminal Justice 
Information Systems (CJIS) within the Department of Human Rights. 

The IowaPON system launched May 1, 2012 after a statewide testing phase that began in June, 2010. 
The program provides registrants email and/or phone message notification when a civil protective 
order or criminal no contact order is served and 30 days prior to the order’s expiration. 

Individuals can access the notification system via telephone at 888-742-8463 or 
www.registervpo.com. Since the system is a ‘closed’ system, the registrant will need to provide very 
specific information including case number, respondent’s full name, and county of issuance.  

IowaPON is a PIN first service, to assure the confidentiality of the notification and the petitioner. The 
actual notification message isn’t made until the PIN is entered. Generic messages will be played and 
left on voice mail until a live call is picked up and the PIN entered.  

Standard:  These notifications are done after a protective order has been served. A ‘standard’ 
call is one that will be made every 30 minutes until a notification call is answered. If the call is 
answered but not confirmed, subsequent calls will be made every 2 hours. Generic notification 
messages will be left on answering machine, but calls will continue every 2 hours. Notification 
calls will be made for 24 hours or until the correct PIN code is entered to confirm the call. 

Advanced:  These notifications are done prior to a protective order expiring. An ‘advanced’ call 
will be made in advance of a scheduled event (e.g. 30 days prior to the expiration of a 
permanent order). Calls will be made every 30 minutes between the hours of 7 a.m. and 10 p.m. 
until a notification call is answered. If the call is answered but not confirmed, subsequent calls 
will be made every 2 hours. Generic notification messages will be left on answering machine, 
but calls will continue every 2 hours. Notification calls will be made for 24 hours or until the 
correct PIN code is entered to confirm the call. 

The IowaPON program began being tested in calendar year (CY) 2011 and was live by December 31, 
2012. The yearlong testing phase was crucial to ensure that notifications were not missed. In CY2011, 
outreach and training were held across the state, providing information to victim advocates, clerks of 
court and law enforcement about the benefits of IowaPON and its use for victim safety. This series of 
training was then followed up with webinars for those who were not able to attend the training in 
person. Directly before launch, another series of trainings were held across the state. In coordination 
with a press conference with the Attorney General, IowaPON was launched the Spring of 2013. 
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Registrants can receive notifications in both English and Spanish and they can receive those via phone 
call or email. 

The table below shows the total registrations for IowaPON throughout the life of the program. It 
should be noted that for SFY11 & SFY12 the program was in a testing phase with limited counties. 
SFY13 - SFY18 show actual operational numbers. There have been a total of 2,924 registrations since 
testing in June 2010 and the formal launch in May 2012. The table below reflects Total registrations 
through SFY18. 

 

As awareness and outreach efforts increased across the state, the numbers increased for this newly 
launched notification program. The table on the next page represents the total notifications that have 
gone out over the span of the program’s lifetime (SFY2012 – SFY2018). 
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Total notifications have increased steadily over the comparison period. For the program period, there 
have been 1,575 phone notifications and 1,188 email notifications.  

As the system gains momentum across the state, there will be an increase in both registrations and 
notifications across the program. Within the past FY, training of sheriff’s offices has made a big 
difference in parts of the state. Dispatchers are entering the service of the protective orders more 
consistently thus notifications of service are being made timely. 

In SFY2017, the Iowa legislature enacted law enabling victims of sexual assault to obtain a protective 
order. The program should see increased usage due to this addition in protective order options. The 
legislation also mandated clerks of court inform victims of their right to register. This has increased our 
demand for training and awareness around this program for clerks of court. 

Due to the legislative change mentioned above the program name changed July 1, 2017 from the Iowa 
Protective Order Notification Program for Domestic Abuse (IPONDA) to The Iowa Protective Order 
Notification Program (IowaPON). Rebranding and marketing was featured throughout SFY2018. 
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Registrant Watch Program 
The Registrant Watch Program is Iowa’s automated notification system for tracking of sex offenders. 
Registrant Watch was developed with the assistance of the Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation’s 
Department of Public Safety’s Sex Offender Registry Program and was fully implemented in Fiscal 
Year 2012. The Sex Offender Registry Program maintains the data received from the counties 
regarding sex offender updates. 

Registrant Watch assists individuals who register for notification of sex offender updates in their 
neighborhoods, cities, or states. Registered sex offenders fall along a tier system in the State of Iowa. 
Tier one offenders must update registration once per year. Tier two offenders must update their 
status twice per year. Tier three offenders must update their information three times per year. 

Registrant Watch provides 24-hour access to sex offender registration information online while having 
the ability to register for sex offender’s location and other characteristics. The system then provides 
the registrant with email or phone messages with a change in the location or identification 
information of that sex offender. 

The service contacts individuals via phone and or email. Phone calls can come at any time of the day. If 
there is no answer or the call goes to an answering machine, the system will call back once for a total 
of two calls. A short message will be left on the answering machine. This service is confidential and 
free of charge. 

To register, go to www.iowasexoffender.com or call 515-725-6050. 
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CVAD Human Trafficking Initiatives 
 
The Iowa Attorney General’s Office is dedicated to protecting trafficking victims and preventing future 
trafficking within the state of Iowa. As a department, we work to combat the crime of human trafficking by 
providing programming that directly benefit victims of trafficking, by funding local crime victim service 
organizations that provide direct services to trafficking survivors and by assisting the criminal justice system in 
holding traffickers responsible for the effects of their actions.  

Human Trafficking Direct Services 

While victim service agencies across the state continue to provide services to human trafficking survivors, 
CVAD was able to provide targeted funding to five programs to deliver human trafficking-specific services in 
Iowa: NIAD/Crisis Intervention Service (Mason City), Cedar Valley Friends (Waverly), Family Resources/Braking 
Traffik (Davenport/Quad Cities), and Youth and Shelter Services (Ames/Des Moines).  
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Human Trafficking Prevention & Awareness Grants 

The purpose of the Human Trafficking Prevention & Awareness Grant is to support the development and/or 
enhancement of education, awareness, and prevention projects to and about human trafficking victims. 
Projects were funded through a combination of federal victim services funds and State of Iowa, legislatively 
mandated trafficking training and prevention set aside funds in SFY15. In State Fiscal Year 2018, CVAD funded 
eight programs to develop and implement projects related directly to increased awareness and prevention of 
labor and sex trafficking in Iowa: 

Funded Program Project 
 
Braking Traffik (Family 
Resources) 
 
Statewide 
Grant Amount: $56,600 

 
Statewide awareness campaign on workers’ rights, labor and sex trafficking, 
and how labor trafficking victims may access help. In partnership with the 
pro-bono immigration legal organization Justice for Our Neighbors (JFON) 
and Iowa Workforce Development (IWD), the outreach campaign targeted 
documented and undocumented immigrants, refugees, temporary 
international workers in Iowa on H2-A/H2-B Visas, and migrant seasonal 
farm workers. Information on workers’ rights, forms of immigration relief 
available for trafficking survivors, and available victim services disseminated 
to workers throughout the state. Water bottles and sunscreen sticks with 
the statewide victim hotline number created for dissemination during 
outreach. Statewide PSA Campaign developed in SFY2017 with this funding 
(TV ads, informational brochures, and social media) translated into multiple 
languages to coincide with the labor trafficking prevention initiative. 30 
billboards across Iowa feature human trafficking PSAs and include the 
logo/information of the lead DV/SA service providers in the region. 
 

 
Blank Children’s Hospital 
 

Polk County 
Grant Amount: $49,500 

 

 
High-risk assessment tool and database to proactively identify and track 
children who may be at risk for victimization, or have already been victims, 
of commercial sexual exploitation (sex trafficking). Modeled after an 
existing tool developed in Colorado, A multi-disciplinary team was 
established in Iowa between Blank Children’s Hospital Regional Child 
Protection Center (RCPC), Des Moines metro law enforcement agencies, 
DHS, the local prosecutors’ offices, advocacy centers, probation, shelter, 
and school systems. A formal MOU and confidentiality agreement and the 
creation of a secure database will allow partners to share aggregate 
information on at-risk youth who exhibit “identifiers” or “enhancers” of 
human trafficking, as well as information on conducted forensic interviews 
and medical examinations. The project is aimed at identifying and 
preventing victimization but may also be used to assist in the investigation 
and prosecution of traffickers who exploit vulnerable children. 
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Iowa DOT/MVE  
 
Statewide 
Grant Amount: $30,500 

 
Statewide PSA Campaign via radio, satellite radio, and social media. 
Motorists encouraged to fight human trafficking by calling the Iowa Victim 
Services Call Center and/or the National Human Trafficking Hotline to report 
suspicious activity they may encounter while traveling on Iowa’s highway 
system. Through an established relationship with national organization 
Truckers Against Trafficking (TAT), public education will be conducted at 
the 38th Annual Walcott Trucker’s Jamboree (July 13-15) and opening day of 
the Iowa State Fair (August 10, 2017). Estimated 44,000 and 90,000 people 
attending, respectively. Funding for social media activity is recommended 
specifically as this was identified as a needed form of outreach by trafficking 
survivors who participated in our human trafficking statewide needs 
assessment (forthcoming). 
 

 
Youth and Shelter Services 
(Teens Against Human 
Trafficking) 
 
Black Hawk, Buena Vista, Calhoun, 
Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Hardin, 
Humboldt, Kossuth, Linn, Story, 
Webster, Winnebago, Wright, 
Carroll, Clay, Hamilton, Palo Alto, 
Pocahontas, Sioux, and Woodbury 
Grant Amount: $25,000 

 
Funding for part-time community educator to conduct human trafficking 
awareness and prevention education programming in schools and 
communities throughout central and north central Iowa. Community 
educator will continue to evaluate the need for further training within 
existing service area while expanding into additional counties. 
 

 
Sac and Fox Tribe of the 
Mississippi 
 
Meskwaki Settlement 
Grant Amount: $20,000 

 
External consultants hired to develop a strategic plan focused on human 
trafficking. The plan includes a needs assessment, a review of current 
organizational structure, and determination of community risk. Out of this 
strategic plan Meskwaki Victim Services will determine potential root causes 
of trafficking within this specific community, identify tribal code updates 
necessary to prevent future trafficking, identify educational and resource 
needs, identify verbiage to be used in community outreach, and identify 
ways to make victims of trafficking not feel like criminals. The plan also 
identifies organizations inside and outside of the Tribe that should be a part 
of the anti-trafficking program. The goal of the overall human trafficking 
program is to raise awareness amongst tribal populations, provide outreach 
to the community, and promote social change in an accessible and 
culturally-sensitive manner. 
 

 
GLBT Youth In Iowa 
Schools  
(Iowa Safe Schools) 
 
Statewide 
Grant Amount: $10,500 

 
Social media campaign advertising human trafficking awareness through 
Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Campaign focused on increasing visibility 
of the issue of human trafficking, creating awareness about educational 
events, and engaging Iowans to sign up for more information. Funding 
would also create specialized Pride Packs to be handed out at Iowa Pride 
events. These specialized materials would include information on victim 
identification, resources, and generalized awareness on the issue. As a 
stipulation to receiving this funding, Iowa Safe Schools required to 
coordinate with a CVAD-funded human trafficking victim service agency to 
create specialized-GLBT outreach materials including brochures and 
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handouts to engage Iowans on human Trafficking. 
 

 
University of Iowa Rape 
Victim Advocacy Program 
 
Statewide 
Grant Amount: $5,400 

 
Social media video advertisement strategy. A multicultural and inclusive 
lens was to be utilized in order to create social media videos targeting Iowa’s 
Latinx communities. Bilingual videos going back and forth from Spanish to 
English placed on multiple social media platforms including Facebook. Ads 
to raise awareness about both labor and sex trafficking, as well as where 
victims might access services. 

 
Wings of Refuge 
 
Statewide 
Grant Amount: $2,500 

 
Anticipated cost of printed educational materials for the year including 
informational handouts, posters, and training manuals. All printed materials 
aimed at increasing awareness and education on trafficking as well as 
information for human trafficking hotlines. 

 

Statewide Training and Collaboration 

The Iowa Attorney General’s office, in collaboration with the Iowa Department of Public Safety Office to 
Combat Human Trafficking and the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy, sponsored the 2018 Iowa Human 
Trafficking Summit held on April 18-19, 2018 at Prairie Meadows Event Center.   The Summit focused on 
increasing awareness and understanding of all forms of trafficking, best practices for serving trafficking 
survivors, and multi-disciplinary response coordination. The Summit featured local and national experts in law 
enforcement, prosecution, victim services and medical tracks. 

Attendance at the 2-day Summit exceeded initial expectations, with 403 individuals attending the Summit.  
Attendees represented a variety of professions including victim service, law enforcement, social work, medical, 
prosecution, legal and other.  Feedback from the Summit was largely positive and more than 89% of 
conference attendees indicated that the Summit met or exceeded their expectations.    
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Sexual Assault Kit Initiative 

CVAD was awarded a total of $3 million to deal with previously-untested sexual assault evidence kits 
in the possession of Iowa law enforcement agencies. An inventory of law enforcement agencies 
conducted in SFY16 and 17 showed 4,265 untested kits. About half of the kits inventoried were 
prioritized for testing under the Sexual Assault Kit Initiative (SAKI) funds. Prioritization was 
determined by the SAKI multi-disciplinary team (MDT) based on the reason each kit was not sent in 
for testing at the time it was collected. 2,274 (54%) of kits inventoried met the MDT’s testing strategy. 
Those reasons include: 

• Doubt Truthfulness of Accusation (14.6%) 
• Analysis not requested by prosecution (10.5%) 
• Other (8.8%) 
• Questions regarding consent (5.6%) 
• Uncertain of usefulness of forensic evidence (5.5%) 
• Case has been dismissed (2.9%) 
• Suspect not identified (2.6%) 
• Suspect identified but not formally charged (2.6%) 
• No information provided; insufficient funding for analysis of evidence (<1% each) 

During SFY18, the Iowa Sexual Assault Kit Initiative (SAKI) conducted significant project activity. 
Through a contract with Bode Cellmark to analyze sexual assault evidence kits, 690 kits were 
submitted to Bode Cellmark for analysis. 143 kits analyzed during SFY18 were negative for DNA. 166 
were positive for male DNA. 51 DNA profiles were entered into state and federal databases. 21 DNA 
matches occurred during SFY18.   

CVAD partnered with the Department of Public Safety Division of Intelligence utilizing grant funds to 
support creation of a packet of investigative information such as criminal history and last known 
contact information for the individual whose DNA matched the kit evidence, as well as contact 
information for the victim. This information provides the jurisdictional law enforcement agency with a 
head start in notifying the victim of the new information from the case; and re-investigating through 
the DNA match. All 21 cases with a DNA match were forwarded to law enforcement for follow up.  

A project website went live in March, 2018 for stakeholders involved in sexual assault response, and 
survivors of sexual assault. The website, https://www.iowasaki.com/,  provides updates on the project, 
resources for professionals who deal with sexual assault cases, and gives survivors the ability to 
contact SAKI staff to “opt-in” to notification when the kit is tested, or “opt out” of notification. 757 
users visited the website from March through June.  
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During SFY18 SAKI identified and developed training opportunities for members of sexual assault 
response team communities such as law enforcement, prosecution, victim advocacy, and sexual 
assault nurse examiners.  Plans were made to bring two members of SAKI training and technical 
assistance provider AEquitas to Iowa to train professionals from across the state on the topics of 
overcoming the consent defense, trauma informed interviewing, and reaching a verdict. Although the 
AEquitas visits were conducted in July, preparations were finalized in SFY18.  Also, during this time 
SAKI began development of trainings on initial contact with victims of sexual assault, and on report 
writing for sexual assault cases.  These trainings are crucial to preparing law enforcement officers to 
respond not only to sexual assault, but all violent crimes in which trauma effects the victim. These two 
trainings were approved by the US Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Assistance for SART 
partners throughout Iowa and are offered free of charge across the state.  
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Attorney General’s Office  

(Crime Victim Assistance Division) 

 

13.31  Victim assistance program. 

A victim assistance program is established in the department of justice, which shall do all of the following: 

1. Administer grants received under the federal Victims of Crime Act pursuant to Pub. L. No. 98-473, Tit. 2, ch. 
14, 42 U.S.C. § 10601, as amended by the federal Children’s Justice and Assistance Act, Pub. L. No. 99-401, 100 
Stat. 903 (1986). 

2. Administer the state crime victim compensation program as provided in chapter 915. 

3. Administer the domestic abuse program provided in chapter 236. 

4. Administer the family violence prevention and services grants pursuant to the federal Child Abuse 
Amendments of 1984, Pub. L. No. 98-457, 42 U.S.C. § 10401. 

5. Administer payment for sexual abuse medical examinations pursuant to section 915.41. 

6. Administer the violence against women program and grants received pursuant to the federal Violence 
Against Women Act, Tit. IV of the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994, Pub. L. No. 103-
322, 42 U.S.C. § 13701. 

7. Administer an automated victim notification system as authorized pursuant to section 915.10A. 

89 Acts, ch 279, §1; 90 Acts, ch 1251, §1; 91 Acts, ch 181, §16; 98 Acts, ch 1090, §58, 84; 2002 Acts, ch 1016, §1; 
2007 Acts, ch 27, §1; 2010 Acts, ch 1061, §180 

Federal Act reference updated pursuant to Code editor directive 

  

 

Crime Victim Compensation Fund  

 

915.94 Victim compensation fund. 

A victim compensation fund is established as a separate fund in the state treasury. Moneys deposited in the 
fund shall be administered by the department and dedicated to and used for the purposes of section 915.41 and 
this subchapter. In addition, the department may use moneys from the fund for the purpose of the 
department’s prosecutor-based victim service coordination, including the duties defined in sections 910.3 and 
910.6 and this chapter, and for the award of funds to programs that provide services and support to victims of 
domestic abuse or sexual assault as provided in chapter 236, to victims under section 710A.2, and for the 
support of an automated victim notification system established in section 915.10A. The department may also 
use up to one hundred thousand dollars from the fund to provide training for victim service providers. 
Notwithstanding section 8.33, any balance in the fund on June 30 of any fiscal year shall not revert to the 
general fund of the state. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §55, 84; 2001 Acts, ch 84, §1; 2006 Acts, ch 1074, §8; 2007 Acts, ch 22, §111; 2007 Acts, ch 27, 
§10 
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Crime Victim Compensation Program 

(Crime Victim Assistance Board) 

 

915.80  Definitions. 

As used in this subchapter, unless the context otherwise requires: 

1. “Compensation” means moneys awarded by the department as authorized in this subchapter. 

2. “Crime” means conduct that occurs or is attempted in this state, poses a substantial threat of personal 
injury or death, and is punishable as a felony or misdemeanor, or would be so punishable but for the fact that 
the person engaging in the conduct lacked the capacity to commit the crime under the laws of this state. 
“Crime” does not include conduct arising out of the ownership, maintenance, or use of a motor vehicle, 
motorcycle, motorized bicycle, train, boat, or aircraft except for violations of section 321.261, 321.277, 321J.2, 
462A.7, 462A.12, 462A.14, or 707.6A, or when the intention is to cause personal injury or death. A license 
revocation under section 321J.9 or 321J.12 shall be considered by the department as evidence of a violation of 
section 321J.2 for the purposes of this subchapter. A license suspension or revocation under section 462A.14, 
462A.14B, or 462A.23 shall be considered by the department as evidence of a violation of section 462A.14 for 
the purposes of this subchapter. 

3. “Department” means the department of justice. 

4. “Dependent” means a person wholly or partially dependent upon a victim for care or support and includes a 
child of the victim born after the victim’s death. 

5. “Secondary victim” means the victim’s spouse, children, parents, and siblings, and any person who resides 
in the victim’s household at the time of the crime or at the time of the discovery of the crime. “Secondary 
victim” does not include persons who are the survivors of a victim who dies as a result of a crime. 

6. “Victim” means a person who suffers personal injury or death as a result of any of the following: 

a. A crime. 

b. The good faith effort of a person attempting to prevent a crime. 

c. The good faith effort of a person to apprehend a person suspected of committing a crime. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §41, 84; 2007 Acts, ch 27, §7 

 

915.81  Award of compensation. 

The department shall award compensation authorized by this subchapter if the department is satisfied that 
the requirements for compensation have been met. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §42, 84 

 

915.82  Crime victim assistance board. 

1. A crime victim assistance board is established, and shall consist of the following members to be appointed 
pursuant to rules adopted by the department: 
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a. A county attorney or assistant county attorney. 

b. Two persons engaged full-time in law enforcement. 

c. A public defender or an attorney practicing primarily in criminal defense. 

d. A hospital medical staff person involved with emergency services. 

e. Two public members who have received victim services. 

f. A victim service provider. 

g. A person licensed pursuant to chapter 154B or 154C. 

h. A person representing the elderly. 

Board members shall be reimbursed for expenses actually and necessarily incurred in the discharge of their 
duties. 

2. The board shall adopt rules pursuant to chapter 17A relating to program policies and procedures. 

3. A victim aggrieved by the denial or disposition of the victim’s claim may appeal to the district court within 
thirty days of receipt of the board’s decision. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §43, 84 

 

915.83  Duties of department. 

The department shall: 

1. Adopt rules pursuant to chapter 17A relating to the administration of the crime victim compensation 
program, including the filing of claims pursuant to the program, and the hearing and disposition of the claims. 

2. Hear claims, determine the results relating to claims, and reinvestigate and reopen cases as necessary. 

3. Publicize through the department, county sheriff departments, municipal police departments, county 
attorney offices, and other public or private agencies, the existence of the crime victim compensation program, 
including the procedures for obtaining compensation under the program. 

4. Request from the department of human services, the department of workforce development and its 
division of workers’ compensation, the department of public safety, the county sheriff departments, the 
municipal police departments, the county attorneys, or other public authorities or agencies reasonable 
assistance or data necessary to administer the crime victim compensation program. 

5. Require medical examinations of victims as needed. The victim shall be responsible for the cost of the 
medical examination if compensation is made. The department shall be responsible for the cost of the medical 
examination from funds appropriated to the department for the crime victim compensation program if 
compensation is not made to the victim unless the cost of the examination is payable as a benefit under an 
insurance policy or subscriber contract covering the victim or the cost is payable by a health maintenance 
organization. 

6. Receive moneys collected pursuant to section 904.702 for the purpose of compliance with Pub. L. No. 98-
473. 

98 Acts, ch 1061, §10; 98 Acts, ch 1090, §44, 84; 98 Acts, ch 1128, §2 
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915.84  Application for compensation. 

1. To claim compensation under the crime victim compensation program, a person shall apply in writing on a 
form prescribed by the department and file the application with the department within two years after the date 
of the crime, the discovery of the crime, or the date of death of the victim. The department may waive the time 
limitation if good cause is shown. 

2. A person is not eligible for compensation unless the crime was reported to the local police department or 
county sheriff department within seventy-two hours of its occurrence. If the crime cannot reasonably be 
reported within that time period, the crime shall have been reported within seventy-two hours of the time a 
report can reasonably be made. The department may waive this requirement if good cause is shown. 

3. Notwithstanding subsection 2, a victim under the age of eighteen or dependent adult as defined in section 
235B.2 who has been sexually abused or subjected to any other unlawful sexual conduct under chapter 709 or 
726 or who has been the subject of a forcible felony is not required to report the crime to the local police 
department or county sheriff department to be eligible for compensation if the crime was allegedly committed 
upon a child by a person responsible for the care of a child, as defined in section 232.68, subsection 7, or upon a 
dependent adult by a caretaker as defined in section 235B.2, and was reported to an employee of the 
department of human services and the employee verifies the report to the department. 

4. When immediate or short-term medical services or mental health services are provided to a victim under 
section 915.35, the department of human services shall file the claim for compensation as provided in 
subsection 3 for the victim. 

5. When immediate or short-term medical services to a victim are provided pursuant to section 915.35 by a 
professional licensed or certified by the state to provide such services, the professional shall file the claim for 
compensation, unless the department of human services is required to file the claim under this section. The 
requirement to report the crime to the local police department or county sheriff department under subsection 2 
does not apply to this subsection. 

6. The victim shall cooperate with reasonable requests by the appropriate law enforcement agencies in the 
investigation or prosecution of the crime. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §45, 84; 99 Acts, ch 10, §1 

 

915.85  Compensation payable. 

The department may order the payment of compensation: 

1. To or for the benefit of the person filing the claim. 

2. To a person responsible for the maintenance of the victim who has suffered pecuniary loss or incurred 
expenses as a result of personal injury to the victim. 

3. To or for the benefit of one or more dependents of the victim, in the case of death of the victim. If two or 
more dependents are entitled to compensation, the compensation may be apportioned by the department as 
the department determines to be fair and equitable among the dependents. 

4. To a victim of an act committed outside this state who is a resident of this state, if the act would be 
compensable had it occurred within this state and the act occurred in a state that does not have an eligible 
crime victim compensation program, as defined in the federal Victims of Crime Act of 1984, Pub. L. No. 98-473, 
section 1403(b), as amended and codified in 42 U.S.C. § 10602(b). 



 

Crime Victim Assistance Division 
 

Annual Report SFY18 | 69 
 

 

5. To or for the benefit of a resident of this state who is a victim of an act of terrorism as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 
2331, which occurred outside of the United States. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §46, 84 

 

915.86  Computation of compensation. 

The department shall award compensation, as appropriate, for any of the following economic losses incurred 
as a direct result of an injury to or death of the victim: 

1. Reasonable charges incurred for medical care not to exceed twenty-five thousand dollars. Reasonable 
charges incurred for mental health care not to exceed five thousand dollars which includes services provided by 
a psychologist licensed under chapter 154B, a person holding at least a master’s degree in social work or 
counseling and guidance, or a victim counselor as defined in section 915.20A. 

a. The department shall establish the rates at which it will pay charges for medical care. 

b. If the department awards compensation, in full, at the established rate for medical care, and the medical 
provider accepts the payment, the medical provider shall hold harmless the victim for any amount not collected 
that is more than the rate established by the department. 

2. Loss of income from work the victim would have performed and for which the victim would have received 
remuneration if the victim had not been injured, not to exceed six thousand dollars. 

3. Loss of income from work that the victim’s parent or caretaker would have performed and for which the 
victim’s parent or caretaker would have received remuneration for up to three days after the crime or the 
discovery of the crime to allow the victim’s parent or caretaker to assist the victim and when the victim’s parent 
or caretaker accompanies the victim to medical and counseling services, not to exceed one thousand dollars per 
parent or caretaker. 

4. Loss of income from work that the victim, the victim’s parent or caretaker, or the survivor of a homicide 
victim as described in subsection 10 would have performed and for which that person would have received 
remuneration, where the loss of income is a direct result of cooperation with the investigation and prosecution 
of the crime or attendance at criminal justice proceedings including the trial and sentencing in the case, not to 
exceed one thousand dollars. 

5. Reasonable replacement value of clothing that is held for evidentiary purposes not to exceed two hundred 
dollars. 

6. Reasonable funeral and burial expenses not to exceed seven thousand five hundred dollars. 

7. Loss of support for dependents resulting from death or a period of disability of the victim of sixty days or 
more not to exceed four thousand dollars per dependent. 

8. In the event of a victim’s death, reasonable charges incurred for counseling the victim’s spouse, children, 
parents, siblings, or persons cohabiting with or related by blood or affinity to the victim if the counseling 
services are provided by a psychologist licensed under chapter 154B, a victim counselor as defined in section 
915.20A, subsection 1, or an individual holding at least a master’s degree in social work or counseling and 
guidance, and reasonable charges incurred by such persons for medical care counseling provided by a 
psychiatrist licensed under chapter 148. The allowable charges under this subsection shall not exceed five 
thousand dollars per person. 

9. In the event of a homicide, reasonable charges incurred for health care for the victim’s spouse; child, foster 
child, stepchild, son-in-law, or daughter-in-law; parent, foster parent, or stepparent; sibling, foster sibling, 
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stepsibling, brother-in-law, or sister-in-law; grandparent; grandchild; aunt, uncle, or first cousin; legal ward; or 
person cohabiting with the victim, not to exceed three thousand dollars per survivor. 

10. In the event of a homicide, loss of income from work that, but for the death of the victim, would have 
been earned by the victim’s spouse; child, foster child, stepchild, son-in-law, or daughter-in-law; parent, foster 
parent, or stepparent; sibling, foster sibling, stepsibling, brother-in-law, or sister-in-law; grandparent; 
grandchild; aunt, uncle, or first cousin; legal ward; or person cohabiting with the victim, not to exceed six 
thousand dollars. 

11. Reasonable expenses incurred for cleaning the scene of a crime, if the scene is a residence, not to exceed 
one thousand dollars. 

12. Reasonable charges incurred for mental health care for secondary victims which include the services 
provided by a psychologist licensed under chapter 154B, a person holding at least a master’s degree in social 
work, counseling, or a related field, a victim counselor as defined in section 915.20A, or a psychiatrist licensed 
under chapter 148. The allowable charges under this subsection shall not exceed two thousand dollars per 
secondary victim. 

13. Reasonable dependent care expenses incurred by the victim, the victim’s parent or caretaker, or the 
survivor of a homicide victim as described in subsection 10 for the care of dependents while attending criminal 
justice proceedings or medical or counseling services, not to exceed one thousand dollars per person. 

14. Reasonable expenses incurred by a victim, the victim’s parent or caretaker, or the survivor of a victim as 
described in subsection 10 to replace locks, windows, and other residential security items at the victim’s 
residence or at the residential scene of a crime, not to exceed five hundred dollars per residence. 

15. Reasonable expenses incurred by the victim, a secondary victim, the parent or guardian of a victim, or the 
survivor of a homicide victim as described in subsection 10 for transportation to medical, counseling, funeral, or 
criminal justice proceedings, not to exceed one thousand dollars per person. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §47, 84; 98 Acts, ch 1128, §1, 2; 99 Acts, ch 10, §2; 2000 Acts, ch 1064, §1, 2; 2007 Acts, ch 27, 
§8, 9; 2009 Acts, ch 178, §29; 2009 Acts, ch 179, §47 

 

 

915.87  Reductions and disqualifications. 

Compensation is subject to reduction and disqualification as follows: 

1. Compensation shall be reduced by the amount of any payment received, or to be received, as a result of the 
injury or death: 

a. From or on behalf of a person who committed the crime or who is otherwise responsible for damages 
resulting from the crime. 

b. From an insurance payment or program, including but not limited to workers’ compensation or 
unemployment compensation. 

c. From public funds. 

d. As an emergency award under section 915.91. 

2. Compensation shall not be made when the bodily injury or death for which a benefit is sought was caused 
by any of the following: 
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a. Consent, provocation, or incitement by the victim. 

b. The victim assisting, attempting, or committing a criminal act. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §48, 84 

 

915.88  Compensation when money insufficient. 

Notwithstanding this subchapter, a victim otherwise qualified for compensation under the crime victim 
compensation program is not entitled to the compensation when there is insufficient money from the 
appropriation for the program to pay the compensation. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §49, 84 

 

915.89  Erroneous or fraudulent payment — penalty. 

1. If a payment or overpayment of compensation is made because of clerical error, mistaken identity, 
innocent misrepresentation by or on behalf of the recipient, or other circumstances of a similar nature, not 
induced by fraud by or on behalf of the recipient, the recipient is liable for repayment of the compensation. The 
department may waive, decrease, or adjust the amount of the repayment of the compensation. However, if the 
department does not notify the recipient of the erroneous payment or overpayment within one year of the date 
the compensation was made, the recipient is not liable for the repayment of the compensation. 

2. If a payment or overpayment has been induced by fraud by or on behalf of a recipient, the recipient is liable 
for repayment of the compensation. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §50, 84 

 

915.90  Release of information. 

A person in possession or control of investigative or other information pertaining to an alleged crime or a 
victim filing for compensation shall allow the inspection and reproduction of the information by the department 
upon the request of the department, to be used only in the administration and enforcement of the crime victim 
compensation program. Information and records which are confidential under section 22.7 and information or 
records received from the confidential information or records remain confidential under this section. 

A person does not incur legal liability by reason of releasing information to the department as required under 
this section. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §51, 84 

 

  915.91  Emergency payment compensation. 

If the department determines that compensation may be made and that undue hardship may result to the 
person if partial immediate payment is not made, the department may order emergency compensation to be 
paid to the person, not to exceed five hundred dollars. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §52, 84 
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915.92  Right of action against perpetrator — subrogation. 

A right of legal action by the victim against a person who has committed a crime is not lost as a consequence 
of a person receiving compensation under the crime victim compensation program. If a person receiving 
compensation under the program seeks indemnification which would reduce the compensation under section 
915.87, subsection 1, the department is subrogated to the recovery to the extent of payments by the 
department to or on behalf of the person. The department has a right of legal action against a person who has 
committed a crime resulting in payment of compensation by the department to the extent of the compensation 
payment. However, legal action by the department does not affect the right of a person to seek further relief in 
other legal actions. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §53, 84 

 

915.93  Rulemaking. 

The department shall adopt rules pursuant to chapter 17A to implement the procedures for reparation 
payments with respect to section 915.35 and section 915.84, subsections 3, 4, and 5. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §54, 84 

 

915.94  Victim compensation fund. 

A victim compensation fund is established as a separate fund in the state treasury. Moneys deposited in the 
fund shall be administered by the department and dedicated to and used for the purposes of section 915.41 and 
this subchapter. In addition, the department may use moneys from the fund for the purpose of the 
department’s prosecutor-based victim service coordination, including the duties defined in sections 910.3 and 
910.6 and this chapter, and for the award of funds to programs that provide services and support to victims of 
domestic abuse or sexual assault as provided in chapter 236, to victims under section 710A.2, and for the 
support of an automated victim notification system established in section 915.10A. The department may also 
use up to one hundred thousand dollars from the fund to provide training for victim service providers. 
Notwithstanding section 8.33, any balance in the fund on June 30 of any fiscal year shall not revert to the 
general fund of the state. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §55, 84; 2001 Acts, ch 84, §1; 2006 Acts, ch 1074, §8; 2007 Acts, ch 22, §111; 2007 Acts, ch 27, 
§10  

 

 

 

Sexual Abuse Examination Payment Program   

 

 915.41 Medical examination costs. 

The cost of a medical examination of a victim for the purpose of gathering evidence and the cost of treatment 
of a victim for the purpose of preventing venereal disease shall be paid from the fund established in section 
915.94. 
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98 Acts, ch 1090, §34, 84; 99 Acts, ch 114, §48 

 

Victim Services Support Program  

(Domestic Abuse and Sexual Abuse Program and domestic and sexual abuse hotlines) 

 

236.16  Department powers and duties. 

1. The department shall: 

a. Designate and award grants for existing and pilot programs pursuant to this chapter to provide emergency 
shelter services and support services to victims of domestic abuse. 

b. Design and implement a uniform method of collecting data from domestic abuse organizations funded 
under this chapter. 

c. Designate and award moneys for publicizing and staffing a statewide, toll-free telephone hotline for use by 
victims of domestic abuse. The department may award a grant to a public agency or a private, nonprofit 
organization for the purpose of operating the hotline. The operation of the hotline shall include informing 
victims of their rights and of various community services that are available, referring victims to service 
providers, receiving complaints concerning misconduct by peace officers and encouraging victims to refer such 
complaints to the office of citizens’ aide, providing counseling services to victims over the telephone, and 
providing domestic abuse victim advocacy. 

d. Advertise the toll-free telephone hotline through the use of public service announcements, billboards, print 
and broadcast media services, and other appropriate means, and contact media organizations to encourage the 
provision of free or inexpensive advertising concerning the hotline and its services. 

e. Develop, with the assistance of the entity operating the telephone hotline and other domestic abuse victim 
services providers, brochures explaining the rights of victims set forth under section 236.12 and the services of 
the telephone hotline, and distribute the brochures to law enforcement agencies, victim service providers, 
health practitioners, charitable and religious organizations, and other entities that may have contact with 
victims of domestic abuse. 

2. The department shall consult and cooperate with all public and private agencies which may provide 
services to victims of domestic abuse, including but not limited to, legal services, social services, prospective 
employment opportunities, and unemployment benefits. 

3. The department may accept, use, and dispose of contributions of money, services, and property made 
available by an agency or department of the state or federal government, or a private agency or individual. 

85 Acts, ch 175, §7; 89 Acts, ch 279, §6; 91 Acts, ch 218, §15 

 

IowaVINE and IPONDA Programs 
 

915.10A  Automated victim notification system. 

1. An automated victim notification system is established within the crime victim assistance division of the 
department of justice to assist public officials in informing crime victims, the victim’s family, or other interested 
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persons as provided in this subchapter and where otherwise specifically provided. The system shall disseminate 
the information to registered users through telephonic, electronic, or other means of access. 

2. An office, agency, or department may satisfy a notification obligation to registered victims required by this 
subchapter through participation in the system to the extent information is available for dissemination through 
the system. Nothing in this section shall relieve a notification obligation under this subchapter due to the 
unavailability of information for dissemination through the system. 

3. Notwithstanding section 232.147, information concerning juveniles charged with a felony offense shall be 
released to the extent necessary to comply with this section. 

2005 Acts, ch 158, §47; 2007 Acts, ch 27, §4 

 

Identity Theft Passport Program 

 

715A.9A  Identity theft passport. 

1. The attorney general, in cooperation with any law enforcement agency, may issue an identity theft 
passport to a person who meets both of the following requirements: 

a. Is a victim of identity theft in this state as described in section 715A.8. 

b. Has filed a police report with any law enforcement agency citing that the person is a victim of identity theft. 

2. A victim who has filed a report of identity theft with a law enforcement agency may apply for an identity 
theft passport through the law enforcement agency. The law enforcement agency shall send a copy of the 
police report and the application to the attorney general, who shall process the application and supporting 
report and may issue the victim an identity theft passport in the form of a card or certificate. 

3. A victim of identity theft issued an identity theft passport may present the passport to any of the following: 

a. A law enforcement agency, to help prevent the victim’s arrest or detention for an offense committed by 
someone other than the victim who is using the victim’s identity. 

b. A creditor of the victim, to aid in the creditor’s investigation and establishment of whether fraudulent 
charges were made against accounts in the victim’s name or whether accounts were opened using the victim’s 
identity. 

4. A law enforcement agency or creditor may accept an identity theft passport issued pursuant to this section 
and presented by a victim at the discretion of the law enforcement agency or creditor. A law enforcement 
agency or creditor may consider the surrounding circumstances and available information regarding the 
offense of identity theft pertaining to the victim. 

5. An application made with the attorney general under subsection 2, including any supporting 
documentation, shall be confidential and shall not be a public record subject to disclosure under chapter 22. 

6. The attorney general shall adopt rules necessary to implement this section, which shall include a procedure 
by which the attorney general shall assure that an identity theft passport applicant has an identity theft claim 
that is legitimate and adequately substantiated. 

2006 Acts, ch 1067, §1 
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Iowa Administrative Rules Code  

Attorney General — 61 

Chapter 9 

VICTIM ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 

(Crime victim assistance division)  

DIVISION I 

ADMINISTRATION 

(Crime Victim Assistance Board) 

61—9.1(912) Definitions. 

“Board” means crime victim assistance board. 

“Department” means Iowa department of justice. 

“Director” means director of the crime victim assistance division established in the department of justice. 

61—9.2(912) Board. 

 9.2(1) A crime victim assistance board is established pursuant to Iowa Code section 912.2A. 

 9.2(2) Members of the board shall serve terms for three years and are eligible for reappointment to the 
board by the attorney general. 

 9.2(3) The initial term of the board members shall commence on 7/1 of the state fiscal year. 

61—9.3(912) Expenses. 

 9.3(1) Board members shall be reimbursed from the victim’s compensation fund for expenses actually and 
necessarily incurred in the discharge of their duties including attendance at board meetings, board committee 
meetings, and other activities on behalf of the board as designated by the board chair and approved by the 
department. Reimbursement for expenses shall conform with guidelines established by the department of 
revenue. 

 9.3(2) A member of the board may receive, in addition to actual expense reimbursement, a per diem which 
conforms with guidelines established by the department of revenue. 

 9.3(3) Expenses of the board and individual members shall be submitted to the director. 

61—9.4(912) Chair of the board. 

 9.4(1) The attorney general shall select one of the members of the board to serve as chair of the board. The 
chair shall serve at the pleasure of the attorney general. 

 9.4(2) A member who is chair of the board and relinquishes or is removed as the chair may maintain board 
membership for the remainder of the term for which the member was originally appointed. 

61—9.5(912) Resignations. 

 9.5(1) Resignations from the board shall be made to the attorney general. 

 9.5(2) Whenever a member of the board ceases to have the statutory qualifications for appointment to the 
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board, that member shall be considered to have resigned and a vacancy shall occur on the board. 

 9.5(3) A board member shall be deemed to have submitted a resignation from the board if any of the 
following events occur: 

 a.  The member does not attend three or more consecutive regular meetings of the board. This paragraph 
does not apply unless the first and last of the consecutive meetings counted for this purpose are at least 30 days 
apart. 

 b.  The person attends less than one-half of the regular meetings of the board within any period of 12 
calendar months beginning July 1. This paragraph applies only to such a period beginning on or after the date 
when the person is appointed to the board. 

 c.  If the member receives no notice and had no knowledge of a regular meeting and gives the attorney 
general a sworn statement to that effect within ten days after the person learns of the meeting, such meeting 
shall not be counted for the purposes of this rule. 

 d.  The attorney general at the attorney general’s discretion may accept or reject such resignation. If the 
attorney general accepts it, the attorney general shall notify the member, in writing, that the resignation is 
accepted pursuant to this rule. The attorney general shall then make another appointment to fill the vacancy. 

61—9.6(912) Vacancies. Barring unusual circumstances, vacancies on the board shall be filled within 45 days 
after the attorney general is advised of the vacancy. Vacancies shall be filled for the remainder of the vacant 
term. 

61—9.7(912) Meetings. The board shall meet a minimum of once per quarter. The board may also meet at the 
call of the chair or upon the written request to the chair of at least five members of the board. 

61—9.8(912) Duties of board. The board shall adopt rules pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 17A relating to the 
administration of the crime victim assistance division including the adoption of administrative rules relating to 
the following: 

 1. Administration of grants received under the federal Victims of Crime Act of 1984 pursuant to Pub. L. 
No.98-473, Title 2, Chapter 14, 42 U.S.C. Section 10601, as amended by the Children’s Justice and Assistance 
Act of 1986, Pub. L. No.99-401, 100 Stat. 903 and as amended by the Anti-Drug Abuse Act of 1988, Title VII, 
subtitle D, Pub. L. No.100-690. 

 2. Administration of the Family Violence Prevention and Services Act grant pursuant to the federal Child 
Abuse Amendments of 1984, Pub. L. No.98-457, 42 U.S.C. Section 10401, reauthorized in 1988, Pub. L. No.100-
294. 

 3. Administration of the domestic abuse and rape crisis funds and the Iowa domestic abuse hotline funds 
provided in Iowa Code chapter 236. 

 4. Administration of other grants or funds available by public law for victim assistance and administered by 
the department. 

 5. Administration of the victim compensation program provided in Iowa Code chapter 912. 

 6. Administration of sexual abuse examination payments as provided in Iowa Code section 709.10. 

 7. Appeal procedures for victim compensation claims denied by the department. 

 8. Appeal procedures for grants administered by the department and denied by the board. 

61—9.9(912) Director and staff. The attorney general shall employ a director and staff for the victim 
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assistance division and they shall be employees of the department. 

61—9.10(912) Duties of department. In addition to the duties contained in Iowa Code section 13.13, the 
department shall: 

 1. Administer other funds, grants, or programs for victim assistance created by public law or the 
department. 

 2. Provide administrative support to the board. 

 3. Enter into agreements under Iowa Code chapter 28E or other law including agreements with other state 
agencies and political subdivisions for the transfer to the department of funds authorized by law for victim 
service programs. 

 4. Accept, use, and dispose of contributions of money, services, and property, which are made available by 
an agency or department of the state or any of its political subdivisions, the federal government, a private 
agency, or an individual, that are specifically designated for crime victim assistance programs.  

 

61—9.11 to 9.24 Reserved. 

DIVISION II 

CRIME VICTIM COMPENSATION 

61—9.25(915) Administration of the crime victim compensation program. The crime victim assistance 
division of the department of justice shall administer the crime victim compensation program as provided in 
Iowa Code chapter 915. All questions, comments, requests for information, or applications for compensation 
shall be directed to the crime victim assistance division. Requests should be addressed to: Crime Victim 
Assistance Division, Lucas State Office Building, Ground Floor, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, Iowa 50319; 
telephone (515)281-5044 or 1-800-373-5044. 

61—9.26(915) Definitions. For rules of the crime victim compensation program of the crime victim assistance 
division of the department of justice, the following definitions apply: 

“Affinity” means the relationship of persons who are related by marriage, cohabitation, or engagement to 
be married. 

“Applicant” includes the following individuals who file an application with the crime victim compensation 
program: 

 1. A victim of a crime as defined in Iowa Code section 915.80(6). 

 2. A person responsible for the care and maintenance of a victim. 

 3. A resident of Iowa who is the victim of an act that would be compensable had it occurred within the 
state of Iowa and the act occurred in a state or foreign country that does not have a victim compensation 
program as defined in the federal law. 

 4. In the event of a victim’s death, the spouse, children, parents, siblings, or persons cohabiting with or 
related by blood or affinity to the victim. An estate is not an eligible applicant for crime victim compensation. 
An estate shall, however, be reimbursed for funeral and burial expenses if the estate paid the costs on behalf of 
an eligible applicant who shall benefit from the proceeds of the estate. 

 5. A legal representative authorized to act on behalf of any of the persons listed above. 
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“Board” means the crime victim assistance board of the department of justice. 

“Causal relationship” means that the crime would not have occurred without the action of the victim. A 
causal relationship exists if the actions of the victim result in a foreseeable injury, play a substantial role in the 
injury, or directly cause the injury. 

“Claimant” means an applicant who has been found to be eligible for compensation. 

“Cohabiting” means living in the same household. It is not necessary to establish that a sexual relationship 
exists between the parties. 

“Compensation” means moneys awarded by the division as authorized in Iowa Code chapter 915. 

“Consent” means to agree to a course of action or to voluntarily allow what is planned or done by another. 

“Counseling” means problem solving and support concerning emotional issues that result from a 
compensable crime. Counseling is a confidential service provided in person on an individual basis or in a group. 
Counseling has as a primary purpose to enhance, protect and restore a person’s sense of well-being and social 
functioning. Counseling does not include victim advocacy services such as crisis telephone counseling; 
conversation in a nonprivate setting such as the common area of a shelter or a courthouse; transportation; or 
attendance at medical procedures, law enforcement interviews or civil and criminal justice proceedings. 

“Crime” as defined in Iowa Code section 915.80 includes: 

 1. Conduct punishable as a misdemeanor or a felony. 

 2. Property crimes including but not limited to robbery, residential burglary, and residential arson, where 
there is a threat of personal injury or harm against a person. 

 3. Violation of a custody order in which the custodial parent suffers injury. 

“Denial” means disqualification of an application or reduction in the amount of compensation paid. 

“Department” means the department of justice, attorney general’s office. 

“Dependent” means a person who is unable to care for himself or herself due to injury, disability, or minor 
age status. 

“Director” means the director of the crime victim assistance division established in the department of 
justice. 

“Division” means the crime victim assistance division of the department of justice. 

“Incitement” means to urge forward or to goad to action. 

“Income” or “wages” means gross income or gross wages. 

“Medical care” means services provided by or provided under the supervision of a person licensed under 
Iowa law as a medical physician or surgeon, osteopathic physician or surgeon, chiropractor, podiatrist, physical 
therapist, acupuncturist, or dentist. Medical care also includes services rendered in accordance with a method 
of healing sanctioned by a federally recognized sovereign nation or tribe. 

“Medically necessary” means items and services, prescribed by a medical provider under the prescriptive 
authority of the medical provider’s license, which are reasonably necessary to facilitate the victim’s physical and 
emotional recovery from the compensable crime. 

“Pecuniary loss” means the amount of medical or medical-related expenses and shall include, but not be 
limited to, eyeglasses, hearing aids, dentures, prosthetic devices including those which were taken, lost, or 
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destroyed during the crime, home health care, medications, counseling, pregnancy-related services, equipment 
rental or purchase, property alteration, transportation for emergencies and medical care provided outside the 
victim’s county of residence, or health insurance premiums covered by an employer previous to the victim’s 
disability from the crime. Pecuniary loss shall also include the loss of income that the victim has incurred as a 
direct result of the injury to the extent that the victim has not been and shall not be indemnified from any other 
source. 

“Personal injury” or “injury” means bodily harm or mental suffering and shall include a victim’s pregnancy or 
miscarriage resulting from a crime. 

“Program” means the crime victim compensation program of the department of justice. 

“Provocation” means to cause anger, resentment, or deep feelings that cause or instigate another to take 
action. 

“Public funds” means moneys provided by federal, state, county, city or other local government. 

“Reasonable charges” means charges ordinarily charged by the provider of the service to the general public 
for services of a similar nature. 

61—9.27(915) Duties of the division. The duties of the division shall include, but not be limited to, the duties 
provided for in Iowa Code sections 13.31 and 915.83, as well as: 

 1. To prepare appropriate forms for the filing and processing of compensation applications. 

 2. To conduct an administrative review of claims when a request for reconsideration is filed by an applicant 
with the director. 

 3. To receive moneys bequeathed, awarded, or donated to the crime victim assistance division by a public 
or private organization or individual. 

61—9.28(915) Application for compensation. An applicant may file an application for compensation by 
telephone or in writing within two years of the occurrence or discovery of a crime pursuant to Iowa Code 
section 915.84(1). For a victim of sexual abuse when the offender has been referred pursuant to Iowa Code 
chapter 229A, the date of the discovery of the crime shall be considered to be the date when the referral was 
made. The department may waive the requirements of Iowa Code section 915.84(1) if good cause is shown. 

 9.28(1) Application postmarked. An application postmarked within the prescribed time period shall be 
considered timely filed. 

 9.28(2) Good cause. In determining whether there is good cause for waiver of the two-year application filing 
requirement, the victim’s age, physical condition, psychological state, cultural or linguistic barriers, and any 
compelling health or safety reasons that would jeopardize the well-being of the victim may be considered. 

 9.28(3) Multiple erroneous claims. When two or more applications are filed by or on behalf of an individual 
applicant during a calendar month and the applications appear on initial review to be erroneous claims based 
on innocent misrepresentation or circumstances of a similar nature, the claims shall be treated as a single 
application. Verification shall be investigated for each crime recorded in a file with multiple erroneous 
applications. If any of the crimes recorded in a combined application are verified as compensable crimes, the 
applications for compensation for those crimes shall be separated from the combined file and assigned distinct 
application numbers. The department will notify the applicant whenever two or more applications have been 
combined as one application. 

 9.28(4) Program effective date. The effective date of the crime victim compensation program is January 1, 
1983. Victims and survivors of crimes that were committed prior to the effective date are not eligible for 
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compensation. 

 9.28(5) Concurrent primary and secondary applications. A victim may be both a primary victim and a 
secondary victim in the same crime. The secondary victim application shall not be opened until a benefit has 
been exhausted for the primary application and there is documentation of need for further benefits in that 
category. The secondary victim application shall be considered timely filed if the primary victim application was 
timely filed. 

 9.28(6) Concurrent secondary victim applications. A victim may be a secondary victim to multiple primary 
victims in a crime. A subsequent secondary victim application shall not be opened until a benefit has been 
exhausted in the first secondary victim application and there is documentation of need for further benefits in 
that category. Subsequent secondary victim applications shall be considered timely filed if the primary victim 
application was timely filed. 

61—9.29(915) Report to law enforcement. A person is not eligible for compensation unless the crime is 
reported to law enforcement pursuant to Iowa Code section 915.84(2). The department may waive the 
requirements of Iowa Code section 915.84(2) if good cause is shown. 

 9.29(1) Law enforcement report sources. The department finds there is good cause to accept that the report 
of a crime to any of the following is a report to law enforcement pursuant to Iowa Code section 915.84(2): 

 a.  Sheriffs and their regular deputies. 

 b.  Marshals and police officers of cities. 

 c.  Peace officers of the department of public safety. 

 d.  Special security officers employed by a board of regents institution as identified in Iowa Code section 
262.13. 

 e.  Peace officers as authorized by Iowa Code section 350.5 or 456A.13. 

 f.  Employees of the department of transportation who are designated “peace officers” by resolution of 
the department under Iowa Code section 321.477. 

 g.  Correctional officers, including parole and probation officers. 

 h.  County and state prosecutors. 

 i.  An employee of the department of human services having jurisdiction to investigate the incident. 

 j.  A magistrate or judge of the Iowa court system. 

 9.29(2) Elements of a report. A victim is considered to have made a report to law enforcement when the 
victim has provided a true and accurate report of the incident, which shall include to the best of the victim’s 
knowledge: 

 a.  The nature of the crime, 

 b.  The location of the crime, 

 c.  The name, whereabouts and description of the suspect, if known, and 

 d.  The names of witnesses, if known. 

 9.29(3) Law enforcement record. A law enforcement trip record may satisfy the requirement that the crime 
be reported to law enforcement. 
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 9.29(4) Good cause. In determining whether there is good cause for waiving the requirement to report a 
crime to law enforcement within 72 hours of the occurrence of the crime, the victim’s age, physical condition, 
psychological state, cultural or linguistic barriers, and any compelling health or safety reasons that would 
jeopardize the well-being of the victim may be considered. 

 9.29(5) Child victim. If the victim is a child as defined in Iowa Code section 232.2 and is reported to be a 
victim of child abuse, the department finds there is good cause to waive the 72-hour reporting requirement. 

 9.29(6) Dependent adult victim. If the victim is a dependent adult as defined in Iowa Code section 235B.2(4) 
and is reported to be a victim of dependent adult abuse, the department finds there is good cause to waive the 
72-hour reporting requirement. 

 9.29(7) Sexual abuse victim. For a victim of sexual abuse, the department finds there is good cause to waive 
the 72-hour reporting requirement if a sexual abuse evidentiary examination was completed within 72 hours of 
the crime and the victim files a subsequent law enforcement report. 

 9.29(8) Domestic abuse victim. For a victim of domestic abuse, the department finds there is good cause to 
waive the 72-hour reporting requirement if a pro se protection order pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 236 is 
entered by the court and the victim files a subsequent law enforcement report. 

 9.29(9) Victim of a sexually violent predator. For a victim of sexual abuse, the department finds good cause 
to waive the 72-hour reporting requirement when the offender is referred pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 229A. 

61—9.30(915) Cooperation with law enforcement. To be eligible for compensation, the victim of crime must 
cooperate with the reasonable requests of law enforcement. 

 9.30(1) Reasonable cooperation. Reasonable cooperation by the victim may include, but is not limited to, the 
following: 

 a.  Providing law enforcement with a true and accurate report of the crime. 

 b.  Participating in the investigation of the crime to assist law enforcement in the identification of a suspect 
as requested including the review of photographs, composites, and lineups. 

 c.  Participating in prosecution procedures including deposition and trial testimony as requested. 

 9.30(2) Determination of cooperation. In determining whether a victim reasonably cooperated with law 
enforcement, the division may consider the victim’s age, physical condition, psychological state, cultural or 
linguistic barriers, and any compelling health or safety reasons that would jeopardize the well-being of the 
victim. 

 9.30(3) Polygraph testing. In determining whether a victim reasonably cooperated with law enforcement, 
the refusal of a victim to undergo a polygraph examination shall not be the basis of denial. 

 9.30(4) Sexual abuse victim. A victim of sexual abuse shall be deemed to have reasonably cooperated with 
law enforcement if the victim undergoes a sexual abuse evidentiary examination. 

 9.30(5) Domestic abuse victim. A victim of domestic abuse shall be deemed to have reasonably cooperated 
with law enforcement if a report of the crime was made to law enforcement. 

61—9.31(915) Contributory conduct. The division shall reduce or disqualify compensation when there is a 
causal relationship between the contributory conduct on the part of the victim and the victim’s injury or death. 
Contributory conduct includes consent, provocation, or incitement of the crime on the part of the victim. 

 9.31(1) Consent, provocation, and incitement. In assessing consent, provocation or incitement on the part of 
the victim pursuant to Iowa Code section 915.87(2)“a,” the division may consider factors including, but not 
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limited to, the following: 

 a.  Whether charges are filed against the suspect; 

 b.  Whether the victim attempted to withdraw from the incident; 

 c.  Comparable or reasonable force on the part of the suspect in response to an action of the victim; 

 d.  The amount of time from the beginning of the interaction between the victim and the suspect and the 
criminal act committed by the suspect; 

 e.  The age of the victim; and 

 f.  Comparable size or strength of the victim and suspect. 

 9.31(2) Additional assessment of consent. In assessing the causal nature of consent pursuant to Iowa Code 
section 915.87(2)“a,” the division may consider the victim’s age, physical condition, psychological state, cultural 
or linguistic barriers, and any compelling health or safety reasons that would jeopardize the well-being of the 
victim. 

 9.31(3) Consent in intoxicated driving cases. A victim who was the passenger in the vehicle of a driver who 
has been determined to have been legally intoxicated at the time of the crash shall not be automatically denied 
eligibility for compensation. The division may consider whether the victim could have reasonably known the 
intoxication level of the driver, the driver’s behavior or judgment appeared impaired, the victim encouraged or 
discouraged the driver from driving, or the victim’s judgment was impaired. 

 9.31(4) Additional assessment of provocation and incitement. In assessing the causal nature of provocation or 
incitement pursuant to Iowa Code section 915.87(2)“a,” the division may consider law enforcement 
documentation that indicates: 

 a.  Retaliatory action. The crime was committed as retaliation for a prior physical assault or injury 
committed by the victim against the perpetrator, and the victim could have reasonably foreseen the likelihood 
of retaliation. 

 b.  Gang action. The crime was a direct result of gang activity, including gang initiation, or was inflicted as 
retaliation for prior gang activity in which the victim participated in a criminal street gang as defined in Iowa 
Code section 723A.1(2). 

 c.  Mutual combat. The crime was an incident of mutual combat if the victim: 

 (1) Initiated a physical altercation; 

 (2) Made a credible threat of bodily harm against the person, took action to indicate the intent to carry out 
the threat and a physical altercation immediately followed; or 

 (3) Accepted a verbal challenge to engage in a physical altercation, took action to indicate acceptance of 
the challenge and a physical altercation immediately followed. 

 d.  Exception to mutual combat. Incitement and provocation are not present in an incident of mutual 
combat when a significant escalation of the fight, such as the introduction of a deadly weapon, is made by a 
person other than the victim or when a third party becomes involved resulting in more serious injury than the 
victim could have reasonably expected. 

 9.31(5) Victim’s criminal act. Contributory conduct includes assisting in, attempting, or committing a 
criminal act by the victim. A causal relationship must be documented between the injury or death for which 
compensation is sought and the criminal act of the victim. 
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61—9.32(915) Eligibility for compensation. The program shall determine the eligibility of an application for 
compensation. 

 9.32(1) Determination of eligibility. A denial of eligibility shall be based on written documentation that an 
application does not satisfy the requirements of Iowa Code chapter 915. An applicant shall be deemed eligible 
for compensation if the division has not obtained written documentation supporting a denial within six months 
of the date of the application. Notwithstanding the foregoing, the division may extend the determination of 
eligibility beyond six months if a court date or grand jury hearing is pending and is reasonably expected to result 
in information necessary to render an eligibility decision. 

 9.32(2) Reopening applications. Pursuant to Iowa Code section 915.83(2), the department may reopen and 
reinvestigate an application if the department determines that the decision was incorrect or incomplete. A 
denied application may be reopened and reinvestigated if it is discovered through a criminal trial or other 
investigatory source that the information relied upon for the denial decision was incorrect or incomplete. The 
eligibility of an approved application will be reopened for consideration if information is discovered through a 
criminal trial or other investigatory source that indicates that there is reason to deny the application. The 
reopening of a denied or approved case is at the discretion of the administrator for the compensation program. 

 9.32(3) Withdrawal of application. An applicant may withdraw the application for compensation from 
consideration. 

 9.32(4) Maximum compensation. Compensation shall be reduced or disqualified to the extent that the 
maximum compensation allowable pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 915 and these rules has been awarded. 

61—9.33(915) Emergency award of compensation. Emergency awards of compensation may be made if the 
applicant has incurred a loss of income or pecuniary loss as a direct result of the crime. 

 9.33(1) Preliminary eligibility determination. The program must determine that the application is likely to be 
eligible based on documentation available including, at minimum, the law enforcement verification form 
provided to law enforcement by the program. 

 9.33(2) Documentation. To make an emergency award of compensation, the program must have 
documentation of the lost wages or the pecuniary loss. 

 9.33(3) Emergency award decision. A decision denying an emergency award shall not be appealable. 

 9.33(4) Offset. Any emergency award shall be deducted from the final award of compensation made to the 
claimant. 

61—9.34(915) Computation of compensation. The division shall determine the amount of compensation to be 
awarded to an eligible applicant. 

 9.34(1) Benefit limits. Compensation shall be made up to the benefit category limits in effect on the date 
the application is filed. For an eligible victim of sexual abuse when the offender has been referred pursuant to 
Iowa Code chapter 229A, compensation shall be paid for expenses incurred after referral of the offender. 

 9.34(2) Payer-of-last-resort. The program is a payer-of-last-resort pursuant to federal law 42 U.S.C. 
10602(1403). Compensation shall not be paid for services when the provision for those services is mandated by 
law or administrative rule to be the responsibility of another governmental unit, private agency or program. 
Payments shall be reduced by payments made by offenders and third parties responsible for the damages of 
the crime. 

 9.34(3) Voluntary financial programs. Compensation applicants will be encouraged to apply for other 
financial assistance programs to pay costs resulting from the crime-related injury. However, no applicant will be 
denied compensation benefits based on the applicant’s refusal to seek funds from a voluntary financial 
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assistance program. 

 9.34(4) Insurance providers. Eligible victims and claimants must give service providers the information 
necessary to bill insurance providers for crime-related treatment. Payment of compensation will not be made if 
the victim refuses or fails to provide information requested by the service or insurance provider or sign the 
required assignment of benefits within a reasonable time frame. 

 9.34(5) Supplanting of funds prohibited. Compensation shall be made only when the claimant is responsible 
for the cost of crime-related injury. Compensation shall not be paid when a government entity, including but 
not limited to a mental health facility, jail, or prison, is responsible for the costs of treatment for injury from 
crime. 

61—9.35(915) Computation of benefit categories. The division shall determine the amount of compensation 
to be awarded to an eligible applicant for injury from crime for each benefit category pursuant to Iowa Code 
section 985.86. 

 9.35(1) Medical care. Compensation may be paid for the reasonable expenses of medical care provided to 
eligible crime victims by, or under the supervision of, a person licensed by the state under Iowa Code chapter 
147, 148, 148A, 148E, 149, 150A, 151, 152C, or 153. When preexisting medical conditions are treated during 
crime-related medical care, the program may reduce payment to a percentage equal to the portion of the 
medical care determined to be directly related to the compensable crime. Medical care expenses include the 
following: 

 a.  Medical care sanctioned by sovereign nations and tribes. Compensation may be paid for medical care 
rendered in accordance with a method of healing sanctioned by a federally recognized sovereign nation or 
tribe. 

 b.  Medical counseling costs. Compensation may be paid for counseling provided under the direct 
supervision of a psychiatrist or other physician and shall be applied toward the medical benefit maximum. 

 c.  Medical care for homicide victim survivors. Compensation may be paid to the spouse, child, parent, 
sibling, or person related by blood or affinity to a homicide victim for the same types of medical care which are 
allowable for primary victims, including but not limited to hospital and physician care, psychiatric care, 
prescriptions, and transportation expenses related to injury from the crime. 

 d.  Medical equipment and property alteration. Compensation may be paid for equipment and property 
alteration which are prescribed as medically necessary care due to injury from the crime. 

 e.  Medical supplies. Compensation may be paid for medical care supplies and incidental supplies necessary 
for medical care due to injury from the crime. 

 f.  Medical care for pregnancy. Compensation may be paid for medical care costs related to pregnancy 
resulting from the crime of sexual abuse. Eligible expenses for care of the victim shall be paid. Expenses 
incurred for care of a newborn child are not compensable. 

 g.  Medical devices. Compensation may be paid for the replacement of a medical device including but not 
limited to a sight or hearing device, dentures, prosthetic device, wheelchair, and medication that was taken, 
lost or destroyed during the crime. 

 h.  Transportation for medical emergency. Compensation may be paid for the reasonable cost of 
transportation in a medical emergency by private vehicle at the state rate for boards and commissions per mile. 
Mileage will be based on mileage calculation from the most current map published by the department of 
transportation. Transportation within a city limits will be based on the program’s estimate of mileage from the 
location of the injured victim to the medical facility. 
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 i.  Transportation for nonemergency care. Compensation may be paid for the cost of transportation by 
commercial vehicle or by private car for nonemergency medical care and counseling received outside of the 
victim’s county of residence. Transportation provided by private vehicle for nonemergency care will be 
reimbursed at the state rate for boards and commissions per mile. Mileage will be based on mileage calculation 
from the most current map published by the department of transportation. 

 j.  Transportation medical benefit. Compensation may be paid for transportation from the applicable 
medical care or counseling benefit category. The available funds to the victim from the applicable benefit 
category will be reduced by the amount of compensation paid for transportation. 

 k.  Health insurance. Compensation may be paid for premiums to continue a health insurance policy that 
was provided in whole or in part by the victim’s employer prior to the crime and the employment ceased as a 
result of the crime. 

 9.35(2) Medical care records. When compensation for medical care is requested, the provider shall submit 
medical records that document the care provided and show that the medical care is for injury from crime. 

 9.35(3) Mental health counseling. Compensation may be paid for the reasonable costs of mental health 
counseling for eligible crime victims and survivors of a homicide victim. When preexisting mental health issues 
are addressed during crime-related counseling, the program may reduce payment to a percentage equal to the 
portion of the counseling determined to be directly related to the compensable crime. The mental health 
counseling provider shall submit a vitae establishing the provider’s educational qualifications for compensation. 
A provider who is required to be licensed under Iowa law must provide proof of licensure and good standing 
with the professional licensing board. Compensation shall be paid for mental health counseling provided by the 
following: 

 a.  Master’s level counselor. Compensation may be paid for mental health counseling provided by a person 
holding at least a master’s degree in a mental health or counseling field including but not limited to social work, 
psychology, guidance and counseling, behavioral sciences, art therapy, marriage and family therapy, child life 
therapy, and advanced mental health registered nursing. 

 b.  Supervised mental health counselor. Compensation may be paid for mental health counseling provided 
by a counselor who does not have a master’s degree but is under the supervision of a counselor with a master’s 
degree. The supervising mental health counselor must sign the session notes which must be submitted for 
review by the program. 

 c.  Intern mental health counselors. Compensation may be paid for mental health counseling provided by an 
intern candidate for a master’s degree when the counseling is provided within a course of professional 
education and the intern is supervised by a provider eligible for compensation. 

 d.  Out-of-state providers. Compensation may be paid to mental health counselors outside Iowa who 
provide services to victims of crime eligible for the Iowa program if the mental health counselor meets the 
professional licensure criteria of the state in which the counselor works. 

 9.35(4) Mental health counseling records. When compensation for mental health counseling is requested, 
the provider shall complete verification forms related to the counseling as follows: 

 a.  Treatment plan and certification form. Information submitted on the treatment plan and certification 
form shall include, but not be limited to, a summary of the initial evaluation, any preexisting mental health 
diagnoses currently being treated, current diagnoses, issues addressed, counseling goals, expected length of 
counseling services, and certification of the percentage of mental health counseling directly related to issues 
arising from the victimization. 

 b.  Treatment progress and certification form. At six-month intervals for the duration of the crime-related 
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mental health counseling, the provider shall submit a treatment progress and certification form. Information on 
the form shall include progress on previously stated goals of counseling, current goals, current diagnosis, 
expected length of additional counseling, and certification of the percentage of mental health counseling 
directly related to issues arising from the victimization. 

 c.  Session notes. The program may require submission of session notes to determine if the mental health 
counseling is directly related to the crime when: 

 (1) The counseling expenses for a victim exceed $3,000. 

 (2) The provider has not completed the treatment and certification plan with statement of the percentage 
of treatment directly related to the crime. 

 (3) The counseling begins, or is provided, more than one year after the crime. 

 (4) The treatment plan or progress summary indicates that the victim is receiving treatment for a diagnosis 
or issue not exacerbated by the crime. 

 9.35(5) Victim service counseling. Reasonable charges for counseling provided by a victim counselor as 
defined in Iowa Code sections 236A.1 and 915.20A, when fees for services to the general public for services of a 
similar nature have not previously been established, may be paid within the following guidelines: 

 a.  Counselors funded with VOCA. Counseling provided by victim counselors whose position is funded, in 
whole or in part, or whose position is used as match requirement for federal Victims of Crime Act fund shall not 
be eligible for compensation payment. 

 b.  Computation of victim service counseling expenses. Counseling services provided to an eligible victim 
by a victim counselor may be compensated as follows: 

 (1) Individual counseling at an hourly rate of $35. 

 (2) Group counseling at an hourly rate of $20. 

 c.  Compensation paid, combined with other funding sources for the service, shall not be in excess of the 
total cost of providing the counseling hour. 

 9.35(6) Victim service counseling records. A record of each counseling session shall be maintained in the 
victim’s file including the date of service, the length of service, the name of the victim counselor who provided 
the service, the general topics addressed, and referrals made. 

 9.35(7) Counseling with the perpetrator. Compensation for mental health or victim service counseling that 
includes the perpetrator of the crime may be payable when the perpetrator takes part only to take 
responsibility for the crime and apologize to the victim and the victim is allowed to confront the perpetrator 
regarding the effects of the crime. 

 9.35(8) Family counseling. Compensation for family mental health or victim service counseling may be paid 
only for sessions where the victim is present and the focus of the session is to assist the victim in recovery from 
a compensable crime. 

 9.35(9) Lost wages or income. Compensation may be paid for reasonable lost wages or income when an 
eligible crime victim is unable to work as the result of injury from crime or as a result of cooperation with the 
investigation or prosecution of the crime. Lost wages or income due to crime is determined as follows: 

 a.  Gross wages computed. Lost wages are computed as the gross rate of pay times the number of 
scheduled hours of work missed. 

 b.  Variable income. Income that is variable shall be computed based on the average income earned during 
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a minimum 28-day period within the three months preceding the crime. Estimated earnings not supported by 
past income statements shall not be accepted. 

 c.  Self-employment and small business income. Self-employed persons or small business employees must 
provide federal or state income tax forms for the most recent year completed or verification of average income 
for a minimum of the past six months. Work estimates, labor contracts, and affidavits from individual 
employers may be used to establish wages. 

 d.  Vacation, sick, holiday and annual leave. Lost wages or income paid shall not be reduced by vacation, 
sick, holiday, or annual leave available or used by the victim due to the crime. 

 9.35(10) Lost wages or income due to disability. Compensation shall be paid for lost wages incurred by an 
eligible crime victim within two weeks after injury from crime or an eligible survivor of a homicide victim for up 
to five days within two weeks after the death of a victim without an authorized disability statement. 
Compensation for lost wages may be paid to the spouse, child, or parent of the homicide victim for up to one 
month without a disability statement as determined reasonable by the program. A victim or survivor of a 
homicide victim seeking lost wages for a longer period of time shall submit a disability statement from a 
licensed physician for a physical injury or an injury related to mental health, or from a licensed mental health 
provider as included in paragraph 9.35(3)“a” for an injury related to mental health. Compensation shall be made 
for lost wages under the following circumstances: 

 a.  Victim injured. Compensation may be paid when the victim cannot work due to injury from crime. 

 b.  Lost hire income. Compensation may be paid when the victim has been hired by an employer but is 
unable to begin employment because of injury due to the crime, until released to work. Required 
documentation includes a signed affidavit by the employer. 

 c.  Employment terminated. Compensation may be paid when the victim is terminated from employment 
as a result of crime-related injuries, until released to seek work. 

 d.  Unemployment eligible. Compensation may be paid for the difference between the victim’s gross wage 
and the unemployment benefit when the victim is terminated from employment because of injury from crime 
and is found to be eligible for unemployment benefits. 

 e.  Unemployment ineligibility. Compensation may be paid for the amount of the victim’s unemployment 
benefit when the victim is rendered ineligible for unemployment benefits because of injury from the crime, until 
the victim is released to work. 

 f.  Worker compensation benefit eligible. Compensation may be paid for the difference between the victim’s 
gross wage and the worker compensation benefit when the victim is unable to work because of injury from 
crime and is found to be eligible for worker compensation benefits. 

 g.  Medical and counseling appointments. Compensation may be paid to a primary victim, the parent or 
guardian of a minor aged primary victim, or the caretaker of a dependent adult primary victim for wages lost 
due to medical care or counseling appointments for the victim. 

 9.35(11) Lost wages or income during investigation and prosecution. Compensation may be paid for lost 
wages incurred by an eligible primary victim, survivor of a homicide victim as described in Iowa Code section 
915.86(8), parent or guardian of a minor aged primary victim, or caretaker of a dependent primary victim while 
cooperating with the investigation and prosecution of the crime including, but not limited to, participation at 
identification sessions, arraignment, deposition, plea agreement meetings, trial, sentencing, parole and 
probation hearings, and sexually violent predator civil commitment proceedings. 

 9.35(12) Residential crime scene cleanup. Compensation may be paid for the reasonable costs of an eligible 
victim or applicant for cleaning a residential crime scene, which includes a home, or a private vehicle in which 
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the crime was committed. Cleaning a residential crime scene means to remove, or attempt to remove, from the 
crime scene blood, dirt, stains, or other debris caused by the crime or the processing of the crime scene. 
Compensation shall be paid for the reasonable out-of-pocket cost of cleaning supplies, equipment rental, labor, 
and the value of property which is essential to the victim and which is held by law enforcement for evidentiary 
purposes. Cleaning a residential crime scene does not include replacement or repair of property damaged in the 
crime. 

 9.35(13) Loss of support. Compensation for loss of support may be paid for the dependents of an eligible 
homicide victim or of a victim disabled for a period of 60 days or more when the applicant documents that the 
dependent relied on the victim wholly or partially for physical care or financial support. 

 a.  Period of dependency. Compensation may be paid for loss of support for the remaining period of 
dependency, up to the limits established in Iowa Code section 915.86(5), in an amount equal to the lost wages 
or income the victim was earning at the time of death or disability. The amount of compensation shall be 
subject to reduction by the amount of collateral sources designated as support pursuant to Iowa Code section 
915.87(1). 

 b.  Dependent care. Compensation may be paid for loss of support at the current hourly rate of the Iowa 
minimum wage for dependent care provided by a person other than the victim if the victim was providing 
physical care to the dependent at the time of the crime. 

 9.35(14) Clothing and bedding. Compensation may be paid for clothing and bedding held as evidence by law 
enforcement and not returned to the victim. Compensation shall not be made for the clothing of a deceased 
victim which is held as evidence. 

 9.35(15) Funeral and burial expenses. Compensation may be paid for reasonable expenses incurred for the 
funeral and burial or cremation for an eligible crime victim. The following expenses may be paid up to the 
maximum expense established in Iowa Code section 915.86(4): 

 a.  Funeral service. Compensation may be paid for expenses related to funeral and burial or cremation 
preparation and services. 

 b.  Burial plot and vessel. Compensation may be paid for the cost of a burial plot, vault, casket, urn, or other 
permissible vessel. 

 c.  Burial effects. Compensation may be paid for miscellaneous funeral and burial expenses including, but 
not limited to, flowers, burial clothing for the victim, transportation of the victim’s body, and travel and lodging 
expenses for survivors of the homicide victim as described in Iowa Code section 915.87(8) with priority for the 
surviving spouse, children, and parents of the victim. Documentation must be provided for all miscellaneous 
funeral and burial expenses. 

61—9.36(915) Appeal of compensation decisions. An applicant shall be informed in writing of the basis for the 
denial of eligibility or the amount of an award. 

 9.36(1) Applicant appeal. An applicant may appeal a compensation decision as follows: 

 a.  Appeal to director. An applicant aggrieved by a denial decision or the amount of compensation awarded 
by the program may appeal to the director. 

 b.  Appeal to board. An applicant may appeal the director’s decision to the board. 

 c.  Appeal to district court. An applicant who disagrees with the decision of the board has the right to appeal 
to the district court for judicial review within 30 days of receipt of the board’s decision. 

 9.36(2) Director appeal period. An applicant shall submit to the director a written request for reconsideration 
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within 30 days of the date the notice of the crime victim compensation program decision is mailed or otherwise 
issued by the division. Any request for reconsideration postmarked within the prescribed time period shall be 
considered timely filed by the division. Barring any unusual circumstances, within 30 days of the receipt of the 
request for reconsideration, the director shall issue a decision. 

 9.36(3) Board appeal period. An applicant may file with the board a request for consideration of the 
director’s decision. This written request for consideration by the board shall be submitted within 30 days of the 
date the notice of the director’s decision is mailed or otherwise issued by the director. Any request for review 
postmarked within the prescribed time period shall be considered timely filed by the division. Barring any 
unusual circumstances, within 90 days of the receipt of the request, the board, or a committee designated by 
the chair of not fewer than five members of the board, shall issue a decision. 

 9.36(4) District court appeal period. An applicant shall submit a petition for judicial review to the district 
court within 30 days of the receipt of the notice of the board’s decision. 

61—9.37(17A) Waiver from rules. This rule establishes a uniform process for granting waivers from rules 
adopted by the board governing the crime victim compensation program. 

 9.37(1) When waiver is appropriate. The board may grant a waiver from a rule the board has adopted if the 
board has rule-making authority to promulgate the rule, and no statute or rule otherwise controls the granting 
of a waiver from the rule. No waiver may be granted from a rule that defines a term. No waiver may be granted 
from a requirement that is imposed by statute. Any waiver must be consistent with statute. 

 9.37(2) Criteria for discretionary waivers. The board may grant a waiver from a rule, in whole or in part, in 
response to a request from an applicant or on the board’s own motion, as applied to a specific claim, if the 
board finds that: 

 a.  The application of the rule to the claim at issue would result in hardship or injustice to the person 
seeking compensation; and 

 b.  The waiver would be consistent with the public interest or the public interest will be protected by other 
means substantially equivalent to full compliance with the rule; and 

 c.  The waiver in the specific case would not prejudice the substantial legal rights of any person. 

 9.37(3) Board discretion. The decision about whether the circumstances justify the granting of a waiver shall 
be made at the sole discretion of the board, upon consideration of all relevant factors. 

 9.37(4) Criteria for mandatory waivers. In response to an applicant’s request, the board shall grant a waiver 
from a rule, in whole or in part, as applied to the particular circumstances, if the board finds that the application 
of the rule in that specific case would not, to any extent, advance or serve any of the purposes of the rule. 

 9.37(5) Administrative deadlines. When the rule from which a waiver is sought establishes deadlines, the 
board shall balance the specific individual circumstances of the applicant with the overall goal of uniform 
treatment of all applicants. 

 9.37(6) Conditions. The board may condition the granting of a waiver on reasonable conditions to achieve 
the objectives of the particular rule in question through alternative means. 

 9.37(7) Public availability of waiver decisions. A board decision granting or denying a waiver shall be included 
in the board minutes with reference to the following: 

 a.  The particular case and the rule or portion thereof to which the decision pertains; 

 b.  The relevant facts and reasons upon which the action is based; and 
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 c.  The scope and operative period of the waiver if one is issued. 

Subject to the provisions of Iowa Code section 17A.3(1)“e,” the department shall maintain a record of all 
orders granting and denying waivers under this chapter. All waiver decisions shall be indexed and available to 
members of the public at the crime victim assistance division office. 

 9.37(8) Voiding or cancellation. A waiver is void if the material facts upon which the request is based are not 
true or if material facts have been withheld. The board may at any time cancel a waiver upon notice to the 
victim by regular mail and an opportunity to be heard, if: 

 a.  The facts as stated in the request are not true or material facts have been withheld, or 

 b.  The applicant has failed to comply with the conditions of the waiver. 

 9.37(9) Effectiveness of waiver. After the board issues a waiver, a person seeking compensation may rely on 
the terms of that waiver for the purposes of the particular case for which it was issued. A waiver shall only be 
effective in the case for which it is issued. 

 9.37(10) Appeals from waiver decisions. Any request for an appeal from a decision granting or denying a 
waiver shall be in accordance with the procedures provided in Iowa Code chapter 17A and the board’s rules. An 
appeal shall be taken within 30 days of the issuance of the waiver decision unless a contrary time is provided by 
rule or statute. 

These rules are intended to implement Iowa Code sections 915.80 through 915.94. 

61—9.38 to 9.49 Reserved. 

DIVISION III 

VICTIM SERVICES GRANT PROGRAM 

(Victim Services Support Program) 

61—9.50(13) Administration of the victim services grant program. The victim services grant program of the 
Iowa department of justice shall administer the victim services grants as provided in Iowa Code chapters 13 and 
236. All questions, comments, requests for information, or applications for grant funds shall be directed to the 
victim services grant program. Requests should be addressed to: Crime Victim Assistance Division, Iowa 
Department of Justice, 321 East 12th Street, Lucas State Office Building, Ground Floor, Des Moines, Iowa 
50319, telephone (515)281-5044. 

61—9.51(13) Definitions. As used in this chapter: 

“Applicant” means a public or private nonprofit program that provides direct services to crime victims or 
training and technical assistance to crime victim service providers and that makes a request for funds from the 
victim services grant program. 

“Application” means a request which complies with federal and state requirements for funds from the 
following funding streams: 

 1. The federal Victims of Crime Act. 

 2. The state domestic and sexual abuse program funds provided for in Iowa Code chapter 236. 

 3. The federal Family Violence Prevention and Services Act. 

 4. The federal Violence Against Women Act. 
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 5. Other grants or funds available by law for crime victim assistance. 

“Board” means the crime victim assistance board. 

“Competitive grant” means a grant for which the division solicits a request for proposals (RFP) from eligible 
applicants, reviews the applications for eligibility and completeness, and then convenes a grant review 
committee to recommend grant awards to the crime victim assistance board. 

“Crime victim center” means a crime victim center as defined in Iowa Code section 915.20A(1). 

“Department” means the Iowa department of justice. 

“Director” means director of the crime victim assistance division of the Iowa department of justice. 

“Division” means the crime victim assistance division of the Iowa department of justice. 

“Focus grant” means a one-time grant for specific activities, including but not limited to training, travel, or 
materials, awarded at the discretion of the division directly to a program that has received a competitive grant 
in the fiscal year. 

“Funding stream” means a distinct source of federal or state funding available for grants. 

“Grant” means a competitive or focus grant award to a local or statewide government or private nonprofit 
agency. 

“Grantee” means a local or statewide government or private nonprofit agency that is awarded or receives 
funds from the crime victim assistance division. 

“Grant review committee” means a division committee designated to review grant applications. 

“Justice support” means duties performed in the justice system related to investigation, prosecution, or 
disposition of a criminal case that assist or inform a victim of crime. 

“Program” means the victim services grant program of the Iowa department of justice. 

“RFP” means request for proposals. 

“Victim” means a crime victim as defined in Iowa Code section 915.80. 

61—9.52(13) Program description. Any eligible local or statewide government or private nonprofit agency or a 
combination thereof may apply for and receive a grant through the program. The program shall operate as a 
competitive and focus grants program and be administered by the department. A contractual agreement 
specifying the terms of the grant award shall be executed between the department and the approved applicant. 

61—9.53(13) Availability of grants. In any year in which federal or state funds are available, the division shall 
administer grants with eligible applicants. The amount of the funds awarded shall be contingent upon the funds 
available. The director shall announce the opening of an application period through public notice including but 
not limited to notice to current grantees and other eligible agencies identified by the program. Applications 
must be received by the designated due date. 

 9.53(1) Competitive grants will be awarded based on the availability of funds, history and demonstration of 
quality of services provided, compliance with the requirements of the division, number of victims served or 
cases investigated and prosecuted, population served, and geographical distribution of funds in the state. A 
preference shall be given to continued funding of successful grantees. 

 9.53(2) Focus grants will be awarded at the discretion of the director and of the deputy attorney general 
who oversees the division. Funds utilized for focus grants must comply with all applicable state and federal 
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rules and regulations. The total of focus grants from one funding source may not exceed 3 percent of the funds 
available from the funding source in one state fiscal year. 

61—9.54(13) Application requirements. Applicants shall submit applications to: Crime Victim Assistance 
Division, Iowa Department of Justice, 321 East 12th Street, Lucas State Office Building, Ground Floor, Des 
Moines, Iowa 50319. Applications shall be in the form prescribed by the division and shall be available upon 
request to all interested parties. 

 9.54(1) To be included in the review process and considered for funding, an application shall be received in the 
offices of the division by 4:30 p.m. on the due date. Applications may be delivered to the division during 
regular business hours anytime prior to the deadline. An extension of the filing deadline may be requested of 
the director or grant administrator prior to the deadline and may be granted for good cause. The determination 
of a good cause extension by the division director shall be final. 

 9.54(2) An applicant shall have on file with the division current copies of the applicant’s table of 
organization and articles of incorporation as required. 

 9.54(3) An applicant shall have on file with the division evidence of any insurance coverage the applicant 
carries for liability or property. 

 9.54(4) The division may allow combined applications from two or more agencies if a combined application 
will encourage cooperation between those agencies on behalf of crime victims. Each agency receiving funds 
under a combined application shall sign a grant contract for the use of awarded funds. 

61—9.55(13) Contents of application. Each application shall contain the following information: 

 9.55(1) A paragraph describing the agencies or units of government requesting the funds. 

 9.55(2) A description of services for which funding is being requested. The description shall include, but not 
be limited to, the following: 

 a.  The geographical area to be served. 

 b.  The crime victim population to be served. 

 c.  Victim eligibility requirements for the applicant’s services. 

 d.  A description of substantial financial support from other sources. 

 e.  The intended use of volunteers, if any. 

 f.  The stated goals and objectives of the program. 

 g.  A description of the proposed victim service, training, or technical assistance to be implemented during 
the funding year. 

 h.  The amount of grant funds requested. 

 i.  The amount of cash or in-kind resources or combination thereof which is committed where required by 
the division. 

 j.  A description of how the proposed victim service, training, or technical assistance will provide or 
improve services to victims of crime. 

 k.  Proof of coordination with appropriate agencies at the local level. 

 l.  A total program budget for all services provided by the applicant’s crime victim program. 
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 m.  A proposed budget for the requested grant funds. 

 n.  A list of other anticipated sources of income, including written commitments, if possible, and plans for 
continued funding of the grant-funded activities. 

 o.  Other information identified in the RFP. 

 p.  Signed certified assurances as required by statute or regulation. 

61—9.56(13) Eligibility requirements. Funds must be used only to provide victim services, or justice support to 
victims of crime, and training or technical assistance to victim service providers and allied professionals. 
Program grants shall not be used to supplant other available or mandated funds. An applicant must meet the 
following requirements: 

 9.56(1) The applicant shall be a public agency or private nonprofit organization, or combination thereof, 
that provides services to crime victims or training and technical assistance to victim service providers and allied 
professionals. 

 9.56(2) The applicant shall provide services to victims of crime through crime victim centers, law 
enforcement officers, prosecutors, and other allied professionals. Services provided to victims by crime victim 
centers shall include but are not limited to crisis intervention, law enforcement and court advocacy, group and 
individual follow-up counseling, transportation, and information and referral. 

 9.56(3) An applicant providing services to victims of domestic abuse must also provide or arrange safe 
shelter for victims and their children when needed at no cost to the victims. To ensure staff training and best 
practice standards, preference will be given to domestic abuse programs certified by the Iowa Coalition Against 
Domestic Violence. 

 9.56(4) An applicant providing services to victims of sexual abuse must also provide support to victims at 
the time of an evidentiary sexual abuse examination. To ensure staff training and best practice standards, 
preference will be given to sexual abuse programs certified by the Iowa Coalition Against Sexual Assault. 

 9.56(5) The applicant shall promote within the community a coordinated public and private effort to assist 
victims. 

 9.56(6) The applicant shall be an equal-opportunity employer and provide services on an equal-opportunity 
basis. 

 9.56(7) The applicant shall comply with applicable federal and state statutes and rules, all requirements 
specified in the grant between the department and any outside funding source, and all requirements in the RFP 
or any other contractual document. 

 9.56(8) The applicant shall assist victims in seeking state compensation benefits. 

 9.56(9) The applicant shall have a grievance procedure established for victims, employees and volunteers. 

 9.56(10) The applicant shall ensure that all employees and volunteers of crime victim centers that provide 
direct services to victims are trained as victim counselors as defined in Iowa Code section 915.20A. 

 9.56(11) The applicant shall provide services within the geographical service area without regard to a 
victim’s ability to pay. 

 9.56(12) An existing program must document results of prior programming that demonstrate that the 
needs of victims have been met effectively and that the applicant has financial support from other sources. 

61—9.57(13) Selection process. The division shall conduct a preliminary review of each application to ensure 
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that the applicant is eligible, the application is complete, and the proposed victim service, training or technical 
assistance is consistent with the division’s mission of providing quality assistance to crime victims and crime 
victim programs throughout the state. 

 9.57(1) In selection of competitive grantees, the division may utilize generally accepted methods of grant 
review including but not limited to checklists, quality scales, written comments by grant review committee 
members, and formulas based on past funding, population, clients served and available funds. 

 9.57(2) In selection of competitive grantees, the division shall establish a grant review committee. The 
committee shall submit recommendations for grant awards to the director. The director shall submit to the 
board the recommendations of the grant review committee and any alternative recommendations by the 
program staff. 

 a.  The committee shall be comprised of representatives from the crime victim assistance board and 
experts in the fields of victim services, grant administration and management, and criminal justice. 

 b.  The division shall provide the committee with information related to the applicant’s performance with 
previous grants, the quality and quantity of services provided, and community support for the applicant. 

 c.  The committee shall review the content of the grant applications and information provided by the 
division and members of the committee regarding the applicant and the geographical area to be served. 

 9.57(3) The board shall consider the recommendations of the grant review committee and the director to 
determine final competitive grant awards to the extent that funds are available and to the extent to which 
applications meet the RFP criteria. The board may reject any or all applications. 

 9.57(4) In selection of grantees for a focus grant, a written proposal shall be solicited from current grantees. 
Interested grantees shall submit a proposal to the director outlining the purpose, cost, and outcome of the 
proposed grant. The director shall submit a recommendation to the deputy attorney general for criminal justice 
who shall make a final decision based on the availability of funds and the merits of the proposal. 

61—9.58(13) Notification of applicants. An applicant shall be notified within 90 days after the application due 
date whether the application has been denied or approved by the board and the amount of funds approved for 
the application. 

61—9.59(13) Request for reconsideration. 

 9.59(1) An applicant may file with the board a request for reconsideration of the denial or of the amount of 
an award. The request for reconsideration must be submitted within ten working days of the date the notice of 
decision is mailed or otherwise issued by the director to the grantee. The request must state grounds for 
reconsideration. The board or a committee designated by the board chairperson shall review the request in a 
timely manner. A decision of the board or designated committee shall constitute final agency action. 

 9.59(2) At the time a request for reconsideration is received by the director, notice that a request for 
reconsideration has been filed shall be sent to all approved applicants whose funds may be affected by the 
request. 

 9.59(3) Funds shall not be disbursed pending a request for reconsideration to the extent that the funds are 
affected by the outcome of the request. Every applicant that would be adversely affected shall be notified if a 
request for reconsideration is approved, and grant awards shall be reduced as necessary. 

61—9.60(13) Contract agreement. 

 9.60(1) A contract shall be negotiated by the department and the applicant. 



 

Crime Victim Assistance Division 
 

Annual Report SFY18 | 97 
 

 

 9.60(2) Prior to entering into a contract, the department or the board may require modification of the 
proposed program, submission of further information or documents, or other stipulation of the applicant. The 
required modification, information, document, or stipulation shall be specified in the notification of grant 
award. 

 9.60(3) The applicant or the department may request a modification of the program budget to reflect the 
amount, expenses and activities allowed by the grant award. Both parties must agree to any modification of the 
grantee program budget. 

 9.60(4) In the event of a state, federal, or other audit, the grantee shall be responsible for the audit and 
liable for payment of any funds required to conduct the audit, to compensate for any grant disallowance, or to 
repay any funds received or spent contrary to the contract, these rules, or applicable law. 

 9.60(5) Funds shall be spent to meet the program proposals as provided in the contract. Expenditures shall 
be reimbursed pursuant to regular reimbursement procedures of the state of Iowa. 

 9.60(6) The grantee shall sign the certified assurances for the grant program at the time of application and 
at any time requested by the division. 

 9.60(7) Nothing in these rules shall be construed as limiting the remedies available to the state or the 
program for improper use of grant funds or other breach of the grantee’s duties under the contract and 
applicable law. 

61—9.61(13) Performance reports. Performance reports shall be submitted to the division from all grantees. 
Failure to submit reports by the due date shall result in suspension of financial payments to the grantee by the 
program until such time as the report is received. Delinquent or inadequate reports from prior grants may 
detrimentally influence the award of grants for the following year. 

61—9.62(13) Termination. Contracts may be terminated for the following reasons: 

 9.62(1) Termination by grantee. The grantee may terminate the contract at any time during the contract 
period by providing notice to the division. 

 9.62(2) Termination by department. The department may terminate a contract upon a ten-day notice when 
the grantee or any of its subcontractors fail to comply with the grant award stipulations, standards or 
conditions. The department may terminate a contract when there is a reduction of funds by executive order or 
otherwise. 

 9.62(3) Termination for cause. If the grantee fails to fulfill its obligations under the agreement properly or on 
time, or otherwise violates any provision of the agreement, the board may terminate the agreement by written 
notice to the grantee. The notice shall specify the acts or omissions relied on as cause for termination. All 
finished or unfinished products and services provided by the grantee shall, at the option of the department, 
become state property. The department shall pay the grantee fair and equitable compensation for satisfactory 
performance prior to receipt of notice of termination minus any funds owing to the department, e.g., damages 
for breach, improperly spent funds. 

61—9.63(13) Financial statement supplied. Within 45 days of the termination, the grantee shall supply the 
department with a financial statement detailing all costs incurred up to the effective date of the termination. 

61—9.64(13) Indemnification. The grantee shall defend, indemnify, and hold harmless the state of Iowa, its 
officers, agents and employees and any of the state’s federal funding sources for: 

 1. Grantee’s performance or nonperformance of a contract entered into or violation of these rules. 

 2. Grantee’s activities with subcontractors and all other third parties, or any other act or omission by a 



 

Crime Victim Assistance Division 
 

Annual Report SFY18 | 98 
 

 

grantee, its agents, officers, and employees. 

61—9.65(13) Records. Grantees shall keep statistical records of services provided and any other records as 
required by the division. The division shall have immediate access during working hours to records pertaining to 
the contract. No notice need be provided the grantee prior to inspection of the records. 

These rules are intended to implement Iowa Code section 13.31. 

61—9.66 to 9.79 Reserved. 

DIVISION IV 

SEXUAL ABUSE EXAMINATION PAYMENT 

61—9.80(915) Administration of sexual abuse examination payment. The crime victim assistance program 
of the department of justice shall administer the sexual abuse examination program as provided in Iowa Code 
section 915.41. That section states in part: 

“The cost of a medical examination for the purpose of gathering evidence and the cost of treatment for the 
purpose of preventing sexually transmitted disease shall be borne by the department of justice.” 

Requests for payment should be addressed to: Sexual Abuse Examination Payments, Crime Victim 
Assistance Division, Lucas State Office Building, Ground Floor, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, Iowa 50319; 
telephone (515)281-5044 or 1-800-373-5044. 

61—9.81(915) Definitions. 

“Administration” means administrator of the crime victim assistance program established in the department 
of justice. 

“Board” means crime victim assistance board. 

“Department” means the Iowa department of justice. 

“Eligible claimant” means a medical provider that provides a sexual abuse examination to a sexual assault 
victim. The following are eligible to file a claim with the crime victim assistance program in the event that they 
have made payment to a medical provider for the costs of a sexual abuse examination: 

 1. A victim of sexual abuse. 

 2. A person responsible for the maintenance of a sexual abuse victim. 

 3. A dependent of a victim who has died as a result of injuries sustained in a sexual assault. 

 4. The guardian of a sexual abuse victim. 

“Reasonable charges” means those ordinarily charged by the provider of the service to the general public for 
services of a similar nature. 

“Sexual abuse” means sexual abuse as defined in Iowa Code sections 709.1 and 726.2. 

“Sexual abuse examination” means a medical examination provided to a woman, man, or child to collect 
evidence of sexual abuse victimization of that person as defined in Iowa Code sections 709.1 and 726.2 and 
provide treatment for the prevention of sexually transmitted disease pursuant to Iowa Code section 915.41. 
When applicable, the provider of a sexual abuse examination shall file a child abuse report with the Iowa 
department of human services as required by Iowa Code section 232.70. 
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61—9.82(915) Application for sexual abuse examination payment. 

 9.82(1) Consideration for payment. The department will consider payment upon receipt of a claim for 
reimbursement from a medical provider indicating that the claim is for the collection of evidence by sexual 
abuse examination. In the case that a victim, guardian of a victim, person responsible for the victim, or 
dependent of a victim who died of injuries sustained in a sexual assault has paid part or all of the charges 
incurred, a copy of the provider bill and documentation of personal payment of the bill must be submitted for 
reimbursement. An application for sexual abuse examination payment must include the federal identification 
number or social security number of the claimant. 

 9.82(2) Application filing. To apply for payment under the sexual abuse examination program, the form or 
bill submitted must identify the sexual assault victim by name, birth date, and patient number, indicate that the 
claim is for a sexual abuse examination, and itemize all services rendered and the fee for each service. 

61—9.83(915) Computation of sexual abuse examination payments. 

 9.83(1)  Payment for examination. The department shall make payment for sexual abuse examinations, as 
appropriate, for services including, but not limited to: 

 a.  Examiner’s fee for collection of: 

 (1) Patient’s medical history; 

 (2) Physical examination; 

 (3) Collection of laboratory specimens; 

 (4) Return visits to test for sexually transmitted disease; 

 (5) Treatment for the prevention of sexually transmitted disease. 

 b.  Examination facility. 

 (1) Emergency room, clinic room or office room fee; 

 (2) Pelvic tray and medically required supplies. 

 c.  Laboratory collection and processing of specimens for: criminal evidence; sexually transmitted disease; 
and pregnancy testing. 

 9.83(2) Provider payment. The department will pay up to $300 for the examination facility and $200 for 
examiner fees. Any charges in excess of these amounts will require additional documentation from the 
provider. The crime victim assistance program will pay only those charges determined by the department to be 
reasonable and fair. 

The Iowa department of public safety division of criminal investigation makes sexual abuse examination kits 
available to health care providers at no cost. 

61—9.84(915) Victim responsibility for payment. A victim of sexual abuse is not responsible for the payment 
of the costs of a sexual abuse examination determined to be eligible for payment by the department. A medical 
provider shall not submit any remaining balance after sexual abuse examination program payment to the 
sexual abuse victim. 

61—9.85(915) Sexual abuse examination—right to restitution. In all criminal cases under Iowa Code chapter 
709 and sections 726.2 and 710.2 in which there is a plea of guilty, verdict of guilty, or special verdict upon which 
a judgment of conviction is rendered, restitution may be ordered from the offender to the crime victim 
assistance program for the cost paid by the department for a sexual abuse examination rendered to the victim 
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of that crime pursuant to Iowa Code section 910.2. 

61—9.86(915) Erroneous or fraudulent payment—penalty. If a payment or overpayment of a reparation is 
made because of clerical error, mistaken identity, innocent misrepresentation by or on behalf of the recipient, 
or other circumstances of a similar nature, not induced by fraud by or on behalf of the recipients, the recipient is 
liable for repayment of the reparation. However, if the department does not notify the recipient of the 
erroneous payment or overpayment within one year of the date of payment, the recipient is not responsible for 
repayment to the department. 

If a payment or overpayment has been induced by fraud by or on behalf of a recipient, the recipient is liable 
for repayment to the department. 

61—9.87(915) Right to appeal. An eligible claimant who disagrees with the department’s decision concerning 
payment or amount of payment has the right to request reconsideration of that decision by the crime victim 
assistance board. The request for reconsideration must be received by the department within 60 days after the 
decision of the department is mailed. 

Rules 9.80(915) to 9.87(915) are intended to implement Iowa Code section 915.41. 

 

[Filed 12/28/84, Notice 8/29/84—published 1/16/85, effective 4/3/85] [Filed emergency 7/10/87—published 7/29/87, 
effective 7/10/87] [Filed emergency 6/9/89—published 6/28/89, effective 6/9/89] [Filed emergency 8/4/89—
published 8/23/89, effective 8/4/89] [Filed emergency 9/1/89—published 9/20/89, effective 9/1/89] [Filed 10/27/89, 
Notice 8/23/89—published 11/15/89, effective 12/20/89] [Filed 12/22/89, Notice 9/20/89—published 1/10/90, 
effective 2/14/90] [Filed emergency 5/11/90 after Notice 11/15/89—published 5/30/90, effective 5/11/90] [Filed 
emergency 7/20/90—published 8/8/90, effective 7/20/90] [Filed 5/8/92, Notice 11/27/91—published 5/27/92, 
effective 7/1/92] [Filed 10/9/92, Notice 7/8/92—published 10/28/92, effective 12/2/92] [Filed 3/11/94, Notice 
12/8/93—published 3/30/94, effective 5/6/94] [Filed 2/10/95, Notice 11/23/94—published 3/1/95, effective 4/5/95] 
[Filed 4/7/95, Notice 1/18/95—published 4/26/95, effective 5/31/95] [Filed 12/8/00, Notice 11/1/00—published 
12/27/00, effective 1/31/01] [Filed 5/4/04, Notice 1/21/04—published 5/26/04, effective 6/30/04] [Filed 12/30/04, 
Notice 10/13/04—published 1/19/05, effective 2/23/05] 

 

Iowa Attorney General - 61 

Chapter 35 

IDENTITY THEFT PASSPORT 

61—35.1(715A) Definitions. 

“Creditor” means a person or entity who is owed money or property by another person via the extension of 
credit to that other person to defer payment of debt, to incur debt and defer its payment, or to purchase 
property or services and defer payment therefor, or a person or entity to whom a creditor’s right to payment 
has been assigned. 

“Division” means the crime victim assistance division in the attorney general’s office. 

“Division director” means the director of the crime victim assistance division in the attorney general’s office. 

“Identity theft” means the commission of the offense of identity theft, as stated in Iowa Code section 
715A.8(2), which includes when a person fraudulently uses or attempts to fraudulently use identification 
information of another person, with the intent to obtain credit, property, services, or other benefit. 
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“Law enforcement agency” means an agency that employs peace officers. 

“Peace officer” means the same as defined in Iowa Code section 801.4(11). 

“Person” means an individual. 

“Report of identity theft” means a request by a person to a peace officer in any jurisdiction described in Iowa 
Code section 715A.8(5) for the peace officer to take a report regarding an alleged commission of identity theft 
against the person. 

“Victim” means a person who alleges that identity theft has been committed against the person. 

61—35.2(715A) Application for identity theft passports. 

 35.2(1) Completion of application. 

 a.  A person who has filed a report of identity theft may apply for an identity theft passport through the law 
enforcement agency to which the report was made. 

 b.  An application for an identity theft passport shall include the following: 

 (1) Completion by the person, or by another on behalf of the person, and by the law enforcement agency, 
of the identity theft passport application form and the identity theft verification form set out in rule 61—
35.8(715A), along with any documentation supporting the claim that the person is a victim of identity theft. 

 (2) A copy of the report of identity theft made to the law enforcement agency. 

 (3) Photographic identification of the victim in one of the following formats in order of preference: 

 1. A copy of the victim’s current driver’s license or state-issued nonoperator’s identification card. 

 2. A current photograph of the victim certified as valid by signature of the law enforcement investigator 
who received the report of identity theft. 

 c.  Upon completion of the application for an identity theft passport, the law enforcement agency which 
received the application shall forward it to the crime victim assistance division of the office of the attorney 
general. 

 35.2(2) Confidentiality of application. An application made with the attorney general shall be confidential 
and shall not be a public record subject to disclosure under Iowa Code chapter 22. 

61—35.3(715A) Issuance of identity theft passports. 

 35.3(1) Upon receipt of a completed application for an identity theft passport, the division shall review the 
application and determine whether to issue the applicant an identity theft passport. In determining whether to 
issue the identity theft passport, the division shall consider all the facts and circumstances reported in the 
application, any recommendations received from the law enforcement agency to which the report was made, 
and any other facts that the division deems necessary to make the determination. 

 35.3(2) An identity theft passport shall be in the form of a card or certificate as determined by the attorney 
general. 

61—35.4(715A) Usage of identity theft passports. An identity theft victim may present the passport to: 

 35.4(1) A law enforcement agency to help prevent the victim’s arrest or detention for any offense 
committed by someone other than the victim who is using the victim’s identity, and 

 35.4(2) A creditor of the victim to aid in the creditor’s investigation and establishment of whether 
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fraudulent charges were made against accounts in the victim’s name or whether accounts were opened using 
the victim’s identity. 

61—35.5(715A) Acceptance of identity theft passports. A law enforcement agency or creditor may accept an 
identity theft passport from the victim and may consider the surrounding circumstances and available 
information regarding the offense of identity theft pertaining to the victim. 

61—35.6(715A) Expiration of identity theft passports. An identity theft passport issued by the office of the 
attorney general shall be valid for a period of five years from the date of issuance or renewal. The victim to 
whom an expired identity theft passport was issued may reapply to the office of the attorney general for 
renewal of the identity theft passport within 30 days after its expiration. The office of the attorney general may 
renew the identity theft passport in the same manner that initial passports are issued, as outlined in rule 61—
35.3(715A). 

61—35.7(715A) Revocation of identity theft passports. 

 35.7(1) If the division determines that an identity theft passport which has been issued should not have 
been issued, the division shall notify the person to whom the identity theft passport was issued of the intended 
revocation of the identity theft passport and the reasons for the intended revocation. 

 35.7(2) The person who has received a notice of intended revocation of an identity theft passport may 
request reconsideration of the intended revocation. The request and all information in support of a 
reconsideration of the intended revocation shall be submitted to the division director within 30 calendar days of 
the mailing date on the notice of intended revocation. 

 35.7(3) The division director will issue a decision regarding the reconsideration of the intended revocation of 
the identity theft passport within 30 days of receipt of the request for reconsideration whenever possible. The 
decision of the division director regarding the revocation of the identity theft passport constitutes final agency 
action. 

 35.7(4) If, after notice, the division determines that the identity theft passport is revoked, the division shall 
notify the person of the revocation in a mailing to the person’s last-known residential address. 

 35.7(5) A person shall not use a revoked identity theft passport for any purpose. 

61—35.8(715A) Identity theft passport application and verification forms. 

 35.8(1) Identity theft victim application and affidavit. The following form may be used to apply for an identity 
theft passport. 

61—35.8(2) Identity theft law enforcement report verification. The following form must be completed by the 
investigating officer and submitted in conjunction with the identity theft application and affidavit. [Forms 
Below]                                                                              

61—35.8(3) Submission of documentation. In order to be considered for an identity theft passport, a victim must 
submit the following documentation to the Crime Victim Assistance Division, Ground Floor, Lucas State Office 
Building, Des Moines, Iowa 50319: 

 a.  The Identity Theft Victim Application and Affidavit form, signed by the victim. 

 b.  The Identity Theft Law Enforcement Report Verification form, signed by the investigating officer. 

 c.  A copy of the law enforcement agency's investigative report. 

These rules are intended to implement Iowa Code section 715A.9A. 
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[Filed ARC 7940B (Notice ARC 7528B, IAB 1/28/09), IAB 7/15/09, effective 8/19/09] 

 

 

 


