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Crime Victim Assistance Board
The Attorney General’s Crime Victim Assistance Board was established in Iowa Code section 915.82 in 

1989. The Attorney General appoints Board Members to three-year terms of service. The Attorney 

General appoints a member to serve as Board Chair at the beginning of each state fiscal year. The Board 

is a governing Board for the programs of the Crime Victim Assistance Division; it gives guidance to the 

Division Director and adopts Administrative Rules that govern the programs of the Division. The Board 

also conducts a hearing and renders a decision on any appeal of a Division decision. 

Administrative Rules require that the Board meet a minimum of once in each quarter in the state’s fiscal 

year. Iowa Code section 915.80 requires that Board members include two crime victim survivors, one 

victim service provider, a licensed social worker or psychologist, two law enforcement officers, a 

prosecutor, a defense attorney, a medical provider, and an older Iowan. The list of board members 

below includes the constituency they represent, their County of residence, and the year that their 

current term ends.  

Crime Victim Assistance Board Members SFY20 
Mark C. Smith, Chair, State Public Defender's Office (retd), Des Moines (2021) 

Linda Railsback, Doctor, Des Moines (2022)   

Mary Roche, Iowa Department of Corrections, Waterloo (2021)  

Gary Oldenburger, Represents Prosecutors, Ottumwa (2021) 

Bret Billet, Represents Older Iowans, Waverly (2022) 

Paul Fitzgerald, Story County Sheriff, Nevada (2021) 

Claudia Thrane, Represents Crime Victims, Des Moines (2022)  

Mary Ingham, Crisis Intervention Services, Mason City (2022) 

Breanne Ward, Represents Mental Health Professionals, Des Moines (2022)  

Tom Nichols, Represents Crime Victims, Evansdale (2020) 

Board member terms end in July of the noted year.
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Crime Victim Assistance Division Programs 
Programs Within the Crime Victim Assistance Division (CVAD) 

The Crime Victim Assistance Division (CVAD) was created by the Iowa General Assembly and founded 
by Attorney General Tom Miller in July 1989. In 1989, the Division administered two programs with six 
staff. Today, CVAD administers seven programs with 29 staff. 

 

 

Programs at a Glance 

Crime Victim Compensation Program (CVC) 

Compensation Paid for Crime Victims $3,619,742 

Sexual Assault Exam Payments $2,391,590 

Crime Victim Compensation Applications Received 3,577 

Restitution & Subrogation Recovered $723,204 

Crime Victims 
Compensation 

Program

• Created in 1983 and
moved to CVAD from
the Department of
Public Safety in 1989

Victims 
Services 
Support 
Program

• Created when four
federal and state
funding streams
combined at CVAD in
1989; program added
two additional funding
streams early 2000's

Sexual Abuse 
Examination 

Payment 
Program

• Created in 1979 and
transferred to CVAD
from the Deparment
of Public Health in
1990

IowaVINE

• Created in 1999

Iowa Identity 
Theft Passport 

Program

• Created in 2009

Registrant 
Watch

• Created in 2011

Safe at Home

• Created in 2016
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Victim Services Support Program (VSS) administers six funding streams for community-based and 
system-based victim services: 

• State Domestic Abuse (DA) funds

• Federal Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) funds, Office for Victims of Crime, Office of Justice
Programs, US Department of Justice

• Federal Family Violence Prevention & Services Act (FVPSA) funds, US Department of Health and
Human Services

• State Sexual Abuse (SA) funds

• Federal Violence Against Women (VAWA) funds, Office on Violence Against Women, US
Department of Justice

• Federal Sexual Abuse Services Program (SASP) funds, Office on Violence Against Women, US
Department of Justice

Victim Services Support Program 

State and Federal Award Amounts 2020 

State Appropriation $5,016,708 

Federal Family Violence Prev. & Services Funds 

Federal Family Violence Prev. & Services CARES Act 
Funds  

$1,314,793 

$331,515 

Federal Sexual Abuse Services Program (SF) Funds $454,666 

Federal STOP Violence Against Women (VW) Funds $1,759,679 

Federal Victims of Crime Act Assist. (VA) Funds $21,737,817 

Total State and Federal Awards *$30,615,178 

*LAST FISCAL YEAR  TOTAL AWARDS WERE  $40,505,547
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IowaVINE (Victim Information and Notification Everyday) 

SFY20 

New Registrations 75,417 

Total Searches 6,076,740 

Iowa Identity Theft Passport Program (IDPP) 

SFY20 

Passport Applications 54 

Passports Issued 47 

Passport Applications Pending 7 

Registrant Watch 

Members of the public are offered a means to protect themselves from individuals who have committed 
an offense requiring enrollment to the Sex Offender Registry. Individuals can register to receive 
information via email, phone call and text about the change in location of a specific sex offender or 
notable changes in appearance of a specific offender. Watches can be set so an individual can be 
notified if a registered sex offender moves into a city, county, or zip code within five miles of a specific 
address or “area”.  

Safe at Home 

The Office of the Iowa Secretary of State unveiled the Safe at Home (SAH), address confidentiality 
program on January 1, 2016.  This program helps victims of crime improve their lives by using a 
substitute address, so a physical address does not appear in public records, thereby helping keep the 
victim’s whereabouts safe.  THE SAH program also allows for repackaging and forwarding of a 
participant’s mail to ensure safe and secure delivery.  Participants can also register to vote through this 
program, without having to be listed on the public voter registration list.  Eligible participants include 
survivors of sexual assault, domestic violence, trafficking, stalking and other violent crimes.  CVAD 
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partnered with the Secretary of State’s Office to provide financial support for the maintenance of the 
secure database used to house victim information, as well as to aid in the costs necessary to repackage 
and resend a participant’s mail.  CVAD also conducts statewide outreach and education to ensure 
victims are aware of the existence of this program.   

Training, Advocacy and Outreach 

The Crime Victim Assistance Division conducts regular training, advocacy and outreach to agencies, 
community groups and members of the public.   Training topics include basic information on the 
programs administered by the CVAD, information on victim service programs and best practices for 
serving victims of crime.  In addition, CVAD staff regularly attend and participate in partnership 
meetings with other statewide agencies and victim service programs. 

In SFY20, CVAD staff conducted 2 trainings to educate funded programs on the new online grant 
manual and 2 regional trainings with subrecipients to discuss federal grant programs funded by CVAD. 
Approximately 174 individuals attended the trainings. Staff also conducted trainings and outreach 
presentations to community organizations and members of the public, providing information on our 
agency and programs to approximately 1,548 individuals throughout the state of Iowa.  Additionally, 
staff conducted trainings that reached more than 697 victim service, medical, legal and other 
professionals.   

CVAD has a trained victim advocate who provides information, support and resources to individuals 
who contact CVAD.  In SFY20, the CVAD advocate provided services to 443 individuals.  Services 
provided included assistance completing the crime victim compensation application, criminal justice 
support and advocacy, housing advocacy and economic advocacy.  The CVAD advocate also provided 
more than 486 referrals to victim service, community, legal and other agencies. 

In October 2020, CVAD hosted the biennial Victim Justice Symposium (VJS).  Due to safety concerns 
around the pandemic, the VJS was held virtually via Zoom, October 4-8th.  Over 250 individuals 
registered for and attended the conference.  Of those who attended, 58% identified it was their first 
time attending the symposium. The majority of the attendees were victim service professionals; 
however, other attendees included professionals from law enforcement, legal services, social work, 
medical and education fields.  The theme of the symposium was “Empower. Inspire. Motivate.”  Some 
of the sessions offered included: “When Advocates Need Advocates: Power & Control within Anti-
Violence Organizations”, “Understanding and Assisting with Recovery from Military Sexual Trauma", 
“Overcoming Gender Bias in the Investigation and Prosecution of Sexual Assault”, and “Understand 
Grooming, Understand the Silence”. Feedback from the symposium was largely positive given that it 
was not able to be held in person. Aside from a few technical glitches with Zoom, the symposium was by 
and large a success.  
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Crime Victim Compensation Program 
The Crime Victim Compensation Program (CVC) pays certain out-of-pocket expenses for victims 
physically or emotionally injured by crime. All funds for the program come from the Compensation 
Fund, which consists of fines and penalties paid by convicted criminals. The program does not 
compensate for damaged or stolen property. Eligible crime victims can be reimbursed for expenses they 
pay and payments can be made directly to a service provider on behalf of the crime victim for crime-
related expenses.  

Program Activity SFY20 

Applications received 3,577 

Applications approved 3,062 

Applications denied 372 

Victims assisted by advocate in applying for CVC 331 

Count of restitution payments received 4,452 

Count of subrogation payments received 22 

Amount of restitution received $696,925 

Amount of subrogation received $91,504 

Compensation paid for Crime Victims $3,420,147 
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Benefits 

Crime Victim Compensation eligibility requirements and benefits are established in Iowa Code Chapter 
915. Actual out-of-pocket expenses of the victim can be paid up to the following amounts:

$25,000 Medical expenses for the victim 

$5,000 Mental Health care for a victim, by a qualified professional 

$6,000 Lost wages for work missed due to injury from crime 

$1,000 Lost wages for work missed due to criminal justice proceedings 

$1,000 Lost wages while taking a minor or dependent crime victim to receive medical or mental 
health care 

$4,000 Loss of support for the dependent of a deceased or disabled victim 

$1,000 Clean-up expenses of a residential crime scene 

$500 Security items replacement for victim residence or residential crime 

$200 Replacement of clothing or bedding held as evidence by law enforcement 

$1,000 Dependent care during court or medical and mental health appointments 

$2,000 Mental Health care for a victim’s family member or household member 

$5,000 Mental Health care for survivors of a homicide victim 

$3,000 Medical expenses for certain survivors of a homicide victim 

$1,000 Dependent Care while a victim's parent or caretaker transports the victim to medical 
care, mental health care and criminal proceedings 

$7,500 Funeral and Burial expenses for a homicide victim 

$1,000 Transportation to medical care, mental health care, and court proceedings, and to the 
funeral of a homicide victim 

$2,000 Housing/Shelter Assistance (not available for claims filed after July 1, 2017-SUSPENDED) 

$1,000 Emergency Relocation expenses 
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Paid Claims by Crime Type SFY20 

Crime Type Amount Paid 
Arson $7,918 
Assault $880,259 
Attempted murder $86,478 
Burglary $33,363 
Child abuse $6,217 
Child Abuse Murder $7,855 
Child Endangerment $11,505 
Child Pornography $2,641 
Domestic Abuse $75,141 

Domestic abuse resulting in a murder $70,751 
Drunk Driving and Boating $178,421 
Harassment $37,377 
Hit & Run $60,877 
Hit & Run Homicide $55,521 
Homicide Witness $14,901 
Human Trafficking $4,462 
Juvenile sexual assault by a family member $85,505 
Juvenile sexual assault by a non-family 
member $106,276 
Kidnapping $20,406 
Murder $755,619 
Other $4,485 
Reckless Driving $61,272 
Robbery $42,649 
Sexual assault $132,574 

Sexual Assault Forensic Exam $1,888,148 
Stalking $3,916 
Vehicular Assault $56 

Vehicular Homicide $239,269 

Violation of No Contact Order $11,792 
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Compensation Payments by Expense Type - SFY20 

Payment Type Amount Paid 

Clothing and Bedding $15,909 

Mental Health Counseling $399,380 

Crime Scene Cleanup $8,406 

Dependent Care $2,127 

Emergency Relocation $139,399 

Funeral and Burial $604,756 

Loss of Support $198,596 

Medical and Dental Care $1,156,788 

Residential Security Items $33,343 

Housing/Shelter Assistance $2,908 

Transportation, Mileage, Lodging $197,447 

Wage Loss $661,088 
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Applying for Crime Victim Compensation Benefits 

Mail applications to:   

Crime Victim Assistance Division 

321 East 12th Street 

Des Moines, Iowa 50319 

Fax applications to 515-281-8199  

Apply by telephone by calling 515-281-5044 from Des Moines or toll-free at 800-373-5044 

Apply online. 

More information about compensation is also available on our website.  

Clothing	and	
Bedding
<1%

Mental	Health	
Counseling

12%
Crime	Scene	
Cleanup
<1%

Dependent	Care
<1%

Emergency	
Relocation

4%

Funeral	and	Burial	
18%

Loss	of	Support
6%Medical	and	Dental	

Care
34%

Residential	
Security	Items

1%

Housing/Shelter	
Assistance

<1%

Transportation,	
Mileage,	Lodging

6%

Wage	Loss
19%
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Restitution 

Iowa Code provides that restitution shall be order for payments issued by the Crime Victim 
Compensation Program to the extent that the offender is reasonably able to pay. The program’s 
Restitution Coordinator will complete the following activities to collect restitution on behalf of the 
program: 

• Review all approved compensation applications to determine if an offender has been

identified, and if so:

o If the criminal case is still pending, the Restitution Coordinator will send a statement of

pecuniary damages to the prosecuting attorney; or

o If the defendant has already been convicted of the crime, but is awaiting sentencing the

restitution coordinator will send a statement of pecuniary damages and submit it to the

prosecuting attorney; or

o If the defendant has been sentenced the Restitution Coordinator shall send a statement

of pecuniary damages, motion to amend, and restitution order to the prosecuting

attorney.

• Monitor each offender’s restitution plan and payment history.

• Initiate collection actions, including but not limited to formal payment agreements, income tax

offsets, wage garnishments, and wage assignments if the offender does not comply with the

established plan of payment.



Crime Victim Assistance Division Annual Report SFY20 | 16 

Sexual Abuse Examination Payment Program 
The Iowa Sexual Abuse Examination Payment Program (SAE) was established in 1979 to pay the cost 

of a forensic examination of the victim for sexual abuse crimes that occur in Iowa. All funds for the 

program come from the Compensation Fund, which consists entirely of fines and penalties paid by 

convicted criminals. 

Iowa Code section 915.41 states: 

The cost of a medical examination for the purpose of gathering evidence and the cost of 
treatment for the purpose of preventing venereal disease shall be paid from the fund 
established in section 915.94 [Victim Compensation Fund]. 

The purpose of a victim’s forensic medical examination after sexual abuse is to collect evidence and 
ensure the victim’s well-being. In Iowa, any person who states they were the victim of a sexual assault 
can receive the exam whether or not they choose to report the crime. Victims may seek forensic and 
medical treatment immediately and take additional time to consider whether to report to law 
enforcement and participate in the criminal justice system.  

The SAE Program pays the cost of the examination regardless of whether or not the victim reports the 
crime to law enforcement. A victim is never responsible for payment for a sexual abuse forensic 
examination or for medications required due to the assault. Medical providers and facilities submit 
the bill for the sexual abuse examination directly to the SAE Program. If the victim is billed by a 
medical provider for the examination, the SAE Program will reimburse that victim.   

The program will pay: 

§ Up to $300 for the examining room and facility.
§ Up to $200 for the examiners fee (Sexual Abuse Nurse Examiner or Physician).
§ 75% of laboratory and medication costs related to the sexual abuse exam and for prevention of

sexually transmitted diseases (STD) for the crime victim.
§ Follow up appointments for the crime at the same rates as the initial examination.

Sexual Abuse Examination Payment Program SFY20 

Amount Paid for Examinations 
$1,888,148 

Number of Examination Claims Submitted 2,150 
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Victim Services Support Program
CVAD’s Victim Services Support Program (VSS) provides grant funding and support to victim service 
organizations throughout Iowa. VSS focuses on (1) effective stewardship of state and federal funds for 
victim services, law enforcement, prosecution and courts administration and (2) providing technical 
assistance to crime victim programs on program development, fiscal management and services. 
Because of CVAD’s diverse funding, we are able to fund nonprofit and governmental agencies to 
provide a variety of services to crime victims and the local community. Grant funds support 
organizations and projects which connect crime victims to advocacy services, improve investigations, 
increase prosecution, and improve medical and courts response to Iowa victims. 

Fund Sources 

Below is a summary of the funding sources CVAD and the VSS team administers. 

Iowa Domestic Abuse (DA) and Iowa Sexual Abuse (SA) funds are appropriated by the Iowa 
Legislature through general funds. 100% of these funds are distributed to organizations which provide 
services to domestic abuse and sexual abuse/assault victims through both local and statewide 
outreach including victim-based shelters. 

Federal Family Violence Prevention and Services Act (FVPSA) funds are awarded to Iowa by the 
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Administration for Children and Families, 
Office of Community Services. The U.S. Congress appropriates the funds annually. Each state receives 
a formula grant based on the state’s population. CVAD retains 10% of the funds for administration, 
with the remaining 90% distributed to domestic abuse organizations and victim-based shelters. 
Seventy percent of FVPSA funds must be allocated to family violence shelters. FVPSA requires 
recipients to provide a 25% match. 

Federal Sexual Abuse Services Program (SASP) funds are awarded to Iowa by the U.S. Department 
of Justice, Office on Violence Against Women. The U.S. Congress appropriates the funds annually. 
Each state receives a base amount and additional funds based on a formula using the state’s 
population. CVAD retains 5% of the funds for administration. The remaining 95% is distributed to non-
profit sexual abuse organizations. Recipients of SASP funds are not required to provide match. 

Federal STOP Violence Against Women Act (STOP) funds are awarded to Iowa by the U.S. 
Department of Justice, Office on Violence Against Women. The U.S. Congress appropriates the funds 
annually. Each state receives a base amount of $600,000 and additional funds based on a formula 
using the state’s population. CVAD retains 10% for administration. The remaining 90% is distributed 
to organizations as follows: 5% to courts, 25% to law enforcement, 25% to prosecution, 30% to victim 
services and 15% at the state administrating agency’s discretion within the focus and purpose of the 
funds. STOP funds require recipients to provide a one-third match. 
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Federal Victims of Crime Act Assistance (VOCA) funds are awarded to Iowa by the U.S. Department 
of Justice, Office for Victims of Crime. The funds come from the federal Crime Victims Fund, which 
consists entirely of fines and penalties paid by convicted federal criminals and collected by U.S. 
Attorney’s Offices. Each state receives a base amount of $500,000, and additional funds based on a 
formula using the state’s population. CVAD retains 5% of the funds for administration, with the 
remaining 95% distributed to victim services organizations. VOCA requires recipients to provide 25% 
match. 

Service Model Summary 

In State Fiscal Year 2013, CVAD and the VSS Program along with collaborative partners such as the 
Iowa Coalition Against Domestic Violence, Iowa Coalition Against Sexual Assault and other experts in 
the victim service field created a Strategic Funding and Services plan for victim services. The goal of 
the plan was to change how to distribute available funding in a manner that most effectively provides 
quality services to all crime victims across the state.  

The State of Iowa now uses the housing first model, which is focused on accessing and stabilizing safe 
housing as a first priority. After safe housing is established the victim/survivor is surrounded with 
support services, advocacy and other assistance identified by the victim and advocate for the victim to 
remain safe and violence-free. These services may include other items such as assistance with a 
protective order, financial housing assistance, transportation, car repairs, training or other items that 
enhance stabilization, safety and self-sufficiency. The service model incorporates different forms of 
housing such as a 24/7 emergency shelter, safe homes, hotel/motel, financial housing assistance, 
transitional housing and diverting victims from shelter and keeping them victim in their homes.  

The service model implemented a regionalization of services that divided Iowa’s services for domestic 
abuse and sexual abuse victims into six regions as shown in the map on the next page. CVAD 
determined available funds could support one or two organizations in each region specific to each of 
the following types of services:  domestic abuse comprehensive (DAC), sexual abuse comprehensive 
program (SAC), and victim-based shelter programs (SH). This focus increases the number of sexual 
assault advocates and more equitably distributes the resources for victims of both sexual assault and 
domestic violence. 
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The plan incorporates mobile advocacy in Iowa’s rural areas of the state in order to meet victims in 
their communities rather than expecting victims to travel to another area of the state for services. It is 
critical for all cities and towns in Iowa to have advocacy and outreach coverage. This plan means 
services are truly statewide. 

During this timeframe, CVAD restructured survivors of homicide programming and other violent 
crime services as well. The majority of Iowa’s homicide investigations are conducted by the 
Department of Criminal Investigations (DCI) through the Iowa Department of Public Safety. In order 
to create the most successful programming, funding for survivors of homicide programs was 
distributed based on the DCI Zones.  
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Performance Statistics and Information 

**Beginning October 1, 2020, the grant year shift from July to June award period to October to 
September award period.  

The grant year 2019-2020 was the sixth year of implementing the service model. The pie chart below 
breaks down the number of victims served by CVAD’s victim services funded organizations into three 
categories: domestic abuse (DA), sexual abuse/assault (SA) and other violent crime victims.  

From October 1, 2019 to September 30, 2020 victim service programs served 55,902 victims.** 

30,174,	
Domestic	
Abuse

10,424,	
Sexual	
Assault

15,304,	
Other	
Violent	
Crime
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The numbers provided above include all types of victim services agencies funded by CVAD including 
Victim Witness Coordinators through local prosecutor offices and survivors of homicide programs.  

Table 1 on the previous page provides a breakdown of the victims served by type of victimization in 
the most recent grant year. In comparing last year SFY19 to FFY20, there was an overall decrease of 
approximately 31.5% in the number of crime victims served (81,646:55,902); however, from SFY14 to 
the current there was an increase of 76% (31,687:55,902) of victims served. It is important to note, 
however, in SFY19 CVAD shifted from funding projects on the state fiscal year (July-June) to funding 
projects based on the federal fiscal year (Oct-Sept). The SFY19 statistics were comprised of 15 months 
of services, vs. the typical 12 months. This unintentionally skews the decrease in victims served from 
SFY19-FFY20. One of the most important comparisons is the overall victims served pre-restructure 
(SFY13) to how services are now structured and delivered now. There was an approximate increase of 
99% in the number of victims served when comparing the old model of services (SFY13) to the seventh 
year of the new model of services (28,053: 55,902) which is attributed to both the restructure and the 
increase in victim services funding.  

*The numbers provided for the SFY20 annual report are for 12-months for the period October 1, 2019 to September 30, 

2020 as opposed to SFY19 when CVAD’s grant year changed from a July 1 start date to an October 1 start date.  The 

change resulted in grantees receiving a three-month extension and therefore serving more crime victims.  The number of 

victims served in SFY20 are therefore less because of the change and because of the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic.
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Domestic Assault and Sexual Assault Victims Served in Iowa 

State Fiscal Year Domestic Violence Victims 
Served 

Sexual Assault Victims Served 

FY2013  
(pre-restructure) 

20,616 4,431 

FY2014 23,067 
+12% from prior year

5,158 
+16% from prior year

FY2015 23,111 
+.19% from prior year 

+12% since restructure

7,234 
+40% from prior year

+63% since restructure

SY2016 29,805 
+29% from prior year

+45% since restructure

10,011 
+38% from prior year

+126% since restructure

SY2017 35,228 
+18% from prior year

+71% since restructure

14,294 
+43% from prior year

+223% since restructure

SY2018 40,698 
+15% from prior year

+97% since restructure

17,103 
+20% from prior year

+286% since restructure

July 1, 2018- 

September 30, 2019 

41,427 
+18% from prior year

+101% since restructure

16,621 

-2.8% from prior year
+275% since restructure

October 1, 2019 – 
September 30, 2020 

30,174 

-27% from prior year

+46% since restructure

10,424 

-37% from prior year

135% since restructure 
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Demographics of Victims Served 

Table 1:  Total Crime Victims Served October 1, 2019 
to September 30, 2020 

Crime Type 

Domestic Abuse Female 24,757 

DA Male 2,248 

DA Children 2,890 

Teen Dating Violence    299 

Total Domestic Abuse Victims 30,174 

Female Adult Sexual Abuse/Assault   5,819 

Male Adult Sexual Abuse/Assault 699 

Sexual Abuse Adolescent 1,688 

Child Sexual Abuse 1,391 

Female Survivor of Incest 663 

Male Survivor of Incest 164 

Total Sexual Abuse/Assault Victims 10,424 

Child Physical Abuse 762 

Drunk/Intoxicated Driving  582 

Homicide Victim Survivors 1,969 

Elder Abuse 256 

Identity Theft 1,290 

Robbery-Burglary 1,311 

Stalking 1,038 

Assault 2,814 

Human Trafficking – Labor  158 

Human Trafficking – Sex  551 

Bullying 1,378 

Hate Crime 665 

Other Violent Crimes 2,530 

Total Other Violent Crime Victims 15,304 

Total Crime Victims Served 55,902 
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Gender Breakdown of Victims Served 

Ages of Victims Served 
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40,947 - 73%
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Racial Breakdown of Victims Served 

Other Demographics:  
Immigrants, refugees or asylum seekers 4,131 
Rural Iowans 19,127  
Limited English proficient 4,544 
People with physical or cognitive disabilities 7,097 
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Shelter Services and Crisis Calls  
In the new service model, organizations offer shelter to victims in various ways: keeping victims in 
their homes (diversion from shelter), traditional shelter buildings, safe homes and hotels/motels. 
Assessments are an important tool advocates use to assist victims in becoming and remaining 
violence-free and self-sufficient. In this service model advocates are conducting both housing stability 
and lethality assessments when assisting victims.  

Victim service advocates conducted 8,744 housing assessments in the most recent grant year, which 
is a 23% decrease from the previous year (11,406:8,744); however, this is due to the last grant year 
being 15 months long. Overall, housing assessments have increased; 8,744 is an increase of 142% from 
SFY14 (3,602: 8,744).  When conducting these assessments, advocates assist crime victims through 
advocacy, problem-solving and financial assistance which are effective ways to stabilize survivors, to 
maintain safety and to increase self-sufficiency. Advocates were able to divert 4,843 victims (women, 
men and children) from shelter in the past grant year by providing rent and utility assistance, other 
forms of financial assistance and problem solving and advocacy. The following table provides a 3-year 
breakdown of the shelter diversion information.  

Shelter Diversion SFY18 SFY19 (+ 3 
mos.) 

Grant Year 2019-
2020  

Rent/Utility Assistance 1,181 4,278 2,793 

Financial Assistance 1,896 6,006 3,614 

Problem Solving/Advocacy 3,658 1,191 1,428 

The table below provides a breakdown of the number of victims sheltered by type of victimization and 
number of nights of safety/shelter provided and compares the previous two years data to the most 
recent grant year. The table illustrates there was a 19% increase in the number of victims receiving 
traditional shelter when comparing 2018 to 2020 (4,909:5,882), however, comparative data for 2019 is 
not possible as a new data collection system was implemented in funded programs and the data point 
was set to count “all victims” instead of “all unduplicated victims” resulting in an overcounting. There 
was a decrease and an increase in the number of victims receiving non-traditional shelter through safe 
homes and hotels/motels. Specifically, an increase of approximately 30% in sheltering victims in 
hotels and motels from 2019-2020 (1113:1460); and a decrease of 9% in sheltering victims in safe 
homes from 2019 to 2020 (118:107). Victim services organizations provided fewer nights in traditional 
shelter in 2020 compared to 2019, due to COVID-19.   
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Total Crime Victims Sheltered 

Jul-Jun 
2018 

Jul-Sep 
2019  

Oct-Sep 
2020 

Jul-Jun 
2018 

Jul-Sep 
2019 

Oct-
Sep 
2020  

Jul-Jun 
2018  

Jul-Sep 
2019  

Oct-Sep 
2020  

Traditional 
Shelter 

Traditional 
Shelter 

Traditional 
Shelter 

Safe 
Homes 

Safe 
Homes 

Safe 
Homes 

Hotels 
or 

Motels 

Hotels 
or 

Motels 

Hotels 
or 

Motels 
Domestic Abuse 

Female 
2,362 4,811 3,618 130 149 45 483 631 920 

Domestic Abuse 

Male 
138 288 222 5 12 1 20 25 72 

Domestic Abuse 

Children 
1,895 3,303 1,768 97 47 47 433 342 358 

Sexual Assault 

Victims 
212 609 120 11 10 9 103 79 73 

Other Violent 

Crime Victims 
302 1,926 159 3 0 5 22 36 37 

Total Victims 
Sheltered 

4,909 10,937** 5,882 246 118 107 1,056 1,113 1,460 

Total Shelter 
Nights 

148,421 159,296 102,155 13,676 5,651 5,301 7,493 2,914 11,973* 

* Due to COVID-19, many shelters opted to use hotels and motels instead of traditional shelters. CARES ACT funding 
helped pay for these costs. **A new data collection system was implemented in SFY19-this figure is a “duplicated” 
number of total victims served which is why it is so much higher than in prior years. 

Victim Services Programs track the number of people turned away from shelter. In Grant Year 2019-
2020, grantees reported they turned away 1,867 people as summarized in the chart below.  

Reason Children/Youth Women Men 

Inappropriate 297 816 165 

Shelter Full 219 314 20 

Unsafe 8 24 4 

Totals 524 1154 189 
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 Advocates assist victims in many ways, including safety planning, individual counseling, group 
counseling, civil and criminal advocacy, personal advocacy, housing/economic advocacy, etc. These 
services are conducted in-person and through crisis calls and chat or text lines. In Grant Year 2019-
2020 advocates reported they assisted victims through 232,918 crisis calls, chats and texts, which is 
an increase of more than 100% from the 109,294 crisis calls answered the previous year. In addition, 
grantees reported they spent approximately 68,980 service hours on crisis calls, chats and texts.  

Community Support and Awareness 

Organizations rely on community volunteers to help support victims by providing direct services and 
advocacy throughout Iowa. Some of these direct service activities include providing support groups to 
adults, teens and children, responding to emergencies at hospitals and law enforcement agencies, 
providing court accompaniment and transporting victims to shelter and appointments. In addition, 
many community volunteers also donate their time indirectly to support victims and the programs 
providing those services. Examples of indirect volunteering vary but could include mowing the shelter 
lawn, conducting presentations, organizing donations, conducting fundraising and awareness 
activities.  

In Grant Year 2019-2020, 4,937 Iowans volunteered slightly more than 125,144 to victim services 
programs in Iowa. This is equivalent to approximately 60 full-time staff donating their time. 
Volunteers gave 62,653 hours providing direct services to crime victims and 62,490 hours providing 
indirect services.  

The number of volunteers decreased by 55% from the previous year (10,889:4,937). Due to COVID-19 
most grantees discontinued the use of volunteers for more than 6 months of this grant year.  
However, when comparing pre-restructure in SFY13 (3,550) to the current post-restructure grant year, 
there has been an increase of 1,387 volunteers or 39% (3,550: 4,937). Pre-restructure volunteers 
donated 151,414 hours of their time while the past year volunteers were able to provide 125,144 hours 
of service.   

CVAD grant funded organizations provide outreach to the community through the media and through 
presentations. VSS funded grantees had 19,620 media contacts with newspapers, television and 
radio through articles, interviews and advertisements. This is an increase from the 9,906 media 
contacts in the previous year. The Internet is an important resource for organizations to disseminate 
information or to conduct community outreach. Funded agencies reported 512,643 hits on their 
websites or other electronic options, such as Facebook or Twitter.  

Presentations are an important way to reach victims and to interact with other professionals. In the 
most recent grant year, CVAD’s grantees reported they conducted 3,307 different presentations (8,474 
the previous year), reaching 105,072 people about their services for victims. This is a decrease from 
332,429 the previous year. This is due to both COVID-19 this year and a 15-month grant period last 
year.   
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Professional Training and Collaborations 

Training and collaborating with other professionals are ways organizations improve the response to 
crime victims. By improving collaborative relationships with other criminal justice and local 
community agencies, victims’ rights are ensured, and professionals have a clearer understanding of 
each agency’s role.  

In the most recent grant year, CVAD funded organizations conducted 1,500 training sessions to 36,573 
people. This is nearly 50% less due to COVID-19 and a shorter grant year. Since SFY14, VSS-funded 
programs have conducted 13,921 training sessions to 279,508 professionals.  

Collaboration: Collaborating with other agencies is an important activity victim advocacy. The 
following chart provides a synopsis of collaboration from the past three state fiscal years.  

Grant Year Collaborative Agencies  Collaborative Meetings 

Jul - Jun 2018  17,352 37,516 

Jul - Sep 2019  19,251 46,859 

Oct – Sep 2020  13,100 34,725 

Agencies reported on their meetings and referrals with the following types of agencies: courts, 
correction officials, DAC programs, governmental entities, healthcare providers, law enforcement, 
prosecution/victim witness coordinators, educational entities, SAC programs, shelter programs, 
therapist/counselors. 

Referrals: In the most recent grant year, victim service programs received 34,585 referrals. The 
majority of referrals were from courts, DAC programs, law enforcement, prosecution/victim witness 
coordinators and governmental agencies. Grant funded organizations also made 2,743 referrals to 
other organizations.   

Funding Application and Review Process 

In 2018 and 2019, CVAD’s Victim Services Program released their three-year funding applications for 
victim services applicants and criminal justice programs. In addition, the CVAD changed their grant 
year to match the federal fiscal year. The three-year grant cycle began on October 1, 2019, and will 
end September 30, 2022, with each year in the grant cycle being funded separately. A new 
competitive grant cycle will begin October 1, 2022.  
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This current grant year is a non-competitive grant cycle. Except for one law enforcement applicant, 
who voluntarily relinquished their year 2 and year 3 grants, all year one grantees were level funded in 
year 2. Because this is a non-competitive year, none of the grants required an external review.   

Bonuses  

CVAD’s victim services program does not allow federal or state funds to be used to reimburse bonuses 
to any CVAD victim services grantee. This includes non-profit and nongovernmental agencies. 

Out-of-State Conferences/Training  

The table below shows of out-of-state travel for CVAD victim services staff from July 1, 2019 to 
November 2019.  CVAD sent 10 different staff to 9 different mandatory federal conferences required 
by the respective federal funding agency. Travel for these events was paid through federal 
administrative funds.  
 

 
Staff Out-of-State Travel 

Federal 
Funds 

State  
Funds 

Number  
of Staff 

Agate Intelligrants Demo – Software training, AZ $4,606.16  5 

American Evaluation Association Conf, MN $100.00  1 

NACVCB Board Meeting, San Diego $180.43  1 

2019 VOCA National Training Conference, San Diego $3,726.42  3 

Statewide Sexual Assault Response Reform in SAKI, NC $1,660.78  2 

NAVAA Board Meeting & Peer-to-Peer Meeting, SC $2,375.33  2 

OVC Federal Meeting, NM $206.80  1 

Building Collaborative Responses to Trafficked Victims of 

Domestic Violence & Sexual Assault, OR $1,3111,84  1 

 

Total $15,714.76 $0 
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Overtime  

Iowa’s victim service advocates respond 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to victims at hospitals, law enforcement or other safe locations. Victim 
Service funds support eight emergency shelters in Iowa’s six regions. The victim service organizations who paid overtime did so to cover 
shelter, hotline and emergency response services due to staff training, vacancies, sick leave, vacation and staffing shortages. Law 
enforcement used overtime to conduct follow-up investigations, victim safety checks, attend training and conduct arrests on violence against 
women cases. It is generally not cost effective for Iowa’s rural law enforcement agencies to fund a full-time law enforcement 
officer/investigator with Iowa’s STOP Violence Against Women (STOP) funds. A requirement of STOP funding is to fund law enforcement 
agencies to improve the response to domestic abuse, dating violence, sexual assault and stalking victims. See Appendix A for a map of the 
shelters funded with CVAD victim service funding.  

The total amount of claims paid in grant year 2019-2020 is $25,924,490.59. Of this amount CVAD paid $199,287.05 in overtime, (0.07%). 

	
Main City Region Type of Program Contractor Name/Program Name Overtime 

Hours 
Overtime Cost 

Sioux City 1 DAC 
SafePlace formerly: Council on Sexual Assault 
and Domestic Violence 

38.5 $1148.47 

Sioux City  1 SH 
SafePlace: formerly Council on Sexual Assault 
and Domestic Violence  

296.75 $7747 

Ames 2 DAC Assault Care Center 2.5 $63.35 

Waverly 3 SH Cedar Valley Friends of the Family 45.37 $855.94 

Waverly  3 HT Cedar Valley Friends of the Family 2 $38.34 

Des Moines  5 SH Children and Families of Iowa  551.25 $12,792.38 

Ottumwa 5 SH Crisis Intervention Services 72.08 $1549.44 

Sioux Center 1 IS Family Crisis Centers 6 $180.48 

Sioux Center  1 DAC Family Crisis Centers 23.75 $630.41 

Sioux Center 1 HL Family Crisis Centers 374 $9419.67 

Sioux Center 1 HP Family Crisis Centers 4 $143.85 
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Davenport 6 SAC Family Resources, Inc. SafePaths 60.12 $703.5 
Davenport  6 SH Family Resources, Inc. SafePaths 680.87 $8355.05 

Iowa City  6 DAC Domestic Violence Intervention Program 51 $1233.70 
Iowa City  6 SH Domestic Violence Intervention Program  93.5 $2281.07 

Spencer 1 NI NW IA Mental Health Center: Seasons 6.58 $192.51 

Fort Dodge 2 SH Domestic/Sexual Assault Outreach Center 52.75 $1271.23 

Fort Dodge 2 HP Domestic/Sexual Assault Outreach Center 21.75   $522.35 

      Victim Service Total 2382.77 $49,128.74 

 

 

	 	 	 	

Main City Region 
Type of 
Program Contractor Name/Program Name 

Total 
Overtime 
Hours 

Total Amount of 
Overtime Paid 

Dubuque 3 LE Dubuque County Attorney 66.75 $2804.18 

Mason City 2 LE Mason City Police Department 394.2 $8603.37 

Des Moines  State PR Iowa Dept of Justice 1563.75 $114,455.98 

Des Moines  5 LE Des Moines Police Department  345 $19,501.00 

Des Moines  State LE Iowa Law Enforcement Academy 36.5 $1129.50 

Muscatine 6 LE Muscatine County Sheriff's Office 136.34 $3664.28 

       

      Law Enforcement (LE) Total 2542.54 $150,158.31 

      Overall Total 4925.31 $199,287.05 
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Breakdown of Expense Categories 

The following pages include tables of reimbursement by expense categories. The different tables are listed below. 

Overall Federal and State Funds 
• Region #1:  Northwest Iowa

• Region #2:  North Central Iowa

• Region #3: Northeast Iowa

• Region #4:  Southwest Iowa

• Region #5:  South Central Iowa

• Region #6:  Southeast Iowa

• Culturally-Specific Programs

• Statewide Programs

• Survivors of Homicide and Other Violent Crime Programs

Each of the tables for reimbursement by expense categories has a breakdown of out-of-state travel, in-state conferences and in-state travel to 
provide services. Approximately 81% of the federal and state funds were for payroll and benefits for staff to provide services to crime victims. Each 
of the tables for reimbursement by expense categories has a breakdown of out-of-state travel, in-state conferences and in-state travel to provide 
services.  
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Overall Federal and State Funding Expenditures 
Expense Categories Total  
Advertising:  $127,052.54 
Benefits: $3,732,853.78 
Communications: $324,366.64 
Contractual Services: $935,287.42 
Equipment: $237,372.08 
Insurance: $211,739.61 
Other Direct/Client Assistance: $3,745,719.45 
Payroll: $17,125,683.30 
Rent: $ 587,568.99 
Repairs & Maintenance: $ 19,0373.00 
Supplies: $ 423,967.05 
In-State Travel for Training: $ 60,506.77 
In-State Travel for Services: $ 31,7206.41 
Out-of-State Travel: $ 19,163.26 
Utilities: $ 160,613.95 
Indirect Costs $560,716.10 

Total: $ 25,924,544.59 
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Region #1 — Northwest Iowa 
Expense Categories Total 

Advertising: $13,410.99 
Benefits:  $38,0130.20 

Communications:  $43,135.10 
Contractual Services:  $109,715.49 

Equipment:  $26,115.08 
Insurance:  $3,000 

Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $114,973.89 
Payroll: $1,808,599.29 

Rent:  $47,583.43 
Repairs & Maintenance:  $18,603.43 

Supplies: $33,945.58 
In-State Travel for Training: $10,325.95 
In-State Travel for Services:  $59,293.14 

Out-of-State Travel:  $3,034 
Utilities: 

Indirect Costs: 
 $31,648.73 
$24,546.41 

Total:  $2,728,060.71 

Agencies funded in Region #1: 
Centers Against Abuse and Sexual Assault, Clay County Attorney’s Office, Council on Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence, Dickinson County Attorney, Family Crisis Centers, 
Emmet County Attorney’s Office, Jackson Recovery Centers, Inc. Lyon County Attorney’s Office, Northwest Iowa Mental Health Center, Plymouth County Attorney’s Office, 
Sac County Attorney’s Office and Sioux County Attorney’s Office.  
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Region #2 — North Central Iowa 
Expense Categories Total 

Advertising:  $9,034.05 
Benefits:  $463,675.98 

Communications:  $14,393.85 
Contractual Services:  $43,288.85 

Equipment:  $44,271.06 
Insurance:  $28,668.85 

Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $140,817.98 
Payroll:  $2,106,442.60 

Rent:  $33,915.90 
Repairs & Maintenance:  $3516.73 

Supplies:  $52,577.82 
In-State Travel for Training:  $9,627.82 
In-State Travel for Services:  $23,379.19 

Out-of-State Travel:  $3,180.45 
Utilities: 

Indirect Costs: 
 $4991.22 
$7117.77 

Total:  $2,988,900.16 

Agencies funded in Region #2: 

Assault Care Center Extending Shelter & Support, Camp Fire Heart of Iowa, Cerro Gordo County Attorney’s Office, Cerro Gordo County Sheriff’s Office, Clear Lake PD, Crisis 
Intervention Service, Domestic/Sexual Assault Outreach Center, Elderbridge Agency on Aging, Hancock County Attorney’s Office, Iowa State Police, Kossuth County 
Attorney’s Office, La Luz Hispaña, Marshall County Attorney’s Office, Marshalltown Police Department, Mason City Police Department, Sac and Fox Tribe, Story County 
Attorney’s Office, Webster County Attorney’s Office, Winnebago County Attorney’s Office 
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Region #3 — Northeast Iowa 
Expense Categories Total 

Advertising:  $19,801.66 
Benefits:  $486,512.84 

Communications:  $55,518.63 
Contractual Services:  $183,453.43 

Equipment:  $21,012.50 
Insurance:  $39,844.29 

Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $254,876.53 
Payroll:  $2,622,549.79 

Rent:  $113,781.21 
Repairs & Maintenance:  $17,944.79 

Supplies:  $72,135.62 
In-State Travel for Training:  $12,620.23 
In-State Travel for Services:  $56,566.49 

Out-of-State Travel: 
Utilities: 

 $2,535.45 
 $24,004.55 

Indirect Costs:  $22,170.85 
Total:  $4,005,328.86 

Agencies funded in Region #3 

Allamakee County Attorney's Office, Allen Memorial Hospital, Amani, Black Hawk County Attorney's Office, Bremer County Attorney's Office, Catherine McAuley Center, 
Cedar Valley Friends of the Family, Chains Interrupted, Helping Services for Northeast Iowa, Dubuque County Attorney's Office, Dubuque County Law Enforcement, Fayette 
County Attorney's Office, Heritage Area Agency on Aging, Jesse Cosby Neighborhood Center, Riverview Center Inc., Thrive Together, Waterloo Police Department, Waypoint 
Services for Women, Children and Families, Winneshiek County Attorney's Office 
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Region #4 — Southwest Iowa 
Expense Categories Total 

Advertising:  $2,968.46 
Benefits:  $334,454.72 

Communications:  $48,495.66 
Contractual Services:  $62,660.61 

Equipment:  $36,137.81 
Insurance:  $24,726 

Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $36,121.66 
Payroll:  $1,160,338.19 

Rent:  $72,950.25 
Repairs & Maintenance:  $74,174.07 

Supplies:  $39,115.55 
In-State Travel for Training:  $20 
In-State Travel for Services:  $37,486.91 

Out-of-State Travel:  $0 
Utilities: 

Indirect Costs: 
 $14025.19 
 $0 

Total: $1,943,675.08 
Agencies funded in Region #4: 
Adams County Attorney’s Office, Audubon County Attorney’s Office, Cass County Attorney’s Office, Catholic Council for Social Concern, Crisis Intervention & Advocacy Center, 
Madison County Attorney’s Office, Southwest Iowa Families 

.
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Region #5 — South Central Iowa 
Expense Categories Total 

Advertising:  $12,808.77 
Benefits:  $765,437.72 

Communications:  $66,813.91 
Contractual Services:  $362,322.99 

Equipment:  $36,260.04 
Insurance:  $70,793.62 

Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $109,737.91 
Payroll:  $3,663,479.51 

Rent:  $172,939.61 
Repairs & Maintenance:  $51,221.43 

Supplies:  $105,905.93 
In-State Travel for Training:  $8,607.16 
In-State Travel for Services: $35,794 

Out-of-State Travel:  $85 
Utilities: 

Indirect Costs: 
 $45,141,72 
$161,353.84 

Total:  $5,677,356.55 

Agencies funded in Region #5 

Candeo, Central Iowa Trauma and Recovery Center, Children & Families of Iowa, Crisis Intervention Services, Davis County Attorney's Office, Des Moines Police Department, 
Ethnic Minorities of Burma Advocacy and Resource Center (EMBARC), Family Crisis Center, Iowa Arts in Education, Iowa Justice for Our Neighbors, Iowa Health Foundation, 
Iowa Legal Aid, Iowa Safe Schools, Polk County Attorney's Office, Polk County Crisis and Advocacy Center, LUNA, Monsoon, NISAA, U.S. Committee for Refugees and 
Immigrants, Wapello County Attorney's Office, Wapello County Attorney's Office, Young Women's Resource Center, Youth Emergency Services & Shelter   
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Region #6 — Southeast Iowa  
Expense Categories Total 

Advertising:  $3576.26 
Benefits:  $609,492.75 

Communications:  $20,172.52 
Contractual Services:  $18,929.41 

Equipment:  $14,701.86 
Insurance:  $432 

Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $139,646.68 
Payroll:  $2,541,834.19 

Rent:  $43,438.04 
Repairs & Maintenance:  $5,414.45 

Supplies:  $46,479.66 
In-State Travel for Training:  $3,544.28 
In-State Travel for Services:  $44,971.79 

Out-of-State Travel:  $0 
Utilities: 

Indirect Costs:$ 
 $13,845.68 
$265,832.72 

Total:  $3,771,562.29 
 
Agencies funded in Region #6 
 
Community Crisis Services and Food Bank, Des Moines County Attorney's Office, Domestic Violence Intervention. Program, Family Resources, Iowa City Police Department, 
Johnson County Attorney's Office, Lee County, Muscatine County Sheriff's Office, Muscatine Police Department, Neighborhood Centers of Johnson County, University of Iowa 
(SAC, SART, New Initiative) , SAL Family and Community Services, Scott County Sheriff's Office, The Project of the Quad Cities, United Action for Youth, University of Iowa  
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Culturally-Specific Programs  

  
Expense Categories Total 

Advertising:  $6,906.99 
Benefits:  $314,512.74 

Communications:  $41,412.47 
Contractual Services:  $173,759.94 

Equipment:  $2,4057.36 
Insurance:  $23,666.19 

Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $69,345.96 
Payroll:  $1,307,132.55 

Rent:  $112,171.50 
Repairs & Maintenance:  $7,673.92 

Supplies:  $65,591.03 
In-State Travel for Training:  $3,483 
In-State Travel for Services:  $22,686.29 

Out-of-State Travel:  $2,435.45 
Utilities: 

Indirect Costs: 
 $13,458.76 
$15,666.18 

Total:  $2,204,060.33 
Culturally Specific Agencies: 
 
Amani, Monsoon, EMBARC Thrive Together, formerly Deaf Iowans Against Abuse, Latinas Unidas por Nuevo Amanecer (LUNA), Meskwaki Family Services, Nissa 
African Refugee Project 
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Statewide Programs  
Expense Categories Total 

Advertising:  $50,593.39 
Benefits:  $397,151.69 

Communications:  $34,245.05 
Contractual Services:  $126,440.75 

Equipment:  $43,878.72 
Insurance:  $25,123.28 

Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $23,130.63 
Payroll:  $1,896,603.78 

Rent:  $53,721.38 
Repairs & Maintenance:  $11,359.48 

Supplies:  $36,737.03 
In-State Travel for Training:  $5,749.36 
In-State Travel for Services:  $21,141.38 

Out-of-State Travel:  $21,74.97 
Utilities: 

Indirect Costs: 
 $15,882.71 
$44,220.23 

Total:  $2,797,153.83 
 
Statewide Programs:   
 
Iowa Coalition Against Domestic Violence, Iowa Coalition Against Sexual Assault, Iowa Dept. of Public Health, Iowa Law Enforcement Academy, Iowa Coalition for Collective 
Change, Sexual Abuse Hotline, University of Iowa, State Court Administrator's Office, Boys State Training School and Family Crisis Centers Helpline.  
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Survivors of Homicide and Other Violent Crime Victim Programs 
Expense Categories Zone #1 Zone #2 Zone #3 Zone #4 

Advertising:  $0 $9,635.52  $5,223.44  $ 
Benefits:  $93,374.10  $61,929.50  $ 58,001.89  $82,692.39 

Communications:  $9,274.12  $8,671.59  $7,689.81  $6,956.40  
Contractual Services:  $2,659  $11,435.21  $6,620.44  $7,761.24 

Equipment:  $1,510  $4,976.39 $2,826.23  $6,432.39 
Insurance:  $0  $7,106.15 $10,764.87  $ 0 

Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $39,735.04  $4,004.06  $24,153.74  $22,875.57 
Payroll:  $365,070.55  $294,676.23  $313,051.75  $352,983.38 

Rent:  $0  $20,492.25  $21,875 $6,871.92 
Repairs & Maintenance:  $0 $5,760.55  $1,878.07 $0 

Supplies:  $7,735.47 $9,291.83 $14,202.13 $5,840.43 
In-State Travel for Training: $0 $9,048.90 $933.07  $30 
In-State Travel for Services: $3,295.24 $7,277.98 $16,528.69  $11,471.60 

Out-of-State Travel:  $0 $0 $0 $0 
Utilities:  $0 $6,051.84 $3,889.44 $1,132.87 

Indirect Costs: $11,541.39 $0 $0 $23,932.98 

Total: $535,475.46  $460,358  $487,638.57  $528,981.08 

Agencies funded:  

Assault Care Center Extending Shelter & Support, Crisis Intervention & Advocacy Center, Crisis Intervention Services-Oskaloosa, Creative Visions, Polk County Crisis & 
Advocacy Services, Family Crisis Centers, Domestic/Sexual Assault Outreach Center, Crisis Intervention Services-Mason City, Family Resources, Survivors of Homicide 
Program- Horizons, Waypoint 
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Appendix A:  Regional Map for VSS Funded Shelter-Based Victim Service Programs 
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Appendix B:  Regional Map for VSS Funded Domestic Abuse Comprehensive (DAC) 
Programs 



Crime Victim Assistance Division Annual Report SFY20 | 46 

Appendix C:  Regional Map for VSS Funded Sexual Abuse Comprehensive (SAC) 
Programs 
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Appendix D:  Regional Map for VSS Funded Survivors of Homicide (HP) Program 
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IowaVINE 
Iowa Victim Information and Notification Every Day (IowaVINE) is a free and anonymous telephone 
service that provides victims of crime with two important services:  information and notification. 
IowaVINE is provided by the Iowa Attorney General’s Crime Victim Assistance Division (CVAD), Iowa 
Department of Justice, initially implemented through a grant awarded by the Federal Bureau of 
Justice Assistance. 

IowaVINE monitors the custody status of offenders in all of Iowa’s county jails and the Iowa 
Department of Corrections facilities. The information is stored at the VINE Communications Center in 
Louisville, KY and is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The IowaVINE services are available in 
English, Spanish, Bosnian and Somali. Individuals can access the notification system via telephone at 
888-742-8463, at www.vinelink.com, or the VINEMobile smartphone app.

The information is open to anyone in the community with an interest in an offender held in custody. 
To search for an offender, the first and last name or offender identification number is needed. A 
secondary search option is the offender’s birthdate or age. Registrants can access the offender’s 
name, identification number, current custody status, location of offender, facility contact information, 
scheduled release date (if available), and information about crime victim services in the registrant’s 
area. 

The IowaVINE system began in 2006 with just a few counties. Today, all 99 counties participate along 
with the Iowa Department of Corrections (9 prisons). Of those 99 counties,  90 county jails and the 
Iowa Department of Corrections’ facilities have photographs of the offender available online.  

Registrants can choose to receive notifications via telephone, text and/or email. If the registrant 
chooses telephone, a four digit PIN number must be entered upon registration. The following are the 
automated call patterns of the system: 

Normal:  Calls will be made every 30 minutes for 24 hours or until the correct PIN is entered to 
confirm and stop the notification calls. If an answering machine or a person answers a call and 
the correct PIN is not entered, then calls will be made every 2 hours for the remainder of the 
24-hour period.

Normal with Delay: Calls will be made every 30 minutes for 24 hours or until the correct PIN is 
entered to confirm and stop the notification calls. If an answering machine or a person answers 
a call and the correct PIN is not entered, then calls will be made every 2 hours for the 
remainder of the 24-hour period. Transfer notification calls will be delayed for 4 hours from the 
time the record is received by VINE. Death notification calls will be delayed for 24 hours from the 
time the record is received by VINE.  

Non-Emergency with Delay: Calls will be made every 30 minutes between 7:00 am – 10:00 pm 
for 24 hours or until the call is confirmed. Calls are confirmed and stopped by entering your 
PIN. If an answering machine or a person answers a call and the correct PIN is not entered, calls 
will continue every 2 hours for 24 hours between 7:00 am – 10:00 pm. 
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Over the past few years, IowaVINE has consistently seen an increase in use both for its search 
functions and its registration and notification capabilities.  There has been a consistent trend to 
electronic notification and specifically an increase in the use of text and email notifications.  The 
following tables show a five-year summary from SFY 15 to SFY20. 

SFY16– SFY20 Total Searches 

SFY16 SFY17 SFY18 SFY19 SFY20 

Phone 2,024 2,404 2,254 2,407 1,543 

VINEWatch 2,463 2,649 2,358 2,545 2,047 

VINELink 505,341 608,426 798,714 908,752 685,239 

VINEMobile 1,700,289 1,317,628 51,183 0 0 

MobilePatrol 2,602,580 3,672.463 4,445,873 5,094,42 5,387,911 

The next table outlines the five-year trend of notification and registration events. 

SFY16-SFY20 VINE Phone, TTY, Email, and New Registrations 

Phone TTY Text Email New	Registrations
SFY16 19673 102 50457 62940 62624
SFY17 22637 86 77140 71562 78760
SFY18 20473 72 94944 69894 87669
SFY19 20823 120 108154 73848 101176
SFY20 18448 85 88811 59860 75417

SFY16 SFY17 SFY18 SFY19 SFY20
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Iowa Identity Theft Passport Program 
The Iowa Identity Theft Passport Program was implemented on July 1, 2009. Iowans who are victims 
of identity theft after that date and who have reported the crime to the appropriate law enforcement 
agency may submit an application for an Identity Theft Passport.  

Iowa law defines an identity theft victim as someone whose “identification information” is both stolen 
and fraudulently used or attempted to be used to obtain credit, property, or services without the 
authorization of the victim. An individual’s identification information includes their name, address, 
date of birth, telephone number, driver's license number, non-operator’s identification number, social 
security number, place of employment, employee identification number, parent's legal surname prior 
to marriage, demand deposit account number, savings or checking account number, or credit card 
number.   

An Identity Theft Passport will not be issued to a person in the case of an identity mistake or because 
the person has lost documents containing identifying information.   

When a victim reports identity theft to law enforcement, they can apply for an Identity Theft Passport. 
The law enforcement agency will submit the completed application, law enforcement verification 
form, and other necessary documents to the Identity Theft Passport Program. Once all necessary 
information is obtained, eligibility for an Identity Theft Passport will be determined. An application 
will generally be processed within 30 days of receipt by the program.  

A law enforcement agency, creditor, or consumer report agency may consider the Identity Theft 
Passport as they determine their course of investigation and action. The information may help 
prevent the victim’s arrest or detention for an offense committed by someone using their identity. The 
information may also help a creditor who is trying to determine if fraudulent charges were made 
against the victim’s accounts or if accounts were opened using the victim’s identity. And the Identity 
Theft Passport may be given to a consumer-reporting agency to show that there is an identity dispute 
on the victim’s consumer record. The consumer-reporting agency will include the Identity Theft 
Passport information in future credit reports related to the crime victim.  

An identity theft passport is valid for five (5) years from the date of issuance or renewal. A person can 
apply to renew an Identity Theft Passport within 30 calendar days after its expiration.   

A person issued an Identity Theft Passport must notify the Identity Theft Passport Program in writing 
of a change in their name or address. The holder of an Identity Theft Passport must immediately 
notify the program and the investigating law enforcement agency if the document is lost or stolen.   

Iowa Code Chapter 22 requires that an application for an Identity Theft Passport is confidential and is 
not a public record subject to disclosure. Any person other than the holder of the Identity Theft 
Passport will be directed to the victim or the law enforcement agency that was the source of the 
information.   
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The Iowa Legislature changed the eligibility requirements of the legislation around the Identity Theft 
Passport program. Before July 1, 2015 (SFY16), proof that the crime happened in Iowa was required. 
New legislative language clarified that the victim must only reside in Iowa at the time of the crime or 
the crime must have happened in Iowa. This change has allowed more victims to receive Identity Theft 
Passports.  

In SFY20, the program saw a slight increase in applications.  CVAD staff continue to raise awareness 
about the program.  As part of the Iowa Identity Theft Victim Assistance Coalition (IDTVAC), CVAD 
staff share information about the program with coalition members to increase awareness of the 
resource and how it works. The program is listed as a resource on an informational sheet that all 
members from the organization distribute to the populations they serve. CVAD staff have developed 
relationships with the Iowa DOT’s Bureau of Investigation & Identity Protection, Consumer Protection 
Division, Polk County Attorney’s Office, Iowa Legal Aid, and various law enforcement agencies around 
the state regarding the program. CVAD staff utilize social media and display our brochures at tabling 
events to raise awareness of the program and reach more individuals.  

The chart below shows the Identity Theft Passport Program usage since its launch in SFY2014. 

Applications can be accessed on the website at https://www.iowaattorneygeneral.gov/for-crime-
victims/identity-theft-passport-program/. 

20

90 91

68

41 45
54

9

76

11 8 11
18

56 4

101

55

37
30

47

FY2014 FY2015 FY2016 FY2017 FY2018 FY2019 FY2020
Total	Applications Total	Denials Total	Approvals



Crime Victim Assistance Division Annual Report SFY20 | 52 

Iowa Protective Order Notification (IowaPON) 
The Iowa Protective Order Notification (IowaPON) system was launched May 1, 2012 as a service for 
domestic violence, sexual assault and elder abuse protective order petitioners and others deemed to 
be at-risk by the abuser (respondent), advocates, and officers.  The service was designed to provide 
information on the status of the protective order or no-contact order.  Additionally, the service was 
intended to provide the opportunity to register for notification upon service of a protective order or no 
contact order and 30 days prior to its expiration.  

Starting in December 2018, CVAD launched a collaborative review of the IowaPON system with 
partners including the Department of Human Rights-Division of Criminal & Juvenile Justice Planning 
(CJJP), Iowa Judicial Branch, Iowa Department of Public Safety and the vendors responsible for 
maintaining the IowaPON (Appriss) and Iowa courts online (URL Integration) systems.   

This review occurred after concerns were raised the IowaPON system was not properly reflecting 
protective order and no contact order service information and expiration dates.  Upon a full and 
comprehensive review, CVAD made the difficult decision to suspend the IowaPON system in SFY19.  
The review found the system was not properly reflecting returns of service across the state on a 
portion of protective orders and no contact orders.  This was primarily determined to be a business 
practice issue resulting from a wide variance in how and when local law enforcement agencies, 
sheriff’s offices and court clerks enter return of service information.  

At the time the system was suspended, all registered individuals were notified the system was in 
outage and that they should take appropriate steps to ensure they would receive pertinent 
information on the protective order or no contact order, directly from the local clerk of court or 
Sheriff’s office. 
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Registrant Watch Program 
The Registrant Watch Program is Iowa’s automated notification system for tracking of sex offenders. 
Registrant Watch was developed by the Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation’s Department of Public 
Safety’s Sex Offender Registry Program and CVAD partnered in SFY12 to expand the notification 
options (phone calls) offered by the system. The Sex Offender Registry Program maintains the data 
received from the counties regarding sex offender updates. 

Registrant Watch assists individuals who register for notification of sex offender updates in their 
neighborhoods, cities, or states. Registered sex offenders fall along a tier system in the State of Iowa. 
Tier one offenders must update registration once per year. Tier two offenders must update their 
status twice per year. Tier three offenders must update their information three times per year. 

Registrant Watch provides 24-hour access to sex offender registration information online while having 
the ability to register for a sex offender’s location and changes in appearance of the individual. The 
system then provides the registrant with email or phone messages with a change in the location or 
identifying characteristics of that sex offender. Phone calls can come at any time of the day. If there is 
no answer or the call goes to an answering machine, the system will call back once for a total of two 
calls. A short message will be left on the answering machine. This service is confidential and free of 
charge. 

To register, go to www.iowasexoffender.com or call 515-725-6050. 
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Human Trafficking Initiatives 
The Iowa Attorney General’s Office is dedicated to protecting trafficking victims and preventing future 

trafficking within the state of Iowa. As a department, we work to combat the crime of human trafficking by 

providing programming that increases understanding of human trafficking and its victims, by funding local 

crime victim service organizations that provide direct services to trafficking survivors and by assisting the 

criminal justice system in holding traffickers responsible for the effects of their actions.  

Human Trafficking Direct Services 

Under the terms of Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) funding, all victim service providers, regardless of 

specialization, must provide assistance to any victim of a violent crime who reaches out to them for assistance. 

Victim services providers may then determine an appropriate referral for ongoing services if the needs of the 

victim fall outside of the capacity of the program. While victim service agencies across the state continue to 

provide services to human trafficking survivors, CVAD was able to provide targeted funding to four programs to 

deliver human trafficking-specific victim services: Catholic Charities (Council Bluffs), Chains Interrupted (Cedar 

Rapids), Friends of the Family (Waterloo), and Braking Traffik (Davenport).  

Statewide Training and Collaboration 

The Iowa Attorney General’s office collaborates with the Iowa Department of Public Safety Office to Combat 

Human Trafficking, the Iowa Department of Public Health, and the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy as well as 

many other local and statewide partners, to train professionals and community members on the dynamics of 

human trafficking.  In SFY20, CVAD’s Human Trafficking Coordinator provided 6 trainings and 11 outreach 

events, reaching 736 people. These numbers were a significant decline from past SFY due to pandemic-related 

travel restrictions. While virtual training/outreach efforts continue, many opportunities that arose during this 

time were canceled or postponed.  
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Sexual Assault Kit Initiative 
The Sexual Assault Kit Initiative (SAKI) continued during SFY20. In February 2020 the Bureau of Justice 

Assistance (BJA) granted a no-cost extension through September 30, 2020 allowing project activities to 

continue with the support of grant funds. Bode Forensics analyzed 438 kits during SFY20. 292 kits screened 

positive for foreign DNA, and 146 screened negative. 255 DNA profiles were entered into the Combined DNA 

Index System (CODIS). 165 hits to DNA profiles in CODIS occurred.    

CVAD’s partnership with the Department of Public Safety Division of Intelligence (DOI) continued. Utilizing 

grant funds, the DOI provided jurisdictional law enforcement agencies investigative information such as 

criminal history and last known contact information for the individual whose DNA matched the kit evidence. 

This information gives local law enforcement a head start in notifying the victim of the new information from 

the case and re-investigating through the DNA match. 165 cases with a DNA match that occurred in SFY20 

were forwarded to law enforcement for follow up. Law enforcement made contact with 20 survivors in SAKI-

related cases in SFY20. Each of the survivors contacted did not wish to re-engage with an investigation. 113 

total cases with a DNA match remained open as of December 31, 2020.   

CVAD and staff from the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy (ILEA) in consultation with experienced sexual 

assault investigators, developed new course material for ILEA’s basic academy classes that began being taught 

in January 2020. The courses involve a basic class on trauma and with trauma-informed victim interviewing 

techniques. These classes are now embedded ILEA’s basic academy course. 

During SFY20, the SAKI program conducted several training and outreach activities throughout the state. More 

than 700 professionals involved in sexual assault response received training. These trainings are designed to 

help law enforcement officers and others to respond not only to sexual assault, but all violent crimes in which 

trauma effects the victim. However, due to the coronavirus pandemic, a number of trainings had to be 

postponed. Because these trainings and other SAKI activities were impacted by the pandemic, a second no-

cost extension was requested in August 2020. BJA approved the request, allowing grant funds to support SAKI 

activities through September 30, 2021. Trainings were made available using webinars during the pandemic. 

CVAD began development and implementation of the “Track-Kit” system in SFY20. A competitive bidding 

process led to a contract with STACS DNA to provide “Track-Kit” to the state of Iowa. The system tracks the 

status and movement of sex assault kits from the point of distribution to a medical facility, to use in an evidence 

collection exam, to law enforcement possession, to the DCI crime lab for analysis. Survivors have the ability to 

receive text and email notifications alerting them when the status changes. STACS and CVAD staff planned a 

regionally-based implementation schedule for spring and early summer of 2020 that would have resulted in the 

system being in place on a statewide level in July. The implementation was designed to involve a combination 

of in-person and webinar trainings. Due to the pandemic, the implementation was put on hold for a period. 

After re-designing the process, CVAD and STACS began the implementation in late July. By the end of October, 

“Track-Kit” was in use in about 75% of medical facilities and law enforcement agencies in Iowa. 

Implementation, training, and technical assistance for users continued through the fall of 2020.     
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IOWA DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 
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ADDENDUM I 

AUTHORIZING STATUTES IN THE 
CODE OF IOWA 



Crime Victim Assistance Division Annual Report SFY20 | 57 

Attorney General’s Office 

(Crime Victim Assistance Division) 

13.31  Victim assistance program. 

A victim assistance program is established in the department of justice, which shall do all of the following: 

1. Administer grants received under the federal Victims of Crime Act pursuant to Pub. L. No. 98-473, Tit. 2, ch.

14, 42 U.S.C. § 10601, as amended by the federal Children’s Justice and Assistance Act, Pub. L. No. 99-401, 100 

Stat. 903 (1986). 

2. Administer the state crime victim compensation program as provided in chapter 915.

3. Administer the domestic abuse program provided in chapter 236.

4. Administer the family violence prevention and services grants pursuant to the federal Child Abuse

Amendments of 1984, Pub. L. No. 98-457, 42 U.S.C. § 10401. 

5. Administer payment for sexual abuse medical examinations pursuant to section 915.41.

6. Administer the violence against women program and grants received pursuant to the federal Violence

Against Women Act, Tit. IV of the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994, Pub. L. No. 103-

322, 42 U.S.C. § 13701. 

7. Administer an automated victim notification system as authorized pursuant to section 915.10A.

89 Acts, ch 279, §1; 90 Acts, ch 1251, §1; 91 Acts, ch 181, §16; 98 Acts, ch 1090, §58, 84; 2002 Acts, ch 1016, §1; 
2007 Acts, ch 27, §1; 2010 Acts, ch 1061, §180 

Federal Act reference updated pursuant to Code editor directive 

Crime Victim Compensation Fund 

915.94 Victim compensation fund. 

A victim compensation fund is established as a separate fund in the state treasury. Moneys deposited in the 

fund shall be administered by the department and dedicated to and used for the purposes of section 915.41 and 

this subchapter. In addition, the department may use moneys from the fund for the purpose of the 

department’s prosecutor-based victim service coordination, including the duties defined in sections 910.3 and 

910.6 and this chapter, and for the award of funds to programs that provide services and support to victims of 

domestic abuse or sexual assault as provided in chapter 236, to victims under section 710A.2, and for the 

support of an automated victim notification system established in section 915.10A. The department may also 

use up to one hundred thousand dollars from the fund to provide training for victim service providers. 

Notwithstanding section 8.33, any balance in the fund on June 30 of any fiscal year shall not revert to the 

general fund of the state. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §55, 84; 2001 Acts, ch 84, §1; 2006 Acts, ch 1074, §8; 2007 Acts, ch 22, §111; 2007 Acts, ch 27, 
§10
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Crime Victim Compensation Program 

(Crime Victim Assistance Board) 

 

915.80  Definitions. 

As used in this subchapter, unless the context otherwise requires: 

1. “Compensation” means moneys awarded by the department as authorized in this subchapter. 

2. “Crime” means conduct that occurs or is attempted in this state, poses a substantial threat of personal 

injury or death, and is punishable as a felony or misdemeanor, or would be so punishable but for the fact that 

the person engaging in the conduct lacked the capacity to commit the crime under the laws of this state. 

“Crime” does not include conduct arising out of the ownership, maintenance, or use of a motor vehicle, 

motorcycle, motorized bicycle, train, boat, or aircraft except for violations of section 321.261, 321.277, 321J.2, 

462A.7, 462A.12, 462A.14, or 707.6A, or when the intention is to cause personal injury or death. A license 

revocation under section 321J.9 or 321J.12 shall be considered by the department as evidence of a violation of 

section 321J.2 for the purposes of this subchapter. A license suspension or revocation under section 462A.14, 

462A.14B, or 462A.23 shall be considered by the department as evidence of a violation of section 462A.14 for 

the purposes of this subchapter. 

3. “Department” means the department of justice. 

4. “Dependent” means a person wholly or partially dependent upon a victim for care or support and includes a 

child of the victim born after the victim’s death. 

5. “Secondary victim” means the victim’s spouse, children, parents, and siblings, and any person who resides 

in the victim’s household at the time of the crime or at the time of the discovery of the crime. “Secondary 
victim” does not include persons who are the survivors of a victim who dies as a result of a crime. 

6. “Victim” means a person who suffers personal injury or death as a result of any of the following: 

a. A crime. 

b. The good faith effort of a person attempting to prevent a crime. 

c. The good faith effort of a person to apprehend a person suspected of committing a crime. 

4. "Dependent" means a person wholly or partially dependent upon a victim for care or support and includes a 

child of the victim born after the victim's death. 

5.“Emergency Relocation” means a relocation that takes place within thirty days of the date of a crime or the 

discovery of a crime, or within thirty days after a crime could reasonably be reported. “Emergency relocation” 

also includes a relocation that takes place within the thirty days before or after an offender related to the crime 

is released from incarceration. 

6.“Housing Assistance” means living expenses associated with owning or renting housing, including essential 

utilities, intended to maintain or reestablish the living arrangement, health, and safety or a victim impacted by 

a crime. “Secondary victim" means the victim's spouse, children, parents, and siblings, and any person who 

resides in the victim's household at the time of the crime or at the time of the discovery of the crime.  

"Secondary victim" does not include persons who are the survivors of a victim who dies as a result of a crime. 
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7. Secondary victim means the victim’s spouse, children, parents, and siblings, and any person who resides in

the victim’s household at the time of the crime or at the discovery of the crime. “Secondary victim” does not 

include persons who are the survivors of a victim who dies as a result of a crime. 

7A. “Survivor of a deceased victim” means a survivor who is a spouse, former spouse, child, foster child, parent, 

legal guardian, stepparent, sibling, or foster sibling of a victim, or a person, or a person cohabitating with the 

victim, or otherwise related by blood or affinity to, a victim, if the victim dies as a result of a crime, good-faith 

effort to prevent the commission of a crime, or a good-faith effort to apprehend a person suspected of 

committing a crime.    

8. "Victim" means a person who suffers personal injury or death as a result of any of the following:

a. A crime.

b. The good faith effort of a person attempting to prevent a crime.

c. The good faith effort of a person to apprehend a person suspected of committing a crime.

98 Acts, ch 1090, §41, 84; 2007 Acts, ch 27, §7 

915.81  Award of compensation. 

The department shall award compensation authorized by this subchapter if the department is satisfied that 

the requirements for compensation have been met. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §42, 84 

915.82  Crime victim assistance board. 

1. A crime victim assistance board is established, and shall consist of the following members to be appointed

pursuant to rules adopted by the department: 

a. A county attorney or assistant county attorney.

b. Two persons engaged full-time in law enforcement.

c. A public defender or an attorney practicing primarily in criminal defense.

d. A hospital medical staff person involved with emergency services.

e. Two public members who have received victim services.

f. A victim service provider.

g. A person licensed pursuant to chapter 154B or 154C.

h. A person representing the elderly.

Board members shall be reimbursed for expenses actually and necessarily incurred in the discharge of their 

duties. 

2. The board shall adopt rules pursuant to chapter 17A relating to program policies and procedures.
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3. A victim aggrieved by the denial or disposition of the victim’s claim may appeal to the district court within

thirty days of receipt of the board’s decision. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §43, 84 

915.83  Duties of department. 

The department shall: 

1. Adopt rules pursuant to chapter 17A relating to the administration of the crime victim compensation

program, including the filing of claims pursuant to the program, and the hearing and disposition of the claims. 

2. Hear claims, determine the results relating to claims, and reinvestigate and reopen cases as necessary.

3. Publicize through the department, county sheriff departments, municipal police departments, county

attorney offices, and other public or private agencies, the existence of the crime victim compensation program, 

including the procedures for obtaining compensation under the program. 

4. Request from the department of human services, the department of workforce development and its

division of workers’ compensation, the department of public safety, the county sheriff departments, the 

municipal police departments, the county attorneys, or other public authorities or agencies reasonable 

assistance or data necessary to administer the crime victim compensation program. 

5. Require medical examinations of victims as needed. The victim shall be responsible for the cost of the

medical examination if compensation is made. The department shall be responsible for the cost of the medical 

examination from funds appropriated to the department for the crime victim compensation program if 

compensation is not made to the victim unless the cost of the examination is payable as a benefit under an 

insurance policy or subscriber contract covering the victim or the cost is payable by a health maintenance 

organization. 

6. Receive moneys collected pursuant to section 904.702 for the purpose of compliance with Pub. L. No. 98-

473. 

98 Acts, ch 1061, §10; 98 Acts, ch 1090, §44, 84; 98 Acts, ch 1128, §2 

915.84  Application for compensation. 

1. To claim compensation under the crime victim compensation program, a person shall apply in writing on a

form prescribed by the department and file the application with the department within two years after the date 

of the crime, the discovery of the crime, or the date of death of the victim. The department may waive the time 

limitation if good cause is shown. 

2. A person is not eligible for compensation unless the crime was reported to the local police department or

county sheriff department within seventy-two hours of its occurrence. If the crime cannot reasonably be 

reported within that time period, the crime shall have been reported within seventy-two hours of the time a 

report can reasonably be made. The department may waive this requirement if good cause is shown. 

3. Notwithstanding subsection 2, a victim under the age of eighteen or dependent adult as defined in section

235B.2 who has been sexually abused or subjected to any other unlawful sexual conduct under chapter 709 or 

726 or who has been the subject of a forcible felony is not required to report the crime to the local police 

department or county sheriff department to be eligible for compensation if the crime was allegedly committed 

upon a child by a person responsible for the care of a child, as defined in section 232.68, subsection 7, or upon a 
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dependent adult by a caretaker as defined in section 235B.2, and was reported to an employee of the 

department of human services and the employee verifies the report to the department. 

4. When immediate or short-term medical services or mental health services are provided to a victim under

section 915.35, the department of human services shall file the claim for compensation as provided in 

subsection 3 for the victim. 

5. When immediate or short-term medical services to a victim are provided pursuant to section 915.35 by a

professional licensed or certified by the state to provide such services, the professional shall file the claim for 

compensation, unless the department of human services is required to file the claim under this section. The 

requirement to report the crime to the local police department or county sheriff department under subsection 2 

does not apply to this subsection. 

6. The victim shall cooperate with reasonable requests by the appropriate law enforcement agencies in the

investigation or prosecution of the crime. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §45, 84; 99 Acts, ch 10, §1 

915.85  Compensation payable. 

The department may order the payment of compensation: 

1. To or for the benefit of the person filing the claim.

2. To a person responsible for the maintenance of the victim who has suffered pecuniary loss or incurred

expenses as a result of personal injury to the victim. 

3. To or for the benefit of one or more dependents of the victim, in the case of death of the victim. If two or

more dependents are entitled to compensation, the compensation may be apportioned by the department as 

the department determines to be fair and equitable among the dependents. 

4. To a victim of an act committed outside this state who is a resident of this state, if the act would be

compensable had it occurred within this state and the act occurred in a state that does not have an eligible 

crime victim compensation program, as defined in the federal Victims of Crime Act of 1984, Pub. L. No. 98-473, 

section 1403(b), as amended and codified in 42 U.S.C. § 10602(b). 

5. To or for the benefit of a resident of this state who is a victim of an act of terrorism as defined in 18 U.S.C. §

2331, which occurred outside of the United States. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §46, 84 

915.86  Computation of compensation. 

The department shall award compensation, as appropriate, for any of the following economic losses incurred 

as a direct result of an injury to or death of the victim: 

1. Reasonable charges incurred for medical care not to exceed twenty-five thousand dollars. Reasonable

charges incurred for mental health care not to exceed five thousand dollars which includes services provided by 

a psychologist licensed under chapter 154B, a person holding at least a master’s degree in social work or 

counseling and guidance, or a victim counselor as defined in section 915.20A. 

a. The department shall establish the rates at which it will pay charges for medical care.



Crime Victim Assistance Division Annual Report SFY20 | 62 

b. If the department awards compensation, in full, at the established rate for medical care, and the medical

provider accepts the payment, the medical provider shall hold harmless the victim for any amount not collected 

that is more than the rate established by the department. 

2. Loss of income from work the victim would have performed and for which the victim would have received

remuneration if the victim had not been injured, not to exceed six thousand dollars. 

3. Loss of income from work that the victim’s parent or caretaker would have performed and for which the

victim’s parent or caretaker would have received remuneration for up to three days after the crime or the 

discovery of the crime to allow the victim’s parent or caretaker to assist the victim and when the victim’s parent 

or caretaker accompanies the victim to medical and counseling services, not to exceed one thousand dollars per 

parent or caretaker. 

4. Loss of income from work that the victim, the victim’s parent or caretaker, or the survivor of a homicide

victim as described in subsection 10 would have performed and for which that person would have received 

remuneration, where the loss of income is a direct result of cooperation with the investigation and prosecution 

of the crime or attendance at criminal justice proceedings including the trial and sentencing in the case, not to 

exceed one thousand dollars. 

5. Reasonable replacement value of clothing that is held for evidentiary purposes not to exceed two hundred

dollars. 

6. Reasonable funeral and burial expenses not to exceed seven thousand five hundred dollars.

7. Loss of support for dependents resulting from death or a period of disability of the victim of sixty days or

more not to exceed four thousand dollars per dependent. 

8. In the event of a victim’s death, reasonable charges incurred for counseling the victim’s spouse, children,

parents, siblings, or persons cohabiting with or related by blood or affinity to the victim if the counseling 

services are provided by a psychologist licensed under chapter 154B, a victim counselor as defined in section 

915.20A, subsection 1, or an individual holding at least a master’s degree in social work or counseling and 

guidance, and reasonable charges incurred by such persons for medical care counseling provided by a 

psychiatrist licensed under chapter 148. The allowable charges under this subsection shall not exceed five 

thousand dollars per person. 

9. In the event of a homicide, reasonable charges incurred for health care for the victim’s spouse; child, foster

child, stepchild, son-in-law, or daughter-in-law; parent, foster parent, or stepparent; sibling, foster sibling, 

stepsibling, brother-in-law, or sister-in-law; grandparent; grandchild; aunt, uncle, or first cousin; legal ward; or 

person cohabiting with the victim, not to exceed three thousand dollars per survivor. 

10. In the event of a homicide, loss of income from work that, but for the death of the victim, would have

been earned by the victim’s spouse; child, foster child, stepchild, son-in-law, or daughter-in-law; parent, foster 

parent, or stepparent; sibling, foster sibling, stepsibling, brother-in-law, or sister-in-law; grandparent; 

grandchild; aunt, uncle, or first cousin; legal ward; or person cohabiting with the victim, not to exceed six 

thousand dollars. 

11. Reasonable expenses incurred for cleaning the scene of a crime, if the scene is a residence, not to exceed

one thousand dollars. 

12. Reasonable charges incurred for mental health care for secondary victims which include the services

provided by a psychologist licensed under chapter 154B, a person holding at least a master’s degree in social 

work, counseling, or a related field, a victim counselor as defined in section 915.20A, or a psychiatrist licensed 

under chapter 148. The allowable charges under this subsection shall not exceed two thousand dollars per 

secondary victim. 
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13. Reasonable dependent care expenses incurred by the victim, the victim’s parent or caretaker, or the

survivor of a homicide victim as described in subsection 10 for the care of dependents while attending criminal 

justice proceedings or medical or counseling services, not to exceed one thousand dollars per person. 

14. Reasonable expenses incurred by a victim, the victim’s parent or caretaker, or the survivor of a victim as

described in subsection 10 to replace locks, windows, and other residential security items at the victim’s 

residence or at the residential scene of a crime, not to exceed five hundred dollars per residence. 

15. Reasonable expenses incurred by the victim, a secondary victim, the parent or guardian of a victim, or the

survivor of a homicide victim as described in subsection 10 for transportation to medical, counseling, funeral, or 

criminal justice proceedings, not to exceed one thousand dollars per person. 

16. Reasonable charges incurred by a victim, a secondary victim, the survivor of a deceased victim, or by a

victim service program on behalf of a victim, for emergency relocation expenses, not to exceed one thousand

dollars per person per lifetime.

17. Reasonable expenses incurred by a victim, or by a victim service program on behalf of a victim, for up to

three months of housing assistance, not to exceed two thousand dollars per person per lifetime.

18. a. Additional compensation to a victim, secondary victim, or survivor of a deceased victim in an amount not to 

exceed a total of five thousand dollars per person for charges, expenses, or loss of income incurred that would otherwise 

be compensable under this section but for the eligibility requirements and compensation limits provided for in at the 

time of the initial application for compensation under this section under the following circumstances: 

1. The charges, expenses, or loss of income incurred were not compensable under this section

at the time of the initial application for compensation under this section.

2. The victim, secondary victim, or survivor of a deceased victim demonstrates that denial of

additional compensation under this subsection would constitute undue hardship.

3. The victim, secondary victim, or survivor of a deceased victim incurs additional charges,

expenses, or loss of income upon the occurrence of a new event related to the event

authorizing compensation under this section that would otherwise be compensable under

this section but for the compensation limits provided for the applicable compensation

category.  For the purposes of this subparagraph, “new event” includes additional criminal

justice proceedings due to mistrial, retrial, or separate or additional trials resulting from the

existence of multiple offenders; a new appellate court decision relating to the event

authorizing compensation under this section; a change in venue of a trial; a change in

offender custody status; the death of the offender; or the exoneration of the offender.

a. Additional compensation otherwise authorized by this subsection shall not be awarded for an

application for compensation under subsection 7, 16, or 17.

98 Acts, ch 1090, §47, 84; 98 Acts, ch 1128, §1, 2; 99 Acts, ch 10, §2; 2000 Acts, ch 1064, §1, 2; 2007 Acts, ch 27, 
§8, 9; 2009 Acts, ch 178, §29; 2009 Acts, ch 179, §47
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915.87  Reductions and disqualifications. 

Compensation is subject to reduction and disqualification as follows: 

1. Compensation shall be reduced by the amount of any payment received, or to be received, as a result of the

injury or death: 

a. From or on behalf of a person who committed the crime or who is otherwise responsible for damages

resulting from the crime. 

b. From an insurance payment or program, including but not limited to workers’ compensation or

unemployment compensation. 

c. From public funds.

d. As an emergency award under section 915.91.

2. Compensation shall not be made when the bodily injury or death for which a benefit is sought was caused

by any of the following: 

a. Consent, provocation, or incitement by the victim.

b. The victim assisting, attempting, or committing a criminal act.

98 Acts, ch 1090, §48, 84 

915.88  Compensation when money insufficient. 

Notwithstanding this subchapter, a victim otherwise qualified for compensation under the crime victim 

compensation program is not entitled to the compensation when there is insufficient money from the 

appropriation for the program to pay the compensation. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §49, 84 

915.89  Erroneous or fraudulent payment — penalty. 

1. If a payment or overpayment of compensation is made because of clerical error, mistaken identity,

innocent misrepresentation by or on behalf of the recipient, or other circumstances of a similar nature, not 

induced by fraud by or on behalf of the recipient, the recipient is liable for repayment of the compensation. The 

department may waive, decrease, or adjust the amount of the repayment of the compensation. However, if the 

department does not notify the recipient of the erroneous payment or overpayment within one year of the date 

the compensation was made, the recipient is not liable for the repayment of the compensation. 

2. If a payment or overpayment has been induced by fraud by or on behalf of a recipient, the recipient is liable

for repayment of the compensation. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §50, 84 

915.90  Release of information. 

A person in possession or control of investigative or other information pertaining to an alleged crime or a 

victim filing for compensation shall allow the inspection and reproduction of the information by the department 

upon the request of the department, to be used only in the administration and enforcement of the crime victim 
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compensation program. Information and records which are confidential under section 22.7 and information or 

records received from the confidential information or records remain confidential under this section. 

A person does not incur legal liability by reason of releasing information to the department as required under 

this section. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §51, 84 

 

  915.91  Emergency payment compensation. 

If the department determines that compensation may be made and that undue hardship may result to the 

person if partial immediate payment is not made, the department may order emergency compensation to be 

paid to the person, not to exceed five hundred dollars. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §52, 84 

 

915.92  Right of action against perpetrator — subrogation. 

A right of legal action by the victim against a person who has committed a crime is not lost as a consequence 

of a person receiving compensation under the crime victim compensation program. If a person receiving 

compensation under the program seeks indemnification which would reduce the compensation under section 

915.87, subsection 1, the department is subrogated to the recovery to the extent of payments by the 

department to or on behalf of the person. The department has a right of legal action against a person who has 

committed a crime resulting in payment of compensation by the department to the extent of the compensation 

payment. However, legal action by the department does not affect the right of a person to seek further relief in 

other legal actions. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §53, 84 

 

915.93  Rulemaking. 

The department shall adopt rules pursuant to chapter 17A to implement the procedures for reparation 

payments with respect to section 915.35 and section 915.84, subsections 3, 4, and 5. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §54, 84 

 

915.94  Victim compensation fund. 

A victim compensation fund is established as a separate fund in the state treasury. Moneys deposited in the 

fund shall be administered by the department and dedicated to and used for the purposes of section 915.41 and 

this subchapter. In addition, the department may use moneys from the fund for the purpose of the 

department’s prosecutor-based victim service coordination, including the duties defined in sections 910.3 and 

910.6 and this chapter, and for the award of funds to programs that provide services and support to victims of 

domestic abuse or sexual assault as provided in chapter 236, to victims under section 710A.2, and for the 

support of an automated victim notification system established in section 915.10A. The department may also 

use up to one hundred thousand dollars from the fund to provide training for victim service providers. 

Notwithstanding section 8.33, any balance in the fund on June 30 of any fiscal year shall not revert to the 

general fund of the state. 



 

Crime Victim Assistance Division 
 

Annual Report SFY20 | 66 
 

 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §55, 84; 2001 Acts, ch 84, §1; 2006 Acts, ch 1074, §8; 2007 Acts, ch 22, §111; 2007 Acts, ch 27, 
§10  

 

Sexual Abuse Examination Payment Program   

 

 915.41 Medical examination costs. 

The cost of a medical examination of a victim for the purpose of gathering evidence and the cost of treatment 

of a victim for the purpose of preventing venereal disease shall be paid from the fund established in section 

915.94. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §34, 84; 99 Acts, ch 114, §48 

 

Victim Services Support Program  

(Domestic Abuse and Sexual Abuse Program and domestic and sexual abuse hotlines) 

 

236.16  Department powers and duties. 

1. The department shall: 

a. Designate and award grants for existing and pilot programs pursuant to this chapter to provide emergency 

shelter services and support services to victims of domestic abuse. 

b. Design and implement a uniform method of collecting data from domestic abuse organizations funded 

under this chapter. 

c. Designate and award moneys for publicizing and staffing a statewide, toll-free telephone hotline for use by 

victims of domestic abuse. The department may award a grant to a public agency or a private, nonprofit 

organization for the purpose of operating the hotline. The operation of the hotline shall include informing 

victims of their rights and of various community services that are available, referring victims to service 

providers, receiving complaints concerning misconduct by peace officers and encouraging victims to refer such 

complaints to the office of citizens’ aide, providing counseling services to victims over the telephone, and 

providing domestic abuse victim advocacy. 

d. Advertise the toll-free telephone hotline through the use of public service announcements, billboards, print 

and broadcast media services, and other appropriate means, and contact media organizations to encourage the 

provision of free or inexpensive advertising concerning the hotline and its services. 

e. Develop, with the assistance of the entity operating the telephone hotline and other domestic abuse victim 

services providers, brochures explaining the rights of victims set forth under section 236.12 and the services of 

the telephone hotline, and distribute the brochures to law enforcement agencies, victim service providers, 

health practitioners, charitable and religious organizations, and other entities that may have contact with 

victims of domestic abuse. 

2. The department shall consult and cooperate with all public and private agencies which may provide 

services to victims of domestic abuse, including but not limited to, legal services, social services, prospective 

employment opportunities, and unemployment benefits. 
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3. The department may accept, use, and dispose of contributions of money, services, and property made

available by an agency or department of the state or federal government, or a private agency or individual. 

85 Acts, ch 175, §7; 89 Acts, ch 279, §6; 91 Acts, ch 218, §15 

IowaVINE and IPONDA Programs 

915.10A  Automated victim notification system. 

1. An automated victim notification system is established within the crime victim assistance division of the

department of justice to assist public officials in informing crime victims, the victim’s family, or other interested 

persons as provided in this subchapter and where otherwise specifically provided. The system shall disseminate 

the information to registered users through telephonic, electronic, or other means of access. 

2. An office, agency, or department may satisfy a notification obligation to registered victims required by this

subchapter through participation in the system to the extent information is available for dissemination through 

the system. Nothing in this section shall relieve a notification obligation under this subchapter due to the 

unavailability of information for dissemination through the system. 

3. Notwithstanding section 232.147, information concerning juveniles charged with a felony offense shall be

released to the extent necessary to comply with this section. 

2005 Acts, ch 158, §47; 2007 Acts, ch 27, §4 

Identity Theft Passport Program 

715A.9A  Identity theft passport. 

1. The attorney general, in cooperation with any law enforcement agency, may issue an identity theft

passport to a person who meets both of the following requirements: 

a. Is a victim of identity theft in this state as described in section 715A.8.

b. Has filed a police report with any law enforcement agency citing that the person is a victim of identity theft.

2. A victim who has filed a report of identity theft with a law enforcement agency may apply for an identity

theft passport through the law enforcement agency. The law enforcement agency shall send a copy of the 

police report and the application to the attorney general, who shall process the application and supporting 

report and may issue the victim an identity theft passport in the form of a card or certificate. 

3. A victim of identity theft issued an identity theft passport may present the passport to any of the following:

a. A law enforcement agency, to help prevent the victim’s arrest or detention for an offense committed by

someone other than the victim who is using the victim’s identity. 

b. A creditor of the victim, to aid in the creditor’s investigation and establishment of whether fraudulent

charges were made against accounts in the victim’s name or whether accounts were opened using the victim’s 

identity. 
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4. A law enforcement agency or creditor may accept an identity theft passport issued pursuant to this section

and presented by a victim at the discretion of the law enforcement agency or creditor. A law enforcement 

agency or creditor may consider the surrounding circumstances and available information regarding the 

offense of identity theft pertaining to the victim. 

5. An application made with the attorney general under subsection 2, including any supporting

documentation, shall be confidential and shall not be a public record subject to disclosure under chapter 22. 

6. The attorney general shall adopt rules necessary to implement this section, which shall include a procedure

by which the attorney general shall assure that an identity theft passport applicant has an identity theft claim 

that is legitimate and adequately substantiated. 

2006 Acts, ch 1067, §1 
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Iowa Administrative Rules Code  

Attorney General — 61 

Chapter 9 

VICTIM ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 

(Crime victim assistance division)  

DIVISION I 

ADMINISTRATION 

(Crime Victim Assistance Board) 

61—9.1(912) Definitions. 

“Board” means crime victim assistance board. 

“Department” means Iowa department of justice. 

“Director” means director of the crime victim assistance division established in the department of justice. 

61—9.2(912) Board. 

9.2(1) A crime victim assistance board is established pursuant to Iowa Code section 912.2A. 

 9.2(2) Members of the board shall serve terms for three years and are eligible for reappointment to the 

board by the attorney general. 

9.2(3) The initial term of the board members shall commence on 7/1 of the state fiscal year. 

61—9.3(912) Expenses. 

 9.3(1) Board members shall be reimbursed from the victim’s compensation fund for expenses actually and 

necessarily incurred in the discharge of their duties including attendance at board meetings, board committee 

meetings, and other activities on behalf of the board as designated by the board chair and approved by the 

department. Reimbursement for expenses shall conform with guidelines established by the department of 

revenue. 

 9.3(2) A member of the board may receive, in addition to actual expense reimbursement, a per diem which 

conforms with guidelines established by the department of revenue. 

9.3(3) Expenses of the board and individual members shall be submitted to the director. 

61—9.4(912) Chair of the board. 

 9.4(1) The attorney general shall select one of the members of the board to serve as chair of the board. The 

chair shall serve at the pleasure of the attorney general. 

 9.4(2) A member who is chair of the board and relinquishes or is removed as the chair may maintain board 

membership for the remainder of the term for which the member was originally appointed. 

61—9.5(912) Resignations. 

9.5(1) Resignations from the board shall be made to the attorney general. 

9.5(2) Whenever a member of the board ceases to have the statutory qualifications for appointment to the 
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board, that member shall be considered to have resigned and a vacancy shall occur on the board. 

 9.5(3) A board member shall be deemed to have submitted a resignation from the board if any of the 

following events occur: 

a. The member does not attend three or more consecutive regular meetings of the board. This paragraph

does not apply unless the first and last of the consecutive meetings counted for this purpose are at least 30 days 

apart. 

b. The person attends less than one-half of the regular meetings of the board within any period of 12

calendar months beginning July 1. This paragraph applies only to such a period beginning on or after the date 

when the person is appointed to the board. 

c. If the member receives no notice and had no knowledge of a regular meeting and gives the attorney

general a sworn statement to that effect within ten days after the person learns of the meeting, such meeting 

shall not be counted for the purposes of this rule. 

d. The attorney general at the attorney general’s discretion may accept or reject such resignation. If the

attorney general accepts it, the attorney general shall notify the member, in writing, that the resignation is 

accepted pursuant to this rule. The attorney general shall then make another appointment to fill the vacancy. 

61—9.6(912) Vacancies. Barring unusual circumstances, vacancies on the board shall be filled within 45 days 

after the attorney general is advised of the vacancy. Vacancies shall be filled for the remainder of the vacant 

term. 

61—9.7(912) Meetings. The board shall meet a minimum of once per quarter. The board may also meet at the 

call of the chair or upon the written request to the chair of at least five members of the board. 

61—9.8(912) Duties of board. The board shall adopt rules pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 17A relating to the 

administration of the crime victim assistance division including the adoption of administrative rules relating to 

the following: 

1. Administration of grants received under the federal Victims of Crime Act of 1984 pursuant to Pub. L.

No.98-473, Title 2, Chapter 14, 42 U.S.C. Section 10601, as amended by the Children’s Justice and Assistance 

Act of 1986, Pub. L. No.99-401, 100 Stat. 903 and as amended by the Anti-Drug Abuse Act of 1988, Title VII, 

subtitle D, Pub. L. No.100-690. 

2. Administration of the Family Violence Prevention and Services Act grant pursuant to the federal Child

Abuse Amendments of 1984, Pub. L. No.98-457, 42 U.S.C. Section 10401, reauthorized in 1988, Pub. L. No.100-

294. 

3. Administration of the domestic abuse and rape crisis funds and the Iowa domestic abuse hotline funds

provided in Iowa Code chapter 236. 

4. Administration of other grants or funds available by public law for victim assistance and administered by

the department. 

5. Administration of the victim compensation program provided in Iowa Code chapter 912.

6. Administration of sexual abuse examination payments as provided in Iowa Code section 709.10.

7. Appeal procedures for victim compensation claims denied by the department.

8. Appeal procedures for grants administered by the department and denied by the board.

61—9.9(912) Director and staff. The attorney general shall employ a director and staff for the victim 
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assistance division and they shall be employees of the department. 

61—9.10(912) Duties of department. In addition to the duties contained in Iowa Code section 13.13, the 

department shall: 

1. Administer other funds, grants, or programs for victim assistance created by public law or the

department. 

2. Provide administrative support to the board.

3. Enter into agreements under Iowa Code chapter 28E or other law including agreements with other state

agencies and political subdivisions for the transfer to the department of funds authorized by law for victim 

service programs. 

4. Accept, use, and dispose of contributions of money, services, and property, which are made available by

an agency or department of the state or any of its political subdivisions, the federal government, a private 

agency, or an individual, that are specifically designated for crime victim assistance programs.  

61—9.11 to 9.24 Reserved. 

DIVISION II 

CRIME VICTIM COMPENSATION 

61—9.25(915) Administration of the crime victim compensation program.  The crime victim assistance 

division of the department of justice shall administer the crime victim compensation program as provided in 

Iowa Code chapter 915.  All questions, comments, requests for information, or applications for compensation 

shall be directed to the crime victim assistance division.  Requests should be addressed to:  Crime Victim 

Assistance Division, Lucas State Office Building, Ground Floor, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, Iowa 50319; 

telephone (515) 281–5044 or 1–800–373–5044. 

61—9.26(915) Definitions.  For rules of the crime victim compensation program of the crime victim assistance 

division of the department of justice, the following definitions apply: 

“Affinity” means the relationship of persons who are related by marriage, cohabitation, or engagement to be 

married. 

“Applicant” includes the following individuals who file an application with the crime victim compensation 

program: 

1. A victim of a crime as defined in Iowa Code section 915.80(6).

2. A person responsible for the care and maintenance of a victim.

3. A resident of Iowa who is the victim of an act that would be compensable had it occurred within the state of

Iowa and the act occurred in a state or foreign country that does not have a victim compensation program as

defined in the federal law.

4. In the event of a victim’s death, the spouse, children, parents, siblings, or persons cohabiting with or related

by blood or affinity to the victim.  An estate is not an eligible applicant for crime victim compensation.  An

estate shall, however, be reimbursed for funeral and burial expenses if the estate paid the costs on behalf of an

eligible applicant who shall benefit from the proceeds of the estate.
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5. A legal representative authorized to act on behalf of any of the persons listed above.

“Board” means the crime victim assistance board of the department of justice. 

“Causal relationship” means that the crime would not have occurred without the action of the victim.  A causal 

relationship exists if the actions of the victim result in a foreseeable injury, play a substantial role in the injury, 

or directly cause the injury. 

“Claimant” means an applicant who has been found to be eligible for compensation. 

“Cohabiting” means living in the same household.  It is not necessary to establish that a sexual relationship 

exists between the parties. 

“Compensation” means moneys awarded by the division as authorized in Iowa Code chapter 915. 

“Consent” means to agree to a course of action or to voluntarily allow what is planned or done by another. 

“Counseling” means problem solving and support concerning emotional issues that result from a compensable 

crime.  Counseling is a confidential service provided on an individual basis or in a group.  Counseling has as a 

primary purpose to enhance, protect and restore a person’s sense of well–being and social 

functioning.  Counseling does not include victim advocacy services; conversation in a non-private setting such 

as the common area of a shelter or a courthouse; transportation; or attendance at medical procedures, law 

enforcement interviews or civil and criminal justice proceedings. 

“Crime” as defined in Iowa Code section 915.80 includes: 

1. Conduct punishable as a misdemeanor or a felony.

2. Property crimes including but not limited to robbery, residential burglary, and residential arson, where there

is a threat of personal injury or harm against a person.

3. Violation of a custody order in which the custodial parent suffers injury.

“Denial” means disqualification of an application or reduction in the amount of compensation paid. 

“Department” means the department of justice, i.e., the attorney general’s office. 

“Dependent” means a person who is wholly or partially reliant upon a victim for care and support and includes a 

child of the victim born after the victim’s death, or a person who is unable to care for himself or herself due to 

injury, disability, or minor age status. 

“Director” means the director of the crime victim assistance division established in the department of justice. 

“Division” means the crime victim assistance division of the department of justice. 

“Incitement” means to urge forward or to goad to action. 

“Lost wages or income,” “lost income,” or “lost wages” means the gross rate of pay, decreased by 25 percent. 

“Medical care” means services provided by or provided under the supervision of a person licensed under Iowa 

law as a medical physician or surgeon, osteopathic physician or surgeon, chiropractor, podiatrist, physical 

therapist, acupuncturist, or dentist.  Medical care also includes services rendered in accordance with a method 

of healing sanctioned by a federally recognized sovereign nation or tribe. 

“Medically necessary” means that the items and services prescribed or recommended by a medical provider 

under the prescriptive authority of the medical provider’s license are reasonably necessary to facilitate the 

victim’s physical and emotional recovery from the compensable crime. 
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“Pecuniary loss” means the amount of medical or medical–related expenses and shall include, but not be limited 

to, eyeglasses, hearing aids, dentures, prosthetic devices including those which were taken, lost, or destroyed 

during the crime, home health care, medications, counseling, pregnancy–related services, equipment rental or 

purchase, property alteration, transportation for emergencies and medical care provided outside the victim’s 

county of residence, or health insurance premiums covered by an employer previous to the victim’s disability 

from the crime.  Pecuniary loss shall also include the loss of income that the victim has incurred as a direct 

result of the injury to the extent that the victim has not been and shall not be indemnified from any other 

source. 

“Personal injury” or “injury” means bodily harm or mental suffering and shall include a victim’s pregnancy or 

miscarriage resulting from a crime. 

“Program” means the crime victim compensation program of the department of justice. 

“Provocation” means to cause anger, resentment, or deep feelings that cause or instigate another to take 

action. 

“Public funds” means moneys provided by federal, state, county, city or other local government. 

“Reasonable charges” means charges ordinarily charged by the provider of the service to the general public for 

services of a similar nature. 

“Residence” means a property on which an applicant lives and may include but is not limited to a dwelling, 

detached garage, shed, or similar structure located on the property, or a privately owned vehicle if the vehicle 

serves as the primary residence. 

61—9.27(915) Duties of the division.  The duties of the division shall include, but not be limited to, the duties 

provided for in Iowa Code sections 13.31 and 915.83, as well as: 

1. To prepare appropriate forms for the filing and processing of compensation applications.

2. To conduct an administrative review of claims when a request for reconsideration is filed by an applicant

with the director.

3. To receive moneys bequeathed, awarded, or donated to the crime victim assistance division by a public or

private organization or individual.

61—9.28(915) Application for compensation.  An applicant may file an application for compensation by 

telephone or in writing within two years of the occurrence or discovery of a crime pursuant to Iowa Code 

section 915.84(1).  For a victim of sexual abuse when the offender has been referred pursuant to Iowa Code 

chapter 229A, the date of the discovery of the crime shall be considered to be the date when the referral was 

made.  The department may waive the requirements of Iowa Code section 915.84(1) if good cause is shown. 

9.28(1) Application postmarked.  An application postmarked within the prescribed time period shall be 

considered timely filed. 

9.28(2) Good cause.  In determining whether there is good cause for waiver of the two–year application-filing 

requirement, the victim’s age, physical condition, psychological state, cultural or linguistic barriers, and any 

compelling health or safety reasons that would jeopardize the well–being of the victim may be considered. 

9.28(3) Multiple erroneous claims.  When two or more applications are filed by or on behalf of an individual 

applicant during a calendar month and the applications appear on initial review to be erroneous claims based 

on innocent misrepresentation or circumstances of a similar nature, the claims shall be treated as a single 

application.  Verification shall be investigated for each crime recorded in a file with multiple erroneous 

applications.  If any of the crimes recorded in a combined application are verified as compensable crimes, the 
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applications for compensation for those crimes shall be separated from the combined file and assigned distinct 

application numbers.  The department will notify the applicant whenever two or more applications have been 

combined as one application. 

9.28(4) Program effective date.  The effective date of the crime victim compensation program is January 1, 

1983.  Victims and survivors of crimes that were committed prior to the effective date may be eligible for 

compensation if the program can obtain sufficient documentation to verify eligibility. 

9.28(5) Concurrent primary and secondary applications.  A victim may be both a primary victim and a secondary 

victim in the same crime.  The secondary victim application shall not be opened until a benefit has been 

exhausted for the primary application and there is documentation of need for further benefits in that 

category.  The secondary victim application shall be considered timely filed if the primary victim application 

was timely filed. 

9.28(6) Concurrent secondary victim applications.  A victim may be a secondary victim to multiple primary 

victims in a crime.  A subsequent secondary victim application shall not be opened until a benefit has been 

exhausted in the first secondary victim application and there is documentation of need for further benefits in 

that category.  Subsequent secondary victim applications shall be considered timely filed if the primary victim 

application was timely filed. 

61—9.29(915)  Report to law enforcement.  A person is not eligible for compensation unless the crime is 

reported to law enforcement pursuant to Iowa Code section 915.84(2).  The department may waive the 

requirements of Iowa Code section 915.84(2) if good cause is shown. 

9.29(1) Law enforcement report sources.  The department finds there is good cause to accept that the report of 

a crime to any of the following is a report to law enforcement pursuant to Iowa Code section 915.84(2): 

a. Sheriffs and their regular deputies.

b. Marshals and police officers of cities.

c. Peace officers of the department of public safety.

d. Special security officers employed by a board of regents institution as identified in Iowa Code section

262.13.

e. Peace officers as authorized by Iowa Code section 350.5 or 436A(13).

f. Employees of the department of transportation who are designated “peace officers” by resolution of the

department under Iowa Code section 321.477.

g. Correctional officers, including parole and probation officers.

h. County and state prosecutors.

i. An employee of the department of human services having jurisdiction to investigate the incident.

j. A magistrate or judge of the Iowa court system.

9.29(2) Elements of a report.  A victim is considered to have made a report to law enforcement when the victim 

has provided a true and accurate report of the incident, which shall include to the best of the victim’s 

knowledge: 

a. The nature of the crime,

b. The location of the crime,
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c. The name, whereabouts and description of the suspect, if known, and

d. The names of witnesses, if known.

9.29(3) Law enforcement record.  A law enforcement trip record may satisfy the requirement that the crime be 

reported to law enforcement. 

9.29(4) Good cause.  In determining whether there is good cause for waiving the requirement to report a crime 

to law enforcement within 72 hours of the occurrence of the crime, the victim’s age, physical condition, 

psychological state, cultural or linguistic barriers, and any compelling health or safety reasons that would 

jeopardize the well–being of the victim may be considered. In the event good cause is found, the crime must be 

substantiated through disclosure to another provider including, but not limited to, a licensed medical provider, 

a licensed mental health professional, or a designated victim service provider. 

9.29(5) Child victim.  If the victim is a child as defined in Iowa Code section 232.2 and is reported to be a victim 

of child abuse, the department finds there is good cause to waive the 72–hour reporting requirement. 

9.29(6) Dependent adult victim.  If the victim is a dependent adult as defined in Iowa Code section 235B.2(4) 

and is reported to be a victim of dependent adult abuse, the department finds there is good cause to waive the 

72–hour reporting requirement. 

9.29(7) Sexual abuse victim.  For a victim of sexual abuse, the 72–hour reporting requirement may be waived 

for good cause if a sexual abuse evidentiary examination was completed within 72 hours of the crime or if the 

crime was disclosed to another provider including, but not limited to, a licensed medical provider, a licensed 

mental health professional, or a designated victim service provider. 

9.29(8) Domestic abuse victim.  For a victim of domestic abuse, the 72–hour reporting requirement may be 

waived for good cause if a domestic abuse protective order pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 236 is entered by the 

court or if the crime was disclosed to another provider including, but not limited to, a licensed medical provider, 

a licensed mental health professional, or a designated victim service provider. 

9.29(9) Victim of a sexually violent predator.  For a victim of sexual abuse, the department finds good cause to 

waive the 72–hour reporting requirement when the offender is referred pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 239A. 

61—9.30(915) Cooperation with law enforcement.  To be eligible for compensation, the crime victim must 

cooperate with the reasonable requests of law enforcement. After considering the factors in subrule 9.29(4), 

the department may waive the requirement if good cause is shown. 

9.30(1) Reasonable cooperation.  Reasonable cooperation by the victim may include, but is not limited to, the 

following: 

a. Providing law enforcement with a true and accurate report of the crime.

b. Participating in the investigation of the crime to assist law enforcement in the identification of a suspect as

requested including the review of photographs, composites, and lineups.

c. Participating in prosecution procedures including deposition and trial testimony as requested.

9.30(2) Determination of cooperation.  In determining whether a victim reasonably cooperated with law 

enforcement, the division may consider the victim’s age, physical condition, psychological state, cultural or 

linguistic barriers, and any compelling health or safety reasons that would jeopardize the well–being of the 

victim. 

9.30(3) Polygraph testing.  In determining whether a victim reasonably cooperated with law enforcement, the 

refusal of a victim to undergo a polygraph examination shall not be the basis of denial. 
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9.30(4) Sexual abuse victim.  A victim of sexual abuse shall be deemed to have reasonably cooperated with law 

enforcement if the victim undergoes a sexual abuse evidentiary examination. 

9.30(5) Domestic abuse victim.  A victim of domestic abuse shall be deemed to have reasonably cooperated 

with law enforcement if a report of the crime was made to law enforcement. 

61—9.31(915) Contributory conduct.  The division shall reduce or disqualify compensation when there is a 

causal relationship between the contributory conduct on the part of the victim and the victim’s injury or 

death.  Contributory conduct includes consent, provocation, or incitement of the crime on the part of the 

victim. 

9.31(1) Consent, provocation, and incitement.  In assessing consent, provocation or incitement on the part of 

the victim pursuant to Iowa Code section 915.87(2)“a,” the division may consider factors including, but not 

limited to, the following: 

a. Whether charges are filed against the suspect;

b. Whether the victim attempted to withdraw from the incident;

c. Comparable or reasonable force on the part of the suspect in response to an action of the victim;

d. The amount of time from the beginning of the interaction between the victim and the suspect and the

criminal act committed by the suspect;

e. The age of the victim; and

f. Comparable size or strength of the victim and suspect.

9.31(2) Additional assessment of consent.  In assessing the causal nature of consent pursuant to Iowa Code 

section 915.87(2)“a,” the division may consider the victim’s age, physical condition, psychological state, cultural 

or linguistic barriers, and any compelling health or safety reasons that would jeopardize the well–being of the 

victim. 

9.31(3) Consent in intoxicated driving cases.  A victim who was the passenger in the vehicle of a driver who has 

been determined to have been legally intoxicated at the time of the crash shall not be automatically denied 

eligibility for compensation.  The division may consider whether the victim could have reasonably known the 

intoxication level of the driver, the driver’s behavior or judgment appeared impaired, the victim encouraged or 

discouraged the driver from driving, or the victim’s judgment was impaired. 

9.31(4) Additional assessment of provocation and incitement and commission of a criminal act.  In assessing the 

causal nature of provocation or incitement and commission of criminal act pursuant to Iowa Code section 

915.87(2) the division may consider law enforcement documentation that indicates: 

a. Retaliatory action.  The crime was committed as retaliation for a prior physical assault or injury committed

by the victim against the perpetrator, and the victim could have reasonably foreseen the likelihood of

retaliation.

b. Gang action.  The crime was a direct result of gang activity, including gang initiation, or was inflicted as

retaliation for prior gang activity in which the victim participated in a criminal street gang as defined in Iowa

Code section 915.87(2).

c. Mutual combat.  The crime was an incident of mutual combat if the victim:

(1) Initiated a physical altercation;

(2) Made a credible threat of bodily harm against the person, took action to indicate the intent to carry out the

threat and a physical altercation immediately followed; or
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(3)  Accepted a verbal challenge to engage in a physical altercation, took action to indicate acceptance of the 

challenge and a physical altercation immediately followed. 

d.   Exception to mutual combat.  Incitement and provocation are not present in an incident of mutual combat 

when a significant escalation of the fight, such as the introduction of a deadly weapon, is made by a person 

other than the victim or when a third party becomes involved resulting in more serious injury than the victim 

could have reasonably expected. 

9.31(5) Victim’s criminal act.  Contributory conduct includes assisting in, attempting, or committing a criminal 

act by the victim.  A causal relationship must be documented between the injury or death for which 

compensation is sought and the criminal act of the victim. 

61—9.32(915)  Eligibility for compensation.  The program shall determine the eligibility of an application for 

compensation. 

9.32(1) Determination of eligibility.  A denial of eligibility shall be based on written documentation that an 

application does not satisfy the requirements of Iowa Code chapter 915.  An applicant shall be deemed eligible 

for compensation if the division has not obtained written documentation supporting a denial within six months 

of the date of the application.  Notwithstanding the foregoing, the division may extend the determination of 

eligibility beyond six months if a court date or grand jury hearing is pending and is reasonably expected to result 

in information necessary to render an eligibility decision. 

9.32(2) Reopening applications.  Pursuant to Iowa Code section 915.83(2), the department may reopen and 

reinvestigate an application if the department determines that the decision was incorrect or incomplete.  A 

denied application may be reopened and reinvestigated if it is discovered through a criminal trial or other 

investigatory source that the information relied upon for the denial decision was incorrect or incomplete.  The 

eligibility of an approved application will be reopened for consideration if information is discovered through a 

criminal trial or other investigatory source that the information relied upon to make the decision was incorrect 

or incomplete.  The reopening of a denied or approved case is at the discretion of the administrator for the 

compensation program, the director, or the board. 

9.32(3) Withdrawal of application.  An applicant may withdraw the application for compensation from 

consideration. 

9.32(4) Maximum compensation.  Compensation shall be reduced or disqualified to the extent that the 

maximum compensation allowable pursuant to Iowa Code chapter  915 and these rules has been awarded. 

61—9.33(915) Emergency award of compensation.  Emergency awards of compensation may be made if the 

applicant has incurred a loss of income or pecuniary loss as a direct result of the crime. 

9.33(1) Preliminary eligibility determination.  The program must determine that the application is likely to be 

eligible based on documentation available including, at minimum, the law enforcement verification form 

provided to law enforcement by the program. 

9.33(2) Documentation.  To make an emergency award of compensation, the program must have 

documentation of the lost wages or the pecuniary loss. 

9.33(3) Emergency award decision.  A decision denying an emergency award shall not be appealable. 

9.33(4) Offset.  Any emergency award shall be deducted from the final award of compensation made to the 

claimant. 

61—9.34(915) Computation of compensation.  The division shall determine the amount of compensation to 

be awarded to an eligible applicant. 
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9.34(1) Benefit limits.  Compensation shall be made up to the benefit category limits in effect on the date the 

application is filed.  For an eligible victim of sexual abuse when the offender has been referred pursuant to Iowa 

Code chapter 915, compensation shall be paid for expenses incurred after referral of the offender. 

9.34(2) Payer of last resort.  The program is a payer of last resort pursuant to federal law 34 U.S.C. 

20102.  Compensation shall not be paid for services when the provision for those services is mandated by law or 

administrative rule to be the responsibility of another governmental unit, private agency or 

program.  Payments shall be reduced by payments made by offenders and third parties responsible for the 

damages of the crime. The department may waive this requirement for good cause after considering the 

factors in subrule 9.29(4), for compensation made from state funds. 

9.34(3) Voluntary financial programs.  Compensation applicants will be encouraged to apply for other financial 

assistance programs to pay costs resulting from the crime–related injury.  However, no applicant will be denied 

compensation benefits based on the applicant’s refusal to seek funds from a voluntary financial assistance 

program. 

9.34(4) Insurance providers.  Eligible victims and claimants must give service providers the information 

necessary to bill insurance providers for crime–related treatment.  Payment of compensation will not be made 

if the victim refuses or fails to provide information requested by the service or insurance provider or to sign the 

required assignment of benefits within a reasonable time frame. The department may waive this requirement if 

the victim can demonstrate good cause exists. Good cause may include, but is not limited to, situations where 

the insurance policyholder is the perpetrator of the crime that gave rise to the claim. 

9.34(5) Supplanting of funds prohibited.  Compensation shall be made only when the claimant is responsible for 

the cost of crime–related injury.  Compensation shall not be paid when a government entity, including but not 

limited to a mental health facility, jail, or prison, is responsible for the costs of treatment for injury from crime, 

unless the entity is legally allowed to pass those costs along to the victim. 

61—9.35(915) Computation of benefit categories.  The division shall determine the amount of compensation 

to be awarded to an eligible applicant for injury from crime for each benefit category pursuant to Iowa Code 

section 915.86. 

9.35(1) Medical care.  Compensation may be paid for the reasonable expenses of medical care provided to 

eligible crime victims by, or under the supervision of, a person licensed by the state under Iowa Code chapter 

147, 148, 148A, 148E, 149, 150A, 151, 152C, or 153.  When preexisting medical conditions are treated during 

crime–related medical care, the program may reduce payment to a percentage equal to the portion of the 

medical care determined to be directly related to the compensable crime.  Medical care expenses include the 

following: 

a.   Medical care sanctioned by sovereign nations and tribes.  Compensation may be paid for medical care 

rendered in accordance with a method of healing sanctioned by a state-recognized or federally recognized 

sovereign nation or tribe. 

b.   Medical counseling costs.  Compensation may be paid for counseling provided under the direct supervision of 

a psychiatrist or other physician and shall be applied toward the medical benefit maximum. 

c.   Medical care for homicide victim survivors.  Compensation may be paid to the spouse, child, parent, sibling, or 

person related by blood or affinity to a homicide victim for the same types of medical care which are allowable 

for primary victims, including but not limited to hospital and physician care, psychiatric care, prescriptions, and 

transportation expenses related to injury from the crime. 

d.   Medical equipment and property alteration.  Compensation may be paid for equipment and property 

alteration, which are prescribed as medically necessary care due to injury from the crime. 
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e.   Medical supplies.  Compensation may be paid for medical care supplies and incidental supplies necessary for 

medical care due to injury from the crime. 

f.    Medical care for pregnancy.  Compensation may be paid for medical care costs related to pregnancy resulting 

from the crime of sexual abuse.  Eligible expenses for care of the victim shall be paid.  Expenses incurred for 

care of a newborn child are not compensable. 

g.   Medical devices.  Compensation may be paid for the replacement of a medical device including but not 

limited to a sight or hearing device, dentures, prosthetic device, wheelchair, and medication that was taken, 

lost or destroyed during the crime. 

h.   Transportation for medical emergency.  Compensation may be paid for the reasonable cost of transportation 

in a medical emergency by private vehicle per-mile rate established by the department of administrative 

services for state employees using a privately-owned vehicle for state business.  Mileage will be based on 

mileage calculation from the most current map published by the department of transportation.  Transportation 

within a city limits will be based on the program’s estimate of mileage from the location of the injured victim to 

the medical facility. 

i.    Transportation for nonemergency care.  Compensation may be paid for the cost of transportation by 

commercial vehicle or by private car for nonemergency medical care and counseling received outside of the 

victim’s county of residence.  Transportation provided by private vehicle for nonemergency care will be 

reimbursed at the per-mile rate established by the department of administrative services for state employees 

using a privately owned vehicle for state business.  Mileage will be based on mileage calculation from the most 

current map published by the department of transportation. 

j.    Transportation medical benefit.  Compensation may be paid for transportation from the applicable medical 

care or counseling benefit category.  The available funds to the victim from the applicable benefit category will 

be reduced by the amount of compensation paid for transportation. 

k.   Health insurance.  Compensation may be paid for premiums to continue a health insurance policy that was 

provided in whole or in part by the victim’s employer prior to the crime and the employment ceased as a result 

of the crime. 

9.35(2) Medical care records.  When compensation for medical care is requested, the provider shall submit 

medical records that document the care provided and show that the medical care is for injury from crime. 

9.35(3) Mental health counseling.  Compensation may be paid for the reasonable costs of up to 12 mental 

health counseling sessions for eligible crime victims and survivors of a homicide victim with the provision of a 

treatment plan and certification as defined in 9.35(4) “a.” Costs for those 12 sessions will be paid in full if the 

crime is noted in the treatment plan. If preexisting mental health issues are addressed during crime–related 

counseling sessions following the initial 12 visits, the program may reduce payment to a percentage equal to 

the portion of the counseling determined to be directly related to the compensable crime.  The mental health 

counseling provider shall submit a vitae establishing the provider’s educational qualifications for 

compensation.  A provider who is required to be licensed under Iowa law must provide proof of licensure and 

good standing with the professional licensing board.  Compensation shall be paid for mental health counseling 

provided by the following: 

a.   Master’s level counselor.  Compensation may be paid for mental health counseling provided by a person 

holding at least a master’s degree in a mental health or counseling field including but not limited to social work, 

psychology, guidance and counseling, behavioral sciences, art therapy, marriage and family therapy, child life 

therapy, and advanced mental health registered nursing. 

b.   Supervised mental health counselor.  Compensation may be paid for mental health counseling provided by a 

counselor who does not have a master’s degree but is under the supervision of a counselor with a master’s 
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degree.  The supervising mental health counselor must sign the session notes, which must be submitted for 

review by the program. 

c. Intern mental health counselors.  Compensation may be paid for mental health counseling provided by an

intern candidate for a master’s degree when the counseling is provided within a course of professional

education and the intern is supervised by a provider eligible for compensation.

d. Out–of–state providers.  Compensation may be paid to mental health counselors outside Iowa who provide

services to victims of crime eligible for the Iowa program if the mental health counselor meets the professional

licensure criteria of the state in which the counselor works.

9.35(4) Mental health counseling records.  When compensation for mental health counseling is requested, the 

provider shall complete verification forms related to the counseling as follows: 

a. Treatment plan and certification form.  Information submitted on the treatment plan and certification form

shall include, but not be limited to, a summary of the initial evaluation, any preexisting mental health diagnoses

currently being treated, current diagnoses, issues addressed, counseling goals, expected length of counseling

services, and certification of the percentage of mental health counseling directly related to issues arising from

the victimization.

b. Treatment progress and certification form.  At six–month intervals for the duration of the crime–related

mental health counseling, the provider shall submit a treatment progress and certification form.  Information

on the form shall include progress on previously stated goals of counseling, current goals, current diagnosis,

expected length of additional counseling, and certification of the percentage of mental health counseling

directly related to issues arising from the victimization.

c. Session notes.  The program may require submission of session notes to determine if the mental health

counseling is directly related to the crime when:

(1) The counseling expenses for a victim exceed $3,000.

(2) The provider has not completed the treatment and certification plan with statement of the percentage of

treatment directly related to the crime.

(3) The counseling begins, or is provided, more than one year after the crime.

(4) The treatment plan or progress summary indicates that the victim is receiving treatment for a diagnosis or

issue not exacerbated by the crime.

9.35(5) Counseling with the perpetrator.  Compensation for mental health or victim service counseling that 

includes the perpetrator of the crime may be payable when the perpetrator takes part to take responsibility for 

the crime and apologize to the victim and the victim is allowed to confront the perpetrator regarding the 

effects of the crime. 

9.35(6) Family counseling.  Compensation for family mental health counseling may be paid only for sessions 

where the victim is present and the focus of the session is to assist the victim in recovery from a compensable 

crime; or at the request of the victim. 

9.35(7) Lost wages or income.  Compensation may be paid for reasonable lost wages or income when an 

eligible crime victim is unable to work as the result of physical or emotional injury from a crime, as a result of 

cooperation with the investigation or prosecution of the crime, or due to health and safety concerns related to 

maintaining employment.  Lost wages or income are computed as follows: the gross rate of pay multiplied by 

the number of scheduled hours of work missed, decreased by 25 percent pursuant to the definition of “lost 

wages or income” in rule 61-9.26(915). Lost wages or income due to the crime is determined as follows: 
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a. Variable income.  Income that is variable shall be computed based on the average income earned during a

minimum 28–day period within the three months preceding the crime.  Estimated earnings not supported by

past income statements shall not be accepted.

b. Self–employment and small business income.  Self–employed persons or small business employees must

provide federal or state income tax forms for the most recent year completed or verification of average income

for a minimum of the past six months.  Work estimates, labor contracts, and affidavits from individual

employers may be used to establish wages.

c. Vacation, sick, holiday, bereavement and annual leave.  Lost wages or income paid shall not be reduced by

vacation, sick, holiday, bereavement, or annual leave available or used by the victim due to the crime.

d. Calculation when rate of pay cannot be established. In the event employment can be verified but the rate of

pay cannot be established through pay stubs, state or federal tax forms, or bank statements, compensation

shall be calculated at the current state minimum wage rate on the basis of an eight-hour workday.

9.35(8) Lost wages or income as the result of physical or emotional injury from a crime.  Compensation for lost 

wages or income incurred within the first two weeks following the crime shall be paid shall be paid to an eligible 

crime victim without a disability statement.  A victim seeking lost wages for a period of time longer than two 

weeks, or an eligible survivor seeking lost wage for longer than 30 days under Iowa Code section 915.86(10), 

shall submit a disability statement from a licensed medical provider for a physical injury or an injury related to 

mental health, or from a licensed mental health provider as included in paragraphs 9.35(3)“a” through “d” for an 

injury related to mental health.  Compensation shall be made for lost wages or income under the following 

circumstances: 

a. Lost income.  Compensation may be paid when the victim misses work due to physical or emotional injury

from crime.

b. Lost hire income.  Compensation may be paid when the victim has been hired by an employer but is unable

to begin employment because of injury due to the crime, until released to work.  Required documentation

includes a signed affidavit by the employer.

c. Employment ceases.  Compensation may be paid when the victim’s employment ceases as a result of crime–

related injuries, until released to seek work.

d. Unemployment eligible.  Compensation may be paid for the difference between the victim’s lost wages or

income and the unemployment benefit when the victim is terminated from employment because of injury from

crime and is found to be eligible for unemployment benefits.

e. Unemployment ineligibility.  Compensation may be paid for the amount of the victim’s unemployment

benefit when the victim is rendered ineligible for unemployment benefits because of injury from the crime, until

the victim is released to work.

f. Workers’ compensation benefit eligible.  Compensation may be paid for the difference between the victim’s

gross wage and the workers’ compensation benefit when the victim is unable to work because of injury from

crime and is found to be eligible for worker compensation benefits.

g. Medical and counseling appointments.  Compensation may be paid to a primary victim, the parent or

guardian of a minor aged primary victim, or the caretaker of a dependent adult primary victim for wages lost

due to medical care or counseling appointments for the victim.

9.35(9) Lost wages or income for cooperation in an investigation and prosecution.  Compensation may be paid for 

lost wages or income incurred by an eligible primary victim, survivor of a deceased victim as described in Iowa 

Code section 915.86(8), parent or guardian of a minor aged primary victim, or caretaker of a dependent primary 

victim while cooperating with the investigation and prosecution of the crime including, but not limited to, 



 

Crime Victim Assistance Division 
 

Annual Report SFY20 | 83 
 

 

participation at identification sessions, arraignment, deposition, plea agreement meetings, trial, sentencing, 

parole and probation hearings, and sexually violent predator civil commitment proceedings. 

9.35(10) Lost wages or income due to health or safety concerns related to maintaining employment. 
Compensation for lost wages or income shall be paid to an eligible crime victim for up to 30 days following an 

event that compromises the health or safety of the victim including, but not limited to, the approved crime, 

stalking, or harassment. Compensation for lost wages or income beyond 30 days may be extended at the 

discretion of the program administrator, the director, or the board.  

9.35(11) Residential crime scene cleanup.  Compensation may be paid for the reasonable costs of an eligible 

victim or applicant for cleaning a residential crime scene, which includes a home, or a private vehicle if the 

vehicle serves as the primary residence, in which the crime was committed.  Cleaning a residential crime scene 

means to remove, or attempt to remove, from the crime scene blood, dirt, stains, or other debris caused by the 

crime or the processing of the crime scene.  Compensation shall be paid for the reasonable out–of–pocket cost 

of cleaning supplies, equipment rental, labor, and the value of property which is essential to the victim and 

which is held by law enforcement for evidentiary purposes.  Cleaning a residential crime scene does not include 

replacement or repair of property damaged in the crime. 

9.35(12) Loss of support.  Compensation for loss of support may be paid for the Dependents of an eligible 

homicide victim or of a victim disabled for a period of 60 days or more when the applicant documents that the 

Dependent relied on the victim wholly or partially for physical care or financial support. 

a.   Period of dependency.  Compensation may be paid for loss of support for the remaining period of 

dependency, up to the limits established in Iowa Code section 915.86(5), in an amount equal to the lost wages 

or income the victim was earning at the time of death or disability.  The amount of compensation shall be 

subject to reduction by the amount of collateral sources designated as support pursuant to Iowa Code section 

915.87(1). 

b.   Dependent care.  Compensation may be paid for loss of support at the current hourly rate of the Iowa 

minimum wage for dependent care provided by a person other than the victim if the victim was providing 

physical care to the dependent at the time of the crime. 

9.35(13) Clothing and bedding.  Compensation may be paid for clothing and bedding held as evidence by law 

enforcement.  Compensation shall not be made for a deceased victim’s clothing, which is held as evidence. 

9.35(14) Funeral, burial, and memorial expenses.  Compensation may be paid for reasonable expenses incurred 

for the funeral and burial or cremation for an eligible crime victim.  The following expenses may be paid up to 

the maximum expense established in Iowa Code section 915.86(6): 

a.   Funeral service.  Compensation may be paid for expenses related to funeral and burial or cremation 

preparation and services. 

b.   Burial plot and vessel.  Compensation may be paid for the cost of a burial plot, vault, casket, urn, or other 

permissible vessel. 

c.   Burial effects.  Compensation may be paid for miscellaneous funeral and burial expenses including, but not 

limited to, flowers, burial clothing for the victim, transportation of the victim’s body, and travel and lodging 

expenses for survivors of the deceased victim as described in Iowa Code section 915.80(7) with priority for the 

surviving spouse, children, and parents of the victim.  Documentation must be provided for all miscellaneous 

funeral and burial expenses. 

d. Memorial Reasonable memorial costs may be paid for commemorating the memory of a deceased victim, 

including but not limited to, a structure, or public or private event. 

9.35(15) Dependent care. Compensation may be paid for reasonable costs of dependent care incurred by a 
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primary victim, the parent or caretaker of a dependent primary victim, or the survivor of a deceased victim, to 

attend medical or counseling appointments or criminal justice proceedings. Dependent care expenses may be 

paid for the parent or caretaker of a primary victim to attend the parent’s or caretaker’s own medical or mental 

health appointments. 

 Compensation may include, but is not limited to, expenses for care provided by a day care center, private 

residential childcare, relative who is not a tax dependent, before- or after- school program, custodial elder care, 

adult day care center, nanny, or au pair. Expenses may be paid to the maximum benefit established in Iowa 

Code section 915.86(13). 

9.35(16) Residential Security Compensation may be paid for reasonable costs incurred by a victim, the victim’s 

parent or caretaker, or the survivor of a deceased victim to install new residential security items, or to replace 

inadequate or damaged residential security items, not to exceed the maximum expense established in Iowa 

Code section 915.86(14). 

9.35(17) Transportation and Lodging. Compensation may be paid for reasonable transportation and lodging 

expenses incurred by the victim, secondary victim, parent or guardian of the crime, or survivor of a deceased 

victim for medical and counseling services, criminal justice proceedings, or funeral activities, not to exceed the 

benefit limit established in Iowa Code section 915.86(15).  

 a. privately owned vehicle. Use of a privately owned vehicle shall be paid at the per-mile rate established by 

the department of administrative services for state employees using a private vehicle for state business. 

 b. Commercial vehicle transport shall be paid at the cost incurred by, or on behalf of, an eligible applicant.  

61—9.36(915) Appeal of compensation decisions.  An applicant shall be informed in writing of the basis for 

the denial of eligibility or the amount of an award. 

9.36(1) Applicant appeal.  An applicant may appeal a compensation decision as follows: 

a.   Appeal to director.  An applicant aggrieved by a denial decision or the amount of compensation awarded by 

the program may appeal to the director. 

b.   Appeal to board.  An applicant may appeal the director’s decision to the board. 

c.   Appeal to district court.  An applicant who disagrees with the decision of the board has the right to appeal to 

the district court for judicial review within 30 days of receipt of the board’s decision. 

9.36(2) Director appeal period.  An applicant shall submit to the director a written request for reconsideration 

within 30 days of the date the notice of the crime victim compensation program decision is mailed or otherwise 

issued by the division.  Any request for reconsideration postmarked within the prescribed time period shall be 

considered timely filed by the division.  Barring any unusual circumstances, within 30 days of the receipt of the 

request for reconsideration, the director shall issue a decision. 

9.36(3) Board appeal period.  An applicant may file with the board a request for consideration of the director’s 

decision.  This written request for consideration by the board shall be submitted within 30 days of the date the 

notice of the director’s decision is mailed or otherwise issued by the director.  Any request for review 

postmarked within the prescribed time period shall be considered timely filed by the division.  Barring any 

unusual circumstances, within 90 days of the receipt of the request, the board, or a committee designated by 

the chair of not fewer than five members of the board, shall issue a decision. 

9.36(4) District court appeal period.  An applicant shall submit a petition for judicial review to the district court 

within 30 days of the receipt of the notice of the board’s decision. 

61—9.37(17A) Waiver from rules.  This rule establishes a uniform process for granting waivers from rules 
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adopted by the board governing the crime victim compensation program. 

9.37(1) When waiver is appropriate.  The board may grant a waiver from a rule the board has adopted if the 

board has rule–making authority to promulgate the rule, and no statute or rule otherwise controls the granting 

of a waiver from the rule.  No waiver may be granted from a rule that defines a term.  No waiver may be granted 

from a requirement that is imposed by statute.  Any waiver must be consistent with statute. 

9.37(2) Criteria for discretionary waivers.  The board may grant a waiver from a rule, in whole or in part, in 

response to a request from an applicant or on the board’s own motion, as applied to a specific claim, if the 

board finds that: 

a.   The application of the rule to the claim at issue would result in hardship or injustice to the person seeking 

compensation; and 

b.   The waiver would be consistent with the public interest or the public interest will be protected by other 

means substantially equivalent to full compliance with the rule; and 

c.   The waiver in the specific case would not prejudice the substantial legal rights of any person. 

9.37(3) Board discretion.  The decision about whether the circumstances justify the granting of a waiver shall be 

made at the sole discretion of the board, upon consideration of all relevant factors. 

9.37(4) Criteria for mandatory waivers.  In response to an applicant’s request, the board shall grant a waiver 

from a rule, in whole or in part, as applied to the particular circumstances, if the board finds that the application 

of the rule in that specific case would not, to any extent, advance or serve any of the purposes of the rule. 

9.37(5) Administrative deadlines.  When the rule from which a waiver is sought establishes deadlines, the board 

shall balance the specific individual circumstances of the applicant with the overall goal of uniform treatment of 

all applicants. 

9.37(6) Conditions.  The board may condition the granting of a waiver on reasonable conditions to achieve the 

objectives of the particular rule in question through alternative means. 

9.37(7) Public availability of waiver decisions.  A board decision granting or denying a waiver shall be included in 

the board minutes with reference to the following: 

a.   The particular case and the rule or portion thereof to which the decision pertains; 

b.   The relevant facts and reasons upon which the action is based; and 

c.   The scope and operative period of the waiver if one is issued. 

Subject to the provisions of Iowa Code section 17A.3(1)“e,” the department shall maintain a record of all orders 

granting and denying waivers under this chapter.  All waiver decisions shall be indexed and available to 

members of the public at the crime victim assistance division office. 

9.37(8) Voiding or cancellation.  A waiver is void if the material facts upon which the request is based are not 

true or if material facts have been withheld.  The board may at any time cancel a waiver upon notice to the 

victim by regular mail and an opportunity to be heard, if: 

a.   The facts as stated in the request are not true or material facts have been withheld, or 

b.   The applicant has failed to comply with the conditions of the waiver. 

9.37(9) Effectiveness of waiver.  After the board issues a waiver, a person seeking compensation may rely on 

the terms of that waiver for the purposes of the particular case for which it was issued.  A waiver shall only be 

effective in the case for which it is issued. 
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9.37(10) Appeals from waiver decisions.  Any request for an appeal from a decision granting or denying a waiver 

shall be in accordance with the procedures provided in Iowa Code chapter 17A and the board’s rules.  An appeal 

shall be taken within 30 days of the issuance of the waiver decision unless a contrary time is provided by rule or 

statute. 

These rules are intended to implement Iowa Code sections 915.80 through 915.94. 

61—9.38 to 9.49 Reserved. 

DIVISION III 

VICTIM SERVICES GRANT PROGRAM 

(Victim Services Support Program) 

61—9.50(13) Administration of the victim services grant program. The victim services grant program of the 

Iowa department of justice shall administer the victim services grants as provided in Iowa Code chapters 13 and 

236. All questions, comments, requests for information, or applications for grant funds shall be directed to the 

victim services grant program. Requests should be addressed to: Crime Victim Assistance Division, Iowa 

Department of Justice, 321 East 12th Street, Lucas State Office Building, Ground Floor, Des Moines, Iowa 

50319, telephone (515)281-5044. 

61—9.51(13) Definitions. As used in this chapter: 

“Applicant” means a public or private nonprofit program that provides direct services to crime victims or 

training and technical assistance to crime victim service providers and that makes a request for funds from the 

victim services grant program. 

“Application” means a request which complies with federal and state requirements for funds from the 

following funding streams: 

 1. The federal Victims of Crime Act. 

 2. The state domestic and sexual abuse program funds provided for in Iowa Code chapter 236. 

 3. The federal Family Violence Prevention and Services Act. 

 4. The federal Violence Against Women Act. 

 5. Other grants or funds available by law for crime victim assistance. 

“Board” means the crime victim assistance board. 

“Competitive grant” means a grant for which the division solicits a request for proposals (RFP) from eligible 

applicants, reviews the applications for eligibility and completeness, and then convenes a grant review 

committee to recommend grant awards to the crime victim assistance board. 

“Crime victim center” means a crime victim center as defined in Iowa Code section 915.20A(1). 

“Department” means the Iowa department of justice. 

“Director” means director of the crime victim assistance division of the Iowa department of justice. 

“Division” means the crime victim assistance division of the Iowa department of justice. 

“Focus grant” means a one-time grant for specific activities, including but not limited to training, travel, or 

materials, awarded at the discretion of the division directly to a program that has received a competitive grant 
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in the fiscal year. 

“Funding stream” means a distinct source of federal or state funding available for grants. 

“Grant” means a competitive or focus grant award to a local or statewide government or private nonprofit 

agency. 

“Grantee” means a local or statewide government or private nonprofit agency that is awarded or receives 

funds from the crime victim assistance division. 

“Grant review committee” means a division committee designated to review grant applications. 

“Justice support” means duties performed in the justice system related to investigation, prosecution, or 

disposition of a criminal case that assist or inform a victim of crime. 

“Program” means the victim services grant program of the Iowa department of justice. 

“RFP” means request for proposals. 

“Victim” means a crime victim as defined in Iowa Code section 915.80. 

61—9.52(13) Program description. Any eligible local or statewide government or private nonprofit agency or a 

combination thereof may apply for and receive a grant through the program. The program shall operate as a 

competitive and focus grants program and be administered by the department. A contractual agreement 

specifying the terms of the grant award shall be executed between the department and the approved applicant. 

61—9.53(13) Availability of grants. In any year in which federal or state funds are available, the division shall 

administer grants with eligible applicants. The amount of the funds awarded shall be contingent upon the funds 

available. The director shall announce the opening of an application period through public notice including but 

not limited to notice to current grantees and other eligible agencies identified by the program. Applications 

must be received by the designated due date. 

 9.53(1) Competitive grants will be awarded based on the availability of funds, history and demonstration of 

quality of services provided, compliance with the requirements of the division, number of victims served or 

cases investigated and prosecuted, population served, and geographical distribution of funds in the state. A 

preference shall be given to continued funding of successful grantees. 

 9.53(2) Focus grants will be awarded at the discretion of the director and of the deputy attorney general 

who oversees the division. Funds utilized for focus grants must comply with all applicable state and federal 

rules and regulations. The total of focus grants from one funding source may not exceed 3 percent of the funds 

available from the funding source in one state fiscal year. 

61—9.54(13) Application requirements. Applicants shall submit applications to: Crime Victim Assistance 

Division, Iowa Department of Justice, 321 East 12th Street, Lucas State Office Building, Ground Floor, Des 

Moines, Iowa 50319. Applications shall be in the form prescribed by the division and shall be available upon 

request to all interested parties. 

 9.54(1) To be included in the review process and considered for funding, an application shall be received in the 

offices of the division by 4:30 p.m. on the due date. Applications may be delivered to the division during 

regular business hours anytime prior to the deadline. An extension of the filing deadline may be requested of 

the director or grant administrator prior to the deadline and may be granted for good cause. The determination 

of a good cause extension by the division director shall be final. 

 9.54(2) An applicant shall have on file with the division current copies of the applicant’s table of 

organization and articles of incorporation as required. 
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 9.54(3) An applicant shall have on file with the division evidence of any insurance coverage the applicant 

carries for liability or property. 

 9.54(4) The division may allow combined applications from two or more agencies if a combined application 

will encourage cooperation between those agencies on behalf of crime victims. Each agency receiving funds 

under a combined application shall sign a grant contract for the use of awarded funds. 

61—9.55(13) Contents of application. Each application shall contain the following information: 

 9.55(1) A paragraph describing the agencies or units of government requesting the funds. 

 9.55(2) A description of services for which funding is being requested. The description shall include, but not 

be limited to, the following: 

 a.  The geographical area to be served. 

 b.  The crime victim population to be served. 

 c.  Victim eligibility requirements for the applicant’s services. 

 d.  A description of substantial financial support from other sources. 

 e.  The intended use of volunteers, if any. 

 f.  The stated goals and objectives of the program. 

 g.  A description of the proposed victim service, training, or technical assistance to be implemented during 

the funding year. 

 h.  The amount of grant funds requested. 

 i.  The amount of cash or in-kind resources or combination thereof which is committed where required by 

the division. 

 j.  A description of how the proposed victim service, training, or technical assistance will provide or 

improve services to victims of crime. 

 k.  Proof of coordination with appropriate agencies at the local level. 

 l.  A total program budget for all services provided by the applicant’s crime victim program. 

 m.  A proposed budget for the requested grant funds. 

 n.  A list of other anticipated sources of income, including written commitments, if possible, and plans for 

continued funding of the grant-funded activities. 

 o.  Other information identified in the RFP. 

 p.  Signed certified assurances as required by statute or regulation. 

61—9.56(13) Eligibility requirements. Funds must be used only to provide victim services, or justice support to 

victims of crime, and training or technical assistance to victim service providers and allied professionals. 

Program grants shall not be used to supplant other available or mandated funds. An applicant must meet the 

following requirements: 

 9.56(1) The applicant shall be a public agency or private nonprofit organization, or combination thereof, 

that provides services to crime victims or training and technical assistance to victim service providers and allied 

professionals. 
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 9.56(2) The applicant shall provide services to victims of crime through crime victim centers, law 

enforcement officers, prosecutors, and other allied professionals. Services provided to victims by crime victim 

centers shall include but are not limited to crisis intervention, law enforcement and court advocacy, group and 

individual follow-up counseling, transportation, and information and referral. 

 9.56(3) An applicant providing services to victims of domestic abuse must also provide or arrange safe 

shelter for victims and their children when needed at no cost to the victims. To ensure staff training and best 

practice standards, preference will be given to domestic abuse programs certified by the Iowa Coalition Against 

Domestic Violence. 

 9.56(4) An applicant providing services to victims of sexual abuse must also provide support to victims at 

the time of an evidentiary sexual abuse examination. To ensure staff training and best practice standards, 

preference will be given to sexual abuse programs certified by the Iowa Coalition Against Sexual Assault. 

 9.56(5) The applicant shall promote within the community a coordinated public and private effort to assist 

victims. 

 9.56(6) The applicant shall be an equal-opportunity employer and provide services on an equal-opportunity 

basis. 

 9.56(7) The applicant shall comply with applicable federal and state statutes and rules, all requirements 

specified in the grant between the department and any outside funding source, and all requirements in the RFP 

or any other contractual document. 

 9.56(8) The applicant shall assist victims in seeking state compensation benefits. 

 9.56(9) The applicant shall have a grievance procedure established for victims, employees and volunteers. 

 9.56(10) The applicant shall ensure that all employees and volunteers of crime victim centers that provide 

direct services to victims are trained as victim counselors as defined in Iowa Code section 915.20A. 

 9.56(11) The applicant shall provide services within the geographical service area without regard to a 

victim’s ability to pay. 

 9.56(12) An existing program must document results of prior programming that demonstrate that the 

needs of victims have been met effectively and that the applicant has financial support from other sources. 

61—9.57(13) Selection process. The division shall conduct a preliminary review of each application to ensure 

that the applicant is eligible, the application is complete, and the proposed victim service, training or technical 

assistance is consistent with the division’s mission of providing quality assistance to crime victims and crime 

victim programs throughout the state. 

 9.57(1) In selection of competitive grantees, the division may utilize generally accepted methods of grant 

review including but not limited to checklists, quality scales, written comments by grant review committee 

members, and formulas based on past funding, population, clients served and available funds. 

 9.57(2) In selection of competitive grantees, the division shall establish a grant review committee. The 

committee shall submit recommendations for grant awards to the director. The director shall submit to the 

board the recommendations of the grant review committee and any alternative recommendations by the 

program staff. 

 a.  The committee shall be comprised of representatives from the crime victim assistance board and 

experts in the fields of victim services, grant administration and management, and criminal justice. 

 b.  The division shall provide the committee with information related to the applicant’s performance with 

previous grants, the quality and quantity of services provided, and community support for the applicant. 
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c. The committee shall review the content of the grant applications and information provided by the

division and members of the committee regarding the applicant and the geographical area to be served. 

 9.57(3) The board shall consider the recommendations of the grant review committee and the director to 

determine final competitive grant awards to the extent that funds are available and to the extent to which 

applications meet the RFP criteria. The board may reject any or all applications. 

 9.57(4) In selection of grantees for a focus grant, a written proposal shall be solicited from current grantees. 

Interested grantees shall submit a proposal to the director outlining the purpose, cost, and outcome of the 

proposed grant. The director shall submit a recommendation to the deputy attorney general for criminal justice 

who shall make a final decision based on the availability of funds and the merits of the proposal. 

61—9.58(13) Notification of applicants. An applicant shall be notified within 90 days after the application due 

date whether the application has been denied or approved by the board and the amount of funds approved for 

the application. 

61—9.59(13) Request for reconsideration. 

 9.59(1) An applicant may file with the board a request for reconsideration of the denial or of the amount of 

an award. The request for reconsideration must be submitted within ten working days of the date the notice of 

decision is mailed or otherwise issued by the director to the grantee. The request must state grounds for 

reconsideration. The board or a committee designated by the board chairperson shall review the request in a 

timely manner. A decision of the board or designated committee shall constitute final agency action. 

 9.59(2) At the time a request for reconsideration is received by the director, notice that a request for 

reconsideration has been filed shall be sent to all approved applicants whose funds may be affected by the 

request. 

 9.59(3) Funds shall not be disbursed pending a request for reconsideration to the extent that the funds are 

affected by the outcome of the request. Every applicant that would be adversely affected shall be notified if a 

request for reconsideration is approved, and grant awards shall be reduced as necessary. 

61—9.60(13) Contract agreement. 

9.60(1) A contract shall be negotiated by the department and the applicant. 

 9.60(2) Prior to entering into a contract, the department or the board may require modification of the 

proposed program, submission of further information or documents, or other stipulation of the applicant. The 

required modification, information, document, or stipulation shall be specified in the notification of grant 

award. 

 9.60(3) The applicant or the department may request a modification of the program budget to reflect the 

amount, expenses and activities allowed by the grant award. Both parties must agree to any modification of the 

grantee program budget. 

 9.60(4) In the event of a state, federal, or other audit, the grantee shall be responsible for the audit and 

liable for payment of any funds required to conduct the audit, to compensate for any grant disallowance, or to 

repay any funds received or spent contrary to the contract, these rules, or applicable law. 

 9.60(5) Funds shall be spent to meet the program proposals as provided in the contract. Expenditures shall 

be reimbursed pursuant to regular reimbursement procedures of the state of Iowa. 

 9.60(6) The grantee shall sign the certified assurances for the grant program at the time of application and 

at any time requested by the division. 
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 9.60(7) Nothing in these rules shall be construed as limiting the remedies available to the state or the 

program for improper use of grant funds or other breach of the grantee’s duties under the contract and 

applicable law. 

61—9.61(13) Performance reports. Performance reports shall be submitted to the division from all grantees. 

Failure to submit reports by the due date shall result in suspension of financial payments to the grantee by the 

program until such time as the report is received. Delinquent or inadequate reports from prior grants may 

detrimentally influence the award of grants for the following year. 

61—9.62(13) Termination. Contracts may be terminated for the following reasons: 

 9.62(1) Termination by grantee. The grantee may terminate the contract at any time during the contract 

period by providing notice to the division. 

 9.62(2) Termination by department. The department may terminate a contract upon a ten-day notice when 

the grantee or any of its subcontractors fail to comply with the grant award stipulations, standards or 

conditions. The department may terminate a contract when there is a reduction of funds by executive order or 

otherwise. 

 9.62(3) Termination for cause. If the grantee fails to fulfill its obligations under the agreement properly or on 

time, or otherwise violates any provision of the agreement, the board may terminate the agreement by written 

notice to the grantee. The notice shall specify the acts or omissions relied on as cause for termination. All 

finished or unfinished products and services provided by the grantee shall, at the option of the department, 

become state property. The department shall pay the grantee fair and equitable compensation for satisfactory 

performance prior to receipt of notice of termination minus any funds owing to the department, e.g., damages 

for breach, improperly spent funds. 

61—9.63(13) Financial statement supplied. Within 45 days of the termination, the grantee shall supply the 

department with a financial statement detailing all costs incurred up to the effective date of the termination. 

61—9.64(13) Indemnification. The grantee shall defend, indemnify, and hold harmless the state of Iowa, its 

officers, agents and employees and any of the state’s federal funding sources for: 

 1. Grantee’s performance or nonperformance of a contract entered into or violation of these rules. 

 2. Grantee’s activities with subcontractors and all other third parties, or any other act or omission by a 

grantee, its agents, officers, and employees. 

61—9.65(13) Records. Grantees shall keep statistical records of services provided and any other records as 

required by the division. The division shall have immediate access during working hours to records pertaining to 

the contract. No notice need be provided the grantee prior to inspection of the records. 

These rules are intended to implement Iowa Code section 13.31. 

61—9.66 to 9.79 Reserved. 

DIVISION IV 

SEXUAL ABUSE EXAMINATION PAYMENT 

61—9.80(915) Administration of sexual abuse examination payment. The crime victim assistance program 

of the department of justice shall administer the sexual abuse examination program as provided in Iowa Code 

section 915.41. That section states in part: 
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“The cost of a medical examination for the purpose of gathering evidence and the cost of treatment for the 

purpose of preventing sexually transmitted disease shall be borne by the department of justice.” 

Requests for payment should be addressed to: Sexual Abuse Examination Payments, Crime Victim 

Assistance Division, Lucas State Office Building, Ground Floor, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, Iowa 50319; 

telephone (515)281-5044 or 1-800-373-5044. 

61—9.81(915) Definitions. 

“Administration” means administrator of the crime victim assistance program established in the department 

of justice. 

“Board” means crime victim assistance board. 

“Department” means the Iowa department of justice. 

“Eligible claimant” means a medical provider that provides a sexual abuse examination to a sexual assault 

victim. The following are eligible to file a claim with the crime victim assistance program in the event that they 

have made payment to a medical provider for the costs of a sexual abuse examination: 

1. A victim of sexual abuse.

2. A person responsible for the maintenance of a sexual abuse victim.

3. A dependent of a victim who has died as a result of injuries sustained in a sexual assault.

4. The guardian of a sexual abuse victim.

“Reasonable charges” means those ordinarily charged by the provider of the service to the general public for 

services of a similar nature. 

“Sexual abuse” means sexual abuse as defined in Iowa Code sections 709.1 and 726.2. 

“Sexual abuse examination” means a medical examination provided to a woman, man, or child to collect 

evidence of sexual abuse victimization of that person as defined in Iowa Code sections 709.1 and 726.2 and 

provide treatment for the prevention of sexually transmitted disease pursuant to Iowa Code section 915.41. 

When applicable, the provider of a sexual abuse examination shall file a child abuse report with the Iowa 

department of human services as required by Iowa Code section 232.70. 

61—9.82(915) Application for sexual abuse examination payment. 

 9.82(1) Consideration for payment. The department will consider payment upon receipt of a claim for 

reimbursement from a medical provider indicating that the claim is for the collection of evidence by sexual 

abuse examination. In the case that a victim, guardian of a victim, person responsible for the victim, or 

dependent of a victim who died of injuries sustained in a sexual assault has paid part or all of the charges 

incurred, a copy of the provider bill and documentation of personal payment of the bill must be submitted for 

reimbursement. An application for sexual abuse examination payment must include the federal identification 

number or social security number of the claimant. 

 9.82(2) Application filing. To apply for payment under the sexual abuse examination program, the form or 

bill submitted must identify the sexual assault victim by name, birth date, and patient number, indicate that the 

claim is for a sexual abuse examination, and itemize all services rendered and the fee for each service. 

61—9.83(915) Computation of sexual abuse examination payments. 

 9.83(1)  Payment for examination. The department shall make payment for sexual abuse examinations, as 

appropriate, for services including, but not limited to: 
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a. Examiner’s fee for collection of:

(1) Patient’s medical history;

(2) Physical examination;

(3) Collection of laboratory specimens;

(4) Return visits to test for sexually transmitted disease;

(5) Treatment for the prevention of sexually transmitted disease.

b. Examination facility.

(1) Emergency room, clinic room or office room fee;

(2) Pelvic tray and medically required supplies.

c. Laboratory collection and processing of specimens for: criminal evidence; sexually transmitted disease;

and pregnancy testing. 

 9.83(2) Provider payment. The department will pay up to $300 for the examination facility and $200 for 

examiner fees. Any charges in excess of these amounts will require additional documentation from the 

provider. The crime victim assistance program will pay only those charges determined by the department to be 

reasonable and fair. 

The Iowa department of public safety division of criminal investigation makes sexual abuse examination kits 

available to health care providers at no cost. 

61—9.84(915) Victim responsibility for payment. A victim of sexual abuse is not responsible for the payment 

of the costs of a sexual abuse examination determined to be eligible for payment by the department. A medical 

provider shall not submit any remaining balance after sexual abuse examination program payment to the 

sexual abuse victim. 

61—9.85(915) Sexual abuse examination—right to restitution. In all criminal cases under Iowa Code chapter 

709 and sections 726.2 and 710.2 in which there is a plea of guilty, verdict of guilty, or special verdict upon which 

a judgment of conviction is rendered, restitution may be ordered from the offender to the crime victim 

assistance program for the cost paid by the department for a sexual abuse examination rendered to the victim 

of that crime pursuant to Iowa Code section 910.2. 

61—9.86(915) Erroneous or fraudulent payment—penalty. If a payment or overpayment of a reparation is 

made because of clerical error, mistaken identity, innocent misrepresentation by or on behalf of the recipient, 

or other circumstances of a similar nature, not induced by fraud by or on behalf of the recipients, the recipient is 

liable for repayment of the reparation. However, if the department does not notify the recipient of the 

erroneous payment or overpayment within one year of the date of payment, the recipient is not responsible for 

repayment to the department. 

If a payment or overpayment has been induced by fraud by or on behalf of a recipient, the recipient is liable 

for repayment to the department. 

61—9.87(915) Right to appeal. An eligible claimant who disagrees with the department’s decision concerning 

payment or amount of payment has the right to request reconsideration of that decision by the crime victim 

assistance board. The request for reconsideration must be received by the department within 60 days after the 

decision of the department is mailed. 

Rules 9.80(915) to 9.87(915) are intended to implement Iowa Code section 915.41. 
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[Filed 12/28/84, Notice 8/29/84—published 1/16/85, effective 4/3/85] [Filed emergency 7/10/87—published 7/29/87, 
effective 7/10/87] [Filed emergency 6/9/89—published 6/28/89, effective 6/9/89] [Filed emergency 8/4/89—
published 8/23/89, effective 8/4/89] [Filed emergency 9/1/89—published 9/20/89, effective 9/1/89] [Filed 10/27/89, 
Notice 8/23/89—published 11/15/89, effective 12/20/89] [Filed 12/22/89, Notice 9/20/89—published 1/10/90, 
effective 2/14/90] [Filed emergency 5/11/90 after Notice 11/15/89—published 5/30/90, effective 5/11/90] [Filed 
emergency 7/20/90—published 8/8/90, effective 7/20/90] [Filed 5/8/92, Notice 11/27/91—published 5/27/92, 
effective 7/1/92] [Filed 10/9/92, Notice 7/8/92—published 10/28/92, effective 12/2/92] [Filed 3/11/94, Notice 
12/8/93—published 3/30/94, effective 5/6/94] [Filed 2/10/95, Notice 11/23/94—published 3/1/95, effective 4/5/95] 
[Filed 4/7/95, Notice 1/18/95—published 4/26/95, effective 5/31/95] [Filed 12/8/00, Notice 11/1/00—published 
12/27/00, effective 1/31/01] [Filed 5/4/04, Notice 1/21/04—published 5/26/04, effective 6/30/04] [Filed 12/30/04, 
Notice 10/13/04—published 1/19/05, effective 2/23/05] 

Iowa Attorney General - 61 

Chapter 35 

IDENTITY THEFT PASSPORT 

61—35.1(715A) Definitions. 

“Creditor” means a person or entity who is owed money or property by another person via the extension of 

credit to that other person to defer payment of debt, to incur debt and defer its payment, or to purchase 

property or services and defer payment therefor, or a person or entity to whom a creditor’s right to payment 

has been assigned. 

“Division” means the crime victim assistance division in the attorney general’s office. 

“Division director” means the director of the crime victim assistance division in the attorney general’s office. 

“Identity theft” means the commission of the offense of identity theft, as stated in Iowa Code section 

715A.8(2), which includes when a person fraudulently uses or attempts to fraudulently use identification 

information of another person, with the intent to obtain credit, property, services, or other benefit. 

“Law enforcement agency” means an agency that employs peace officers. 

“Peace officer” means the same as defined in Iowa Code section 801.4(11). 

“Person” means an individual. 

“Report of identity theft” means a request by a person to a peace officer in any jurisdiction described in Iowa 

Code section 715A.8(5) for the peace officer to take a report regarding an alleged commission of identity theft 

against the person. 

“Victim” means a person who alleges that identity theft has been committed against the person. 

61—35.2(715A) Application for identity theft passports. 

35.2(1) Completion of application. 

a. A person who has filed a report of identity theft may apply for an identity theft passport through the law

enforcement agency to which the report was made. 

b. An application for an identity theft passport shall include the following:
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(1) Completion by the person, or by another on behalf of the person, and by the law enforcement agency,

of the identity theft passport application form and the identity theft verification form set out in rule 61—

35.8(715A), along with any documentation supporting the claim that the person is a victim of identity theft. 

(2) A copy of the report of identity theft made to the law enforcement agency.

(3) Photographic identification of the victim in one of the following formats in order of preference:

1. A copy of the victim’s current driver’s license or state-issued nonoperator’s identification card.

2. A current photograph of the victim certified as valid by signature of the law enforcement investigator

who received the report of identity theft. 

c. Upon completion of the application for an identity theft passport, the law enforcement agency which

received the application shall forward it to the crime victim assistance division of the office of the attorney 

general. 

 35.2(2) Confidentiality of application. An application made with the attorney general shall be confidential 

and shall not be a public record subject to disclosure under Iowa Code chapter 22. 

61—35.3(715A) Issuance of identity theft passports. 

 35.3(1) Upon receipt of a completed application for an identity theft passport, the division shall review the 

application and determine whether to issue the applicant an identity theft passport. In determining whether to 

issue the identity theft passport, the division shall consider all the facts and circumstances reported in the 

application, any recommendations received from the law enforcement agency to which the report was made, 

and any other facts that the division deems necessary to make the determination. 

 35.3(2) An identity theft passport shall be in the form of a card or certificate as determined by the attorney 

general. 

61—35.4(715A) Usage of identity theft passports. An identity theft victim may present the passport to: 

 35.4(1) A law enforcement agency to help prevent the victim’s arrest or detention for any offense 

committed by someone other than the victim who is using the victim’s identity, and 

 35.4(2) A creditor of the victim to aid in the creditor’s investigation and establishment of whether 

fraudulent charges were made against accounts in the victim’s name or whether accounts were opened using 

the victim’s identity. 

61—35.5(715A) Acceptance of identity theft passports. A law enforcement agency or creditor may accept an 

identity theft passport from the victim and may consider the surrounding circumstances and available 

information regarding the offense of identity theft pertaining to the victim. 

61—35.6(715A) Expiration of identity theft passports. An identity theft passport issued by the office of the 

attorney general shall be valid for a period of five years from the date of issuance or renewal. The victim to 

whom an expired identity theft passport was issued may reapply to the office of the attorney general for 

renewal of the identity theft passport within 30 days after its expiration. The office of the attorney general may 

renew the identity theft passport in the same manner that initial passports are issued, as outlined in rule 61—

35.3(715A). 

61—35.7(715A) Revocation of identity theft passports. 

 35.7(1) If the division determines that an identity theft passport which has been issued should not have 

been issued, the division shall notify the person to whom the identity theft passport was issued of the intended 
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revocation of the identity theft passport and the reasons for the intended revocation. 

 35.7(2) The person who has received a notice of intended revocation of an identity theft passport may 

request reconsideration of the intended revocation. The request and all information in support of a 

reconsideration of the intended revocation shall be submitted to the division director within 30 calendar days of 

the mailing date on the notice of intended revocation. 

 35.7(3) The division director will issue a decision regarding the reconsideration of the intended revocation of 

the identity theft passport within 30 days of receipt of the request for reconsideration whenever possible. The 

decision of the division director regarding the revocation of the identity theft passport constitutes final agency 

action. 

 35.7(4) If, after notice, the division determines that the identity theft passport is revoked, the division shall 

notify the person of the revocation in a mailing to the person’s last-known residential address. 

35.7(5) A person shall not use a revoked identity theft passport for any purpose. 

61—35.8(715A) Identity theft passport application and verification forms. 

 35.8(1) Identity theft victim application and affidavit. The following form may be used to apply for an identity 

theft passport. 

61—35.8(2) Identity theft law enforcement report verification. The following form must be completed by the 

investigating officer and submitted in conjunction with the identity theft application and affidavit. [Forms 

Below]        

61—35.8(3) Submission of documentation. In order to be considered for an identity theft passport, a victim must 

submit the following documentation to the Crime Victim Assistance Division, Ground Floor, Lucas State Office 

Building, Des Moines, Iowa 50319: 

a. The Identity Theft Victim Application and Affidavit form, signed by the victim.

b. The Identity Theft Law Enforcement Report Verification form, signed by the investigating officer.

c. A copy of the law enforcement agency's investigative report.

These rules are intended to implement Iowa Code section 715A.9A. 

[Filed ARC 7940B (Notice ARC 7528B, IAB 1/28/09), IAB 7/15/09, effective 8/19/09] 


