

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
April 13, 2021

- <u>Urban Forestry awards recognize local dedication to trees and outreach</u>
- <u>lowa's Scholastic Clay Target Program crowns collegiate skeet and sporting clays champions</u>

# **Urban Forestry awards recognize local dedication** to trees and outreach

DES MOINES, Iowa – Every year the Urban Forestry Awards luncheon recognizes cities, college campuses and utilities that demonstrate a variety of dedication to the importance of trees in their respective communities. Awards were presented virtually on April 8, on behalf of the Arbor Day Foundation and the Iowa Department of Natural Resources.

**Tree City USA Award –** To qualify for the Tree City USA award, a city must have either a city forester or an active city tree board, have a tree ordinance, spend at least \$2 per capita annually for its community forestry program, and have a tree planting and maintenance plan.

The award recipients are Adel, Allison, Ames, Arnolds Park, Badger, Bettendorf, Bondurant, Boone, Burlington, Carroll, Cedar Falls, Cedar Rapids, Clarinda, Clarksville, Clinton, Clive, Coralville, Council Bluffs, Cresco, Dallas Center, Davenport, Denison, Des Moines, DeWitt, Dubuque, Dysart, Fort Dodge, Glenwood, Greene, Grimes, Hampton, Harlan, Hiawatha, Hopkinton, Hudson, Indianola, Iowa City, Jefferson, Johnston, Keystone, Livermore, Luxemburg, Manchester, Maquoketa, Marion, Marquette, Mason City, Muscatine, Nevada, Newton, North Liberty, Odebolt, Oelwein, Onawa, Oskaloosa, Ottumwa, Pleasant Hill, Polk City, Red Oak, Rock Rapids, Sioux City, Spencer, Story City, Urbandale, Van Horne, Washington, Waterloo, Waverly, Webster City, West Des Moines, Westphalia, Westside and Winterset.

**Tree City USA Growth Award –** To qualify for the Tree City USA Growth award, cities must provide education and public relations, partnerships, planning and management, and tree planting and maintenance in their community. The award recipients, which were also recipients of the Tree City USA award, are Allison, Clinton, Coralville, Des Moines, Dysart, Hiawatha, Johnston, Marion, Mason City, Oelwein, Polk City, Story City, Washington and Waverly.

**Tree Campus USA Award –** To qualify for the Tree Campus USA award, a campus must have a campus Tree Advisory Committee, a tree care plan, a tree program with dedicated annual expenditures, an annual Arbor Day observance, and a service learning project to engage the student body. The award recipients are Clarke University, Drake University, Iowa State University, Kirkwood Community College and the University of Iowa.

**Tree Line USA Award –** To qualify for the Tree Line USA award, a utility must meet five minimum requirements, including quality tree care, annual worker training, tree planting and public education, a tree-based energy conservation program, and an annual Arbor Day celebration. The award recipients are Alliant Energy, ITC Midwest, MidAmerican Energy and Waverly Utilities.

**Media contact:** Emma Hanigan, Iowa Department of Natural Resources, at 515-249-1732.

# lowa's Scholastic Clay Target Program crowns collegiate skeet and sporting clays champions

William Penn and Iowa Central Community College dominated the 2021 Collegiate Skeet and Sporting Clays Championships this past weekend. William Penn took home first place team in Sporting Clays and second place team in skeet, while Iowa Central took first in skeet and second in sporting clays.

Nearly 90 athletes from 12 Iowa colleges and universities braved the cold and rain to participate in the 2021 Iowa Scholastic Clay Target Program (SCTP) Collegiate Championships in Skeet and Sporting Clays held April 10 at the Mahaska County Izaak Walton League near Oskaloosa. Top individual honors in skeet went to Dominick Ver Meer of Dordt College and Molly Shehan of Simpson College, and in sporting clays to Christopher Bershire-Lewis of William Penn, and Grace Eisenbarth from Hawkeye Community College. The final results for both events are below.

Sporting Clays Championship

Men's Individual Sporting Clays

- 1. Christopher Berkshire-Lewis, William Penn University
- 2. Bryon Baca, William Penn University
- 3. Kyle Wilkins, Grand View University

Women's Individual Sporting Clays

- 1. Grace Eisenbarth, Hawkeye Community College
- 2. Rachel Rickert, Coe College
- 3. Alexis Teribury, Hawkeye Community College

## **Sporting Clays Teams**

- 1. William Penn University, 236 points
- 2. Iowa Central Community College, 228 points
- 3. Coe College, 224 points

### Skeet Championship

#### Men's Individual Skeet

- 1. Dominick Ver Meer, Dordt University
- 2. Jake Maakestad, Hawkeye Community College
- 3. Ethan Herr, Central College

#### Women's Individual Skeet

- 1. Molly Shehan, Simpson College
- 2. Anna Lopez, Simpson College
- 3. Grace Eisenbarth, Hawkeye Community College

### **Skeet Teams**

- 1. Iowa Central Community College, 284 points
- 2. William Penn University, 283 points
- 3. Hawkeye Community College, 280 points

lowa's collegiate teams will attend the last competition of the season on April 17 at the Stockdale Gun Club near Ackley, for the Iowa Collegiate Trap Championship.

The Scholastic Clay Target Program is the largest, fastest growing, and most exciting youth clay target program in the US. Student athletes from elementary through high school and college have the opportunity to compete in sports such as trap, skeet, and sporting clays, as well as Olympic disciplines like bunker trap and international skeet.

The SCTP is a youth development program, first and foremost and we do this through the shooting sports and competitive shooting. The SCTP's mission is to help kids reach their highest potential in becoming the best athletes and young adults they can be. For more information on the Scholastic Clay Target Program in Iowa, contact Chris Van Gorp, DNR Shooting Sports Coordinator at 515-313-8048 or <a href="mailto:chris.vangorp@dnr.iowa.gov">chris.vangorp@dnr.iowa.gov</a>.

**Media Contact:** Chris Van Gorp, DNR Shooting Sports Coordinator, (515) 313-8048 or <a href="mailto:Chris.Vangorp@dnr.iowa.gov">Chris.Vangorp@dnr.iowa.gov</a>.