## Watershed Improvement Review Board Report for Calendar Year 2005

The Iowa Watershed Improvement Review Board was created by the Iowa Legislature and signed into law by the Governor in 2005 as Senate File 200. This statute is now codified in Iowa Code Chapter 466A.

The fifteen-member board was appointed with the initial meeting being held August 22, 2005. Subsequent Board meetings were held October 10, December 2, and December 19. Attachment 1 lists the board members and their organization affiliation.

The Board created a five-member subcommittee to develop and submit to the Board the Request for Applications (RFA) documents and procedural guidelines. These RFA documents were approved as modified on October 10, 2005.

A website developed and maintained by staff from, and linked to, the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship is available at: <a href="http://www.agriculture.state.ia.us/IWIRB.htm">http://www.agriculture.state.ia.us/IWIRB.htm</a> .

The Board announced the first RFA for the Watershed Improvement Fund on October 14, 2005 and accepted applications until November 30, 2005.

The Board received 48 applications in response to the first RFA. These applications requested \$12.7 million in Watershed Improvement Funds and leveraged an additional \$18.0 million.

On December 19, after reviewing and ranking the applications individually, Board members selected seventeen applications for funding. The seventeen projects were approved for \$4,820,200 of Watershed Improvement Funds. Grant agreements for these applications are being developed. Attachment 2 lists the approved projects, dominant water quality issue being addressed with WIRB funds, and funding amount.

Data on the seventeen selected projects:

- These projects included portions of 24 counties
- The \$4.8 million requested of the Watershed Improvement Fund leveraged an additional \$9.2 million for water quality improvements and protection
- Approved individual project funding ranged from \$23,000 to \$500,000

**Attachment 1. Membership of the Watershed Improvement Review Board 2005** 

Sponsoring Organization	Name	City	Occupation	Term Ending
Agribusiness Assn of Iowa	Mark Rosenbury	Sioux City	Vice President, Terra Industries	2006
Iowa Assn of Water Agencies	Jolee Belzung	Ankeny	Director, Ankeny Municipal Utilities	2007
Iowa Environmental Council	Susan Heathcote	Des Moines	Research Director, Iowa Environmental Council	2006
Iowa Farm Bureau	Leah Maass	Ellsworth	Coordinator, Boone River Watershed Project; 5 <sup>th</sup> generation farmer	2006
Iowa Pork Producers	Marcia Dudden	Reinbeck	Dudden Farms—Pork Producer	2008
Iowa Rural Water Assn	Kevin Jacobson	Story City	Water and Wastewater Superintendent, Story City	2007
Iowa Soybean Assn	John Hoffman	Waterloo	32 <sup>nd</sup> year crop farmer; Chair of Black Hawk Soil and Water Cons. District	2007
Soil and Water Conservation Districts of Iowa	Deb Ryun	Chariton	Executive Director, Conservation Districts of Iowa	2006
Iowa Assn of County Conservation Board	Jeff Bergman	Burlington	Executive Director, Des Moines County Conservation Board	2006
Representative of IDALS	Jim Gillespie	Earlham	Bureau Chief for Field Services, IDALS- Division of Soil Conservation	2008
Representative of DNR	Bernie Hoyer	Des Moines	Special Assistant to the Director, Department of Natural Resources	2008
State Senator	Dennis Black	Grinnell	Conservationist	2008
State Senator	David Johnson	Ocheyedan	Dairy farmer	2007
State Representative	Sandra Greiner	Keota		2008
State Representative	Dolores Mertz	Ottosen		2007

**Attachment 2. Watershed Improvement Fund Approved Grants 2005** 

Organization	Primary Water Quality Issue Addressed	Counties Where Located	Funding Amount	
Clear Creek Watershed	Unsewered communities	Iowa	\$	500,000
Clear Lake Watershed	Stormwater runoff	Hancock, Cerro Gordo	\$	225,000
Dry Run Creek	Stormwater runoff	Black Hawk	\$	500,000
Elk River	Agricultural runoff and drainage	Clinton, Jackson	\$	292,045
Farmers Creek	Streambank erosion	Jackson	\$	28,738
Hewitt Creek Watershed	Agricultural runoff and drainage	Dubuque	\$	159,294
Joint Drainage District No. 1 Humboldt & Webster County			\$	500,000
Lake Storm Lake Watershed	Stormwater runoff	Buena Vista	\$	477,000
Little Pony Creek	Stormwater runoff	Pottawattamie	\$	215,673
Mill-Picayune (Manteno Lake)	Agricultural runoff and drainage	Shelby	\$	56,250
Muchakinock Creek	Other—Mine land reclamation	Mahaska	\$	500,000
Rathbun Lake Watershed Strategic Placement of BMPS	Agricultural runoff and drainage	Appanoose, Clarke, Decatur, Lucas, Monroe, Wayne	\$	500,000
Storm Lake Watershed	Stormwater runoff	Buena Vista	\$	23,000
Upper Miller Creek	Agricultural runoff and drainage	Black Hawk	\$	68,900
Urban Watershed of Dickinson County Lakes	Stormwater runoff	Dickinson	\$	486,800
Viking Lake Watershed	Unsewered communities	Montgomery	\$	58,500
Yellow River Watershed Improvement Project	Livestock runoff	Allamakee, Clayton, Winneshiek	\$	229,000

Total Funding Approved by Watershed Improvement Review Board

\$ 4,820,200