

Iowa Commission of Persons with Disabilities

Commission Members And Activities

July 1, 2001—June 30, 2002

Page 11 Annual report

Commission Members

Darlene McMartin, Chair Darwin Larson, Vice Chair Becky Olson, Secretary

Friends of the Commission

A non-profit organization, the Friends of the Commission of Persons with Disabilities was formed last year. They have been instrumental in helping the Commission and Division in carrying out their duties by seeking grants and donations.

Dan Harmon Joy Hays
David Johnston Curt Jones
Darwin Larson Thomas Mayes

Gary McDermott, Chair Joan Van Zomeren, Vice-Chair Darwin Larson Thomas Mayes Darlene McMartin Carol Ziegler Janet Arnold Lisa Balduf Marilyn Belman Philip Birkedal Dr. Crockett Grabbe Rebecca Brandt Matthew Goodlaxson Dan Harmon Joy Hays Curt Jones Darwin Larson Thomas Mayes Gary McDermott Darlene McMartin Steve Oberbroeckling Becky Olson Joan Van Zomeren Fred Weaner Kim Werner Chris Wilson

Sheldon Mason City Iowa City Mason City Iowa City Mt. Vernon Iowa City Keokuk Truro Ankeny Decorah Glenwood Waterloo Clinton Hancock Des Moines Ankenv Mason City Des Moines Manchester Indianola

Ex-Officio Members

These individuals are designated by Iowa Code to be ex-officio members.

Stephen Gleason, Director, Department of Public Health Richard Running, Director, Workforce Development Rose Vasquez, Director, Department of Human Rights Byron Orton, Commissioner, Division of Labor Services Jessie Rasmussen, Director, Department of Human Services Alan Harris, Director, Department for the Blind Becky Maddy Harker, Director, Governor's DD Council Mollie Anderson, Director, Department of Personnel Dwight Carlson, Administrator, Division of Vocational Rehabilitation Iris Post, Commissioner, Division of Industrial Services Ted Stilwill, Director, Department of Education

All meetings are open to the public. Meetings are held quarterly.





Awards Banquet

Governor Thomas J Vilsak was the guest speaker at the annual awards banquet held at the Marriott in downtown Des Moines.

Governor's Award - Theresa J. Uchytil

Commissioners' Award - Patrick O'Hearn

Best Accessible Design Award - Marriott Hotel-Downtown

Media Award - Polk County Health Services and Strategic America

Employer Awards - Kathcho, Inc., Dave's Super Valu

Outstanding Achievement Award - Brandi McCauley

Youth Service Award - Hope Avery

"Look at a day when you are supremely satisfied at the end. It's not a day when you lounge around doing nothing; it's when you've had everything to do, and you've done it."

- Margaret Thatcher













Page 13 Annual report

Local Committees

CEDAR RAPIDS

Citizen's Committee for People with
Disabilities
Bob Stock, Chair
2546 Indiana Street S.W.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa 52404
(319)365-6434
3rd Tuesday Month – 12:00 Noon
Kirkwood Resource Center

CLINTON

Clinton Coalition for Disabled Persons Evelyn & Laura Dymkowski, Co-Chairs 2113 Roosevelt St. Clinton, Iowa 52732-2416 (319)242-5645 (home) 1st Thursday Month – 7:00 p.m. Park Tower Apartments

COUNCIL BLUFFS

Equal Access for the Disabled
Pat Butler, Chair
377 Harrison
Council Bluffs, Iowa 51503
(712)323-1894
1st Monday Month—1:30 p.m.
Senor Citizen Center
patty78147@aol.com

DES MOINES

Citizens' Disability Council
Kathleen O'Leary
2805 30th Street, Apt 16
Des Moines, Iowa 50310
(515) 283-4284 (work)
Every other Month, 2nd Wednesday – 12:00 Noon
Central Iowa Center for Independent Living

IOWA CITY

Johnson County Coalition of Persons with Disabilities Loren Wakefield, Chair 1220 Village Rd. #14 Iowa City, Iowa 52240 (319) 338-9859 1st & 3rd Monday Month- 6:30 p.m.

SIOUX CITY

Siouxland Committee-Abilities First
Mark Lewis and Cecille Hudson, Co-Chairs
% Delores McCuddin
4000 Adams Street, Sioux City, Iowa 51108
3rd Tuesday Month—Noon
St. Luke's Hospital

FORT DODGE

Fort Dodge Coalition
For People with Disabilities
Gene Van Grevenhof & Irene Blair, Co-Chairs
115 South 21st Street
Fort Dodge, Iowa 50501
(515)955-8744
(515)955-2662 (fax)
3rd Tuesday Month—5:00 p.m.
eagle@dodgenet.com