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Crime Victim Assistance Board  

The Attorney General’s Crime Victim Assistance Board was established in Iowa Code section 915.82 in 

1989. The Attorney General appoints Board Members to three-year terms of service. The Attorney 

General appoints a member to serve as Board Chair at the beginning of each state fiscal year. The Board 

is a governing Board for the programs of the Crime Victim Assistance Division; it gives guidance to the 

Division Director and adopts Administrative Rules that govern the programs of the Division. The Board 

also conducts a hearing and renders a decision on any appeal of a Division decision. 

Administrative Rules require that the Board meet a minimum of once in each quarter in the state’s fiscal 

year. Iowa Code section 915.80 requires that Board members include two crime victim survivors, one 

victim service provider, a licensed social worker or psychologist, two law enforcement officers, a 

prosecutor, a defense attorney, a medical provider, and an older Iowan. The list of board members 

below includes the constituency they represent, their County of residence, and the year that their 

current term ends.  

Crime Victim Assistance Board Members SFY17 

Mark C. Smith, Board Chair, State Public Defender's Office, Des Moines (2018)  

Linda Railsback, Doctor, Des Moines (2019)   

Mary Roche, Iowa Department of Corrections, Waterloo (2019)  

Carlyle Dalen, Cerro Gordo County Attorney, Burlington (2018) 

John Johnson, Represents Older Iowans, Urbandale (2017) 

Paul Fitzgerald, Story County Sheriff, Nevada (2018) 

Claudia Thrane, Represents Crime Victims, Des Moines (2019)  

Mary Ingham, Crisis Intervention Service, Mason City (2019) 

Sandra McGee, LMSW, PhD, University of Iowa School of SW, Des Moines (2019)  

Tom Nichols, Represents Crime Victims, Evansdale (2017) 

 

Board member terms end in July of the noted.
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Crime Victim Assistance Division Program 
Summary 
Programs Within the Crime Victim Assistance Division (CVAD) 

The Crime Victim Assistance Division (CVAD) was created by the Iowa General Assembly and founded 
by Attorney General Tom Miller in July 1989. In 1989, the Division administered two programs with six 
staff. Today, CVAD administers eight programs with 24 staff. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Programs at a Glance 

Crime Victim Compensation Program (CVC) 

Compensation Paid for Crime Victims  $5,364,495.49 

Sexual Assault Exam Payments $2,115,164.68 

Crime Victim Applications Received  4,688 

Restitution & Subrogation Recovered $786,788 

 

Crime Victim 
Compensation 

Program

• Created in 1983 and 
moved to CVAD from 
the Department of 
Public Safety in 1989

Victims Services 
Support Program

• Created when four 
federal and state 
funding streams 
combined at CVAD in 
1989; program added 
two additional funding 
streams early 2000s

Sexual Abuse 
Examination 

Payment 
Program

• Created in 1979 and 
transferred to CVAD 
from the Deparment 
of Public Health in 
1990

Iowa Crisis 
Response Team

• Created in 1999

IowaVINE

• Created in 1999

Iowa Identity Theft 
Passport Program

• Created in 2009

Iowa Protective 
Order for Domestic 

Abuse (IPONDA)

• Created in 2010

Registrant Watch

• Created in 2011
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Victim Services Support Program (VSS) administers six fund streams for community based and 
system based victim services: 

• State Domestic Abuse (DA) funds 

• Federal Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) funds, Office for Victims of Crime, Office for Justice 
Programs, US Department of Justice 

• Federal Family Violence Prevention & Services Act (FVPSA) funds, US Department of Health 
and Human Services 

• State Sexual Abuse (SA) funds 

• Federal Violence Against Women (VAWA) funds, Office on Violence Against Women, US 
Department of Justice 

• Federal Sexual Abuse Services Program (SASP) funds, Office on Violence Against Women, US 
Department of Justice 
 

Victim Services Support Program 

State and Federal Award Amounts SFY17 

State Appropriation $6,466,708 

Federal Family Violence Prev. & Services (FV) Funds $1,214,692 

Federal Sexual Abuse Services Program (SF) Funds $366,154 

Federal STOP Violence Against Women (VW) Funds $1,604,197 

Federal Victims of Crime Act Ass. (VA) Funds $21,593,368 

Compensation Fund Reserve $2,178,329 

Total State and Federal Awards $34,423,448 
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IowaVINE (Victim Information and Notification Everyday) 

  SFY17 

New Registrations 78,808 

Total Searches 5,603,570  

 

Iowa Identity Theft Passport Program (IDPP) 

 SFY17 

Passport Applications 68 

Passports Issued 55 

Passport Applications Pending 7  

 

Iowa Protective Order for Domestic Abuse (IPONDA) 

 SFY17 

Total Registrations 781 

Telephone Notifications 354  

E-Mails Delivered 276   

Total Notifications 630 
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Registrant Watch 

Members of the public are offered a means to protect themselves from individuals who have 
committed an offense requiring enrollment to the Sex Offender Registry. Individuals can register to 
receive information via email, phone call and text about the change in location of a specific sex 
offender or notable changes in appearance of a specific offender. Watches can be set so an individual 
can be notified if a registered sex offender moves into a city, county, zip code within five miles of a 
specific address or “area”.  
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Crime Victim Compensation Program 
The Crime Victim Compensation Program (CVC) pays certain out-of-pocket expenses for victims 
physically or emotionally injured by crime. All funds for the program come from the Compensation 
Fund, which consists of fines and penalties paid by convicted criminals. The program does not 
compensate for damaged or stolen property. Eligible crime victims can be reimbursed for expenses 
they pay and payments can be made directly to a service provider on behalf of the crime victim for 
crime-related expenses.  

 
  

Program Activity SFY17 

Applications received  4,688 

Applications approved  4,113 

Applications denied  468 

Victims served by advocates 871 

Count of restitution payments made 4,717 

Count of subrogation payments received 35 

Amount of restitution  received $631,737 

Amount of subrogation received $155,051 

Compensation paid for Crime Victims $5,364,495.49 
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Benefits 

Crime Victim Compensation eligibility requirements and benefits are established in Iowa Code 
Chapter 915. Actual out-of-pocket expenses of the victim can be paid up to the following amounts:  

 $25,000  Medical expenses for the victim 

 $5,000 Mental Health care for a victim, by a qualified professional 

 $6,000 Lost wages for work missed due to injury from crime 

 $1,000 Lost wages for work missed due to criminal justice proceedings 

 $1,000 Lost wages while taking a minor or dependent crime victim to receive medical or 
mental health care 

 $4,000 Loss of support for the dependent of a deceased or disabled victim 

 $1,000 Clean-up expenses of a residential crime scene 

 $500 Security items replacement for victim residence or residential crime 

 $200 Replacement of clothing or bedding held as evidence by law enforcement 

 $1,000 Dependent care during court or medical and mental health appointments 

 $2,000 Mental Health care for a victim’s family member or household member 

 $5,000 Mental Health care for survivors of a homicide victim 

 $3,000 Medical expenses for certain survivors of a homicide victim 

 $1,000 Dependent Care while a victim's parent or caretaker transports the victim to medical 
care, mental health care and criminal proceedings 

 $7,500 Funeral and Burial expenses for a homicide victim 

 $1,000 Transportation to medical care, mental health care, and court proceedings, and to the 
funeral of a homicide victim 

 $2,000 Shelter Assistance 

 $1,000 Emergency Relocation expenses 
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Compensation Payments by Specific Service Type - SFY17 

Crime Type Amount Paid 

Arson $67,746.79 
Assault $1,282,914.20 

Attempted murder $156,755.04 
Burglary $51,780.64 

Child abuse $29,868.23 
Child Abuse Murder $8,442.47 

Child Endangerment $30,280.27 
Child Pornography $4,836.41 

Domestic Abuse $1,154,767.08 

Domestic abuse resulting in a murder $129,646.64 

Drunk Driving $230,331.41 
Harassment $83,005.06 

Hit & Run $62,022.64 
Hit & Run Homicide $25,522.75 

Homicide Witness $14,549.63 
Human Trafficking $1,492.96 

Juvenile sexual assault by a family member $93,427.01 

Juvenile sexual assault by a non-family member $143,430.12 

Kidnapping $9,720.24 

Murder $932,991.32 
Other $33,640.33 

Property Damage $56.68 
Reckless Driving $30,206.80 

Robbery $84,615.25 

Sexual assault $209,096.97 

Sexual Assault Forensic Exam $2,115,164.68 

Stalking $11,451.86 
Vehicle Accident $31,081.58 

Vehicle as a weapon $5,382.12 

Vehicular Homicide $420,691.33 

Violation of No Contact Order $18,465.61 

Vehicular Assault $6,276.05 

TOTAL $7,479,660.17 



 

Compensation Payments by Specific Service Type - SFY17 

  

PAYMENT TYPE AMOUNT 

Ambulance $83,838.64 
Clothing and Bedding Replacement $23,199.44 

Counseling for Primary Victims $285,443.00 

Counseling for Secondary Victims $54,650.98 
Dental $47,933.50 

Dependent Care $298.00 
Doctor $210,695.72 

Drugs $5,418.95 
Equipment $45,151.30 

Eyewear $4,002.68 

Funeral and Burial $832,228.60 
Home Care $0 

Homicide Survivor Counseling $35,228.94 
Hospital $1,036,740.98 

Insurance $0 

Lodging $13,254.40 
Loss of Support for Dependents $240,000.00 

Medical Care for Homicide Survivors $2,020.58 
Mileage $37,779.69 

Orthopedic $172.85 
Other Medical $43,232.30 

Physical Therapy $14,196.92 

Primary – Relocation $206,855.04 
Prosthetics $0 

Radiology/Lab $27,697.37 
Residential Crime Scene Clean-up $11,104.03 

Residential Security $37,286.30 

Sexual Assault Exam Payments $2,115,164.68 
Secondary Victims -  Relocation $13,793.99 

Homicide Survivors – Relocation $7,172.12 
Shelter Assistance $920,069.03 

Supplies $2,622.93 
Transportation $164,385.51 

Wages - Primary Victims $755,556.26 

Wages - Secondary Victims $202,465.44 

TOTAL $7,479,660.17 
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Applying for Crime Victim Compensation Benefits 

Mail applications to:   

Crime Victim Assistance Division 

321 East 12th Street 

Des Moines, Iowa 50319 

Fax applications to 515-281-8199  

Apply by telephone by calling 515-281-5044 from Des Moines or toll-free at 800-373-5044 

Apply online. 

More information about compensation is also available on our website.  

Payments	by	General	Service	Type

Clothing	and	Bedding Counseling
Dependent	Care Emergency	Relocation
Funeral	and	Burial Lodging
Loss	of	Suport	for	Dependents Medical	and	Dental
Mileage	and	Transportation Residential	Crime	Scene	Clean-Up
Residential	Security Sexual	Assault	Exams
Shelter	Assistance Wages



Crime Victim Assistance Division 
 

Annual Report SFY17 | 15 
 

 

 

Restitution 

Iowa Code provides that restitution shall be order for payments issued by the Crime Victim 
Compensation Program to the extent that the offender is reasonably able to pay. The program’s 
Restitution Coordinator will complete the following activities to collect restitution on behalf of the 
program: 

• Review all approved compensation applications to determine if an offender has been 

identified, and if so: 

o If the criminal case is still pending, the Restitution Coordinator will send a statement of 

pecuniary damages to the prosecuting attorney; or 

o If the defendant has already been convicted of the crime, but is awaiting sentencing the 

restitution coordinator will send a statement of pecuniary damages and submit it to the 

prosecuting attorney; or 

o If the defendant has been sentenced the Restitution Coordinator shall send a statement 

of pecuniary damages, motion to amend, and restitution order to the prosecuting 

attorney. 

• Monitor each offender’s restitution plan and payment history. 

• Initiate collection actions, including but not limited to formal payment agreements, income tax 

offsets, wage garnishments, and wage assignments if the offender does not comply with the 

established plan of payment. 
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Sexual Abuse Examination Payment Program 
The Iowa Sexual Abuse Examination Payment Program (SAE) was established in 1979 to pay the 
cost of a forensic examination of the victim for sexual abuse crimes that occur in Iowa. All funds for the 
program come from the Compensation Fund, which consists entirely of fines and penalties paid by 
convicted criminals. 

 Iowa Code section 915.41 states: 

The cost of a medical examination for the purpose of gathering evidence and the cost of 
treatment for the purpose of preventing venereal disease shall be paid from the fund 
established in section 915.94 [Victim Compensation Fund]. 

The purpose of a victim’s forensic medical examination after sexual abuse is to collect evidence and 
ensure the victim’s well-being. In Iowa, any person who states they were the victim of a sexual assault 
can receive the exam whether or not they choose to report the crime. Victims may seek forensic and 
medical treatment immediately and take additional time to consider whether or not to report to law 
enforcement and participate in the criminal justice system. Iowa’s policy allowing victims to have a 
forensic medical exam without a report ensures timely collection of critical evidence that prosecutors 
and law enforcement will need if the victim decides to make a criminal report later. 

The SAE Program pays the cost of the examination regardless of whether or not the victim reports the 
crime to law enforcement. A victim is never responsible for payment for a sexual abuse forensic 
examination or for medications required due to the assault. Medical providers and facilities submit 
the bill for the sexual abuse examination directly to the SAE Program. If the victim is billed by a 
medical provider for the examination, the SAE Program will reimburse that victim. The payment rates 
for a sexual abuse examination are established in Iowa Administrative Rules.  

The program will pay:  

§ Up to $300 for the examining room and facility.  
§ Up to $200 for the examiners fee (Sexual Abuse Nurse Examiner or Physician).  
§ All laboratory and medication costs related to the sexual abuse exam and for prevention of 

sexually transmitted diseases (STD) for the crime victim.  
§ Follow up appointments for the crime at the same rates as the initial examination. 

 

The SAE Program also purchases Rape Examination Kits for use in Iowa. The Iowa Crime Laboratory, 
Iowa Department of Health, and Iowa Coalition Against Sexual Assault design the kits. The kits are 
stored at and distributed by the Iowa Crime Laboratory. 
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Sexual Abuse Examination Payment Program SFY17 

Amount Paid for Examinations  
$2,115,164.68 

 

Number of Victims Examined 2,321 
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Victim Services Support Program 
The Victim Services Support Program (VSS) provides ongoing funds to programs providing services to 
victims of crime. VSS focuses on (1) effective stewardship of state and federal funds for victim 
services, law enforcement, prosecution and courts administration and (2) providing technical 
assistance to crime victim programs on program development, fiscal management and services. Due 
to the various types of funding streams, VSS is able to fund nonprofit and governmental agencies to 
provide a cadre of services to crime victims and the local community. Funds support programs focused 
on connecting victims of crime to advocacy services, improving investigations, increasing prosecution, 
and improving the medical and courts response to victims in Iowa. 

Fund Sources  

Below is a brief summary of the various funding streams administered by the VSS. 

Iowa Domestic Abuse (DA) and Iowa Sexual Abuse (SA) funds are appropriated by the Iowa 
Legislature through general funds. 100% of these funds are distributed to programs providing services 
to domestic abuse and sexual abuse/assault victims through comprehensive local and statewide 
service programs including victim-based shelters 

Iowa Compensation Reserve Fund funds are granted at the discretion of the Attorney General to 
supplement state appropriations and federal awards. In State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2017, these funds 
supported two (2) statewide trainings: victims advocate certification training and the statewide victim 
assistance academy.  

Federal Family Violence Prevention and Services Act (FV) funds are awarded to Iowa by the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Administration for Children and Families, Office 
of Community Services. The U.S. Congress appropriates the funds annually. Each state receives a 
formula grant based on the state’s population. CVAD is allowed to keep 5% of the funds for 
administration, with the remaining 95% distributed to domestic abuse programs and victim-based 
shelters. 70% of the funds must be allocated to family violence shelters.  The State of Iowa is required 
to match 25% of the FV award. 

Federal Sexual Abuse Services Program (SF) funds are awarded to Iowa by the U.S. Department of 
Justice, Office on Violence Against Women. The U.S. Congress appropriates the funds annually. Each 
state receives a base amount and additional funds based on a formula using the state’s population. 
CVAD is allowed to use up to 10% of the funds for administration. CVAD uses 5%. The remaining 95% 
is distributed to non-profit sexual abuse programs. There is no match requirement for SF funds. 

Federal STOP Violence Against Women Act (VW) funds are awarded to Iowa by the U.S. 
Department of Justice, Office on Violence Against Women. The U.S. Congress appropriates the funds 
annually. Each state receives a base amount of $600,000 and additional funds based on a formula 
using the state’s population. CVAD is allowed to use up to 10% for administration. CVAD uses 5%. The 
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remaining 95% is distributed to programs. Of the money directly granted to programs in Iowa, STOP 
requires the following allocation: 5% to the courts, 25% to law enforcement, 25% to prosecution, 30% 
to victim services and the remaining 15% can be used at the state administrating agency’s discretion 
within the focus and purpose of the funds. The State of Iowa is required to match 33% of the VW 
award. 

Federal Victims of Crime Act Assistance (VA) funds are awarded to Iowa by the U.S. Department of 
Justice, Office for Victims of Crime. The funds come from the federal Crime Victims Fund, which 
consists entirely of fines and penalties paid by convicted federal criminals and collected by U.S. 
Attorney’s Offices. Each state receives a base amount of $500,000, and additional funds based on a 
formula using the state’s population. CVAD is allowed to keep 5% of the funds for administration, with 
the remaining 95% distributed to programs that provide direct services to crime victims.  The State of 
Iowa is required to match 25% of the VA award. 
 

Service Model Summary 

In State Fiscal Year 2013, the VSS Program along with collaborative partners such as the Iowa 
Coalition Against Domestic Violence, Iowa Coalition Against Sexual Assault and other experts in the 
victim service field created a Strategic Funding and Services plan for victim services. The goal of the 
plan was to change how to distribute available funding in a manner that most effectively provides 
quality services to all crime victims across the state.  

The State of Iowa now uses the housing first model, which is focused on accessing and stabilizing safe 
housing as a first priority. After safe housing is established the victim/survivor is surrounded with 
support services, advocacy and other assistance identified by the victim and advocate for the victim to 
remain safe and violence-free. These services may include other items such as assistance with a 
protective order, financial housing assistance, transportation, car repairs, training or other items that 
enhance stabilization, safety and self-sufficiency. The service model incorporates different forms of 
housing such as a 24/7 emergency shelter, safe homes, hotel/motel, financial housing assistance, 
transitional housing and diverting victims from shelter and keeping them victim in their homes.  

The service model implemented a regionalization of services that divided Iowa’s services for domestic 
abuse and sexual abuse victims into six regions as shown in the map on the next page. The VSS 
Program determined available funds could support one or two programs in each region specific to 
each of the following types of services:  domestic abuse comprehensive (DAC), sexual abuse 
comprehensive program (SAC), and victim-based shelter programs (SH). This focus increases the 
number of sexual assault advocates and more equitably distributes the resources for victims of both 
sexual assault and domestic violence. 
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The plan incorporates mobile advocacy in Iowa’s rural areas of the state in order to meet victims in 
their communities rather than expecting victims to travel to another area of the state for services. It is 
critical for all cities and towns in Iowa have advocacy and outreach coverage. This plan means services 
are truly statewide. 

During this timeframe, the VSS Program restructured survivors of homicide programming and other 
violent crime services as well. The majority of Iowa’s homicide investigations are conducted by the 
Department of Criminal Investigations (DCI) through the Iowa Department of Public Safety. In order 
to create the most successful programming, funding for survivors of homicide programs was 
distributed based on the DCI Zones.  
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Performance Statistics and Information  

SFY17 was the fourth year of implementing the service model. The pie chart below breaks down the 
number of victims served by VSS-funded programs into three categories: domestic abuse (DA), sexual 
abuse/assault (SA) and other violent crime victims.  

In SFY17, victim service programs in Iowa served 64,547 victims. 

 

The statistics provided above includes all type of victim services agencies funded by the VSS Program 
including Victim Witness Coordinators through local prosecutor offices and survivors of homicide 
programs.  

The Table 1 on the next page provides a breakdown of the victims served by type of victimization in 
SFY17. In comparing SFY16 to SFY17 there was an overall increase of approximately 38% in the 
number of crime victims served (46,643: 64,547) and from SFY14 to SFY17 there was an increase of 
103% (31,687: 64,547). One of the most important statistics compares the overall victims served from 
before the restructure (SFY13) to how services are now structured and delivered (SFY17). There was an 
approximate increase of 130% in the number of victims served when comparing the old model of 
services (SFY13) to the fourth year of the new model of services or SFY17 (28,o53: 64,547), which is 
outstanding.  

  

Domestic	
Abuse:,		
35,228

Other	
Violent	
Crimes:	
15,025	

Sexual	
Assault:	
14,294	
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Domestic Assault and Sexual Assault Victims Served in Iowa 

State Fiscal Year Domestic Violence Victims 
Served 

Sexual Assault Victims Served 

FY2013  
(pre-restructure) 

20,616 4,431 

FY2014 23,067 
+12% from prior year 

5,158 
+16% from prior year 

FY2015 23,111 
+.19% from prior year  

+12% since restructure 

7,234 
+40% from prior year  

+63% since restructure 

SY2016 29,805 
+29% from prior year  

+45% since restructure 

10,011 
+38% from prior year  

+126% since restructure 

SY2017 35,228 
+18% from prior year 

+71% since restructure 

14,294 
+43% from prior year 

+223% since restructure 
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Table 1:  Total Crime Victims Served in SFY17 

Crime Type 

Domestic Abuse Female 28,907  

DA Male 1,882 

DA Children 4,056  

Teen Dating Violence 383 

Total Domestic Abuse Victims 35,228 

Female Adult Sexual Abuse/Assault 5,985 

Male Adult Sexual Abuse/Assault 544 

Sexual Abuse Adolescent 2,684 

Child Sexual Abuse 3,578  

Female Survivor of Incest 850 

Male Survivor of Incest 178  

Total Sexual Abuse/Assault Victims 14,294 

Child Physical Abuse 1,371 

Drunk/Intoxicated  Driving  752 

Homicide Victims 1,596 

Elder Abuse 318 

Identity Theft 885 

Robbery 651 

Stalking 1,448 

Assault 2,145 

Human Trafficking – Labor  33 

Human Trafficking – Sex  475 

Bullying 1,332 

Hate Crime 687 

Other Violent Crimes 3,332 

Total Other Violent Crime Victims 15,025 

 
 

Total Crime Victims Served 64,547 
 
Shelter Services and Crisis Calls 
In the new service model, programs sheltered victims in various ways: keeping victims in their homes 
(diversion), traditional shelter building, safe homes and hotel/motels. Assessments are an important 
tool advocates use to assist victims in becoming and remaining violence-free and self-sufficient. In this 
service model advocates are conducting both housing stability and lethality assessments when 
assisting victims.  

Victim service advocates conducted 7,786 housing assessment in SFY17 which is a .23% increase 
from SFY16 (7,804:7,786) and increased by 116.15% from SFY14 to SFy17 (3,602: 7,786). When 
conducting these assessments, advocates are able to assist crime victims through advocacy, problem-
solving and financial assistance that are effective ways to maintain safety and self-sufficiency. 
Advocates were able to divert 11,827 victims (women, men and children) from shelter in SFY17 and 
10,448 in SFY16 through providing rent and utility assistance, other forms of financial assistance with 
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the remaining assisted through problem solving and advocacy. The following table provides a 3-year 
breakdown of the shelter diversion information. 

 

Shelter Diversion  SFY15 SFY16 SFY17 

Rent/Utility Assistance 741 1,213 1,898 

Financial Assistance 1,198 1,387 1,778 

Problem Solving/Advocacy 5,204 7,848 8,151 

 

The table below provides a breakdown of the number of victims sheltered by type of victimization and 
number of nights of safety/shelter provided comparing SFY15, SFY16 and SFY17. The table illustrates 
there has been a 72% increase in the number of victims receiving traditional shelter from SFY15 to 
SFY17 (2,642: 4,538) and a 53% increase from SFY16 to SFY17 (2,975: 4,538). There has also been a 
large increase in the number of victims receiving non-traditional shelter through safe homes and 
hotels/motels. More specifically, there’s been a 100% increase in sheltering victims in hotels and 
motels from SFY15 to SFY16 (862: 1,728); however there was a 38% decrease from SFY16 to SFY17 
(1,728: 1,056). Programs provided fewer nights of shelter in SFY 17 in all three categories: traditional 
shelter, safe homes and hotels/motels.  

Total Crime Victims Sheltered (SFY15-SFY17) 

 

SFY15 SFY16 SFY17 SFY15 SFY16 SFY17 SFY15 SFY16 SFY17 

Traditional 
Shelter 

Traditional 
Shelter 

Traditional 
Shelter 

Safe 
Homes 

Safe 
Homes 

Safe 
Homes 

Hotels 
or 

Motels 

Hotels 
or 

Motels 

Hotels 
or 

Motels 
Domestic Abuse Female 1,391 1,479 2,190 107 80 93 437 1050 511 
Domestic Abuse Male 4 11 78 1 1 3 16 23 20 
Domestic Abuse Children 1,082 1,329 1,933 74 65 79 336 417 407 
Sexual Assault Victims 135 132 226 59 4 9 73 63 70 
Other Violent Crime 
Victims 

30 24 111 0 0 0 0 175 48 

Total Victims Sheltered 2,642 2,975 4,538 241 150 184 862 1728 1056 

 
  

 
    

 
    

 
  

Total Shelter Nights 101,976 142,412 117,689 6,838 7,663 4,502 3,073 15,198 2,505 

Advocates assist victims in many different ways including safety planning, individual counseling, 
group counseling, civil and criminal advocacy, personal advocacy, housing/economic advocacy, etc. 
These services are conducted in-person and through the crisis calls. In SFY17, advocates assisted 
victims through 80,202 crisis calls, an increase of nearly 10% from the 72,441 crisis calls answered in 
SFY16. 
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Community Support and Awareness 

Programs rely on community volunteers to help support victims by providing direct services and 
advocacy throughout Iowa. Some of these direct service activities include providing support groups to 
adults, teens and children, responding to emergencies at hospitals and law enforcement agencies, 
providing court accompaniment and transporting victims to shelter and appointments. In addition, 
many community volunteers also donate their time indirectly to support victims and the programs 
providing those services. Examples of indirect volunteering vary but could include to upkeep of the 
exterior of a shelter, conducting presentations, assisting a victim in moving, organizing donations, 
conducting fundraising and awareness activities.  

In SFY17, 8,346 Iowans volunteered slightly more than 225,543 hours to victim services programs in 
Iowa. This is equivalent to approximately 108 full-time staff donating their time. Volunteers gave 
103,294 hours providing direct services to crime victims and 122,249 providing indirect services.  

The number of volunteers increased by 57% from SFY16 to SFY17 (5,306: 8,346). When comparing pre-
restructure in SFY13 to post-restructure in SFY17, there was an increase of 4,796 volunteers or 135% 
(3,550:8,346) and an increase of 74,129, or 49% (151,414:225,543) in volunteer hours. 

VSS funded programs increased outreach to the community through the media and through 
presentations. VSS funded programs had 12,983 media contacts with newspapers, television and 
radio through articles, interviews and advertisements. This is a substantial increase from 7,179 media 
contacts in SFY16. The Internet is an important resource for VSS-funded programs to disseminate 
information or to conduct community outreach. Programs reported 848,671 hits on their websites or 
other uses of the Internet, such as Facebook or Twitter. This is a significant increase from prior years: 
SFY16 - 46,014 and SFY15 – 27,858. 

Presentations are an important way to reach victims and to educate other professionals who can refer 
victims for services. In SFY17, VSS programs reported they conducted 5,968 different presentations 
reaching 221,971 people about their services for victims. This is an increase of 1,192 presentations, 
which reached nearly 30,000 more people from the prior year. (SFY16 4,776 presentations; 192,130 
attending). 

Professional Training and Collaborations 

Training and collaborating with other professionals is one way VSS-funded programs improve the 
response to crime victims. By improving collaborative relationships with other criminal justice and 
local community agencies, victims’ rights are ensured and professionals have a clearer understanding 
of each agency’s role.  

In SFY17, VSS-funded programs conducted 2,311 training sessions to 47,726 professionals. Since 
SFY14, VSS-funded programs have conducted 6,631 training sessions to 132,491 professionals.  
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Collaboration: Coordination with other agencies is extremely important to ensure victims are 
receiving the most efficient, effective services possible. The following chart provides a synopsis of 
collaboration from the past three state fiscal years.  

 

State Fiscal Year  Collaborative Agencies  Collaborative Meetings 

2015 9,816 25,432 

2016 12,168 29,526 

2017 15,954 35,519 

 

Agencies reported on the meetings and referrals with the following types of agencies: courts, 
correction officials, DAC programs, governmental entities, healthcare providers, law enforcement, 
prosecution/victim witness coordinators, educational entities, SAC programs, shelter programs, 
therapist/counselors. 

Referrals: In SFY17 victim service programs received 39,635 referrals, an increase of 11,563 referrals 
(41%) from SFY16 and an increase of 25,232 referrals (172%) from SFY14 to SFY17. The majority of 
referrals are from courts, DAC programs, law enforcement, prosecution/victim witness coordinators 
and governmental agencies. 
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Funding Application and Review Process 

In 2016, the VSS Program released a three-year funding application for victim service applicants and 
criminal justice programs. State fiscal year 2017, (July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017) was the first year of the 
three year cycle, SFY2017-2019. The application/funding process is approved by the Crime Victim 
Assistance (CVA) Board. The application process began with the release of instructions and a technical 
assistance workshop outlining how to apply for the funding. Application writing workshops were 
conducted either in-person or through webinars. The workshop clarifies funding application 
requirements and the award process. The application process is outlined below 
 

Due Date Description 
November 2015 Funding Application Workshops:  
December 2015 Letters of Intent Due:  

January 2016 Applications  

March 2016 Application Review  
April 2016 Crime Victim Assistance Board approved recommended awards 

April 21, 2016 Denial and award letters mailed to funding applicants. 
May 2016 Appeals or Requests for Reconsideration  
June 2016 Crime Victim Assistance Board reviewed appeals for funding  
June 2016 Contracts are issued to all funded applicants 

 

Programs and agencies submitted a letter of intent to apply. Funding applications, or Requests for 
Proposals (RFP) were generally due approximately 9 weeks after the application instructions are 
released. In State Fiscal Year 2017, applicants were required to submit an application in the GEM 
System (IowaGrants.gov).  

A volunteer Application Review Committee (ARC) reviewed and recommended awards. Members of 
the ARC have expertise in victim service delivery or related professions, grant management, and/or 
public policy. Each application was evaluated for purpose, compliance, completeness, clarity, quality 
of services, number of victims served, community support, feasibility, programmatic efficiency, 
financial management, geographical area, agency capacity and size of the population served.  

The CVAD Director reviewed funding recommendations brought forth by the VSS staff and the ARC. 
The Director presented the recommendations and any alternate recommendations to the Crime 
Victim Assistance (CVA) Board. The amounts awarded to victim service programs were based on a 
formula approved by the CVA Board. The award amounts for law enforcement, prosecution or other 
non-victim service based agencies were determined through a competitive process and non-formula. 
Subsequent funding in the second and third years of the funding cycle will be based on the first-year 
award and the amount of funds available.  
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Applicants had the opportunity to appeal denials or award amounts within 10 working days after the 
notice of award was mailed. The Crime Victim Assistance Board reviewed each appeal and rendered 
the final funding/award decision.  

The VSS staff monitors the services, management, and fiscal operations of funded programs for 
compliance with state and federal regulations as well as for quality services. Monitoring and oversight 
is conducted through on-site monitoring, desk monitoring and technical assistance meetings, 
conference calls and webinars. 

Bonuses 

It is the policy of the Victim Services Support Program that neither federal nor state funds will be used 
to reimburse bonuses to any VSS-funded program. This includes non-profit and nongovernmental 
agencies, or programs.  

Out-of-State Conferences/Training  

The table on the next page provides a breakdown of out-of-state travel for VSS Program staff in 
SFY17. The Victim Services Support Program sent 8 staff to 6 different mandatory federal 
conferences/meetings required by the funding federal agency. Travel for these events was paid 
through federal administrative funds. The VSS Program sent staff to other conferences and meetings 
to assist them in improving services to crime victims.  
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VSS Staff Out-of-State Travel 
Federal 
Funds 

State  
Funds 

Number 
of Staff 

National Crime Victim Center National Training 
Institute, Philadelphia, PA 

$1,631.98  $0 1 

VINE Users Conference, Louisville, KY $80.00 $0 1 

Peer to Peer Regional Meeting, Philadelphia, PA $665.10 $0 1 

NCADV National Conference Voices United, Phoenix, 
AZ 

$1,329.86  $0 1 

Intimate Partner Sexual Violence: Serving at the 
Intersection Roundtable Agenda, Dallas, TX 

$53.59 $0 1 

VAWA Peer to Peer Meeting, Austin, TX 
$803.84 $0 1 

VAWA Annual grant meeting, Tucson, AZ $929.04 $0 1 

End Violence Against Women International 
Conference, Orlando, FL 

$1,608.26 $0 1 

2017 Crimes Against Women Conference $2,919.69 $0 2 

SAKI National Meeting, Topeka, KS $2,520.23 $0 2 

Family Violence Prevention grant meeting, Salt Lake 
City, UT 

$2,165.94 $0 2 

 

Total $15,868.03 
 

$0 
 

14 

 



 

Overtime 

Iowa’s victim service advocates respond 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to victims at hospitals, law enforcement or other safe locations. VSS 
funds support eight emergency shelters in Iowa’s six regions. The victim service programs that paid overtime did so to cover shelter, hotline 
and emergency response services due to staff training, vacancies, sick leave, vacation and staffing shortages. Law enforcement used 
overtime to conduct follow-up investigations, victim safety checks, attend training and conduct arrests on violence against women cases. It is 
generally not cost effective for Iowa’s rural law enforcement agencies to fund a full-time law enforcement officer/investigator with Iowa’s 
STOP Violence Against Women (VW) funds. A requirement of the VW is to fund law enforcement agencies to improve the response to 
domestic abuse, dating violence, sexual assault and stalking victims. See Appendix A for a map of the shelters funded through the VSS 
Program. 

The total amount of claims paid in SF17 is $29,356,983.53. Of this amount the VSS Program paid $113,879.54 in overtime, (0.04% ). 

 
Main City Region Type of Program Contractor Name/Program Name 

Overtime 
Hours 

Overtime Cost 

Sioux City  1 DAC Council on Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence  13.75 $397.46  

Sioux City  1 SH Council on Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence  261.12 $7,030.39  

Ames  2 NI Youth & Shelter Services  5.5 $129.36  

Waukon 3 VWC Allamakee County Attorney's Office  22.75 $387.89  

Waverly 3 SH Cedar Valley Friends of the Family 269 $5,673.45  

Fort Dodge 3 HP Domestic Sexual Assault Outreach Center  6.5 $132.00  

Fort Dodge 3 SH Domestic Sexual Assault Outreach Center  14 $628.29  

Mason City  3 NI Elderbridge Agency on Aging  4.5 $111.96  

Dubuque 3 SAC Riverview Center  24.25 $617.30  

Des Moines 5 DAC Children & Families of IA, Family Violence Center 142 $3,053.53  

Des Moines 5 SH Children & Families of IA, Family Violence Center 854 $19,558.88  

Oskaloosa 5 SH Crisis Intervention Services 102 $2,234.41  

Des Moines  5 NI Disability Rights Iowa  6.93 $249.90  

Des Moines  5 NI Iowa Legal Aid  6.05 $36.84  

Iowa City 6 SH Domestic Violence Intervention Program 288 $6,361.11  

Iowa City 6 DAC Domestic Violence Intervention Program  42 $1,113.17  

Iowa City 6 SH Domestic Violence Intervention Program  288 $6,361.11  

Iowa City 6 NI Domestic Violence Intervention Program  5.5 $124.79  
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Iowa City 6 DAC Domestic Violence Intervention Program  42 $1,113.17  

Davenport 6 HT Family Resources Human Trafficking Prevention 0.79 $15.91  

Davenport  6 HP Family Resources SOHP 2.79 $67.46  

Davenport 6 DAC Family Resources, Inc., SafePaths 8.71 $189.28  

Davenport 6 SAC Family Resources, Inc., SafePaths 7.85 $177.06  

Davenport 6 SH Family Resources, Inc., SafePaths 81.42 $1,627.35  

Ottumwa 6 NI Milestones Area Agency on Aging  5.72 $149.38  

Davenport 6 NI Rick's House of Hope/Vera French  5.13 $147.84  

Moline, IL  6 NI SAL Family and Community Services  0.25 $4.88  

Sioux Center SW SW HL Family Crisis Centers, Statewide DA Hotline 362.25 $8,609.29  

      Victim Service Total 2872.8 $66,303.46  

 

 

    
Main City Region 

Type of 
Program 

Contractor Name/Program Name 
Total 
Overtime 
Hours 

Total Amount of 
Overtime Paid 

Mason City 2 LE Cerro Gordo County Sheriff's Office 24 $1,108.58  

Ames 2 LE Iowa State Police Department  41.5 $2,433.59  

Mason City 2 LE Mason City Police Department 543.75 $21,974.08  

Dubuque 3 LE  Dubuque County Sheriff/Police 199 $4,013.00  

Des Moines  5 LE Des Moines Police Department  417 $15,443.02  

Muscatine 6 LE Muscatine County Sheriff's Office 70 $2,155.77  

Johnston SW LE Iowa Law Enforcement Agency  10.5 $428.24  

      Law Enforcement (LE) Total 1305.75 $47,556.28  

      Overall Total 4,178.55 $113,859.74 



 

Breakdown of Expense Categories  

The following pages include tables of reimbursement by expense categories. The different tables are listed below.  

Overall Federal and State Funds 
• Region #1:  Northwest Iowa  

• Region #2:  North Central Iowa 

• Region #3: Northeast Iowa 

• Region #4:  Southwest Iowa 

• Region #5:  South Central Iowa  

• Region #6:  Southeast Iowa 

• Culturally-Specific Programs 

• Statewide Programs 

• Survivors of Homicide and Other Violent Crime Programs 
 
Each of the tables for reimbursement by expense categories has a breakdown of out-of-state travel, in-state conferences and in-state travel to 
provide services. Approximately 78% of the federal and state funds were for payroll and benefits for staff to provide services to crime 
victims. Each of the tables for reimbursement by expense categories has a breakdown of out-of-state travel, in-state conferences and in-state 
travel to provide services. One important change to note was effective SFY17, federal financial guidelines changed requiring states to allow 
programs to budget for indirect costs. The indirect cost rate negotiated between the agency and the federal government, or up to a 10% indirect 
cost rate with the state was required to be offered.  
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Overall Federal and State Funding Expenditures 
Expense 
Categories Total 

Advertising: $220,858.84  
Benefits: $4,119,868.45 
Communications: $318,558.18 
Contractual Services: $1,667,990.07 
Equipment: $331,354.71 
Insurance: $252,418.99 
Other Direct/Client Assistance: $824,966.83 
Payroll: $18,818,654.80 
Rent: $667,728.53 
Repairs & Maintenance: $192,859.15 
Supplies: $606,985.81 
In-State Travel for Training: $201,534.30 
In-State Travel for Services: $634,904.92 
Out-of-State Travel: $211,981.08 
Utilities: $169,057.26 
Indirect Costs $364,984.01 

Total: $29,356,983.53 
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Region #1 — Northwest Iowa 
Expense Categories Total 

Advertising:  $33,461.00  
Benefits:  $481,342.24 

Communications:  $37,769.16 
Contractual Services:  $87,272.89 

Equipment:  $143,277.33 
Insurance:  $24,135.00 

Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $120,322.07 
Payroll:  $2,353,260.99 

Rent:  $19,364.92 
Repairs & Maintenance:  $13,983.80 

Supplies:  $98,405.16 
In-State Travel for Training:  $32,123.53 
In-State Travel for Services:  $73,904.49 

Out-of-State Travel:  $10,776.13 
Utilities:  $15,525.70 

Total:  $3,561,043.08 
 

Agencies funded in Region #1: 

Centers Against Abuse and Sexual Assault, Clay County Attorney’s Office, Council on Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence (DAC and Shelter), Dickinson County Attorney, 
Family Crisis Centers (Helpline, New Initiative and DAC), Emmet County Attorney’s Office, Iowa Lakes Community College, Jackson Recovery Centers, Inc. Lyon County 
Attorney’s Office, Mercy Child Advocacy Center, Northwest Iowa Mental Health Center, Plymouth County Attorney’s Office, Sac County Attorney’s Office and Sioux County 
Attorney’s Office.  
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. 

Region #2 — North Central Iowa 
Expense Categories Total 

Advertising:  $3,757.60 
Benefits:  $479,659.58 

Communications:  $30,682.53 
Contractual Services:  $51,741.73 

Equipment:  $21,467.25 
Insurance:  $48,792.71 

Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $98,928.50 
Payroll:  $2,376,205.85 

Rent:  $45,633.85 
Repairs & Maintenance:  $24,507.32 

Supplies:  $71,481.08 
In-State Travel for Training:  $19,162.65 
In-State Travel for Services:  $77,855.35 

Out-of-State Travel:  $19,708.11 
Utilities:  $30,788.28 

Total:  $ 3,401,344.91 
 
Agencies funded in Region #2: 

 

Assault Care Center Extending Shelter & Support (DAC and SAC), Camp Fire Hear of Iowa, Cerro Gordo County Attorney’s Office, Cerro Gordo County Sheriff’s Office, Crisis 
Intervention Service (DAC, SAC, New Initiative and Human Trafficking), Domestic/Sexual Assault Outreach Center, Elderbridge Agency on Aging, Hancock County Attorney’s 
Office, Iowa State Police, Kossuth County Attorney’s Office, (Prosecutor and Victim Witness Coordinator), Marshall County Attorney’s Office (Prosecutor and Victim Witness 
Coordinator), Marshalltown Police Department, Mason City Police Department, Northern Lights Alliance for the Homeless, Story County Attorney’s Office, Webster County 
Attorney’s Office, Winnebago County Attorney’s Office, Youth and Shelter Services, Inc. (Youth Center and Human Trafficking) 
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Region #3 — Northeast Iowa 
Expense Categories Total 

Advertising:  $56,787.88 
Benefits:  $398,214.64 

Communications:  $48,290.28 
Contractual Services:  $67,157.62 

Equipment:  $53,908.14 
Insurance:  $22,659.50 

Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $144,393.33 
Payroll:  $2,096,140.74  

Rent:  $102,383.91 
Repairs & Maintenance:  $11,512.01 

Supplies:  $61,282.78 
In-State Travel for Training:  $22,483.00 
In-State Travel for Services:  $89,845.32 

Out-of-State Travel:  $14,910.14 
Utilities:  $19,156.18 

Total:  $3,209,678.77 
Agencies funded in Region #3 

 

Allamakee County Attorney's Office, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Northeast Iowa, Black Hawk County Attorney's Office, Black Hawk County Attorney's Office, Bremer County 
Attorney's Office, Catherine McAuley Center, Cedar Valley Friends of the Family (Shelter and Human Trafficking), Domestic Abuse Resource Center, Helping Services for 
Northeast Iowa, Dubuque County Attorney's Office, Dubuque County Attorney's Office, Dubuque County Law Enforcement, Fayette County Attorney's Office ,Heritage Area 
Agency on Aging, Horse and Soul Ranch, Jesse Cosby Neighborhood Center, Julie Jack, Northeast Iowa Area Agency on Aging, Riverview Center Inc., St. Luke's Methodist 
Hospital, Waterloo Police Department, Waypoint Services for Women, Children and Families, Willis Dady Emergency Shelter, Winneshiek County Attorney's Office 
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Region #4 — Southwest Iowa 
Expense Categories Total 

Advertising:  $3,908.76 
Benefits:  $312,455.85 

Communications:  $40,895.85 
Contractual Services:  $52,100.60 

Equipment:  $8,500.62 
Insurance:  $24,744.00  

Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $62,353.57 
Payroll:  $1,464,796.75 

Rent:  $55,594.00 
Repairs & Maintenance:  $98,672.65 

Supplies:  $22,636.49 
In-State Travel for Training:  $4,807.95 
In-State Travel for Services:  $62,890.59 

Out-of-State Travel:  $4,690.82 
Utilities:  $12,444.70 

Total:  $2,231,493.20 
Agencies funded in Region #4: 
 

Catholic Charities (SAC, DAC and Shelter), Crisis Intervention & Advocacy Center (DAC and SAC), Heartland Family Service, Madison County Attorney's Office,  
Southwest Iowa Families Inc.



 

Crime Victim Assistance Division 
 

Annual Report SFY17 | 38 
 

 

Region #5 — South Central Iowa 
Expense Categories Total 

Advertising:  $22,896.51 
Benefits:  $674,427.00 

Communications:  $38,761.25 
Contractual Services:  $279,911.17 

Equipment:  $45,137.68 
Insurance:  $55,481.77 

Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $86,776.15 
Payroll:  $3,186,807.28 

Rent:  $53,972.90 
Repairs & Maintenance:  $11,529.00 

Supplies:  $80,878.57 
In-State Travel for Training:  $14,633.07 
In-State Travel for Services:  $60,357.21 

Out-of-State Travel:  $43,063.41 
Utilities:  $24,910.98 

Total:  $4,707.523.44 
 
Agencies funded in Region #5 
 
Candeo, Children & Families of Iowa (Shelter and DAC), Crisis Center & Women's Shelter, Crisis Intervention Services (Shelter and SAC), Davis County Attorney's Office, Des 
Moines Police Department, Disability Rights Iowa, Ethnic Minorities of Burma Advocacy and Resource Center (EMBARC), Iowa Arts in Education, Iowa Justice for Our 
Neighbors, Iowa Legal Aid, Iowa Safe Schools, Polk County Attorney's Office, (SAC and Homicide), Project IOWA, Regional Child Protection Center, U.S. Committee for 
Refugees and Immigrants, Wapello County Attorney's Office, Wapello County Attorney's Office, Warren County (Victim Witness Coordinator, Prosecutor and DART), Young 
Women's Resource Center, Youth Emergency Services & Shelter, One Iowa Education Fund   
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Region #6 — Southeast Iowa 
Expense Categories Total 

Advertising:  $66,010.06 
Benefits:  $659,007.56 

Communications:  $32,129.63 
Contractual Services:  $63,455.53 

Equipment:  $10,587.82 
Insurance:  $22,713.15 

Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $155,161.83 
Payroll:  $2,590,253.38 

Rent:  $112,843.04 
Repairs & Maintenance:  $20,461.13 

Supplies:  $85,607.41 
In-State Travel for Training:  $33,356.47 
In-State Travel for Services:  $108,155.23 

Out-of-State Travel:  $42,299.88 
Utilities:  $25,803.66 

Total:  $4,064,021.48 
 
Agencies funded in Region #6 
 
Des Moines County Attorney's Office, Domestic Violence Intervention. Program (DAC, New Initiative, Shelter), Family Resources (New Initiatives(2), Human Trafficking, DAC, 
SAC, Shelter), Henry County Attorney's Office, Henry County Attorney's Office, Iowa City Police Department, Johnson County Attorney's Office, Milestones Area Agency on 
Aging, Muscatine County Sheriff's Office, Muscatine Police Department, Neighborhood Centers of Johnson County, University of Iowa (SAC, SART, Human Trafficking, New 
Initiative) , SAL Family and Community Services, Scott County Sheriff's Office, The Crisis Center of Johnson County, The Project of the Quad Cities, United Action for Youth 
United Action for Youth (New Initiatives (2)), Van Buren County Attorney's Office, Vera French Foundation  
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Culturally-Specific Programs 
Expense Categories State Total 

Advertising:  $12,875.75 
Benefits:  $372,204.13 

Communications:  $48,821.59 
Contractual Services:  $178,531.39 

Equipment:  $6,677.69 
Insurance:  $28,507.62 

Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $69,593.70 
Payroll:  $1,531,341.83 

Rent:  $130,847.65 
Repairs & Maintenance:  $1,825.79 

Supplies:  $74,299.42 
In-State Travel for Training:  $15,668.34 
In-State Travel for Services:  $50,098.91 

Out-of-State Travel:  $23,528.60 
Utilities:  $17,698.06 

Total:  $2,565,293.72 
Culturally Specific Agencies: 
 
Amani (DAC and SAC). Monsoon (Chatline, DAC, SAC), Deaf Iowans Against Abuse (DAC and SAC), Latinas Unidas por Nuevo Amanecer (LUNA) (DAC and SAC), 
Meskwaki Family Services (DAC and SAC), NISSA African Refugee Project (DAC and SAC), Transformative Healing (SAC) 
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Statewide Programs 
Expense Categories Total 

Advertising:  $900.00 
Benefits:  $408,637.14 

Communications:  $18,136.11 
Contractual Services:  $189,008.41 

Equipment:  $7,971.21 
Insurance:  $7,132.32 

Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $207.61 
Payroll:  $1,597,034.48 

Rent:  $80,898.45 
Repairs & Maintenance:  $4,309.09 

Supplies:  $42,603.67 
In-State Travel for Training:  $13,105.35 
In-State Travel for Services:  $37,933.50 

Out-of-State Travel:  $21,113.76 
Utilities:  $10,255.30 

Total:  $2,448,619.34 
 
Statewide Programs:   
 
Arch Chat Line, Monsoon, United Asian Women of Iowa, Iowa Coalition Against Domestic Violence, Iowa Coalition Against Sexual Assault, Iowa Dept. of Public Health 
Iowa Law Enforcement Academy, Monsoon - Third Coalition, Sexual Abuse Hotline, Rape Victim Advocacy Program, University of Iowa, State Court Administrator's Office  
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Survivors of Homicide and Other Violent Crime Victim Programs 
Expense Categories Zone #1 Zone #2 Zone #3 Zone #4 

Advertising:  $5,429.34  $             $13,545.57  $                      -    
Benefits:  $83,680.43  $35,647.11  $44,694.91  $83,742.72 

Communications:  $ 3,021.40  $3,223.69  $9,363.93  $6,472.78 
Contractual Services:  $595.00   $9,873.90  $18,602.81  $13,098.80 

Equipment:  $6,236.15  $10,933.00  $5,280.05  $3,023.90 
Insurance:  $800.72  $      $13,545.57  $756.00  

Other Direct/Client Assistance:  $41,725.29  $8,744.60   $19,881.49  $14,985.46 
Payroll:  $377,567.68  $276,746.34  $281,138.44  $332,712.05 

Rent:  $9,311.65  $31,267.67   $22,880.00  $14,179.70 
Repairs & Maintenance:  $      $         $2,625.57  $655.79   

Supplies:  $6,930.89  $30,279.35  $11,454.66  $10,122.15 
In-State Travel for Training:  $3,808.59  $7,309.96  $11,102.66   $6,932.17 
In-State Travel for Services:  $7,746.30  $12,813.29  $15,769.28  $18,989.13 

Out-of-State Travel:  $3,479.34  $15,937.12  $10,225.61  $3,302.09 
Utilities:  $1,056.67  $4,003.00  $4,111.58  $4,605.85 

Total:  $551,389.45  $446,779.03  $486,226.00  $ 513,579.30 

 

Agencies funded:   
 

Assault Care Center Extending Shelter & Support, Crisis Intervention & Advocacy Center, Crisis Intervention Services, Mothers Against Violence, Polk County Crisis & Advocacy 
Services, Wish Unit, Family Crisis Centers, Domestic/Sexual Assault Outreach Center, Crisis Intervention Service, Family Resources, Survivors of Homicide Program- Horizons 

 
  



 

Appendix A:  Regional Map for VSS Funded Shelter-Based Victim Service Programs 
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Appendix B:  Regional Map for VSS Funded Domestic Abuse Comprehensive (DAC) 
Programs 
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Appendix C:  Regional Map for VSS Funded Sexual Abuse Comprehensive (SAC) 
Programs 
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Appendix D:  Regional Map for VSS Funded Survivors of Homicide (HP) Program 
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IowaVINE  
Iowa Victim Information and Notification Every Day (IowaVINE) is a free and anonymous telephone 

service that provides victims of crime with two important services:  information and notification. 

IowaVINE is provided by the Iowa Attorney General’s Crime Victim Assistance Division (CVAD) and the 

Iowa Department of Justice, initially implemented through a grant awarded by the Bureau of Justice 

Assistance. 

IowaVINE monitors the custody status of offenders in Iowa’s county jails and Iowa Department of 

Corrections facilities. The information is stored at the VINE Communications Center in Louisville, KY 

and is always available. The IowaVINE service is available in English, Spanish, Bosnian and Somali. 

Individuals can access the notification system via telephone at 888-742-8463, at www.vinelink.com, or 

the VINEMobile smartphone app. 

The information is open to anyone in the community with an interest in an offender held in custody. 

To search for an offender, the first and last name or offender identification number is needed. A 

secondary search option is the offender’s birthdate or age. Registrants can access the offender’s 

name, identification number, current custody status, location of offender, facility contact information, 

scheduled release date (if available), and information about crime victim services in the registrant’s 

area. 

The IowaVINE system began in 2006 with just a few counties. Today, all 99 counties participate along 

with the Iowa Department of Corrections (9 prisons). Of those 99 counties,  90 county jails and the 

Iowa Department of Correction have photographs of the offender available online.  

Registrants can choose to receive notifications via telephone, text and/or email. If the registrant 

chooses telephone, a four digit PIN number must be entered upon registration. The following are the 

automated call patterns of the system: 

Normal:  Calls will be made every 30 minutes for 24 hours or until the correct PIN is entered to 

confirm and stop the notification calls. If an answering machine or a person answers a call and 

the correct PIN is not entered, then calls will be made every 2 hours for the remainder of the 

24-hour period. 

Normal with Delay: Calls will be made every 30 minutes for 24 hours or until the correct PIN is 

entered to confirm and stop the notification calls. If an answering machine or a person answers 

a call and the correct PIN is not entered, then calls will be made every 2 hours for the 

remainder of the 24-hour period. Transfer notification calls will be delayed for 4 hours from the 
time the record is received by VINE. Death notification calls will be delayed for 24 hours from the 
time the record is received by VINE.  

Non-Emergency with Delay: Calls will be made every 30 minutes between 7:00 am – 10:00 pm 

for 24 hours or until the call is confirmed. Calls are confirmed and stopped by entering your 

PIN. If an answering machine or a person answers a call and the correct PIN is not entered, calls 

will continue every 2 hours for 24 hours between 7:00 am – 10:00 pm. 
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The IowaVINE program began with the first notifications in December of 2006. The first two counties 

to go online were Story and Scott. Throughout the remainder of SFY07 and by the end of Calendar 

Year (CY) 2007, 45 counties were operational. The end of CY2008, 2 counties declined to participate, 

20 were not operational but were in development, and 78 were online and operating. The end of 

CY2009 89 counties including the Department of Corrections were operational and 11 counties agreed 

to participate and were in development.  

 

CY2010 saw big changes for the IowaVINE. The first big milestone in March was that the VINELink 

website (www.vinelink.com) was now available for individuals that read Spanish. The second 

milestone was the addition of offender photos which accompanied the data information for victims on 

www.vinelink.com. By the end of CY2010, 15 counties had photos online, 78 counties were operational 

without photos, and 7 were in development to come online as active counties. The IowaVINE system 

managed over 98,000 offenders at this point. 

 

At the end of CY2011, 97 of the 99 counties were now online with 64 of those counties providing 

photographs of offenders. A push to have an IowaVINE website link added to local sheriffs’ offices 

website this year attributed to the increase in registrations. Of the 97 counties, 40 had placed a link on 

their website offering visitors/victims to register for notifications. This calendar year, the Department 

of Corrections agreed to come online with photos and that process was implemented and finalized the 

next calendar year. 

For CY2012, the system had received 117,693 total registrations since launch in December of 2006 

with over 111,000 offenders managed within the IowaVINE system. Bosnian and Somali languages 

were implemented for notifications by year end. There were 24 counties that were sending data 

without photos and 75 counties were online and operational for both data and photos of offenders. 

In CY2013, Appriss began switching out the computers running at the local jails to an AWACS Juniper 

based machine as the previous software had become obsolete. AWACS is a machine that gives 

Appriss access to the offender data files without having a stand-alone computer on site. This would 

eliminate some technical issues that arise from time to time with the current PCs. The process began 

in SFY13 and continues at the writing of this report.  

A very important milestone for the system was the launch of the VINEMobile application for 

smartphones. This app provided easier access to offender information and individuals could register 

directly from their smartphone for any offender within the system. Within the first month, Iowa led 

the country in application downloads.  

One county had continued to decline to participate at all in IowaVINE and provides manual 

notifications to all victims within that county; 14 counties send only offender data and 85 counties and 

the Department of Corrections are operational with both data and photos.  

At the end of CY2014, the system is still in the middle of the AWACs upgrade and is providing 

extraordinary numbers of searches for offenders using the VINEMobile application. There remains one 
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county that has chosen to decline participation and provides manual notifications to the victims within 

that county; however, 98 of 99 counties and the Iowa Department of Corrections are online for data. 

Of those 98 counties, all but 8 have photos of the offenders available for viewing on vineline.com and 

the VINEMobile App. It is anticipated that three more counties will come online with photos by the 

end of CY2015. 

SFY14 was the first full fiscal year of community access to VINEMobile. The application allows search 

and registration capabilities. There was a significant increase in searches across the system. The table 

below shows the total searches with the IowaVINE program. SFY15 showed a continued increase in 

offender searches across the system. 78% of registrations come from www.vinelink.com searches and 

20% are from VINEMobile.  

SFY16 continued to show increases in usage of the system. However a change was seen in how victims 

are obtaining the data in that search. Victims and community are finding offenders through the 

application MobilePatrol. (2,037,533 – SFY15: 4,812,697 – SFY16). The table below shows a 

comparison of searches per month. The total registrations and notifications for SFY16. Email 

notifications remain the most popular requested notification by registrants (62,940). 

Additionally in SFY15, the program manager began collecting data from satisfaction surveys. This 

survey tool is voluntary and anonymous and is an option for individuals that register for notifications 

via www.vinelink.com. An individual may have another opportunity to complete an additional survey 

after a registrant receives an email notification. These surveys are in English and Spanish. For SFY15, 

1,188 individual surveys were completed upon registration and 561 individual surveys were completed 

upon email notification. The results overwhelmingly show that many people are utilizing the 

IowaVINE system that doesn’t just include direct victims of the offender. Family members and friends 

of the offender and service providers are utilizing the system in great numbers. Also, many individuals 

are using it for safety plan purposes.  

For SFY16, the surveys were discontinued in order to revamp the survey tool for different and more 

complete information. For the future, those surveys will assist the state in planning training and 

technical assistance around usage. 

Surprisingly, the popularity of the VINEMobile application caused search numbers to increase by more 

than 50% following its implementation. Total searches for the ten year period were 9,511,388, or an 

average of 951,139 searches per year of program existence. Two years after its launch, VINEMobile 

surpassed all other search engines. In SFY16, the application, MobilePatrol became the number one 

search engine for IowaVINE. In SFY17, the VINEMobile application changed to VINELink to mirror the 

website more closely. The following tables will show a five year trend from SFY 12 to SFY17. 
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SFY12 – SFY17 Total Searches 

 SFY12 SFY13 SFY14 SFY15 SFY16 SFY17 

Phone 2,471 2,642 2,591 2,417 2,024 2,404 

VINEWatch 2,252 2,929 2,779 2,678 2,463 2,649 

VINELink 243,911 418,261 382,667 481,555 505,341 608,426 

VINEMobile 0 14,488 534,334 1,613,883 1,700,289 1,317,628 

MobilePatrol 0 0 0 530,875 2,602,580 3,672.463 

 

The next table outlines the five year trend of notification and registration events. 

SFY12- SFY17 Total Registrations and Notifications 

 

FY2012 FY2013 FY2014 FY2015 FY2016 FY2017
Total	Phone	Events 10,141	 11,915	 12,359	 14,426	 19,673	 22,367
Total	TTY	Events 15	 37	 203	 150	 102	 86	
Total	Text	Events 16,104	 25,411	 28,734	 40,056	 50,457	 77,140
Total	Email	Events 36,173	 43,443	 50,244	 55,976	 62,940	 71,562
New	Registrations 39,592	 44,279	 47,547	 54,401	 62,624	 78,760
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Iowa Identity Theft Passport Program 
The Iowa Identity Theft Passport Program was implemented on July 1, 2009. Iowans who are victims 

of identity theft after that date and who have reported the crime to the appropriate law enforcement 

agency may submit an application for an Identity Theft Passport. 

Iowa law defines an identity theft victim as someone whose “identification information” is stolen with 

intent to fraudulently use or attempt to use the information to obtain credit, property, or services 

without the authorization of the victim. An individual’s identification information includes his or her 

name, address, date of birth, telephone number, driver's license number, non-operator’s identification 

number, social security number, place of employment, employee identification number, parent's legal 

surname prior to marriage, demand deposit account number, savings or checking account number, or 

credit card number.  

An Identity Theft Passport will not be issued to a person in the case of an identity mistake or because 

the person has lost documents containing identifying information.  

When a victim reports identity theft to law enforcement, he or she can apply for an Identity Theft 

Passport. The law enforcement agency will submit the completed application, law enforcement 

verification form, and other necessary documents to the Identity Theft passport Program. Once all 

necessary information is obtained, eligibility for an Identity Theft Passport will be determined. An 

application will generally be processed within 30 days of receipt by the program. 

A law enforcement agency, creditor, or consumer report agency may consider the Identity Theft 

Passport as they determine their course of investigation and action. The information may help 

prevent the victim’s arrest or detention for an offense committed by someone using their identity. The 

information may also help a creditor who is trying to determine if fraudulent charges were made 

against the victim’s accounts or if accounts were opened using the victim’s identity. And the Identity 

Theft Passport may be given to a consumer-reporting agency to show that there is an identity dispute 

on the victim’s consumer record. The consumer-reporting agency will include the Identity Theft 

Passport information in future credit reports related to the crime victim. 

An identity theft passport is valid for five (5) years from the date of issuance or renewal. A person can 

apply to renew an Identity Theft Passport within 30 calendar days after its expiration.  

A person issued an Identity Theft Passport must notify the Identity Theft passport Program in writing 

of a change in their name or address. The holder of an Identity Theft Passport must immediately 

notify the program and the investigating law enforcement agency if the document is lost or stolen.  

Iowa Code Chapter 22 requires that an application for an Identity Theft Passport is confidential and is 

not a public record subject to disclosure. Any person other than the holder of the Identity Theft 

Passport will be directed to the victim or the law enforcement agency that was the source of the 

information.  
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In SFY15, we received 90 applications for Identity Theft Passports. Of those, four were approved and 

passports were issued. 76 applications were denied. All of those denials were due to the crime not 

happening in Iowa. Six passports were pending information as SFY16 began. 

The Iowa Legislature changed the eligibility requirements of the legislation around the Identity Theft 

Passport program. Before July 1, 2015 (SFY16), their needed to be proof that the crime happened in 

Iowa. For the next year and future, the legislative language clarifies that the victim must reside in Iowa 

at the time of the crime. This change will allow more victims to receive Identity Theft Passports in the 

future. 

In SFY17, the program saw a slight decline in applications and approvals.  

The chart below shows the Identity Theft Passport Program usage since its launch in SFY2014.  

 

Applications can be accessed on the website at https://www.iowaattorneygeneral.gov/for-crime-

victims/identity-theft-passport-program/. 

  

FY2014 FY2015 FY2016 FY2017
Total	Applications 20 90 91 68
Total	Denials 9 76 11 8
Total	Approvals 6 4 101 55
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Iowa Protective Order Notification for Domestic 

Abuse (IPONDA) 
The Iowa Protective Order Notification for Domestic Abuse (IPONDA) system is a restricted service for 

domestic violence petitioners, others deemed to be at-risk by the abuser (respondent), advocates, and 

officers. IPONDA is NOT open to the public for registration. The information is free and is available 24 

hours a day, 365 days a year. IPONDA is available in English and Spanish and has 24-hour Operator 

Assistance. IPONDA is different from VINE (offender-based system). IPONDA is a service of the Iowa 

Attorney General’s Crime Victim Assistance Division (CVAD) and the Criminal Justice Information 

Systems (CJIS) within the Department of Human Rights. 

The IPONDA system launched May 1, 2012 after a statewide testing phase that began in June, 2010. 

The program provides registrants email and/or phone message confirmation when a civil protective 

order or criminal no contact order is served or expires. 

Individuals can access the notification system via telephone at 888-742-8463 or 

www.registervpo.com. Since the system is a ‘closed’ system, the registrant will need to provide very 

specific information including case number, respondent’s full name, and county of issuance.  

IPONDA is a PIN first service, to assure the confidentiality of the notification and the petitioner. The 

actual notification message isn’t made until the PIN is entered. Generic messages will be played and 

left on voice mail until a live call is picked up and the PIN entered.  

Standard:  These notifications are done after a protective order has been served. A ‘standard’ 

call is one that will be made every 30 minutes until a notification call is answered. If the call is 

answered but not confirmed, subsequent calls will be made every 2 hours. Generic notification 

messages will be left on answering machine, but calls will continue every 2 hours. Notification 

calls will be made for 24 hours or until the correct PIN code is entered to confirm the call. 

Advanced:  These notifications are done prior to a protective order expiring. An ‘advanced’ call 

will be made in advance of a scheduled event (e.g. 30 days prior to the expiration of a 

permanent order). Calls will be made every 30 minutes between the hours of 7 a.m. and 10 p.m. 

until a notification call is answered. If the call is answered but not confirmed, subsequent calls 

will be made every 2 hours. Generic notification messages will be left on answering machine, 

but calls will continue every 2 hours. Notification calls will be made for 24 hours or until the 

correct PIN code is entered to confirm the call. 

The IPONDA program began being tested in calendar year (CY) 2011 and was live by December 31, 

2012. The yearlong testing phase was crucial to ensure that notifications were not missed. In CY2011, 

outreach and training was held across the state, providing information to victim advocates, clerks of 

court and law enforcement about the benefits of IPONDA and its use for victim safety. This series of 

training was then followed up with webinars for those who were not able to attend the training in 
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person. Directly before launch, another series of trainings were held across the state. In coordination 

with a press conference with the Attorney General, IPONDA was launched the Spring of 2013. 

Registrants can receive notifications in both English and Spanish and they can receive those via phone 

call or email. 

The table below shows the total registrations for IPONDA throughout the life of the program. It 

should be noted that for SFY11 & SFY12 the program was in a testing phase with limited counties. 

SFY13 - SFY17 show actual operational numbers. There have been a total of 2,924 registrations since 

testing in June 2010 and the formal launch in May 2012. The table below reflects Total registrations 

through SFY17. 

 

As awareness and outreach efforts increased across the state, the numbers increased for this newly 

launched notification program. The table on the next page represents the total notifications that have 

gone out over the span of the program’s lifetime (SFY2012 – SFY2017). 
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Total notifications have increased steadily over the comparison period. For the program period, there 

have been 1034 phone notifications and 762 email notifications.  

As the system gains momentum across the state, there will be an increase in both registrations and 

notifications across the program. Within the past FY, training of sheriff’s offices has made a big 

difference in parts of the state. Dispatchers are entering the service of the protective orders more 

consistently thus notifications of service are being made timely. 

In SFY2017, the Iowa legislature enacted law enabling victims of sexual assault to obtain a protective 

order. The program should see increased usage due to this addition in protective order options. Also in 

that legislation it was mandated clerks of court inform victims of their right to register. This has 

increased our training and awareness around this program for clerks of court. 

Future Efforts 
Due to the legislative change mentioned above, it should be noted that the program name will change 

July 1, 2017. It will be known as The Iowa Protective Order Notification Program (IowaPON). 

Rebranding and marketing will be featured throughout SFY2018. 

An additional feature for both the IowaVINE and IPONDA systems for consideration is the addition of 

court notifications. These types of notifications will inform the registrant when a hearing is continued, 

cancelled, or dismissed. This notification will enhance the safety feature of the system by providing a 

needed notification to the victim. It can also assist victim service professionals, law enforcement, and 

prosecution by providing notification of changes in the court status. Due to funding cuts, this 

enhancement was tabled, however it is still in the planning for when funds increase. 
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Registrant Watch Program 
 

The Registrant Watch Program is Iowa’s automated notification system for tracking of sex offenders. 

Registrant Watch was developed by the Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation’s Department of Public 

Safety’s Sex Offender Registry Program and was fully implemented in fiscal year 2012. The Sex 

Offender Registry Program maintains the data received from the counties regarding sex offender 

updates. 

Registrant Watch assists individuals who register for notification of sex offender updates in their 

neighborhoods, cities, or states. Registered sex offenders fall along a tier system in the State of Iowa. 

Tier one offenders must update registration once per year. Tier two offenders must update their 

status twice per year. Tier three offenders must update their information three times per year. 

Registrant Watch provides 24-hour access to sex offender registration information online while having 

the ability to register for sex offender’s location and other characteristics. CVAD partnered with DCI-

DPS to enhance the system to now provide the registrant with the option to receive email or phone 

messages notifications if there is a change in the location or identification information of a specific sex 

offender. 

The service contacts individuals via phone and or email. Phone calls can come at any time of the day. If 

there is no answer or the call goes to an answering machine, the system will call back once for a total 

of two calls. A short message will be left on the answering machine. This service is confidential and 

free of charge. 

To register, go to www.iowasexoffender.com or call 515-725-6050. 
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CVAD Human Trafficking Initiatives 

 

The Iowa Attorney General’s Office is dedicated to protecting trafficking victims and preventing future 

trafficking within the State of Iowa. As a department, we work to combat the crime of human 

trafficking by funding local crime victim service organizations that provide direct services to trafficking 

survivors, by funding prevention and awareness projects to educate the general public and to reach 

trafficking survivors, by training public safety professionals to respond efficiently and effectively to 

trafficking survivors and by assisting the criminal justice system in holding traffickers responsible for 

the effects of their actions.  

Human Trafficking Direct Services 

While victim service agencies across the state continue to provide services to human trafficking 

survivors, CVAD was able to provide targeted funding to five programs to deliver human trafficking-

specific services in Iowa: NIAD/Crisis Intervention Service (Mason City), Cedar Valley Friends 

(Waverly), Family Resources/Braking Traffik (Davenport/Quad Cities), and Youth and Shelter Services 

(Ames/Des Moines). In SFY 2017 these five programs provided shelter, advocacy services, information 

and referrals, and other support to over half (62%) of all identified sex and labor trafficking survivors 

across the state.  
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Human Trafficking Prevention & Awareness Grants 

The purpose of the Human Trafficking Prevention & Awareness Grants are to support the 

development and/or enhancement of education, awareness, and prevention projects to and about 

human trafficking victims. In State Fiscal Year 2017, CVAD funded four programs to develop and 

implement projects related directly to increased awareness and prevention of labor and sex trafficking 

in Iowa: 

Funded Program Project 

Family Resources/Braking 

Traffik 

Creation of a statewide, multi-language PSA campaign via 

social media, including still ads and video, and posters on 

Casey’s General Stores’ gas pumps and counters in 150 

locations across Iowa along major interstates. Created PSAs 

focused on providing Iowans education about both labor and 

sex trafficking, ending the demand for sex and labor trafficking, 

and included information for the National Human Trafficking 

Resource Center (NHTRC) and Iowa Victim Service Call Center 

crisis lines. Funding also allowed for the presentation of Any Kid 
Anywhere multidisciplinary, trafficking prevention curriculum in 

six DV/SA regions to equip service providers, law enforcement 

and other community partners to conduct anti-trafficking 

presentations to students, staff and parents; train other 

potential presenters; and to work with school administrators on 

implementation of trafficking prevention programming.  

Johnson County Sexual 

Assault Response Team 

Provision of a one day regional training on sex trafficking for 

first responders working with trafficking victims in Iowa (law 

enforcement officers, advocates, medical personnel, DHS, 

social workers, service providers, etc.) Education focused on 

identifying victims and vulnerabilities that put them at risk for 

trafficking, and developing an understanding of common roles 

of multidisciplinary professionals involved in responding to sex 

trafficking.  

Sioux County Attorney’s 

Office 

Provision of a law enforcement-specific training for Sioux 

County public safety professionals. Learning objectives 

included increased awareness of the issues of labor and sex 

trafficking and increased equipment of officers as they work to 

assist trafficking victims. 
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Youth and Shelter Services  

Creation of targeted education for school administrators and 

staff about human trafficking through a Community Educator 

Model. This model included initial meetings with school 

administrations, training (online or in-person) for school 

faculty, school-wide education as allowed by the 

administration, and community-wide presentations for 

increased awareness and identification of human trafficking. 

 

Statewide Training and Collaboration 

CVAD collaborated with the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy (ILEA) to conduct ten Train-the-Trainer 

(TtT) events in 2017. These TtT events focused on fostering a multi-disciplinary response to human 

trafficking within each DV/SA region and educated attendees on how to identify victims/survivors of 

human trafficking, how to begin investigations, best practices for interviews with trafficking survivors, 

and available resources (victim services, immigration relief, etc.) at both the state and local levels. 

Train-the-Trainers were structured intentionally for Iowa Public Safety professionals (law 

enforcement, emergency response, etc.), social service organizations providing services to human 

trafficking victims, medical professionals, prosecuting attorneys, and other professionals who may 

come in contact with victims of human trafficking. A total of 127 professionals across multiple 

disciplines attended Train-the-Trainer events statewide. Most heavily represented in trainings were 

victim service advocates (54) and law enforcement officers (42), followed by medical professionals (9) 

and community organizations (9).
1
  

Since May 2017 there have been 18 re-deliveries of Train-the-Trainer Curriculum. As a result of these 

re-deliveries, an additional 455 professionals have received Human Trafficking training and awareness 

across the state.  

                                                                            
1	Community	Organizations	include:	Food	Banks,	Homeless	Shelters,	Human	Trafficking	Taskforces,	Community	Centers,	etc.		
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In addition to these Train-the-Trainer events, CVAD’s Human Trafficking Coordinator attended or 

provided 15 separate outreach, education, and awareness events in State Fiscal Year 2017. From these 

events 1,249 individuals received information and education on human trafficking awareness and 

identification, as well as increased knowledge of federal and state victim service resources for 

trafficking survivors.    

 

Iowa Human Trafficking Needs Assessment 

In 2017 CVAD sponsored a statewide human trafficking study titled: “Understanding Human Trafficking 
in Iowa.” The in-depth report seeks to identify gaps in human trafficking-specific knowledge and 

education across the state, determine potential barriers trafficking survivors may face in accessing 

necessary victim services, and provide a better understanding of Iowa-specific needs by interviewing 

key stakeholders, conducting in-depth case reviews of existing investigations, and interviewing Iowa 

trafficking survivors about their experiences interacting with local and statewide systems. Visit 

https://www.iowaattorneygeneral.gov/media/cms/Understanding_Human_Trafficking_in__6BCA41F

996861.pdf to access the full findings of this study.  

To join the fight against human trafficking and modern day slavery visit www.iowattorney.gov/for-

crime-victims. 
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Sexual Assault Kit Initiative (SAKI)  

aka “rape kit backlog” 

Sexual Assault Kit Initiative FY17 

The National Sexual Assault Kit Initiative (SAKI) was established by the US Department of Justice, 

Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA) in 2015 to provide funding through competitive grant programs to 

support the jurisdictional reform approaches to sexual assault cases resulting from evidence found in 

sexual assault kits that have never been submitted to a crime laboratory. Through SAKI, BJA aims to 

create and support a coordinated community response through 1) a comprehensive and victim-

centered approach, 2) jurisdictional capacity building to prevent high numbers of unsubmitted kits in 

the future and 3) supporting the investigation and prosecution of cases involving previously 

unsubmitted kits. 

In Federal Fiscal Year 2015, BJA made $24 million available for local and state jurisdictions. Iowa was 

funded at $2 million in FFY15 with $1 million allocated for testing kits and nearly $1 million to support 

investigations and prosecutions. In FFY16, Iowa was awarded an additional $1 million. These funds 

support a full-time, contractual, SAKI coordinator position, marketing/outreach materials, research, 

an evidence tracking system specifically for SAKI, and additional funds for testing. Between the two 

awards $1.2 million is available for testing previously unsubmitted kits in Iowa. 

Multidisciplinary Team 

A requirement of the grant was the development of a regularly-convening Multi-Disciplinary Team 

(MDT) of individuals representing professions involved in sexual assault response. Iowa’s MDT consists 

of the following agencies: The Attorney General’s Office - CVAD and Area Prosecutions; The Iowa 

Division of Criminal Investigations Major Crimes Unit and Laboratory; the Iowa Coalition Against 

Sexual Assault; Des Moines Police Department; Iowa City Police Department; Sexual Assault Nurse 

Examiners with Mid-Iowa and Johnson County Sexual Assault Response Teams; Iowa Department of 

Public Health; an SA Survivor and the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy. The MDT meets at least once 

per quarter and helps provide direction on matters such as testing strategy, considerations from each 

profession’s needs and expertise, coordination of project activities, and identification of opportunities 

for training and outreach. 

Inventory 

An inventory of all of Iowa’s nearly 400 law enforcement agencies was conducted beginning in FY16 

and completed in FY17. 100% of law enforcement agencies responded to the inventory with 164 

agencies identifying a total 4,265 kits. The survey asked law enforcement agencies to provide a count 

of untested kits, date of the incident, date and location of the evidence collection, victim’s date of 

birth, and the reason each kit was not submitted to the DCI. To view the full report, please visit: 

https://www.iowaattorneygeneral.gov/media/cms/Attorney_General_of_Iowa_SAKI_repor_B00557BF

7827A.pdf 
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Testing 

The parameters of the grant required projects using funds to test kits to contract with an outside lab 

so as to not shift the kits to the public/state lab that normally analyzes evidence. SAKI funds will 

support testing of about 1,200-1,400 kits, therefore, the MDT is continually monitoring and adjusting 

the testing strategy to ensure testing is done is cost-effective and victim-centered way. 

The first batch of kits was submitted in June, 2017 based on cases where the date was approaching 

where the kit was able to be lawfully destroyed. Legislation requiring all kits inventoried to be held 

and submitted at the request of the Department of Justice went into law on July 1, 2107. Once the kits 

have been analyzed and undergo technical review, the results will be provided to the DCI lab, the 

jurisdictional law enforcement agency and the prosecutor’s office by Bode Cellmark (the contracted 

3
rd

 party crime lab). The decision to enter a DNA profile in CODIS will be made by each state’s CODIS 

administrator. 

Iowa does not have final results back yet. However, testing will undoubtedly produce DNA profiles and 

CODIS hits. Generally speaking, jurisdictions are seeing a CODIS hit rate of about 11% of the total kits 

tested. DNA testing through SAKI by the Cuyahoga County Ohio Prosecutor’s Office has revealed 437 

serial rapists among the kits analyzed. 700 unique defendants, including 127 John Does, have been 

indicted. In Nevada 416 DNA profiles have been uploaded into CODIS resulting in 141 hits. In 

Connecticut, 259 DNA profiles entered resulted in 75 hits. Kentucky’s project has tested 3,173 kits, 

uploaded 340 DNA profiles with 144 of those hitting to DNA databases. Undoubtedly, when kits are 

analyzed here in the State of Iowa, DNA will be present and some of the DNA profiles will hit. 

Training and Technical Assistance 

CVAD facilitated training opportunities for professionals involved with sexual assault response in Iowa. 

At the Iowa Sex Crimes Investigators Conference (ISCIC) in January, retired Detective Sergeant Jim 

Markey provided a 4-hour training on investigating cold case sexual assaults. The ISCIC was attended 

by over 130 law enforcement personnel covering many jurisdictions statewide. 

In June 2017, CVAD partnered with National SAKI Training and Technical Assistance Provider, RTI 

International to provide two separate Interactive Scenario Sexual Assault Response trainings in Des 

Moines and Iowa City. These trainings brought together law enforcement, prosecution, victim 

advocacy, SANEs, and forensic analysts an along with subject matter experts in a unique interactive 

way by creating crime scenes and walking through each profession’s role in the response and 

investigation as each individual played a role different from their own. 
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IOWA DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

ATTORNEY GENERAL’S OFFICE 

IOWA CRIME VICTIM ASSISTANCE DIVISION 

 

ADDENDUM I 

 

AUTHORIZING STATUTES IN THE  

CODE OF IOWA 

Attorney General’s Office 

(Crime Victim Assistance Division) 

 

13.31  Victim assistance program. 

A victim assistance program is established in the department of justice, which shall do all of the following: 

1. Administer grants received under the federal Victims of Crime Act pursuant to Pub. L. No. 98-473, Tit. 2, ch. 

14, 42 U.S.C. § 10601, as amended by the federal Children’s Justice and Assistance Act, Pub. L. No. 99-401, 100 

Stat. 903 (1986). 

2. Administer the state crime victim compensation program as provided in chapter 915. 

3. Administer the domestic abuse program provided in chapter 236. 

4. Administer the family violence prevention and services grants pursuant to the federal Child Abuse 

Amendments of 1984, Pub. L. No. 98-457, 42 U.S.C. § 10401. 

5. Administer payment for sexual abuse medical examinations pursuant to section 915.41. 

6. Administer the violence against women program and grants received pursuant to the federal Violence 

Against Women Act, Tit. IV of the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994, Pub. L. No. 103-

322, 42 U.S.C. § 13701. 

7. Administer an automated victim notification system as authorized pursuant to section 915.10A. 

89 Acts, ch 279, §1; 90 Acts, ch 1251, §1; 91 Acts, ch 181, §16; 98 Acts, ch 1090, §58, 84; 2002 Acts, ch 1016, §1; 
2007 Acts, ch 27, §1; 2010 Acts, ch 1061, §180 

Federal Act reference updated pursuant to Code editor directive 
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Crime Victim Compensation Fund  

 

915.94 Victim compensation fund. 

A victim compensation fund is established as a separate fund in the state treasury. Moneys deposited in the 

fund shall be administered by the department and dedicated to and used for the purposes of section 915.41 and 

this subchapter. In addition, the department may use moneys from the fund for the purpose of the 

department’s prosecutor-based victim service coordination, including the duties defined in sections 910.3 and 

910.6 and this chapter, and for the award of funds to programs that provide services and support to victims of 

domestic abuse or sexual assault as provided in chapter 236, to victims under section 710A.2, and for the 

support of an automated victim notification system established in section 915.10A. The department may also 

use up to one hundred thousand dollars from the fund to provide training for victim service providers. 

Notwithstanding section 8.33, any balance in the fund on June 30 of any fiscal year shall not revert to the 

general fund of the state. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §55, 84; 2001 Acts, ch 84, §1; 2006 Acts, ch 1074, §8; 2007 Acts, ch 22, §111; 2007 Acts, ch 27, 
§10 

Crime Victim Compensation Program 

(Crime Victim Assistance Board) 

 

915.80  Definitions. 

As used in this subchapter, unless the context otherwise requires: 

1. “Compensation” means moneys awarded by the department as authorized in this subchapter. 

2. “Crime” means conduct that occurs or is attempted in this state, poses a substantial threat of personal 

injury or death, and is punishable as a felony or misdemeanor, or would be so punishable but for the fact that 

the person engaging in the conduct lacked the capacity to commit the crime under the laws of this state. 

“Crime” does not include conduct arising out of the ownership, maintenance, or use of a motor vehicle, 

motorcycle, motorized bicycle, train, boat, or aircraft except for violations of section 321.261, 321.277, 321J.2, 

462A.7, 462A.12, 462A.14, or 707.6A, or when the intention is to cause personal injury or death. A license 

revocation under section 321J.9 or 321J.12 shall be considered by the department as evidence of a violation of 

section 321J.2 for the purposes of this subchapter. A license suspension or revocation under section 462A.14, 

462A.14B, or 462A.23 shall be considered by the department as evidence of a violation of section 462A.14 for 

the purposes of this subchapter. 

3. “Department” means the department of justice. 

4. “Dependent” means a person wholly or partially dependent upon a victim for care or support and includes a 

child of the victim born after the victim’s death. 

5. “Secondary victim” means the victim’s spouse, children, parents, and siblings, and any person who resides 

in the victim’s household at the time of the crime or at the time of the discovery of the crime. “Secondary 
victim” does not include persons who are the survivors of a victim who dies as a result of a crime. 

6. “Victim” means a person who suffers personal injury or death as a result of any of the following: 

a. A crime. 
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b. The good faith effort of a person attempting to prevent a crime. 

c. The good faith effort of a person to apprehend a person suspected of committing a crime. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §41, 84; 2007 Acts, ch 27, §7 

 

915.81  Award of compensation. 

The department shall award compensation authorized by this subchapter if the department is satisfied that 

the requirements for compensation have been met. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §42, 84 

 

915.82  Crime victim assistance board. 

1. A crime victim assistance board is established, and shall consist of the following members to be appointed 

pursuant to rules adopted by the department: 

a. A county attorney or assistant county attorney. 

b. Two persons engaged full-time in law enforcement. 

c. A public defender or an attorney practicing primarily in criminal defense. 

d. A hospital medical staff person involved with emergency services. 

e. Two public members who have received victim services. 

f. A victim service provider. 

g. A person licensed pursuant to chapter 154B or 154C. 

h. A person representing the elderly. 

Board members shall be reimbursed for expenses actually and necessarily incurred in the discharge of their 

duties. 

2. The board shall adopt rules pursuant to chapter 17A relating to program policies and procedures. 

3. A victim aggrieved by the denial or disposition of the victim’s claim may appeal to the district court within 

thirty days of receipt of the board’s decision. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §43, 84 

 

915.83  Duties of department. 

The department shall: 

1. Adopt rules pursuant to chapter 17A relating to the administration of the crime victim compensation 

program, including the filing of claims pursuant to the program, and the hearing and disposition of the claims. 

2. Hear claims, determine the results relating to claims, and reinvestigate and reopen cases as necessary. 
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3. Publicize through the department, county sheriff departments, municipal police departments, county 

attorney offices, and other public or private agencies, the existence of the crime victim compensation program, 

including the procedures for obtaining compensation under the program. 

4. Request from the department of human services, the department of workforce development and its 

division of workers’ compensation, the department of public safety, the county sheriff departments, the 

municipal police departments, the county attorneys, or other public authorities or agencies reasonable 

assistance or data necessary to administer the crime victim compensation program. 

5. Require medical examinations of victims as needed. The victim shall be responsible for the cost of the 

medical examination if compensation is made. The department shall be responsible for the cost of the medical 

examination from funds appropriated to the department for the crime victim compensation program if 

compensation is not made to the victim unless the cost of the examination is payable as a benefit under an 

insurance policy or subscriber contract covering the victim or the cost is payable by a health maintenance 

organization. 

6. Receive moneys collected pursuant to section 904.702 for the purpose of compliance with Pub. L. No. 98-

473. 

98 Acts, ch 1061, §10; 98 Acts, ch 1090, §44, 84; 98 Acts, ch 1128, §2 

 

915.84  Application for compensation. 

1. To claim compensation under the crime victim compensation program, a person shall apply in writing on a 

form prescribed by the department and file the application with the department within two years after the date 

of the crime, the discovery of the crime, or the date of death of the victim. The department may waive the time 

limitation if good cause is shown. 

2. A person is not eligible for compensation unless the crime was reported to the local police department or 

county sheriff department within seventy-two hours of its occurrence. If the crime cannot reasonably be 

reported within that time period, the crime shall have been reported within seventy-two hours of the time a 

report can reasonably be made. The department may waive this requirement if good cause is shown. 

3. Notwithstanding subsection 2, a victim under the age of eighteen or dependent adult as defined in section 

235B.2 who has been sexually abused or subjected to any other unlawful sexual conduct under chapter 709 or 

726 or who has been the subject of a forcible felony is not required to report the crime to the local police 

department or county sheriff department to be eligible for compensation if the crime was allegedly committed 

upon a child by a person responsible for the care of a child, as defined in section 232.68, subsection 7, or upon a 

dependent adult by a caretaker as defined in section 235B.2, and was reported to an employee of the 

department of human services and the employee verifies the report to the department. 

4. When immediate or short-term medical services or mental health services are provided to a victim under 

section 915.35, the department of human services shall file the claim for compensation as provided in 

subsection 3 for the victim. 

5. When immediate or short-term medical services to a victim are provided pursuant to section 915.35 by a 

professional licensed or certified by the state to provide such services, the professional shall file the claim for 

compensation, unless the department of human services is required to file the claim under this section. The 

requirement to report the crime to the local police department or county sheriff department under subsection 2 

does not apply to this subsection. 
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6. The victim shall cooperate with reasonable requests by the appropriate law enforcement agencies in the 

investigation or prosecution of the crime. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §45, 84; 99 Acts, ch 10, §1 

 

915.85  Compensation payable. 

The department may order the payment of compensation: 

1. To or for the benefit of the person filing the claim. 

2. To a person responsible for the maintenance of the victim who has suffered pecuniary loss or incurred 

expenses as a result of personal injury to the victim. 

3. To or for the benefit of one or more dependents of the victim, in the case of death of the victim. If two or 

more dependents are entitled to compensation, the compensation may be apportioned by the department as 

the department determines to be fair and equitable among the dependents. 

4. To a victim of an act committed outside this state who is a resident of this state, if the act would be 

compensable had it occurred within this state and the act occurred in a state that does not have an eligible 

crime victim compensation program, as defined in the federal Victims of Crime Act of 1984, Pub. L. No. 98-473, 

section 1403(b), as amended and codified in 42 U.S.C. § 10602(b). 

5. To or for the benefit of a resident of this state who is a victim of an act of terrorism as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 

2331, which occurred outside of the United States. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §46, 84 

 

915.86  Computation of compensation. 

The department shall award compensation, as appropriate, for any of the following economic losses incurred 

as a direct result of an injury to or death of the victim: 

1. Reasonable charges incurred for medical care not to exceed twenty-five thousand dollars. Reasonable 

charges incurred for mental health care not to exceed five thousand dollars which includes services provided by 

a psychologist licensed under chapter 154B, a person holding at least a master’s degree in social work or 

counseling and guidance, or a victim counselor as defined in section 915.20A. 

a. The department shall establish the rates at which it will pay charges for medical care. 

b. If the department awards compensation, in full, at the established rate for medical care, and the medical 

provider accepts the payment, the medical provider shall hold harmless the victim for any amount not collected 

that is more than the rate established by the department. 

2. Loss of income from work the victim would have performed and for which the victim would have received 

remuneration if the victim had not been injured, not to exceed six thousand dollars. 

3. Loss of income from work that the victim’s parent or caretaker would have performed and for which the 

victim’s parent or caretaker would have received remuneration for up to three days after the crime or the 

discovery of the crime to allow the victim’s parent or caretaker to assist the victim and when the victim’s parent 

or caretaker accompanies the victim to medical and counseling services, not to exceed one thousand dollars per 

parent or caretaker. 
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4. Loss of income from work that the victim, the victim’s parent or caretaker, or the survivor of a homicide 

victim as described in subsection 10 would have performed and for which that person would have received 

remuneration, where the loss of income is a direct result of cooperation with the investigation and prosecution 

of the crime or attendance at criminal justice proceedings including the trial and sentencing in the case, not to 

exceed one thousand dollars. 

5. Reasonable replacement value of clothing that is held for evidentiary purposes not to exceed two hundred 

dollars. 

6. Reasonable funeral and burial expenses not to exceed seven thousand five hundred dollars. 

7. Loss of support for dependents resulting from death or a period of disability of the victim of sixty days or 

more not to exceed four thousand dollars per dependent. 

8. In the event of a victim’s death, reasonable charges incurred for counseling the victim’s spouse, children, 

parents, siblings, or persons cohabiting with or related by blood or affinity to the victim if the counseling 

services are provided by a psychologist licensed under chapter 154B, a victim counselor as defined in section 

915.20A, subsection 1, or an individual holding at least a master’s degree in social work or counseling and 

guidance, and reasonable charges incurred by such persons for medical care counseling provided by a 

psychiatrist licensed under chapter 148. The allowable charges under this subsection shall not exceed five 

thousand dollars per person. 

9. In the event of a homicide, reasonable charges incurred for health care for the victim’s spouse; child, foster 

child, stepchild, son-in-law, or daughter-in-law; parent, foster parent, or stepparent; sibling, foster sibling, 

stepsibling, brother-in-law, or sister-in-law; grandparent; grandchild; aunt, uncle, or first cousin; legal ward; or 

person cohabiting with the victim, not to exceed three thousand dollars per survivor. 

10. In the event of a homicide, loss of income from work that, but for the death of the victim, would have 

been earned by the victim’s spouse; child, foster child, stepchild, son-in-law, or daughter-in-law; parent, foster 

parent, or stepparent; sibling, foster sibling, stepsibling, brother-in-law, or sister-in-law; grandparent; 

grandchild; aunt, uncle, or first cousin; legal ward; or person cohabiting with the victim, not to exceed six 

thousand dollars. 

11. Reasonable expenses incurred for cleaning the scene of a crime, if the scene is a residence, not to exceed 

one thousand dollars. 

12. Reasonable charges incurred for mental health care for secondary victims which include the services 

provided by a psychologist licensed under chapter 154B, a person holding at least a master’s degree in social 

work, counseling, or a related field, a victim counselor as defined in section 915.20A, or a psychiatrist licensed 

under chapter 148. The allowable charges under this subsection shall not exceed two thousand dollars per 

secondary victim. 

13. Reasonable dependent care expenses incurred by the victim, the victim’s parent or caretaker, or the 

survivor of a homicide victim as described in subsection 10 for the care of dependents while attending criminal 

justice proceedings or medical or counseling services, not to exceed one thousand dollars per person. 

14. Reasonable expenses incurred by a victim, the victim’s parent or caretaker, or the survivor of a victim as 

described in subsection 10 to replace locks, windows, and other residential security items at the victim’s 

residence or at the residential scene of a crime, not to exceed five hundred dollars per residence. 

15. Reasonable expenses incurred by the victim, a secondary victim, the parent or guardian of a victim, or the 

survivor of a homicide victim as described in subsection 10 for transportation to medical, counseling, funeral, or 

criminal justice proceedings, not to exceed one thousand dollars per person. 
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98 Acts, ch 1090, §47, 84; 98 Acts, ch 1128, §1, 2; 99 Acts, ch 10, §2; 2000 Acts, ch 1064, §1, 2; 2007 Acts, ch 27, 
§8, 9; 2009 Acts, ch 178, §29; 2009 Acts, ch 179, §47 

 

 

915.87  Reductions and disqualifications. 

Compensation is subject to reduction and disqualification as follows: 

1. Compensation shall be reduced by the amount of any payment received, or to be received, as a result of the 

injury or death: 

a. From or on behalf of a person who committed the crime or who is otherwise responsible for damages 

resulting from the crime. 

b. From an insurance payment or program, including but not limited to workers’ compensation or 

unemployment compensation. 

c. From public funds. 

d. As an emergency award under section 915.91. 

2. Compensation shall not be made when the bodily injury or death for which a benefit is sought was caused 

by any of the following: 

a. Consent, provocation, or incitement by the victim. 

b. The victim assisting, attempting, or committing a criminal act. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §48, 84 

 

915.88  Compensation when money insufficient. 

Notwithstanding this subchapter, a victim otherwise qualified for compensation under the crime victim 

compensation program is not entitled to the compensation when there is insufficient money from the 

appropriation for the program to pay the compensation. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §49, 84 

 

915.89  Erroneous or fraudulent payment — penalty. 

1. If a payment or overpayment of compensation is made because of clerical error, mistaken identity, 

innocent misrepresentation by or on behalf of the recipient, or other circumstances of a similar nature, not 

induced by fraud by or on behalf of the recipient, the recipient is liable for repayment of the compensation. The 

department may waive, decrease, or adjust the amount of the repayment of the compensation. However, if the 

department does not notify the recipient of the erroneous payment or overpayment within one year of the date 

the compensation was made, the recipient is not liable for the repayment of the compensation. 

2. If a payment or overpayment has been induced by fraud by or on behalf of a recipient, the recipient is liable 

for repayment of the compensation. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §50, 84 



 

Crime Victim Assistance Division 
 

Annual Report SFY17 | 70 
 

 

 

915.90  Release of information. 

A person in possession or control of investigative or other information pertaining to an alleged crime or a 

victim filing for compensation shall allow the inspection and reproduction of the information by the department 

upon the request of the department, to be used only in the administration and enforcement of the crime victim 

compensation program. Information and records which are confidential under section 22.7 and information or 

records received from the confidential information or records remain confidential under this section. 

A person does not incur legal liability by reason of releasing information to the department as required under 

this section. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §51, 84 

 

  915.91  Emergency payment compensation. 

If the department determines that compensation may be made and that undue hardship may result to the 

person if partial immediate payment is not made, the department may order emergency compensation to be 

paid to the person, not to exceed five hundred dollars. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §52, 84 

 

 

915.92  Right of action against perpetrator — subrogation. 

A right of legal action by the victim against a person who has committed a crime is not lost as a consequence 

of a person receiving compensation under the crime victim compensation program. If a person receiving 

compensation under the program seeks indemnification which would reduce the compensation under section 

915.87, subsection 1, the department is subrogated to the recovery to the extent of payments by the 

department to or on behalf of the person. The department has a right of legal action against a person who has 

committed a crime resulting in payment of compensation by the department to the extent of the compensation 

payment. However, legal action by the department does not affect the right of a person to seek further relief in 

other legal actions. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §53, 84 

 

915.93  Rulemaking. 

The department shall adopt rules pursuant to chapter 17A to implement the procedures for reparation 

payments with respect to section 915.35 and section 915.84, subsections 3, 4, and 5. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §54, 84 

 

915.94  Victim compensation fund. 

A victim compensation fund is established as a separate fund in the state treasury. Moneys deposited in the 

fund shall be administered by the department and dedicated to and used for the purposes of section 915.41 and 

this subchapter. In addition, the department may use moneys from the fund for the purpose of the 
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department’s prosecutor-based victim service coordination, including the duties defined in sections 910.3 and 

910.6 and this chapter, and for the award of funds to programs that provide services and support to victims of 

domestic abuse or sexual assault as provided in chapter 236, to victims under section 710A.2, and for the 

support of an automated victim notification system established in section 915.10A. The department may also 

use up to one hundred thousand dollars from the fund to provide training for victim service providers. 

Notwithstanding section 8.33, any balance in the fund on June 30 of any fiscal year shall not revert to the 

general fund of the state. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §55, 84; 2001 Acts, ch 84, §1; 2006 Acts, ch 1074, §8; 2007 Acts, ch 22, §111; 2007 Acts, ch 27, 
§10  

 

 

Sexual Abuse Examination Payment Program   

 

 915.41 Medical examination costs. 

The cost of a medical examination of a victim for the purpose of gathering evidence and the cost of treatment 

of a victim for the purpose of preventing venereal disease shall be paid from the fund established in section 

915.94. 

98 Acts, ch 1090, §34, 84; 99 Acts, ch 114, §48 

 

Victim Services Support Program  

(Domestic Abuse and Sexual Abuse Program and domestic and sexual abuse hotlines) 

 

236.16  Department powers and duties. 

1. The department shall: 

a. Designate and award grants for existing and pilot programs pursuant to this chapter to provide emergency 

shelter services and support services to victims of domestic abuse. 

b. Design and implement a uniform method of collecting data from domestic abuse organizations funded 

under this chapter. 

c. Designate and award moneys for publicizing and staffing a statewide, toll-free telephone hotline for use by 

victims of domestic abuse. The department may award a grant to a public agency or a private, nonprofit 

organization for the purpose of operating the hotline. The operation of the hotline shall include informing 

victims of their rights and of various community services that are available, referring victims to service 

providers, receiving complaints concerning misconduct by peace officers and encouraging victims to refer such 

complaints to the office of citizens’ aide, providing counseling services to victims over the telephone, and 

providing domestic abuse victim advocacy. 

d. Advertise the toll-free telephone hotline through the use of public service announcements, billboards, print 

and broadcast media services, and other appropriate means, and contact media organizations to encourage the 

provision of free or inexpensive advertising concerning the hotline and its services. 
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e. Develop, with the assistance of the entity operating the telephone hotline and other domestic abuse victim 

services providers, brochures explaining the rights of victims set forth under section 236.12 and the services of 

the telephone hotline, and distribute the brochures to law enforcement agencies, victim service providers, 

health practitioners, charitable and religious organizations, and other entities that may have contact with 

victims of domestic abuse. 

2. The department shall consult and cooperate with all public and private agencies which may provide 

services to victims of domestic abuse, including but not limited to, legal services, social services, prospective 

employment opportunities, and unemployment benefits. 

3. The department may accept, use, and dispose of contributions of money, services, and property made 

available by an agency or department of the state or federal government, or a private agency or individual. 

85 Acts, ch 175, §7; 89 Acts, ch 279, §6; 91 Acts, ch 218, §15 

 

IowaVINE and IPONDA Programs 
 

915.10A  Automated victim notification system. 

1. An automated victim notification system is established within the crime victim assistance division of the 

department of justice to assist public officials in informing crime victims, the victim’s family, or other interested 

persons as provided in this subchapter and where otherwise specifically provided. The system shall disseminate 

the information to registered users through telephonic, electronic, or other means of access. 

2. An office, agency, or department may satisfy a notification obligation to registered victims required by this 

subchapter through participation in the system to the extent information is available for dissemination through 

the system. Nothing in this section shall relieve a notification obligation under this subchapter due to the 

unavailability of information for dissemination through the system. 

3. Notwithstanding section 232.147, information concerning juveniles charged with a felony offense shall be 

released to the extent necessary to comply with this section. 

2005 Acts, ch 158, §47; 2007 Acts, ch 27, §4 

 

Identity Theft Passport Program 

 

715A.9A  Identity theft passport. 

1. The attorney general, in cooperation with any law enforcement agency, may issue an identity theft 

passport to a person who meets both of the following requirements: 

a. Is a victim of identity theft in this state as described in section 715A.8. 

b. Has filed a police report with any law enforcement agency citing that the person is a victim of identity theft. 

2. A victim who has filed a report of identity theft with a law enforcement agency may apply for an identity 

theft passport through the law enforcement agency. The law enforcement agency shall send a copy of the 

police report and the application to the attorney general, who shall process the application and supporting 

report and may issue the victim an identity theft passport in the form of a card or certificate. 
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3. A victim of identity theft issued an identity theft passport may present the passport to any of the following: 

a. A law enforcement agency, to help prevent the victim’s arrest or detention for an offense committed by 

someone other than the victim who is using the victim’s identity. 

b. A creditor of the victim, to aid in the creditor’s investigation and establishment of whether fraudulent 

charges were made against accounts in the victim’s name or whether accounts were opened using the victim’s 

identity. 

4. A law enforcement agency or creditor may accept an identity theft passport issued pursuant to this section 

and presented by a victim at the discretion of the law enforcement agency or creditor. A law enforcement 

agency or creditor may consider the surrounding circumstances and available information regarding the 

offense of identity theft pertaining to the victim. 

5. An application made with the attorney general under subsection 2, including any supporting 

documentation, shall be confidential and shall not be a public record subject to disclosure under chapter 22. 

6. The attorney general shall adopt rules necessary to implement this section, which shall include a procedure 

by which the attorney general shall assure that an identity theft passport applicant has an identity theft claim 

that is legitimate and adequately substantiated. 

2006 Acts, ch 1067, §1 
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Iowa Administrative Rules Code  

Attorney General — 61 

Chapter 9 

VICTIM ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 

(Crime victim assistance division)  

DIVISION I 

ADMINISTRATION 

(Crime Victim Assistance Board) 

61—9.1(912) Definitions. 

“Board” means crime victim assistance board. 

“Department” means Iowa department of justice. 

“Director” means director of the crime victim assistance division established in the department of justice. 

61—9.2(912) Board. 

 9.2(1) A crime victim assistance board is established pursuant to Iowa Code section 912.2A. 

 9.2(2) Members of the board shall serve terms for three years and are eligible for reappointment to the 

board by the attorney general. 

 9.2(3) The initial term of the board members shall commence on 7/1 of the state fiscal year. 

61—9.3(912) Expenses. 

 9.3(1) Board members shall be reimbursed from the victim’s compensation fund for expenses actually and 

necessarily incurred in the discharge of their duties including attendance at board meetings, board committee 

meetings, and other activities on behalf of the board as designated by the board chair and approved by the 

department. Reimbursement for expenses shall conform with guidelines established by the department of 

revenue. 

 9.3(2) A member of the board may receive, in addition to actual expense reimbursement, a per diem which 

conforms with guidelines established by the department of revenue. 

 9.3(3) Expenses of the board and individual members shall be submitted to the director. 

61—9.4(912) Chair of the board. 

 9.4(1) The attorney general shall select one of the members of the board to serve as chair of the board. The 

chair shall serve at the pleasure of the attorney general. 

 9.4(2) A member who is chair of the board and relinquishes or is removed as the chair may maintain board 

membership for the remainder of the term for which the member was originally appointed. 

61—9.5(912) Resignations. 

 9.5(1) Resignations from the board shall be made to the attorney general. 
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 9.5(2) Whenever a member of the board ceases to have the statutory qualifications for appointment to the 

board, that member shall be considered to have resigned and a vacancy shall occur on the board. 

 9.5(3) A board member shall be deemed to have submitted a resignation from the board if any of the 

following events occur: 

 a.  The member does not attend three or more consecutive regular meetings of the board. This paragraph 

does not apply unless the first and last of the consecutive meetings counted for this purpose are at least 30 days 

apart. 

 b.  The person attends less than one-half of the regular meetings of the board within any period of 12 

calendar months beginning July 1. This paragraph applies only to such a period beginning on or after the date 

when the person is appointed to the board. 

 c.  If the member receives no notice and had no knowledge of a regular meeting and gives the attorney 

general a sworn statement to that effect within ten days after the person learns of the meeting, such meeting 

shall not be counted for the purposes of this rule. 

 d.  The attorney general at the attorney general’s discretion may accept or reject such resignation. If the 

attorney general accepts it, the attorney general shall notify the member, in writing, that the resignation is 

accepted pursuant to this rule. The attorney general shall then make another appointment to fill the vacancy. 

61—9.6(912) Vacancies. Barring unusual circumstances, vacancies on the board shall be filled within 45 days 

after the attorney general is advised of the vacancy. Vacancies shall be filled for the remainder of the vacant 

term. 

61—9.7(912) Meetings. The board shall meet a minimum of once per quarter. The board may also meet at the 

call of the chair or upon the written request to the chair of at least five members of the board. 

61—9.8(912) Duties of board. The board shall adopt rules pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 17A relating to the 

administration of the crime victim assistance division including the adoption of administrative rules relating to 

the following: 

 1. Administration of grants received under the federal Victims of Crime Act of 1984 pursuant to Pub. L. 

No.98-473, Title 2, Chapter 14, 42 U.S.C. Section 10601, as amended by the Children’s Justice and Assistance 

Act of 1986, Pub. L. No.99-401, 100 Stat. 903 and as amended by the Anti-Drug Abuse Act of 1988, Title VII, 

subtitle D, Pub. L. No.100-690. 

 2. Administration of the Family Violence Prevention and Services Act grant pursuant to the federal Child 

Abuse Amendments of 1984, Pub. L. No.98-457, 42 U.S.C. Section 10401, reauthorized in 1988, Pub. L. No.100-

294. 

 3. Administration of the domestic abuse and rape crisis funds and the Iowa domestic abuse hotline funds 

provided in Iowa Code chapter 236. 

 4. Administration of other grants or funds available by public law for victim assistance and administered by 

the department. 

 5. Administration of the victim compensation program provided in Iowa Code chapter 912. 

 6. Administration of sexual abuse examination payments as provided in Iowa Code section 709.10. 

 7. Appeal procedures for victim compensation claims denied by the department. 

 8. Appeal procedures for grants administered by the department and denied by the board. 
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61—9.9(912) Director and staff. The attorney general shall employ a director and staff for the victim 

assistance division and they shall be employees of the department. 

61—9.10(912) Duties of department. In addition to the duties contained in Iowa Code section 13.13, the 

department shall: 

 1. Administer other funds, grants, or programs for victim assistance created by public law or the 

department. 

 2. Provide administrative support to the board. 

 3. Enter into agreements under Iowa Code chapter 28E or other law including agreements with other state 

agencies and political subdivisions for the transfer to the department of funds authorized by law for victim 

service programs. 

 4. Accept, use, and dispose of contributions of money, services, and property, which are made available by 

an agency or department of the state or any of its political subdivisions, the federal government, a private 

agency, or an individual, that are specifically designated for crime victim assistance programs.  

 

61—9.11 to 9.24 Reserved. 

DIVISION II 

CRIME VICTIM COMPENSATION 

61—9.25(915) Administration of the crime victim compensation program. The crime victim assistance 

division of the department of justice shall administer the crime victim compensation program as provided in 

Iowa Code chapter 915. All questions, comments, requests for information, or applications for compensation 

shall be directed to the crime victim assistance division. Requests should be addressed to: Crime Victim 

Assistance Division, Lucas State Office Building, Ground Floor, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, Iowa 50319; 

telephone (515)281-5044 or 1-800-373-5044. 

61—9.26(915) Definitions. For rules of the crime victim compensation program of the crime victim assistance 

division of the department of justice, the following definitions apply: 

“Affinity” means the relationship of persons who are related by marriage, cohabitation, or engagement to 

be married. 

“Applicant” includes the following individuals who file an application with the crime victim compensation 

program: 

 1. A victim of a crime as defined in Iowa Code section 915.80(6). 

 2. A person responsible for the care and maintenance of a victim. 

 3. A resident of Iowa who is the victim of an act that would be compensable had it occurred within the 

state of Iowa and the act occurred in a state or foreign country that does not have a victim compensation 

program as defined in the federal law. 

 4. In the event of a victim’s death, the spouse, children, parents, siblings, or persons cohabiting with or 

related by blood or affinity to the victim. An estate is not an eligible applicant for crime victim compensation. 

An estate shall, however, be reimbursed for funeral and burial expenses if the estate paid the costs on behalf of 

an eligible applicant who shall benefit from the proceeds of the estate. 
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 5. A legal representative authorized to act on behalf of any of the persons listed above. 

“Board” means the crime victim assistance board of the department of justice. 

“Causal relationship” means that the crime would not have occurred without the action of the victim. A 

causal relationship exists if the actions of the victim result in a foreseeable injury, play a substantial role in the 

injury, or directly cause the injury. 

“Claimant” means an applicant who has been found to be eligible for compensation. 

“Cohabiting” means living in the same household. It is not necessary to establish that a sexual relationship 

exists between the parties. 

“Compensation” means moneys awarded by the division as authorized in Iowa Code chapter 915. 

“Consent” means to agree to a course of action or to voluntarily allow what is planned or done by another. 

“Counseling” means problem solving and support concerning emotional issues that result from a 

compensable crime. Counseling is a confidential service provided in person on an individual basis or in a group. 

Counseling has as a primary purpose to enhance, protect and restore a person’s sense of well-being and social 

functioning. Counseling does not include victim advocacy services such as crisis telephone counseling; 

conversation in a nonprivate setting such as the common area of a shelter or a courthouse; transportation; or 

attendance at medical procedures, law enforcement interviews or civil and criminal justice proceedings. 

“Crime” as defined in Iowa Code section 915.80 includes: 

 1. Conduct punishable as a misdemeanor or a felony. 

 2. Property crimes including but not limited to robbery, residential burglary, and residential arson, where 

there is a threat of personal injury or harm against a person. 

 3. Violation of a custody order in which the custodial parent suffers injury. 

“Denial” means disqualification of an application or reduction in the amount of compensation paid. 

“Department” means the department of justice, attorney general’s office. 

“Dependent” means a person who is unable to care for himself or herself due to injury, disability, or minor 

age status. 

“Director” means the director of the crime victim assistance division established in the department of 

justice. 

“Division” means the crime victim assistance division of the department of justice. 

“Incitement” means to urge forward or to goad to action. 

“Income” or “wages” means gross income or gross wages. 

“Medical care” means services provided by or provided under the supervision of a person licensed under 

Iowa law as a medical physician or surgeon, osteopathic physician or surgeon, chiropractor, podiatrist, physical 

therapist, acupuncturist, or dentist. Medical care also includes services rendered in accordance with a method 

of healing sanctioned by a federally recognized sovereign nation or tribe. 

“Medically necessary” means items and services, prescribed by a medical provider under the prescriptive 

authority of the medical provider’s license, which are reasonably necessary to facilitate the victim’s physical and 

emotional recovery from the compensable crime. 
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“Pecuniary loss” means the amount of medical or medical-related expenses and shall include, but not be 

limited to, eyeglasses, hearing aids, dentures, prosthetic devices including those which were taken, lost, or 

destroyed during the crime, home health care, medications, counseling, pregnancy-related services, equipment 

rental or purchase, property alteration, transportation for emergencies and medical care provided outside the 

victim’s county of residence, or health insurance premiums covered by an employer previous to the victim’s 

disability from the crime. Pecuniary loss shall also include the loss of income that the victim has incurred as a 

direct result of the injury to the extent that the victim has not been and shall not be indemnified from any other 

source. 

“Personal injury” or “injury” means bodily harm or mental suffering and shall include a victim’s pregnancy or 

miscarriage resulting from a crime. 

“Program” means the crime victim compensation program of the department of justice. 

“Provocation” means to cause anger, resentment, or deep feelings that cause or instigate another to take 

action. 

“Public funds” means moneys provided by federal, state, county, city or other local government. 

“Reasonable charges” means charges ordinarily charged by the provider of the service to the general public 

for services of a similar nature. 

61—9.27(915) Duties of the division. The duties of the division shall include, but not be limited to, the duties 

provided for in Iowa Code sections 13.31 and 915.83, as well as: 

 1. To prepare appropriate forms for the filing and processing of compensation applications. 

 2. To conduct an administrative review of claims when a request for reconsideration is filed by an applicant 

with the director. 

 3. To receive moneys bequeathed, awarded, or donated to the crime victim assistance division by a public 

or private organization or individual. 

61—9.28(915) Application for compensation. An applicant may file an application for compensation by 

telephone or in writing within two years of the occurrence or discovery of a crime pursuant to Iowa Code 

section 915.84(1). For a victim of sexual abuse when the offender has been referred pursuant to Iowa Code 

chapter 229A, the date of the discovery of the crime shall be considered to be the date when the referral was 

made. The department may waive the requirements of Iowa Code section 915.84(1) if good cause is shown. 

 9.28(1) Application postmarked. An application postmarked within the prescribed time period shall be 

considered timely filed. 

 9.28(2) Good cause. In determining whether there is good cause for waiver of the two-year application filing 

requirement, the victim’s age, physical condition, psychological state, cultural or linguistic barriers, and any 

compelling health or safety reasons that would jeopardize the well-being of the victim may be considered. 

 9.28(3) Multiple erroneous claims. When two or more applications are filed by or on behalf of an individual 

applicant during a calendar month and the applications appear on initial review to be erroneous claims based 

on innocent misrepresentation or circumstances of a similar nature, the claims shall be treated as a single 

application. Verification shall be investigated for each crime recorded in a file with multiple erroneous 

applications. If any of the crimes recorded in a combined application are verified as compensable crimes, the 

applications for compensation for those crimes shall be separated from the combined file and assigned distinct 

application numbers. The department will notify the applicant whenever two or more applications have been 

combined as one application. 
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 9.28(4) Program effective date. The effective date of the crime victim compensation program is January 1, 

1983. Victims and survivors of crimes that were committed prior to the effective date are not eligible for 

compensation. 

 9.28(5) Concurrent primary and secondary applications. A victim may be both a primary victim and a 

secondary victim in the same crime. The secondary victim application shall not be opened until a benefit has 

been exhausted for the primary application and there is documentation of need for further benefits in that 

category. The secondary victim application shall be considered timely filed if the primary victim application was 

timely filed. 

 9.28(6) Concurrent secondary victim applications. A victim may be a secondary victim to multiple primary 

victims in a crime. A subsequent secondary victim application shall not be opened until a benefit has been 

exhausted in the first secondary victim application and there is documentation of need for further benefits in 

that category. Subsequent secondary victim applications shall be considered timely filed if the primary victim 

application was timely filed. 

61—9.29(915) Report to law enforcement. A person is not eligible for compensation unless the crime is 

reported to law enforcement pursuant to Iowa Code section 915.84(2). The department may waive the 

requirements of Iowa Code section 915.84(2) if good cause is shown. 

 9.29(1) Law enforcement report sources. The department finds there is good cause to accept that the report 

of a crime to any of the following is a report to law enforcement pursuant to Iowa Code section 915.84(2): 

 a.  Sheriffs and their regular deputies. 

 b.  Marshals and police officers of cities. 

 c.  Peace officers of the department of public safety. 

 d.  Special security officers employed by a board of regents institution as identified in Iowa Code section 

262.13. 

 e.  Peace officers as authorized by Iowa Code section 350.5 or 456A.13. 

 f.  Employees of the department of transportation who are designated “peace officers” by resolution of 

the department under Iowa Code section 321.477. 

 g.  Correctional officers, including parole and probation officers. 

 h.  County and state prosecutors. 

 i.  An employee of the department of human services having jurisdiction to investigate the incident. 

 j.  A magistrate or judge of the Iowa court system. 

 9.29(2) Elements of a report. A victim is considered to have made a report to law enforcement when the 

victim has provided a true and accurate report of the incident, which shall include to the best of the victim’s 

knowledge: 

 a.  The nature of the crime, 

 b.  The location of the crime, 

 c.  The name, whereabouts and description of the suspect, if known, and 

 d.  The names of witnesses, if known. 
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 9.29(3) Law enforcement record. A law enforcement trip record may satisfy the requirement that the crime 

be reported to law enforcement. 

 9.29(4) Good cause. In determining whether there is good cause for waiving the requirement to report a 

crime to law enforcement within 72 hours of the occurrence of the crime, the victim’s age, physical condition, 

psychological state, cultural or linguistic barriers, and any compelling health or safety reasons that would 

jeopardize the well-being of the victim may be considered. 

 9.29(5) Child victim. If the victim is a child as defined in Iowa Code section 232.2 and is reported to be a 

victim of child abuse, the department finds there is good cause to waive the 72-hour reporting requirement. 

 9.29(6) Dependent adult victim. If the victim is a dependent adult as defined in Iowa Code section 235B.2(4) 

and is reported to be a victim of dependent adult abuse, the department finds there is good cause to waive the 

72-hour reporting requirement. 

 9.29(7) Sexual abuse victim. For a victim of sexual abuse, the department finds there is good cause to waive 

the 72-hour reporting requirement if a sexual abuse evidentiary examination was completed within 72 hours of 

the crime and the victim files a subsequent law enforcement report. 

 9.29(8) Domestic abuse victim. For a victim of domestic abuse, the department finds there is good cause to 

waive the 72-hour reporting requirement if a pro se protection order pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 236 is 

entered by the court and the victim files a subsequent law enforcement report. 

 9.29(9) Victim of a sexually violent predator. For a victim of sexual abuse, the department finds good cause 

to waive the 72-hour reporting requirement when the offender is referred pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 229A. 

61—9.30(915) Cooperation with law enforcement. To be eligible for compensation, the victim of crime must 

cooperate with the reasonable requests of law enforcement. 

 9.30(1) Reasonable cooperation. Reasonable cooperation by the victim may include, but is not limited to, the 

following: 

 a.  Providing law enforcement with a true and accurate report of the crime. 

 b.  Participating in the investigation of the crime to assist law enforcement in the identification of a suspect 

as requested including the review of photographs, composites, and lineups. 

 c.  Participating in prosecution procedures including deposition and trial testimony as requested. 

 9.30(2) Determination of cooperation. In determining whether a victim reasonably cooperated with law 

enforcement, the division may consider the victim’s age, physical condition, psychological state, cultural or 

linguistic barriers, and any compelling health or safety reasons that would jeopardize the well-being of the 

victim. 

 9.30(3) Polygraph testing. In determining whether a victim reasonably cooperated with law enforcement, 

the refusal of a victim to undergo a polygraph examination shall not be the basis of denial. 

 9.30(4) Sexual abuse victim. A victim of sexual abuse shall be deemed to have reasonably cooperated with 

law enforcement if the victim undergoes a sexual abuse evidentiary examination. 

 9.30(5) Domestic abuse victim. A victim of domestic abuse shall be deemed to have reasonably cooperated 

with law enforcement if a report of the crime was made to law enforcement. 

61—9.31(915) Contributory conduct. The division shall reduce or disqualify compensation when there is a 

causal relationship between the contributory conduct on the part of the victim and the victim’s injury or death. 

Contributory conduct includes consent, provocation, or incitement of the crime on the part of the victim. 
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 9.31(1) Consent, provocation, and incitement. In assessing consent, provocation or incitement on the part of 

the victim pursuant to Iowa Code section 915.87(2)“a,” the division may consider factors including, but not 

limited to, the following: 

 a.  Whether charges are filed against the suspect; 

 b.  Whether the victim attempted to withdraw from the incident; 

 c.  Comparable or reasonable force on the part of the suspect in response to an action of the victim; 

 d.  The amount of time from the beginning of the interaction between the victim and the suspect and the 

criminal act committed by the suspect; 

 e.  The age of the victim; and 

 f.  Comparable size or strength of the victim and suspect. 

 9.31(2) Additional assessment of consent. In assessing the causal nature of consent pursuant to Iowa Code 

section 915.87(2)“a,” the division may consider the victim’s age, physical condition, psychological state, cultural 

or linguistic barriers, and any compelling health or safety reasons that would jeopardize the well-being of the 

victim. 

 9.31(3) Consent in intoxicated driving cases. A victim who was the passenger in the vehicle of a driver who 

has been determined to have been legally intoxicated at the time of the crash shall not be automatically denied 

eligibility for compensation. The division may consider whether the victim could have reasonably known the 

intoxication level of the driver, the driver’s behavior or judgment appeared impaired, the victim encouraged or 

discouraged the driver from driving, or the victim’s judgment was impaired. 

 9.31(4) Additional assessment of provocation and incitement. In assessing the causal nature of provocation or 

incitement pursuant to Iowa Code section 915.87(2)“a,” the division may consider law enforcement 

documentation that indicates: 

 a.  Retaliatory action. The crime was committed as retaliation for a prior physical assault or injury 

committed by the victim against the perpetrator, and the victim could have reasonably foreseen the likelihood 

of retaliation. 

 b.  Gang action. The crime was a direct result of gang activity, including gang initiation, or was inflicted as 

retaliation for prior gang activity in which the victim participated in a criminal street gang as defined in Iowa 

Code section 723A.1(2). 

 c.  Mutual combat. The crime was an incident of mutual combat if the victim: 

 (1) Initiated a physical altercation; 

 (2) Made a credible threat of bodily harm against the person, took action to indicate the intent to carry out 

the threat and a physical altercation immediately followed; or 

 (3) Accepted a verbal challenge to engage in a physical altercation, took action to indicate acceptance of 

the challenge and a physical altercation immediately followed. 

 d.  Exception to mutual combat. Incitement and provocation are not present in an incident of mutual 

combat when a significant escalation of the fight, such as the introduction of a deadly weapon, is made by a 

person other than the victim or when a third party becomes involved resulting in more serious injury than the 

victim could have reasonably expected. 

 9.31(5) Victim’s criminal act. Contributory conduct includes assisting in, attempting, or committing a 
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criminal act by the victim. A causal relationship must be documented between the injury or death for which 

compensation is sought and the criminal act of the victim. 

61—9.32(915) Eligibility for compensation. The program shall determine the eligibility of an application for 

compensation. 

 9.32(1) Determination of eligibility. A denial of eligibility shall be based on written documentation that an 

application does not satisfy the requirements of Iowa Code chapter 915. An applicant shall be deemed eligible 

for compensation if the division has not obtained written documentation supporting a denial within six months 

of the date of the application. Notwithstanding the foregoing, the division may extend the determination of 

eligibility beyond six months if a court date or grand jury hearing is pending and is reasonably expected to result 

in information necessary to render an eligibility decision. 

 9.32(2) Reopening applications. Pursuant to Iowa Code section 915.83(2), the department may reopen and 

reinvestigate an application if the department determines that the decision was incorrect or incomplete. A 

denied application may be reopened and reinvestigated if it is discovered through a criminal trial or other 

investigatory source that the information relied upon for the denial decision was incorrect or incomplete. The 

eligibility of an approved application will be reopened for consideration if information is discovered through a 

criminal trial or other investigatory source that indicates that there is reason to deny the application. The 

reopening of a denied or approved case is at the discretion of the administrator for the compensation program. 

 9.32(3) Withdrawal of application. An applicant may withdraw the application for compensation from 

consideration. 

 9.32(4) Maximum compensation. Compensation shall be reduced or disqualified to the extent that the 

maximum compensation allowable pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 915 and these rules has been awarded. 

61—9.33(915) Emergency award of compensation. Emergency awards of compensation may be made if the 

applicant has incurred a loss of income or pecuniary loss as a direct result of the crime. 

 9.33(1) Preliminary eligibility determination. The program must determine that the application is likely to be 

eligible based on documentation available including, at minimum, the law enforcement verification form 

provided to law enforcement by the program. 

 9.33(2) Documentation. To make an emergency award of compensation, the program must have 

documentation of the lost wages or the pecuniary loss. 

 9.33(3) Emergency award decision. A decision denying an emergency award shall not be appealable. 

 9.33(4) Offset. Any emergency award shall be deducted from the final award of compensation made to the 

claimant. 

61—9.34(915) Computation of compensation. The division shall determine the amount of compensation to be 

awarded to an eligible applicant. 

 9.34(1) Benefit limits. Compensation shall be made up to the benefit category limits in effect on the date 

the application is filed. For an eligible victim of sexual abuse when the offender has been referred pursuant to 

Iowa Code chapter 229A, compensation shall be paid for expenses incurred after referral of the offender. 

 9.34(2) Payer-of-last-resort. The program is a payer-of-last-resort pursuant to federal law 42 U.S.C. 

10602(1403). Compensation shall not be paid for services when the provision for those services is mandated by 

law or administrative rule to be the responsibility of another governmental unit, private agency or program. 

Payments shall be reduced by payments made by offenders and third parties responsible for the damages of 

the crime. 
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 9.34(3) Voluntary financial programs. Compensation applicants will be encouraged to apply for other 

financial assistance programs to pay costs resulting from the crime-related injury. However, no applicant will be 

denied compensation benefits based on the applicant’s refusal to seek funds from a voluntary financial 

assistance program. 

 9.34(4) Insurance providers. Eligible victims and claimants must give service providers the information 

necessary to bill insurance providers for crime-related treatment. Payment of compensation will not be made if 

the victim refuses or fails to provide information requested by the service or insurance provider or sign the 

required assignment of benefits within a reasonable time frame. 

 9.34(5) Supplanting of funds prohibited. Compensation shall be made only when the claimant is responsible 

for the cost of crime-related injury. Compensation shall not be paid when a government entity, including but 

not limited to a mental health facility, jail, or prison, is responsible for the costs of treatment for injury from 

crime. 

61—9.35(915) Computation of benefit categories. The division shall determine the amount of compensation 

to be awarded to an eligible applicant for injury from crime for each benefit category pursuant to Iowa Code 

section 985.86. 

 9.35(1) Medical care. Compensation may be paid for the reasonable expenses of medical care provided to 

eligible crime victims by, or under the supervision of, a person licensed by the state under Iowa Code chapter 

147, 148, 148A, 148E, 149, 150A, 151, 152C, or 153. When preexisting medical conditions are treated during 

crime-related medical care, the program may reduce payment to a percentage equal to the portion of the 

medical care determined to be directly related to the compensable crime. Medical care expenses include the 

following: 

 a.  Medical care sanctioned by sovereign nations and tribes. Compensation may be paid for medical care 

rendered in accordance with a method of healing sanctioned by a federally recognized sovereign nation or 

tribe. 

 b.  Medical counseling costs. Compensation may be paid for counseling provided under the direct 

supervision of a psychiatrist or other physician and shall be applied toward the medical benefit maximum. 

 c.  Medical care for homicide victim survivors. Compensation may be paid to the spouse, child, parent, 

sibling, or person related by blood or affinity to a homicide victim for the same types of medical care which are 

allowable for primary victims, including but not limited to hospital and physician care, psychiatric care, 

prescriptions, and transportation expenses related to injury from the crime. 

 d.  Medical equipment and property alteration. Compensation may be paid for equipment and property 

alteration which are prescribed as medically necessary care due to injury from the crime. 

 e.  Medical supplies. Compensation may be paid for medical care supplies and incidental supplies necessary 

for medical care due to injury from the crime. 

 f.  Medical care for pregnancy. Compensation may be paid for medical care costs related to pregnancy 

resulting from the crime of sexual abuse. Eligible expenses for care of the victim shall be paid. Expenses 

incurred for care of a newborn child are not compensable. 

 g.  Medical devices. Compensation may be paid for the replacement of a medical device including but not 

limited to a sight or hearing device, dentures, prosthetic device, wheelchair, and medication that was taken, 

lost or destroyed during the crime. 

 h.  Transportation for medical emergency. Compensation may be paid for the reasonable cost of 

transportation in a medical emergency by private vehicle at the state rate for boards and commissions per mile. 
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Mileage will be based on mileage calculation from the most current map published by the department of 

transportation. Transportation within a city limits will be based on the program’s estimate of mileage from the 

location of the injured victim to the medical facility. 

 i.  Transportation for nonemergency care. Compensation may be paid for the cost of transportation by 

commercial vehicle or by private car for nonemergency medical care and counseling received outside of the 

victim’s county of residence. Transportation provided by private vehicle for nonemergency care will be 

reimbursed at the state rate for boards and commissions per mile. Mileage will be based on mileage calculation 

from the most current map published by the department of transportation. 

 j.  Transportation medical benefit. Compensation may be paid for transportation from the applicable 

medical care or counseling benefit category. The available funds to the victim from the applicable benefit 

category will be reduced by the amount of compensation paid for transportation. 

 k.  Health insurance. Compensation may be paid for premiums to continue a health insurance policy that 

was provided in whole or in part by the victim’s employer prior to the crime and the employment ceased as a 

result of the crime. 

 9.35(2) Medical care records. When compensation for medical care is requested, the provider shall submit 

medical records that document the care provided and show that the medical care is for injury from crime. 

 9.35(3) Mental health counseling. Compensation may be paid for the reasonable costs of mental health 

counseling for eligible crime victims and survivors of a homicide victim. When preexisting mental health issues 

are addressed during crime-related counseling, the program may reduce payment to a percentage equal to the 

portion of the counseling determined to be directly related to the compensable crime. The mental health 

counseling provider shall submit a vitae establishing the provider’s educational qualifications for compensation. 

A provider who is required to be licensed under Iowa law must provide proof of licensure and good standing 

with the professional licensing board. Compensation shall be paid for mental health counseling provided by the 

following: 

 a.  Master’s level counselor. Compensation may be paid for mental health counseling provided by a person 

holding at least a master’s degree in a mental health or counseling field including but not limited to social work, 

psychology, guidance and counseling, behavioral sciences, art therapy, marriage and family therapy, child life 

therapy, and advanced mental health registered nursing. 

 b.  Supervised mental health counselor. Compensation may be paid for mental health counseling provided 

by a counselor who does not have a master’s degree but is under the supervision of a counselor with a master’s 

degree. The supervising mental health counselor must sign the session notes which must be submitted for 

review by the program. 

 c.  Intern mental health counselors. Compensation may be paid for mental health counseling provided by an 

intern candidate for a master’s degree when the counseling is provided within a course of professional 

education and the intern is supervised by a provider eligible for compensation. 

 d.  Out-of-state providers. Compensation may be paid to mental health counselors outside Iowa who 

provide services to victims of crime eligible for the Iowa program if the mental health counselor meets the 

professional licensure criteria of the state in which the counselor works. 

 9.35(4) Mental health counseling records. When compensation for mental health counseling is requested, 

the provider shall complete verification forms related to the counseling as follows: 

 a.  Treatment plan and certification form. Information submitted on the treatment plan and certification 

form shall include, but not be limited to, a summary of the initial evaluation, any preexisting mental health 

diagnoses currently being treated, current diagnoses, issues addressed, counseling goals, expected length of 
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counseling services, and certification of the percentage of mental health counseling directly related to issues 

arising from the victimization. 

 b.  Treatment progress and certification form. At six-month intervals for the duration of the crime-related 

mental health counseling, the provider shall submit a treatment progress and certification form. Information on 

the form shall include progress on previously stated goals of counseling, current goals, current diagnosis, 

expected length of additional counseling, and certification of the percentage of mental health counseling 

directly related to issues arising from the victimization. 

 c.  Session notes. The program may require submission of session notes to determine if the mental health 

counseling is directly related to the crime when: 

 (1) The counseling expenses for a victim exceed $3,000. 

 (2) The provider has not completed the treatment and certification plan with statement of the percentage 

of treatment directly related to the crime. 

 (3) The counseling begins, or is provided, more than one year after the crime. 

 (4) The treatment plan or progress summary indicates that the victim is receiving treatment for a diagnosis 

or issue not exacerbated by the crime. 

 9.35(5) Victim service counseling. Reasonable charges for counseling provided by a victim counselor as 

defined in Iowa Code sections 236A.1 and 915.20A, when fees for services to the general public for services of a 

similar nature have not previously been established, may be paid within the following guidelines: 

 a.  Counselors funded with VOCA. Counseling provided by victim counselors whose position is funded, in 

whole or in part, or whose position is used as match requirement for federal Victims of Crime Act fund shall not 

be eligible for compensation payment. 

 b.  Computation of victim service counseling expenses. Counseling services provided to an eligible victim 

by a victim counselor may be compensated as follows: 

 (1) Individual counseling at an hourly rate of $35. 

 (2) Group counseling at an hourly rate of $20. 

 c.  Compensation paid, combined with other funding sources for the service, shall not be in excess of the 

total cost of providing the counseling hour. 

 9.35(6) Victim service counseling records. A record of each counseling session shall be maintained in the 

victim’s file including the date of service, the length of service, the name of the victim counselor who provided 

the service, the general topics addressed, and referrals made. 

 9.35(7) Counseling with the perpetrator. Compensation for mental health or victim service counseling that 

includes the perpetrator of the crime may be payable when the perpetrator takes part only to take 

responsibility for the crime and apologize to the victim and the victim is allowed to confront the perpetrator 

regarding the effects of the crime. 

 9.35(8) Family counseling. Compensation for family mental health or victim service counseling may be paid 

only for sessions where the victim is present and the focus of the session is to assist the victim in recovery from 

a compensable crime. 

 9.35(9) Lost wages or income. Compensation may be paid for reasonable lost wages or income when an 

eligible crime victim is unable to work as the result of injury from crime or as a result of cooperation with the 

investigation or prosecution of the crime. Lost wages or income due to crime is determined as follows: 
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 a.  Gross wages computed. Lost wages are computed as the gross rate of pay times the number of 

scheduled hours of work missed. 

 b.  Variable income. Income that is variable shall be computed based on the average income earned during 

a minimum 28-day period within the three months preceding the crime. Estimated earnings not supported by 

past income statements shall not be accepted. 

 c.  Self-employment and small business income. Self-employed persons or small business employees must 

provide federal or state income tax forms for the most recent year completed or verification of average income 

for a minimum of the past six months. Work estimates, labor contracts, and affidavits from individual 

employers may be used to establish wages. 

 d.  Vacation, sick, holiday and annual leave. Lost wages or income paid shall not be reduced by vacation, 

sick, holiday, or annual leave available or used by the victim due to the crime. 

 9.35(10) Lost wages or income due to disability. Compensation shall be paid for lost wages incurred by an 

eligible crime victim within two weeks after injury from crime or an eligible survivor of a homicide victim for up 

to five days within two weeks after the death of a victim without an authorized disability statement. 

Compensation for lost wages may be paid to the spouse, child, or parent of the homicide victim for up to one 

month without a disability statement as determined reasonable by the program. A victim or survivor of a 

homicide victim seeking lost wages for a longer period of time shall submit a disability statement from a 

licensed physician for a physical injury or an injury related to mental health, or from a licensed mental health 

provider as included in paragraph 9.35(3)“a” for an injury related to mental health. Compensation shall be made 

for lost wages under the following circumstances: 

 a.  Victim injured. Compensation may be paid when the victim cannot work due to injury from crime. 

 b.  Lost hire income. Compensation may be paid when the victim has been hired by an employer but is 

unable to begin employment because of injury due to the crime, until released to work. Required 

documentation includes a signed affidavit by the employer. 

 c.  Employment terminated. Compensation may be paid when the victim is terminated from employment 

as a result of crime-related injuries, until released to seek work. 

 d.  Unemployment eligible. Compensation may be paid for the difference between the victim’s gross wage 

and the unemployment benefit when the victim is terminated from employment because of injury from crime 

and is found to be eligible for unemployment benefits. 

 e.  Unemployment ineligibility. Compensation may be paid for the amount of the victim’s unemployment 

benefit when the victim is rendered ineligible for unemployment benefits because of injury from the crime, until 

the victim is released to work. 

 f.  Worker compensation benefit eligible. Compensation may be paid for the difference between the victim’s 

gross wage and the worker compensation benefit when the victim is unable to work because of injury from 

crime and is found to be eligible for worker compensation benefits. 

 g.  Medical and counseling appointments. Compensation may be paid to a primary victim, the parent or 

guardian of a minor aged primary victim, or the caretaker of a dependent adult primary victim for wages lost 

due to medical care or counseling appointments for the victim. 

 9.35(11) Lost wages or income during investigation and prosecution. Compensation may be paid for lost 

wages incurred by an eligible primary victim, survivor of a homicide victim as described in Iowa Code section 

915.86(8), parent or guardian of a minor aged primary victim, or caretaker of a dependent primary victim while 

cooperating with the investigation and prosecution of the crime including, but not limited to, participation at 
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identification sessions, arraignment, deposition, plea agreement meetings, trial, sentencing, parole and 

probation hearings, and sexually violent predator civil commitment proceedings. 

 9.35(12) Residential crime scene cleanup. Compensation may be paid for the reasonable costs of an eligible 

victim or applicant for cleaning a residential crime scene, which includes a home, or a private vehicle in which 

the crime was committed. Cleaning a residential crime scene means to remove, or attempt to remove, from the 

crime scene blood, dirt, stains, or other debris caused by the crime or the processing of the crime scene. 

Compensation shall be paid for the reasonable out-of-pocket cost of cleaning supplies, equipment rental, labor, 

and the value of property which is essential to the victim and which is held by law enforcement for evidentiary 

purposes. Cleaning a residential crime scene does not include replacement or repair of property damaged in the 

crime. 

 9.35(13) Loss of support. Compensation for loss of support may be paid for the dependents of an eligible 

homicide victim or of a victim disabled for a period of 60 days or more when the applicant documents that the 

dependent relied on the victim wholly or partially for physical care or financial support. 

 a.  Period of dependency. Compensation may be paid for loss of support for the remaining period of 

dependency, up to the limits established in Iowa Code section 915.86(5), in an amount equal to the lost wages 

or income the victim was earning at the time of death or disability. The amount of compensation shall be 

subject to reduction by the amount of collateral sources designated as support pursuant to Iowa Code section 

915.87(1). 

 b.  Dependent care. Compensation may be paid for loss of support at the current hourly rate of the Iowa 

minimum wage for dependent care provided by a person other than the victim if the victim was providing 

physical care to the dependent at the time of the crime. 

 9.35(14) Clothing and bedding. Compensation may be paid for clothing and bedding held as evidence by law 

enforcement and not returned to the victim. Compensation shall not be made for the clothing of a deceased 

victim which is held as evidence. 

 9.35(15) Funeral and burial expenses. Compensation may be paid for reasonable expenses incurred for the 

funeral and burial or cremation for an eligible crime victim. The following expenses may be paid up to the 

maximum expense established in Iowa Code section 915.86(4): 

 a.  Funeral service. Compensation may be paid for expenses related to funeral and burial or cremation 

preparation and services. 

 b.  Burial plot and vessel. Compensation may be paid for the cost of a burial plot, vault, casket, urn, or other 

permissible vessel. 

 c.  Burial effects. Compensation may be paid for miscellaneous funeral and burial expenses including, but 

not limited to, flowers, burial clothing for the victim, transportation of the victim’s body, and travel and lodging 

expenses for survivors of the homicide victim as described in Iowa Code section 915.87(8) with priority for the 

surviving spouse, children, and parents of the victim. Documentation must be provided for all miscellaneous 

funeral and burial expenses. 

61—9.36(915) Appeal of compensation decisions. An applicant shall be informed in writing of the basis for the 

denial of eligibility or the amount of an award. 

 9.36(1) Applicant appeal. An applicant may appeal a compensation decision as follows: 

 a.  Appeal to director. An applicant aggrieved by a denial decision or the amount of compensation awarded 

by the program may appeal to the director. 

 b.  Appeal to board. An applicant may appeal the director’s decision to the board. 
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 c.  Appeal to district court. An applicant who disagrees with the decision of the board has the right to appeal 

to the district court for judicial review within 30 days of receipt of the board’s decision. 

 9.36(2) Director appeal period. An applicant shall submit to the director a written request for reconsideration 

within 30 days of the date the notice of the crime victim compensation program decision is mailed or otherwise 

issued by the division. Any request for reconsideration postmarked within the prescribed time period shall be 

considered timely filed by the division. Barring any unusual circumstances, within 30 days of the receipt of the 

request for reconsideration, the director shall issue a decision. 

 9.36(3) Board appeal period. An applicant may file with the board a request for consideration of the 

director’s decision. This written request for consideration by the board shall be submitted within 30 days of the 

date the notice of the director’s decision is mailed or otherwise issued by the director. Any request for review 

postmarked within the prescribed time period shall be considered timely filed by the division. Barring any 

unusual circumstances, within 90 days of the receipt of the request, the board, or a committee designated by 

the chair of not fewer than five members of the board, shall issue a decision. 

 9.36(4) District court appeal period. An applicant shall submit a petition for judicial review to the district 

court within 30 days of the receipt of the notice of the board’s decision. 

61—9.37(17A) Waiver from rules. This rule establishes a uniform process for granting waivers from rules 

adopted by the board governing the crime victim compensation program. 

 9.37(1) When waiver is appropriate. The board may grant a waiver from a rule the board has adopted if the 

board has rule-making authority to promulgate the rule, and no statute or rule otherwise controls the granting 

of a waiver from the rule. No waiver may be granted from a rule that defines a term. No waiver may be granted 

from a requirement that is imposed by statute. Any waiver must be consistent with statute. 

 9.37(2) Criteria for discretionary waivers. The board may grant a waiver from a rule, in whole or in part, in 

response to a request from an applicant or on the board’s own motion, as applied to a specific claim, if the 

board finds that: 

 a.  The application of the rule to the claim at issue would result in hardship or injustice to the person 

seeking compensation; and 

 b.  The waiver would be consistent with the public interest or the public interest will be protected by other 

means substantially equivalent to full compliance with the rule; and 

 c.  The waiver in the specific case would not prejudice the substantial legal rights of any person. 

 9.37(3) Board discretion. The decision about whether the circumstances justify the granting of a waiver shall 

be made at the sole discretion of the board, upon consideration of all relevant factors. 

 9.37(4) Criteria for mandatory waivers. In response to an applicant’s request, the board shall grant a waiver 

from a rule, in whole or in part, as applied to the particular circumstances, if the board finds that the application 

of the rule in that specific case would not, to any extent, advance or serve any of the purposes of the rule. 

 9.37(5) Administrative deadlines. When the rule from which a waiver is sought establishes deadlines, the 

board shall balance the specific individual circumstances of the applicant with the overall goal of uniform 

treatment of all applicants. 

 9.37(6) Conditions. The board may condition the granting of a waiver on reasonable conditions to achieve 

the objectives of the particular rule in question through alternative means. 

 9.37(7) Public availability of waiver decisions. A board decision granting or denying a waiver shall be included 

in the board minutes with reference to the following: 
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 a.  The particular case and the rule or portion thereof to which the decision pertains; 

 b.  The relevant facts and reasons upon which the action is based; and 

 c.  The scope and operative period of the waiver if one is issued. 

Subject to the provisions of Iowa Code section 17A.3(1)“e,” the department shall maintain a record of all 

orders granting and denying waivers under this chapter. All waiver decisions shall be indexed and available to 

members of the public at the crime victim assistance division office. 

 9.37(8) Voiding or cancellation. A waiver is void if the material facts upon which the request is based are not 

true or if material facts have been withheld. The board may at any time cancel a waiver upon notice to the 

victim by regular mail and an opportunity to be heard, if: 

 a.  The facts as stated in the request are not true or material facts have been withheld, or 

 b.  The applicant has failed to comply with the conditions of the waiver. 

 9.37(9) Effectiveness of waiver. After the board issues a waiver, a person seeking compensation may rely on 

the terms of that waiver for the purposes of the particular case for which it was issued. A waiver shall only be 

effective in the case for which it is issued. 

 9.37(10) Appeals from waiver decisions. Any request for an appeal from a decision granting or denying a 

waiver shall be in accordance with the procedures provided in Iowa Code chapter 17A and the board’s rules. An 

appeal shall be taken within 30 days of the issuance of the waiver decision unless a contrary time is provided by 

rule or statute. 

These rules are intended to implement Iowa Code sections 915.80 through 915.94. 

61—9.38 to 9.49 Reserved. 

DIVISION III 

VICTIM SERVICES GRANT PROGRAM 

(Victim Services Support Program) 

61—9.50(13) Administration of the victim services grant program. The victim services grant program of the 

Iowa department of justice shall administer the victim services grants as provided in Iowa Code chapters 13 and 

236. All questions, comments, requests for information, or applications for grant funds shall be directed to the 

victim services grant program. Requests should be addressed to: Crime Victim Assistance Division, Iowa 

Department of Justice, 321 East 12th Street, Lucas State Office Building, Ground Floor, Des Moines, Iowa 

50319, telephone (515)281-5044. 

61—9.51(13) Definitions. As used in this chapter: 

“Applicant” means a public or private nonprofit program that provides direct services to crime victims or 

training and technical assistance to crime victim service providers and that makes a request for funds from the 

victim services grant program. 

“Application” means a request which complies with federal and state requirements for funds from the 

following funding streams: 

 1. The federal Victims of Crime Act. 

 2. The state domestic and sexual abuse program funds provided for in Iowa Code chapter 236. 
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 3. The federal Family Violence Prevention and Services Act. 

 4. The federal Violence Against Women Act. 

 5. Other grants or funds available by law for crime victim assistance. 

“Board” means the crime victim assistance board. 

“Competitive grant” means a grant for which the division solicits a request for proposals (RFP) from eligible 

applicants, reviews the applications for eligibility and completeness, and then convenes a grant review 

committee to recommend grant awards to the crime victim assistance board. 

“Crime victim center” means a crime victim center as defined in Iowa Code section 915.20A(1). 

“Department” means the Iowa department of justice. 

“Director” means director of the crime victim assistance division of the Iowa department of justice. 

“Division” means the crime victim assistance division of the Iowa department of justice. 

“Focus grant” means a one-time grant for specific activities, including but not limited to training, travel, or 

materials, awarded at the discretion of the division directly to a program that has received a competitive grant 

in the fiscal year. 

“Funding stream” means a distinct source of federal or state funding available for grants. 

“Grant” means a competitive or focus grant award to a local or statewide government or private nonprofit 

agency. 

“Grantee” means a local or statewide government or private nonprofit agency that is awarded or receives 

funds from the crime victim assistance division. 

“Grant review committee” means a division committee designated to review grant applications. 

“Justice support” means duties performed in the justice system related to investigation, prosecution, or 

disposition of a criminal case that assist or inform a victim of crime. 

“Program” means the victim services grant program of the Iowa department of justice. 

“RFP” means request for proposals. 

“Victim” means a crime victim as defined in Iowa Code section 915.80. 

61—9.52(13) Program description. Any eligible local or statewide government or private nonprofit agency or a 

combination thereof may apply for and receive a grant through the program. The program shall operate as a 

competitive and focus grants program and be administered by the department. A contractual agreement 

specifying the terms of the grant award shall be executed between the department and the approved applicant. 

61—9.53(13) Availability of grants. In any year in which federal or state funds are available, the division shall 

administer grants with eligible applicants. The amount of the funds awarded shall be contingent upon the funds 

available. The director shall announce the opening of an application period through public notice including but 

not limited to notice to current grantees and other eligible agencies identified by the program. Applications 

must be received by the designated due date. 

 9.53(1) Competitive grants will be awarded based on the availability of funds, history and demonstration of 

quality of services provided, compliance with the requirements of the division, number of victims served or 

cases investigated and prosecuted, population served, and geographical distribution of funds in the state. A 
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preference shall be given to continued funding of successful grantees. 

 9.53(2) Focus grants will be awarded at the discretion of the director and of the deputy attorney general 

who oversees the division. Funds utilized for focus grants must comply with all applicable state and federal 

rules and regulations. The total of focus grants from one funding source may not exceed 3 percent of the funds 

available from the funding source in one state fiscal year. 

61—9.54(13) Application requirements. Applicants shall submit applications to: Crime Victim Assistance 

Division, Iowa Department of Justice, 321 East 12th Street, Lucas State Office Building, Ground Floor, Des 

Moines, Iowa 50319. Applications shall be in the form prescribed by the division and shall be available upon 

request to all interested parties. 

 9.54(1) To be included in the review process and considered for funding, an application shall be received in the 

offices of the division by 4:30 p.m. on the due date. Applications may be delivered to the division during 

regular business hours anytime prior to the deadline. An extension of the filing deadline may be requested of 

the director or grant administrator prior to the deadline and may be granted for good cause. The determination 

of a good cause extension by the division director shall be final. 

 9.54(2) An applicant shall have on file with the division current copies of the applicant’s table of 

organization and articles of incorporation as required. 

 9.54(3) An applicant shall have on file with the division evidence of any insurance coverage the applicant 

carries for liability or property. 

 9.54(4) The division may allow combined applications from two or more agencies if a combined application 

will encourage cooperation between those agencies on behalf of crime victims. Each agency receiving funds 

under a combined application shall sign a grant contract for the use of awarded funds. 

61—9.55(13) Contents of application. Each application shall contain the following information: 

 9.55(1) A paragraph describing the agencies or units of government requesting the funds. 

 9.55(2) A description of services for which funding is being requested. The description shall include, but not 

be limited to, the following: 

 a.  The geographical area to be served. 

 b.  The crime victim population to be served. 

 c.  Victim eligibility requirements for the applicant’s services. 

 d.  A description of substantial financial support from other sources. 

 e.  The intended use of volunteers, if any. 

 f.  The stated goals and objectives of the program. 

 g.  A description of the proposed victim service, training, or technical assistance to be implemented during 

the funding year. 

 h.  The amount of grant funds requested. 

 i.  The amount of cash or in-kind resources or combination thereof which is committed where required by 

the division. 

 j.  A description of how the proposed victim service, training, or technical assistance will provide or 

improve services to victims of crime. 
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 k.  Proof of coordination with appropriate agencies at the local level. 

 l.  A total program budget for all services provided by the applicant’s crime victim program. 

 m.  A proposed budget for the requested grant funds. 

 n.  A list of other anticipated sources of income, including written commitments, if possible, and plans for 

continued funding of the grant-funded activities. 

 o.  Other information identified in the RFP. 

 p.  Signed certified assurances as required by statute or regulation. 

61—9.56(13) Eligibility requirements. Funds must be used only to provide victim services, or justice support to 

victims of crime, and training or technical assistance to victim service providers and allied professionals. 

Program grants shall not be used to supplant other available or mandated funds. An applicant must meet the 

following requirements: 

 9.56(1) The applicant shall be a public agency or private nonprofit organization, or combination thereof, 

that provides services to crime victims or training and technical assistance to victim service providers and allied 

professionals. 

 9.56(2) The applicant shall provide services to victims of crime through crime victim centers, law 

enforcement officers, prosecutors, and other allied professionals. Services provided to victims by crime victim 

centers shall include but are not limited to crisis intervention, law enforcement and court advocacy, group and 

individual follow-up counseling, transportation, and information and referral. 

 9.56(3) An applicant providing services to victims of domestic abuse must also provide or arrange safe 

shelter for victims and their children when needed at no cost to the victims. To ensure staff training and best 

practice standards, preference will be given to domestic abuse programs certified by the Iowa Coalition Against 

Domestic Violence. 

 9.56(4) An applicant providing services to victims of sexual abuse must also provide support to victims at 

the time of an evidentiary sexual abuse examination. To ensure staff training and best practice standards, 

preference will be given to sexual abuse programs certified by the Iowa Coalition Against Sexual Assault. 

 9.56(5) The applicant shall promote within the community a coordinated public and private effort to assist 

victims. 

 9.56(6) The applicant shall be an equal-opportunity employer and provide services on an equal-opportunity 

basis. 

 9.56(7) The applicant shall comply with applicable federal and state statutes and rules, all requirements 

specified in the grant between the department and any outside funding source, and all requirements in the RFP 

or any other contractual document. 

 9.56(8) The applicant shall assist victims in seeking state compensation benefits. 

 9.56(9) The applicant shall have a grievance procedure established for victims, employees and volunteers. 

 9.56(10) The applicant shall ensure that all employees and volunteers of crime victim centers that provide 

direct services to victims are trained as victim counselors as defined in Iowa Code section 915.20A. 

 9.56(11) The applicant shall provide services within the geographical service area without regard to a 

victim’s ability to pay. 

 9.56(12) An existing program must document results of prior programming that demonstrate that the 
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needs of victims have been met effectively and that the applicant has financial support from other sources. 

61—9.57(13) Selection process. The division shall conduct a preliminary review of each application to ensure 

that the applicant is eligible, the application is complete, and the proposed victim service, training or technical 

assistance is consistent with the division’s mission of providing quality assistance to crime victims and crime 

victim programs throughout the state. 

 9.57(1) In selection of competitive grantees, the division may utilize generally accepted methods of grant 

review including but not limited to checklists, quality scales, written comments by grant review committee 

members, and formulas based on past funding, population, clients served and available funds. 

 9.57(2) In selection of competitive grantees, the division shall establish a grant review committee. The 

committee shall submit recommendations for grant awards to the director. The director shall submit to the 

board the recommendations of the grant review committee and any alternative recommendations by the 

program staff. 

 a.  The committee shall be comprised of representatives from the crime victim assistance board and 

experts in the fields of victim services, grant administration and management, and criminal justice. 

 b.  The division shall provide the committee with information related to the applicant’s performance with 

previous grants, the quality and quantity of services provided, and community support for the applicant. 

 c.  The committee shall review the content of the grant applications and information provided by the 

division and members of the committee regarding the applicant and the geographical area to be served. 

 9.57(3) The board shall consider the recommendations of the grant review committee and the director to 

determine final competitive grant awards to the extent that funds are available and to the extent to which 

applications meet the RFP criteria. The board may reject any or all applications. 

 9.57(4) In selection of grantees for a focus grant, a written proposal shall be solicited from current grantees. 

Interested grantees shall submit a proposal to the director outlining the purpose, cost, and outcome of the 

proposed grant. The director shall submit a recommendation to the deputy attorney general for criminal justice 

who shall make a final decision based on the availability of funds and the merits of the proposal. 

61—9.58(13) Notification of applicants. An applicant shall be notified within 90 days after the application due 

date whether the application has been denied or approved by the board and the amount of funds approved for 

the application. 

61—9.59(13) Request for reconsideration. 

 9.59(1) An applicant may file with the board a request for reconsideration of the denial or of the amount of 

an award. The request for reconsideration must be submitted within ten working days of the date the notice of 

decision is mailed or otherwise issued by the director to the grantee. The request must state grounds for 

reconsideration. The board or a committee designated by the board chairperson shall review the request in a 

timely manner. A decision of the board or designated committee shall constitute final agency action. 

 9.59(2) At the time a request for reconsideration is received by the director, notice that a request for 

reconsideration has been filed shall be sent to all approved applicants whose funds may be affected by the 

request. 

 9.59(3) Funds shall not be disbursed pending a request for reconsideration to the extent that the funds are 

affected by the outcome of the request. Every applicant that would be adversely affected shall be notified if a 

request for reconsideration is approved, and grant awards shall be reduced as necessary. 



 

Crime Victim Assistance Division 
 

Annual Report SFY17 | 95 
 

 

61—9.60(13) Contract agreement. 

 9.60(1) A contract shall be negotiated by the department and the applicant. 

 9.60(2) Prior to entering into a contract, the department or the board may require modification of the 

proposed program, submission of further information or documents, or other stipulation of the applicant. The 

required modification, information, document, or stipulation shall be specified in the notification of grant 

award. 

 9.60(3) The applicant or the department may request a modification of the program budget to reflect the 

amount, expenses and activities allowed by the grant award. Both parties must agree to any modification of the 

grantee program budget. 

 9.60(4) In the event of a state, federal, or other audit, the grantee shall be responsible for the audit and 

liable for payment of any funds required to conduct the audit, to compensate for any grant disallowance, or to 

repay any funds received or spent contrary to the contract, these rules, or applicable law. 

 9.60(5) Funds shall be spent to meet the program proposals as provided in the contract. Expenditures shall 

be reimbursed pursuant to regular reimbursement procedures of the state of Iowa. 

 9.60(6) The grantee shall sign the certified assurances for the grant program at the time of application and 

at any time requested by the division. 

 9.60(7) Nothing in these rules shall be construed as limiting the remedies available to the state or the 

program for improper use of grant funds or other breach of the grantee’s duties under the contract and 

applicable law. 

61—9.61(13) Performance reports. Performance reports shall be submitted to the division from all grantees. 

Failure to submit reports by the due date shall result in suspension of financial payments to the grantee by the 

program until such time as the report is received. Delinquent or inadequate reports from prior grants may 

detrimentally influence the award of grants for the following year. 

61—9.62(13) Termination. Contracts may be terminated for the following reasons: 

 9.62(1) Termination by grantee. The grantee may terminate the contract at any time during the contract 

period by providing notice to the division. 

 9.62(2) Termination by department. The department may terminate a contract upon a ten-day notice when 

the grantee or any of its subcontractors fail to comply with the grant award stipulations, standards or 

conditions. The department may terminate a contract when there is a reduction of funds by executive order or 

otherwise. 

 9.62(3) Termination for cause. If the grantee fails to fulfill its obligations under the agreement properly or on 

time, or otherwise violates any provision of the agreement, the board may terminate the agreement by written 

notice to the grantee. The notice shall specify the acts or omissions relied on as cause for termination. All 

finished or unfinished products and services provided by the grantee shall, at the option of the department, 

become state property. The department shall pay the grantee fair and equitable compensation for satisfactory 

performance prior to receipt of notice of termination minus any funds owing to the department, e.g., damages 

for breach, improperly spent funds. 

61—9.63(13) Financial statement supplied. Within 45 days of the termination, the grantee shall supply the 

department with a financial statement detailing all costs incurred up to the effective date of the termination. 

61—9.64(13) Indemnification. The grantee shall defend, indemnify, and hold harmless the state of Iowa, its 
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officers, agents and employees and any of the state’s federal funding sources for: 

 1. Grantee’s performance or nonperformance of a contract entered into or violation of these rules. 

 2. Grantee’s activities with subcontractors and all other third parties, or any other act or omission by a 

grantee, its agents, officers, and employees. 

61—9.65(13) Records. Grantees shall keep statistical records of services provided and any other records as 

required by the division. The division shall have immediate access during working hours to records pertaining to 

the contract. No notice need be provided the grantee prior to inspection of the records. 

These rules are intended to implement Iowa Code section 13.31. 

61—9.66 to 9.79 Reserved. 

DIVISION IV 

SEXUAL ABUSE EXAMINATION PAYMENT 

61—9.80(915) Administration of sexual abuse examination payment. The crime victim assistance program 

of the department of justice shall administer the sexual abuse examination program as provided in Iowa Code 

section 915.41. That section states in part: 

“The cost of a medical examination for the purpose of gathering evidence and the cost of treatment for the 

purpose of preventing sexually transmitted disease shall be borne by the department of justice.” 

Requests for payment should be addressed to: Sexual Abuse Examination Payments, Crime Victim 

Assistance Division, Lucas State Office Building, Ground Floor, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, Iowa 50319; 

telephone (515)281-5044 or 1-800-373-5044. 

61—9.81(915) Definitions. 

“Administration” means administrator of the crime victim assistance program established in the department 

of justice. 

“Board” means crime victim assistance board. 

“Department” means the Iowa department of justice. 

“Eligible claimant” means a medical provider that provides a sexual abuse examination to a sexual assault 

victim. The following are eligible to file a claim with the crime victim assistance program in the event that they 

have made payment to a medical provider for the costs of a sexual abuse examination: 

 1. A victim of sexual abuse. 

 2. A person responsible for the maintenance of a sexual abuse victim. 

 3. A dependent of a victim who has died as a result of injuries sustained in a sexual assault. 

 4. The guardian of a sexual abuse victim. 

“Reasonable charges” means those ordinarily charged by the provider of the service to the general public for 

services of a similar nature. 

“Sexual abuse” means sexual abuse as defined in Iowa Code sections 709.1 and 726.2. 

“Sexual abuse examination” means a medical examination provided to a woman, man, or child to collect 
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evidence of sexual abuse victimization of that person as defined in Iowa Code sections 709.1 and 726.2 and 

provide treatment for the prevention of sexually transmitted disease pursuant to Iowa Code section 915.41. 

When applicable, the provider of a sexual abuse examination shall file a child abuse report with the Iowa 

department of human services as required by Iowa Code section 232.70. 

61—9.82(915) Application for sexual abuse examination payment. 

 9.82(1) Consideration for payment. The department will consider payment upon receipt of a claim for 

reimbursement from a medical provider indicating that the claim is for the collection of evidence by sexual 

abuse examination. In the case that a victim, guardian of a victim, person responsible for the victim, or 

dependent of a victim who died of injuries sustained in a sexual assault has paid part or all of the charges 

incurred, a copy of the provider bill and documentation of personal payment of the bill must be submitted for 

reimbursement. An application for sexual abuse examination payment must include the federal identification 

number or social security number of the claimant. 

 9.82(2) Application filing. To apply for payment under the sexual abuse examination program, the form or 

bill submitted must identify the sexual assault victim by name, birth date, and patient number, indicate that the 

claim is for a sexual abuse examination, and itemize all services rendered and the fee for each service. 

61—9.83(915) Computation of sexual abuse examination payments. 

 9.83(1)  Payment for examination. The department shall make payment for sexual abuse examinations, as 

appropriate, for services including, but not limited to: 

 a.  Examiner’s fee for collection of: 

 (1) Patient’s medical history; 

 (2) Physical examination; 

 (3) Collection of laboratory specimens; 

 (4) Return visits to test for sexually transmitted disease; 

 (5) Treatment for the prevention of sexually transmitted disease. 

 b.  Examination facility. 

 (1) Emergency room, clinic room or office room fee; 

 (2) Pelvic tray and medically required supplies. 

 c.  Laboratory collection and processing of specimens for: criminal evidence; sexually transmitted disease; 

and pregnancy testing. 

 9.83(2) Provider payment. The department will pay up to $300 for the examination facility and $200 for 

examiner fees. Any charges in excess of these amounts will require additional documentation from the 

provider. The crime victim assistance program will pay only those charges determined by the department to be 

reasonable and fair. 

The Iowa department of public safety division of criminal investigation makes sexual abuse examination kits 

available to health care providers at no cost. 

61—9.84(915) Victim responsibility for payment. A victim of sexual abuse is not responsible for the payment 

of the costs of a sexual abuse examination determined to be eligible for payment by the department. A medical 

provider shall not submit any remaining balance after sexual abuse examination program payment to the 
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sexual abuse victim. 

61—9.85(915) Sexual abuse examination—right to restitution. In all criminal cases under Iowa Code chapter 

709 and sections 726.2 and 710.2 in which there is a plea of guilty, verdict of guilty, or special verdict upon which 

a judgment of conviction is rendered, restitution may be ordered from the offender to the crime victim 

assistance program for the cost paid by the department for a sexual abuse examination rendered to the victim 

of that crime pursuant to Iowa Code section 910.2. 

61—9.86(915) Erroneous or fraudulent payment—penalty. If a payment or overpayment of a reparation is 

made because of clerical error, mistaken identity, innocent misrepresentation by or on behalf of the recipient, 

or other circumstances of a similar nature, not induced by fraud by or on behalf of the recipients, the recipient is 

liable for repayment of the reparation. However, if the department does not notify the recipient of the 

erroneous payment or overpayment within one year of the date of payment, the recipient is not responsible for 

repayment to the department. 

If a payment or overpayment has been induced by fraud by or on behalf of a recipient, the recipient is liable 

for repayment to the department. 

61—9.87(915) Right to appeal. An eligible claimant who disagrees with the department’s decision concerning 

payment or amount of payment has the right to request reconsideration of that decision by the crime victim 

assistance board. The request for reconsideration must be received by the department within 60 days after the 

decision of the department is mailed. 

Rules 9.80(915) to 9.87(915) are intended to implement Iowa Code section 915.41. 

[Filed 12/28/84, Notice 8/29/84—published 1/16/85, effective 4/3/85] [Filed emergency 7/10/87—published 7/29/87, 
effective 7/10/87] [Filed emergency 6/9/89—published 6/28/89, effective 6/9/89] [Filed emergency 8/4/89—
published 8/23/89, effective 8/4/89] [Filed emergency 9/1/89—published 9/20/89, effective 9/1/89] [Filed 10/27/89, 
Notice 8/23/89—published 11/15/89, effective 12/20/89] [Filed 12/22/89, Notice 9/20/89—published 1/10/90, 
effective 2/14/90] [Filed emergency 5/11/90 after Notice 11/15/89—published 5/30/90, effective 5/11/90] [Filed 
emergency 7/20/90—published 8/8/90, effective 7/20/90] [Filed 5/8/92, Notice 11/27/91—published 5/27/92, 
effective 7/1/92] [Filed 10/9/92, Notice 7/8/92—published 10/28/92, effective 12/2/92] [Filed 3/11/94, Notice 
12/8/93—published 3/30/94, effective 5/6/94] [Filed 2/10/95, Notice 11/23/94—published 3/1/95, effective 4/5/95] 
[Filed 4/7/95, Notice 1/18/95—published 4/26/95, effective 5/31/95] [Filed 12/8/00, Notice 11/1/00—published 
12/27/00, effective 1/31/01] [Filed 5/4/04, Notice 1/21/04—published 5/26/04, effective 6/30/04] [Filed 12/30/04, 
Notice 10/13/04—published 1/19/05, effective 2/23/05] 

 

Iowa Attorney General - 61 

Chapter 35 

IDENTITY THEFT PASSPORT 

61—35.1(715A) Definitions. 

“Creditor” means a person or entity who is owed money or property by another person via the extension of 

credit to that other person to defer payment of debt, to incur debt and defer its payment, or to purchase 

property or services and defer payment therefor, or a person or entity to whom a creditor’s right to payment 

has been assigned. 

“Division” means the crime victim assistance division in the attorney general’s office. 
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“Division director” means the director of the crime victim assistance division in the attorney general’s office. 

“Identity theft” means the commission of the offense of identity theft, as stated in Iowa Code section 

715A.8(2), which includes when a person fraudulently uses or attempts to fraudulently use identification 

information of another person, with the intent to obtain credit, property, services, or other benefit. 

“Law enforcement agency” means an agency that employs peace officers. 

“Peace officer” means the same as defined in Iowa Code section 801.4(11). 

“Person” means an individual. 

“Report of identity theft” means a request by a person to a peace officer in any jurisdiction described in Iowa 

Code section 715A.8(5) for the peace officer to take a report regarding an alleged commission of identity theft 

against the person. 

“Victim” means a person who alleges that identity theft has been committed against the person. 

61—35.2(715A) Application for identity theft passports. 

 35.2(1) Completion of application. 

 a.  A person who has filed a report of identity theft may apply for an identity theft passport through the law 

enforcement agency to which the report was made. 

 b.  An application for an identity theft passport shall include the following: 

 (1) Completion by the person, or by another on behalf of the person, and by the law enforcement agency, 

of the identity theft passport application form and the identity theft verification form set out in rule 61—

35.8(715A), along with any documentation supporting the claim that the person is a victim of identity theft. 

 (2) A copy of the report of identity theft made to the law enforcement agency. 

 (3) Photographic identification of the victim in one of the following formats in order of preference: 

 1. A copy of the victim’s current driver’s license or state-issued nonoperator’s identification card. 

 2. A current photograph of the victim certified as valid by signature of the law enforcement investigator 

who received the report of identity theft. 

 c.  Upon completion of the application for an identity theft passport, the law enforcement agency which 

received the application shall forward it to the crime victim assistance division of the office of the attorney 

general. 

 35.2(2) Confidentiality of application. An application made with the attorney general shall be confidential 

and shall not be a public record subject to disclosure under Iowa Code chapter 22. 

61—35.3(715A) Issuance of identity theft passports. 

 35.3(1) Upon receipt of a completed application for an identity theft passport, the division shall review the 

application and determine whether to issue the applicant an identity theft passport. In determining whether to 

issue the identity theft passport, the division shall consider all the facts and circumstances reported in the 

application, any recommendations received from the law enforcement agency to which the report was made, 

and any other facts that the division deems necessary to make the determination. 

 35.3(2) An identity theft passport shall be in the form of a card or certificate as determined by the attorney 

general. 
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61—35.4(715A) Usage of identity theft passports. An identity theft victim may present the passport to: 

 35.4(1) A law enforcement agency to help prevent the victim’s arrest or detention for any offense 

committed by someone other than the victim who is using the victim’s identity, and 

 35.4(2) A creditor of the victim to aid in the creditor’s investigation and establishment of whether 

fraudulent charges were made against accounts in the victim’s name or whether accounts were opened using 

the victim’s identity. 

61—35.5(715A) Acceptance of identity theft passports. A law enforcement agency or creditor may accept an 

identity theft passport from the victim and may consider the surrounding circumstances and available 

information regarding the offense of identity theft pertaining to the victim. 

61—35.6(715A) Expiration of identity theft passports. An identity theft passport issued by the office of the 

attorney general shall be valid for a period of five years from the date of issuance or renewal. The victim to 

whom an expired identity theft passport was issued may reapply to the office of the attorney general for 

renewal of the identity theft passport within 30 days after its expiration. The office of the attorney general may 

renew the identity theft passport in the same manner that initial passports are issued, as outlined in rule 61—

35.3(715A). 

61—35.7(715A) Revocation of identity theft passports. 

 35.7(1) If the division determines that an identity theft passport which has been issued should not have 

been issued, the division shall notify the person to whom the identity theft passport was issued of the intended 

revocation of the identity theft passport and the reasons for the intended revocation. 

 35.7(2) The person who has received a notice of intended revocation of an identity theft passport may 

request reconsideration of the intended revocation. The request and all information in support of a 

reconsideration of the intended revocation shall be submitted to the division director within 30 calendar days of 

the mailing date on the notice of intended revocation. 

 35.7(3) The division director will issue a decision regarding the reconsideration of the intended revocation of 

the identity theft passport within 30 days of receipt of the request for reconsideration whenever possible. The 

decision of the division director regarding the revocation of the identity theft passport constitutes final agency 

action. 

 35.7(4) If, after notice, the division determines that the identity theft passport is revoked, the division shall 

notify the person of the revocation in a mailing to the person’s last-known residential address. 

 35.7(5) A person shall not use a revoked identity theft passport for any purpose. 

61—35.8(715A) Identity theft passport application and verification forms. 

 35.8(1) Identity theft victim application and affidavit. The following form may be used to apply for an identity 

theft passport. 

61—35.8(2) Identity theft law enforcement report verification. The following form must be completed by the 

investigating officer and submitted in conjunction with the identity theft application and affidavit. [Forms 

Below]                                                                              

61—35.8(3) Submission of documentation. In order to be considered for an identity theft passport, a victim must 

submit the following documentation to the Crime Victim Assistance Division, Ground Floor, Lucas State Office 

Building, Des Moines, Iowa 50319: 

 a.  The Identity Theft Victim Application and Affidavit form, signed by the victim. 
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 b.  The Identity Theft Law Enforcement Report Verification form, signed by the investigating officer. 

 c.  A copy of the law enforcement agency's investigative report. 

These rules are intended to implement Iowa Code section 715A.9A. 

[Filed ARC 7940B (Notice ARC 7528B, IAB 1/28/09), IAB 7/15/09, effective 8/19/09] 


