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Citizenship & Voting Rights 

What is my legal residence? 
There are various tests for determining 
residence, but most often your 
residence is the place you maintain as 
your home with the intent to remain 
there permanently or for an indefinite or 
undeterminable time.  
You may only have one residence for 
voting purposes. A person who is 
homeless or has no established 
residence may declare residence in a 
precinct by describing on the voter 
registration form a place to which the 
person often returns.  There is no length 
of residency requirement for voting in 
Iowa. 
Am I eligible for jury service? 
Yes, under the same terms and 
conditions as male citizens, provided 
you are a United States Citizen (only a 
United States Citizen may perform jury 
service). 
If I move, do I lose my vote? 
If you otherwise meet the requirements 
for voting and you move, either within 
Iowa or out of state, and you don’t meet 
the voting requirements at your new 
residence, you may continue to vote at 
your old residence until you meet the 
voting requirements of your new 
residence. 
How do I vote by absentee ballot? 
You can apply for an absentee ballot 
during the seventy days before the 
election, but not on Election Day itself. 
You can apply in person or by mail at 
your county auditor’s office or your 
county’s election office.  You may also 
obtain an application for an absentee 
ballot on the Secretary of State’s 
website: 
https://sos.iowa.gov/elections/electionin
fo/absenteeinfo.html 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
You may vote by absentee ballot if you 
expect to be absent from the precinct in 
which you are registered; expect to be 
prevented from going to the polls to vote 
due to illness or physical disability; expect 
to be unable to go to the polls and vote on 
Election Day; or do not wish to go to the 
polls. 
 
How do I register to vote? 
 
You must register at least eleven days 
before a general or primary election and 
ten days before all other elections. You 
may register to vote at the office of your 
city clerk or county auditor in person.  You 
may also register to vote by mail by 
completing the correct postcard 
registration form, which can be obtained 
from your city clerk, county auditor, all 
state offices, in many public buildings, and 
on the Iowa Secretary of State’s website: 
www.sos.state.ia.us. Postcard registration 
forms must be postmarked at least 15 
days prior to the election or delivered to 
the county auditor by 5 p.m. on the date 
registration closes. 
 
You may also register on Election Day by 
appearing in person at your assigned 
polling place. To do so you will need to 
establish your identity and Iowa residency 
through current and valid photo 
identification. (i.e., Iowa driver’s license, 
current bank statement, utility bill 
(including cell phone bill), current 
paycheck or government check). For 
specific information regarding acceptable 
forms of identification, please visit the 
Secretary of State’s website: 
https://sos.iowa.gov/elections/voterinform
ation/edr.html. 
 

Am I eligible to vote? 
 
Yes, voting laws equally protect men and 
women. You are eligible to vote if:  
 
 You are a United States Citizen. 

 
 You are at least 18 years old to vote, 

but may register at 17 1/2 years old.  
 

 You have given up your right to vote 
in any other place. 

 

 You have not been convicted of a 
felony or you were convicted of a 
felony, but your right to vote was 
restored. 

 

 You have not been declared by a 
court to be mentally incompetent to 
vote (unless the court certifies you 
are no longer incompetent). 

 

Can I get time off work to vote? 
 
Maybe. 
 
If your work schedule doesn’t give you 
three consecutive hours off from work 
while the polls are open, you have the 
right to take time off from work in order 
to vote. You have to give your employer 
written notice before Election Day, and 
your employer has the right to designate 
specific hours for voting purposes. Your 
employer may not penalize you or 
deduct from your regular wages or salary 
on account of the absence. 
 
 

https://sos.iowa.gov/elections/electioninfo/absenteeinfo.html
https://sos.iowa.gov/elections/electioninfo/absenteeinfo.html
http://www.sos.state.ia.us/
https://sos.iowa.gov/elections/voterinformation/edr.html
https://sos.iowa.gov/elections/voterinformation/edr.html
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CREDIT & FINANCE FACTS 
 

What is credit? 

Credit is the amount of goods, services or 
money a person may receive but will pay 
for in the future.  Credit may include such 
things as loans, charge accounts, credit 
cards and mortgages. 

What determines whether I can get 
credit & how much I can receive? 

“Credit worthiness” is determines by two 
factors:  (1) ability to pay and (2) 
willingness to pay.  Ability to pay is based on 
an individual’s amount and stability of 
income (steadiness of job), debts owed and 
living expenses.  Willingness to pay usually 
based on an individual’s credit history, which 
is a record of payment of bills due. 

Can I get credit card in my own name? 

Yes, assuming that you have sufficient 

financial resource to obtain credit. 

Can I be denied credit because of my 
marital status? 

No. State and federal law protects 
individuals from being discriminated against 
based on marital status. 

If both my spouse & I are employed, can 
both incomes be used in acquiring a 
loan? 

Yes.  Discounting one partner’s income, in 
computing the qualifications for a loan, is 
illegal. 

Can I be required to have my husband’s 
or father’s co-signature on a loan? 

No, not if you are otherwise qualified to 
receive the loan.  If you are not otherwise 
qualified to receive a loan because of a lack 
of creditworthiness, the person giving you 
credit can require you to have a co-signature.  
However, if you offer property owned by 
multiple people as collateral for a loan (such 
as a home), the creditor can require the other 
owner’s signature for a “security interest.” 

 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

Credit & 

Finance 

Is sex discrimination in credit prohibited by law? 
Yes. Iowa prohibits sex discrimination in credit transactions (via the Iowa Civil Rights 
Act & the Iowa Consumer Credit Code). Race, color, age, sex, and marital status may 
not be used to discriminate against an individual at any point during a credit 
transaction according to Federal law (Equal Credit Opportunity Act). These laws 
require that “credit worthiness” tests be applied fairly, impartially, and without sex 
discrimination. A creditor cannot use a person’s sex as an excuse to: (1) discourage an 
individual from applying for a loan, (2) refuse to give an individual a loan or require an 
individual to have a cosigner if that individual has sufficient financial resources, or (3) 
lend an individual money on terms different from those granted to another person of 
similar financial circumstances. Generally, creditors may not ask an individual’s sex on 
an application form (one exception is on a loan to buy or build a home). The use of the 
titles: Miss, Mrs., or Ms. on an application form is optional and should be so 
designated on the form. This means an individual can pick any title or none. However, 
the law does not guarantee that an individual will receive credit just because the 
individual fills out the application. The individual must still pass the creditor’s tests of 
“credit worthiness”.   
 
Can I be required to disclose my plans to have children or my methods of 
contraception in order to obtain credit? 
No. However, creditors may ask questions about expenses related to your dependents 
or ask about child support payments, unless the creditor tells you first that you do not 
have to provide this information if you are not relying on these payments to get 
credit.  Women seeking a particular line of credit can be asked about 
employment/career plans only if men seeking the same line of credit are asked about 
their employment plans, too.   
 
What is a credit bureau and how does it work? 
Credit bureaus, or credit reporting agencies, are companies that collect and store 
information about people who borrow money. The three major credit bureaus are 
TransUnion, Experian, and Equifax. Businesses who loan money routinely report to 
the credit bureau and disclose the amount of credit individuals have received and how 
regularly and promptly those individuals pay their bills. Credit bureau records also 
note matters of public record – such as arrests, divorces, bankruptcies, and lawsuit 
settlements. Credit bureaus will release this information to creditors who inquire 
about an individual’s credit rating. An individual’s credit future depends on his/her 
credit history. An individual should verify that the information kept on her by these 
credit bureaus is accurate; she is entitled by law to review her own credit files. If 
information is inaccurate, a person should contact the bureau and specifically explain 
why the information is inaccurate.  
 
The government pays for every individual to receive one free credit report (not credit 
score) every twelve months from each of the credit reporting companies - 
TransUnion, Experian, and Equifax. To receive a free credit report visit 
http://www.annualcreditreport.com/cra/index.action  or call 1-877-322-8228. 
 
 

http://www.annualcreditreport.com/cra/index.action


 

 

  

How do I establish credit? 
Some creditors will rely entirely on salary, job status, and 
other financial information provided on credit applications; 
however, most creditors turn to credit bureaus to obtain 
information about a person’s credit handling experience. 
Credit bureaus only have credit ratings for those who have 
previously used credit. 
 
There are several ways to begin building up a good credit 
history: 

1) open a checking and savings account in your own 
name;  

2) if you use credit cards, do not get close to your 
maximum credit limit;  

3) apply for a department store credit card, which is 
usually easier to obtain than national bank credit 
cards;  

4) get a small loan from a bank or credit union for the 
sake of obtaining credit and use it to purchase an 
item, such as a washing machine—you can use 
your savings account or insurance policy as 
collateral for the loan; and  

5) make payments on your debts on time and 
regularly.  

 

Be aware that any loan you take out will have interest 
charges, which will make it more expensive than using a 
credit card when you pay the credit card bill in full 
immediately. 
 
If I am denied credit, can I find out why? 
Yes. Under federal law (Equal Credit Opportunity Act), you 
must be notified within 30 days after completing a credit 
application whether it has been approved or denied.  If 
credit is denied, this notice must be in writing and it must 
explain the specific reasons for denying credit or tell you 
that you have a right to request an explanation. If you 
request an explanation, the lender must give you one within 
60 days. 

The federal Fair Credit Reporting Act applies in cases where 
you are denied credit because of unfavorable information in 
your credit report. If you are denied credit because of a 
report from a credit bureau, the lender must tell you the 
name and address of the agency that prepared the report. 
By law, the credit bureau must give you information 
regarding the nature and substance of your credit report 
and to whom the information was sent. The bureau is 
required to help you interpret the information in your file 
when it is raw data. If you are challenging a credit refusal 
made within the past 60 days, the bureau must provide the 
information for free; otherwise, the bureau can charge a 
reasonable fee for giving you the information. If you 
disagree with information in your file, the agency must 
reinvestigate it and remove any incorrect information. The 
agency must inform those creditors receiving your credit 
reports during the past 6 months of the corrected or 
modified information.  If the reinvestigation does not 
resolve the dispute, you are entitled to file a short  
 

statement in your record explaining your side of the story. 
Future reports to creditors must include this statement, or a 
summary of it. Information older than seven years should not 
be present in your credit record except for bankruptcy 
information, which can be reported for ten years. 
 
What can I do if I think I have been a victim of discrimination 
in credit? 
If your application for credit is refused, try to solve the problem 
directly with the creditor or credit bureau. If this fails, there are 
several alternatives. You can engage an attorney who can bring 
action against the creditor under either federal or state law. If 
you win, the credit reporting agency may be required to pay 
your attorney fees. You can also file a complaint with a state or 
federal agency. There is no charge for filing such a complaint. 
On the federal level, there are numerous agencies responsible 
for enforcement of the Equal Credit Opportunity Act depending 
upon the type of financial institution involved. The creditor who 
denied your application must, by law, give you the name and 
address of the appropriate federal enforcement agency to 
contact. On the state level, contact the Iowa Civil Rights 
Commission or the Iowa Attorney General’s Office. 
 
Are there any special risks that women should be aware of in 
taking on a credit obligation? 
Recent years have seen an increase in “predatory” lending, 
particularly mortgage loans putting the home at risk. These 
loans are very expensive in relation to the benefits, and these 
lenders often do not pay attention to whether the debtor’s 
income is adequate to repay the debt while still meeting other 
needs, such as medical expenses and utilities. Elderly women, 
and elderly minority women in particular, are sometimes 
targeted for these kinds of loans. These women often have not 
gone out looking for these loans, but get into them as a result 
of, for example, a door-to-door home improvement 
salesperson selling services and arranging these kinds of loans 
to pay for them. These loans bring a very real risk of 
foreclosure. 
 
There are common legal claims and defenses that can be raised 
to challenge these loans, so it is helpful to seek the advice of an 
attorney knowledgeable in this kind of law as soon as possible, 
or notify the state banking division or the attorney general’s 
office. If you have been approached by a salesperson offering 
you a loan like this, seek the advice of an attorney or call the 
state attorney general’s office to determine your legal rights 
and defenses. Family and friends should be alert for warning 
signs that an elderly female friend or relative is battling the 
stress associated with these predatory lending practices. 
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Criminal Law 

What does it mean to be innocent 
until proven guilty? 
Anyone who is charged with a criminal 
act is presumed to be innocent. This 
means that the burden is on the State to 
prove the individual is guilty. This 
burden will only be met if the State’s 
evidence establishes guilt beyond a 
reasonable doubt. 
 
What if I do something illegal because 
I had too much to drink? 
The fact that a person is under the 
influence of drugs or alcohol does not 
excuse his or her actions. However, it 
may be considered if it is relevant to 
proving the person's specific intent or 
recklessness, or in proving any element 
of the charged offense. 
 
But I didn’t know what I was doing 
was against the law! 
It is assumed that every person knows 
the law. In some cases ignorance or a 
mistake about the law may be relevant 
to the charge and in a few 
circumstances it may be a defense. 
These situations are few and should not 
be relied on if there is a question of 
legality. 
 
Why are some people charged with a 
federal crime? 
There are certain areas of law that the 
federal government has authority over. 
For example, patents and trademark 
lawsuits are handled in federal court. 
The federal government also has 
authority in situations when the activity 
involves more than one state. For 
example, if a person is charged with a 
crime that involves a gun, often the case 
will be handled in federal court because 
the gun was manufactured outside of 
Iowa. 
 
Am I just supposed to let someone 
hurt me? 
No, a person may protect herself 
through the use of force if another 
person is going to commit an unlawful 
act against her. is  
 

person hits someone with his/her hand; 
however, the defender can’t hit him/her 
with a baseball bat. A person is justified 
in the use of deadly force only when she 
reasonably believes it is necessary to 
prevent risk to her life or that of 
another. 
 

What is the difference between a 
felony and a misdemeanor? 
Both are criminal charges but carry 
different consequences. All public 
offenses that are not felonies are 
misdemeanors: aggravated, serious or 
simple. A speeding ticket is a criminal 
charge and is a simple misdemeanor. 
The state legislature determines 
whether the crime is a felony or a 
misdemeanor, and describes each crime 
as such in the Iowa Code. In addition to 
more extensive incarceration, an 
individual found guilty of a felony may 
be subject to certain restrictions like 
being unable to serve on a jury, vote, 
possess a gun, or be employed in 
certain jobs. 
 
I am being charged by the state and 
by an individual, can they do that? 
The fact that the State files criminal 
charges against an individual does not 
preclude an individual from filing civil 
action for the same conduct, nor would 
an individual’s civil suit preclude the 
State from pursuing criminal charges. 
For example, if someone is charged 
with burglary (entering a home with the 
intent to commit a crime) and someone 
in the home is injured, the state can 
charge the person for the burglary in a 
criminal action and the individual can 
file a lawsuit in civil court for assault.  In 
the criminal context, a person may file a 
complaint against someone with law 
enforcement authorities, but it will  
 

always be the state that makes the 
decision to ultimately file criminal 
charges. 
 
I didn’t do anything illegal, but my 
friend told me she did. 
Mere knowledge that a crime occurred 
does not give rise to criminal liability. 
However, if you have knowledge of the 
crime and render assistance to prevent 
her detection or arrest, you can be 
charged as an accessory after the fact, 
which is a misdemeanor offense. 
 
My friend did something illegal when I 
was with her, am I in trouble? 
Someone who is physically present 
when another individual performs an 
illegal act is not committing a crime. 
Only if you actively participate or 
encourage the commission of the illegal 
act will you have personally committed 
a crime. This crime is known as aiding 
and abetting. Anyone who aids or abets 
the commission of a crime is charged, 
tried, and punished as if she committed 
the crime as well. This means the 
severity of the charge is dependent on 
the severity of the crime that was aided 
and abetted.  
 
I gave a cop my fake ID, is that illegal? 
Yes, knowingly giving false 
identification information to a police 
officer is a misdemeanor. It is also 
important to know that mere 
possession of a fake ID is a criminal 
offense.  
 
Is prostitution legal in Iowa? 
No, a person who sells or pays to be 
part of a sex act is committing an 
aggravated misdemeanor. 
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I accidentally called 9-1-1, am I in 
trouble? 
No, however, someone who 
intentionally calls 9-1-1 knowing they do 
not need emergency assistance is 
committing a misdemeanor. Typically, if 
you call 9-1-1 and hang up, they will call 
you back. Simply answer the phone and 
explain that you made a mistake. 
 
Can I carry a gun in public? 
It depends. A nonprofessional, someone 
who does not need a gun as part of 
his/her job, may apply for a permit to 
carry. Certain individuals are not eligible 
and state law (Iowa Code) lists who may 
not carry a gun. Any person convicted of 
a felony, as well as those who are subject 
to a no-contact order in a case of 
domestic abuse, may not possess a gun.  
 
Individuals who are eligible must satisfy 
specific training requirements stipulated 
by law and must carry the permit with 
them whenever they are carrying that 
gun. A person who has a nonprofessional 
permit to carry may openly show or 
conceal the gun. These permits are only 
valid for up to twelve months before 
they must be renewed. 

Even if an individual has a permit to 

carry a gun, there are certain places 
where it is not allowed. These places are 
referred to as “weapon-free zones” and 
include areas within 1000 feet of a 
school or public park.  
 
When can an officer stop my vehicle? 
In the absence of a warrant, an officer 
needs reasonable suspicion that 
criminal activity occurred or is occurring 
to initiate a traffic stop and investigate 
the suspected activity. If the officer 
observes you committing a traffic 
violation (like speeding), a stop is 
permitted because probable cause 
exists to believe that you have violated 
the law. 
 
Can I refuse a breathalyzer test? 
If a person refuses a breathalyzer test 
they could lose their driver’s license for 

year or more if the police officer 
reasonably believed the person was 
operating while under the influence of 
alcohol or has an alcohol concentration 
of .08 or higher. Police officers are not 
required to obtain consent before 
administering breathalyzer tests. Iowa 
law recognizes “implied consent,” 
which means that, by having a driver’s 
license, an Iowa citizen has agreed to 
allow the police officer to give her a 
breathalyzer test if the officer 
reasonably believes she is under the 
influence.  
 
How am I supposed to know what the 
law is? 
Each city and county has ordinances, 
which are laws for that city and county. 
These are usually available on their 
website, at City Hall, or the County 
auditor’s office. The State of Iowa’s 
laws can be found online at 
www.legis.iowa.gov/law. If there is a 
question about whether the action is 
legal, it is best to ask an attorney 
regarding the specific situation.  Use 
common sense.  
 
If an act appears to be illegal, do not do 
it. 
 

Domestic Violence 

What is domestic violence? 
Domestic violence is a pattern of coercive, threatening 
and/or violent behaviors aimed at gaining or keeping power 
and control over an intimate partner or family member. This 
behavior can include name-calling and other shaming 
actions, controlling who the partner may see or talk to, 
limiting access to money or other resources, as well as 
physical violence or sexual assault. 
 
Many of these behaviors will be considered an assault or 
threat of harm under the Iowa Code, which makes it possible 
for you to obtain certain legal protections. 
 
What legal protection is available if I am being abused by 
my husband or partner? 
If you are being hit, beaten, threatened, or otherwise 
physically abused, you may call the police for immediate 
protection. The criminal laws regarding assault apply to 

couples like everyone else. If the police decide that an assault 
likely took place and that your partner injured you, they are 
required to make an arrest of the person who committed the 
assault. In addition to arresting the assaulting party, the 
police may make arrangements for you to get medical 
treatment. They may also offer other assistance such as a 
safe location to live, like a shelter.  
 
 

http://www.legis.iowa.gov/law
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Even if the police do not make an arrest 
or you choose not to call the police, you 
may file for a civil protection order at 
your local courthouse. A court-issued 
order sets out rules and requirements 
that the abuser must follow or face 
additional legal consequences. Types or 
examples of protection provisions can 
be found later in the article under: 
“What will a protective or restraining 
order cover?” 
 
Do I have to be married in order to 
qualify for legal protection from 
someone who is abusing me? 
The domestic abuse laws in Iowa 
regarding arrest and protective orders 
apply to persons in other relationships, 
too. Here is a list of the relationships, 
which qualify for a civil protection 
order: 

 Family or household members 
living together at the time of 
the assault or threat 

 Married persons, including 
those under 18 years of age; 

 Spouses who are separated or 
divorced, including those 
under 18 years of age; 

 Anyone sharing a biological 
child in common, including 
those under 18 years of age; 

 Unmarried persons who are 
cohabitating (living together in 
a romantic or intimate 
relationship) or have lived 
together within 1 year of the 
assault or threat.  

 
If you are under 18 years of age and 
thinking about getting a civil protection 
order, you will want to speak with an 
attorney, like someone at a Legal Aid 
office, or an advocate from your local 
domestic violence program as there 
may be special rules that you need to 
follow. Also, you cannot get a 
protective order solely to protect your 
kids.  However, a protective order 
issued to protect you could include 
provisions to set up custody and 
visitation to protect the children.  
 
In addition to having one of the 
required relationships, you must also be 
able to show the judge that domestic 
abuse has occurred.  You do this  

through your written description on the 
petition for the protective order.  The 
law states that domestic abuse is an 
assault between people with specified 
relationships (listed above).  An assault 
can include punching, holding, shaking, 
unwanted sexual activity, and a threat, 
if there is an ability to carry that threat 
out immediately.  Typically, verbal 
abuse alone is not considered domestic 
abuse and will not qualify you for a 
protective order.   
 
How do I go about getting  a 
protective order? 
 
Criminal No Contact Order 
If the police arrest someone under the 
domestic abuse laws, the judge or 
magistrate will likely order that person 
to have no contact with you or your 
children while the criminal case is 
pending. Such an order is usually 
referred to as a “criminal no contact 
order,” and it has limits on the types of 
protection available to you and your 
family. You can ask the county attorney 
to request this no contact order if the 
judge or magistrate does not issue it on 
his/ her own. 
 
Civil Protective Order  
You may also get a protective order 
even if no criminal charge is filed. Your 
private attorney can apply to the court 
for this protection, or Legal Services can 
act on your behalf if you qualify under 
their income guidelines. You also have 
the right to apply on your own, without 
an attorney (pro se) for a protective 
order from the court. Many of the forms 
that you may need to proceed with a 
civil protective order can be found at 
the Iowa Court’s website at 
http://www.iowacourts.gov/For_the_Pu
blic/Domestic_Violence/Protecting_You
rself/.   
 
Whether you have an attorney helping 
you or not, you may want to consider 
contacting your local domestic violence 
advocacy program, where advocates 
can provide you confidential 
information about the process, but not 
legal advice. Call the Domestic Violence 
Hotline at (1-800-942-0333). Advocates 
can help you think about and prepare a   
 

safety plan to keep you and your 
children safer as you consider getting 
this order. You should not be charged 
any fees or costs in order to file your 
petition for a civil protection order. The 
clerk of court at your county 
courthouse can give you the forms you 
need to file for protection on your own. 
A booklet entitled “How to Protect 
Yourself from Domestic Violence 
Without A Lawyer” is available at the 
county courthouse or at your local 
domestic violence shelter. 
 
1) Emergency Protective Order 

If you need immediate protection 
when court offices are closed, such 
as at night or on weekends, and 
you choose not to call the police, 
you may file a petition for an 
emergency order before a district 
judge or a designated district 
associate judge. Such an 
emergency order will be effective 
for no longer than 72 hours, to give 
you time to secure further 
protection from the court when it 
resumes business. Because each 
court has different procedures to 
access such emergency help, you 
should contact your local domestic 
violence advocacy program for 
specific assistance with getting an 
emergency order. 

 
2) Temporary Protective Order 

It is also possible to obtain a 
temporary, or short-term, order to 
protect you from violence prior to 
the hearing. Where an immediate 
threat of violence exists, the court 
may grant a temporary order 
effective until the permanent 
protective order hearing. You may 
ask the judge for a temporary 
order when you file the petition for 
a hearing, or at any time during the 
short time between filing the 
petition and the hearing. Once a 
petition is filed the hearing for the 
final protective order must occur in 
a narrow window of time—it must 
be held between five and fifteen 
days after the Petition is filed 
according to the law.  The 
temporary order will only cover 
this short period of time. 

 

 

http://www.iowacourts.gov/For_the_Public/Domestic_Violence/Protecting_Yourself/
http://www.iowacourts.gov/For_the_Public/Domestic_Violence/Protecting_Yourself/
http://www.iowacourts.gov/For_the_Public/Domestic_Violence/Protecting_Yourself/
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Where can I get help in dealing with 
domestic abuse? 
Because leaving a violent relationship 
or trying to get a protection order will 
likely increase the danger you face 
from your abuser, all of these steps 
must be considered carefully. 
Throughout Iowa, there are domestic 
violence advocacy programs that 
provide a variety of services and 
assistance to victims of domestic 
violence and their children. Such 
confidential help can include shelter, 
counseling, and assistance with civil 
and criminal court matters, like 
protection order petitions. You may 
contact the statewide domestic abuse 
hotline for help in finding a domestic 
violence advocacy program nearest to 
you. The domestic abuse hotline 
number is 1-800-942-0333. 
 

  
3) Permanent Protective Order 
Securing a long-term protective order 
requires a hearing before a judge. 
Notice must be given to the 
respondent (or abuser) concerning the 
hearing, which the respondent has a 
right to attend. To obtain a hearing, 
you must file a petition and other 
appropriate court documents in your 
district court. If the court finds there is 
need for protection, it will usually set a 
date for a hearing, typically within 2 
weeks of the day you file for the long-
term order. The respondent (abuser) 
must be notified of the hearing time 
and will also receive a copy of your 
written petition. You will need to be 
able to tell the court how the 
respondent can be found so the court 
can deliver or serve the necessary 
papers. A protective order is not valid 
until served.  Typically, the sheriff will 
try to serve the abuser with the notice 
of hearing and any temporary or 
emergency protective orders that you 
were granted.  However, due to a new 
law effective April 1, 2014, law 
enforcement can serve the abuser with 
a short form notification instead of that 
order at any point they come in contact 
with the abuser, such as at a traffic 
stop.   

 
 

If you are pursuing this protection order 
without the help of an attorney, you will 
want to consider contacting your local 
domestic violence advocacy program 
before the scheduled hearing. A 
domestic violence advocate cannot give 
you legal advice, but can explain the 
hearing process and help you think 
about any information or evidence you 
may want to have for the judge. 
 

You must attend the hearing or your 
temporary order will expire and you will 
have to start the process over again. If 
domestic abuse is established at the 
hearing, the court may order the abuser 
to stay away from your residence, 
school, place of employment, or 
authorize any other needed relief.  
 
Permanent orders may last up to one 
year. You may ask the court to extend 
your order before it expires; there is no 
limit to the number of times an order 
can be extended. You do not have to 
have lived with the abuser since the 
order was issued in order to apply for an 
extension. 
 
What will a protective or restraining 
order cover? 
You can ask the court for a variety of 
protective measures.  The court will 
consider your special situation and your 
requests. The court can order your 
abuser to stop the abuse, to have no 
contact with you, to get counseling, 
and/or to move out of your home.  The 
court can order the abuser to pay you 
money for maintaining a separate 

household and for child support. If there 
are children, the court can set custody 
and visitation for the time that the 
order is in effect.    
 
A protective order may let the abuser 
come to the house to pick up personal 
items if a peace officer is present. 
Sometimes a protective order will allow 
for telephone contact related to the 
children or allow both parents to be at 
the children’s events at the same time. 
It is important to get these details 
specifically laid out in the protective 
order. Any contact beyond the scope of 
the protective order could cause an 
abuser to be held in contempt of court. 
You could also be charged with the 
crime of aiding and abetting a 
contempt of court if you initiate contact 
with your abuser in violation of the 
terms of the protective order. All 
communication not allowed in the 
protective order should be handled 
through an attorney.   
 
If the terms of the protective order no 
longer fit your needs you can ask the 
court to modify the protective order. 
The modification will have to be set for 
a hearing where the judge will 
determine if the terms of the protective 
order can be changed. This may occur if 
a parent needs to change a visitation 
schedule for children, for example. If 
you no longer feel threatened by your 
abuser you may ask the court to issue 
an order ending the protective order 
before order automatically ends.   
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EDUCATION FACTS 

Must I send my child to school? 
Iowa law provides for a free elementary and secondary education to all children who 
reside in the state. Iowa law requires that each child between the ages of six and fifteen, 
who has not completed the requirements for graduation or attained a high school 
equivalency diploma, must attend a public school, an accredited nonpublic school, or 
“competent private instruction.” Statutes regarding competent private instruction, 
which were added to Iowa law in 1991, allow for private instruction under the 
supervision of a licensed practitioner or by a child’s parent, guardian, or legal custodian. 
Under this law, a parent, guardian, or legal custodian may provide home school 
instruction to their own child even though they are not licensed as a teacher. A parent, 
guardian, or legal custodian wishing to home-school their child must, however, comply 
with the requirements of Iowa Code chapter 299A and the administrative rules 
promulgated by the State Board of Education to implement that chapter. The State 
Board rules appear as Iowa Administrative Code 281 — chapter 31. Information 
regarding the procedural requirements for home schooling may be obtained from the 
Iowa Department of Education or your local school. 
 
Is special education available? 
Children under twenty-one years of age who are limited in their ability to obtain an 
education because of physical, mental, communication or learning disabilities or who 
are behaviorally disordered are provided with free appropriate special education as 
required by state and federal law. To the maximum extent possible, children requiring 
special education are educated with children who do not require special education. 
 
What about career and vocational education? 
Iowa law requires that the concept of career education be incorporated into the 
educational program of elementary and secondary schools to enable students to 
become familiar with the values of a work-oriented society. Essential elements in career 
education include awareness of self in relation to others and the needs of society, 
exploration of employment opportunities and experience in personal decision-making, 
and experiences which will help students to integrate work values and work skills into 
their lives. Federal law prohibits sex discrimination, sex bias, and sex stereotyping in 
vocational programs assisted under the Carl D. Perkins Vocational and Technical 
Education Act of 1998. A variety of services related to vocational education are available 
in Iowa schools and can provide an excellent opportunity to encourage students to 
explore their aptitudes and interests in both traditional and nontraditional occupations 
for their gender. 
 
 
 

Do women have opportunities in 
higher education? 
Iowa has a long tradition of providing 
higher education to its citizens on an 
equal basis. The University of Iowa 
was coeducational when it was 
established in 1847. All other public 
colleges and universities established 
since have been, and are, 
coeducational. Participation of 
women in higher education programs, 
activities and employment is 
monitored carefully. 
 
Is sex discrimination prohibited in 
education? 
Yes, the Iowa School Standards Act, 
the Iowa Civil Rights Act, and Title IX 
of the U.S. Education Amendments 
prohibit sex discrimination in 
education. If you have reason to 
believe that your school district is 
discriminating on the basis of sex, 
contact your local school district’s 
Equity Coordinator (whose name, 
address, and phone number should be 
published in all major publications as 
well as in the annual notification to all 
patrons of the community), the Iowa 
Department of Education, the Iowa 
Civil Rights Commission, or the U.S. 
Department of Education. 
 

Are problems concerning sexism 
addressed? 
Iowa law requires that the educational 
program in Iowa public schools shall 
be taught from a multicultural, 
gender-fair approach. Iowa teachers, 
as a condition of certification, must 
complete an approved course in 
human relations. 
 

Education 
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Employment 

At what age may I work? 
You may work at any occupation when 
you are 18. 
 
Between the ages of 16 and 18, you may 
work at any occupation except those 
declared by statute to be hazardous; 
however, some employers may require 
you to secure a certificate of age, which 
you can get from your superintendent 
of schools or Iowa Workforce 
Development. 
 
If you are between the ages of 14 and 
16, you may not work during regular 
school hours unless legally out of 
school, in a supervised schoolwork 
program, or if you are enrolled in part-
time schooling and work as part of your 
school training. As a 14 or 15 year old, 
you may work only in certain jobs and 
must secure a work permit from your 
superintendent of schools or Iowa 
Workforce Development before you are 
employed. 
 
For a complete list of permitted and 
prohibited occupations for 14 to 16 year 
olds, please contact the Iowa Labor 
Services Division of Iowa Workforce 
Development. 
 
What is the minimum wage and to 
whom does it apply? 
All employers who do business of any 
kind in Iowa or outside the state are 
required by federal and state law to pay 
most employees a minimum wage of 
$7.25 per hour. This includes most 
businesses, hospitals, retail 
establishments, and public agencies. An 
employer is not required to pay an 
employee the full minimum wage until 
the employee has worked for ninety 
days. Employees of restaurants, hotels, 
motels, or other occupations that 
receive primarily tips are paid a reduced 
wage, which the employers determine 
is sufficient to meet the minimum wage 
when added to tips. The employee 
should take note of the tips estimated 
by the employer. An employee can file  
 

a written appeal with the labor 
commissioner if the amount of tips 
estimated by the employer is incorrect. 
 
The minimum wage law covers some 
domestic workers. Contact the Wage 
and Hour Division of the U.S. 
Department of Labor for specific 
information. 
 
With certain exceptions, federal law 
requires the payment of overtime if an 
employee works more than 40 hours in 
a week. Contact the Wage and Hour 
Division of the U.S. Department of 
Labor if you have any questions. You 
may also track your hours of work on 
the DOL Timesheet application 
available for iPhone and Android 
smartphones and submit your time 
directly to U.S. Department of Labor for 
review. 
 
Does the law prohibit discrimination 
on the basis of sex in employment? 
Yes, several federal, state, and local 
laws prohibit discrimination in hiring, 
promotion, discharge, pay, job 
classification, and all other terms and 
conditions of employment on the basis 
of sex. The Iowa Civil Rights Act 
prohibits discrimination based on sex, 
sexual orientation and gender identity 
for all Iowa employers, employment 
agencies, and labor organizations 
unless they have fewer than four 
regular employees, or the employment 
involves only domestic or personal 
service to the employer or the 
employee’s family. 
 

Is sexual harassment a form of sex 
discrimination? 
Yes, courts have generally found that 
sexual harassment is unlawful 
discrimination. Sexual harassment can 
take on many forms, including 
unwelcome sexual advances, requests 
for sexual favors, telling, texting or e-
mailing jokes of a sexual nature, 
displaying posters or pictures of a 
sexual nature, and other verbal or 
physical sexual conduct that is offensive 
to the recipient. An employee can bring 
a claim for sexual harassment when the 
harassment is so severe or pervasive 
that it alters the conditions of 
employment and creates an abusive 
working environment. 
 
Your employer is liable for the acts of its 
agents and supervisory employees, 
regardless of whether those acts were 
authorized or forbidden by the 
employer or whether the employer 
knew or should have known of their 
occurrence. If, however, your employer 
has an internal procedure for 
complaining about sexual harassment, 
you should make sure to utilize it, if at 
all possible. Your employer may escape 
liability for harassment if you 
“unreasonably” fail to use an available 
employer-provided harassment 
complaint procedure. The employer will 
be held responsible for acts of sexual 
harassment by coworkers if the 
employer knew or should have known 
about them and did not take prompt 
and appropriate action to correct it. 
Under state law, a harasser can also be 
personally liable even if your employer 
is not liable. 
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What are some examples of sex discrimination in 
employment? 

1) If an employer does not hire you because coworkers, 
clients or customers prefer not to work with a woman. 

2) If an employer does not hire you because a man has 
traditionally held the job or if an employer hires only 
women for some jobs and only men for others. 

3) If an employer does not hire you because the job 
requires supervision over men or working with men. 

4) If an employer does not hire you because the job 
involves late-night hours, travel, or heavy physical 
labor. You are entitled to choose for yourself whether 
you wish to take a job involving those requirements: 
the employer cannot automatically assume that 
because you are a woman you could not or would not 
take such a job. 

5) If an employer does not hire you because you have 
children or makes inquiries into your use of birth 
control methods. Pre-employment inquiries about 
childcare arrangements are also discriminatory unless 
asked of male and female applicants alike. 

6) If an employer refuses to promote you for any of the 
above reasons. 

7) If an employer discharges you or forces you to take a 
certain amount of time off without pay because of 
pregnancy. Iowa law allows you to take up to eight 
weeks of leave as a result of pregnancy if medically 
necessary. 

8) If an employer does not allow you to use accumulated 
sick leave for the purpose of childbirth but allows 
other temporarily disabled employees to use their 
accumulated sick leave. 

9) If an employer refuses to give you your job back after 
your pregnancy, but jobs are held open for persons 
gone for other medical reasons. 

10) If your company health insurance plan covers most 
temporary disabilities except pregnancy or 
pregnancy-related disabilities. 

11) If your employer requires sexual favors as a condition 
of continued employment or promotion. 

12) If your employer is subject to follow federal civil rights 
law and requires that you contribute more to pension 
or retirement plans than your male coworkers. 

 
This is not intended to be a complete list. If you have 
questions about your job situation, contact the Iowa Civil 
Rights Commission, or the U.S. Equal Employment 
Opportunity Commission, or your local Human Rights agency 
or commission. 
 
Can I be terminated or demoted for complaining about 
harassment or filing a complaint? 
No. It is illegal for an employer to retaliate against an 
employee for filing a civil rights complaint, providing 
information about a complaint, or otherwise attempting to 
secure legally guaranteed rights. 
 

 

There is no monetary charge for filing a civil rights complaint with 
the Iowa Civil Rights Commission. The commission can be 
contacted at (515) 281-4430 or 1-800-457-4416 or a complaint 
form can be completed on your computer at icrc.iowa.gov. 
 
What questions can I be asked on a job interview? 
Neither state nor federal civil rights laws specifically prohibit the 
use of any question in an interview in and of itself. However, 
questions that have the hint of discrimination are suspect. An 
employer who asks questions that disproportionately screen out 
members of one sex must be able to show that such questions are 
accurate predictors of job performance, or are necessary to the 
safe and efficient operation of the business. Questions that do 
not relate to job performance or business necessity and serve, 
either intentionally or unintentionally, as barriers to employment 
for members of one sex are unlawful. The general rule is that all 
applicants should be treated in the same way. For example, 
requiring information on childcare arrangements only from 
female applicants is unlawful. Inquiries concerning race, color, 
religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, national 
origin, physical or mental disability status, or genetic information 
may be discriminatory since employers would have difficulty 
proving that such questions validly predict successful job 
performance or that the questions relate to legitimate business 
purposes. If you believe a prospective employer asked 
discriminatory questions, contact the Iowa Civil Rights 
Commission. 
 

Do I have job rights as a pregnant worker or family caregiver? 
Both the Pregnancy Discrimination Act and the Iowa Civil Rights 
Act prohibit discrimination against pregnant workers in hiring, 
pay, promotion, or access to fringe benefits. It is illegal for 
employers to set arbitrary time limits when a woman must stop 
working because of pregnancy or when she can return to work 
after giving birth. 
 
In addition, the Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 requires an 
employer to allow an eligible employee a total of 12 work weeks 
without pay during any 12-month period for: 
1) the birth of a child, 
2) placement of a child with the employee for adoption or 

foster care (includes time to consult with a lawyer and to 
attend court), 

3) care for the spouse, child, or parent of the employee if the 
individual has a serious illness, 

4) because of a serious health condition making the employee 
unable to perform the functions of the position of such 
employee, or 

5) if there is a qualifying event related to a spouse, son, 
daughter or parent being called to active duty in the military. 

 
The entitlement to leave for individuals using it for the birth, 
adoption, or foster care for a child begins on the date of the birth 
or placement and expires at the end of a 12-month period. 
 

Leave taken for the birth, adoption, or foster care of a child may 
not be taken intermittently or on a reduced schedule unless the 
employee and the employer agree on the schedule. 
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Leave for illness, whether on the part of 
the employee, the employee’s spouse, 
child, or parent of the employee may be 
taken intermittently or on a reduced 
schedule. 
 
If the employer provides paid leave for 
fewer than 12 work weeks, any 
additional weeks of leave necessary to 
attain 12 weeks of leave may be 
provided without compensation. The 
employer may require the employee to 
substitute any accrued paid vacation 
leave, personal leave or family leave for 
leaves relating to the birth, adoption or 
foster care of a child or for health care 
for a family member. For serious health 
conditions, the employer may require 
the employee to substitute any accrued 
paid vacation, personal leave, medical 
or sick leave. 
 
Any employee taking a leave protected 
by FMLA shall be entitled, upon return, 
to: 
1) restoration by the employee to her 

previous position or to an 
equivalent position, and 

2) no loss of any employment benefit 
accrued prior to the date on which 
the leave began. But, the employee 
does not accrue seniority rights or 
other employment benefits during 
the leave. Also, the employer may 
require medical certification before 
approving the leave. 

 
To utilize these benefits, the employee 
should give the employer timely notice 
of her intent to take the leave.  If you 
have questions about your rights as a 
pregnant worker, contact the Iowa Civil 
Rights Commission. If you have 
questions about your entitlement to 
leave, contact the U.S. Department of 
Labor. 
 
The Americans with Disabilities Act 
provides additional protection to 
women in their roles as caregivers. If 
you are absent from work or you need 
accommodation in your schedule as a 
result of your care-giving 
responsibilities that may trigger 
protection, you may contact the Equal 
Employment Opportunity Commission 
regarding any questions regarding your 
rights. 
 

What protection do I have on the job? 
Working conditions must meet the 
safety and health requirements 
established under both the federal and 
state occupational safety and health 
acts. Any suspected violations should 
be reported to the Department of Labor 
of either the state or federal 
government. It is illegal for your 
employer to fire you or discipline you in 
any way for reporting suspected 
violations. 
 
If you are injured on your job, you are 
entitled to benefit payments while you 
are disabled. Your employer normally 
has the right to select the health care 
provider who will treat any work injury. 
Contact the Iowa Workers’ 
Compensation Commissioner at Iowa 
Workforce Development or contact a 
lawyer with any questions about an 
injury on the job. 
 
Am I protected if I lose my job? 
If you have lost your job through no 
fault of your own and are able and 
actively willing to work, you may be 
eligible to receive unemployment 
insurance benefits through Iowa 
Workforce Development. You must be 
sure to register for work or you may be 
disqualified for benefits. Eligibility 
requirements are specific and the 
process for obtaining and keeping 
unemployment insurance benefits is 
complicated, so, as soon as you become 
unemployed contact your local Iowa 
Workforce Development office in order 
to establish your eligibility and to 
 

understand your responsibilities under 
this program. 
 
Can I get disability income insurance? 
Yes. If a company offers disability 
income insurance to men, such 
coverage must also be available to 
women. Present law and regulations 
allow insurance companies to charge 
women higher rates than men. The 
terms, conditions, and benefits paid, 
however, must be comparable for men 
and women when both are similarly 
employed and when other legitimate 
factors used to determine insurability, 
such as health or age, are equal. 
 
Can a homemaker with no recent job 
experience get help in finding a 
paying job? 
You may be eligible for assistance as a 
displaced homemaker. Displaced 
homemakers are women who have 
spent most of their adult years working 
as homemakers and have suddenly lost 
that option due to divorce, death, or 
desertion. Women who are or have 
been dependent on government 
assistance, or who are supported as the 
parent of a child who is 16 or 17 years of 
age, are also displaced homemakers. 
The State of Iowa provides funds each 
year to selected programs that provide 
services to displaced homemakers and 
assist them in the transition to the labor 
force. Contact your local YWCA, 
Women’s Center, community college, 
or Iowa Workforce Development office 
for information on programs in your 
area. 
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Housing 

Does the law prohibit discrimination on the basis of sex in 
housing? 
Yes. Under state and federal law, you cannot be denied the 
right to purchase or rent any form of housing because you are a 
woman. There are a few limited exceptions regarding allowable 
discrimination in the rental or leasing of property or rooms. 
These exceptions include, for example, if a bona fide religious 
institution requires qualifications relating to a bona fide 
religious purpose, if the owner of the building also lives in the 
building, or if the rental or leasing agreement would force 
residents of opposite sexes to share a living area. 
 
If a woman wants to rent out a room in her home, may she 
specify that the renter must be another woman? 
Yes. You can specify that a renter or boarder be of the same sex 
as you if you and the renter would be forced to share a common 
living area, such as a hallway or bathroom. If you are a renter, 
the landlord’s permission should be obtained to sublet the 
home. 
 
Can I be denied the right to purchase or rent a home because 
of my marital status? 
You cannot be denied the right to purchase a home because of 
your marital status. With a rental, there may be an exception by 
a bona fide religious institution to impose a qualification 
related to a bona fide religious purpose, or if the 
occupant/owner of the building also lives in the building, or of 
the rental/leasing would force residents of both sexes to share a 
living area. 
 
Can I be denied the right to purchase or rent a home because 
I have children? 
Generally, you cannot be denied the right to purchase or rent a 
home because you have children. The only exception for denial 
of housing based on familial status is subsidized elderly 
housing. 
 
Is my landlord required to allow changes to an apartment to 
accommodate my disability? 
A landlord must allow modification of a dwelling if the 
modification is necessary to allow the disabled renter full 
enjoyment of the premises.  Furthermore, the cost for 
modifications is the renter’s responsibility.  Before giving 
permission to modify, the landlord may require that the 

renter agree to return the dwelling to its original state before 
moving out. The landlord can also require periodic payments 
from the tenant, during the term of the tenancy, to be used to 
pay for the return of the dwelling to its original state. 
 
What do the terms “homestead” and “homestead rights” 
mean? 
”Homestead” is defined as a dwelling used by the owner as his 
or her residence. If it is located within a city plot, its size cannot 
exceed one-half acre; otherwise it cannot contain more than 
40 acres. “Homestead rights” are legal privileges associated 
with a person’s home or residence. 
 
What are some of these homestead rights? 
With a few exceptions, such as a mortgage covering the 
homestead, there cannot be a forced sale of a homestead. Any 
waiver, or release of this exemption, must be in writing, and 
signed by all owners of the homestead. One spouse cannot 
remove the other spouse or their children from the 
homestead, without first obtaining the other spouse’s consent. 
If a spouse dies, the survivor may keep the homestead for life; 
if no spouse survives, the children may hold the property as a 
homestead. 
 
What do I do if I believe I am being discriminated against? 
If you believe you have been discriminated against in the area 
of housing, contact the Iowa Civil Rights Commission to find 
out about filing a housing discrimination complaint. A Fair 
Housing Specialist will assist you with information and, if you 
have grounds to file a complaint, will assist you in completing a 
complaint form. There is no charge for the Commission’s 
services. The Commission will also cross-file your complaint 
with the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development 
(HUD) to protect your rights if your situation is covered by 
federal law. A fair housing complaint must be filed with the 
Commission within 300 days of the alleged discriminatory 
incident.   

Iowa Civil Rights Commission 
400 E. 14th Street 

Grimes State Office Building 
Des Moines, Iowa 50319 

515-281-4121 or 800-457-4416 
414-242-5840 (Fax) 
http://icrc.iowa.gov 

 

http://icrc.iowa.gov/


IOWA WOMEN … AND THE LAW  14 

 

 

  

Marriage & Divorce 

When can I get married? 
If you are 18 years or older, you do not 
need your parents’ consent to marry. 
Individuals are permitted by law to marry 
someone of the same or opposite 
gender. If you are age 16 or 17 you must 
get consent from your parents, legal 
guardian, or parent having legal custody 
in the case of divorce, and the Court must 
approve your marriage. The Court will 
approve the marriage only if the 
underage person(s) are able to show two 
things: (1) that the underage person(s) 
are capable of assuming the 
responsibilities of marriage; and (2) that 
the marriage serves the best interests of 
the underage person(s). Pregnancy alone 
is not enough to establish that marriage 
is in the best interests of an underage 
party. If a parent or guardian refuses to 
consent to the marriage, a judge can 
review the case to determine if the 
parent’s consent was unreasonably 
withheld. If the judge finds that consent 
was unreasonably withheld, he or she can 
grant the parties permission to marry if 
the Court finds in favor of the factors 1 
and 2 listed above. If you are under the 
age of 16 you may not get married in 
Iowa. 
 
What must I do to get a marriage 
license? 
In order to obtain a marriage license both 
parties must sign and file an application 
with the county registrar. The application 
must include the social security number 
of each party and an affidavit (a signed, 
written declaration) from a competent 
disinterested third party as a witness. 
The witness must be of legal age and 
attest to the parties’ ages and 
competency to marry. After receiving an 
application the county registrar may 
issue the license, which shall not become 
valid until the expiration of three days 
after the date of issuance of the license. 
This three-day waiting period may be 
waived in the case of emergency or 
extraordinary circumstances. An order 
authorizing the validation of a license 
may be provided by the  
 

district court under conditions of 
emergency or extraordinary 
circumstances upon application of the 
parties filed with the county registrar. If 
the marriage license has not been 
issued within 6 months of the 
application, the application is void. 
After obtaining a marriage license, your 
marriage may be solemnized by any 
judge, judicial magistrate, or ordained 
person. 
 
Do I have to get a marriage license to 
get married? 
No, you may become married without 
obtaining a marriage license. This is 
called a common law marriage. A 
common law marriage is as valid as a 
ceremonial marriage and is ended in the 
same way. The only difference between 
the two is that a common law marriage 
is not solemnized by an official 
authorized by law to perform 
marriages. A party asserting the 
existence of common law marriage 
must prove three elements: 
1) present intent and agreement to be 

married; 
2) continuous cohabitation; and 
3) public declaration that the parties 

are married. 
 

The parties must also be capable of 
entering into a marriage (of sufficient 
age and competency) and must not be 
close relations. (Prohibited marriages 
include a man and his father’s sister, 
mother’s sister, daughter, sister, son’s 
daughter, daughter’s daughter, 
brother’s daughter, or sister’s daughter, 
or between a woman and her father’s 
brother, mother’s brother, son, brother, 
son’s son, daughter’s son, brother’s son 
or sister’s son). A marriage may not be 
between first cousins. Additionally, if 
one of the parties is already married, 
they cannot marry a second person. 
That second marriage will be “void.” 
But, if the parties live and cohabit 
together after the death or divorce of 
the former husband or wife, the second 
marriage will then become valid. See 
Iowa Code section 595.19. 
 
There is no special time period in Iowa 
to establish a common law marriage. 
Instead, a common law marriage exists 

There is no special time period in Iowa 
to establish a common law marriage. 
Instead, a common law marriage exists 
if all of the requirements listed above 
are met. If you do not obtain a marriage 
license it may be difficult to prove that 
you are married or you may encounter 
problems collecting Social Security and 
other benefits. 
 
If I marry in another state or country, 
is my marriage legal in Iowa? 
If the marriage is legal in the place 
where you were married, then it is legal 
in Iowa so long as the parties meet the 
requirements for validity and if the 
marriage would not be otherwise void. 
For example, a marriage between two 
people under the age of 16 is not valid in 
Iowa, nor is a marriage between first 
cousins, even if the marriage was valid 
in the other state or country where the 
marriage was created. 
 
What are the grounds for dissolution 
(divorce) in Iowa? 
In order to end your marriage, you do 
not have to prove fault or 
blameworthiness of your spouse. A 
court will grant a divorce if you can 
demonstrate that the marital 
relationship has broken down so that 
the legitimate objects of matrimony 
have been destroyed and there is no 
reasonable likelihood that the marriage 
can be saved. 
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How long does it take to get a divorce? 
It will take at least 90 days before a court will grant a divorce 
decree. However, the court has the authority to grant a decree 
before this 90-day waiting period in cases of emergency, or 
where immediate action is needed to protect the essential 
rights of a party who may be affected by the decree. If there are 
complex property, support, or custody issues, it may take 
longer than 90 days before the decree becomes final. It may 
also take longer if either party seeks a mandatory reconciliation 
period. In that case, the court may order that you and your 
spouse attempt to reconcile. Attempts to reconcile usually 
involve both parties attending joint counseling. A court may 
waive the requirement for mandatory reconciliation if a party is 
able to demonstrate a history of domestic abuse in the 
relationship, or, alternatively, both parties may waive 
reconciliation. 
 
What can I do once the papers are filed? 
While waiting for the final hearing, you may live as you will after 
the divorce. However, you may want to consult your attorney 
for advice on matters like dating or cohabitation, especially if 
you and your spouse cannot agree to a child custody 
arrangement. 
 
Who gets the home and other property? 
The court will consider several factors when determining how 
to fairly divide real estate and personal property. Some of these 
factors are the length of the marriage, the property brought by 
each party to the marriage, the earning capacity of each party, 
the age and health of each party, and any contributions of 
either party to the education, training, or earning power of the 
other. These factors must also be considered when setting an 
amount for alimony. Property that has been inherited by either 
party before or during the course of the marriage is generally 
protected from division, unless it would be unfair to the other 
party or children not to divide it. 
 
Do homemakers have property rights in a divorce? 
Yes. When determining how to divide property during a divorce 
the court must give appropriate economic value to a party’s 
contributions to homemaking and child care services. This 
means that the court will recognize the economic contributions 
of a spouse who takes care of the home and/or cares for the 
children. 
 
What if my spouse and I agree on how to divide our 
property? 
The court will generally adopt any reasonable settlement that is 
agreed by both parties. You may need to consult your attorney 
with regard to child support issues. 
 

Who can get support payments or child support? 
Either spouse can seek financial support from the other. 
Spousal support (alimony) or child support can be awarded to 
either party by the court after it hears evidence from both 
parties at the divorce hearing.  A spouse does not have an 
absolute right to alimony.  The court will consider factors 

 

similar to those it uses to divide property and may assign 
alimony for a limited or indefinite period of time. The court may 
also require either party to pay child support to the other. Child 
support payments are determined by examining the parent’s 
financial resources and the Iowa Child Support Guidelines, as 
well as the needs of the child, including the desirability of full-
time parenting in the home by the custodial parent. 
 
When the divorce decree is issued, the court will typically enter 
a wage assignment so that child support is deducted from the 
spouse’s paycheck. You or your attorney will need to make sure 
the wage withholding order is forwarded to the appropriate 
employer and the Collection Services Center located in Des 
Moines, Iowa. 
 
Can the court change child custody, support and alimony if 
my former spouse or I move or lose our jobs? 
Yes, the court can modify or change the divorce decree if the 
party seeking modification can show a substantial change in 
circumstances. A party must first file a Petition for 
Modification. To determine whether there has a been a 
substantial change in circumstances, the court will consider 
several factors including but not limited to changes in 
employment, earning capacity, income or resources of a party, 
or changes in the residence of a party. If a parent who is 
awarded joint legal custody and physical care or sole legal 
custody decides to relocate the child’s residence to a location 
that is 150 miles or more away from where the child resided at 
the time custody was awarded, the court can consider the 
relocation a substantial change in circumstances and can 
modify the custody agreement to preserve the relationship 
between the child and the parent who is not relocating. 
 
Can I get support without filing for divorce? 
Yes, a court may order your spouse to pay an allowance to you 
and your children without requiring you to seek a divorce or 
dissolution. This allowance is known as separate maintenance. 
The grounds for separate maintenance are the same as those 
that are required for support during a dissolution or divorce 
proceeding. 
 

What does it mean to get my marriage annulled and when 
can it be done? 
A decree of annulment destroys the existence of the marriage. 
It is as if you were never married. A marriage can be annulled 
for one of the following four reasons: 

1) the marriage is prohibited by law (where the parties 
are related by blood or are underage); 

2) either party was impotent at the time of marriage; 
3) either party was already married to another living 

person at the time of this marriage; or 
4) either party was a ward under guardianship and was 

found by the court to lack the capacity to contract a 
valid marriage. 
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What happens to my children if my 
marriage is annulled? 
Children born into a marriage 
relationship are still legitimate after a 
marriage is annulled unless the court 
declares that they are not legitimate. 
The court’s declaration that a child is 
not legitimate must be based on proof. 
Determining custody and support of the 
children during an annulment 
proceeding follows the same procedure 
that is used during a divorce or 
dissolution proceeding. 
 
Children born outside of a marriage 
become legitimate by the subsequent 
marriage of their parents. Children born 
of a marriage contracted in violation of 
certain laws may still be considered 
legitimate.   
 
How does a change in marital status 
affect the filing of tax returns? 
A person who gets divorced by the close 
of the tax year should file an individual 
tax return as a single person or Head of 
Household. However, a person who has 
become separated will generally file as 
a married taxpayer. Under certain 
conditions, a married taxpayer with a 
child may be able to file as Head of 
Household if they have not lived with 
their spouse during the final six months 
of the tax year. 
 

My spouse and I have debt – who has 
to pay it? 
If both parties to a divorce are 
employed and earn approximately the 
same amount of money, it is not 
unusual for the court to order payment 
of marital debts by both parties on a 50-
50% basis. Generally, debts of a 
personal nature are ordered to be paid 
by the party who incurred them.  

 
 
 

Despite this, a creditor may still seek 
recovery of the debt from you and if  
you contracted with the creditor and 
are on the account, or if the goods, 
and/or services were incurred as a 
family or medical expenses 
 
 Who gets to claim the children for 
income tax purposes? 
Many times, the divorce decree that 
you enter into will determine who is to 
claim the child(ren) for tax purposes. 
However, if there is no divorce decree, 
the custodial parent may claim the 
child. A noncustodial parent may claim 
the child if all four of the following 
statements are true. 
1) The parents: 
a. Are divorced or legally 
separated under a decree of divorce or 
separate maintenance, 
b. Are separated under a written 
separation agreement, or 
c. Lived apart at all times during 
the last 6 months of the year, whether 
or not they are or were married. 
2) The child received over half of his 

or her support for the year from the 
parents. 

3) The child is in the custody of one or 
both parents for more than half of 
the year. 

4) Either of the following applies. 
a. The custodial parent signs a 
written declaration, discussed later, 
that he or she will not claim the child as 
a dependent for the year, and the 
noncustodial parent attaches this 
written declaration to his or her return. 
(If the decree or agreement went into 
effect after 1984, see Divorce decree or 
separation agreement that went into 
effect after 1984 and before 2009, 
later.) 
b.  A pre-1985 decree of divorce 
or separate maintenance or written 
separation agreement that applies to 
2010, states that the noncustodial 
parent can claim the child as a 
dependent, if the decree or agreement 
was not changed after 1984 to say the 

noncustodial parent cannot claim the 
child as a dependent, and the 
noncustodial parent provides at least 
$600 for the child’s support during 2010. 

 
See Child support under pre-1985 
agreement, later. 

 

What happens if my spouse refuses to 
pay other bills for which our house has 
been put up as collateral? 
If your spouse refuses to pay a note for 
which your house was put up as 
collateral, the lender may be able to 
exercise its remedies against the 
debtor, including foreclosure, or a filing 
a lawsuit against you for the remaining 
balance owed on the note. If the 
collateral is personal property, a lender 
may be allowed to repossess the goods 
if they have a security interest therein. 
This is true even if your divorce decree 
specified that your spouse should pay 
the bills. Creditors have no obligation to 
honor a divorce decree and you may 
have to sue your former spouse in order 
to secure payment of those bills. Be 
sure to discuss this issue with your 
attorney, who may be able to come up 
with creative approaches that will help 
you reach a settlement to assure all bills 
will be paid. 
 
What can I do if my former spouse 
refuses to pay court-ordered child 
support? 
You can contact the Iowa Department 
of Human Services and the Iowa Child 
Support Recovery Unit. This office will 
attempt to locate your former spouse 
and enforce the child support 
obligation. These services are free to 
people receiving public assistance; 
others must pay an application fee that 
will not exceed $25. If child support 
payments become one-month 
delinquent, the Child Support Recovery 
Unit or the court may enter an order to 
assign wages or other income. The 
person who disobeys a court order to 
pay child support may be found in 
contempt of court, a quasi-criminal 
charge that could result in 
imprisonment, fines, or other sanctions. 
For more information you can contact 
the 24 hour child support automated 
information line at 1-888-229-9223 to 
find a local Child Support Recovery Unit 
or visit their website at 
https://secureapp.dhs.state.ia.us/Custo
merWeb/.   
 

https://secureapp.dhs.state.ia.us/CustomerWeb/
https://secureapp.dhs.state.ia.us/CustomerWeb/
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PARENTAL RESPONSIBILITY 
FACTS 

Parental Responsibility 

Children & Adoption How long am I responsible for my child? 
You are responsible for your child until 
they reach the age of 18 unless your child 
emancipates before 18 and parental 
rights have been terminated, or until the 
parent has renounced all legal parental 
rights and the child has accepted the 
release. 
 
Is my second spouse responsible for my 
child? 
Your second spouse may voluntarily 
assume the responsibilities of a parent. 
However, a stepparent is not required to 
be responsible for the child unless he or 
she adopts the child to assume full legal 
rights and responsibilities. 
 
May I keep my illegitimate child? 
If you are the mother of a child born out 
of wedlock, you have sole custody of 
your child, unless the father is on the 
birth certificate or has filed an affidavit of 
paternity. If the court enters a judgment 
of paternity, the father may petition the 
courts for visitation or custody. 
 
Can single people adopt a child or 
children? 
Yes, an unmarried adult may adopt. 
 
What if my child works? 
If you have legal custody of your child 
then you are entitled to the services and 
earnings of your child. If your child’s 
employer fails to pay wages earned, you 
have the legal right to recover the unpaid 
wages from your child’s employer. 
 

What if my child is injured? 
If you have legal custody of your child, 
you may recover for the loss of the child’s 
services. If your child is injured by the 
wrongful act or negligence of another 
person, you may also be entitled to 
recover additional money damages. 
 
 

Who has custody and control of my children? 
You and your child’s father do, unless a court of law has declared your child to be in need 
of assistance or delinquent, and the court has decided it best for the child to be 
elsewhere.  A step-parent may assume custody of a child if the biological parent provides 
a release of custody and the step-parent agrees to take custody.  You can also agree to 
let a family member take custody of a child if you go through a guardianship action or 
provide that person with a power of attorney. 
 
Additionally, your child may not be removed from your custody without court action. 
You must be notified of the court action and you have a right to be present in any related 
hearing. If your child is being removed because a court of law has declared him/her to be 
in need of assistance, because of abuse, neglect, or special needs that you are unable to 
provide for, you have the right to be represented by an attorney and have an opportunity 
to defend your rights as a parent. 
 
Who is responsible for the support and education of my children? 
You and your child’s father, or other adopting parent, must provide reasonable and 
necessary support and education for your child dependent on your incomes. You must 
provide support for your child even if they live outside of the home or in foster care. 
Failure to provide reasonable and necessary support, as well as failure to ensure the 
child’s attendance at school, can result in legal action against you. 
 
Am I responsible if my child causes loss or injury? 
Parents with legal custody are responsible for actual damages to person(s) or property 
caused by their minor child. A parent’s liability is limited to not more than $2,000 for a 
single act causing damage, and not more than $5,000 for two or more acts when 
compensation is to be paid to the same claimant. 
 
Can a child be taken away from his or her parents? 
Yes. If the court determines that removal is necessary for the welfare of the child the 
court can order a temporary removal. If the child is removed, the court that ordered 
removal must hold a hearing within ten days of removal to determine the length of the 
removal. The parents may be present at this hearing. If the court decides that it is in the 
child’s best interest to remain out of the home, the court will hold a second hearing, 
within a reasonable time, to determine what services can be offered to best facilitate the 
return of the child to the parent’s home. 
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The court’s goal is to provide the services 
needed to enable the quick return of the 
child to the home; however, after the 
required investigations, should the court 
find that the best interest of the child 
requires that the child not return to their 
home, the court may direct the County 
Attorney or the child’s attorney to begin 
proceedings to terminate parental rights. 
Note: Parental rights will not be 
terminated when a child is placed outside 
the home because he or she is found to be 
delinquent (i.e., to have broken the law). 
 
Are parents notified and given an 
opportunity to be heard before any 
action is taken? 
Yes. If the child is under the age of 18, the 
parents have a right to be notified and a 
right to be present at all court hearings. If 
the child is believed to be abused or 
neglected, the parents have a right to be 
represented by an attorney. If the parents 
cannot afford an attorney, the court will 
appoint one. 
 
However, in an emergency, a doctor, 
peace officer, or juvenile court officer may 
temporarily remove a child from the 
parent’s care prior to a hearing. A hearing 
will be held shortly after the emergency 
removal and the courts will make every 
effort to locate and inform the parents of 
the removal. 
 
 
 

What is the policy on abused children? 
The state of Iowa encourages citizens to 
report suspected cases, ensures 
thorough and timely assessments of 
those reports, and provides 
rehabilitative services to the children 
and their families seeking to “... provide 
the greatest possible protection to 
victims or potential victims of abuse ... 
and their families which will stabilize the 
home environment so that the family 
can remain intact without further danger 
to the child.” 
 
What is the public policy of Iowa 
regarding the care, protection, and 
control of children? 
Iowa case law indicates that the ‘best 
interest of the child’ is the standard 
guiding Iowa’s public policy. Parents 
have a constitutional right to decide the 
care and control of their children, and 
that right can only be taken away when 
the parent is proven to be unfit. Iowa law 
seeks to encourage family unity by 
honoring biological as well as adoptive 
parental rights and responsibilities. 
Where the court must step in due to 
abuse, neglect, or delinquency, the legal 
process is geared to provide several and 
various resources for parents to enable 
them to strengthen their families and 
retain custody and control of the child. In 
delinquency cases, consideration is also 
given to the safety of the community. 

 

What is my responsibility if I am aware 
of child abuse or neglect? 
Under Iowa law, doctors and other 
medical personnel, social workers, 
psychologists, school employees, foster 
care facility employees, substance abuse 
program employees, childcare 
personnel, Head Start and child 
development program employees, and 
law enforcement officers are required to 
report suspected child abuse and neglect 
to the Iowa Department of Human 
Services. Any other person who believes 
a child has been abused may make a 
report but is not required to. The law 
creates a central registry for child abuse 
information, and provides both 
immunity to those reporting in good 
faith and penalties for persons who fail 
to report as required. 
 
If you are a mandatory reporter and you 
fail to report known child abuse or 
neglect, Iowa law can hold you civilly 
liable (require you to pay the victim) for 
damages as well as criminally liable for 
failure to report. To report child abuse or 
neglect, call 800-362-2178 at any time of 
the day. The Department of Human 
Services must notify you within 24 hours 
whether your complaint is being 
investigated. You can also notify your 
local law enforcement agency. 
 
 

Privacy Issues 

Why is it important to maintain privacy? 
As more information is becoming widely available, there are 
some potential dangers. Personal information can be used for 
crimes of “identity theft”−when someone takes your Social 
Security number and/or bank or credit card account numbers to 
commit fraud or theft. In addition, people may use personal 
information to harass or stalk you. 

How can I keep information about myself private? 
Be aware of when you are asked to provide personal identifying 
information. Avoid using your Social Security Number unless it 
is required. For example, you are not required to include your 

Social Security Number on your driver’s license.  

 

is required. For example, you are not required to include your 
Social Security Number on your driver’s license.  
 
Do not include your Social Security Number on your checks. Do 
not allow merchants to record your Social Security Number on 
your checks. 
 
Do not carry extra credit cards with you, and do not give out credit 
card information over the telephone unless you have initiated the 
telephone call. Cancel all unused accounts, because that 
information will appear on your credit report. Do not just throw 
away bills or information sent to you from your credit card 
company or other companies if they include personal or financial 
information about you—shred it or tear it up into small pieces. If 
your credit card company sends  
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convenience checks, shred them, and contact the credit card 
company to remove you from their mailing list. 
 
Always take credit card and ATM receipts with you. Never toss 
them in a public trash container. Do not send envelopes for bills 
from your home mailbox, because the billing information can 
be stolen along with the banking information on your check. 
 
Keep a list or photocopy of all credit cards, account numbers, 
expiration dates, and telephone numbers of the customer 
service and fraud departments in a secure place (not your wallet 
or purse) so you can quickly contact creditors if your cards or 
checks have been lost or stolen. 
 
Send “opt-out” letters to credit bureaus, mailing firms, and 
government agencies who have “opt-out” provisions (such as 
driver’s license, voter registration, or county assessor). Ask 
them to send you written confirmation of the receipt of your 
letter, including any special measures they will take to ensure 
your privacy. 
 
Send letters to companies or organizations that maintain 
personal information about you and tell them the importance 
of maintaining confidentiality of all of your records. Ask for 
written confirmation of the receipt of your letter along with any 
special measures the company will take to ensure your privacy. 
The companies or organizations may include your bank, credit 
union, employer, insurance company, health care provider, 
church, charitable organization, professional organization, 
Internet provider, schools, or alumni associations. City 
directories often include information such as your name, 
address, and number of persons in your household. 
 

If you sign up for contests or sweepstakes, your personal 
information may be shared with many other people. Magazine 
and catalogue subscription information may also be widely 
shared. 
 
Get an unlisted telephone number. Identify all organizations 
that publish telephone directories and send a letter to the 
telephone company emphasizing the need to keep your 
information completely confidential. 
 
Use a pseudonym for any email address or Internet address, so 
that you cannot be easily identified. 
 
You can order a free credit report once a year from the major 
credit bureaus to check for inaccuracies and fraudulent use of 
your accounts. The U.S. Federal Trade Commission (FTC) 
provides information about receiving a free credit report at the 
following website: 
http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/microsites/freereports/index.shtml 
The FTC also provides a link to a website, sponsored by the 
three major credit bureaus, which allows you to get a free credit 
report without paying for incidental expenses, and without 
providing your contact information to any other companies: 
https://www.AnnualCreditReport.com. 

 

Some companies sponsor “free” reports that bill for services or 
share your information with other companies. The Iowa 
Attorney General also includes contact information and 
guidance online: https://www.iowaattorneygeneral.gov/for-
consumers/general-consumer-information/identity-theft/. 
  
Password-protect your cell phone, smartphone or tablet with a 
strong password. If your phone or tablet is stolen, immediately 
contact your service provider in order to cancel the service and, 
in some cases, track the location of the stolen device. Shield 
your hand when using your PIN at a bank ATM. Note whether 
the ATM device appears to have been tampered with, and if 
your card is not returned, immediately contact the fraud 
department of the business that issued the debit card. 
 
When filling out credit or loan applications, ask the company 
how it disposes of papers containing personal identifying 
information. 
 
Store canceled checks in a safe place. When you dispose of 
them, shred the information to keep your bank account 
information confidential. 
 
When disposing of a computer, electronic device, or other 
storage media (thumb drive, flash drive, CD, DVD, GPS device, 
etc.) that may contain personal identifying information, consult 
with a computer expert to ensure all information has been 
erased from the device. Simply deleting information will not 
remove all information from the memory storage portion of the 
device. Electronic erasure is designed to remove stored 
information. Physical shredding of the hard drive or other data 
storage device may be the most secure method of destruction. 
 
How can I limit Internet access to information about me? 
Internet domains may gather information from a variety of 
sources. By limiting the information that you give to various 
companies, you necessarily limit the information that becomes 
available on the Internet. 
 
In addition, be aware that some Internet service providers and 
some websites use “cookies” to track information about you. 
Check with your Internet service provider about any privacy 
protections offered through your provider. You can browse the 
Internet more anonymously by using certain “anonymizers” 
that are readily available online. 
 
Beware of using credit card numbers or bank account numbers 
for online payments. If the website address does not contain a 
domain name that begins with “https” (rather than “http”), it is 
not a secure site and your personal identifying information may 
be easily retrieved. 
 
Use strong passwords and PINs. Do not use the same password 
for multiple websites. Never use the last four (4) digits of your 
Social Security Number in a password, and avoid using your 
birthdate, middle name, mother’s maiden name, pet’s name, 
address, consecutive numbers, or anything else easily 
discoverable by thieves. Consider using more obscure, but  
 

http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/microsites/freereports/index.shtml
https://www.annualcreditreport.com/
https://www.iowaattorneygeneral.gov/for-consumers/general-consumer-information/identity-theft/
https://www.iowaattorneygeneral.gov/for-consumers/general-consumer-information/identity-theft/
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easily recalled information, such as distant relatives, favorite 
teachers, hobbies, previous vehicles, or prior work colleagues. Do 
not record your passwords on anything in your wallet or purse. 
 
Watch for news reports regarding data breaches for any company 
or organization that has a password-protected entry. Immediately 
change your passwords and PINs when a data breach is 
announced. 
 
Use the maximum privacy protection for social media sites 
(Facebook, Twitter, etc.), which will maintain your privacy while 
allowing you to connect with trusted persons. Be aware of what 
information is shared publicly. Share information in a way that 
you do not reveal extended absences from your home, or other 
information that could increase your vulnerability. Be aware of 
the risks involved in using an application that provides 
information about your current location, as it may reveal when 
you are away from home. 
 
Run a search for your name on common search engines (Google, 
Bing, Yahoo, etc.) in order to determine whether websites provide 
personal information about you or your family. If you find 
information on a website, the website should provide the steps 
required to remove your personal information.  Additionally, the 
search engine website should provide information about the steps 
required to remove the page from appearing on the search engine 
results. 
 
When using a public computer (such as in a public or school library 
or hotel), be sure to delete all browsing history. Do not allow any 
passwords to be stored on the public computer. 
 

When accessing free wireless Internet services (Wi-Fi), be aware 
the personal information stored on your computer, smartphone, 
or tablet may be accessible to others using the network. 
 
When setting up your home computer with wireless Internet 
access, ensure that there is a password protected encryption 
option for the Internet connection and any routers connected to 
the primary Internet connection. 
 
Before using a cloud computing option, explore whether the 
security features are sufficiently robust and information stored on 
the cloud will remain confidential, or limit the use of the cloud to 
non-sensitive information. 
 
What should I do if I think that I am the victim of identity theft? 
Contact the local police department or your county attorney 
about conducting an investigation or filing criminal charges. 
Contact the fraud unit of credit reporting companies and check 
verification companies. Contact your creditors immediately to 
alert them to the identity theft. 
 
If the crime involved the use of the Internet, you also may record 
the information on the FBI’s Internet Crime Complaint Center 
(IC3), which tracks trends in online crimes. 
 
For more complete information about preventing or responding 
to identity theft, contact the Iowa Attorney General’s Office 
(telephone: 515-281-5926), pick up brochures on the second floor 
of the Hoover Building, or visit the website: 
https://www.iowaattorneygeneral.gov/for-consumers/general-
consumer-information/identity-theft/  
 

Public Assistance 

What types of state public assistance are available? 
There are several types of public assistance available through 
the Iowa Department of Human Services (DHS): 
1. Financial assistance 
2. Food assistance 
3. Child care assistance 
4. Health care assistance 
 
Each program has requirements for qualification. Generally 
speaking, DHS will look at a person’s income, assets, 
immigration status, and family size. Once a person is receiving 
benefits, there are certain rules one must follow, such as 
reporting changes in income or household size. If a person fails 
to comply with the rules, they may receive a suspension or 
termination of benefits. 
 

https://www.iowaattorneygeneral.gov/for-consumers/general-consumer-information/identity-theft/
https://www.iowaattorneygeneral.gov/for-consumers/general-consumer-information/identity-theft/
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       Financial Assistance 
 

Family Investment Program (FIP) 
Iowa’s Family Investment Program (FIP) 
offers a cash benefit for low income 
people with minor children. The goal of 
the program is to remove Iowa families 
from poverty. FIP provides temporary 
cash assistance to help needy families 
become self-supporting so their 
children may be cared for in their 
homes or homes of relatives. FIP is 
available to both one-parent and two-
parent families, and also to relatives 
caring for children whose parents are 
not in the home. The amount of 
assistance is determined based on the 
size of the family and the family’s 
income. 
 
FIP Requirements 
A family must meet certain 
requirements in order to obtain FIP 
benefits. The children of the family 
must be under the age of 18. A minor 
parent under the age of 18 who has 
never married must: (1) live with a 
parent or legal guardian or show proof 
and/or good reasons for not living with 
the parent or legal guardian, (2) attend 
family development and parenting 
classes, and (3) take classes to finish his 
or her high school education. The 
covered members must also be United 
States citizens or have a qualifying 
immigration status. Members of the 
family must live in Iowa and children 
must live with the caretaker (parent or 
other qualified person) who receives FIP 
benefits. Families must meet FIP 
income limits. For purposes of FIP, 
income includes: pay from a job, social 
security income, unemployment 
benefits, and any other money received 
in the household. 
 

How to apply for FIP 
A family can apply for FIP by receiving 
an application from any county DHS 
office. Complete the application and 
take it or mail it to the DHS office 
serving the county where you live. 
Applications for all public benefits can 
be found online and printed at: 
http://dhs.iowa.gov/sites/default/files/4
70-0462_4.pdf.  

 An application can also be completed 
and submitted online at: 
https://secureapp.dhs.state.ia.us/oasis/. 
Families will be asked to come in for an 
interview and should come prepared to 
show proof of requirements, such as 
citizenship and income. The application 
should be handled within 30 days. 
Applicants will receive written 
notification stating whether or not they 
are eligible for FIP benefits. The earliest 
a family can get FIP is seven days from 
the date an application is returned to 
DHS. 
 
60-Month Hardship Exception 
Generally, a person can receive FIP 
assistance for 60 months (5 years). The 
total limit of 60 months does not have 
to be 60 months in a row. Even though 
someone gets assistance for just part of 
a month, it still counts as a full month. 
To receive FIP beyond the 60-month 
limit, a person must prove they meet 
certain hardship criteria. More than one 
six-month extension may be available 
for those who qualify. 
 
A hardship is defined as “circumstances 
that prevent a family from being self-
supporting.” A hardship may be granted 
if an applicant can provide evidence of 
domestic violence, lack of 
employability, lack of suitable child 
care, medical or mental health issues, 
housing situations that make it difficult 
to work, substance abuse issues, and 
having a child whose circumstances 
require a parent to be in the home. To 
request a hardship exemption, one 
must complete a form and provide 
supporting evidence to DHS near the 
end of the 60-month limit. Supporting 
evidence should include things like legal 
and medical records; statements from 
professionals with knowledge of the 
hardship barrier; and statements from 
other individuals with knowledge of the 
hardship. 
 
PROMISE JOBS 
In order to receive FIP assistance, 
individuals must work with PROMISE 
JOBS. PROMISE JOBS is a work and 
training program that will help you 
make a Family Investment Agreement 
(FIA)—a plan to support your family.  
PROMISE JOBS activities include: 
 

 assessment, work related activities (job 
search, monitored employment, 
experience placement, etc.), training 
(adult basic education courses, GED, 
high school completion, etc.), and 
family support activities (Family 
Development and Self Sufficiency 
program, parenting skills training, etc.). 
Iowa DHS also has Family Self 
Sufficiency Grants (FSSG) available to 
provide immediate short-term 
assistance to families participating in 
PROMISE JOBS. The purpose is to 
remove barriers related to obtaining or 
retaining employment in order to 
reduce the amount of time a family is 
dependent on FIP. 
 
Limited Benefit Plans 
If a FIP recipient does not comply with 
PROMISE JOBS requirements, they 
may be placed on a Limited Benefit 
Plan (LBP). An LBP may be imposed for 
the following reasons: not attending 
orientation; not signing a Family 
Investment Agreement (FIA); not 
meeting the requirements of the FIA. 
 
For example, if a FIP recipient’s FIA 
requires them to complete 30 hours of 
job searches per week and they do not 
complete those hours, they will receive 
a notice that they are being placed on a 
Limited Benefit Plan (LBP). To remove 
the LBP, the recipient must participate 
in PROMISE JOBS activities, sign a new 
FIA, and comply with its provisions. 
 
After the first LBP, most recipients do 
not see any lapse in benefits. However, 
the first LBP will count against them 
and any subsequent LBPs will result in a 
loss of benefits for a minimum of six 
months. 
 
If for some reason a person cannot 
meet the FIA requirements, they should 
tell their PROMISE JOBS worker why 
they are not able to do so. This is known 
as a “barrier to participation.” Barriers 
may include lack of childcare, lack of 
transportation, substance abuse, 
domestic or sexual abuse, 
overwhelming family stress, and 
physical or mental disability. The 
worker should amend the FIA to 
address any barriers that the recipient 
might face in meeting the requirements 
of the FIA. 
 

http://dhs.iowa.gov/sites/default/files/470-0462_4.pdf
http://dhs.iowa.gov/sites/default/files/470-0462_4.pdf
https://secureapp.dhs.state.ia.us/oasis/
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Food Assistance 
 
The Food Assistance Program is run 
through the Iowa Department of 
Human Services (DHS). The Program 
provides a debit-like card. This is called 
an electronic benefits transfer card or 
EBT card. The plastic card can be used 
to buy foods like meat and fish, 
vegetables and fruits, dairy products, 
and bread. EBT cards can be used at 
supermarkets, grocery stores, and at 
some Farmers Markets. In order to 
qualify, you must meet income 
guidelines and must be a citizen or a 
qualified immigrant. All children who 
are born in the United States can apply, 
even if their parents are not citizens. 
People between the ages 18 and 50 who 
are unemployed but are able to work 
and who do not have children can only 
get food assistance for three months in 
any three-year period. 
 
How to Apply For Food Assistance 
Individuals and families can use a 
prescreening tool developed by the U.S. 
Department of Agriculture to 
determine if they are eligible to receive 
Food Assistance benefits. The on-line 
prescreening tool can be found at 
www.snap-step1.usda.gov/fns/. 
Applications can be made at your local 
DHS office or on-line at 
www.oasis.iowa.gov. Any local DHS 
office can answer questions about its 
programs. Every county in Iowa has a 
DHS office that serves it. A list of 
county DHS locations can be found at 
http://dhs.iowa.gov/dhs_office_locator. 
You may also contact the DHS Division 
of Field Operations by calling (877) 347-
5678. 
 
What If I Can’t Get Food Assistance 
Through DHS? 
Remember, even the DHS can make 
mistakes. If you are denied food 
assistance or if your food assistance is 
terminated, there are ways to appeal 
those decisions. Appeals about food 
assistance can be submitted at 
www.dhs.state.ia.us/dhs/appeals/index.
html or you can send a written appeal to 
your local office or directly to the 
Appeals Section at Department of  
 

Human Services, Appeals Section, 1305 
E Walnut Street, 5th Floor, Des Moines, 
IA 50319. Food Assistance appeals can 
also be made verbally. The deadline to 
appeal is 90 days from the denial 
decision. 
 
Equal Access for Healthy Nutrition – 
Iowa Wireless EBT Project 
Farmers’ Markets are a great way to get 
locally-grown, nutritious food. The Iowa 
DHS Wireless EBT Project allows 
wireless point-of-sale machines for 
vendors. With these machines, EBT 
food assistance cards can be accepted 
for payment. This program allows more 
low-income Iowans access to farm-
fresh foods. There are Farmers’ Markets 
throughout Iowa: an up-to-date list of 
Farmers’ Markets that accept the EBT 
can be found at: 
www.dhs.state.ia.us/Consumers/Assista
nce_Programs/FoodAssistance/Farmers
Market.html. 
 
Woman, Infants, and Children (WIC) 
The WIC program is a supplemental 
nutrition program for babies, children 
under the age of five, pregnant women, 
breastfeeding women, and women who 
have had a baby in the last six months. 
It is run through the Iowa Department 
of Public Health. WIC assists families by 
providing nutrition education, 
breastfeeding promotion and support, 
checks to buy nutritious foods, 
immunization screenings and referrals, 
and health and social service referrals. 
In order to qualify, you must meet 
income guidelines, reside in Iowa, and 
have a medical or nutritional need.  

There are limited types of food that WIC 
will cover. There are also limited places 
that accept WIC. To apply or to ask 
questions, contact a local WIC office. If 
you make an appointment to apply, be 
sure to bring proof of address, identity, 
and income. Information about your local 
WIC office or about the program can be 
found at 
http://www.idph.state.ia.us/wic/Families.
aspx. If you are denied WIC or are 
terminated, you can file a written appeal 
to the local WIC office within 90 days of 
the decision. 
 
Other Food Programs 
There are many other state and federal 
programs that provide access to healthy 
foods to individuals and families. These 
programs include: The School Breakfast 
Program, The National School Lunch 
Program, Summer Food Service Program, 
Commodity Supplemental Food 
Program, Emergency Food Assistance, 
Self-Help and Resource Exchange, 
Expanded Food and Nutrition Education 
Program and Family Nutrition Program. 
See 
www.dhs.iowa.gov/Consumers/Assistanc
e_Programs/FoodAssistance/index.html 
for more information.   
 
The Iowa Department of Public Health 
works to promote and protect the health 
of Iowans. They have listed many 
resources about nutrition for families and 
the community, as well as agencies and 
other professionals, at 
www.idph.state.ia.us/hpcdp/nutrition_res
ources.asp. There are also food banks 
around the state. Access to information 
about a food bank in your community 
may be found through the Iowa Food 
Bank Association at 
http://www.iowafba.org/. 
 

http://www.snap-step1.usda.gov/fns/
http://www.oasis.iowa.gov/
http://dhs.iowa.gov/dhs_office_locator
http://www.dhs.state.ia.us/dhs/appeals/index.html
http://www.dhs.state.ia.us/dhs/appeals/index.html
http://www.dhs.state.ia.us/Consumers/Assistance_Programs/FoodAssistance/FarmersMarket.html
http://www.dhs.state.ia.us/Consumers/Assistance_Programs/FoodAssistance/FarmersMarket.html
http://www.dhs.state.ia.us/Consumers/Assistance_Programs/FoodAssistance/FarmersMarket.html
http://www.idph.state.ia.us/wic/Families.aspx
http://www.idph.state.ia.us/wic/Families.aspx
http://www.dhs.iowa.gov/Consumers/Assistance_Programs/FoodAssistance/index.html
http://www.dhs.iowa.gov/Consumers/Assistance_Programs/FoodAssistance/index.html
http://www.idph.state.ia.us/hpcdp/nutrition_resources.asp
http://www.idph.state.ia.us/hpcdp/nutrition_resources.asp
http://www.iowafba.org/
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  Child Care Assistance 
 
Child Care Assistance (CCA) is a 
program run through the Iowa 
Department of Human Services. It helps 
pay for the care of Iowa children. It is 
available for children of income-eligible 
parents and caretakers who are out of 
the home for a portion of the day 
working at a job, participating in 
academic or vocational training, or 
PROMISE JOBS activities. CCA may 
also be available for a limited time while 
a parent or caretaker is looking for 
work, or if a parent or caretaker 
becomes unable to care for the 
child(ren) due to medical reasons. 
 
Who Qualifies for CCA? 
Families qualify for CCA if the family is a 
Family Investment Program (FIP) 
participant and has a child who needs 
care and is under the age of 13, or a 
child that has special needs under the 
age of 19. Families may still be able to 
qualify for CCA if they are not FIP 
participants. If you are not a FIP 
participant you need to meet the 
income requirements and have a child 
who needs care and is under the age of 
13, or a child that has special needs 
under the age of 19. Further, you must 
be doing one of the following: working 
an average of 28 hours per week, 
attending an approved training or 
education program full-time, or seeking 
out employment. 
 
Who Can Care for My Child? 
CCA can be used to pay for many 
different kinds of childcare providers. 
Families can choose one of the 
following: a registered child 
development home, a nonregistered 
child care home (if the caretaker passes 
a child abuse and criminal records 
check), licensed child care center, 
before- and after-school programs, a 
relative other than a parent or guardian, 
someone who cares for your children in 
your home (only if you have three or 
more children who need care), or a child 
care program operated by or under 
contract to an accredited school. The 
provider you choose must be at least 18 
years of age and cannot be a parent or 
guardian of your child. Your provider 
must be approved by DHS in order to 
receive payment from the CCA 
program. 
 

Choosing a childcare provider is a very 
important decision. Parents want their 
children to be well cared for in a safe 
environment. The Iowa Child Care 
Resource and Referral System (CCR&R) 
will give you information about the 
different types of care and how to 
choose. They can help you find 
childcare that best meets the needs of 
your family. Information about CCR&R 
is available at www.iowaccrr.org. 
 
How to Apply for CCA 
Applications can be made at your local 
DHS office or on-line at 
www.oasis.iowa.gov. You can also print 
the application and send it to the 
Human Services River Place Office at 
2309 Euclid Avenue, Des Moines, Iowa 
50310. Any local DHS office can answer 
questions about its programs. Every 
county in Iowa has a DHS office that 
serves it; a list of county DHS locations 
can be found at 
http://dhs.iowa.gov/dhs_office_locator. 
If you take part in activities approved by 
the PROMISE JOBS program, call your 
PROMISE JOBS workers about CCA. 
Contact the Centralized Child Care 
Assistance Eligibility Unit (CCA) for 
questions about child care at (888) 448-
4605. 
 
What If DHS Says I Don’t Qualify For 
Child Care Assistance or Cancels My 
Assistance? 
Sometimes, DHS makes mistakes. If 
you are denied Child Care Assistance or 
it is terminated, you have the right to 
appeal that decision. Appeals about 
Child Care Assistance can be submitted 
at 
www.dhs.state.ia.us/dhs/appeals/index.
html or you can send it in writing. You 
can send it to your local office or 
directly to the Appeals Section at 
Department of Human Services, 
Appeals Section, 1305 E Walnut Street, 
5th Floor, Des Moines, IA 50319. This 
should be done within 30 days of the 
decision. 
 
Health Care Assistance 
The State of Iowa provides health 
coverage for qualifying lower-income 
people, families and children, the 
elderly, and people with disabilities.   

It is called Medicaid. It pays for medically-
necessary health care costs of people who 
qualify. 
 
Who Qualifies for Medicaid? 
Medicaid is not available to everyone. There 
are many rules, but generally, to get 
Medicaid in Iowa, you have to be a United 
States Citizen, living in Iowa. You also need 
to be in one of several eligibility groups. 

 
How to Apply For Medicaid? 
To apply, you have to provide a social 
security number, meet income and resource 
limits, and cooperate with giving 
information needed to determine eligibility. 
Like many other benefits through DHS, you 
can apply online for Medicaid at 
https://secureapp.dhs.state.ia.us/oasis/. If 
you prefer, you can fill out a paper 
application in your county Department of 
Human Services office or you can print an 
application from the DHS website and 
return it to your local DHS office. 
 
Other Health Care Assistance 
There are many other programs to assist 
low-income Iowans with health care 
assistance if a person doesn’t qualify for 
Medicaid. There are programs like Hawk-I, 
which provides health care coverage for 
uninsured children of working families, and 
Iowa Health and Wellness, which provides 
limited health care coverage to qualifying 
adults. Medicare is a federal health 
insurance program available to people who 
have an earnings record and are either 
disabled or retired. Through the federal 
Affordable Care Act, a person can shop for 
affordable health care online at 
www.healthcare.gov.  
 
With the Affordable Care Act it is more 
important than ever to obtain health 
insurance as there may be tax 
consequences.  Even for those without 
health care assistance, there are options. 
Many community health centers and 
medical clinics operate around the state to 
provide medical care for low or no cost to 
individuals with low or no income. It is 
important to remember that even if a 
person can’t pay, emergency rooms must 
treat people with emergency medical 
problems. The emergency room can and will 
bill you for their services, but they cannot 
deny you treatment. 
  

http://www.iowaccrr.org/
http://www.oasis.iowa.gov/
http://dhs.iowa.gov/dhs_office_locator
http://www.dhs.state.ia.us/dhs/appeals/index.html
http://www.dhs.state.ia.us/dhs/appeals/index.html
https://secureapp.dhs.state.ia.us/oasis/
http://www.healthcare.gov/
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SEXUAL ASSAULT  
FACTS Sexual Assault 

What should I do if I am sexually 
assaulted? 
The most important thing to remember is 
that under NO CIRCUMSTANCE is a sexual 
assault EVER your fault. If you are in danger 
or need immediate medical attention, call 
911. You may, but are not required to, 
contact the local police department to 
report the assault. If you live in an area 
served by a sexual assault/rape crisis 
center, call the center for assistance. You 
can also call a county attorney about the 
assault if you choose. If you are confused 
about where to report the assault, call the 
Iowa Sexual Abuse Hotline (1-800-284-
7821). It is also important to note that all of 
the rights discussed in this section apply to 
all persons regardless of age, sex, sexual 
orientation, race, or immigration status. 
 
Whether or not you want to seek medical 
help is your decision. It is common for 
survivors of sexual assault to be in shock 
and be unsure about what they want to do 
right after the assault. It is not uncommon, 
however, to feel differently about reporting 
the assault at a later time. 
 
A medical examination can be a good 
option to check out your physical well-
being and preserve critical physical 
evidence, so that you have options no 
matter what you decide now or in the 
future. Choosing to have a medical exam 
done does not mean you are required to 
report the assault to police. 
 
A medical examination is also a good way 
to get medical advice and medication in 
case you have contracted a sexually 
transmitted infection (STI) or the assault 
has resulted in an unwanted pregnancy. 
You can also take PEP (Post Exposure 
Prophylaxis) to possibly prevent 
contracting HIV/AIDS. 
 
NOTE: Call your local rape crisis center or 
sexual assault program to find out which 
hospitals near you perform the exam. In 
order to preserve physical evidence, it is 
important to try not to bathe, douche, or 
otherwise change your physical 
appearance except under a doctor’s care. 
However, it is still fine to go ahead and 
have the exam within 120 hours (5 days) 
of the assault even if you have already 
showered. 

Does the sexual assault exam or medications cost money? 
No. You should not receive a bill. The State of Iowa’s Crime Victim Assistance Division 
pays for the sexual assault evidence exam. Two follow-up treatments are also free. You 
do not need to report the crime to the police to have the exam paid for. In addition to the 
exam, medications for sexually transmitted infections (STIs), pregnancy prevention, and 
PEP are also paid for by the State of Iowa’s Crime Victim Assistance Division. This is true 
even if you have medical insurance that would normally cover this type of treatment. 
 
Can I have someone with me? 
Yes. You can call your local sexual assault crisis center and ask for an advocate. Sexual 
assault victim advocates have special training in working with law enforcement, medical 
staff, and attorneys. They can give you support and make sure your questions are 
answered. You have a legal right to have an advocate with you when you report the 
assault, during your medical exam, in any meeting with the county attorney or court, or 
during any other proceeding related to the sexual assault. 
 
If you are speaking with the police, hospital staff, or a county attorney and a sexual 
assault advocate hasn’t been called, you have the right to ask for one. 
 
NOTE: You may want to talk to an advocate first, especially if you are unsure whether 
you want to report the assault or have an exam. It is common to question whether or not 
you have actually been assaulted or the circumstances of the assault. Talking to an 
advocate can help survivors identify their choices and support them in whatever decision 
they choose to make. 
 
What if I am the victim of sexual assault and am concerned about AIDS? 
Only your own test can give reliable information. Contact a rape crisis center or an AIDS 
Hotline for referral to an anonymous testing site. Victims of sexual assault can ask the 
court to require an alleged offender be tested for HIV. They may also ask the court to 
share the HIV test results of an offender. However, a convicted offender’s positive HIV 
test is a poor indication of your own risk because the assailant may not have transmitted 
the virus during the assault, or the assailant may have contracted it later. As stated 
above, medications used to prevent HIV are also available and paid for through the Iowa 
Crime Victims Assistance Division. 
 
Do I have to report the assault? 
Whether you want to report the assault is your own decision. If you are unsure whether 
you want to report the assault, in some jurisdictions you can meet with a detective to talk 
things over before making the decision. Call your local sexual assault crisis center for 
more information about law enforcement polices in your area. 
 
When must a sexual assault be reported to law enforcement or the Department of 
Human Services (DHS)? 
Reporting to the police is mandatory for serious injuries. For example, a life threatening 
wound, permanent physical damage, and certain fractured bones must be reported. A 
mandatory reporter (such as a doctor, nurse, social worker, etc.) is required to report the 
abuse of a victim under the age of 12, and the abuse of victims under 18 if the perpetrator 
is a caretaker. 
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If you are the victim of a violent crime and you do report the crime 
to the local police or county sheriff department within 72 hours, 
you may be able to apply for financial assistance for some things. 
For example, the Crime Victim Compensation Program (CVC) 
may be able to help you with the costs of medical care, 
counseling, and lost wages or benefits. You can contact the CVC 
at 515-281–5044. 
 
Is it necessary to have evidence of the rape in order to bring 
criminal charges? 
No. A victim’s testimony alone may be enough to convict. In 
addition, Iowa’s “rape shield” protects the victim by limiting 
questions that can be asked in court about the victim’s sexual 
history or behavior if the questions are asked to attack the 
victim’s credibility. 
 
 

Can a spouse be charged with sexual assault? 
Yes. If the act is done by force or against the will of the other 
person, a spouse can be charged with sexual assault.  
For example, a sex act is against a person’s will if the person 
agrees because a sex act is against a person’s will if the person 
agrees because they are being threatened with violence or if they 
are asleep or drugged. A sexual act can also be against a person’s 
will if they have a disability that affects their ability to make 
decisions about sex or if they are a child. 
 
What Other Assistance May be Available? 
The Iowa Coalition Against Sexual Assault’s (IowaCASA) Legal 
Services Department provides pro bono legal services to survivors 
of sexual assault on campus or those survivors of sexual assault in 
secondary school. These legal services include administrative law, 
housing, employment, civil rights, family (as needed), and 
immigration (as needed). You may also find a variety of 
information about sexual assault and services online at 
www.iowacasa.org. 
 

Small Business & the Law 

I want to start a small business in the state of Iowa, how do I 
get started? 
With each unique industry comes its own series of federal, state, 
and local laws and regulations that apply to the type of business 
you want to start. Make sure you know the law. At best, ignorance 
of the law and regulations that control the industry you are 
interested in will slow down your ability to start your business. At 
worst, you could be liable for criminal charges if you don’t follow 
the law that pertains to your business. Contact the Iowa 
Department of Labor and the county government to make sure 
you are in compliance with all regulations. It is strongly suggested 
that you hire an attorney to work with you in this process. 
 
Do I need to “incorporate” my business? 
Not necessarily. There are many types of business structures in 
Iowa. One of the first decisions you must make, as a new business 
owner, is what legal structure is best for you and your business. 
According to the Iowa Secretary of State, there are currently 
eight types of commonly used business organizations in Iowa: 
 
 
 

Sole Proprietorship 

 Business entity owned and managed by one person. 

 The law views the owner as inseparable from the business. 

 The owner has: 
o Complete control of affairs; 
o Complete legal liability. 

 Taxes on a sole proprietorship are determined at the personal 
income tax rate of the owner. 

 Ideal for a business that will remain small and does not have 
great exposure to liability.  

 Not ideal for more “risky” businesses. 
 
General Partnership 

 An association of two or more persons to carry on as co-
owners of a for-profit business. 

 Management of the general partnership is vested in the 
partners.   

 It is strongly suggested that a partnership agreement be 
written to avoid later confusion. 

 It is strongly recommended that persons interested in 
forming a partnership file a Statement of Partnership 
Authority with the Iowa Secretary of State. A Statement of 
Partnership Authority allows a partner to enter into 
transactions on behalf of the partnership except in certain 
cases. Unless modified, this Statement will expire five years 
after filing with the Iowa Secretary of State. 

 

http://www.iowacasa.org/
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Limited Partnership 

 An entity having one or more 
general partners and one or more 
limited partners.  

 The entity is separate from its 
partners. 

 The general partner is generally 
responsible for management while 
a limited partner is typically a silent 
investor.   

 The limited partner’s liability is 
limited to the amount of its 
investment.  The general partner 
has unlimited liability.  This is also 
not ideal for more “risky” 
businesses. 

 Because a limited partnership is a 
separate legal entity from the 
people who own it, the partnership 
(business) can sue and be sued 
separately. 
Limited Liability Partnership 

 Similar to a general partnership 
except, under Iowa law the 
individual partners (business 
owners) are not liable for the debts 
and obligations of the business. 

 Provides partners with protection 
from liability without burdening 
them with the process of corporate 
formalities. 
For-Profit Corporation 

 An association of individuals 
created by law with powers and 
liabilities independent from those 
who own it (stockholders). 

 All property and liability is owned 
separately by the corporation. 

 A stockholder’s (which is what an 
owner is referred to in a for-profit 
corporation) liability is limited to 
the amount of investment they 
contributed.   

 A corporation’s management is 
governed by a board of directors.   

 If you decide to create a for-profit 
corporation, consult a tax attorney, 
as different kinds of corporations 
have different tax obligations. 
Nonprofit Corporation 

 Includes public benefit 
organizations, mutual benefit 
organizations, and religious 
organizations. 

 Public benefit organizations are 
charitable organizations and  

receive special federal and state tax 
benefits. If you are interested in 

serving your community by 
creating one of these 
organizations, contact a tax 
attorney to see the type of benefits 
for which you are eligible. 

 A nonprofit corporation’s 
management is governed by a 
board of directors.   

 A nonprofit corporation may or 
may not have members.   
Professional Corporation 

 A professional corporation is a 
group of individuals that come 
together in a mutually beneficial 
association. Eligible professionals 
include: accountants, 
chiropractors, dentists, physical 
therapists, physicians, 
psychologists, landscapers, 
architects, veterinarians, lawyers, 
and real estate agents. 

 Has benefits and liabilities similar 
to a for-profit corporation. 
Limited Liability Company 

 One or more members own the 
entity.  There are no restrictions on 
the types of members. 

 Members (may include individuals 
or other businesses) have 
management flexibility and pass-
through taxation. 

 Similar to a corporation because 
members do not take on the 
liabilities they do in a partnership or 
a sole proprietorship. 

 Management of the entity is vested 
in its members or managers (like a 
corporation’s board of directors). 

 Only certain types of businesses are 
eligible to be limited liability 
companies. Please consult the 
office of the Iowa Secretary of 
State and an attorney. 

 
 

Note: The legal process varies for 
formally establishing each of these 
different types of businesses. Please 
consult the website of the Iowa 
Secretary of State for the most 
updated information on how to form 
one of these entities. 
 
What resources are available to me as 
a woman with her own business in the 
State of Iowa? 
If your business is at least fifty-one 
percent owned, operated, and actively 
managed by a female, you may qualify 
for the Iowa Targeted Small Business 
Program. In order to receive benefits 
which could further your business, your 
business must meet the following 
qualifications: 

1) Your business must be located 
in Iowa; 

2) The purpose of your business 
must be to make a profit; and 

3) Your business must have less 
than $4 million in annual gross 
income, computed as an 
average of the three prior fiscal 
years. 

 
To apply for Targeted Small Business 
Certification, contact the Iowa 
Department of Inspections and 
Appeals. The benefits of being a 
Targeted Small Business can include: 

 Up to $50,000 start up or 
expansion loan; 

 Access to the 48 Hour TSB 
Procurement Website; 

 Free technical assistance; and 

 Listing of your business with 
the Targeted Small Business 
Directory. 

 
For further information, contact the 
Iowa Department of Economic 
Development. 
 



IOWA WOMEN … AND THE LAW  27 

 

 

What is stalking? 
On average, 6.6 million people are 
stalked each year in the United States. 
Stalking may include a variety of 
actions, ranging from repetitive or 
harassing phone calls to surveillance or 
serious threats. Women are stalked far 
more often than men, and the stalker 
often is a former boyfriend or husband. 
In fact, 85% of victims are stalked by 
someone they know, and 61% of female 
victims and 44% of male victims are 
stalked by a current or former intimate 
partner. Stalkers may follow you or 
show up at your home, work, or school; 
they may send unwanted gifts or 
emails; they may damage your car or 
other property; or they may threaten to 
hurt you, your family or friends, or other 
people or things important to you. 
 
Is stalking a crime? 
The crime of stalking requires all of the 
following elements be established: 1) 
the stalker must be engaged in a course 
of conduct directed at someone that 
would cause a reasonable person to fear 
bodily injury or death to themselves or 
members of their immediate family, 2) 
the stalker must know or should know 
that their conduct places their victim in 
reasonable fear, and 3) the action must 
actually induce such fear in the targeted 
person.  
 
Stalking actions may also amount to 
other crimes, such as harassment 
(written, telephonic or personal contact 
made with the intent to threaten, 
alarm, or intimidate) or assault (threats 
of immediate injury or offensive acts or 
physical attacks that may cause injury 
or intentionally pointing a firearm at 
someone). Even more severe crimes 
such as attempted murder (setting a 
course of events in motion that are 
intended to result in death) or sexual 
abuse (committing a sex act against the 
will of another person) can result from 
stalking. 

 

The Iowa Code identifies stalking as an 
aggravated misdemeanor upon the first 
offense.  However, consequences are 

elevated to a Class “D” felony upon the 
second offense. A stalking charge may 
also be elevated if the stalker is in 
violation of a protective order, is in 
possession of a dangerous weapon, or is 
targeting a person under the age of 18 
years. The violation will become a Class 
“C” felony for a third or subsequent 
violation. 
 
How do I know if I am in danger? 
Most people can sense they are in 
danger based on subtle cues, but there 
are several factors that generally point 
toward the escalation of danger. Risk 
most likely increases when the stalker 
makes threats of bodily injury or death, 
actually uses violence, has access to 
firearms or explosives, maintains 
intensive surveillance for some period 
of time, ignores protective orders 
issued by a court, threatens suicide, or 
when a victim tries to leave or end the 
relationship. 
 

What can I do if I am being stalked? 
Notify the police or county sheriff. If you 
are in immediate danger, call 911. Many 
stalkers will commit some type of crime 
in the course of their stalking behavior. 
Even if no crime has been committed, 
or if the stalker commits only minor 
offenses, your local law enforcement 
agency may be able to provide you with 
practical advice on how to respond to 
the stalker. If you feel you are being 
stalked, you should notify the police 
department where you live and also 
where you work, if in a different city or 
county. 

 
Take extra precautions. Trust your 
instincts and take all threats seriously. 
Be aware of what is happening around 
you. Tell others that you trust about the 
threat (neighbors, family, co-workers, 
friends), and ask them to keep an eye 
out for strange occurrences.  Use basic 
security measures, such as locking your 

home with deadbolt locks, locking your 
car while driving and when you park, 
checking inside your car before you 
enter it, parking in well-lit and secure 
areas, and avoid walking alone in dark or 
isolated areas. You will also want to 
think about how current technology, like 
smartphones, may help a stalker learn 
information about you. Think carefully 
about your use of social networks, like 
Facebook and Twitter, and the kinds of 
information you post. 
 
Keep a notebook or calendar and record 
detailed information about each 
encounter with the stalker. Your notes 
can refresh your memory later if you 
need to speak with police or testify in 
court. Be sure to include the date, time, 
location, full description of the person, 
words spoken, actions taken during the 
incident, actions you took afterward, 
and names of witnesses. You may wish 
to record threats made over the 
telephone or other encounters. Iowa law 
generally permits the taping of a 
conversation when one party to the 
conversation consents. Thus, you can 
tape your own conversations or 
occurrences when you are a party to the 
conversation. 

 
Get a civil protective order. If your stalker 
is or was your intimate partner (spouse, 
former spouse, parent of your child, or 
member of your household currently or 
in the past year), then you may qualify 
for a domestic abuse civil protection 
order. If the stalker has been arrested for 
harassment or stalking, or if the stalker 
has been arrested for domestic abuse 
assault, the court may issue a criminal 
no-contact order, which is valid while the 
criminal case is pending. To find out 
what type of no-contact order you can 
apply for, contact Iowa Legal Aid (800-
532-1275), a private attorney, the county 
attorney, or the clerk of court. You may 
also want to contact a confidential 
domestic violence advocacy program in 
or near your community, where you can 
get important information and 
assistance about protection orders and 
safety strategies. Most programs will 
provide assistance to stalking victims 
even if you were not in a relationship 
with the stalker. To locate a program 
near you, call the Iowa Domestic Abuse 
Hotline at 800-942-0333. 
 

Stalking 
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If an individual is married and has children from a prior 
marriage or relationship that have not been adopted by his or 
her spouse, then approximately ½ of the property passes to 
the surviving spouse and the remaining property passes to the 
individual’s children. If an individual is not married and has no 
children, then property passes to the individual’s parents. If an 
individual is not married, has no children and has no living 
parents, then the individual’s siblings receive the property. 
Iowa law then looks to more remote relatives on the 
individual’s family tree to find a living relative. If absolutely no 
living relatives exist, then the State of Iowa receives the 
property. Natural and adopted children are all considered 
children by blood. 
 
Who needs a Will? 
Anyone who is not satisfied with an estate’s distribution made 
by the State of Iowa should create a Will to express individual 
wishes. Additionally, anyone who has a minor child or children 
should create a Will to name an individual or individuals to act 
as Guardian for the child or children in the event of the parents’ 
death. Minor children also cannot receive property outright 
from an estate if the child is under the age of 18. A 
conservatorship must be created for that child. Provisions in a 
Will can help plan for the distribution of assets to minor 
children. 
 
Is there any single best form of property ownership? 
Property is commonly owned in three ways: (1) individual 
ownership, (2) ownership in common with another (as tenants 
in common), and (3) joint ownership with rights of survivorship 
(all owners share the property).  If an individual owns property 
in their individual name, then that property passes pursuant to 
the terms of the individual’s Will, or the rules of Iowa law if the 
individual did not have a Will.  If an individual owns property as 
tenants in common with another individual, then the individual 
has a ½ interest in the property and that ½ interest passes 
pursuant to the terms of the individual’s Will or pursuant to the 
rules of Iowa law if the individual did not have a Will.  If the 
individual owns property as a joint tenant with another 
individual, then the surviving joint tenant becomes the owner 
of the property, even if the individual has a Will that states 
otherwise.  No best form of property ownership exists because 
it varies based on the situation and piece of property. An 
attorney can advise you concerning the form of ownership 
most appropriate for a particular situation. 
 

  

                                         

Wills & Probate 

What is an estate? 
An individual’s estate consists of everything an individual owns 
at the time of his or her death (real property, bank accounts, 
personal belongings, etc.). An individual’s estate is subject to 
the individual’s debts and obligations and certain other debts 
and obligations (for example funeral expenses). 
 
What is an estate plan? 
An estate plan is created while a person is alive and competent. 
A typical estate plan discusses the distribution and 
management of that person’s estate following his or her death. 
Additionally, an estate plan also addresses the management of 
an individual’s assets and healthcare decisions during the 
individual’s life if he or she becomes incapacitated. 
 
What is included in an estate plan? 
An estate plan usually includes a Will (which becomes effective 
at death), Powers of Attorney (financial and medical), and 
beneficiary designations for assets that pass pursuant to 
beneficiary designations (insurance policies, IRAs, 401(k) 
accounts and most annuities). Some estate plans also 
incorporate or include trusts.  Sometimes, people are able to do 
estate planning that can avoid court administration of an 
estate. It is a very good idea to talk to an attorney about what 
you need to do for estate planning since every individual has a 
different situation. 
 
What is a Will? 
A Will is a document by which a person directs where his or her 
estate shall be distributed upon death (after the payment of 
any applicable debts). Additionally, a Will designates an 
individual, individuals, or corporation to act as Executor. The 
Executor is responsible for managing the property that 
comprises the estate, paying applicable debts, and distributing 
the remaining assets to the designees. Finally, for individuals 
who have minor children, a Will names who should raise those 
children in the event of the death of the individual (a Guardian). 
 
What happens to the property of a decedent if there is no 
Will? 
In Iowa, if someone dies without a Will, the property is 
distributed according to the provisions of Iowa law. These laws 
distribute the property to the person’s closest living relatives. If 
an individual is married and does not have children or has 
children who are also the children of the individual’s spouse, 
then all property passes to his or her children who are also the 
children of the individual’s spouse, then all property passes to 
the individual’s surviving spouse. If an individual is not married, 
but has children, then all property passes to his or her children. 
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How should I file my tax return for the taxable year in which 
my spouse died? 
You can file as a married taxpayer during the calendar (or tax) 
year in which your spouse died.   
 
What is probate? 
Probate is the procedure by which property comprising an 
individual’s estate makes its way to the eventual beneficiaries 
(whether through a Will or through the rules of Iowa law 
(intestacy provisions)). Probate is a court proceeding that 
begins by filing paperwork with the Court, including a copy of 
the individual’s Will if the individual had a Will. The 
representative handling the estate has to file documents with 
the court and take steps to administer the estate. 
 
How much does a probate proceeding cost? 
Estate settlement costs vary with each estate. Every probate 
estate has court costs, which are determined primarily on the 
value of the individual’s estate. Every probate estate also has 
attorney fees. The fees depend on the complexity of the estate 
and the time needed to complete the estate administration. 
Fees paid to an attorney must be approved by the Court prior 
to payment, and are normally calculated with a formula found 
in the Iowa Code. Some estates also have costs in the form of 
fees paid to the individual or institution managing the estate 
(whether pursuant to a Will or not). These fees must also be  
 

approved by a court prior to payment and will be normally be 
calculated by a formula in the Code. Finally, some estates are 
responsible for paying inheritance taxes or federal estate taxes.  
In Iowa, inheritance taxes are determined by who receives 
property. Certain individuals are exempt from inheritance taxes 
(notably spouses, children, grandchildren and parents). Federal 
estate taxes are owed when an estate exceeded a certain 
amount. 
 
Is a surviving spouse entitled to a certain portion of the 
deceased spouse’s estate? 
Usually, yes. If a surviving spouse is not satisfied with the share 
he or she is given in his or her spouse’s Will, the spouse may 
elect to take legal action against the Will and receive 
approximately one-third (1/3) of the estate with certain 
exceptions for personal property. This right does not exist, 
however, if the couple has signed a prenuptial or premarital 
agreement and the spouse waived those rights in that 
agreement. 
 
Are children entitled by law to a certain portion of their 
parent’s estate? 
No, children are not entitled to receive a certain portion of their 
parent’s estate. A parent may leave a child absolutely nothing 
in his or her Will. However, if there is no Will, under some 
circumstances the law provides children with a share of the 
parent’s estate. 
 

 

PLEASE NOTE: The material in this document is provided for informational 

purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. If you have a legal 
problem, you should consult an attorney. Laws are subject to change. New judicial 
interpretations, legislation, and agency rules may also change the principles 
discussed in this document. We advise you to contact a lawyer, the appropriate state 
or federal agency, or the offices or persons listed throughout the book for more 
complete or up-to-date information on a specific issue. 
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Iowa Women & the Law 
This is the eleventh edition of Iowa Women and the Law.  This edition was compiled and distributed by the Office on the Status of 
Women and Tracy Swalwell, Drake University Law School, J.D., 2015.  We hope that the information in this booklet will help you better 
understand the laws that affect you. 

Thanks to the Iowa Organization of Women Attorneys and Drake Law Women for their assistance.  Special thanks to the following 
individuals for reviewing sections of the handbook: 

Citizenship and Voting Rights 
Chinyere Ukabiala, Esq. 
Office of the Ombuds 
Grinnell College 
 
Laura Wentworth 
Drake University J.D. Candidate, 2017 
 
Credit and Finance 
Theresa Dvorak, Esq. 
Iowa Department of Revenue 
 
Catlin Andersen 
Drake University J.D. Candidate, 2016 
 
Criminal Law 
Heather Mapes, Esq. 
Assistant Attorney General 
Iowa Attorney General’s Office 
Criminal Appeals Division 
 
Bailey Cavanaugh 
Drake University J.D. Candidate, 2017 
 
Domestic Violence 
Amber Markham 
Policy Advisor 
Office of the Commissioner 
Iowa Department of Public Safety 
 
Molly Hammer 
Drake University J.D. Candidate, 2017 
 
Education 
Beth Myers, Esq. 
Director, UniServ Unity Two 
Iowa State Education Association 
 
Mary Rose Shelly 
Drake University J.D. Candidate, 2017 
 
 

Public Assistance 
Michelle (Shellie) Mackel-Wiederanders, 
Esq. 
Iowa Legal Aid 
 
Emily Rouse 
Drake University J.D. Candidate, 2017 
 
Sexual Assault 
Rebecca Stout, Esq. 
Legal Service Coordinator 
Iowa Coalition Against Sexual Assault 
 
Mary Rose Shelley 
Drake University, J.D. Candidate, 2017 
 
Small Business and the Law 
Katheryn Thorson, Esq. 
Brown Winick 
 
Tracy Swalwell 
Drake University, J.D. Candidate, 2015 
 
Stalking 
Amber Markham, Esq. 
Policy Advisor 
Office of the Commissioner 
Iowa Department of Public Safety 
 
Tara Miller 
Drake University J.D. Candidate, 2017 
 
Wills and Probate 
Jessica Doro, Esq. 
Bradley & Riley PC 
 
Kelli Orton 
Drake University J.D. Candidate, 2017 
 
 

Employment 
Gayla Harrison, Esq. 
Harrison Moreland Webber & Simplot, P.C. 
 
Hannah Kerling 
Drake University J.D. Candidate, 2016 
 
Family Law and Divorce 
Dawn Boucher, Esq. 
Phil Watson, P.C. 
 
Katrina Shanahan 
Drake University J.D. Candidate, 2015 
 
Housing 
Elizabeth Johnson, Esq. 
Civil Rights Specialist 
Iowa Civil Rights Commission 
 
Tara Miller 
Drake University J.D. Candidate, 2017 
 
Parental Responsibility/Children & Adoption 
Brent Pattison, Esq. 
Director, Middleton Children’s Rights Center 
Drake Law School 
 
Emily Rouse 
Drake University J.D. Candidate, 2017 
 
Privacy 
Roxann Ryan, Esq. 
Commissioner, Iowa Dept. of Public Safety 
 
Madison Warder 
Drake University J.D. Candidate, 2017 
 
 
 
 

Thank you to the following individuals for reviewing the handbook:  Brayton Deprey, Page Eastin, Jessica McMillan, Colette Kotz, Betsy Penisten 

For additional copies, please contact: 
Office on the Status of Women, Iowa Department of Human Rights 

Lucas State Office Building, 321 E. 12
th

 Street 
Des Moines, Iowa  50319 

515.281.4470  or   800.558.4427 
Email:  humanrights@iowa.gov     Web: humanrights@iowa.gov./cas/icsw 

  

First Edition:  September 1973 
Eleventh Edition:  June 2015 

mailto:humanrights@iowa.gov
mailto:humanrights@iowa.gov./cas/icsw
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Office on the Status of Women,  
Iowa Department of Human Rights 
Lucas State Office Building, 2nd Floor 

Des Moines, IA 50319 
 

Phone: (515) 281-4470/(800) 558-4427 
Fax: (515) 242-6119 

Email: humanrights@iowa.gov  
https://humanrights.iowa.gov/cas/icsw 

 
 

 
 

Iowa Organization of Women Attorneys 
P.O. Box 8268 

 Des Moines, IA 50301 
president@iowawomenattorneys.org 

 
 

 
Drake Law Women 

Drake University Law School 
2621 Carpenter Avenue 
Des Moines, Iowa 50311 

drakelawwomen@drake.edu  
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