Empowerment Timeline

<u> </u>	
Spring 1998	Empowerment Legislation Enacted
	\$5.2 million appropriated for School Ready Fund (distributed based on grant process)
<u>a</u>	\$3.8 million appropriated for Early Childhood Fund (distributed based on formula upon designation)
September 1998	First 3 Areas Receive Empowerment Designation
	School Ready Funding distributed through grant process
	Appanoose, Davis, Lucas & Monroe (A.D.L.M. Empowerment Area)
	Lee & Van Buren
	• Linn
January 1999	16 Areas Receive Empowerment Designation
	School Ready Funding distributed through grant process
	Adams; Black Hawk (Cedar Valley's Promise)*; Boone; Buchanan, Delaware & Fayette; Cass,
	Mills & Montgomery; Clinton & Jackson; Decatur; Dubuque; Emmet; Scott; Hardin; Johnson;
	Jones; Polk (Human Services Planning Alliance)*; Pottawattamie; Story*
	* these 3 areas received partial funding January 1, and were fully funded July 1, 1999
January 1999	Designation Process Separated from Funding Process
January 1999	15 Areas Receive Empowerment Designation
Sandary 1999	Adair (Families and Communities Together); Audubon, Carroll, Greene & Guthrie
	(Partnerships 4 Families); Bremer, Butler, Franklin & Grundy (Communities Empowering
	Families Collaborative); Buena Vista, Crawford & Sac; Calhoun, Pocahontas & Webster
	(Linking Families and Communities); Clarke (Family First Empowerment Area); Clay,
	Dickinson, Osceola & O'Brien (Lakes Area Empowerment); Des Moines, Henry & Louisa;
	Fremont & Page (Corner Counties Empowerment Area); Hamilton, Humboldt & Wright
	(Building Families Empowerment Area); Marshall; Muscatine; Ringgold; Taylor; Union
Spring 1000	New Empowerment Legislation (SF 439) Enacted
Spring 1999	
	\$10.4 million appropriated for School Ready Fund (distributed based on grant process)
July 1999	 \$3.8 million appropriated for Early Childhood Fund (distributed based on formula upon designation) 4 Areas Receive Empowerment Designation
July 1999	
	Allamakee, Clayton, Howard & Winneshiek (HAWC)
	• Kossuth & Palo Alto (PAK Empowerment)
	• Warren
	Woodbury
August 1999	8 Areas Receive Empowerment Designation
	Cerro Gordo, Hancock & Worth
	Cherokee, Lyon, Plymouth & Sioux (Northwest Iowa Community Empowerment)
	Harrison, Monona & Shelby
	• Iowa
	• Jasper
	Jefferson & Keokuk
	Mahaska & Wapello
	• Tama
September 1999	7 Areas Receive Empowerment Designation
September 1999	Benton
	 Chickasaw, Floyd & Mitchell (FMC)
	 Dallas
	Marion
	Poweshiek
	• Wayne
	• Winnebago
October 1999	12 Designated Areas Receive School Ready Funding (distributed through grant process)
	Allamakee, Clayton, Howard & Winneshiek (HAWC)
	Audubon, Carroll, Greene & Guthrie (Partnerships 4 Families)
	Buena Vista, Crawford & Sac
	Chickasaw, Floyd & Mitchell (FMC)
	Clay, Dickinson, Osceola & O'Brien (Lakes Area Empowerment)
	Hamilton, Humboldt & Wright (Building Families Empowerment Area)
	Jasper Mohacka & Wapello
	Mahaska & Wapello Marion
	Marion Ringgold
	Taylor
	• Union
	- 01101

October 1999	2 Areas Receive Empowerment Designation
October 1999	
	• Cedar
-	Madison
January 2000	1 Area Receives Empowerment Designation
	• Ida
April 2000	1 Area Receives Empowerment Designation
	Washington
April 2000	All 99 Iowa Counties Now Represented By Designated Empowerment Areas
Spring 2000	Legislation Appropriating Empowerment Funding Enacted
	\$15.6 million appropriated for School Ready Fund
	\$6.3 million appropriated for Early Childhood Fund
October 2000	27 Designated Empowerment Areas Receive School Ready Funding Based on Formula
	(45% = 0.5 population at 185% of poverty; 35% = 0.5 population; 20% = base)
	Adair (Families and Communities Together); Benton; Bremer, Butler, Franklin & Grundy
	(Communities Empowering Families Collaborative); Calhoun, Pocahontas & Webster (Linking
	Families and Communities); Cedar; Cerro Gordo, Hancock & Worth; Cherokee, Lyon,
	Plymouth & Sioux (Northwest Iowa Community Empowerment); Clarke (Family First
	Empowerment Area); Dallas; Des Moines & Louisa (Caring CommUNITY); Fremont & Page
	(Corner Counties Empowerment Area); Harrison, Monona & Shelby; Henry; Ida; Iowa;
	Jefferson & Keokuk; Kossuth & Palo Alto (PAK Empowerment); Madison; Marshall;
	Muscatine; Poweshiek; Tama; Warren; Washington; Wayne; Winnebago; Woodbury
	(Siouxland Human Investment Partnership)
Spring 2001	Legislation Appropriating Empowerment Funding Enacted
	\$15.8 million appropriated for School Ready Fund
	\$6.3 million appropriated for Early Childhood Fund
July 2001	School Ready & Early Childhood Grants Distributed to All 58 Empowerment Areas
January 2002	3 Areas Receive 3-year Redesignation
	• Lee/Van Buren
	A.D.L.M. (Appanoose, Davis, Lucas and Monroe Counties)
	• Linn
Spring 2002	Legislation Appropriating Empowerment Funding Enacted
	\$14.8 million appropriated for School Ready Fund
	\$6.3 million appropriated for Early Childhood Fund
July 2002	School Ready & Early Childhood Grants Distributed to all 58 Empowerment Areas
January 2003	34 Areas Receive 3-year Redesignation
	Adair; Adams; Allamakee, Clayton, Howard and Winnishiek (HAWC); Audubon, Carroll,
	Greene, and Greene (Partnerhsips 4 Families); Black Hawk (Cedar Valleys Promise); Boone;
	Bremer, Butler, Franklin and Grundy; Buchanan, Delaware and Fayette; Buena Vista,
	Crawford and Sac; Calhoun, Pocahontas and Webster (Linking Families and Communities);
	Cass, Mills, Montgomery (Boost For Families); Clarke; Clay, Dickinson, O'Brien, and Osceola
	(Lakes Area); Clinton, Jackson; Decatur; Dubuque; Emmet; Fremont, Page (Corner Counties);
	Hamilton, Humboldt, Wright (Building Families); Hardin; Johnson; Jones; Kossuth and Palo
	Alto (PAK); Marshall; Muscatine; Polk; Pottawattamie; Ringgold; Scott; Story; Taylor; Union;
~	Warren; Woodbury
Spring 2003	Legislation Appropriated Empowerment Funding Enacted
	\$15.8 million appropriated for School Ready Fund
	\$7.3 million appropriated for Early Childhood Fund