Pieces of Iowa’s Past, January 16, 2013

(2013) Pieces of Iowa’s Past, January 16, 2013. Legislative Services Agency (Legislative Service Bureau)


File Size:408kB


Pieces of Iowa’s Past, published by the Iowa State Capitol Tour Guides weekly during the legislative session, features historical facts about Iowa, the Capitol, and the early workings of state government. All historical publications are reproduced here with the actual spelling, punctuation, and grammar retained. January 16, 2013 THIS WEEK: Iowa Senator James Harlan Becomes U.S. Senator BACKGROUND: Fifth Iowa General Assembly The Fifth Iowa General Assembly convened December 4, 1854, and adjourned January 26, 1855, a 54-day session. The Democrats numbered 17 members in the Senate and 31 members in the House. The Whigs held 14 seats in the Senate and 40 seats in the House—a total of 102 members. Iowa’s population at the 1850 census was 192,214. Iowa’s President of the Senate was Maturin Fisher and the Speaker of the House of Representatives was Rueben Noble. During the Fifth General Assembly, Stephen P. Hempstead finished his term as Governor and James W. Grimes was sworn in as Iowa’s third governor.

Item Type: Departmental Report
Keywords: State Capital, Tour Guide Staff, Tours, History of Iowa, State Government
Subjects: History and culture
History and culture > History of Iowa
State government
ID Code: 15408
Deposited By: Margaret Barr
Deposited On: 25 Nov 2013 19:33
Last Modified: 25 Nov 2013 19:33
URI: https://publications.iowa.gov/id/eprint/15408