
 
A GUIDE TO THE IOWA 
CHILD RESTRAINT LAW 

Iowa Code 321.446, Data Code 198a - as of July 2006 
 

Key Points: 
 

• A child under 1 year old and weighing less than 
20 lbs. must be secured in a rear-facing child 
restraint system 

 

• A child age 1 up to 6 years old must be secured 
in a child restraint system (a safety seat or booster 
seat--NOT a seat belt) 

 

• A child from the age of 6 up to the age of 11 must 
be secured in a child restraint system or by a 
safety belt  

 

A “child restraint system” is a specially designed 
seating system, including a belt positioning seat or a 
booster seat that meets federal motor vehicle safety 
standards. 
• The driver is responsible for the fine 
• The misdemeanor fine is $25, plus costs (non-

moving violation) totaling at least $83 
• The law applies to both residents and non-residents 

of Iowa 
• The child restraint system must be used in 

accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions 
• The child must be secured in the child restraint and 

the child restraint must be properly secured to the 
vehicle 

• Non-use of a child restraint is probable cause to stop 
a vehicle 

• An officer may investigate a suspected violation 
• First-offense citations will not result in 

convictions if the driver “produces in court” 
proof of acquisition of a child restraint 

 

Exceptions: 
• Children certified by a physician as having a medical, 

physical or mental disability making restraint use 
inadvisable 

• Children on bus, including a school bus 
• Children riding on motorcycles 
• Children riding in vehicles manufactured before 1966 
• Children being transported in authorized emergency 

vehicles 
• Children transported by peace officers on official 

duty 
• Children riding in motor homes except if riding in the 

front passenger seat (where they must be restrained) 
 

This is only a guide, provided through the courtesy of 

Iowa Governor’s Traffic Safety Bureau 
Department of Public Safety 

Produced with Federal Highway Safety Funds     10/06        10M 
 

 

 
A GUIDE TO SAFELY 

TRANSPORTING CHILDREN IN A 
MOVING VEHICLE 

 

COMMON CHILD SAFETY SEAT MISUSES: 
 

• Seat installed too loose  
• Improper seating position (in front of an air bag) 
• Not buckling child into restraint 
• Not securely anchoring the child restraint to the vehicle 
• Improper seat for child’s age and size 
• Infant riding forward facing 
• Harness retainer clip not at armpit level 
• Loose harness straps 

 

To graduate to an adult belt -- a child must be able to sit 
with their back/buttocks against the seat and with their 
knees bent at the edge of the seat.  The belt system must 
be snug across the center of the child’s chest and across 
their lap at the hips. 
 

COMMON SAFETY BELT MISUSES FOR CHILDREN: 
 

• Lap belt up on abdomen 
• Lap belt loose; shoulder belt loose 
• Shoulder belt behind back 
• Shoulder belt under their arm 

 

NATIONALLY RECOMMENDED STANDARDS 
FOR SAFE USE OF CHILD RESTRAINT 

SYSTEMS 
 INFANTS TODDLER/ 

PRESCHOOL 
YOUNG 

CHILDREN 
Weight 

 
Birth to 1 year 

Up to 20-22 lbs. 
Over 1 year 
20-40 lbs. 

Over 40 lbs. up to 
about 80 lbs. and 

4’9” tall 
Type of 

Seat 
 

Infant only or 
rear-facing 
convertible 

Convertible or 
Forward-facing 

Belt positioning 
booster seat 

Seat 
Position Rear-facing only Forward-facing Forward-facing 

 
Always 
Make 
Sure 

Children to one 
year AND at least 

20 lbs. in rear-
facing seats 

 
Harness straps 

at or below 
shoulder level 

Harness straps should 
be at or above shoulders 

 
Most seats require top 
slot for forward facing 

Belt positioning 
booster seats must 
be used with both 
lap AND shoulder 

belt 

WARNING 

Do not place 
infants in the 

front passenger 
seat of cars with 

air bags 

All children under age 13 
should ride in the back 

seat 

Make sure the lap 
belt fits low and 

tight to avoid 
abdominal injuries 

 

For further information you may contact the 
State Injury Prevention Coordinator at 1-800-728-3367 

For Certified Child Passenger Technicians / Child Restraint 
Checks Visit this Website: 

www.blankchildrens.org/cps 
 

The left side of this guide outlines Iowa’s Child Restraint Law 
 

The right side of this guide outlines National Safety Recommendations


