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Information on Additional                                 
Business Requirements 

 
You may contact Iowa Workforce Development 
for general assistance on workforce issues at 
800-563-4692 or www.iowaworkforce.org  
 
Business development information is available 
from the Iowa Department of Economic          
Development at 515-242-4700 or 
www.iowalifechanging.com 
 
Business license information is available at: 
www.iowalifechanging.com/business/blic/ 
 
Tax information is available from the Iowa     
Department of Revenue and Finance at        
866-503-3453 or                             
www.state.ia.us/tax/index.html 
 
Business structure and organization information, 
such as forming a corporation, partnership or 
sole proprietorship, is available at the Secretary 
of State’s office or                      
www.sos.state.ia.us/business/index.html 

Contractor Registration Checklist 

 

You must have the following in order to  
meet the requirements of Iowa’s contractor 
registration law: 

1.   Corporations must have federal 
identification numbers. Individual owners 
must have social security numbers. 
Partnerships may use the social security 
numbers of the partners if the business 
has applied for a federal identification 
number.  

2.  Current Iowa Unemployment Tax Account 
Number, if you have unemployment tax 
obligations and a number has been 
assigned to you. If not, all new 
contractor registration applications will 
be presented to the Unemployment Tax 
Division to either be assigned a number 
or to check the validity of the previous 
owner’s number.  

3.   Proof of workers’ compensation 
insurance if you have employees. The 
proper proof is a certificate of workers’ 
compensation insurance listing the Iowa 
Division of Labor as the certificate 
holder.  

4.   $25, either in check form, or cash, to 
pay the biannual registration fee.  Note: 
Certain individuals in the construction 
business are still required to register, 
but may be exempt from paying the 
$25 registration fee if they are        
self-employed, do not pay more than 
$1,000 annually to employ others in 
the business, and do not work with or 
for other contractors in the same 
phases of construction. You will need 
to file a fee exemption form.  

5.   If you purchased an Iowa contracting 
business, information about the acquired 
business will be needed.  

6.   A bond if the individual or company is 
an out-of-state contractor. 

 

Application and fee exemption forms       
can be found at our web page:  

www.iowaworkforce.org/labor/contractor.htm  

Additional Resources 



What happens to the bond after                        
I quit working in Iowa?  

After you have completed your work in Iowa, your 
bonding company must send a written request to the 
Division of Labor asking that your bond be released 
back to you.  
 

What are the penalties if I don’t get registered,    
renew my registration every two years or if              

I don’t get the required bond? 
Violators may receive a $500 citation for not being 
registered, not renewing their registration or failing to 
get the required bond.  A citation up to $5,000 may 
be imposed for a repeat violation. 
 

If I am issued a citation, can I appeal?  
You have 15 working days to file an appeal of a  
citation from the date you receive the citation. Your 
appeal will be sent to the Iowa Employment Appeal 
Board, and they will set a hearing by telephone for 
you to explain why you should not have been cited. If 
you do not file within the 15 working days, then you 
do not have any right to appeal or dispute the citation 
and/or penalty. If you receive a citation and promptly 
correct the violation, you may be eligible for a penalty 
reduction.  
 

Are there any other requirements for                    
contractors working in Iowa?  

Many counties and cities maintain separate                  
requirements for contractors. Several counties require 
registration or a license in addition to the State       
registration. Contact each appropriate county and city 
office where you plan to work for more information 
prior to starting work.  
 

How do I contact the                                 
Contractor Registration Program?  

Contractor Registration  • Iowa Division of Labor  
Iowa Workforce Development  

1000 E. Grand Ave.    •  Des Moines, IA 50319-0209 
Phone: (515) 242-5871 • Fax: (515) 281-7995  

Tollfree: 1-800-562-4692, Ext. 25871  
E-mail: contractor.registration@iwd.state.ia.us  
www.iowaworkforce.org/labor/contractor.htm 

Does the State of Iowa require a contractor license?  
No, the State does not require a license, but does 
require most contractors to register with the Iowa 
Division of Labor.   You are not to perform contractor 
work in Iowa without first being assigned this 
registration number. 
 

What contractors must register with the State?  
All individual contractors and businesses performing 
“construction” work within Iowa must be registered 
with the Division of Labor if they earn at least 
$1,000 a year.  Individuals or businesses making less 
than $1,000 a year in “construction” work, or who 
work only on their own real estate or property, are 
not required to register.  Individual employees of 
eligible contractors are not required to register.  
 

How do I find out if a contractor is registered?  
You may search the database at:             
www.iowaworkforce.org/labor/contractor.htm  
Complete lists of registered contractors available on 
the site. For further assistance, please contact the 
Division of Labor.  
 
 What types of contractors have to be registered?               

How do you define “construction”?   
Contractors performing “construction” work must be 
registered.  However, even if construction work is 
only incidental to your business, you still must be 
registered (such as employee leasing agencies).  The 
definition of “construction” is very broad and includes 
not only the typical construction work, but also 
includes companies, entities or individuals performing 
carpentry; electrical; plumbing; roofing; house 
painting; landscape and lawn sprinkler installation; 
cable television installation; elevator and boiler 
installation; window and door installation; and many 
other types of work.  You may view the list of 
different types of work that fall under the definition 
of “construction” on the contractor web page. 
 

Do sub-contractors have to be registered?  
Yes. The law does not distinguish between general 
and sub-contractors.  All “construction” contractors 
must be registered. 
 

What if I operate under more than one business?  
You must register each business with its own separate 
legal entity. In other words, you must register every 
contractor business you operate that has a separate 
federal identification number. 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS CONCERNING IOWA CONTRACTOR REGISTRATION LAWS AND RULES 
What are the purposes of contractor registration?  

1. To ensure compliance with unemployment insurance laws.  
2. To ensure compliance with workers’ compensation laws.  
3. To ensure out-of-state contractors are registered               
and bonded. 
4. To make biographical information about contractors 
available to the general public.  
 

How do I get registered?  
1. Download a copy of the registration application at                     
www.iowaworkforce.org/labor/contractor.htm, and mail in 
the completed application;  
2. Visit the Iowa Workforce Development’s Division of  
Labor building at 1000 East Grand Avenue in Des Moines, 
IA 50319-0209, located across from the State Capitol;  
3. Call (515) 242-5871 to request an application; or   
4. Request an application via e-mail:                               
contractor.registration@iwd.state.ia.us 
 

What do I do with the completed registration form? 
You must submit the completed form to the Division of     
Labor with the $25 registration fee and a Certificate of 
Workers’ Compensation Insurance if you have employees.  
The Contractor Registration Section, Division of Labor, must 
be listed as a holder on the certificate. The Unemployment              
Insurance Division will check your application and assign 
you an unemployment account number. If you already 
have an unemployment account number (which is different 
from a federal tax identification number), then notify the 
Division of Labor of the existing number when submitting 
your application, and your registration may be completed 
more quickly.  
 

Could I be exempt from the $25 registration fee? 
It is possible to be exempt from paying the $25 biannual 
registration fee. A self-employed contractor who does not 
pay more than $1,000 annually in wages to others     
working with them, and who does not work with or for 
other contractors in the same phase of construction, may be 
exempt under Iowa law. If you meet the criteria and do 
not have to pay the $25 fee, please complete the Fee 
Exemption Form, have it notarized and include it with your 
registration.  
 

Do I have to renew my registration number?  
Yes. Your registration must be renewed every two years. 
You may renew using the same application form as before, 
just mark “renewal” where indicated.  You will have to fill 
out the Fee Exemption Form again if you believe you   
continue to meet the criteria. You will be sent one reminder 
notice by mail about two months before your registration 
will expire.  

 What if the information on my registration changes?  
It is your responsibility to complete all forms correctly and 
to notify the Division of Labor in writing if you have any 
changes in the information you put on your application such 
as the name of the business, the owner’s name, business 
address, telephone number or e-mail address. Failure to 
do so may subject you to citations and penalties.   
 

Can I keep my same registration number? 
So long as you renew your registration on time, you may 
keep the same registration number with only a change in 
the year portion of the number. 
 

What if I incorporate my business?  
If you first applied as a sole proprietor or partnership and 
then incorporate your business, you must re-apply as a 
new business and be issued a new contractor registration 
number.  
 
Is a bond needed to perform construction work in Iowa?  
If your principal place of business is located outside the 
State of Iowa, and the contract price of the job in Iowa is 
at least $5,000, then you must file a bond with the Iowa 
Division of Labor prior to starting your job. Having a 
branch office in Iowa does not make you an in-state     
contractor if your business is principally based outside of 
Iowa.  
 

What kind of bond must I have?  
You must choose one of two types of bonds. You may file a 
Project Bond which will only cover the one job you list on 
the bond form. The value of the Project Bond must be 5% 
of the contract price, with a minimum of $1,000. If you are 
going to be doing multiple jobs in Iowa, you may wish to 
file a Blanket Bond which must be $50,000, but will cover 
all jobs in Iowa for two years.  Bonds must be executed by 
a surety company licensed to do business in Iowa and  
issued on an official Division of Labor bond form. You may 
download the bond forms from the web page or contact 
the Division of Labor and the forms will be sent to you.  
 

Where do I file the bond?  
The original copy of the bond must be filed with the Iowa 
Division of Labor, 1000 E. Grand Ave., Des Moines, Iowa 
50319-0209.   
 

What is the purpose of the bond?  
The bond guarantees that taxes, penalties, and other  
payments due to the State of Iowa as a result of your  
contracting job are paid. Only the State and its agencies 
can collect under the bond for nonpayment.  


