# **DRIR**

## Customer Service and Licensing Bureau ELSI Vendor Newsletter

The information in this newsletter serves as a guide to better serve our customers during their license purchases. Please share this newsletter and enclosures with your employees. Please refer any questions about Iowa licenses and laws to the appropriate regulations booklet and/or contact DNR Customer Service during business hours (Monday – Friday, 8:00 am – 4:30 pm) at 515-725-8200.

#### 2019 License Fees

December 15<sup>th</sup> of 2018 the DNR was able to increase some of our hunting and fishing license fees, the first since 2002. Some of the changes are listed below:

- Any-deer license is now \$33;
- Any-deer bonus license is \$33 (exception of Senior antlerless crossbow (70+));
- First Antlerless license is \$28.50;
- Additional Antlerless license is \$15.

Please refer to privilege code sheets (green) enclosed with this newsletter for more information.

#### WHAT'S NEW? In this issue:

- 2019 License Fee Changes
- January Antlerless Season & Updated Antlerless Quotas
- Durable Hard Card
- Logan's Law
- Federal Duck Stamp
- Straight Wall Cartridges
- Go Outdoors Iowa Helpdesk



#### January Antlerless-only Season

A January Antlerless-only Season has been added in Allamakee, Clayton, Appanoose, Wayne, and Winneshiek counties. See map below.

#### **Antlered Only Counties for Resident Hunters:**

Lyon, Osceola, Dickinson, Emmet, Kossuth, Winnebago, Worth, Sioux, O'Brien, Clay, Palo Alto, Hancock, Cerro Gordo, Plymouth, Cherokee, Buena Vista, Pocahontas, Humboldt, Wright, Franklin, Ida, Sac, Calhoun, Webster, Hamilton, Hardin, Grundy

### Antlerless-only License Quota Change

Changes in the quotas were made in 24 counties.

#### **Durable Hard Card**

Almost 18,000 hard cards have been sold since February. These are great for customers purchasing 3 year licenses, lifetime licenses, and as gifts. The card images will change each year for those who like to collect hunting or fishing memorabilia.

The durable hard card:

- Will arrive in 5-7 days. Customers will receive a paper copy of their license(s) to carry to hunt and fish immediately after purchase.
- Will print with the active licenses held by the customer at the time of purchase.



#### Logan's Law

Beginning September 1, 2019, if a customer has not signed up to be an organ donor, you will be prompted to ask the customer if they wish to sign up. You will only be prompted to ask the customer one time during the license year.

Their license will then indicate they are an organ donor if they choose to sign up at the time of license purchase or if they have previously done so with the DNR, DOT or the Iowa Donor Network.

Iowa Department of Natural Resources, 502E.9thStreet DesMoines,IA 50319-0034 Phone: (515)725-8200 Fax: (515)725-8201 Email: webmaster@dnr.iowa.gov

#### **Federal Duck Stamp**

Customers are able to purchase the Federal Electronic Duck Stamp at any license vendor or on the DNR website. Customers will be authorized to hunt immediately after purchasing the privilege for 45 days. They should receive the physical stamp within 45 days after purchase.

If you are already a Federal Duck Stamp vendor, you can still sell the physical stamp but will not receive agent commission from the DNR. Please remember that customers purchasing online or in Go Outdoors will be mailed a stamp and **should not be given a** 

#### physical stamp at the time of purchase.

Customers no longer need to affix the physical stamp to their license. They must sign the stamp with ink and carry it with them as soon as it is received.

#### Straight Wall Cartridges

Allowable straight-walled cartridge criteria:

- Center-fired straight-walled rimless cartridges with bullets from 0.357" to 0.500" diameter as published by the manufacturer and a case length from 0.850" to 1.800."
- Center-fired straight-walled rimmed cartridges with bullets from 0.357" to 0.500" diameter as published by the manufacturer with a case length from 1.285" to 1.800."
- The following cartridges do not meet the above criteria, but are allowed: .444 Marlin, .375 Winchester and .45-70 Govt.

#### Go Outdoors Iowa Help Desk

If you are experiencing terminal and printer issues, please call the Go Outdoors Iowa helpdesk Monday through Friday 8:00am – 8:00 pm CST at 833-426-0141 or HelpDesk@GoOutdoorsIowa.com. This help desk is staffed by Brandt Information Systems, our license contractor.

#### License Vendor Resource Webpage

You now have access to all of the information sent out with DNR newsletters, plus instructional user guides and marketing materials by visiting www.iowadnr.gov/vendors.

If you have employees unfamiliar on how to perform some of the more frequent terminal transactions, a You Tube Channel has been created with training tutorials: <u>http://training.gooutdoorsiowa.com/</u>

#### Residency

If a customer record indicates **Nonresident** when trying to purchase a license and they are a current resident of Iowa, customers will need to complete the **Application for Iowa Residency in order to Acquire Resident Licenses and Privileges** and submit supporting documents to the DNR to change residency status. The residency change review process can take seven to ten days.

Customers may download the application from the DNR website: <u>www.iowadnr.gov/hunting</u> or can call Customer Service at 515-725-8200 to request an application be sent to them. The application may be filled out and submitted electronically.

#### Land Owner Tenant

All landowners, tenants, and their eligible family members must register with the DNR before obtaining LOT deer and turkey hunting licenses. The electronic licensing system will not issue LOT licenses to unregistered landowners and tenants. Eligible landowners and tenants must register online or download a registration form from the Iowa DNR website: www.iowadnr.gov/lot.

#### **Apprentice Hunting License**

This license allows hunters ages 16 and older to bypass the hunter education requirement for purchasing a hunting license while they hunt under the direct supervision of a licensed hunter (ages 18 or older). They may purchase the apprentice hunting license up to two times without having completed hunter education. Both the resident and nonresident license includes the hunting and habitat fee.

#### **Youth Season Deer License**

The youth season deer license must be purchased during the Youth Season September 21<sup>st</sup> – October 6<sup>th</sup>. An **unfilled** youth season deer license is now valid for any remaining seasons (even archery) but youth must follow all other rules specified for each season.

Iowa Department of Natural Resources, 502E.9thStreet DesMoines,IA 50319-0034 Phone: (515)725-8200 Fax: (515)725-8201 Email: webmaster@dnr.iowa.gov