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Delonde Suchy 
Speech Pathology/Audiology Board 
Iowa Department of Public Health 
Lucas State Office Bldg 5th Fl 
321 E 12th St 5th Fl 
Des Moines IA 50319-4408 
Phone: (515) 281-6959 
Fax: (515) 281-3121 
E-mail: dsuchy@idph.state.ia.us 

Code of Iowa, Chapter 147; Iowa Administrative Code 645, Chapters 299-300, 303-305 

Speech pathologists apply principles, methods, and procedures for the measurement, 
testing, evaluation, prediction, consultation, counseling, instruction, habilitation, 
rehabilitation, or remediation related to the development and disorders of speech, 
fluency, voice, or language.  They nonmedically evaluate, prevent, ameliorate, modify, or 
remediate such disorders and conditions in individuals or groups of individuals. 

Speech and hearing are so closely related that a person must have some knowledge of 
both to be a success as a speech pathologist or an audiologist. 

An applicant must have a certificate of clinical competence issued by the American 
Speech-Language Hearing Association (ASHA) or; a master’s degree or its equivalent 
from an accredited college with a major in speech pathology; not less than 300 hours of 
supervised clinical training by an accredited college or university; and, not less than nine 
months of full-time, supervised clinical experience (within one year) with a temporary 
license and pass the National Teacher examination.  Temporary licenses can be 
obtained, but the licensee must be supervised by an Iowa licensed speech pathologist. 

Applicants possessing a current Certificate of Clinical Competency (CCC) from ASHA 
may apply at any time. 

Out-of-state applicants must apply and receive a license before practicing in Iowa. 

Non-residents may apply for a temporary permit to practice in Iowa for a period not to 
exceed three months. Applicant must document a need for the permit and permit must 
be received before practicing in Iowa. 

Thirty hours of continuing education are required biennially for a permanent license 
renewal. 

After completing the supervised clinical experience, the applicant must take and pass the 
National Teachers Examination in Speech Pathology with a score of 600 or greater. 

mailto:dsuchy@idph.state.ia.us
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Application: 	    $100 – If licensed in another state and have CCC from ASHA 
    $100 – Temporary clinical permit

 $ 50 – Temporary permit 
Renewal: 	 $ 80 
Duration: 	 Two years – Permanent license 

    One year – Temporary clinical license 
Three months – Temporary permit 

Exam:  	 Arrangements made by applicant 

29-1127 – Speech-Language Pathologists ($23.84) 

Total number of licenses active as of December 31, 
2003: 632 
2002: 697 
2001: 724 

The administrative laws and rules, license information, and the application forms are on 
the Iowa Department of Public Health Web site at: www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure 

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association 
10801 Rockville Pike 
Rockville MD 20852-3279 
Toll-free, voice or TTY: (301) 897-5700 
Professionals/Students: (800) 498-2071 
Public: (800) 638-8255 
Fax: (301) 571-0457 
Available 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. ET 
E-mail: Use actioncenter@asha.org for general questions and requests 
Web site: www.asha.org 
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