SOLID WASTE INCINERATOR OPERATOR

Certifying Elonda Bacon

Authority Operation Certification

Iowa Department of Natural Resources

Wallace State Office Bldg Des Moines, IA 50319-0035

Phone: (515) 281-5918 (515) 281-6794 Fax:

E-mail: ebacon@dnr.state.ia.us

Authority

Legal Code of Iowa, Chapter 455B

Job Solid waste incinerator operators control processes and equipment to destroy by **Description** incineration municipal, infectious/pathogenic, and certain construction/demolition wastes in permitted solid waste incinerators. They maintain and operate the incinerator and related ancillary equipment necessary for the proper functioning of the disposal system; maintain operation records including, but not limited to, tonnages accepted, tonnages diverted to alternate solid waste processes, and quantities of ash disposed via Special Waste Authorization; collect samples from the combustion process and read and interpret data from the various meters and gauges which monitor the equipment's operation; periodically and randomly inspect loads of incoming wastes; and, supervise subordinate persons in all of the above functions.

Education & An applicant must have completed a basic training course approved by the **Experience** Department of Natural Resources. The required basic training course must be **Required** pre-approved and have at least 12 contact hours. At a minimum, the course will address the following:

- 1) Description of types of wastes
- 2) Incinerator design
- 3) Interpreting and using engineering plans
- 4) Incinerator operations
- 5) Environmental monitoring
- 6) Applicable laws and regulations
- 7) Permitting processes
- 8) Incinerator maintenance, and
- 9) Ash and residue disposal.

Prior on-the-job experience is not required.

lowa will consider reciprocity concerning applicants from other states.

Continuing Ten contact hours of continuing education during a two-year period are required **Education** for certification renewal.

Examination A written examination is required and is offered at various locations throughout the state during the year. Specific information concerning dates and locations of tests can be obtained by contacting the License Bureau of the Iowa Department of Natural Resources.

Fees Application: None

Duration: Two Years (certificates expire on June 30 of every even-numbered

year)

Renewal: \$24 Exam: \$20

Other: There is a \$32 (maximum) certificate fee. The certificate is prorated

twice yearly up to the first renewal period.

SOC Code, 51-9051 – Furnace, Kiln, Oven, Drier, and Kettle Operators and Tenders (\$13.88)

Title, & Avg. **Hourly Wage**

Number of Total number of certificates active as of December 31,

Licenses 2002: 45 **Issued** 2001: 46

2000: N/A (due to new computer program)