
REAL E ASTATE PPRAISER 

Certifying 
Authority 

Legal 
Authority 

Job 
Description 

Education & 
Experience 
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Continuing 
Education 

Examination 

Fees 

SOC Code, 
Title, & Avg. 

Hourly Wage 

Susan Griffel 
Real Estate Appraiser Board 
Iowa Department of Commerce 
1920 SE Hulsizer 
Ankeny IA 50021 
Phone: (515) 281-7393 
Fax: (515) 281-7411 
E-mail: susan.griffel@iowa.gov 

Code of Iowa, Chapter 543D 

Real estate appraisers provide an unbiased estimate of the quality, value, and best use 
of a specific property; gather information on properties by taking measurements, 
interviewing persons familiar with the property, and searching public records of sales, 
leases, assessments, and other transactions; and, include findings in a formal written 
report. 

An applicant for the Certified Residential or Certified General Real Property Appraiser 
shall comply with the appropriate education requirement and pass a uniform national 
examination.  A Certified Residential applicant shall complete 120 hours of classroom 
education and the Certified General shall complete 180 hours of classroom education.  
Applicants are also required to have 2,500 and 3,000 hours, respectively, of appraisal 
experience within a minimum of two years and two and one-half respectively, for 
certification. 

A non-resident temporary certification is offered to individuals in good standing in their 
home state for two appraisal assignments per year. Non-resident licensees may contact 
the Iowa Real Estate Appraiser Examining Board at (515) 281-7393 to obtain additional 
information. A reciprocal certification is offered to individuals from another state provided 
the initial exam, law and rules are similar to Iowa’s. 

Twenty-eight hours of continuing education are required biennially for certification 
renewal in Iowa. 

Examinations are administered daily, Monday through Friday, by appointment.  

Application: $260 – Residential certification 
$260 – General 

Duration: Two years 
Renewal: $260 – Residential certification 

$260 – General 
Exam: $100 – Testing fee, paid to Board 

$95 – Fee paid to the testing company 

13-2021 - Appraisers and Assessors of Real Estate ($20.00) 

mailto:susan.griffel@iowa.gov


Number of 
Licenses 

Issued 

Total number of certificates active as of December 31, (includes both certification 
classes): 
2003: 1,175 
2002: 1,100 
2001: 1,130 
2000: 1,149 
1999: 1,155 
1998: 1,100 


