LAWYER

I

Licensing Authority	Keith Richardson Board of Law Examiners Iowa Supreme Court 1111 E Court Ave Des Moines IA 50319-5003 Phone: (515) 281-5911 Fax: (515) 242-6164 E-mail: keith.richardson@jb.state.ia.us
Legal Authority	Iowa Code 602.10101; Supreme Court Rule 100
Job Description	Lawyers conduct criminal and civil lawsuits, draft legal documents, advise clients as to legal rights, and practice other phases of law. They gather evidence in divorce, civil criminal, and other cases to formulate defense or to initiate legal action; represent clients in court and before quasi-judicial or administrative agencies of government; may act as trustee, guardian, conservator, or executor; may teach college courses in law; and, may specialize in a particular phase of law.
Education & Experience Required	An applicant for admission to practice law in Iowa must submit proof of graduation from a reputable law school fully accredited by the American Bar Association.
	Attorneys may be admitted without examination provided they have practiced law at least five of the last seven years in another state and have met other requirements for admission. In such cases, there is an admission fee. An annual assessment of \$25 to \$100 is imposed upon all practicing lawyers to maintain lowa's "client security" fund. Law students should file a Law Student Registration by November 1 of the year in which the person begins law school.
Continuing Education	Lawyers are required to take fifteen hours of continuing legal education each year, including two hours of legal ethics for each two-year period.
Examination	Written examinations are given in February (apply by October 1) and July (apply by March 1) of each year in Des Moines or Iowa City. The Clerk of the Iowa Supreme Court should be contacted concerning specific locations and dates for the examination. A background investigation is conducted on all prospective lawyers and a fee is assessed to defray the cost of the investigation and the written examination. The Multi-State Professional Responsibility Examination must be taken before the bar exam is taken, and the applicant must receive a scaled score of at least 80.
	Admission without examination is possible provided the person has practiced law at least five of the last seven years in another state and has met other requirements for admission.

Fees	 Assessment: \$200 – Applicants are exempt from payment for the first two years, then must pay a prorated amount until this figure is met. \$15 – Continuing Legal Education (An annual fee) Duration: One year – (Bar admission is continuous) Renewal: \$85 – Client Security Fund – An annual fee imposed upon all lawyers to fund disciplinary system Exam: \$325 – To defray investigative and written exam costs Other: \$25 – Law Student Registration \$75 – If not filed timely \$575 – For out-of-state attorneys applying to practice in Iowa
SOC Code, Title, & Avg. Hourly Wage	23-1011 – Lawyers (\$43.77)
	Total number of licenses active as of December 31, 2003: 8,049 2002: 7,899 2001: 7,954 2000: 7,849 1999: 7,699 1998: 7,664
For Additional Information	The Iowa Supreme Court Web site: www.judicial.state.ia.us (see Attorney Regulation, then Admission to the Bar. Also on the website, see Iowa Court Rules, Rule 31, Admission to the Bar). Drake University Office of Admissions Cartwright Hall 27th & Carpenter Des Moines IA 50311 Phone: (515) 271-2782 Iowa State Bar Association 521 E Locust St Des Moines IA 50309 Phone: (515) 243-3179 University of Iowa College of Law Placement Office Iowa City IA 52242 Phone: (319) 335-9034