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Phyllis Prall 
Board of Cosmetology Arts and Sciences Examiners 
Iowa Department of Public Health 
Lucas State Office Bldg 
321 E 12th St 
Des Moines IA 50319-0075 
Phone: (515) 281-4416 
Fax: (515) 281-3121 
E-mail: pprall@idph.state.ia.us 

Code of Iowa, Chapter 157; Iowa Administrative Code 645, Chapters 59-65 

Estheticians can beautify, massage, cleanse or stimulate a person’s skin (except the 
scalp) by use of cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions or creams or any 
device, electrical or otherwise, for the care of the skin.  They also might apply make-up 
or eyelashes to a person, tint the eyelashes or eyebrows, lighten hair on the body 
(except the scalp), or remove excess hair from the body using depilatories, waxes, or 
tweezers. 

Licensure as an esthetician requires taking 600 hours of training, consisting of at least 
150 hours of core life sciences, 115 hours of esthetics theory, and 335 hours of applied 
practical instruction from an approved school. 

An applicant must successfully pass the required exams and pay the application fee. 

A licensed cosmetologist may obtain a license in esthetics by taking 150 hours in 
esthetics and passing the required examination. 

Estheticians from other states are reviewed on an individual basis. 

Eight hours of continuing education are required biennially, of which four hours shall be 
in the prescribed practice discipline for license renewal. 

To arrange a testing time, candidates eligible for testing may contact: 
Experior Assessment LLC 
1260 Energy Dr 
St Paul MN 55108-5252 
Phone: 800-532-2218 
www.experioronline.com (in the subject area specify “IA Cos”) 

Application: $50 
Duration: Two years 
Renewal: $50 
Exam: $75 – Theory 

$30 – Iowa Law 
Other: $10 – Temporary Permit 

mailto:pprall@idph.state.ia.us
http:\\www.experioronline.com
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39-5012 – Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists ($10.32) 
39-5094 – Skin Care Specialists ($7.93) 

Total number of licenses active as of December 31, 

2003: 134 

2002: 103 

2001: 70 


Iowa Department of Public Health Web site: 
www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure 

http:\\www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure

