BARBER PRACTITIONER

Licensing Authority

Delonde Suchy

Professional Licensure Bureau Iowa Department of Public Health

Lucas State Office Bldg

321 E 12th St

Des Moines IA 50319-0075 Phone: (515) 281-6959

Fax: (515) 281-3121

E-mail: dsuchy@idph.state.ia.us

Legal Authority

Code of Iowa, Chapter 158; Iowa Administrative Code 645, Chapters 20-26

Job Description

A barber provides customers with barbering services: shampooing, cutting, blowwaving, trimming, singeing, hair body processing, arranging, bleaching or coloring the hair, hair relaxing, drying, applying hair tonics and tapering hair, using clippers, combs, dryers, and scissors. Barbers apply hairdressings or lotions, lather and shave beards, or shape hair contour on temple and neck using razor. They dye, singe, shampoo, or style hair; massage or apply cosmetic preparations to the face, neck, or scalp; fit and sell hair replacements; sell lotions, tonics, or other cosmetic supplies; and, record charge on ticket.

Education & Experience Required

In lowa, the applicant must be at least 16 years of age, have a tenth grade education, graduate from a board-approved barber school, and pass a national written and practical exam. A person who completes the requirements for licensure except for examination shall be known as a trainee and shall be issued a temporary permit to allow the applicant to practice barbering until passage of the examinations. The temporary permit of an applicant who does not pass the second examination shall be revoked.

All other out-of-state applicants must meet lowa's license requirements and have a valid license for at least 12 months in the preceding two years prior to applying. No temporary permits are available for out-of-state applicants.

Continuing Education

Eight hours of continuing education are required biennially for license renewal.

Examination

Applicants are required to pass the national and Iowa Rules and Law written examination and a practical exam. The exam is given four times a year in Des Moines, Iowa on either the last Monday or Tuesday of January, April, July, and October, subject to change.

Fees

Application: \$100
Duration: Two years
Renewal: \$50

\$50

Exam:

Other: \$100 – licensure by reciprocity

\$10 – Temporary permit

SOC Code, Title, & Avg. Hourly Wage	39-5011 – Barbers (\$8.51)
Number of Licenses Issued	2003: 1,362
For Additional Information	Iowa Department of Public Health Web site: www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure
	Iowa State Association of Journeymen's Barbers 2607 Pierce St Sioux City IA 51104 (712) 255-6190
	National Association of Boards of Barber Examiners of America 2708 Pine St Arkadelphia AK 71923