## BAIL ENFORCEMENT AGENT

Licensing Authority	Tina Woosley Program Services Bureau Iowa Department of Public Safety Wallace State Office Bldg 3 <sup>rd</sup> FI Des Moines IA 50319-0045
	Phone: (515) 281-7610 Fax: (515) 281-8921 E-mail: piinfo@dps.state.ia.us
Legal Authority	Iowa Code, Chapter 80A; Iowa Administrative Code 661, Chapter 2
Job Description	A bail enforcement agent takes or attempts to take into custody the principal on a bail bond issued on a deposit filed in relation to a criminal proceeding to assure the presence of the defendant at trial. Bail enforcement agents are commonly known as bounty hunters who search for persons that have jumped their bail bond.
Education & Experience	A person wishing to become a licensed, independent bail enforcement agent <b>must</b> :
Required	<ol> <li>be at least 18 years of age and a citizen of the United States,</li> <li>be of good moral character, have no convictions for an aggravated misdemeanor or a felony, and have never been convicted of assault resulting from domestic abuse,</li> <li>not be an abuser of alcohol or controlled substance, nor have a history of mental illness, instability or a history of repeated acts of violence,</li> <li>submit pictures, fingerprints and license fee(s) along with a completed application to the Commissioner of Public Safety,</li> <li>pass a written examination,</li> <li>be able to show proof of financial responsibility and must be approved for a \$5,000 surety bond; this will be \$10,000 if applying for more than one license under this</li> </ol>
	Chapter. For those wishing to work as an employee for an agency, only the <i>first four</i> requirements above apply. Licensed agencies must also submit an employee I.D. card application along with the items in number four. The agency purchases these applications (\$10 each) from the Department of Public Safety prior to the employee completing it.
Continuing Education	There are no continuing education requirements.
Examination	Applicants must pass the Bail Enforcement License Exam, which is given by the Department of Public Safety at the Wallace State Office Building once a month.

Fees	<ul> <li>License: (Bail Enforcement Agent, Private Investigator, Security Guard): \$100 – each license \$30 – fingerprint fee for each license holder</li> <li>Renewal: \$100 for each two-year license, \$30 for fingerprint renewal for each license holder. The Department of Public Safety is responsible for sending out renewal notices (usually 30 days prior to license expiration).</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Exam: None</li> <li>Other: Application – \$ 10 - Identification Card fee (one card needed, no matter how many license types; no expiration, to work for that particular agency only)</li> <li>\$10 - Application Packet (in person)</li> <li>\$15 - Application Packet (by mail)</li> </ul>
SOC Code, Title, & Avg. Hourly Wage	33-9021 – Private Detectives and Investigators (\$18.87)
Number of Licenses Issued	Total number of licenses active as of December 31, 2003: 0 2002: 0 2001: 1 2000: 1 1999: 1