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This booklet contains rules and regulations most likely needed for hunting in Iowa. However, it is not a 
complete list of all hunting regulations or laws, nor is it a legal document. For more information, go to 
www.iowadnr.gov or contact the DNR Central Office in Des Moines at 515-725-8200.
Duck, goose and mourning dove seasons can be found in the Iowa Migratory Game Bird Regulations.
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Investing Hunting License Fees to Benefit Hunters
On behalf of the Iowa DNR, thank you for being a license buyer. By purchasing hunting 

licenses, you have invested 10s of millions of dollars – just since the turn of the century - support-
ing conservation efforts in our state. 

We appreciate your trust in us to make sound financial decisions on your behalf to improve 
critical habitat, continue important research and expand hunter opportunities and together we 
have accomplished quite a lot over the past year.  Two successes in particular should be noted.

Our Iowa Habitat and Access Program (IHAP), that allows hunter access on private land in 
exchange for habitat improvement, has grown the number of enrolled acres from 9,000 last year 
to more than 25,000 today. And these areas are becoming more popular each year. 

Secondly, we have a new entry level license – the apprentice license – that allows hunters 
over age 18 to try hunting without completing hunter education with the hopes that they will enjoy 
the experience and then get certified. They are required to hunt under the supervision of an adult 
hunter with a valid license. 

Those new opportunities combined with strong populations of pheasants, quail, rabbits and 
squirrels should increase the chance for success. 

And the best success is shared success. 
This year, ask someone new to come along on the next hunt. Getting our friends, family, co-

workers and neighbors reconnected with our traditional outdoor sports is good for the mind, body 
and spirit. 

Again, thank you for being a hunter and supporting conservation. 

Chuck Gipp
Director, Iowa Department of Natural Resources
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DEER & TURKEY LICENSES
Paid Deer Licenses
	 General Deer.......................................... $28.50
	 Anterless-only, First License................... $28.50
	 Anterless-only Second & All Others........ $13.00
Landowner-Tenant - Farm Unit Only
	 General Deer.......................................... $2.00
	 Antlerless-only........................................ $2.00
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Hunting & Habitat Fee Combo 
18 & Older..................................................$123.00
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LICENSES are available online at 
www.iowadnr.gov/hunting then 
click on hunting licenses and laws, 
at any of the 800 retail outlets or by 
calling 1-800-367-1188

DONATE TO TURN IN POACHERS
Hunters and anglers may donate $2 to the 
TIP program when purchasing a license. 
The contribution will help put fish and wildlife 
poachers out of business.

TIP
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Nonresident licenses for 2017 are on sale Jan. 1, 2017. 
2016 nonresident licenses expire Jan. 10, 2017.
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You need the resident or nonresident licenses and stamps listed below to hunt or trap in Iowa. All licenses, 
fees and stamps must be carried on your person while hunting or trapping. 

R = Resident  NR = Nonresident    = License or fee required  Blank = Not required  

1License not required for residents under 16 if accompanied by a licensed adult (18 years or older).  See p. 9. 2Lifetime hunting 
license available to residents who qualify.  Deer and Turkey licenses, Iowa Migratory Game Bird Fee and Federal Waterfowl 
Stamp must be purchased annually.  3 License not required for qualifying resident and nonresident landowners or tenants 
or their juvenile children when hunting or trapping on their own land. See p. 10.  4Unless under 16 years old. 5Required for 
hunting and trapping all furbearers, except coyote and groundhog, which may also be taken on a hunting license.  6Except 
residents under 16 or 65 and older. See wildlife habitat fee on p. 9.  7 Needed to hunt ducks, geese, gallinule, rails, snipe and 
woodcock. 8See p. 9 and 10. 9Hunting license and habitat fee required for all nonresidents hunting deer and turkey. 10Residents 
issued a disabled veteran lifetime hunting license are exempt from the habitat fee.

Hunting
  R    NR

Furharvester3,5
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HIGHLIGHTS & CHANGES

n

DEER SEASON
No changes for 2016. Seasons, antler-
less quotas and buck-only counties during 
the early muzzleloader and first shotgun 
season remain the same as last year

NEW APPRENTICE LICENSE
Iowans wanting to try hunting without 
going through hunter education may 
purchase an apprentice license. This 
new license allows the apprentice to hunt 
under the direct supervision of a men-
tor (age 18 or older) who has a current 
hunting license and habitat fee. Appren-
tice licenses may be purchased twice 
in a lifetime. After that, the hunter must 
satisfactorily complete a hunter educa-
tion course in order to obtain a hunting 
license.

n n
TRANSPORTING DEER, ELK CARCASS     

DNR regulations prohibit bringing back 
whole carcasses of deer, elk, moose or 
caribou into the state from areas where 
chronic wasting disease (CWD) has 
been identified, whether they were taken 
from the wild, free-ranging animals or 
shot on a hunting preserve. 
If you take a deer, elk, moose or caribou 
in a CWD area, you may bring  back only 
the boned out meat, skin (cape) and ant-
lers. Antlers may be attached only to a 
clean skull plate from which all brain and 
connective tissue has been removed. 
Animals taken outside of identified CWD 
areas may be transported in any manner 
that is otherwise legal. 

Hunters may carry a copy of their license 
electronically while in the field. See p. 13. 

n
CARRY LICENSE ELECTRONICALLY 
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HUNTING INFORMATION
SPECIES	 SEASON	 SHOOTING HOURS		 BAG LIMITS
			   DAILY		 POSSESSION
Rooster Pheasant (Youth) 1,2	 Oct. 22-23	 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.	 1		  2
Rooster Pheasant	 Oct. 29 - Jan. 10, 2017	 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.	 3		  12
Bobwhite Quail	 Oct. 29 - Jan. 31, 2017	 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.	 8		  16
Gray Partridge	 Oct. 8 - Jan. 31, 2017	 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.	 8		  16
Ruffed Grouse	 Oct. 1 - Jan. 31, 2017	 Sunrise to Sunset	 3		  6
Rabbit (Cottontail)	 Sept. 3 - Feb. 28, 2017	 Sunrise to Sunset	 10		  20
Rabbit (Jack)	 CLOSED		  0		  0
Squirrel (Fox and Gray)	 Sept. 3 - Jan. 31, 2017	 No Restrictions	 6		  12
Groundhog3	 Continuous Open Season	 No Restrictions	 No Limit		  No Limit
Crow	 Oct. 15 - Nov. 30 and	 No Restrictions	 No Limit		  No Limit
	 Jan. 14 - March 31, 2017				  
Pigeon 	 Continuous Open Season	 No Restrictions	 No Limit		  No Limit
Coyote3, 4	 Continuous Open Season	 No Restrictions	 No Limit		  No Limit
1 Residents age 15 or younger 	 2 See p. 12 for complete requirements	
3 May be hunted on either a hunting or furharvester license.  4See p. 18 for trapping information.
Coyote or groundhog may be hunted on a hunting or furharvester license.

2017 SPRING TURKEY HUNTING 	 SEASON DATES	
Combination Gun/Bow Licenses
Youth Season (Residents Only)	 April 8-16
Season 1	 April 17-20 
Season 2 	 April 21-25 
Season 3	 April 26-May 2
Season 4	 May 3-21
Resident Archery-only Licenses: 	 April 17-May 21

BAG LIMIT: Daily Bag and Season Possession Limit is one bearded or male wild turkey for 
each valid license and transportation tag issued to the hunter. 
SHOOTING HOURS: Half-hour before sunrise to sunset.
See p. 32 for Spring Turkey regulations.

The Ruffed Grouse hunting zone is that por-
tion of northeast Iowa bordered by U.S. High-
ways 63, 20 and 151, and Iowa Highways 13 
and 64.  Ruffed Grouse hunters are re-
quired to wear blaze orange. See p. 12. 

RUFFED GROUSE HUNTING ZONE

The pheasant population survey is available in early September at www.iowadnr.gov/pheasantsurvey

SEASONS
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SEASONS	 SEASON DATES	 LICENSE ON-SALE DATES
Youth Season5	 Sept. 17-Oct. 2	 Aug. 15 - End of Season
Disabled Hunter Season1	 Sept. 17-Oct. 2	 Aug. 15 - End of Season
Archery Season6		
	 Early Split	 Oct. 1-Dec. 2	 Aug. 15 - End of Season
	 Late Split	 Dec. 19 - Jan. 10, 2017	 Aug. 15 - End of Season
Early Muzzleloader2, 5	 Oct. 15-23	 Aug. 15 - End of Season
Late Muzzleloader	 Dec. 19 - Jan. 10, 2017	 Aug. 15 - End of Season
Shotgun		
	 Season 1	 Dec. 3-7	 Aug. 15 - End of Season
	 Season 2	 Dec. 10-18	 Aug. 15 - End of Season
Nonresident Holiday Season 3,4 	 Dec. 24 - Jan. 2, 2017	 Dec. 15 - End of Season
1 Requires permit to acquire from DNR. See p. 26.      2 Purchase until quota (7,500) is reached
3 Purchase until nonresident antlerless quota is reached 4 Nonresident deer zone maps are avail-
able online at www.iowadnr.gov/nonresidenthunting  5 Residents only, see p. 21 for details   
6 Includes senior antlerless-only licenses, see p. 26 for details

Counties in Red: Antlered deer only during first shotgun and early muzzleloader seasons.
ANTLERLESS QUOTAS AND ANTLERED ONLY COUNTIES FOR  RESIDENT HUNTERS

Licenses are available from the sales date through the end of the season, or until quota 
fills. A current hunting license and habitat fee is also required. See p. 25 for resident deer li-
cense options. Shooting hours for all deer seasons are half-hour before sunrise to half-hour 
after sunset.

2016 DEER HUNTING SEASONS & QUOTAS

SEASONS
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DEER POPULATION MANAGEMENT ZONES 
Deer population management zone hunts are listed online at  

www.iowadnr.gov/Hunting/DeerHunting/DeerManagementHunts.aspx. See p. 27.
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2016 FALL WILD TURKEY HUNTING INFORMATION
NONRESIDENTS are not eligible for fall turkey hunting licenses.

License Types	 Season Dates	 Shooting Hours	
Combination Gun/Bow1	 Oct. 10-Dec. 2	 Gun: Half-hour before sunrise to sunset		
Archery Only2	 Oct. 1 - Dec. 2 AND	 Bow: Half-hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset
		  Dec. 19 - Jan. 10, 2017
1 Sold until quotas are filled.	
2 Sold until last day of the season. No quota. 
Bag Limit: Daily Bag and Season Possession Limit is one wild turkey of either sex for each valid  
license and transportation tag issued to the hunter. 

Combination Gun/Bow 
Zones and License Quotas

	 Zone	 Quota
	 Zone 4	 1,500
	 Zone 5	 650
	 Zone 6	 1,400
	 Zone 7	 250
	 Zone 8	 150
	 Zone 9	 200

Fall Turkey Zones

Hunters may purchase up to two licenses beginning Aug. 15. Fall Turkey Hunting information 
begins on p. 31. 

Sioux City
Waterloo
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Iowa City
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25,700 ACRES

For maps and details: 
www.iowadnr.gov/ihap 
Iowa Habitat and Access Program (IHAP)

THANK YOU to Iowa 
landowners for opening private 

land for public hunting

NEW WALK-IN 
HUNTING AREAS
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SPECIAL LICENSES FOR RESIDENTS
Applications for these special licenses and assis-
tance may be obtained at the DNR central office 
by calling 515-725-8200, or online at  
www.iowadnr.gov/hunting then click on “Hunting 
Licenses and Laws” and then “License Applica-
tions.” 
1)	 Free Annual Hunting and Fishing licenses 

are available to low income Iowa residents 
65 years or older, or low income permanently 
disabled residents.

2)	 Veteran Lifetime Hunting/Fishing License - 
Available to Iowa residents who served for 
a minimum aggregate of 90 days of active 
federal service and who have a service-
connected disability, or were a prisoner of war 
during their military service.  

HUNTER EDUCATION
Resident and nonresident hunters born after 

Jan. 1, 1972, must satisfactorily complete a hunter 
education course in order to obtain a hunting 
license. A person who is 11 years-old or older 
may enroll in a course, but those who are 11 and 
successfully complete the course shall be issued 
a certificate of completion which becomes valid on 
that person’s 12th birthday. Residents under the 
age of 12 can be issued deer and turkey licenses, 
but the youth hunter must be accompanied by and 
under the immediate control of or direct supervi-
sion of a licensed adult hunter.

For class dates and locations, call 515-725-
8200 or go to www.iowadnr.gov/huntered 

Alternative. A hunter education certificate is-
sued by another state or certain foreign nations 
will meet the above requirement. Proof of comple-
tion is required when purchasing your first Iowa 
hunting license.

PURCHASING A LICENSE
The Iowa Department of Natural Resources is 

required to collect social security numbers from all 
persons obtaining a hunting, fishing or other rec-
reational license under section 252J.8 of the Code 
of Iowa and 42 U.S. Code 666(a)(13). Your social 
security number will serve as your principal iden-
tification number to determine your eligibility for 
licenses. It will be provided to enforcement agen-
cies to establish, modify and enforce child support 
and tax obligations. It WILL NOT appear on your 
hunting or fishing license.

HUNTING LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
REQUIREMENTS FOR PURCHASING  
RESIDENT LICENSES 

A NONRESIDENT is a person who is not a 
resident of Iowa. NOTE: Iowa residents who have 
previously hunted, fished and/or trapped as non-
residents are urged to plan ahead to obtain license 
privileges. The electronic licensing system for 
hunting, fishing and trapping automatically identi-
fies people who have previously obtained licenses 
as nonresidents. This law change was made to 
identify a growing problem in Iowa of nonresi-
dents falsifying records to illegally obtain (invalid) 
resident licenses. Hunters, anglers and trappers 
who previously held a nonresident Iowa license 
but are now eligible for resident licenses, need to 
fill out and return a form that can be accessed at 
www.iowadnr.gov/licenses/. Former nonresidents 
are encouraged to do this as soon as possible 
as changes may take up to two weeks. License 
vendors CANNOT make this change at the point 
of sale and it cannot be done over the phone. For 
questions, contact the local conservation officer.

RESIDENT means a natural person who meets 
one of the following criteria. 

1. Has physically resided in this state as the 
person’s principal and primary residence or domi-
cile for period of not less than 90 consecutive days 
immediately before applying for or purchasing a 
resident license and has an Iowa driver’s license or 
non-operators ID. Factors to determine the domi-
cile include, but are not limited to, place of employ-
ment, mailing (street) address, utility records, real 
estate records, vehicle registrations.

A person is not considered a resident under this 
paragraph if the person is residing in the state only 
for a special or temporary purpose including, but 
not limited to, engaging in hunting, fishing or trap-
ping. 

2. Is a full-time student at an accredited educa-
tional institution in Iowa and resides in Iowa while 
attending the educational institution, or is a full-
time student under 25 years of age at an accred-
ited educational institution outside the state as long 
as at least one parent or legal guardian maintains 
a principal and primary residence in Iowa. 

3. Is a nonresident under 18 years of age with a 
parent who is a legal resident of Iowa.

4. Is a member of the armed forces of the 
United States who is serving on active duty, claims 
residency in this state, and has filed a state indi-
vidual income tax return for the preceding year, or 
is stationed in this state. 
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Dual Residency Not Permitted: Unless you 
qualify under 2, 3 or 4 in the previous paragraph, a 
person shall not purchase or apply for any resident 
license or permit if that person has claimed resi-
dency in any other state or country. 

LICENSES, FEES & STAMPS REQUIRED
Iowa residents 16 years and older, and 

nonresidents regardless of age, are required to 
have a valid Hunting License on their person, 
and have paid all applicable fees and possess 
all required stamps while hunting game or 
participating in the hunt. See p. 4. Participation 
in a hunt includes, but is not limited to, handling 
firearms or ammunition during the hunt, trying to 
attract game, driving, flushing, or locating game, 
and working dogs.

Wildlife Habitat Fee - Iowa residents age 16 
to 64, and nonresidents regardless of age, who 
are required to have a Hunting or Furharvester 
License must pay the Wildlife Habitat Fee to hunt 
or trap. Residents that have special licenses for 
the disabled are exempt. See Iowa Code 483A.3, 
483A.8C and 483A.4.

Iowa Migratory Game Bird Fee - All 
residents and nonresidents 16 years and older 
must pay the Iowa Migratory Game Bird Fee 
to hunt wild geese, brant, ducks, snipe, rail, 
woodcock, gallinule or coot. The fee must be paid 
even if a Hunting License is not required.

Federal Migratory Waterfowl Stamp - All 
residents and nonresidents 16 years old and older 
must have a valid Federal Migratory Waterfowl 
Stamp (duck stamp) on their person while hunting 
wild geese and wild ducks. The Stamp must be 
signed across the face by the hunter. The Stamp is 
required even if a Hunting License is not required.

Deer and Turkey Hunters - Residents and 
nonresidents who hunt deer or wild turkey must 
have a valid resident or nonresident Deer or Wild 
Turkey License on their person while hunting. 
Residents must also have a valid resident Hunting 
License and have paid the Habitat Fee if normally 
required to have them to hunt.  All nonresidents 
must have a valid nonresident Hunting License 
and have paid the Habitat Fee.  

Furharvesters - All residents and 
nonresidents regardless of age must have a 
Furharvester License to trap or hunt furbearing 
animals. Residents 16 to 64 years old and all 
nonresidents regardless of age must also have 
paid the Habitat Fee. A Hunting License is not 

needed to hunt furbearers. Coyote and groundhog 
may be hunted with either a Furharvester License 
or a Hunting License. Nonresident furharvesters 
wanting to purchase an Iowa nonresident 
Furharvester License may do so only if their state 
of residence also sells a nonresident Furharvester/
Trapping License to Iowa residents.

Apprentice License - This new license 
allows the apprentice to hunt under the direct 
supervision of a mentor (age 18 or older) who has 
a current hunting license and habitat fee, without 
completing a hunter education course. Apprentice 
licenses may be purchased twice in a lifetime. 
After that, the hunter must satisfactorily complete 
a hunter education course in order to obtain a 
hunting license.

Nonresident Falconry Permit - All 
nonresident falconers, regardless of age, who 
intend to hunt with a bird of prey must purchase 
and have in their possession a nonresident 
Falconry Permit, a nonresident Hunting License, 
and have paid the Habitat Fee. These permits 
are available wherever hunting licenses are sold 
or may be purchased online at www.iowadnr.gov.  
Call 515-725-8200 for details.

The following persons do not need a Hunt-
ing License and/or pay certain fees:

1a) Residents under 16 years old who 
hunt under the direct supervision of their properly 
licensed parent, guardian, or other competent 
adult with the consent of the parent or guardian do 
not need a Hunting License or pay the Habitat or 
Migratory Game Bird fee. One properly licensed 
adult must accompany each unlicensed hunter 
under 16 years old.

1b) Residents 12 to 15 years old may hunt 
without adult supervision, but must have a Hunting 
License and must have passed a hunter education 
course (see p. 8 for hunter education training 
requirements).  

Persons exempted under 1a) or 1b) must 
have a Deer and Wild Turkey Hunting Li-
cense to hunt deer and wild turkey.  

2) Military personnel that qualify as a 
resident of Iowa, that are on active duty with 
the armed forces of the United States, and are 
on authorized leave from a duty station outside 
of Iowa, do not need a Hunting License, Deer 
License, Wild Turkey License, or pay the Habitat 
Fee.  They must possess a Federal Migratory 
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Waterfowl Stamp and pay the Iowa Migratory 
Game Bird Fee to hunt migratory game birds.  
They must carry their leave papers on their 
person while hunting and a copy of their current 
earnings statement showing a tax deduction for 
Iowa income taxes for the previous year.  They 
may claim residency in lieu of their earnings 
statement by being registered to vote in Iowa. 
If a deer or wild turkey is taken, a conservation 
officer must be contacted immediately to obtain 
a transportation tag for the animal. They are 
allowed only one turkey and one deer per 
calendar year. Conservation officer cell phone 
numbers are listed on p. 38.

 3) Persons with a dog entered in a 
licensed field trial may participate in the event 
and train their dog on the same area where the 
field trial will be held during the 24-hour period 
immediately preceding the trial. 

HUNTING LICENSES FOR  
LANDOWNERS & TENANTS THAT  
FARM AGRICULTURAL LAND

1) Small game and furbearers. Resident 
and nonresident owners and tenants that farm 
agricultural land in Iowa and their juvenile 
children do not need licenses to hunt and trap 

on such lands and may shoot by lawful means 
ground squirrels, gophers, and woodchucks 
upon adjacent roads.  Deer and Wild Turkey 
Licenses are required to hunt deer and wild turkey. 
Nonresidents hunting deer or wild turkey must also 
have a Hunting License and pay the Habitat Fee. 
A valid Federal Migratory Waterfowl Stamp and an 
Iowa Migratory Game Bird Fee is required to hunt 
waterfowl and other migratory game birds if they 
are 16 years old or older. 

2) Deer and Wild Turkey. Iowa residents 
who are owners of agricultural land or tenants 
that farm agricultural land, or are a spouse or 
child of the owner or tenant that reside with the 
owner or tenant, are eligible for Landowner-Tenant 
deer and wild turkey hunting licenses, commonly 
called landowner-tenant licenses. Owning land 
in Iowa does not confer residency.  Nonresident 
landowners and tenants are not eligible for these 
licenses.  See p. 8 for residency requirements.

Landowner-Tenant deer and turkey licenses are 
valid for taking the appropriate species, but only on 
the farm unit of the owner or tenant. Registration is 
required; see p. 11 for details.  
The qualifying landowner or tenant does not have 
to reside on the farm, but must qualify under the 
definitions on the following page.  
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LANDOWNER OPERATION QUALIFICATIONS
Must have legal ownership in qualifying land, be  
a resident of Iowa, and meet one or more of the 
following:
l	 Operator on the farm unit.
l	 Make annual decisions about the farm operation.
l	 Raise specialty crops.
l	 Land is enrolled in a conservation reserve  
program.
l	 Rent entire farm to an adult child who operates 
the farm unit.

TENANT OPERATION QUALIFICATIONS
Must be a resident of Iowa and rents and actively farms 
agricultural land owned by another person. Rental 
includes cash rent or share crop arrangements.

QUALIFICATIONS FOR FAMILY MEMBERS
Spouse or child (under 18 years old or 18 or 19 
and in high school or a general equivalency degree 
program) who resides with owner or tenant.

DEER TAGS AVAILABLE PER FARM UNIT
l	 One (1) general deer tag.
l	 One (1) antlerless deer tag.
l	 Two (2) paid antlerless deer tags.

TURKEY TAGS AVAILABLE PER FARM UNIT
l	 One (1) Spring Turkey Tag.
l	 One (1) Fall Turkey Tag.

LANDOWNER/TENANT QUALIFICATION OVERVIEW

Two (2) or more contiguous acres operated as a farm unit for agricultural purposes.

Create Habitat 
for Wildlife

The State Forest Nursery has packets designed 

just for turkey, pheasant, quail, and songbirds.

TURKEY 
PACKET 

CREATE-
A-PACKET

QUAIL 
PACKET 

PHEASANT 
PACKET 

ORDER BY PHONE: 800.865.2477 
OR ONLINE: iowatreeplanting.com

ORDER YOUR 
TREES & SHRUBS TODAY!
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UPLAND GAME HUNTING 
License Requirements and Fees

See p. 4 and 9. 

HUNTER ORANGE REQUIRED
To hunt pheasant, quail, gray partridge and 

ruffed grouse you must wear at least one of 
the following articles of visible, external appar-
el with at least 50 percent of its surface area 
solid blaze orange in color: hat, cap, vest, 
coat, jacket, sweatshirt, shirt or coveralls. 

TRANSPORTING PHEASANTS
A foot, fully feathered wing, or fully feath-

ered head must remain attached to any 
pheasant transported within the state.  The 
bird may be field dressed, but the carcass 
must remain intact.

YOUTH PHEASANT SEASON
Resident hunters ages 15 or younger may 
hunt rooster (male) pheasants during the 
Youth Pheasant Season without having a 
Hunting License, paying the Habitat Fee, or 
passing a hunter education course. The youth 
hunter must be accompanied by an adult 18 
years old or older who has a valid Hunting Li-
cense and has paid the Habitat Fee if normal-
ly required to do so to hunt.  Only the youth 
may shoot pheasants.  The adult may shoot 
other game if seasons are open.  All other 
regulations in effect for the regular pheasant 
season apply during the youth hunt. 

HUNTING ACCIDENTS MUST BE REPORTED
Anyone involved in a hunting accident 

involving a firearm which results in a personal 
injury or property damage exceeding $100 
must report the accident within 12 hours to the 
sheriff’s office in the county where the accident 
occurred, to the local conservation officer, or if 
neither are available and it is between 8 a.m. 
to 4:30 p.m. M-F, to the DNR in Des Moines at 
515-725-8200.

GENERAL HUNTING REGULATIONS
DEFINITIONS
Please read the definitions of these terms, 
commonly used in the hunting regulations 
summary, before referring to the rest of 
the text.

“Hunting” means any pursuing, hunting, 
killing, trapping, snaring, netting, searching for 
or shooting at, stalking or lying in wait for any 
game, animal, bird or fish protected by the 
state laws or rules adopted by the commis-
sion whether or not such animal is captured, 
killed or injured. 

“Limits” Daily Bag Limit or Possession 
Limit is the number of a species permitted to 
be taken or held in a specified time. 

“Physically handicapped person,” when 
used in reference to crossbow permits for 
deer and turkey hunting, means a person 
having a physical impairment of the upper 
extremities that makes a person physically 
incapable of shooting a bow and arrow. This 
includes difficulty in lifting and reaching with 
arms as well as difficulty in handling and fin-
gering a bow.

“Severely disabled person,” when used 
in reference to the Disabled Hunter deer 
season, means a person that qualifies as 
severely disabled under Iowa Code Chapter 
321L.1.8, including those who have difficulty 
walking due to lung or heart disease or an 
arthritic, neurological or orthopedic condition.

“Trespass” means entering property with-
out the express permission of the owner, les-
see or person in lawful possession, with the in-
tent to commit a public offense; to use, remove 
therefrom, alter, damage, harass, or place 
anything animate or inanimate, or to hunt, fish 
or trap on the property. The term trespass does 
not mean entering the right-of-way of a public 
road or highway.  Railroad right-of-ways are 
considered private property.

This paragraph does not prohibit the un-
armed pursuit of game or furbearing animals 
lawfully injured or killed which come to rest on 
or escape to the property of another. 
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POSSESSION & STORAGE 
A person having lawful possession of game 

or furbearing animals or pelts taken with a 
valid license by that person, may hold, pos-
sess or store the game or furbearing animals 
or pelts in an amount that does not exceed the 
possession limit until the day before the first 
day of the next open season for that game or 
furbearing animal. Any person may possess 
up to 25 pounds of deer venison if the deer 
was lawfully obtained.  

OBSTRUCTION OF HUNTING OR TRAPPING
No one may intentionally obstruct the partic-

ipation of another in the lawful activity of hunt-
ing or trapping, including but not limited to:

A) intentionally placing oneself in a location 
where human presence may affect the behav-
ior of a furbearing animal, game bird or other 
game or the feasibilty of killing or taking a fur-
bearing animal, game bird or other game with 
the intent of obstructing or harassing another 
person who is lawfully hunting or trapping.

B) intentionally creating a visual, audio, 
olfactory or physical stimulus for the purpose 
of affecting the behavior of a furbearing ani-
mal, game bird or other game with the intent of 
obstructing or harassing another person who 
is lawfully hunting or trapping. 

C) intentionally affecting the condition or al-
tering the placement of personal property used 
for the purpose of taking furbearing animals, 
birds or other game with the intent of obstruct-
ing or harassing another person who is law-
fully hunting or trapping.

A person shall not interfere with the lawful 
hunting or trapping activities of another person 
where hunting or trapping is authorized by a 
custodian of public property or an owner or 
lessee of private property. This rule does not 
prohibit a landowner, tenant or an employee of 
the landowner or tenant from performing nor-
mal agricultural operations or a law enforce-
ment officer from performing official duties.

SHOWING LICENSE TO OFFICER
Upon request, you must show your license, 

certificate or permit to any peace officer or the 
owner or person in lawful control of the land 
or water on which you are hunting or trap-
ping. You must have in your possession either 
in license form or electronically, your license, 
certificate or permit.

USE OF CB, MOBILE TRANSMITTER, PHONE 
You cannot use a two-way mobile radio 

transmitter to communicate the location or 
direction of game or furbearing animals, or to 
coordinate the movement of other hunters. 

Exceptions: Coyote hunters may use two-
way radios, except during the two shotgun 
deer seasons. A falconer may use a one-way 
mobile transmitter to recover a free-flying bird 
of prey that is properly banded and covered on 
a falconry permit. Hunters with dogs may use 
a one-way mobile transmitter to track or aid in 
the recovery of the dog. 

UNLAWFUL TRANSPORTATION 
You cannot ship, carry or transport, in any 

one day, game, fish, birds or animals (except 
furbearing animals) in excess of the number le-
gally permitted to be possessed, unless autho-
rized by a special license such as a Taxidermy 
License.

GAME BROUGHT INTO THE STATE 
You may possess game that has been 

lawfully taken outside the state and lawfully 
brought into the state, but you must be able 
to prove it was legally killed and legally trans-
ported into the state. See p. 24 for big game 
exceptions. 

RETRIEVAL & WASTE OF GAME
While taking or attempting to take game or 

furbearing animals, you cannot abandon the 
injured animal without making a reasonable 
effort to retrieve it from the field. You cannot 
leave a usable portion of the game or furbear-
ing animal in the field. “Usable portion” in this 
instance means the following: 1) for game, that 
part of an animal that is customarily processed 
for consumption; and 2) for furbearing animals, 
the fur or hide of the animal.
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BLINDS
A blind is a constructed place of conceal-

ment for hunting, observing or photographing 
wildlife. You may construct a blind on a game 
management area using only the natural veg-
etation found in the area, except that no trees 
or parts of trees other than willows can be cut 
for that purpose. The use of such blinds is on 
a first-come, first-served basis whether or not 
you constructed the blind. 

You cannot drive or otherwise place any nail, 
spike, pin or any other object, metal or other-
wise, into any tree on a game management 
area to construct a blind or to make access to a 
blind or to a hunting location above the ground. 

Portable blinds placed in trees and used for 
purposes other than hunting waterfowl may be 
left on an area for a continuous period of time 
from seven days prior to the open season for 
hunting deer or wild turkey to seven days after 
the final day of the respective seasons. See p. 
23 for deer blinds. 

DECOYS 
Live animals may not be used as decoys for 

any type of hunting. A “decoy” is a likeness 
of a bird or animal used to lure game within 
shooting range.

SELLING GAME 
You cannot buy or sell, dead or alive, a bird 

or animal, including fish, or any part of one 
which is protected. This does not apply to 
furbearing animals and the skins, plumage 
and antlers of legally taken game. You cannot 
purchase, sell, barter or offer to purchase, sell 
or barter migratory game birds; and for mil-
linery or ornamental use, the same applies to 
the feathers of migratory game birds.

TRANSPORTING FIREARMS
A person, except as permitted by law, shall 

not have or carry a gun in or on a vehicle on a 
public highway, unless the gun is taken down 
or totally contained in a securely fastened 
case, and its barrels and attached magazines 
are unloaded. Handguns must be transported 
unloaded in a closed container or securely 
wrapped package too large to conceal on 
your person or which is not readily accessible 
to any person in the vehicle.  Muzzleloaders 
must be cased but will be considered unload-
ed if the cap is removed from the nipple or the 
priming charge is removed from the pan. 

PROHIBITED HUNTING NEAR BUILDINGS 
You cannot discharge a firearm or shoot or 

attempt to shoot a game or furbearing animal 
within 200 yards of a building inhabited by peo-
ple or domestic livestock or a feedlot unless 
the owner or tenant has given consent to do 
so. Feedlot means a lot, yard or corral where 
livestock is confined for the purpose of feeding 
and growth prior to slaughter. Pastures, hay-
fields or cropfields where animals are allowed 
to graze are not considered feedlots.

PROTECTION OF PUBLIC HUNTING AREAS 
If a public hunting area was in place prior 

to the construction of an adjacent feedlot 
or building inhabited by people or livestock 
and such construction occurred on or after 
May 14, 2004, then consent is not required 
to shoot on the public hunting area or within 
200 yards of the feedlot or building. This act 
protects existing uses of public hunting areas 
from infringements caused by new construc-
tion and development.

As used in this subsection, “public hunting 
area” means public lands or waters available 
for hunting by the public and identified as a 
public hunting area by the city, county, state or 
federal government. 

ARTIFICIAL LIGHT & LASER SIGHTS
Sights that project a light beam, including 

laser sights, are not legal for hunting. You 
cannot cast the rays of a spotlight, headlight 
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}
Private Property

Private Property

Highway or
Right-of-Way

Fence

Fence

Ditch

Ditch

Roadway
(includes
shoulder){

or other artificial light on a highway or in a 
field, woodland or forest for the purpose of 
spotting, locating, taking or attempting to take 
or hunt a bird or animal, while having in pos-
session or control, either singly or as one of 
a group of persons, any firearm, bow or other 
device capable of killing or taking a bird or 
animal. This rule does not apply to hunting 
raccoons or other furbearing animals when 
they are treed with the aid of dogs.

SHOOTING RIFLE OVER WATER  
OR HIGHWAY

You cannot shoot any rifle on or over any 
of the public highways or waters of the state 
or any railroad right-of-way. You cannot dis-
charge a shotgun shooting a slug, pistol or 
revolver on or over a public roadway (see 
diagram below). 

Additionally, no person shall discharge a rifle, 
including a muzzleloading rifle or musket, or a 
handgun from a highway; or discharge a shot-
gun shooting slugs from a highway north of U.S. 
Highway 30, while deer hunting.

“Roadway” means the portion of the high-
way improved, designed or ordinarily used for 
vehicular travel, including the shoulder.

“Highway” means the entire width be-
tween property lines, from fenceline to fence-
line (includes the ditches). 

HUNTING FROM AIRCRAFT OR  
SNOWMOBILES PROHIBITED
	 A person shall not intentionally kill or 
wound, attempt to kill or wound, or pursue any 
animal, fowl, or fish from or with an aircraft in 
flight or from or with any vehicles commonly 
known as snowmobiles.  

MOTOR VEHICLE RESTRICTIONS 
The use of motor vehicles on all game 

management areas is restricted.
Motor vehicle means any self-propelled 

vehicle having at least three wheels and 
which must be registered as a motor vehicle, 
including ATVs and snowmobiles. 

Roads and parking lots. Motor vehicles 
are prohibited on a game management areas 
except on constructed and designated roads 
and parking lots unless specifically permitted.

Physically handicapped persons. Physi-
cally handicapped persons may use certain 
motor vehicles on game management areas, 
according to the restrictions set out as follows, 
so that they might enjoy such uses as are 
available to others. (A physically handicapped 
person as defined for this license is an indi-
vidual commonly termed paraplegic or quadri-
plegic, with paralysis or a physical condition of 
the lower half of the body involving both legs, 
usually due to disease or injury to the spinal 
cord; a person who is a single or double leg 
amputee; or a person with any other physical 
affliction which makes it impossible to ambu-
late successfully without the use of a motor 
vehicle.)

Permits. Each physically disabled person 
must have a permit issued by the director of 
the DNR to use motor vehicles on game man-
agement areas. There is a $2 writing fee.
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The DNR has designated portions of some wildlife management areas as “wildlife ref-
uges” or “waterfowl refuges.” 
WILDLIFE REFUGES
Restrictions: It shall be unlawful to hunt, pursue, kill, trap, or take any wild animal, bird, 
or game on these areas at any time, and no one shall carry firearms thereon, except 
where and when specifically authorized by the DNR. It shall also be unlawful to tres-
pass in any manner on the following areas, where posted, during the dates posted, both 
dates inclusive, except that DNR personnel and law enforcement officials may enter the 
area at any time in performance of their duties, and hunters, under the supervision of 
department staff, may enter when specifically authorized by the DNR.

WATERFOWL REFUGES
Restrictions. It shall be unlawful to hunt ducks and geese on the following areas, 
where posted, at any time during the year. After the final day of the duck season, entry 
into the Waterfowl Refuge is allowed to hunt non-waterfowl species for which there is an 
open season (i.e. pheasant, rabbit, deer, squirrel, etc.) and trapping is allowed. Hunt-
ers must be aware that some Waterfowl Refuges are also located within zones closed 
to Canada Goose hunting. DNR personnel and law enforcement officials may enter the 
area at any time in performance of their duties, and hunters, under the supervision of 
department staff, may enter when specifically authorized by the DNR.

AREA.................................... COUNTY
South Twin Lake.....................Calhoun
Allen Green Refuge.......... Des Moines
Henderson............................Dickinson
Ingham Lake.............................Emmet
Hawkeye Wildlife Area............Johnson
Colyn Area..................................Lucas

AREA.................................... COUNTY 
Gladys Black Eagle Refuge...... Marion
Five Island Lake.................... Palo Alto
Polk City Refuge........................... Polk
Smith Area.....................Pottawattamie
Green Valley Lake......................Union

AREA.....................................................COUNTY
Lake Icaria.................................................Adams
Pool Slough Wildlife Area.................... Allamakee
Rathbun Area........................ Appanoose, Lucas, 
	 Wayne
Sedan Bottoms...................................Appanoose
Sweet Marsh............................................ Bremer
Big Marsh....................................................Butler
Union Hills........................................ Cerro Gordo
Ventura Marsh.................................. Cerro Gordo
Round Lake...................................................Clay
Jemmerson Slough Complex............... Dickinson
Forney Lake............................................Fremont
Riverton Area...........................................Fremont
Dunbar Slough......................................... Greene
Bays Branch............................................. Guthrie
Crystal Hills............................................. Hancock

AREA.....................................................COUNTY 
Eagle Flats............................................. Hancock
Eagle Lake............................................. Hancock
Green Island Area...................................Jackson
Muskrat Slough.......................................... Jones
Red Rock Area................... Marion, Polk, Warren
Badger Lake............................................ Monona
Chichaqua Area............................................. Polk
McCausland.................................................Scott
Princeton Area..............................................Scott
Otter Creek Marsh....................................... Tama
Rice Lake Area...................................Winnebago
Snyder Bend Lake................................Woodbury
Elk Creek Marsh..........................................Worth

IOWA REFUGES

RESTRICTED AREA
In addition, portions of some wildlife areas may be posted as “restricted areas.” It is 
unlawful to trespass in any manner within the posted boundaries of restricted areas, 
except department personnel and law enforcement officials may enter these areas 
at any time in performance of their duties.
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MULTIPLE OFFENDER PROGRAM FOR  
FISH AND WILDLIFE VIOLATORS 

Convictions are assigned point values as 
determined by the Iowa Administrative Code. 
Licenses will be suspended or revoked for a 
specific period as determined by the number of 
points accumulated. 

WILDLIFE VIOLATOR COMPACT is an 
agreement between participating states that 
prohibits a person whose hunting or fishing 
privileges are suspended in one state from 
participating in those activities in another state 
(see Iowa Courts Online).  

Member states include Iowa, Alabama, 
Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, 
Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Ken-
tucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, 
Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, 
Nevada, New Mexico, New York, North Caro-
lina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, 
South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, 
Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, 
West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.  Other 
states may be in the process of joining the 
compact.

BENTON County, Iowa River Corridor; BOONE 
County, Harrier Marsh WMA; BUENA VISTA 
County, all state and federal areas; CALHOUN 
County, South Twin Lake; CERRO GORDO 
County, all state and federal areas; CLAY 
County, all state and federal areas except 
the Ocheyedan WMA target shooting range; 
DICKINSON County, all state and federal areas 
except the Spring Run WMA target shooting area; 
EMMET County, all state and federal areas; 
FRANKLIN County, all state and federal areas; 
GREENE County, all state and federal areas 
except Rippey Access and McMahon Access; 
GUTHRIE County, McCord Pond, Lakin Slough 
and Bays Branch WMAs, excluding the target 
shooting range at Bays Branch WMA.
Also, HAMILTON County, Little Wall Lake, 
Gordon Marsh and Bauer Slough WMAs; 
HANCOCK County, all state and federal areas; 

HUMBOLDT County, all state and federal areas; 
IOWA County, Iowa River Corridor; JASPER 
County, Chichaqua Wildlife Management Area; 
KOSSUTH County, all state and federal areas; 
OSCEOLA County, all state and federal areas; 
PALO ALTO County, all state and federal areas; 
POCAHONTAS County; all state and federal 
areas except Kalsow Prairie; POLK County, Paul 
Errington Marsh WMA and Chichaqua WMAs; 
SAC County, all state and federal areas except 
White Horse Access and Sac City Access; STORY 
County, Colo Bog and Hendrickson Marsh; TAMA 
County, Iowa River Corridor; WINNEBAGO 
County, all state and federal areas; WORTH 
County, all state and federal areas; and WRIGHT 
County, all state and federal areas. 
Target shooting on these areas will also require 
the use of nontoxic shot.

IOWA WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREAS REQUIRING NONTOXIC SHOT FOR 
ALL HUNTING [excluding deer and wild turkey]

POACHING IS A CRIME!

If you observe or know of 
a fish or wildlife violation, 
report it to TIP as soon 
as possible by calling 
1-800-532-2020. Provide 
as much information as 
possible when you call, 
such as a description of the individual, vehicle 
and time and location of the violation.

A conservation officer will be dispatched to 
investigate.  Since the TIP program began in 
1985, about $230,000 has been approved in 
reward payments.

TURN IN POACHERS
1-800-532-2020

or online at www.iowadnr.gov
You can remain anonymous!
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FURHARVESTER LICENSE
Hunters and Trappers must have a furhar-

vester license and have paid the habitat fee 
(see p. 4) to hunt all furbearers, except coyote 
and groundhog, and to trap any furbearing 
animal. A hunting license is not needed when 
hunting furbearers. Coyote and groundhog 
may be hunted with a hunting or furharvester 
license.

PERMIT TO HOLD HIDES (see p. 13)

DISTURBING DENS 
You cannot molest or disturb, in any man-

ner, any den, lodge or house of a furbearing 
animal or beaver dam except by written per-
mission of an officer appointed by the director 
of the DNR. You cannot use any chemical, 
explosive, smoking device, mechanical fer-
ret, wire, tool, instrument or water to remove 
furbearing animals from their dens. 

HUNTING & TRAPPING FURBEARING ANIMALS

BOX TRAPS  
A person shall not use or attempt to use 

colony traps in taking, capturing, trapping or 
killing any game or furbearing animals except 
muskrats. Box traps capable of capturing 
more than one game or furbearing animal at 
each setting are prohibited. A valid hunting 
license is required for box trapping cottontail 
rabbits and squirrels. 

REMOVAL OF ANIMALS FROM TRAPS & 
SNARES 

All animals or animal carcasses caught in 
any type of trap or snare, except those that 
are placed entirely under water and designed 
to drown the animal immediately, must be 
removed from the trap or snare, by the trap 
or snare user, immediately upon discovery 
and within 24 hours of the time the animal is 
caught.

Species	 Season	 Trapping Hours	 Daily		 Possession
Coyote, Mink3, Muskrat3, 	Nov. 5 - Jan. 31, 2017	 8 a.m. on First Day	 No Limit		  No Limit
Weasel, Striped Skunk, 
Badger, Opossum, Fox
(Red and Gray), Raccoon
Beaver3	 Nov. 5 - April 15, 2017	 8 a.m. on First Day	 No Limit		  No Limit
Otter1, 3	 Nov. 5 - Jan. 31, 2017	 8 a.m. on First Day	 2		  2
Bobcat2	 Nov. 5 - Jan. 31, 2017	 8 a.m. on First Day	 1		  1
Civet Cat (Spotted Skunk)	 Continuous Closed
Gray Wolf	 Continuous Closed

FURBEARER TRAPPING INFORMATION

1Only two otters are allowed per licensed furharvester. See p. 20. 
2Only one bobcat is allowed per season per licensed furharvester, either hunted or trapped. 
Additional requirements and map on p. 20. 3Taking by shotgun or spear is prohibited.
A furharvester license is required to hunt or trap furbearers. Coyote or groundhog may be hunted on 
a hunting or furharvester license.

FURBEARER HUNTING INFORMATION
Species	 Seasons	 Shooting Hours	 Daily		 Possession
Raccoon, Opossum,			 
Badger, Striped Skunk,
Fox (Red and Gray)	 Nov. 5 - Jan. 31, 2017	 8 a.m. on First Day	 No Limit		  No Limit
Bobcats1	 Nov. 5 - Jan. 31, 2017	 8 a.m. on First Day	 1		  1
1 Only one bobcat is allowed per season per licensed furharvester, either hunted or trapped. Addi-
tional requirements and map on p. 20.  
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SNARES 
For the purpose of law enforcement, snares 

are considered to be traps. 
No person shall set or maintain any snare 

in any public road right-of-way so the snare, 
when fully extended, can touch any fence. A 
snare set on private land other than roadsides 
within 30 yards of a pond, lake, creek, drain-
age ditch, stream or river must have a loop 
size of 11 inches or less in horizontal mea-
surement. All other snares must have a loop 
size of 8 inches or less in horizontal measure-
ment, except for snares with at least one-half 
of the loop under water. Snares cannot be 
attached to a drag. All snares must have a 
functional deer lock which will not allow the 
snare loop to close smaller than 2 1/2 inches. 

MECHANICAL SNARES 
It is illegal to set any mechanically-powered 

snare designed to capture an animal by the 
neck or body unless the snare is placed com-
pletely under water. 

BODY-GRIPPING & CONIBEAR-TYPE 
TRAPS

You cannot set or maintain any body-grip-
ping or conibear-type trap on any public road 
right-of-way within 5 feet of any fence. 

Humane traps, or traps designed to kill 
instantly, 
with a jaw 
spread as 
originally 
manufac-
tured with 
an outside 
measurement that exceeds 8 inches, are 
unlawful to use except when placed entirely 
under water.

PUBLIC ROADSIDE LIMITATIONS 
Conibear-type traps and snares must not 

be set on the right-of-way of a public road 
within 200 yards of the entry to a private drive 
serving a residence without the permission of 
the occupant. You cannot set or maintain any 
snare or conibear-type trap within any public 

road right-of-way within 200 yards of build-
ings inhabited by humans unless a resident 
of the dwelling adjacent to the public road 
right-of-way has given permission, or unless 
the body-gripping or conibear-type trap is 
completely under water or at least one-half 
of the loop of the snare is under water. This 
does not limit the use of foothold traps or box-
type live traps in public road right-of-ways. A 
person may not place a trap, stake or non-in-
digenous set making material upon any public 
road right-of-way except during a period of 
time that begins two weeks before the trap-
ping season opens and ends on the last day 
of the season.

FOOTHOLD & LEGHOLD TRAPS 
You cannot set or maintain, on land, any 

foothold or leghold trap with metal serrated 
jaws, metal-toothed jaws or a spread inside 
the set jaws greater than 7 inches as mea-
sured to the outside edge. 

TRAP TAG REQUIREMENTS 
All traps and snares, whether set or not, 

possessed by a person who can reasonably 
be presumed to be trapping must have a met-
al tag attached, plainly labeled with the user’s 
name and address. Officers appointed by the 
DNR can confiscate such traps and snares 
when not properly labeled or checked. 

EXPOSED BAIT 
You cannot set or maintain any foothold or 

body-gripping trap or snare within 20 feet of 
exposed bait on land anywhere in the state, 
or over water in the following areas:

a) Mississippi River corridor - Allamakee, 
Clayton, Dubuque, Jackson, Clinton, Scott, 
Muscatine, Louisa, Des Moines and Lee 
counties.

b) Missouri River corridor - Those portions 
of Woodbury, Monona, Harrison, Pottawat-
tamie, Mills and Fremont counties west of 
Interstate 29. 

c) Des Moines River corridor - Boone, Dal-
las, Polk, Marion, Mahaska, Wapello and Van 
Buren counties. 
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“Exposed bait” means meat or viscera of 
any animal, bird, fish, amphibian or reptile 
with or without skin, hide or feathers that is 
visible to soaring birds.

TRAPPING ON GAME MANAGEMENT 
AREAS MARKING TRAP SITES 

You cannot place on any game manage-
ment area any trap, stake, flag, marker or any 
other item or device to trap furbearers, or to 
mark or otherwise claim any site to trap fur-
bearers, except during the open season for 
trapping furbearers.

BOBCAT HUNTING & TRAPPING
Hunters and Trappers must have a furhar-

vester license and pay the habitat fee to 
harvest bobcats, if normally required to have 
them to trap. A regular hunting license will not 
be adequate.

The season is open in the following coun-
ties: Adair, Adams, Appanoose, Audubon, 
Cass, Clarke, Crawford, Dallas, Davis, Deca-
tur, Des Moines, Fremont, Guthrie, Harrison, 
Henry, Iowa, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lee, Louisa, 
Lucas, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Mills, 
Monona, Monroe, Montgomery, Muscatine, 
Page, Pottawattamie, Poweshiek, Ringgold, 
Taylor, Union, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren, 
Washington, Wayne and Woodbury. 

Season Limit: 1 bobcat per licensed 
furharvester, regardless if it was hunted or 
trapped. 

RIVER OTTER TRAPPING
Trappers must have a furharvester license 

and pay the habitat fee to trap otter, if normal-
ly required to have them to trap.

Season Limit: 2 otters per licensed furhar-
vester.

Tagging Requirements
Furharvesters must contact a Conservation 

Officer within 7 days of taking an ot-
ter or bobcat to receive a CITES tag. 
The CITES tags must remain with the 
animal until it is sold. Animals kept for 
taxidermy or other display or educa-
tional purposes must have the CITES 
tag retained at all times.

Otters and bobcats accidentally 
captured after the season has closed 
and bobcats accidentally captured in 
an area of the state closed to bobcat 
harvesting, must be turned over to 
DNR without penalty. 

Otter & Bobcat Parts Collection
ATTENTION FURHARVESTERS: For 
the past two years, compliance with 

turning in the skull or lower jaw of otters and 
bobcats has been low. 
Getting the lower jaw or skull from all of the 
harvested otters and bobcats enables the 
DNR to collect the teeth needed to get a good 
cross section of ages. 

This is an important step that furharvesters 
can do in order to help the DNR monitor the 
populations and establish seasons of otters 
and bobcats. We would like to see better 
cooperation with turning in the skull or lower 
jaw when receiving your CITES tag from the 
conservation officer. 

HAVE A QUESTION?
Call the DNR office in Des Moines at  

515-725-8200, or a regional office on p. 37.

Bobcat Season Open in Shaded Counties Only 
LYON DICKINSON EMMET KOSSUTH WINNEBAGO WORTH

SIOUX O'BRIEN CLAY PALO ALTO HANCOCK CERRO GORDO

PLYMOUTH CHEROKEE BUENA VISTA POCAHONTAS HUMBOLDT WRIGHT

WEBSTER

HAMILTON

FRANKLIN

HARDIN

MONONA CRAWFORD CARROLL GREENE BOONE STORY

POLK JASPERDALLAS

MITCHELL HOWARD WINNESHIEK ALLAMAKEE

BUTLER BREMER

BLACK HAWK

FAYETTE CLAYTON

BUCHANAN DELAWARE DUBUQUE

FLOYD CHICKASAW

GRUNDY

MARSHALL

POWESHIEK

CLINTON

LOUISA

POTTAWATTAMIE CASS ADAIR MADISON MARIONWARREN MAHASKA KEOKUK WASHINGTON

MUSCATINE

JACKSONTAMA BENTON LINN JONES

MILLS MONTGOMERY ADAMS UNION CLARKE LUCAS MONROE WAPELLO JEFFERSON HENRY

DES MOINES

FREMONT PAGE TAYLOR RINGGOLD DECATUR DAVISAPPANOOSEWAYNE

LEE

VAN BUREN

WOODBURY IDA SAC CALHOUN

JOHNSON

CEDAR

SCOTT

GUTHRIEHARRISON SHELBY AUDUBON

OSCEOLA

IOWA

Closed 
to Bobcat 

Harvest
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2016 DEER HUNTING INFORMATION
MANAGING IOWA’S DEER HERD 

DEER SEASONS, LICENSE PURCHASE 
DATES, ANTLERLESS QUOTAS & 
ANTLERED RESTRICTIONS

See p. 6.   

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS & FEES
See p. 4 and 9.

SPECIAL  HUNTING  REGULATIONS 
THAT  APPLY  TO  DEER  HUNTING

General Hunting Regulations may also apply 
to deer hunters. See p. 12.

SHOOTING HOURS 
Shooting hours for all deer seasons are 

half-hour before sunrise to half-hour after sun-
set.

TAGGING REQUIREMENTS
The head and antlers (if any) must remain 

attached to the carcass until it is processed for 
consumption. Hunters in the Youth, Disabled 
Hunter, Bow, Early Muzzleloader, and Late 
Muzzleloader seasons must shoot their own 
deer and tag only the deer they shoot.  

Hunters in both shotgun seasons may shoot 
deer for each other, provided that all tagging 
requirements are followed, and the deer will 
be considered in the possession of the hunter 
whose tag is affixed to it. 

No person shall tag a deer with a tag that 
was purchased after the deer was taken. 

A hunter may not carry a deer license or 
transportation tag issued to another hunter 
while deer hunting.  See p. 28. 

Deer hunters may not possess a tag 
belonging to another hunter while in the field. 

PAID DEER LICENSES see p. 25
Resident hunters may obtain the following 

types of deer licenses:
General Deer Licenses are valid statewide 
in the season selected by the hunter at the 
time the license is purchased. General deer 
licenses are valid for taking deer of either sex 
for all counties except those listed on the map 
on p. 6.  A hunter may have one General deer 
license for the Bow Season and one General 
deer license for one of the following seasons: 
Early Muzzleloader, Late Muzzleloader, Shot-
gun Season 1, or Shotgun Season 2.  Excep-
tions:
l	Youth, Disabled Season hunters see p. 26.
l	There is a quota of 7,500 Early Muzzleloader 

Season General deer licenses. These are 
sold first-come first-served until the quota is 
filled or until the last day of the Early Muzzle-
loader Season. 

Dale Garner, chief 
DNR Wildlife Bureau

Wildlife diseases have 
frequently been in the head-
lines over the past year with 
high path avian influenza 
and chronic wasting disease 
garnering the most attention. 
Preventing wildlife disease 
from entering the state was 
once a topic rarely discussed 
but has become a priority over 
the past 20 years and hunters 
have a significant role in this 
prevention plan. 

We need hunters to sup-
ply CWD samples, if asked, and to report obvious-
ly sick deer to the local wildlife biologist or conser-
vation officer. They should also avoid baiting and 
feeding that concentrates animals making it easier 
for disease to spread.

Hunters who hunt in a state or province with 
CWD are reminded that only boned out meat, skin 
(cape) and antlers may be brought back to Iowa. 
Antlers may be attached only to a clean skull plate 
from which all brain and connective tissue has 
been removed.

Work with landowners and neighbors to man-
age the local deer herd and share the hunt by 
asking someone new to join your group.

Lastly, we need hunters to report their har-
vest. Presently, 20 percent of successful hunters 
are not complying with the law. We can and need 
to do better. Deer harvest estimates are an impor-
tant gauge used to manage your deer herd.
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Paid Antlerless-only Licenses are valid for 
taking only antlerless deer.  An antlerless deer 
is a deer with no forked antler. These licenses 
are valid only in the county and season or deer 
population management zone and season 
selected by the hunter at the time the license is 
purchased.   

Quotas for Antlerless-only licenses are set 
for each county to direct the additional harvest 
of does to areas with the greatest number of 
deer.  The quota is the maximum number of 
Antlerless-only licenses that will be sold for 
each county for all deer seasons. Licenses are 
sold first-come first-served until the quota is 
reached. See p. 6.

ALLOWABLE COMBINATIONS  
OF PAID DEER LICENSES
See table on p. 25.

BAG & POSSESSION LIMIT 
For Shotgun Season 1 and Shotgun Season 

2 seasons, the daily bag and possession limit 
is one deer for each unfilled transportation tag 
issued to a hunter who is present in the party.  

For all other deer seasons, the daily bag and 
possession limit is one deer for each license 
and transportation tag issued to the hunter for 
that season.

The annual possession limit is one deer for 
each license and transportation tag obtained by 
the hunter for all seasons.

HELPING OTHER HUNTERS 
Resident and nonresident deer hunters with a 

valid deer hunting license may hunt with and as-
sist other deer hunters only in the season speci-
fied on their license. Party hunting is allowed 
in the Shotgun 1 and Shotgun 2 seasons and 
hunters must have a license valid for the county 
where a shotgun is a legal method of take. See 
tagging requirements on p. 28.

BLAZE ORANGE REQUIRED 
To hunt deer with a firearm in any season 

you must wear one of the following articles of 
external, visible, solid blaze orange clothing: 
vest, jacket, coat, sweatshirt, sweater, shirt or 

coveralls.  An orange hat alone is not sufficient. 
No person shall use a blind for hunting deer 
during the regular shotgun deer seasons unless 
such blind exhibits a solid blaze orange marking 
with a minimum of 144 square inches visible in 
all directions. 

A blind is defined as a place of concealment 
constructed, either wholly or partially from man 
made materials, which is used for the purpose 
of hiding a person who is hunting from sight. 
A blind is not a naturally occurring landscape 
feature or an arrangement of natural or agri-
cultural plant material that a hunter uses for 
concealment.  In addition to the requirements 
above, hunters using blinds must also satisfy 
the requirements of wearing blaze orange.

TREE STANDS
You may not construct a permanent tree 

stand on state public hunting areas.  You may 
not drive or in any other way place any nail, 
spike, pin, or any other metal object into a tree 
on state public hunting areas to construct a 
blind or to provide hunting access to a location 
above the ground.

Tree stands may be left on a state public 
hunting area from 7 days prior to the start of a 
deer season until 7 days after the final day of 
that season.

PROHIBITED DEVICES & ACTIVITIES 
You may not use dogs, domestic animals, 

bait, radios, handguns, rifles and crossbows 
(except as described below), automobiles, 
aircraft, electronic calls or any mechanical 
conveyance or device to hunt deer.  Paraplegics 
and single- or double-leg amputees may hunt 
from any stationary motor-driven conveyance. 
“Paraplegic” means an individual afflicted with 
paralysis of the lower half of the body with the 
involvement of both legs, usually due to disease 
or injury to the spinal cord. 

“Bait” means grain, fruit, vegetables, nuts, 
hay, salt, mineral blocks, or any other natural food 
materials, commercial products containing natural 
food materials, or by-products of such materials 
transported to or placed in an area for the purpose 
of attracting wildlife.  Bait does not include food 
placed during normal agricultural activities.
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SHOOTING FIREARMS OVER WATER OR 
HIGHWAY

You cannot shoot any rifle on or over any 
of the public highways or waters of the state 
or any railroad right-of-way. You cannot dis-
charge a shotgun shooting a slug, pistol or 
revolver on or over a public roadway (see 
diagram below). 

Additionally, no person shall discharge a rifle, 
including a muzzleloading rifle or musket, or a 
handgun from a highway; or discharge a shot-
gun shooting slugs from a highway north of U.S. 
Highway 30, while deer hunting. 

LEGAL METHOD OF TAKE
Archery: Longbows, recurve bows, and 

compound bows shooting broadhead arrows are 
permitted.  No explosive or chemical devices 
may be attached to the arrow or broadhead.  
There are no minimum draw weights for bows 
or minimum diameter for broadheads.  Arrows 
must be at least 18 inches long. Draw locks on 
compound bows are legal.

Crossbows are not legal except that a 
physically handicapped person, as defined 
on p. 12, may obtain a permit from the DNR 
to use a crossbow.  Applications are available 
at www.iowadnr.gov - click on “licenses and 
laws” and then on “applications,” or by visiting 
the DNR central office or any of the district 
offices (p. 37), or by calling the DNR at 515-
725-8200. Residents 70 and older may obtain 
one Antlerless-only statewide crossbow deer 
license. See p. 26 for details. Hunters may not 
carry a handgun while hunting under an archery 
tag, unless they have an unfilled transportation 
tag for a season that allows handguns.

Shotguns: 10-, 12-, 16-, and 20-gauge shot-
guns shooting single slugs only. 

Muzzleloaders: Flintlock or percussion cap 
muzzleloading rifles or muskets between .44 
and .775 caliber shooting single projectiles; 
muzzleloading pistols .44 caliber or larger with a 
minimum barrel length of 4 inches and no shoul-
der stock or long barrel modifications.  Muzzle-
loaders equipped with electronic ignition are 
not allowed. There are no restrictions on in-line 
or disk-type muzzleloaders.  Riflescopes may 
also be used.

Handguns: Center-fire handguns .357 cali-
ber or larger, shooting straight wall ammunition 
with an expanding-type bullet. Minimum barrel 
length for all handguns is 4 inches. No shoulder 
stock or long barrel modifications are allowed. 

Only the following center-fire cartridges may 
be used:  .357 Magnum, .357 Maximum, .375 
Winchester, .38 Super, .40 S&W, .401 Power-
mag, 10 mm Auto, .41 Remington Magnum, .41 
Action Express, .44 S&W Special, .44 Reming-
ton Magnum, .44 Automag, .444 Marlin, .445 
Super Mag, .45 ACP, .45 Colt, .45 Super Mag, 
.45 Winchester Magnum, .45 Silhouette, .451 
Detonics, .454 Casull, .45-70 Govt., .460 
Rowland, .460 S&W Mag, .475 Widley Mag-
num, .475 Linebaugh, .480 Ruger, .50 Action 
Express, .50 Linebaugh, .50 Beowulf and .500 
S&W Mag.

Hunters age 16 and under may not use 
any handguns. Hunters ages 17 through 20 
must be accompanied by a parent, guardian 
or spouse who is at least 21 years old to use 
a handgun.

Crossbow: A legal weapon for residents 
during the Late Muzzleloader season. A cross-
bow consists of a bow mounted transversely 
on a stock or frame and designed to fire a 
bolt, arrow or quarrel by the release of the 
bow string, which is controlled by a mechani-
cal trigger and working safety. Crossbows 
equipped with pistol grips and designed to be 
fired with one hand are illegal for taking or at-
tempting to take deer or turkey. All projectiles 
used in conjunction with a crossbow for deer 
hunting must be equipped with a broadhead. 

}
Private Property

Private Property

Highway or
Right-of-Way

Fence

Fence

Ditch

Ditch

Roadway
(includes
shoulder){
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LEGAL METHOD OF TAKE BY SEASON

SEASON	 Archery	 Muzzleloader	 Handgun	 Shotgun	 Crossbow
Youth/Disabled	 X	 X	 X1	 X	
Bow3,4,5	 X		
Early Muzzleloader		  X	 X2		
Late Muzzleloader	 X	 X	 X		  X5	
Shotgun 1		  X	 X	 X	
Shotgun 2		  X	 X	 X	
Nonresident Holiday Season	 X	 X	 X
1 Only disabled hunters that are otherwise eligible may use a handgun.
2 Muzzleloading pistols only.
3Antlerless Senior (70 years old and older) Statewide Crossbow License during the bow season only. 
4Cannot carry a handgun while hunting with a bow tag, unless hunter has an unfilled transportation tag 
for a season that allows handguns.
5Resident hunters only.

CHRONIC WASTING DISEASE
Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) is a neurologic disease of deer and elk, belonging to the 

family of diseases known as transmissible spongiform encephalopathies (TSEs) or prion diseases. 
Though it shares certain features with other TSEs, like bovine spongiform encephalopathy (“Mad 
Cow Disease”) or scrapie in sheep, it is a distinct disease affecting only deer, elk and moose.  Cur-
rently, CWD has been detected in free-ranging populations in Arkansas, Colorado, Illinois, Iowa, 
Kansas, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, New York, North Da-
kota, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming and 
in Alberta and Saskatchewan, Canada. It has been detected in captive facilities in Colorado, Iowa, 
Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New York, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, 
South Dakota, Utah, Wisconsin and Wyoming, and in Alberta and Saskatchewan, Canada.  

GOING OUT OF STATE TO HUNT?
DNR regulations prohibit bringing back whole carcasses of deer, elk, moose or caribou into the 

state from areas listed above where CWD has been identified, whether they were taken from the 
wild, free-ranging animals or shot on a hunting preserve. 

If you take a deer, elk, moose or caribou in a CWD area, you may bring  back only the boned 
out meat, skin (cape) and antlers. Antlers may be attached only to a clean skull plate from which all 
brain and connective tissue has been removed. Animals taken outside of identified CWD areas may 
be transported in any manner that is otherwise legal. 

It is very unlikely that CWD could be contracted by eating venison from Iowa deer.  However,  
for concerned hunters, the best preventive measures are:
 Avoid shooting obviously sick or emaciated deer.   
 Wear latex or rubber gloves while field dressing to reduce the chance of contracting any  

disease.  
 Bone out the meat from your animal.
 Minimize the handling of and avoid eating the brain, spinal cord, eyes, spleen, tonsils and 

lymph nodes of harvested animals.
 Wash hands and instruments thoroughly after field dressing is completed.
 Thoroughly cook all meat (or meat products like sausage or jerky) until juices run clear. 
Any dead deer that is obviously emaciated or with unnatural lesions or growths on the internal 

organs or chest cavity should be reported to a biologist or conservation officer.
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BONUS DEER HUNTS
Youth Deer Season.  Iowa residents that 

are younger than 16 years old on the day they 
obtain a license are eligible for the Youth Sea-
son subject to the following restrictions:
l	While hunting, youth hunters must be under 

the direct supervision of an adult mentor 
who has a valid Hunting License and has 
paid the Habitat Fee, if the adult is normally 
required to have them to hunt. Only one 
youth hunter may accompany each adult 
mentor.

l	Clothing requirements, method of take and 
all other deer hunting regulations in effect 
during the regular deer seasons are in ef-
fect during the youth season, if hunting deer 
with a firearm. 

l	If a youth hunter turns 16 while utilizing a 
youth license, they must purchase a hunting 
license and habitat fee, if normally required.

Youth licenses are General deer licenses 
valid statewide for taking one deer of either 
sex.  Youth hunters may hunt with a bow, 
shotgun or muzzleloader as defined on p. 23.  

Unfilled Youth Tag
Youth hunters with a Youth General deer 

license who do not take a deer during the 
youth deer hunting season may use the Youth 
General deer license and unused tag dur-
ing the early or late muzzleloader and one of 
the two shotgun seasons ONLY. The youth 
must follow all other rules specified for each 
season. Party hunting is not allowed while 
hunting with a youth tag, regardless of the 
season. The deer must be harvested by the 
youth whose name is on the tag. Youth hunt-
ers may also obtain deer licenses for other 
seasons like any other hunter. Youth Antler-
less-only licenses are good for only taking 
antlerless deer during the youth season.

A youth who resides with and is a mem-
ber of the family of a landowner or tenant 
who is eligible for Landowner-Tenant Deer 
Licenses may obtain a Landowner-Tenant 
License for the Youth Season. The Landown-
er-Tenant Youth License will count as the one 
Landowner-Tenant General deer License the 

landowner or tenant family is entitled to for all 
deer seasons (see p. 27).

	
Severely Disabled Deer License

A severely disabled (see p. 12) Iowa 
resident may be issued one General deer 
license to hunt deer during the Youth season 
with a bow, shotgun or muzzleloader as de-
fined on p. 23. A person obtaining this license 
may obtain any other deer hunting licenses 
for which they are eligible. Applications for 
a severely disabled deer license permit are 
available online at www.iowadnr.gov/hunting 
then clicking on hunting licenses and laws, or 
any of the regional or district offices listed on 
p. 37, or by calling the DNR at 515-725-8200.  
After approval and filing of the permit applica-
tion with the DNR, severely disabled hunters 
may purchase this special license at any ELSI 
agent.  

Non-Ambulatory Deer License
	 A non-ambulatory Iowa resident may be is-
sued one General deer license which may be 
used to hunt deer with a shotgun or a muzzle-
loading rifle during any established deer hunt-
ing season. A person obtaining this license 
may obtain any other deer hunting licenses for 
which they are eligible. Applications for a non-
ambulatory license permit are available online 
at www.iowadnr.gov then clicking on hunting 
licenses and laws, or any of the regional or 
district offices listed on p. 37, or by calling the 
DNR at 515-725-8200.  After approval and 
filing of the permit application with the DNR, 
non-ambulatory hunters may purchase this 
special license at any ELSI agent.  

Crossbow License for Seniors
Resident hunters 70 years old and older 

on the day they purchase a license may pur-
chase one statewide antlerless-only license 
to hunt deer with a crossbow. This license 
may be obtained in addition to any other deer 
license. 

DEE
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  LANDOWNERS & TENANTS LICENSES
Landowners, tenants and their eligible family 
members must register with DNR before 
obtaining Landowner-Tenant licenses.  See p. 
10 and 11 to determine who is eligible for 
these licenses.

If there is more than one owner, there is still 
a maximum of four [4] licenses for the farm 
unit.Licenses may be divided among qualify-
ing family members. It is illegal to use a LOT 
deer license to hunt on land owned or con-
trolled by another individual.

LOT General deer licenses are valid for 
taking deer of either sex during the season 
selected at the time the license is obtained. 
The license may be for any season. (Special 
eligibility requirements apply to the Youth and 
Disabled Hunter Season.) LOT General deer 
licenses for the shotgun seasons will be valid 
in both shotgun seasons but only one deer 
may be tagged. One General deer license is 
available for the landowner (or eligible family 
member) and one for the tenant (or eligible 
family member).  If there is no tenant, only 
one General deer license is available for the 
farm unit.

Landowner-Tenant Antlerless-only 
licenses are also available. An antlerless 
deer is a deer with no forked antler. 

One LOT Antlerless-only license may be 
obtained by the landowner family and one 
by the tenant family for one of the following 
seasons: Bow, Youth and Disabled Hunter 
(special eligibility requirements apply), Early 

Muzzleloader, Late Muzzleloader, Shotgun 1 
and Shotgun 2. 

Up to two LOT ($13 each) Antlerless-only 
licenses may be obtained by the landowner 
family and two by the tenant family for the 
following seasons: Bow, Youth and Disabled 
Hunter (special eligibility requirements apply), 
Early Muzzleloader, Late Muzzleloader, 
Shotgun 1 and 2. 

How many LOT licenses are available 
for each farm unit?  The landowner family 
may receive up to four [4] Landowner-Tenant 
licenses: one General deer, one $2 Antlerless-
only and up to two [2] $13 Antlerless-only. 
The number of Antlerless-only licenses is 
subject to some restrictions that are explained 
in the previous paragraph. These licenses 
may be divided among the landowner family 
(landowner and eligible family members) 
in any way the family chooses as long as 
the total number of licenses available to the 
family is not exceeded and other eligibility 
requirements are met. Each individual must 
be registered to the same land parcel. If there 
is no tenant, the maximum number of licenses 
available to the landowner family unit is four 
[4].

The tenant family may have the same 
number of LOT licenses and is subject to the 
same restrictions as the landowner family. The 
tenant family is restricted to no more than four 
[4] licenses, regardless of how many parcels 
of land they rent. 

DEE
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POPULATION MANAGEMENT ZONES
Deer population management zones are used to reduce or maintain deer numbers in areas 

where traditional hunting is not an option, mainly urban areas and state and county parks. Each 
management zone has its own license quota, season dates, license restrictions and proficiency 
requirements. Most licenses are Antlerless-only. 

Management zone hunts are listed online at  
http://www.iowadnr.gov/Hunting/DeerHunting/DeerManagementHunts.aspx 

Licenses for these hunts will not count in determining the number of licenses an individual 
may have, or against the county quota for Antlerless-only licenses.  

DEERDEER
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MANDATORY HARVEST REPORTING FOR 
DEER AND WILD TURKEY
	 Hunters who harvest a deer or wild 
turkey must report the harvest to the DNR 
by midnight on the day after it is tagged, or 
before taking it to a locker or taxidermist, 
or before processing it for consumption, or 
before transporting it out-of-state, whichever 
occurs first. The hunter whose name is on the 
transportation tag is responsible for making 
the report. If no animal is harvested, no report 
is necessary. Failure to report or reporting 
falsely may result in a misdemeanor 
citation and possible loss of hunting 
privileges.

There are three options to report the 
harvest:
	 1) Online at www.iowadnr.gov, available 24 
hours a day, 7 days a week. 
	 2) By phone at the toll-free phone number 
printed on the harvest report tag, available 24 
hours a day, 7 days a week.  
	 3) Through a license vendor during regular 
business hours. 

The Harvest Reporting System will issue 
a confirmation number to the hunter that must 
be written on the Harvest Report Tag and at-
tached to the leg of the animal. Failure to do 
so may result in a misdemeanor citation.  

TAGGING REQUIREMENTS
Iowa Deer and Turkey tags consist of two 

portions. The lower portion of the tag is the 
Transportation Tag and the upper portion is the 
Harvest Report Tag (see p. 29). Each performs 
different functions.

Antlerless

Antlered

Transportation Tag
A Transportation Tag with the 

date of kill properly shown shall be 
visibly attached to the deer or turkey 
within 15 minutes of the time it is 
located after being taken or before 
the carcass is moved to be trans-
ported by any means, whichever 
occurs first, in a manner that the tag 
cannot be removed without mutilat-
ing or destroying it. 

For antlerless deer, attach 
the Transportation Tag to the 
leg as shown. 

For antlered deer, attach 
the Transportation Tag on the 
main beam between two points 
as shown. 

No person shall tag a deer 
with a Transportation Tag is-
sued to another person. 

During the youth season, 
disabled hunter season, bow 
season, early muzzleloader 
season and late muzzleloader 
season, the hunter who killed 
the deer must tag the deer by 
using the Transportation Tag 
issued in that person’s name.  

During the first and second regular gun sea-
sons anyone present in the hunting party may 
tag a deer with a tag issued in that person’s 
name. Party hunting is not allowed while 
hunting with a youth tag, regardless of the 
season. 

This tag shall be proof of possession and 
remain affixed to the carcass until the animal 
is processed for consumption. The head, and 
antlers if any, shall remain attached to the deer 
while being transported from the place where 
taken to the processor or commercial preserva-
tion facility or until the deer has been processed 
for consumption.

TAGGING






/H

A
R

V
ES


T

 
R

E
P

O
R

T
ING



The Iowa Elks Association collects deer 
hides for use in the Iowa Veterans Leather 
Program. Veterans learn valuable skills 
while making leather products from the 
hides. 

Contact your local Elks Lodge for infor-
mation on the deer hides donation program 
and collection location. 

THANK YOU deer hunters for supporting 
Iowa Veterans.

DONATE DEER HIDES
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HARVEST REPORT TAG
The Harvest Report Tag, with the confirmation 

number properly recorded, must be attached to 
the leg of the animal after reporting and before 
the reporting deadline (pictured below). The 
Harvest Report Tag must be attached so that 
it is easily visible and cannot be removed with-
out being mutilated or destroyed and remain 
attached to the carcass until the animal is pro-
cessed for consumption. 

Tips on Tagging/Reporting Deer and Turkeys
1)	 Remove the Transportation Tag from backing 

and attach to antlers if it is an antlered deer, 
otherwise attach to deer or turkey leg. Press 

halves of the tag together to bond. Hunter’s 
name, registration number and date of 
harvest must be readable. 

2)	Follow instructions on the Harvest Report Tag 
to report the animal. When reporting, you 
will need the harvest registration number 
from your tag and the Iowa county where 
the animal was harvested. For deer, report 
whether it was a doe, button buck, antlered 
buck, or shed-antler buck. For turkeys, 
report the length of the beard (fall) or length 
of the longest spur (spring).

3)	Keep both the Transportation Tag and the 
Harvest Report Tag attached to the animal 
until it is processed for consumption.

Iowa law allows lawfully taken game carcasses and waste from home meat processing to be 
disposed with other residential waste, although your solid waste hauler may have some restrictions 
regarding the maximum size or weight of an individual bag. The waste should be sealed in plastic 
bags in lots that are similar in size and weight to a typical bag of residential waste. Contact your 
local waste hauler or landfill for the specific waste disposal requirements in your area.  

Dumping a game carcass in a road ditch or other public property lot creates a nuisance and is 
subject to enforcement under the littering laws.

GAME CARCASS DISPOSAL 

NOTE: The actual tag may differ slightly in appearance. Harvest Registration 
Number listed here

Harvest Registration 
Number also listed here

Write confirmation 
number here

TAGGING






/H

A
R

V
ES


T

 
R

E
P

O
R

T
ING





30

PROPERLY CARING FOR DEER - Remember to take care of your harvest especially if donating to 
HUSH. It’s your job to keep the meat from spoiling. Every Harvest - remove the entrails, reproductive organs, 
clean out the chest cavity, split the pelvis and remove anal cavity then rinse the cavity well with water as soon as 
possible and before taking it to the locker. If air temperature is above 50 degrees, place bags or blocks of ice, or 
frozen milk jugs of water in the cavity to cool and replace every 24 hours. Place deer on garage floor to pull heat 
from the animal. Get to the locker ASAP. If left at the locker, make sure to put fresh ice on the deer.

COUNTY, City, Locker Name

ADAMS, Corning, Corning Meat Processing - ALLAMAKEE, Waukon, Jets Meat Processing - AP-
PANOOSE, Moravia, Moravia Meat; Moulton, Moulton Locker - BENTON, Newhall, Newhall Locker 
- BLACK HAWK, La Porte City, Kramer Sausage Co. - BOONE, Boone, Ridgeport Locker - BREMER, 
Frederika, Frederika Locker, LLC; Janesville, Janesville Locker - BUCHANAN, Fairbank, Fairbank 
Locker; Jesup, Hanson Meat Processing & Sales; Rowley, Mark’s Locker - CALHOUN, Lake City, Lake 
City Locker; Lohrville, Lohrville Locker - CARROLL, Arcadia, Arcadia Meats; Carroll, Mike’s; Dedham, 
Kitt’s Meat Processing - CASS, Atlantic, Atlantic Locker LLC - CEDAR, Durant, Durant Locker; Tipton, 
Tipton Locker - CHEROKEE, Cherokee, Cherokee Locker.  

CHICKASAW, rural Ionia, Ohrt’s Smokehouse - CLINTON, De Witt, Matthiesen’s Deer Processing 
- DALLAS, Redfield, Redfield Locker - DAVIS, Pulaski, Country Cut Meats; Bloomfield, Kauffman’s 
Custom Butchering; Unionville, Perk’s Processing - DELAWARE, Earlville, Dan’s Earlville Locker - 
DUBUQUE, Epworth, Coyle Butchering; Sherrill, Sherrill Deer Shack - FAYETTE, Oran, Oran Locker 
- FLOYD, Rockford, Rockford Locker - FREMONT, Hamburg, Hamburg Locker - GUTHRIE, Bagley, 
Bagley Locker - HENRY, Wayland, Crawford Meat Plant, Inc. - HOWARD, Riceville, County Line Lock-
er; Elma, Elma Locker and Grocery Inc. - IDA, Holstein, Tiefenthaler Quality Meats - IOWA, Parnell, 
Cook’s Meat Locker; Victor, Community Locker; Williamsburg, Roehrkasse Meat Company.  

JACKSON, Preston, Preston Meats Inc.; Andrew, World’s Best Meats - JASPER, Mingo, Mingo Locker 
- JEFFERSON, Packwood, Packwood Locker & Meats - JOHNSON, Solon, Ruzicka’s Meat Process-
ing Inc. - JONES, Center Junction, Lindley Locker - LEE, Danville, Denmark Locker, Inc. - MADISON, 
Winterset, Kirkpatrick Locker - MAHASKA, Leighton, Leighton Processed Meats - MARION, Knoxville, 
Mike’s Meats; Melcher, Northcote Locker; Otley, Rietveld Meat Processing Inc. - MARSHALL, State 
Center, State Center Locker, Inc. - MUSCATINE, West Liberty, West Liberty Locker  - O’BRIEN, Hart-
ley, Nelson Lockers; Paullina, Paullina Locker Plant.  

PAGE, Essex, Johnson Locker - POTTAWATTAMIE, Hancock, Hancock Frozen Foods; Minden, Min-
den Meat Market - SAC, Yetter, Yetter Locker - SCOTT, Davenport, Johnnie’s Market Inc.; Walcott, 
Schnoor’s Smokehouse - SHELBY, Earling, Earling Locker; Irwin, Irwin Locker & Catering - SIOUX, 
Alton, Babcock Locker, Inc. - STORY, Nevada, Midwest Pack; Story City, Story City Locker- TAYLOR, 
Bedford, Zeb’s Smokehouse - UNION, Afton, Weaver Meats - VAN BUREN, Milton, Milton Locker - 
WARREN, Milo, Milo Locker - WASHINGTON, Washington, Boyd’s Sausage Co.; Brighton, Brighton 
Locker - WAYNE, Seymour, Hilltop Custom Butcher Shop - WEBSTER, Fort Dodge, Sawyer’s Meats of 
Iowa, Inc. - WINNESHIEK, Calmar, Al’s Country Meat Locker - WRIGHT, Clarion, Clarion Locker.

  Any hunter can donate any legally taken, field-dressed, wild 
deer of any sex from any season to any of the following lockers.  
For updates, check www.iowahush.com

The list of lockers participating in HUSH was complete at the 
time of printing.  Additional lockers will likely be added before 
deer season. 

USH
Help Us Stop Hunger
H
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LICENSE TYPES, PURCHASE DATES, 
HUNTING ZONES, QUOTAS, SEASON 
DATES, BAG LIMITS & SEX

See p. 7.

SPECIAL  REGULATIONS  THAT  MAY 
APPLY  TO  FALL  TURKEY  HUNTING

General Hunting Regulations may also  
apply to turkey hunters. See p. 12.

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS & FEES 
See p. 4 and 9.

TAGGING REQUIREMENTS
The leg that bears the tag must be attached 

to the carcass of any wild turkey being trans-
ported within the state during any wild turkey 
hunting season. See p. 28. 

HARVEST REPORTING
All hunters that shoot a turkey must report 

the harvest through the DNR’s Harvest Re-
porting System. Hunters that do not shoot a 
turkey do not report. See p. 28 for details.
 
FALL TURKEY LICENSES

Paid Combination Gun/Bow licenses are 
valid only in the zone selected by the hunter 
when the license is purchased.  Paid Gun/
Bow licenses are sold first-come first-served 
until the zone quotas are filled or the end of 
the season, whichever comes first. 

Paid Archery-only licenses are valid 
statewide.  There are no quotas and licenses 
are sold until the end of the season. 

Landowner-Tenant Gun/Bow & 
Landowner-Tenant Archery-only licenses 
for eligible landowners and tenants or their 
family members are issued until the end of 
the respective season. Only one Landowner-
Tenant Turkey License may be obtained per 
landowner family and one per tenant family.  
Landowner-Tenant licenses are valid only 

2016 FALL WILD TURKEY HUNTING

NONRESIDENTS are not eligible 
for fall turkey hunting licenses

on the farm unit of the landowner or tenant.  
See p. 10-11 to determine who is eligible for 
Landowner-Tenant fall turkey licenses, and 
how to register as a Landower or Tenant.

HOW MANY TURKEY LICENSES MAY I 
HAVE? 

A resident hunter may obtain a maximum 
of two fall turkey hunting licenses: Two 
Combination Gun/Bow licenses, or two 
Archery-only licenses, or one Combination 
Gun/Bow license and one Archery-only 
license.  One of these licenses may be a 
Landowner-Tenant license if the hunter is 
eligible.  

SHOOTING HOURS
Gun: Half-hour before sunrise to sunset
Bow: Half-hour before sunrise to half-hour 

after sunset.

LEGAL METHOD OF TAKE
See p. 32.

USE OF DOGS FALL SEASON ONLY 
Dogs may be used to locate, flush and re-

trieve wild turkeys as long as the hunter has a 
valid wild turkey license with an unfilled trans-
portation tag in his or her possession. 
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LICENSE TYPES, SEX, BAG LIMITS &  
SEASON DATES

See p. 5.

SPECIAL REGULATIONS THAT APPLY  
TO SPRING TURKEY HUNTING

General Hunting Regulations may also  
apply to turkey hunters. See p. 12.

SHOOTING HOURS
Gun/Bow: Half-hour before sunrise to  

sunset.

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS & FEES
Licenses go on sale Dec. 15.  

See p. 4 and 9.

ALL PAID LICENSES ARE VALID STATEWIDE

TAGGING REQUIREMENTS
The leg that bears the tag must be attached to 

the carcass of any wild turkey being transported 
within the state during any wild turkey hunting 
season. See p. 28.

HARVEST REPORTING
All hunters that shoot a turkey must report 

the harvest through the DNR’s Harvest Re-
porting System. Hunters that do not shoot a 
turkey do not report. See p. 28 for details.

RESIDENT SPRING TURKEY LICENSES
Paid Combination Gun/Bow licenses are 

valid statewide in the season selected by the 
hunter at the time of purchase.  Paid Gun/
Bow licenses are sold until the end of the 
season selected at the time of purchase. 

Paid Archery-only licenses are valid 
statewide for all four seasons.  There are no 
quotas and licenses are sold until the end of 
the fourth season. 

Landowner-Tenant Gun/Bow licenses 
and Landowner-Tenant Archery-only 
licenses for eligible landowners and tenants 
or their family members are sold until the end 
of the season selected at the time the license 

RESIDENT SPRING TURKEY HUNTING
was purchased.  See p. 10-11 to determine 
who is eligible for Landowner-Tenant spring 
turkey licenses and how to register as a 
Landowner or Tenant. 

The following restrictions apply: Landowner-
Tenant Gun/Bow licenses are valid in the 
season selected by the hunter at the time 
of purchase.  Landowner-Tenant Archery-
only licenses are valid in all 4 seasons. 
Landowner-Tenant licenses are valid only on 
the farm unit of the landowner or tenant (see 
p. 10-11).  One Landowner-Tenant Turkey 
License may be obtained per landowner farm 
unit and one per tenant farm unit. 

HOW MANY TURKEY LICENSES MAY I 
HAVE? 

A resident hunter may obtain a maximum 
of two spring turkey hunting licenses. One of 
these may be a Landowner-Tenant license, if 
the hunter is eligible. 

License choices: two Archery-only (or) one 
Archery-only and one Combination Gun/Bow 
Season 4 (or) two Combination Gun/Bow of 
which at least one must be Season 4.

LEGAL METHOD OF TAKE SPRING & FALL
Resident Archery-only License 

Longbows, recurve bows, and compound 
bows are permitted.  No explosive or chemi-
cal devices may be attached to the arrow or 
broadhead.  Blunthead arrows with a mini-
mum diameter of 9/16-inch may also be used.  
Arrows must be at least 18 inches long.  

Crossbows are not legal, except that a 
physically handicapped person incapable of 
shooting a bow may obtain a permit from the 
DNR to use a crossbow (see p. 12). Applica-
tions are available at www.iowadnr.gov/hunt-
ing - click on “hunting licenses and laws” or 
call the DNR at 515-725-8200.
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for the Youth Season, but choose not to 
participate, may obtain two licenses for the 
regular spring turkey seasons like any other 
hunter.

PROHIBITED DEVICES & ACTIVITIES
You may not use live decoys, dogs (except 

in the fall), horses, phones, radios, motorized 
vehicles, aircraft, bait, recorded or electronical-
ly amplified turkey calls or electronically ampli-
fied imitations of turkey calls or sounds when 
hunting turkeys.  Paraplegics and single- or 
double-leg amputees may hunt from any sta-
tionary motor-driven conveyance.  “Paraplegic” 
means an individual afflicted with paralysis of 
the lower half of the body with the involvement 
of both legs, usually due to disease or injury to 
the spinal cord. 

“Bait” means grain, fruit, vegetables, nuts, 
hay, salt, mineral blocks, or any other natural 
food materials, commercial products containing 
natural food materials, or by-products of such 
materials transported to or placed in an area 
for the purpose of attracting wildlife.  Bait does 
not include food placed during normal agricul-
tural activities. 

HELPING OTHER HUNTERS
A resident hunter with a valid spring turkey 

hunting license for any season may assist 
other hunters in any season.  A nonresident 
may assist other hunters only in the zone and 
season indicated on their license.  The hunter 
doing the assisting may not carry a shotgun or 
bow or shoot a turkey unless he or she has a 
valid license and an unfilled transportation tag 
for that zone and season.

RESIDENT GUN/BOW LICENSE 
Archery equipment as defined on p. 32, 

and 10-, 12-, 16- and 20-gauge shotguns or 
muzzleloading shotguns shooting number 4, 5, 
6, 7 1/2 or 8 lead or nontoxic shot. Number 2 
or 3 nontoxic shot may also be used. Hunters 
may not have shot sizes other than those listed 
above on their person while hunting turkeys. 
Muzzleloading rifles may not be used to 
hunt turkeys.
Youth Turkey Hunting Season (Residents 
Only)
	 Hunters younger than 16 years old on the 
day they purchase a license may participate 
in the Youth Turkey Season. The Youth 
Wild Turkey License will cost $24.50 and 
will be a combination gun/bow license valid 
statewide. The youth does not have to have a 
Hunting License or have completed a hunter 
education course in order to participate. A 
Youth Season license is valid for the Youth 
Season or if unfilled may be used in any 
other spring season.  
	 Youth hunters must be under the direct 
supervision of an adult mentor while hunting 
during the Youth Season.  The mentor must 
have a valid Wild Turkey License for one of 
the spring seasons, a valid Hunting License, 
and have paid the Habitat Fee if the adult is 
normally required to have them to hunt.  The 
mentor must not carry a bow or firearm and 
must be in the direct company of the youth 
at all times.  There may be no more than 
one youth with each properly licensed adult 
mentor.  The youth and mentor must comply 
with all spring turkey hunting regulations.

A youth who resides with and is a member 
of a family of a landowner or tenant who is 
eligible for a Landowner-Tenant Wild Turkey 
Hunting License may obtain a Landowner-
Tenant License for the Youth Season.  The 
Landowner-Tenant Youth License will count 
as the one Landowner-Tenant Wild Turkey 
Hunting License the landowner or tenant 
family is entitled to for the spring turkey 
seasons.

Youth hunters may obtain one additional 
Gun/Bow license for Season 4, or one 
Archery-only license. Hunters that are eligible 
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OTHER INFORMATION
FALCONRY

Game may be taken by licensed falcon-
ers. All falconers who pursue game must carry 
a copy of their Iowa Falconry License and 
have a valid resident or nonresident Hunting 
License and pay the Habitat Fee. 

Falconry Season
SMALL GAME	 OPEN	 CLOSE
Pheasant, Quail,	 Oct. 1	 March 31
Partridge, Grouse
Rabbit	 Sept. 1	 March 31
WATERFOWL	 Same as regular seasons

Falconry regulations for hunting, including 
bag and possession limits and the listing of 
permitted game species, can be found at  
www.iowadnr.gov/hunting then click on licens-
ing and laws and scroll to the bottom of the 
page, or by calling 515-725-8200 from 8 a.m. 
to 4:30 p.m. M-F. The minimum age of falcon-
ers is 14. 

HUNTING SHED ANTLERS  
	 It is permissible for people to hunt for shed 
antlers.  Shed antlers are antlers that have 
naturally fallen from a whitetail deer.  Shed 
antlers can be collected on public land includ-
ing state parks. Permission must be granted 
from the landowner on private land. (See 
trespass law on p. 12.) Antlers that are still at-
tached to the skull or any other parts of a deer 
can only be possessed with approval and tag 
from an Iowa DNR conservation officer.

CROWS 
A migratory bird stamp is not required to 

hunt crows. 

TAXIDERMY
A taxidermist is a person engaged in the 

business of preserving or mounting game, fish 
or furbearing animals. A license is required for 
anyone to practice taxidermy and the taxider-
mist must contact a DNR officer prior to oper-
ating. 

A federal permit is required for activities 
involving migratory birds. Obtain the permit by 
contacting the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service at 
612-713-5449. 

PROTECTED NONGAME
Protected nongame species include wild 

birds, fish, bats, reptiles and amphibians or 
their eggs or nests, their dead body or dead 
body parts or a product made from their parts. 
Any bat, with the exception of the Indiana bat, 
that is found within a building occupied by hu-
mans is not protected.

UNPROTECTED NONGAME
The European starling, the house sparrow, 

and the common garter snake are not protect-
ed species. Timber rattlesnakes are protected 
in Allamakee, Clayton, Delaware, Des Moines, 
Dubuque, Fayette, Henry, Jackson, Jones, 
Lee, Madison, Van Buren and Winneshiek 
counties but not including an area of 50 yards 
around houses actively occupied by human 
beings in those counties.

OHV USE AND HUNTING
The following regulations apply when us-

ing all-terrain vehicles for hunting purposes:
 It is illegal to operate an OHV on DNR 
Wildlife Management Areas. Physically handi-
capped persons may be eligible for a permit 
to operate an OHV on DNR lands. Permission 
for access is still required. 
 When transporting guns on an OHV, guns 
must be unloaded and in a case at all times.

For a copy of Iowa’s OHV Regulations, 
contact your local state conservation officer, 
county recorder or DNR office. The informa-
tion is also posted on the DNR’s website at  
www.iowadnr.gov.
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DOG RESTRICTIONS
Rabies vaccination. Hunters bringing dogs four months of age or older into Iowa must 

have in their possession a health certificate verifying the rabies and other vaccinations of the 
dog(s).

Where restricted. All dogs are prohibited on all state-owned game management areas be-
tween March 15 and July 15 of each year, except that dog training is permitted on designated 
training areas. Field and retriever meets are restricted to designated sites.

A permit must be obtained from the DNR for field and retriever meets. The permit shall show 
the exact designated site of the meet and all dogs shall be confined to that site.

Training dogs. You need to have a valid Hunting License and have paid the Habitat Fee to 
train a bird dog on game birds. An Iowa Migratory Bird Fee and Federal Waterfowl Stamp are 
required if using waterfowl taken from the wild. A valid Furharvester License and habitat fee is 
required to train a coon hound, fox hound or trailing dog on any furbearing animals at any time 
of the year, including during the closed season on such birds or animals. The animals, when 
pursued to a tree or den, shall not be further chased or removed in any manner from the tree or 
den. You must have a Hunting License or a Furharvester License and habitat fee to train a dog 
on coyote or groundhog.

Only a pistol, revolver or other gun shooting blank cartridges shall be used while training 
dogs during closed seasons.

If you have a dog entered in a licensed field trial you do not need any type of Hunting Li-
cense to participate in the event or to exercise your dog on the area on which the field trial is to 
be held during the 24-hour period preceding the trial. 

Pen-raised game birds may be used and shot in the training of bird dogs. Before any bird 
is released or used in the training of dogs, the bird must be banded with a band from the DNR. 
Contact the DNR at 515-725-8200.

OTHER INFORMATION

Feral hogs are any hog, including Russian 
and European wild boar, that is not identified 
by ear tags or other identification and is roam-
ing feely on public or private land. 

Feral hogs are not native to Iowa and no 
permit is needed to take a feral hog. Releasing 
pigs intentionally to hunt is illegal. 

Hunters are encouraged to watch for feral 
hogs while in the field and to kill them on sight.  
It is legal to kill feral hogs on your own property 
and on public lands where hunting is allowed.  
Trespassing on private land to shoot a feral 
hog is not allowed. 

Feral hogs can spread diseases to humans, 
pets and all domestic livestock, especially pigs. 
These animals damage crops and forest lands 
and compete with native wildlife for food. They 
eat anything they can catch, including reptiles, 

Photo courtesy of Kenton Lohraff, wildlife biologist, 
Directorate of Public Works Natural Resources Branch, 
Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri

amphibians, deer fawns, bird eggs and newly 
born livestock.

If you should happen to see a feral hog 
(killed or not), contact the local wildlife biologist 
(see p. 37) or the USDA. The DNR would like 
to collect a blood sample.

FERAL HOGS
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OTHER INFORMATION
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Iowa DNR Shooting Ranges

1. Banner Shooting Range
13796 Elkhorn Street, Hwy. 65/69, between Des 
Moines and Indianola. Fees collected. Range 
safety officer on site during hours of operation. 
bannerrange@dnr.iowa.gov or 515-961-6408.

2. Bays Branch Shooting Range
2 miles north of Panora, 2.5 miles east on 190th 
Street.

3. Brushy Creek Shooting Range 
[2 ranges] Both ranges are at Brushy Creek 
State Recreation Area. One is south of the park office, 
about half-mile north of County Road D-46. The other 
is a trap range. Take 250th from County Road P-73 
and turn right on Taylor Ave. 

4. Charles “Butch” Olofson Shooting Range
(Closed for renovation until Spring 2017)
4.7 miles north of Polk City on NW Madrid Blvd. Fees 
collected. Range safety officer on site during hours of 
operation. 515-795-2067. 

5. Hawkeye Wildlife Shooting Range
3/4 mile east of Swisher on F12, 2.5 miles south 
on Hwy. 965, 2 miles west on Amana Road. Range 
safety officer on site during peak hours.

6. Hull Shooting Range
4 miles west of Oskaloosa on Hwy. 92.

7. Ocheyedan Shooting Range
5 miles west of Spencer on West 4th Street.

8. Oyens Shooting Range
2.5 miles north of Oyens on County Road K-64.

9. Pine Ridge Shooting Range
1 mile west of Steamboat Rock off County Road S-56.

10. Princeton Shooting Range
Half-mile north of Princeton on Hwy. 67, 1 mile north on 
285th Ave., east on 266th Street. Range safety officer on 
site during peak hours. 563-210-8213.

11. Spring Run Shooting Range
3 miles east of Spirit Lake on Hwy. 9, 2.5 miles south on 
280th Ave.

Hours of operation are sunrise to sunset except for Banner and Olofson, which are posted.
For detailed information and area maps, go to:  

http://www.iowadnr.gov/Recreation/OtherActivities/IowaShootingRanges.aspx

SHOOTING 
SP  RTS

PRECAUTIONS ABOUT LEAD IN VENISON
Deer shot with bullets containing lead can have particles of lead remaining in the meat, some too 

small to see or feel. Although lead can be harmful to humans, even in low amounts, there is no known  
evidence that links human consumption of venison to lead poisoning. Children under 6 years and  
pregnant women are at the greatest risk from lead exposure. Since 1992, about 500,000 Iowans under 
6 years and 25,000 adults have been tested for lead poisoning, and no elevated blood lead levels have 
been attributed to venison or any other wild game. 

To minimize potential exposure to lead in venison: 
• Remind your meat processor to, or if you process your own venison, trim a generous distance away 

from the wound channel and discard any meat that is bruised, discolored, or contains hair, dirt or bone 
fragments. 

• Avoid consuming internal organs.
• Practice marksmanship and outdoor skills to get closer, cleaner, lethal shots away from major  

muscle areas. (Don’t shoot at running deer.)
• Consider non-lead alternative such as copper or others that have high-weight retention.
For more information, call 1-800-972-2026.
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For questions concerning wildlife damage to 
private property, contact the depredation biologist 
for your county, listed on the map below.

1) BLACK HAWK UNIT__________712-661-9726
2) CEDAR-WAPSI UNIT_________319-213-2815
3) CLEAR LAKE UNIT___________641-425-2814
4) GRAND RIVER UNIT_ ________515-238-5708
5) GREAT LAKES UNIT_ ________712-330-4543
6) IOWA RIVER UNIT___________319-330-7013
7) MAQUOKETA UNIT_ _________563-357-2035
8) MISSOURI RIVER UNIT_______712-420-2437
9) NISHNABOTNA UNIT_________712-350-0147
10) ODESSA UNIT_ ____________319-551-8459
11) PRAIRIE LAKES UNIT_ ______712-330-2563
12) RATHBUN UNIT____________641-414-1513
13) RED ROCK UNIT___________515-238-6936
14) SAYLORVILLE UNIT_________712-330-6685
15) SUGEMA UNIT_____________641-799-0793
16) UPPER IOWA UNIT_ ________563-380-3422

WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT UNITS
PHONE NUMBERS
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WILDLIFE DEPREDATION BIOLOGISTS
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Greg Harris
319-330-5578

Bill Bunger
515-975-8318

Ross Ellingson
563-929-6001

Andy Kellner
712-250-4435
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For information on the following species, 
contact:
Waterfowl & Furbearers
Fish & Wildlife Station
1203 N. Shore Drive, Clear Lake 50428  
641-357-3517

Deer, Nongame Wildlife, Pheasants, Quail, Rabbits 
& Ruffed Grouse
Wildlife Research Station 
1436 255th Street, Boone 50036  
515-432-2823

Wild Turkey
Chariton Research Station 
24570 US Hwy. 34, Chariton 50049  
641-774-2958

OFFICES
(DNR Fish, Wildlife and Law Enforcement)
Headquarters: Wallace State Office Bldg. 
502 E. 9th St., Des Moines 50319-0034  
515-725-8200
Northwest: Spirit Lake Fish Hatchery  
122 252nd Ave., Spirit Lake 51360 .712-336-1840
Northeast: Manchester Fish Hatchery 
22693 205th Ave., Manchester 52057 
563-927-3276
Southwest: Cold Springs State Park 
57744 Lewis Rd., Lewis 51544. 712-769-2587
Southeast: Lake Darling State Park 
110 Lake Darling Rd., Brighton 52540 
319-694-2430

DISTRICT OFFICES
Black Hawk Office 
116 South State Road, Lake View 51450
712-657-2638

Clear Lake Fish & Wildlife Station 
1203 North Shore Dr., Clear Lake 50428 
641-357-3517

Rathbun Fish Hathery 
15053 Hatchery Place, Moravia 52571
641-647-2406 
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JONES 	 Vacant...................................319-480-0397
		  Jared Landt..........................563-920-5764
KEOKUK 	 Wesley Gould.......................641-660-3441
KOSSUTH 	 Virginia Schulte....................712-260-1003
LEE 	 Ben Schlader........................319-470-0788
LINN 	 Vacant...................................319-350-2863
		  Ron Lane..............................319-350-2871
LOUISA 	 Lucas Dever.........................563-260-1225
LUCAS 	 Kyle Jensen..........................641-414-2175
LYON 	 Tait Anderson.......................712-260-1006
MADISON 	 Craig Lonneman..................515-238-5005
MAHASKA 	 John Steinback....................641-660-0741
MARION 	 Eric Hoffman........................641-891-2004
	 	 Ken Kenyon..........................641-891-1246
MARSHALL 	 Tyson Brown........................641-751-5246
MILLS 	 Richard Price........................712-520-0121
MITCHELL 	 Eric Johnston.......................319-240-9174 
MONONA 	 Gary Sisco............................712-420-1486
MONROE 	 Dallas Davis.........................641-777-2163
	 	 Jacob Fulk............................641-777-2164
MONTGOMERY	 Adam Arnold........................712-520-0507
MUSCATINE 	 Joe Fourdyce.......................563-260-1223
O’BRIEN 	 Joe Yarkosky (east 1/2)........712-260-1004
		  Jon Sells (west 1/2) .............712-260-1019
OSCEOLA 	 Tait Anderson.......................712-260-1006
PAGE 	 Adam Arnold........................712-520-0507
PALO ALTO 	 Chris Subbert.......................712-260-1009
PLYMOUTH 	 Chad Morrow........................712-260-1023
POCAHONTAS 	 Nathan Haupert....................712-330-8462
POLK 	 Nate Anderson.....................515-238-4849
	 	 Dustin Eighmy......................515-238-5006
POTTAWATTAMIE 	Adam Gacke.........................712-520-5570
		  Richard Price (west 1/2).......712-520-0121
POWESHIEK 	 John Steinbach....................641-660-0741
RINGGOLD 	 Corey Carlton.......................641-414-2173
SAC 	 Kirby Bragg..........................712-661-9237
SCOTT 	 Jeff Harrison.........................563-349-9418
	  	 Vacant...................................563-349-8953
SHELBY 	 Dave Tierney........................712-249-2015
SIOUX 	 John Sells.............................712-260-1019
STORY 	 Brandon Bergquist..............515-290-0177
		  Matt Bruner...........................515-290-0527
TAMA 	 Brett Reece...........................641-751-0931
TAYLOR 	 Andrea Bevington................712-520-0508
UNION	 Corey Carlton.......................641-414-2173
VAN BUREN 	 Chris Flynn...........................641-919-9115
WAPELLO 	 Matt Rush.............................641-777-7805 
		  Bob Stuchel..........................641-777-2169
WARREN 	 Craig Cutts...........................515-238-4847
		  Nate Anderson (north 1/2).....515-238-4849
WASHINGTON 	 Wesley Gould.......................641-660-3441
WAYNE 	 Kyle Jensen..........................641-414-2175
WEBSTER 	 Bill Spece..............................515-571-0127
WINNEBAGO 	 Michael Strauser..................641-425-0821
WINNESHIEK 	 Brian Roffman......................563-380-0496
WOODBURY 	 Stacey Bragg........................712-301-6735
		  Steven Griebel......................712-301-4009
WORTH 	 Michael Strauser..................641-425-0821
WRIGHT 	 Ken Lonneman.....................641-425-0823

Recreation Safety Officers
NORTHWEST 	 Marty Eby..............................712-260-1036
NORTHEAST	 Pat Jorgensen......................319-240-8640	
SOUTHEAST  	 Terry Nims............................563-357-1812 
CENTRAL/SOUTHWEST
	 	 Jeffrey Barnes......................515-290-4907	
SOUTH-CENTRAL/SOUTHWEST
	 	 Allen Crouse.........................515-238-4955

COUNTY 
ADAIR	 Grant Gelly...............................712-250-0303
ADAMS 	 Andrea Bevington....................712-520-0508
ALLAMAKEE	 Burt Walters.............................563-880-0108
APPANOOSE	 Jacob Fulk................................641-777-2164
		  Dallas Davis.............................641-777-2163
AUDUBON	 Jeremy King.............................712-250-0061
BENTON	 Brett Reece (west 1/2)..............641-751-0931
		  Ron Lane (east 1/2)..................319-350-2871
BLACK HAWK	 Mike Bonser.............................319-240-5034
		  Dakota Drish.............................563-920-0566
BOONE 	 Matt Bruner...............................515-290-0527
		  Brandon Bergquist..................515-290-0177
BREMER 	 Mike Bonser.............................319-240-5034
	 	 Chris Jones..............................319-939-4448
BUCHANAN	 Dakota Drish.............................563-920-0566
BUENA VISTA	 Brent Koppie............................712-260-1010
BUTLER	 Jordon Hansen.........................319-240-8033
CALHOUN 	 Nathan Haupert........................712-330-8462
CARROLL	 Dan Pauley...............................515-370-0422
CASS 	 Grant Gelly...............................712-250-0303
CEDAR 	 Eric Wright................................319-530-6121
CERRO GORDO Matt Washburn.........................641-425-0822
		  Ben Bergman...........................641-425-0828
CHEROKEE 	 Brent Koppie (east 1/2) ...........712-260-1010
		  Chad Morrow (west 1/2)...........712-260-1023
CHICKASAW 	 Marc Waterlander.....................319-240-6662
CLARKE 	 Michael Miller...........................641-414-2174
CLAY 	 Joe Yarkosky............................712-260-1004
CLAYTON 	 Jerry Farmer.............................563-880-0422
CLINTON 	 Lucas Webinger.......................563-357-1078
CRAWFORD 	 Gary Sisco................................712-420-1486
DALLAS 	 Craig Lonneman......................515-238-5005
		  Dustin Eighmy (north 1/2)........515-238-5006
DAVIS 	 Bob Stuchel..............................641-777-2169
		  Matt Rush.................................641-777-7805
DECATUR 	 Michael Miller...........................641-414-2174
DELAWARE 	 Jared Landt..............................563-920-5764
DES MOINES 	 Paul Kay....................................319-759-0751
DICKINSON 	 Jeff Morrison............................712-260-1017
		  Steve Reighard.........................712-260-1018
DUBUQUE 	 Andrew Keil..............................563-590-1945
		  Nate Johnson...........................563-590-1944
EMMET 	 Chris Subbert...........................712-260-1009
FAYETTE 	 Chris Jones..............................319-939-4448
FLOYD 	 Eric Johnston...........................319-240-9174
FRANKLIN 	 Jordon Hansen.........................319-240-8033
FREMONT 	 Marlowe Wilson........................712-520-0506
GREENE 	 Dan Pauley...............................515-370-0422
GRUNDY 	 Tyson Brown............................641-751-5246
GUTHRIE 	 Jeremy King.............................712-250-0061
HAMILTON 	 Joli Vollers................................515-238-2047
HANCOCK 	 Ken Lonneman.........................641-425-0823
HARDIN 	 Joli Vollers................................515-238-2047
HARRISON 	 Dave Tierney............................712-249-2015
HENRY 	 Dan Henderson........................319-653-1636
HOWARD 	 Marc Waterlander.....................319-240-6662
HUMBOLDT 	 Bill Spece..................................515-571-0127
IDA		 Kirby Bragg..............................712-661-9237
IOWA 	 Brad Baker...............................319-430-1630
JACKSON 	 Vacant.......................................319-480-0397
		  Andrew Keil..............................563-590-1945
JASPER 	 Deb Howe.................................641-521-2003
JEFFERSON 	 Chris Flynn...............................641-919-9115
		  Dan Henderson........................319-653-1636 
JOHNSON 	 Erika Billerbeck........................319-330-9710
		  Brad Baker...............................319-430-1630

COUNTY 
CONSERVATON OFFICERS 

OFFICER CELL PHONE OFFICER CELL PHONE
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+20 min +16 min +12 min +8 min +4 min In Table

  The sunrise-sunset schedule 
above represents Zone 1 in eastern 
Iowa (See map at left).

 Add four minutes for each zone 
west of Zone 1 (see map).

SUNRISE-SUNSET TABLE
Add one hour for Daylight Savings Time 
when in effect, from the second Sunday in 
March to the first Sunday in November.

Each schedule is based on Central 
Standard Time.

	 Sept. 16	 Oct. 16	 Nov. 16	 Dec. 16	 Jan. 17	 Feb. 17	 Mar. 17	 April 17	 May 17
Day	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	Set	 Rise	   Set	 Rise   Set	Day
	 a.m.	 p.m.	 a.m.	 p.m.	 a.m.	 p.m.	 a.m.	 p.m.	 a.m.	 p.m.	 a.m.	 p.m.	 a.m.	 p.m.	 a.m.	   p.m.	a.m.   p.m.      
01	 5:29	 6:35	 6:00	 5:43	 6:36	 4:56	 7:12	 4:32	 7:31	 4:42	 7:15	 5:18	 6:37	 5:53	 5:45	 6:29	 4:58	 7:02	 01
02	 5:30	 6:34	 6:01	 5:42	 6:37	 4:55	 7:13	 4:32	 7:31	 4:43	 7:14	 5:19	 6:36	 5:54	 5:43	 6:30	 4:57	 7:03	 02
03	 5:31	 6:32	 6:02	 5:40	 6:39	 4:53	 7:14	 4:31	 7:31	 4:44	 7:13	 5:20	 6:34	 5:56	 5:42	 6:31	 4:56	 7:04	 03
04	 5:32	 6:30	 6:03	 5:38	 6:40	 4:52	 7:15	 4:31	 7:31	 4:45	 7:12	 5:22	 6:32	 5:57	 5:40	 6:32	 4:54	 7:05	 04
05	 5:33	 6:29	 6:05	 5:37	 6:41	 4:51	 7:16	 4:31	 7:31	 4:46	 7:11	 5:23	 6:31	 5:58	 5:38	 6:33	 4:53	 7:06	 05
06	 5:34	 6:27	 6:06	 5:35	 6:42	 4:50	 7:17	 4:31	 7:31	 4:47	 7:10	 5:24	 6:29	 5:59	 5:36	 6:34	 4:52	 7:07	 06
07	 5:35	 6:25	 6:07	 5:33	 6:44	 4:49	 7:18	 4:31	 7:31	 4:48	 7:09	 5:26	 6:28	 6:00	 5:35	 6:35	 4:51	 7:08	 07
08	 5:36	 6:23	 6:08	 5:31	 6:45	 4:48	 7:19	 4:31	 7:31	 4:49	 7:07	 5:27	 6:26	 6:01	 5:33	 6:36	 4:49	 7:10	 08
09	 5:37	 6:22	 6:09	 5:30	 6:46	 4:47	 7:20	 4:31	 7:30	 4:50	 7:06	 5:28	 6:24	 6:03	 5:31	 6:38	 4:48	 7:11	 09
10	 5:38	 6:20	 6:10	 5:28	 6:47	 4:46	 7:20	 4:31	 7:30	 4:51	 7:05	 5:29	 6:23	 6:04	 5:30	 6:39	 4:47	 7:12	 10
11	 5:39	 6:18	 6:11	 5:27	 6:49	 4:45	 7:21	 4:31	 7:30	 4:52	 7:04	 5:31	 6:21	 6:05	 5:28	 6:40	 4:46	 7:13	 11
12	 5:40	 6:16	 6:12	 5:25	 6:50	 4:44	 7:22	 4:31	 7:29	 4:53	 7:02	 5:32	 6:19	 6:06	 5:27	 6:41	 4:45	 7:14	 12
13	 5:41	 6:15	 6:14	 5:23	 6:51	 4:43	 7:23	 4:31	 7:29	 4:54	 7:01	 5:33	 6:17	 6:07	 5:25	 6:42	 4:44	 7:15	 13
14	 5:42	 6:13	 6:15	 5:22	 6:52	 4:42	 7:24	 4:32	 7:29	 4:55	 7:00	 5:35	 6:16	 6:08	 5:23	 6:43	 4:43	 7:16	 14
15	 5:43	 6:11	 6:16	 5:20	 6:53	 4:41	 7:24	 4:32	 7:28	 4:57	 6:58	 5:36	 6:14	 6:10	 5:22	 6:44	 4:42	 7:17	 15
16	 5:44	 6:09	 6:17	 5:19	 6:55	 4:40	 7:25	 4:32	 7:28	 4:58	 6:57	 5:37	 6:12	 6:11	 5:20	 6:45	 4:41	 7:18	 16
17	 5:45	 6:08	 6:18	 5:17	 6:56	 4:39	 7:26	 4:33	 7:27	 4:59	 6:55	 5:38	 6:11	 6:12	 5:19	 6:46	 4:40	 7:19	 17
18	 5:46	 6:06	 6:19	 5:15	 6:57	 4:39	 7:26	 4:33	 7:27	 5:00	 6:54	 5:40	 6:09	 6:13	 5:17	 6:48	 4:39	 7:20	 18
19	 5:47	 6:04	 6:20	 5:14	 6:58	 4:38	 7:27	 4:33	 7:26	 5:01	 6:53	 5:41	 6:07	 6:14	 5:15	 6:49	 4:38	 7:21	 19
20	 5:49	 6:02	 6:22	 5:12	 6:59	 4:37	 7:27	 4:34	 7:25	 5:03	 6:51	 5:42	 6:05	 6:15	 5:14	 6:50	 4:37	 7:22	 20
21	 5:50	 6:01	 6:23	 5:11	 7:01	 4:36	 7:28	 4:34	 7:25	 5:04	 6:50	 5:43	 6:04	 6:16	 5:12	 6:51	 4:36	 7:23	 21
22	 5:51	 5:59	 6:24	 5:09	 7:02	 4:36	 7:28	 4:35	 7:24	 5:05	 6:48	 5:45	 6:02	 6:17	 5:11	 6:52	 4:36	 7:24	 22
23	 5:52	 5:57	 6:25	 5:08	 7:03	 4:35	 7:29	 4:35	 7:23	 5:06	 6:47	 5:46	 6:00	 6:19	 5:09	 6:53	 4:35	 7:25	 23
24	 5:53	 5:55	 6:26	 5:07	 7:04	 4:35	 7:29	 4:36	 7:23	 5:08	 6:45	 5:47	 5:59	 6:20	 5:08	 6:54	 4:34	 7:26	 24
25	 5:54	 5:54	 6:28	 5:05	 7:05	 4:34	 7:30	 4:37	 7:22	 5:09	 6:44	 5:48	 5:57	 6:21	 5:06	 6:55	 4:33	 7:26	 25
26	 5:55	 5:52	 6:29	 5:04	 7:06	 4:34	 7:30	 4:37	 7:21	 5:10	 6:42	 5:50	 5:55	 6:22	 5:05	 6:56	 4:33	 7:27	 26
27	 5:56	 5:50	 6:30	 5:02	 7:08	 4:33	 7:30	 4:38	 7:20	 5:11	 6:41	 5:51	 5:53	 6:23	 5:04	 6:58	 4:32	 7:28	 27
28	 5:57	 5:49	 6:31	 5:01	 7:09	 4:33	 7:30	 4:39	 7:19	 5:13	 6:39	 5:52	 5:52	 6:24	 5:02	 6:59	 4:31	 7:29	 28
29	 5:58	 5:47	 6:32	 5:00	 7:10	 4:32	 7:31	 4:40	 7:18	 5:14			   5:50	 6:25	 5:01	 7:00	 4:31	 7:30	 29
30	 5:59	 5:45	 6:34	 4:58	 7:11	 4:32	 7:31	 4:40	 7:17	 5:15			   5:48	 6:26	 5:00	 7:01	 4:30	 7:31	 30
31			   6:35	 4:57			   7:31	 4:41	 7:16	 5:17			   5:47	 6:28			   4:30	 7:31	 31
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Through purchase of licenses and 
stamps and manufacturers’ taxes 
on firearms, ammunition and other 
outdoor equipment, hunters and 
trappers continue to support the 
acquisition, development and man-
agement of Iowa’s wildlife areas.

EQUAL OPPORTUNITY
Federal and State law prohibits employment and/or public accommodation (such as access 
to services or physical facilities) discrimination on the basis of age, color, creed, disabil-
ity (mental and/or physical), gender identity, national origin, pregnancy, race, religion, sex 
or sexual orientation. If you believe you have been discriminated against in any program, 
activity or facility as described above, or if you desire further information, contact the Iowa 
Civil Rights Commission at 1-800-457-4416,  or write to: Director, Iowa Department of Natu-
ral Resources, Wallace State Office Building, 502 E. 9th, Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0034.

ALTERNATIVE FORMATS
This information is available in alternative formats upon request by contacting the DNR at  
515-725-8200.  TTY users - Contact Relay Iowa at 800-735-2942.

Iowa Dept of Natural Resources
502 E. 9th St.
Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0034
515-725-8200

www.iowadnr.gov


