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Handbook updates 
For those of you subscribing 
to the handbook, the following 
updates are included.

Historic Iowa Custom Rate 
Survey  – A3-12 (3 pages)

Lean Hog Basis – B2-41     
(1 page)

Live Cattle Basis – B2-42  
(1 page)

Flexible Farm Lease Agree-
ments – C2-21 (4 pages)

Farmland Value Survey 
– C2-75 (2 pages)

Please add these files to your 
handbook and remove the 
out-of-date material.

continued on page 6

On February 8, 2006, the 
President signed into 
law the Deficit Reduc-

tion Act of 2005.  The Act is de-
signed to cut the federal budget 
deficit. Among other provisions, 
the Act contains fundamental 
changes to the Medicaid eligi-
bility rules and long-term care 
coverage. The new rules will 
impact significantly estate plans 
where preservation of family 
business assets is a major objec-
tive. That is a common estate 
planning objective for farm and 
ranch families.

Summary of the Act
In a nutshell, here is what the 
Act does:

(1)	Extends Medicaid’s “look-
back” period for all asset trans-
fers from three to five years and 
changes the start of the penalty 
period for transferred assets from 

New Medicaid rules will impact estate planning for 
long-term health care*

by Roger McEowen, Leonard Dolezal Professor in Agricultural Law, (515) 
294-4076, member of KS and NE Bars and honorary member of Iowa Bar. 
mceowen@iastate.edu

the date of the transfer to the 
date when the individual trans-
ferring the assets enters the nurs-
ing home and would otherwise 
be eligible for Medicaid cover-
age. In other words, the penalty 
period does not begin until the 
nursing home resident is out of 
funds – i.e., cannot afford to pay 
the nursing home.

(2)	Makes any individual with 
home equity above $500,000 in-
eligible for Medicaid (unless the 
applicant’s spouse resides in the 
home or the home is occupied 
by a child under age 21, blind 
or disabled), although states 
may raise the threshold to up to 
$750,000.

(3)	Establishes new rules for the 
treatment of annuities, including 
a requirement that the state be 
named as the remainder benefi-
ciary.
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(4)	Allows Continuing Care Retirement Communi-
ties (CCRCs) to require residents to spend down 
their declared resources before applying for medi-
cal assistance, and sets forth rules under which an 
individual’s CCRC entrance fee is considered an 
available resource for Medicaid eligibility purpos-
es.

(5)	Requires all states to apply the so-called “in-
come-first” rule to community spouses who appeal 
for an increased resource allowance based on their 
need for more funds invested to meet their mini-
mum income requirements.

(6)	Extends long-term care partnership programs 
to any state requesting that such programs be 
available in the state.

(7)	Closes certain asset transfer “loopholes” such 
as the following:

(a)	 The purchase of a life estate would be 
included in the definition of “assets” unless 
the purchaser resides in the home for at 
least one year after the date of purchase.

(b)	Funds to purchase a promissory note, 
loan or mortgage would be included 
among assets unless the repayment terms 
are actuarially sound, provide for equal 
payments and prohibit the cancellation of 
the balance upon the lender’s death.

(c)	 States are barred from “rounding down” 
fractional periods of ineligibility when 
determining ineligibility periods resulting 
from asset transfers.

(d)	States are permitted to treat multiple 
transfers of assets as a single transfer and 
begin any penalty period on the earliest 
date that would apply to such transfers.

The “Lookback” Period and the Penalty 
Period Start Date
The Medicaid asset transfer rules specify a period 
during which a penalty may apply to an indi-
vidual with respect to a transfer made during the 
look-back period for which the individual does 
not receive something of equal value in exchange. 

This “penalty period” is determined by dividing 
the amount of the transfer by the average monthly 
cost of nursing home care in the individual’s state. 
The resulting figure is the number of months the 
individual’s penalty period will last. Previously, a 
penalty period would begin on the date on which 
an uncompensated transfer was made. Under that 
approach, many transfers made during the look-
back period did not actually give rise to assess-
ment of a penalty, even when inadequate compen-
sation was received in exchange. Under the Act, 
the penalty period begins the date on which the 
individual has applied and is otherwise qualified 
for Medicaid. The result, in many instances, will 
be dramatically different, as illustrated by the fol-
lowing example:

Example:
(Prior law) Nelle applies for Medicaid coverage 
of her long-term nursing home care on February 
1, 2006, and is otherwise qualified for coverage. 
Nelle discloses when she applies that she made 
a $11,000 gift to each of two grandchildren on 
July 1, 2003. Assume that the average monthly 
cost of nursing home care in Nelle’s state is 
$4,000. Nelle’s transfer was uncompensated and 
occurred during her 36-month look-back pe-
riod. Thus, a penalty period calculation must be 
employed.  Dividing the amount of the transfer 
by the average monthly cost of care results in a 
quotient of 5.5 ($22,000/$4,000 = 5.5), which 
represents the number of months Nelle’s penalty 
period will last. However, Nelle’s penalty period 
would begin on July 1, 2003 (the date of the 
transfer) and would run through mid-November 
2003 (five and one-half months). As a result, 
Nelle’s penalty period had already expired by the 
time she applied for Medicaid on February 1, 
2006. 

(Current law) Assume the same facts as above, 
except that Nelle applies for Medicaid cover-
age on March 1, 2009, and made the gifts to the 
grandchildren on July 1, 2006. The new law 
produces a different result. While the calculation 
of the penalty period remains the same, the 5.5 
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month penalty period does not begin running 
until March 1, 2009. Thus, while Nelle is eligible 
for Medicaid coverage as of March 1, 2009, she 
will be denied Medicaid coverage until mid-Au-
gust of 2009. That raises a significant question 
as to how Nelle is going to pay for her nursing 
home care during the penalty period. Because 
she is otherwise eligible as of March 1, 2009, she 
has very minimal assets. Nelle’s family will have 
to cover the cost of her nursing home care dur-
ing the penalty period or the nursing home may 
attempt to discharge her for failure to pay for 
services. The example illustrates that, under the 
new law, individuals in need of long-term care 
will be penalized for any gifts they have made 
during the extended look-back period, regardless 
of the purpose of the gift. It is immaterial that a 
moderate gift was made exclusively for a purpose 
other than to qualify for Medicaid, and it essen-
tially discourages any gift giving by individuals 
who have even a remote chance of needing long-
term care coverage within the next five years.

Home Equity
The Act prohibits Medicaid eligibility for an appli-
cant that has home equity in excess of $500,000. 
States may increase the threshold to $750,000, 
and may limit the increase to certain parts of the 
state. Thus, a state may consider that individuals 
living in large cities in the state will have homes 
with higher values than those in less populated 
regions of the state. From a planning perspec-
tive, anyone with a house with equity above the 
threshold will have to sell the home in order to get 
Medicaid coverage. While the law permits nurs-
ing home residents to reduce the equity through 
reverse mortgages and home equity loans, such 
loans are generally not available to nursing home 
residents who no longer live in the property to be 
mortgaged.

Annuities
If a Medicaid applicant has any interest in an an-
nuity, the purchase of the annuity will be treated 
as an uncompensated transfer subject to a penalty 
period unless the state is named as the remainder 

beneficiary in the first position for at least the total 
amount of medical assistance paid for on behalf 
of the Medicaid applicant, or the state is named as 
the remainder beneficiary in the second position 
after the community spouse or minor or disabled 
child.

“Income-First” Rule
Federal law does not require that a married couple 
impoverish themselves before one spouse may gain 
eligibility for Medicaid.  Instead, the spouse of a 
Medicaid enrollee, called a “community spouse,” 
is entitled to a specific portion of the combined 
income and assets owned by the couple. Gener-
ally, a community spouse is entitled to half of the 
couple’s combined resources (up to a maximum of 
$99,540 in 2006), and at least the first $1,603.75 
(through June 30, 2006) of the combined monthly 
income. If the community spouse’s own monthly 
income, separate from the institutionalized 
spouse’s, is less than $1,603.75, the old rules al-
lowed the spouse either to receive a portion of 
the institutionalized spouse’s income or to retain 
a greater portion of the couple’s resources. Many 
community spouses opted for a greater share of the 
resources in order to ensure an adequate amount 
of savings for themselves. The new rules require, 
however, that where the community spouse’s 
income is less than the minimum, the community 
spouse must use a share of the institutionalized 
spouse’s income to raise the community spouse’s 
income to the minimum (the “income-first” meth-
od), instead of getting an additional share of the 
couple’s assets. In accordance with a U.S. Supreme 
Court ruling in 2002, states have had the authority 
to impose the income first method, but some still 
allowed community spouses the choice.  The new 
rules now require that the income be used first.

Effective Date
The changes to the transfer rules are generally ef-
fective for transfers made after February 8, 2006. 
However, the Act gives the states a grace period to 
come into compliance if state legislation is re-
quired. Each state administers its Medicaid pro-
gram in accordance with its state Medicaid plan, a 

continued on page 4
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plan the Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
(CMS) must approve in order for the state to re-
ceive federal reimbursement for coverage of Med-
icaid services. Some states grant wide discretion 
to their state Medicaid directors to make neces-
sary changes to the state Medicaid plan, but some 
states require state legislation before modifications 
can be made to the plan. For the latter states, the 
effective date of the new transfer rules will be the 
date the state legislature authorizes the necessary 
modification of the state plan.

Planning Strategies
While the new asset transfer rules complicate 
traditional asset preservation techniques, transfers 
made more than five years before a Medicaid ap-
plication are not penalized. That raises questions 
about what should be done with the transferred 
assets – for example, whether they are gifts to the 
children or funds the children should set aside for 
the parents in the event the parents need assis-
tance.  Consequently, the use of contractual family 
agreements concerning the use of the funds may 
be necessary. Alternatively, the assets could be held 
in trust for the entire family’s benefit.  Clearly, the 
Congress has taken a policy approach with the 
new asset transfer rules that will encourage those 
who can afford to and who can medically qualify 
to purchase long-term care insurance.  Those who 
cannot afford the premiums for a lifetime (lifetime 
coverage is generally preferred) may be able to pay 
the premiums for a long enough period of time to 
cover any penalty period triggered by transferring 
assets. Alternatively, perhaps the children could 
pay the premiums (as a means of assuring inheri-
tance of the preserved assets).

Constitutional Challenge
Shortly after the President signed the Act into law, 
a complaint was filed in the United States District 
Court for the Southern District of Alabama chal-
lenging the Act’s constitutionality The complaint 
alleges that the version of the bill that the Presi-
dent signed was not the version as passed by the 
House and, as such, violates Article 1, Section 7 
of the U.S. Constitution which specifies that a bill 
only becomes law after passing both the House 
and Senate and being signed by the President. For 
the lawsuit to be successful, the plaintiff will have 
to overcome an 1892 U.S. Supreme Court opinion 
where the Court ruled that, once a bill is deposited 
in the public archives, a court should not look be-
hind the President’s signature to question whether 
it in fact passed both bodies of the Congress.

*Reprinted with permission from the March 31, 2006 issue of 

Agricultural Law Digest, Agricultural Law Press Publications, 

Eugene, Oregon. Footnotes not included.

New Medicaid rules will impact estate planning for long-term health care, continued from page 3
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A new risk management tool was made 
available to cattle feeders starting January 
31, 2006.  Livestock Gross Margin (LGM) 

is a livestock insurance product that protects an 
expected gross margin rather than a selling price, 
as is the case with Livestock Risk Protection (LRP).  
Both products allow small and medium sized 
operations to manage risk even if they do not have 
the volume or expertise necessary to use Chicago 
Mercantile Exchange (CME) futures and options 
contracts.  LGM and LRP allow for numbers of 
cattle to be protected that do not match the speci-
fications of the CME contracts, thus eliminating 
over or under coverage.  

Coverage can be purchased from 5:00 pm on the 
last business day of each month until 9:00 am the 
next morning, when the CME opens.  Although 
LGM can only be purchased during the short 
window allowed each month, it is possible to get 
an estimate of the premiums at the Center for Agri-
cultural and Rural Development (CARD) website:  
http://www.card.iastate.edu/ under Ag Risk Tools.  
 
Two types of enterprises can be insured under 
LGM—calf finishing and yearling finishing.  In the 
calf finishing operation, the cattle are assumed to 
weigh 550 pounds when they enter the feedlot, to 
weigh 1,150 pounds at slaughter, and to consume 
54.5 bushels of corn.  In the yearling finishing 
operation, the cattle are assumed to weigh 750 
pounds when they enter the feedlot, to weigh 
1,250 pounds at slaughter, and to consume 57.5 
bushels of corn. The gross margin is the estimated 
revenue from selling a finshed animal minus the 
purchase cost of the animal and the corn fed. The 
LGM policy provides insurance for the difference 
between the Gross Margin Guarantee and the 
Actual Total Gross Margin based on the producer’s 
target marketings.  

Livestock Gross Margin: A new risk management 
tool for cattle feeders

By Ron Hook, ISUE Farm Management Field Specialist, rhook@iastate.edu

Each insurance period for LGM is eleven months 
long.  No cattle can be insured during the first 
month of any insurance period.  A producer must 
prepare a Target Marketing Report showing the 
number of cattle to be covered in each month of 
the insurance period, i.e., expected sales.  The 
maximum number of cattle that can be covered 
is 5,000 head in any one insurance period and 
10,000 head in any insurance year (July 1 through 
June 30).

Livestock Gross Margin insurance is sold by many 
crop insurance agents; check with yours for more 
details.  The expected and actual gross margins for 
each month are available at the following website: 
http://www3.rma.usda.gov/apps/livestock_re-
ports/.  More information is also available at:  
http://www.rma.usda.gov/livestock/.  

Cattle prices have declined recently and many 
forecasters have indicated that cattle prices may 
begin to decline later this year or into next year.  
This looks like a good time to put some risk 
management in place in the form of either a price 
floor or a guaranteed minimum gross margin.  LRP 
insurance will lock in a minimum price for selling 
calves, yearlings, or finished cattle.  LGM insur-
ance will lock in a minimum gross margin for 
finishing calves or yearlings.  (For more details see 
AgDM Information File B1-51, available at: http://
www.extension.iastate.edu/agdm/livestock/html/
b1-51.html.)



. . . and justice for all
The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) prohibits dis-
crimination in all its programs and activities on the basis of 
race, color, national origin, gender, religion, age, disability, 
political beliefs, sexual orientation, and marital or family 
status. (Not all prohibited bases apply to all programs.) 
Many materials can be made available in alternative formats 
for ADA clients. To file a complaint of discrimination, write 

Permission to copy
Permission is given to reprint ISU Extension materials 
contained in this publication via copy machine or other 
copy technology, so long as the source (Ag Decision 
Maker Iowa State University Extension ) is clearly 
identifiable and the appropriate author is properly 
credited.

USDA, Office of Civil Rights, Room 326-W, Whitten Build-
ing, 14th and Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 
20250-9410 or call 202-720-5964.
Issued in furtherance of Cooperative Extension work, Acts 
of May 8 and June 30, 1914, in cooperation with the U.S. 
Department of Agriculture. Jack M. Payne, director, Coopera-
tive Extension Service, Iowa State University of Science and 
Technology, Ames, Iowa. 
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Internet updates
The following updates have been added to www.extension.iastate.edu/agdm.

Livestock Gross Margin: A Risk Management Tool for Cattle Feeders – B1-51 (3 pages)

Partial Budgeting – C1-50 (2 pages)

Peter Drucker and Innovation – C5-10 (1 page)

Designing Successful Business Teams – C5-114 (2 pages)

Solving Conflicts Between Business Associates – C5-115 (2 pages)

Improving Value-added Business Communication Skills – C5-116 (2 pages)

Writing Press Releases – C5-132 (2 pages)

Writing a Newsletter – C5-133 (1 page)

Decision Tools

Storage Capacity – Use this decision tool to calculate the storage capacity of multiple types of 
grain storage facilities.

Partial Budgeting – Use this decision tool to evaluate the financial effect of incremental changes 
for a farm business.

Upcoming Events

Soil Management and Land Valuation Conference
Sponsored by the ISU College of Agriculture and ISU Extension, the Soil Management and Land Valuation 
Conference is intended for farm managers, rural appraisers, real estate brokers and others interested in the 
land use and farm real estate markets in Iowa. The Iowa Real Estate Commission has approved this confer-
ence for six hours of continuing education for renewal of a real estate and broker’s license. This conference 
also has been approved for six hours of continuing education for Iowa Appraisal License renewal. It will 
be held in Ames, Iowa on May 17, 2006. For more information and to register, visit http://www.ucs.iastate.
edu/mnet/soilmanagement/home.html. 

Ag Credit School
The Ag Credit School is a complete learning experience for agricultural lenders that combines coursework, 
case-studies, computer applications, and in-depth personal attention from instructors. It is held June 5-9 on 
the Iowa State University campus in Ames, Iowa. This conference is sponsored by Iowa State University and 
the Iowa Bankers Association. For more information and to register, visit http://www.ucs.iastate.edu/mnet/
iowaacs/home.html. 


