## THE IOWA AWARD

The Iowa Award represents the state's highest citizen award. The Iowa Centennial Memorial Foundation, established in 1948 by Governor Robert D. Blue and the Iowa General Assembly, created the award. The foundation wished "to encourage and recognize the outstanding service of Iowans in the fields of science, medicine, law, religion, social welfare, education, agriculture, industry, government, and other public service" and to recognize the "merit of their accomplishments in Iowa and throughout the United States."

The foundation bestows the Iowa Award approximately every five years and finances the event with money from the foundation's trust fund. By giving "awards, medals, or any other proper means of recognition," the foundation and the State of Iowa applaud the "outstanding ability, service and achievement by Iowans" and take pride in sharing the outstanding benefits of their accomplishments.

## **Iowa Award Recipients**

1951	President Herbert Hoover
	(engineer, humanitarian, author, and U.S. President)
1955	Jay N. Darling
	(cartoonist, conservationist, Pulitzer Prize winner)
1961	Dr. Frank Spedding
	(educator, chemist, worked on the first atomic bomb)
1961	Dr. James Van Allen
	(educator, physicist, rocket space exploration)
1966	Henry A. Wallace
	(U.S. Secretary of Agriculture, Vice President of the United States)
1970	Mamie Eisenhower
	(First Lady, wife of President Dwight D. Eisenhower)
1975	Dr. Karl King
	(composer, bandmaster)
1978	Dr. Norman Borlaug
	(crop geneticist, worked to end world hunger, Nobel Peace Prize winner)
1980	Monsignor Luigi Liguitti
	(director, National Catholic Rural Life Conference)
1984	George Gallup
	(founder of the Gallup poll)
1988	Meredith Willson
	(composer, musician)

(leader in suffrage movement and for world peace)

1992 Carrie Lane Chapman Catt

1996 Simon Estes (international opera singer) 1999 Maurice Lasansky (artist, educator) 1999 John Astanasoff (physicist, mathematician, educator, inventor of the first electronic digital computer) 2001 John Ruan (innovative entrepreneur, philanthropist, World Food Prize sponsor) 2002 George Washington Carver (internationally renowned scientist and humanitarian) 2005 Robert D. Ray (Governor, statesman, mayor, university president, lawyer, and insurance executive) 2006 Harry Hopkins (founder of WPA programs under Presidents Roosevelt and Truman) 2009 Grant Wood (artist) William C. "Bill" Knapp 2010

2012 Richard "Dick" O. Jacobson (transportation pioneer, entrepreneur, and philanthropist)

(philanthropist, business and community leader)