The Iowa Civil Rights Commission:

The Mission

The mission of the Iowa Civil Rights Commission is to eliminate discrimination and to establish equality and justice for all persons within the state through civil rights enforcement, advocacy and education.

The powers and duties of the commission are to eliminate discrimination by (1) processing civil rights complaints in the most efficient and effective manner possible; (2) educating the public through workshops, consultations, and publications; and (3) advocating tolerant and anti-discriminatory attitudes and behavior.

The Iowa Civil Rights Act of 1965, cited as Iowa Code Section 601 A, prohibits discrimination based on certain characteristics. Discrimination is prohibited in employment, public accommodations or services, housing, education, credit, aiding or abetting and retaliation.

The protected personal characteristics include:

Age (in employment and credit only)





Physical and Mental Disability (mental disability not protected in credit)


Marital Status (in credit only)

National Origin

Familial Status (in housing and credit only)

Protected also are persons who are coerced or compelled to participate in discriminatory practices or persons who are discriminated against because they oppose acts forbidden by Section 601A, obey provisions of Section 601A, or participate in proceedings under Section 601A.

The Iowa Civil Rights Commission is a state administrative agency responsible for enforcing the Iowa Civil Rights Act of 1965, as amended, the state's anti-discrimination law. The seven member commission is responsible for key policy-making and final contested case decision- . making. The commissioners are appointed by the governor subject to confirmation by the Senate. The commissioners who served during FY 90 are listed on page 5 [see commissioners].

Executive Director Inga Bumbary-Langston, who has served in that position since 1986, manages the day-to-day operation of the agency. lone G. Shadduck, director of compliance, and

Ron Pothast, director of administration, complete the management team. They direct a staff of 35
plus two assistant attorneys general assigned to the agency by the Department of Justice, and two volunteers.

A table of organization showing the staff positions and lines of authority is located on page 25 [see staff].

1990 Annual Main Page