Citizens to be awarded the
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
Lifetime Achievement Award

The recipients of the 2000 Martin Luther King, Jr. Lifetime Achievement Awards are Iowans who have shown their dedication and commitment to breaking racial barriers and serving the people of their individual communities. Monroe Colston and Dr. Julius Connor, both of Des Moines, and JoAnn Jordan of Waterloo will be presented their awards at a special ceremony at the New State Historical Building on January 17, 2000. The Historical Building is located at 600 East Locust Street in Des Moines. The program begins at 11:00 AM and is free and open to the public.
The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Ceremony is a state celebration sponsored by the Iowa Commission on the Status of African-Americans. Past awardees include former Lt. Governor Joy Corning, Reverend Wilson Rideout, Mrs. Mary Louise Smith and Mrs. Beulah Webb.

Click here for more information about the 2000 Dr. Martin Luther King Celebration.

This page was last updated on Thursday, 14-Mar-2002 15:22:39 CST.

January Issue-Home
Publication Library

Status of African-Americans - Home