PRIVATE SECURITY AGENT (SECURITY GUARD)

Licensing Tina Woosley

Authority Private Security Agency Licensing

Program Services Bureau

Iowa Department of Public Safety Wallace State Office Bldg 3rd FI Des Moines IA 50319-0045

Phone: (515) 281-7610 Fax: (515) 281-8921

E-mail: piinfo@dps.state.ia.us

Authority

Legal Code of Iowa, Chapter 80A; Iowa Administrative Code 661, Chapter 2

Job A private security agent (security guard) provides patrol or guard services for **Description** residences, industrial property or business property. This is to protect people or property, to prevent the unlawful taking of goods and merchandise, or to prevent the misappropriation or concealment of goods, merchandise, money, securities, or other valuable documents or papers. They may also operate armored cars and must file written reports concerning activities for the client.

Education & Experience Required

A person wishing to become a licensed, independent guard **must**:

- 1) be at least 18 years of age and a citizen of the United States,
- 2) be of good moral character, have no convictions for an aggravated misdemeanor or a felony, and have never been convicted of assault resulting from domestic abuse.
- 3) not be an abuser of alcohol or controlled substance, nor have a history of mental illness, instability or a history of repeated acts of violence,
- 4) submit pictures, fingerprints and license fee(s) along with a completed application to the Commissioner of Public Safety,
- 5) pass a written examination,
- 6) be able to show proof of financial responsibility and must be approved for a \$5,000 surety bond; this will be \$10,000 if applying for more than one license under this chapter.

For those wishing to work as an employee for an agency, only the *first four* requirements above apply. Licensed agencies must also submit an employee I.D. card application along with the items in number four. The agency purchases these applications (\$10 each) from the Department of Public Safety prior to the employee completing it.

Continuing Education

There are no continuing education requirements.

Examination Applicants must pass Private Security License Exam, which is given by the

Department of Public Safety at the Wallace State Office Building once a month.

Fees License: (Security Guard, Bail Enforcement Agent, Private Investigator):

\$100 – each license

\$100 for each two-year license. The Department of Public Safety is Renewal:

responsible for sending out renewal notices (usually 30 days prior to

license expiration).

Exam: None

Other: Application – \$10 - Identification Card fee (one card needed, no

matter how many license types; no expiration, to work for that

particular agency only)

\$2 - Application Packet (in person) \$3 - Application Packet (by mail)

SOC Code, 33-9032 – Security Guards (\$9.01)

Title, & Avg. Hourly Wage

Number of Total number of licenses active as of December 31,

Licenses 2001: 108 **Issued** 2000: 108