
PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR  
 

 
Licensing 
Authority 

Tina Woosley 
Private Investigative Agency Licensing  
Program Services Bureau 
Iowa Department of Public Safety 
Wallace State Office Bldg 3rd Fl 
Des Moines IA 50319-0045 
Phone: (515) 281-7610 
Fax:     (515) 281-8921 
E-mail:  piinfo@dps.state.ia.us 

  
Legal  

Authority 
Code of Iowa, Chapter 80A; Iowa Administrative Code, Chapter 2 

  
Job  

Description 
Private investigators conduct private investigations for the purposes of: obtaining 
information on habits, conduct, movements, whereabouts, associations, 
transactions, reputations or character of individuals; examining the credibility of 
witnesses or other persons; obtaining information leading to the recovery of lost 
or stolen property; determining the cause of or responsibility for fires, accidents or 
injuries to property; and, locating missing persons.  They write reports about 
investigations or findings for clients, report criminal information to police and 
testify in court.  They may also administer lie detector tests by use of a polygraph 
machine (Polygraph Examiner licenses are now included within Private 
Investigators.) 

  
Education & 
Experience 

Required 

A person wishing to become a licensed, independent private investigator must: 
 
1) be at least 18 years of age and a citizen of the United States, 
2) be of good moral character, have no convictions for an aggravated 
 misdemeanor or a felony, and have never been convicted of assault resulting 
 from domestic abuse,  
3) not be an abuser of alcohol or controlled substance, nor have a history of 
 mental illness, instability or a history of repeated acts of violence, 
4) submit pictures, fingerprints and license fee(s) along with a completed 
 application to the Commissioner of Public Safety, 
 
5) pass a written examination, 
6) be able to show proof of financial responsibility and must be approved for a 
 $5,000 surety bond; this will be $10,000 if applying for more than one license 
 under this chapter. 
 
For those wishing to work as an employee for an agency, only the first four 
requirements above apply.  Licensed agencies must also submit an employee 
I.D. card application along with the items in number four.  The agency purchases 
these applications ($10 each) from the Department of Public Safety prior to the 
employee completing it. 



  
Continuing 
Education 

During the two-year period preceding the agency license expiration date, license 
holders and their employees must complete a minimum of twelve hours of 
acceptable continuing education courses. 

  
Examination Applicants must pass the Private Investigative Agency License Exam, which is 

given by the Department of Public Safety at the Wallace State Office Building 
once a month. 

  
Fees License: (Private Investigator, Security Guard, Bail Enforcement Agent): 

 $100 – each license  
Renewal: $100 for each two-year license.  The Department of Public Safety is 
  responsible for sending out renewal notices (usually 30 days prior to 
  license expiration).   
Exam: None 
Other: Application – $10 - Identification Card fee  (one card needed, no 
 matter how many license types; no expiration, to work for that 
 particular agency only) 
 $2 - Application Packet (in person) 
 $3 - Application Packet (by mail) 

  
SOC Code,  

Title,  & Avg. 
Hourly Wage 

33-9021 – Private Detectives and Investigators ($14.29) 
 

  
Number of 

Licenses  
Issued 

Total number of licenses active as of December 31,  
2001:  225 
2000:  209 
 
 

 


	Private Investigator

