# LAWYER

Licensing Keith Richardson Authority

Board of Law Examiners Iowa Supreme Court

State Capitol Bldg

Des Moines IA 50319-0007 Phone: (515) 281-5911 (515) 242-6164 Fax:

E-mail: keith.richardson@jb.state.ia.us

Legal **Authority** 

Iowa Code 602.10101; Supreme Court Rule 100

**Job** Lawyers conduct criminal and civil lawsuits, draft legal documents, advise clients **Description** as to legal rights, and practice other phases of law. They gather evidence in divorce, civil criminal, and other cases to formulate defense or to initiate legal action; represent clients in court and before quasi-judicial or administrative agencies of government; may act as trustee, guardian, conservator, or executor; may teach college courses in law; and, may specialize in a particular phase of law.

# Education & Experience

An applicant for admission to practice law in Iowa must submit proof of graduation from a reputable law school fully accredited by the American Bar Required Association.

> Attorneys may be admitted without examination provided they have practiced law at least five of the last seven years in another state and have met other requirements for admission. In such cases, there is an admission fee. An annual assessment is imposed upon all practicing lawyers to maintain lowa's "client security" fund. Law students should file a Law Student Registration by November 1 of the year in which the person begins law school.

**Continuing** Lawyers are required to take fifteen hours of continuing legal education each **Education** year, including two hours of legal ethics for each two-year period.

**Examination** Written examinations are given in February (apply by October 1) and July (apply by March 1) of each year in Des Moines or Iowa City. The Clerk of the Iowa Supreme Court should be contacted concerning specific locations and dates for the examination. A background investigation is conducted on all prospective lawyers and a fee is assessed to defray the cost of the investigation and the written examination. The Multi-State Professional Responsibility Examination must be taken before the bar exam is taken, and the applicant must receive a scaled score of at least 80.

Admission without examination is possible provided the person has practiced law at least five of the last seven years in another state and has met other requirements for admission.

**Fees** Assessment: \$200 – Applicants are exempt from payment for the first two years,

then must pay a prorated amount until this figure is met

Renewal: \$85 – Client Security Fund – An annual fee imposed upon all

lawyers to fund disciplinary system.

Exam: \$325 – To defray investigative and written exam costs.

Other: \$25 – Law Student Registration

\$75 – If not filed timely

\$575 – For out-of-state attorneys wishing to practice in Iowa. \$10 – Continuing Legal Education (CLE) annual fee charged to all

lawyers to fund CLE administration

**SOC Code**, 23-1011 – Lawyers (\$38.87)

Title, & Avg. Hourly Wage

Number of Total number of licenses active as of December 31,

**Licenses** 2001: 7,954 **Issued** 2000: 7,849

1999: 7,699 1998: 7,664 1997: 7,592

For Drake University
Additional Office of Admissions
Information 27th & Carpenter

Des Moines IA 50311

Iowa State Bar Association

521 E Locust St

Des Moines IA 50309

University of Iowa

College of Law Placement Office

Iowa City IA 52242

The Iowa Supreme Court Web site:

<u>http://www.judicial.state.ia.us</u> (see Attorney Regulation)