Licensing Delonde Suchy Authority Board of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences Examiners Iowa Department of Public Health Lucas State Office Bldg 321 E 12th St Des Moines IA 50319-0075 Phone: (515) 281-4416 Fax: (515) 281-3121 E-mail: dsuchy@idph.state.ia.us

**Legal** Code of Iowa, Chapter 157; Iowa Administrative Code 645, Chapters 60-65 **Authority** 

Job A cosmetologist shampoos, cuts, colors, singes, bleaches, curls, styles, Description chemically curls and straightens hair for men, women and children. They may work on wigs and hairpieces, use cosmetics on customers, massage customers` scalps, do manicures and pedicures, apply artificial nails, or do nail tips and extensions. Duties may include massaging, cleansing, stimulating, exercising, beautifying, or similar techniques upon the face, neck, arms, hands, or upper part of the body with the hands or mechanical or electrical apparatus or appliances with other preparations. Cosmetologists might also sell hair care products or other beauty related items, answer the telephone, take appointments, schedule walk-in customers, operate cash register, and stock supplies.

See also Cosmetology Instructor, Electrologist, Esthetician, Manicurist, or Nail Technologist. Separate licensures are available for each.

Education & Applicants must have a high school education or have passed the General Education Development (GED) test and complete 2,100 hours of training at least ten months in duration. The 2,100 hours of training includes 615 hours in cosmetology theory, 150 hours in core life sciences, and 1,335 hours of supervised practical instruction.

Out-of-state applicants must submit proof of passing the National Interstate Council (NIC) exam as well as the Iowa Law examination.

**Continuing** Eight hours of continuing education are required biennally for license renewal. **Education** 

**Examination** Testing is arranged by the exam service. After completing the academic requirements, the person must pass the National Interstate Council (NIC) exam and the Iowa Law exam.

Testing is arranged by the exam service: Experior Assessment LLC 1360 Energy Park Dr St Paul MN 55108-5252 http://www.experioronline.com

A licensed cosmetologist can do manicuring without additional training. The exam is given six times a year.

Fees	Application: Duration: Renewal: Exam: Other:	\$50 Two years \$50 \$70 – Theory \$30 – Iowa Law \$10 – Temporary Permit
SOC Code, Title, & Avg. Hourly Wage	39-5012 – Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists (\$9.93)	
	Total number of licenses active as of December 31, 2001: 15,474	
For Additional Information	Application forms may be obtained at the board's Web site at <a href="http://www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure">http://www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure</a> or directly from the exam service.	