CERTIFIED NURSING ASSISTANT (CNA) (NURSE AIDE)

RegisteringKaren ZaabelAuthorityHealth Facilities DivisionIowa Department of Inspections and AppealsLucas State Office Bldg321 E 12th StDes Moines IA 50319-0082Phone: (515) 242-5991Fax:(515) 242-5022E-mail:kzaabel@dia.state.ia.us

Legal Code of Iowa 441, Chapter 81 Authority

Job Certified nursing assistants provide personal care including feeding, bathing, and assisting patients with personal hygiene. They check patients` vital signs, make progress assessments, deliver meals, maintain a secure environment, and perform treatments and other tasks. The CNA works under the supervision of a licensed nurse.

Education & While CNAs are not licensed in Iowa, their names are placed on the Registry and are provided with a 6-digit ID number. Thirty of the 75 required hours are clinical.

Nurse aides working in certified skilled nursing facilities and nursing facilities are required to be on a nurse aide registry. If a nurse aide does not work at that occupation for two years, the aide will have to retake both competency tests to get their status updated on the Registry and to be eligible to work in Iowa. The cost of training is a minimum of \$200; however, nurse aides employed in certified skilled nursing/nursing facilities are not required to pay for the cost of training or testing.

Guidelines and requirements for CNAs vary according to where the individual is going to work. Therefore, if interested in this occupation, contact the Department of Inspections and Appeals (515) 242-5991 for further information.

Individuals found guilty of abusing, neglecting, or mistreating residents by a court of law or had a finding of abuse, neglect, mistreatment or misappropriation of resident property entered on the state nurse aide registry would not be able to be employed in a long-term care facility.

Certification as a nurse aide provides the individual with education needed to pursue additional opportunities to work as a medication aide, rehabilitation aide, hospital nurse aide, home health aide and will eventually become a prerequisite for entering nursing school.

- **Continuing** If employed as a nurse aide in a certified long-term care facility, the aide must receive 12 hours of in-service training per year. The employer usually provides this training.
- **Examination** At the end of the training period, the applicant is required to take both a written and a practical exam if employed in a nursing facility. The exam may be administered at the training facility.

Fees	Application: Duration: abuse Renewal: Exam: Other:	None Certificates are good unless there should arise an allegation of or in case of unemployment. None \$100 \$150 (minimum) for training, except for those aides working in certified nursing homes and are not required to pay this fee. This fee is typically paid by the employer.
	-	\$150 (minimum) for training, except for those aides working in certified nursing homes and are not required to pay this fee. This

SOC Code, 31-1012 – Nursing Aides, Orderlies, and Attendants (\$9.31)

Title, & Avg. Hourly Wage

- Number of Total number of licenses active as of December 31,
- Licenses 2001: 32,753 (active and eligible to work)
 - **Issued** 2000: 31,381

1999: 30,841

1998: 33,221

1997: 31,485

Approximately 150-300 individuals are tested each month in Iowa.