Contact: Supreme Court Clerk's Office

Statehouse, Des Moines 50319


Board of Law Examiners
The Board of Law Examiners is under the jurisdiction of the Iowa Supreme Court.

Jill Thompson Hansen, chair, Des Moines, term expires 2000; Diane Kutzko, vice-chair, Cedar Rapids, term expires 2000; David Brown, Des Moines, term expires 2001; David Mason, Cedar Falls, term expires 2002; Tom Bice, Ft. Dodge, term expires 2002

Lay members
Syl Scotza, Orange City, term expires 2001; Dr. Martha Hoard, Fort Dodge, term expires 2002


Board of Examiners for Court Shorthand Reporters

The Board of Examiners for Court Shorthand Reporters was authorized by the 38th General Assembly and its rules were amended by the 65th General Assembly. The examiners are appointed by the governor with the approval of two-thirds of the members of the Senate. Under law, three of the members must be certified shorthand reporters and two members represent the general public. A certified member shall be actively engaged in the practice of certified shorthand reporting and shall have been so engaged for five years preceding the appointment, the last two of which shall have been in Iowa. The board conducts examinations of those seeking to become certified shorthand reporters.

Mary Ann Brown, chair, Burlington, term expires 2000; Thomas T. Kierski, secretary, Ft. Dodge, term expires 1999; Dianne Schuetts, Sioux City, term expires 2001; Shirley Hatcher, Council Bluffs, term expires 1999; Mervin E. Vaughn, Des Moines, term expires 2000


Commission on Judicial Qualifications

Under a 1972 amendment to the Iowa Constitution and the provisions of Chapter 602 of the Code, there is a Commission on Judicial Qualifications which receives and investigates complaints about the qualifications of Supreme Court justices, Court of Appeals judges, district court judges, and district associate judges. The commission can apply to the Supreme Court to retire, discipline, or remove a judge.

The commission has seven members. Four are appointed by the governor and are subject to Senate confirmation; three, including a district court judge, are appointed by the chief justice.


Judicial Magistrate Appointing Commissions

Each county in the state has such a commission. Its duty is to appoint the number of judicial magistrates allotted to the county by the state court administrator. Each commission is composed of a district court judge designated by the chief judge of the judicial district, two attorneys elected by the bar of the county, and three members appointed by the board of supervisors of the county.


Judicial Nominating Commissions

Under a constitutional amendment adopted in 1962, and the provisions of Chapter 46, Iowa Code, 1985, there is one State Judicial Nominating Commission and 14 District Judicial Nominating Commissions, one in each of the 14 judicial election districts.

The state commission submits nominees for a vacancy on the Supreme Court or Court of Appeals. The commission is comprised of 15 members, seven elected by the bar, seven appointed by the governor, and the senior member of the Supreme Court other than the chief justice. The Supreme Court member is the chair of this commission.

The district commissions submit nominees for a vacancy on the district court bench in their respective judicial election districts. The district commissions have 11 members, five elected by the bar, five appointed by the governor, and the senior judge in the judicial election district who is the chair of the commission.