Tom Harkin - Cumming (D)

731 Hart Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510 202/224-3254

Birth: November 19, 1939, Cumming. Parents: Patrick and Frances Harkin. Education: Attended schools in Cumming and Dexter; graduated Dowling High School, Des Moines, 1958; B.S., Iowa State University, 1962; J.D., Catholic University of America, 1972. Military Service: U.S. Navy jet pilot, 1962-1967; commander, U.S. Naval Air Reserve. Spouse: Ruth Raduenz Harkin. Children: 2 daughters, Amy and Jenny. Profession and Activities: Attorney, Polk County Legal Aid Society, 1973. Named Outstanding Young Alumnus by Iowa State University Alumni Association, 1974. Elected to 94th Congress, November 1974. Re-elected in 1976, 1978, 1980, and 1982. Elected United States Senate, 1984, re-elected in 1990 and 1996. Candidate for Democratic Presidential nomination, 1992. Member: Agriculture (Ranking Member); Appropriations; Health; Education; Labor; Pension (HELP) and Small Business Committees. Salary: $136,700. Term: expires January 2003.

Iowa Offices: 733 Federal Building, 210 Walnut St., Des Moines, 50309; 515/284-4574

110 Federal Building, 320 Sixth St., Sioux City, 51101; 712/252-1550





Charles E. Grassley - New Hartford (R)

135 Hart Senate Office Bldg, Washington, D.C., 20510-1501 202/224-3744

Birth: September 17, 1933, New Hartford. Education: Graduated New Hartford High School, 1951; B.A., University of Northern Iowa, 1955; M.A., 1956; attended the University of Iowa, 1957-1958. Spouse: Barbara. Children: 5. Grandchildren: 9. Profession and Activities: Farmer and partner with son, Robin. Member: Baptist Church, Farm Bureau, Iowa Historical Society, Pi Gamma Mu, Kappa Delta Pi, Mason, International Association of Machinists, 1962-1971. Member: Iowa House of Representatives, 1959-1975; U.S. House of Representatives, 1975-1981. Elected to U.S. Senate, 1980; re-elected 1986, 1992 and 1998. Member: Finance, Judiciary, Budget and Agriculture Committees. Chair: International Trade Subcommittee; Administrative Oversight and Courts Subcomm.; Senate Special Comm. on Aging; Senate Caucus on International Narcotics Control. Member: Immigration Subcommittee; Youth Violence Subcomm.; Taxation and IRS Oversight Subcommittee; Health Care Subcomm.; Production and Price Competitiveness Subcomm.; Forestry, Conservation and Rural Revitalization Subcommittee; Joint Comm. on Taxation; Congressional Advisor on Trade Policy. Salary: $133,600. Term: expires January 2005.

Iowa Offices: 721 Federal Bldg, 210 Walnut St, Des Moines, 50309; 515/284-4890

210 Waterloo Bldg, 531 Commercial St, Waterloo, 50701; 319/232-6657

206 Federal Bldg, 101 First St S.E., Cedar Rapids, 52401; 319/363-6832

103 Federal Bldg, 320 Sixth St, Sioux City, 51101; 712/233-1860

116 Federal Bldg, 131 East 4th St, Davenport, 52801; 319/322-4331