
Warning period and issuance of citations

During an educational period from July 1, 2010, 
through June 30, 2011, law enforcement offi  cers will 
only be issuing warnings to violators of this law. After 
June 30, 2011, violators will be issued a citation, and 
be guilty of a simple misdemeanor punishable by a 
fi ne of $30, plus a $10.50 surcharge and $60 in court 
costs, or a total cost of at least $100.50. 

A conviction for a violation of the texting law is not 
a moving violation and generally will not result in a 
suspension of a person’s driver’s license. However, 
a driver convicted of operating a motor vehicle in 
violation of this law causing serious injury to or the 
death of a person may be subject to the following 
penalties, in addition to the penalty provided for a 
scheduled violation in Iowa Code section 805.8A or 
any other penalty provided by law. 

 z For a violation causing serious injury, a fi ne of 
  $500 or suspension of the violator’s driver’s 
  license or operating privileges for not more  
  than 90 days, or both.
 z For a violation causing death, a fi ne of $1,000 
  or suspension of the violator’s driver’s license or 
  operating privileges for not more than 180 days, 
  or both. 

Seat belts required for teen drivers and 

passengers
The new law requires any person under age 18 who is 
a passenger in the back seat of a motor vehicle to be 
secured by a seat belt, safety harness or child restraint 
system. 

This new law is in addition to the existing laws 
that require all drivers and front-seat passengers 
(regardless of age) to wear a seat belt; and 
prohibit teens holding a GDL instruction permit 
or intermediate license from transporting more 
passengers in their vehicle than available safety belts. 

Enforcement 

Law enforcement will be issuing citations to violators 
of this law eff ective July 1, 2010. This law does not 
have a warning educational period. 

Who may be cited for a violation of this law?

 1. The owner of a 1966 or newer vehicle, if the 
  vehicle is not equipped with safety belts, or if 
           the belts are not usable.
 2. The driver of a vehicle for improper or nonuse 
           of a safety belt or safety harness.
 3. The front-seat passengers for improper or 
  nonuse of safety belt or safety harness.  
 4. A driver who violates Iowa’s Child Restraint 
  Devices law by not restraining or improperly 
  restraining a child. [Note: A driver shall not be 
  charged for a violation committed by a 
  passenger who is 14 years old or older, unless 
  the passenger is unable to properly fasten the 
  seat belt due to a temporary or permanent 
  disability.]
 5. The parent, legal guardian or other responsible 
  adult traveling with a child being transported 
           in a taxicab in a manner that is not in 
           compliance with the Child Restraint Devices 
           law.
 6. A teen driver holding a restricted driver’s 
           license who has more passengers in the 
           vehicle than number of seat belts.
 7. A teen passenger (at least 14 years of age 
  and under age 18) riding in a back seat of a 
  motor vehicle for improper or nonuse of a 
  safety belt or safety harness, unless the 
  individual is unable to properly fasten the 
  seat belt due to a temporary or permanent   
  disability.

A person who is fi rst charged for a violation of the 
Child Restraint Devices law that requires children 
under age six to be secured in a child restraint 
system, and who has not purchased or otherwise 
acquired a child restraint system, shall not be 
convicted, if the person produces in court, within 
a reasonable time, proof that the person has 
purchased or otherwise acquired a child restraint 
system that meets federal motor vehicle safety 
standards. 

Will a violation of the seat belt law go on my 

driving record?

Although not considered a moving violation, a 
conviction for violating a seat belt law will go on a 
person’s driving record.  

For a young person holding a restricted 
license, the violation will be considered when 
determining whether their driver’s license should 
be suspended, revoked or cancelled.

For a person holding an unrestricted full license, 
the violation will not be considered when 
determining whether their driver’s license should 
be suspended, revoked or cancelled. 

What is the fi ne for not buckling up?

A person who violates the Safety Belts and Safety 
Harnesses law (Iowa Code 321.445) is guilty of a 
simple misdemeanor punishable as a scheduled 
violation of Iowa Code section 805.8A (14)(c)(1), 

which carries a 
scheduled fi ne of 
$50, plus a $17.50 
surcharge and $60 in 
court costs, for a total 
penalty of at least 
$127.50.

A person who violates the Child Restraint 
Devices law (Iowa Code 321.446) is guilty of a 
simple misdemeanor punishable as a scheduled 
violation of Iowa Code section 805.8A (14)(c)(2), 
which carries a scheduled fi ne of $100, plus a 
$35 surcharge and $60 in court costs, for a total 
penalty of at least $195.
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New safety laws for teen drivers 
Two new Iowa highway safety laws that aff ect teen 
drivers and passengers take eff ect July 1, 2010. 

 House File 2456

 z Prohibits teens holding a “restricted” driver’s 
  license from using electronic communication 
  and electronic entertainment devices while 
  driving.
 z Prohibits teens holding a graduated driver’s  
  license (GDL) full license (as well as all other 
  persons holding unrestricted driver‘s licenses) 
  from texting while driving. 

 Senate File 2381 

 z Requires persons under age 18 to wear a safety
  belt, safety harness 
  or use a safety 
  restraint system 
  while driving or as 
  a passenger in a 
  motor vehicle. 

Prohibits use of electronic devices while 

driving
House File 2456 states that drivers under age 18 
issued a restricted license shall not use an electronic 
communication device or electronic entertainment 
device while driving a motor vehicle, unless the 
motor vehicle is at a complete stop off  the traveled 
portion of the roadway. 

The law does not apply to use of electronic 
equipment permanently installed in the motor 
vehicle or a portable device operated through 
permanently installed equipment, like OnStar.  

What is a “restricted” driver’s license?
There are four types of “restricted” driver’s licenses 
issued by the State of Iowa.

 1. Graduated driver’s license (GDL) instruction  

  permit – available at age 14 for driving under 
  the supervision of a parent/guardian, immediate 
  family member over 21, driver education 
  teacher, or driver over age 25 with written   
  permission of the parent/guardian. 

 2. GDL intermediate license – available at age 
  16 to persons who meet all the conditions of 
  an instruction permit, and have a six-month 
          crash-free and traffi  c moving violation-free 
          period immediately preceding application for 
          the license. The license holder is allowed to 
  drive at certain times of the day without 
  supervision.  

 3. Minor school license – available at age 14½ 
  to a person who has completed a driver’s 
  education course, held an instruction permit 
  during the six-month period immediately 
  preceding application for the license, has a 
  clean driving record, lives one mile or more 
  from school, and has permission from the 
  school and their parent/guardian. 

 4. Special restricted license – available to 
  persons between the ages of 16 and 18 who 
  have completed an approved driver’s 
  education course, are not attending school 
  and have not met the requirements to 
  graduate from school, and need a driver’s 
  license to travel to and from work, and to 
  transport dependents to and from day care 
  to maintain employment.

Warnings and citations
During an educational period from July 1, 2010, 
through June 30, 2011, law enforcement offi  cers 
shall issue violators of this law a warning. After June 
30, 2011, violators will be issued a citation. The fi ne 
is $50, plus a $17.50 
criminal surcharge and 
$60 in court costs, or a 
total of at least $127.50.

Driver’s license 

suspensions and 

revocations 
Minor school license holders

A conviction for a violation of this law will result in 
a 30-day suspension. A conviction of two or more 
violations will result in a revocation for one year. If 
the license is revoked, reinstatement procedures 
will also require posting of proof of fi nancial 
responsibility (SR22 insurance) for two years and 
payment of a $50 civil penalty, in addition to a 

reinstatement and new license fee. A suspension or 
revocation of a minor school license also withdraws 
the instruction permit or any other driving privilege.

Iowa’s GDL law requires that before a driver 
upgrades to the intermediate license, the immediate 
six-month period prior to application be free of 
contributive accidents, convictions for moving 
traffi  c violations and sanctions. The driving 
privilege must not be expired. If the minor school 
license is suspended, revoked or expired, the 
six-month period will start over beginning on the 
reinstatement date or renewal date of the minor 
school license. 

If a violation causes a serious injury, a court could 
impose an additional fi ne of $500 or suspend the 
person’s driver’s license for not more than 90 days, 
or both. If the violation causes a death, a court could 
impose an additional fi ne of $1,000 or suspend the 
person’s driver’s license for not more than 180 days, 
or both. 

GDL instruction permit holders

Persons who hold a GDL instruction permit must 
maintain a consecutive six-month crash-free and 
moving traffi  c violation-free driving period to 
qualify to move up to the GDL intermediate level. A 
conviction for a violation of this law will result in a 
30-day suspension. As a result, the six-month crash-
free and moving traffi  c violation-free period must 
be restarted, which will begin on the date that the 
person’s driving privilege is reinstated.     

If a violation causes a serious injury, a court could 
impose an additional fi ne of $500 or suspend the 
person’s driver’s license for not more than 90 days, 
or both. If the violation causes a death, a court could 
impose an additional fi ne of $1,000 or suspend the 
person’s driver’s license for not more than 180 days, 
or both.

GDL intermediate license holders

Persons who hold a GDL intermediate license must 
drive crash-free and moving traffi  c violation-free 
for 12 consecutive months to qualify for a GDL full 
license. The Iowa DOT may suspend for 30 days the 
driver’s license of an intermediate license holder for 
a conviction of a violation of this law. As a result, the 
12-month crash-free and moving traffi  c violation-

free period must be restarted, which will begin on the 
date that the person’s driving privilege is reinstated.     

If a violation causes a serious injury, a court could 
impose an additional fi ne of $500 or suspend the 
person’s driver’s license for not more than 90 days, 
or both. If the violation causes a death, a court could 
impose an additional fi ne of $1,000 or suspend the 
person’s driver’s license for not more than 180 days, 
or both. 

Special restricted license 

The Iowa DOT may suspend for 30 days a person’s 
special restricted license for the fi rst conviction of a 
violation of this law. The Iowa DOT shall revoke the 
license upon receiving a record of conviction for two 
or more violations of any law of this state or a city 
ordinance regulating the operation of motor vehicles 
on highways, except parking violations. If revoked, 
the Iowa DOT shall not grant an application for a new 
driver’s license until the expiration of one year or 
until the person attains the age of 18, whichever is 
the longer period.

If a violation causes a serious injury, a court could 
impose an additional fi ne of $500 or suspend the 
person’s driver’s license for not more than 90 days, 
or both. If the violation causes a death, a court could 
impose an additional fi ne of $1,000 or suspend the 
person’s driver’s license for not more than 180 days, 
or both. 

Prohibits texting while driving
Teens that hold a GDL full license (third step of the 
GDL program) are prohibited 
from using a handheld 
electronic communication 
device to write, send or read 
a text message while driving 
a motor vehicle, unless the 
vehicle is at a complete stop 
off  the traveled portion of 
the roadway. 

A person does not violate this law by using a global 
positioning system or navigation system. 


