
Iowa Department of Transportation
Office of Driver Services

P.O. Box 9204
Des Moines, IA 50306-9204

For questions about the GDL system,  
call 515-244-9124 or 800-532-1121.

Federal and state laws prohibit employment and/or public accommoda-
tion discrimination on the basis of age, color, creed, disability, gender identity,  
national origin, pregnancy, race, religion, sex, sexual orientation or veteran’s status.   
If you believe you have been discriminated against, please contact the Iowa Civil Rights 
Commission at 800-457-4416 or Iowa Department of Transportation’s affirmative  
action officer.  If you need accommodations because of a disability to access the Iowa 
Department of Transportation’s services, contact the agency’s affirmative action  
officer at 800-262-0003.

Form 434002  PM 770  02-03-2012

QGDL A

Information on  Iowa’s 

GRADUATED 
DRIVER

LICENSING
 system for drivers 

under the age of 18

1. At what age does the graduated licensing process 
begin, and how many licensing steps or phases are 
there in the system?
The process begins with an instruction permit as early 
as age 14. The intermediate license is available as early 
as age 16 and the full license as early as age 17. Each 
requires the written consent of a parent, guardian, or 
custodian.  Graduated licensing does not apply to any-
one who is age 18 or older.

2. Does a parent/guardian/custodian have to pro-
vide behind-the-wheel driving experience beyond 
what is provided in a driver’s education course?
Yes. To move from an instruction permit to an inter-
mediate license, a young driver’s parent, guardian, or 
custodian must submit an affidavit showing that the 
young driver has accumulated a minimum of 20 hours 
behind-the-wheel driving experience, at least two hours 
of which must be between sunset and sunrise.  This 
driving must be done with the young driver’s parent, 
guardian, custodian, instructor, a person certified by the 
Iowa DOT, or a person at least 25 years old who has writ-
ten permission from a parent, guardian, or custodian to 
accompany the young driver.  This is in addition to any 
driving done in an approved driver education course. 
To move from an intermediate license to a full license, 
the young driver’s parent, guardian, or custodian must 
submit an affidavit showing that the young driver has 
accumulated at least 10 additional hours of behind-the-
wheel driving experience, at least two hours of which 
must be between sunset and sunrise.  This driving expe-
rience must also be done with the young driver’s par-
ent, guardian, custodian, instructor, a person certified 
by the Iowa DOT, or a person at least 25 years of age 
who has written permission from a parent, guardian, or 
custodian to accompany the young driver.

3. Is there a nighttime driving restriction on the 
intermediate license, and if so, what about work or 
late-night school activities?
Yes. The young driver must be accompanied by a quali-
fied driver between 12:30 a.m. and 5 a.m.  A “qualified 
driver” is a person who holds a driver’s license valid for 
the vehicle operated and who is the parent, guardian, or 
custodian of the young driver, a member of the young 
driver’s immediate family who is at least 21 years old, 
an approved driver education instructor, a prospective 
driver education instructor who is enrolled in a prac-
titioner preparation program with a safety education 
program approved by the state board of education, or a 
person at least 25 years old who has written permission 

from the young driver’s parent, guardian, or custodian, 
and who is actually occupying a seat beside the young 
driver.  However, the young driver may drive a vehicle 
to and from school-related extracurricular activities 
and work without an accompanying driver between 
the hours of 12:30 a.m. and 5 a.m. if the young driver 
possesses an Iowa DOT waiver. The waiver form (Waiver 
of Intermediate Driver’s License Hour Restriction, Form 
431170) may be found at www.iowadot.gov/forms, and 
is also available at schools, Iowa DOT driver’s license sta-
tions and county treasurer driver’s license issuance sites.

4. Must the young driver maintain a  
clean driving record?
Yes. To move from an instruction permit to an inter-
mediate license, the young driver must be crash- and 
violation-free for six consecutive months immediately 
before applying for the intermediate license. To move 
from an intermediate license to a full license, the young 
driver must be crash- and violation-free for 12 consecu-
tive months before applying for the full license.  During 
these periods, the young driver’s driving privilege must 
not be expired or withdrawn.

5. What happens if the young driver commits a mov-
ing violation or contributes to a crash?
If the young driver is involved in one moving violation 
or a crash to which the young driver contributed, the 
DOT may suspend his or her driving privilege, impose 
additional driving restrictions, and/or require additional 
testing. Possible restrictions to be imposed include, but 
are not limited to: 
	 A.	 No driving between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m.,  

unless accompanied by a parent, guardian, or 
custodian.

	 B.	 No passengers, unless accompanied by a 
parent, guardian, or custodian.

The crash- and violation-free period that must be 
completed before moving to an intermediate license 
or a full license begins again on the date the traffic 
violation or contributive crash occurred or on the date 
of reinstatement if the young driver’s driving privilege is 
withdrawn or suspended.

6. If a qualified intermediate driver who is 17 and 
has not yet moved to a full license is involved in a 
contributive crash or commits a moving violation, 
will that delay the move to a full license?
Yes.  An intermediate license holder MUST be crash- and 
violation-free for the 12-month period immediately 
before the application for a full license is submitted.  
Qualified intermediate license holders are therefore 
encouraged to upgrade to a full license as soon as they 
become eligible.

7.  What is a school license, and  
how does it fit in GDL?
A school license is a special minor’s license issued for 
travel to and from school. A young driver does not have 
to obtain a school permit to proceed through the GDL 
process, and in fact not all young drivers are eligible 
for a school license:  a school license may only be is-
sued to a person between the ages of 14 and 18 who 
has already obtained an instruction permit, and who 
has obtained certification of a special need from the 
school board, superintendent, or principal of the young 
driver’s school, and who has successfully completed an 
approved driver education course.  (Completion of the 
course is not required if the young driver demonstrates 
to the Iowa DOT’s satisfaction that completion of the 
course would impose a hardship upon the applicant.)  
The school license entitles the young driver to operate 
a motor vehicle (1) during the hours of 5 a.m. to 10 p.m. 
over the most direct and accessible route between the 
young driver’s residence and schools of enrollment or 
the closest school bus stop or public transportation 
service, and between schools of enrollment, for the pur-
pose of attending duly scheduled courses of instruction 
and extracurricular activities within the school district; 
(2) to a service station for the purpose of refueling, so 
long as the service station is the station closest to a 
permissible route; and (3) at any time when the licensee 
is accompanied by a qualified driver (see Q&A question 
“3” for a full explanation of who is a “qualified driver”).

An applicant for a school license must drive crash- and 
violation-free for six consecutive months immediately 
before applying for the school license.  A school license 
holder may not drive between the hours of 10 p.m. and 
5 a.m. without being accompanied by a qualified driver.  
Unlike an intermediate license holder, a  young driver 
holding and operating under a school license may not 
obtain a nighttime driving waiver (see Q&A question “3” 
for a discussion of this waiver).
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IOWA’S GDL SYSTEM
1.  INSTRUCTION PERMIT
ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 
	 •	 Must be at least 14.

	 •	 Must have written consent of parent, guard-
ian or custodian.*

	 •	 Must successfully complete a vision screening 
and a knowledge test.

CONDITIONS 
	 •	 A qualified driver must supervise all driving 

(see Q&A question “3” for a full explanation of 
who is a qualified driver).

	 •	 Number of passengers limited to number of 
safety belts available in vehicle.

	 •	 Instruction permit will have the words “under 
18” printed on it; issued for four years.

2.  INTERMEDIATE LICENSE
ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 
	 •	 Must be at least 16.

	 •	 Must have written consent of parent, guard-
ian or custodian.*

	 •	 Must have held an instruction permit for at 
least six consecutive months before applying 
for the intermediate license; the instruction 
permit may not be expired or withdrawn dur-
ing this six-month period.

	 •	 Must have driven crash- and violation-free for 
six consecutive months immediately before 
applying for the intermediate license (see box 
far right).

	 •	 Must have completed at least 20 hours of 
supervised driving; a minimum of two hours 
must have been between sunset and sunrise 
(see Q&A question “2” for discussion of per-
sons that may supervise this driving).

	 •	 Must have successfully completed an Iowa-
approved or comparable driver education 
course, including:

	 -	 30 hours of classroom instruction, which 
must include four hours of substance abuse 
education, a minimum of 20 minutes on 
railroad crossing safety and information on 
organ donation. 

	 -	 Six hours of drive time with an instructor.  
The behind-the-wheel drive time may not 
be waived by a parent, guardian or custo-
dian.

CONDITIONS 
	 •	 May drive: 
	 -	 Without supervision from 5 a.m. to  

12:30 a.m.
	 -	 Without supervision between 12:30 a.m. 

and 5 a.m., but only with an Iowa DOT 
waiver and only to and from work or 
school-related extracurricular activities.   
The waiver form (Waiver of Intermediate 
Driver’s License Hour Restriction, Form 
431170) may be found at www.iowadot.
gov/forms, and is also available at schools, 
Iowa DOT driver’s license stations and 
county treasurer driver’s license issuance 
sites.  The form must be signed and ap-
proved by the school or the employer.

		  All other driving between 12:30 a.m. and 5 
a.m. must be supervised by a qualified driver 
(see Q&A question “3” for a full explanation of 
who is a qualified driver).

	 •	 Number of passengers limited to number of 
safety belts available in vehicle.

	 •	 Intermediate license will have the words 
“under 18” printed on it; issued for two years.

Note: The intermediate license does not expire at 
age 18.  A person who is 18 or older and holds an 
intermediate license is not entitled to full driving 
privileges with no restrictions until that person 
obtains a full license.

3.  FULL LICENSE
 ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 
	 •	 Must be at least 17.

	 •	 Must have written consent of parent, guard-
ian or custodian.*

	 •	 Must have held an intermediate license for at 
least 12 consecutive months before applying 
for the full license; the intermediate license 
may not be expired or withdrawn during this 
12-month period.

	 •	 Must have driven crash- and violation-free for 
12 consecutive months immediately before 
applying for the full license (see box far right).

	 •	 Must have completed at least 10 additional 
hours of supervised driving; minimum of two 
hours must be between sunset and sunrise 
(see “Q&A” question “2” for discussion of per-
sons that may supervise this driving).

Note: These requirements do not apply to a 
person who has turned 18 and is seeking a full 
license.

CONDITIONS
	 •	 Full driving privileges with no restrictions.

	 •	 For drivers under age 18 or age 21, the license 
shall have the words “under 18” or “under 
21,” respectively, printed on it; issued for five 
years to person age 17 years and 11 months 
or older, and for two years to person younger 
than 17 years and 11 months.

REMEDIAL 
DRIVER IMPROVEMENT
Drivers under the age of 18 will be sus-
pended and/or given additional restric-
tions, and may be subject to additional 
testing, if the driver:

	 •	 Commits a moving violation.

	 •	 Is involved in a crash to which the 
driver contributed.

Possible restrictions include, but are not 
limited to:
	 1.	 No driving between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. 

unless accompanied by parent, guard-
ian, or custodian.

	 2.	 No passengers, unless accompanied by 
parent, guardian, or custodian.

The license holder must begin a six-month 
(instruction permit holder) or 12-month 
(intermediate license holder) crash- and 
violation-free driving period from the date 
the traffic violation occurred or the date 
of the contributive crash to qualify for the 
next licensing level.  If a person’s driving 
privilege is suspended, the new period be-
gins on the date the privilege is reinstated.

* Written consent of parent/guardian/custodian is required. This consent may be given using one of two options:  
(1) The parent/guardian/custodian accompanies the teenager to the driver’s license station to sign the consent form in the presence of the examiner. 

(2) The parent/guardian/custodian downloads the Parent’s Written Consent to Issue Privilege to Drive form or Affidavit to Obtain Duplicate License Form #430018 (www.dot.state.
ia.us/forms) and signs the form in the presence of a notary public. The young driver may then present the completed and notarized form to the examiner and the parent/guardian/
custodian would not have to accompany the young driver to the driver’s license station.


