
CDL study manuals are available by request from Iowa driver license loca-
tions and published on the DOT's Web site: www.dot.state.ia.us. PLEASE 
ask for your personal copy only  when you are ready to study for the test. 
This will help keep license fees down and ensure you have the most current 
study information. Please pass the study guide on to a friend when you have 
completed the testing.
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Attention Commercial Motor Vehicle Drivers:

The holder of a Class "A", "B" or "C" CDL may also operate passenger cars and other non-CMVs of similar size to the 
CMV type, except a motorcycle, without additional licensing. 

Federal law requires uniform licensing of truck and bus drivers 
(CDL) in all states and the District of Columbia.  

Commercial Driver's License (CDL) testing and issuance began 
in Iowa November 1, 1990.  A person applying for a license to 
operate a commercial motor vehicle must apply for a CDL. 
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•	 Knowledge test(s) required for all applicants.
•	 Skills test in appropriate vehicle required for all 
	 applicants. 

CDL Vehicle/License Classification System

Type "A" Vehicle/Class "A" CDL
Any combination of vehicles with a GCWR of 26,001 or more pounds, provided the GVWR of the vehicle (s) 
being towed is in excess of 10,000 pounds.

Examples include, but are not limited to:

The holders of a Class A license may, with appropriate endorsements, operate vehicles within Types B and C. 

Type "B" Vehicle/Class "B" CDL
Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds, or any such vehicle towing a vehicle not in excess 
of 10,000 pounds GVWR.

Examples include, but are not limited to: 

The holders of a Class B license may, with appropriate endorsements, operate vehicles within Type C.

Type "C" Vehicle/Class "C" CDL
Any single vehicle less than 26,001 pounds GVWR, or any such vehicle towing a vehicle not in excess of 10,000 
pounds GVWR. This group applies only to vehicles which are placarded for hazardous material or designed to 
transport 16 or more persons, including the driver (and similar-size passenger vehicles designed to transport 
a fewer number of handicapped persons and has a GVWR of 10,001 or more pounds).

Examples include, but are not limited to:

CDL fees: $16 - 2 years / $40 - 5 years (initial and renewal)
plus applicable endorsement or restriction fees. 



Determination of Type  
of License Required
To determine the type of license needed, the person needs 
to know some terms.  Determination of the type of license 
needed has NOT been based on registered weight since CDL 
started in 1990.  Terms you should be familiar with:
	 •	GVWR - Gross Vehicle Weight Rating.  This is the man-

ufacturer’s rating of the maximum load plus the weight of 
the vehicle.  The GVWR label may be located in the cab, 
or the trailer hitch or the front of the trailer.

	 • 	GCWR - Gross Combination Weight Rating.  This is the 
combined gross vehicle weight ratings of two or more 
units.

	 • 	Commercial Vehicle - Any vehicle with a gross vehicle 
weight rating of 10,001 pounds or more.  It is important 
in determining application of Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Regulations, but NOT for a commercial driver license.

	 • 	Commercial Motor Vehicle - A motor vehicle or combina-
tion of vehicles used to transport passengers or property 
if any of the following apply:

	 1. The combination of vehicles has a gross combination 
weight rating of twenty-six thousand one or more 
pounds provided the towed vehicle has a gross vehicle 
weight rating of ten thousand one or more pounds.

	 2. The motor vehicle has a gross vehicle weight rating 
of twenty-six thousand one or more pounds.

	 3. The motor vehicle is designed to transport sixteen or 
more persons, including the operator, or is of a size 
and design to transport sixteen or more persons, in-
cluding the operator, but is redesigned or modified to 
transport less than sixteen handicapped persons and 
the vehicle has a GVWR of 10,001 or more pounds.

	 4. The motor vehicle is used in the transportation of 
hazardous material of a type or quantity requiring 
vehicle placarding.

What’s Required to Obtain a CDL
	 •	 Must be at least age 18
	 • 	Proof of full name, date of birth and social security 
		  number 
	 • 	CDLIS (interstate computer check for driving record; must 

be clear in all states) and Iowa record check
	 • 	Vision screening
	 • 	Knowledge tests (No. of questions/allowed to miss)
	 General Knowledge for any CDL.....................50/10
	 Combination Vehicle for Class A......................20/04
	 Air Brake..........................................................25/05
	 Passenger........................................................20/04
	 School Bus......................................................20/04
	 Doubles/Triples................................................20/04
	 HazMat............................................................30/06
	 Tank.................................................................20/04
	 Iowa Operator (if applicable)............................35/07
	 • 	Skills Test (CDL)
	 You provide a representative vehicle in good  
	 working order.
	 Three-Phase Test:
	 - Pre-trip Safety Check
	 - Skills (maneuvers around cones)
	 - Driving Test (on public roads with examiner)
No CDL written or driving tests done by an agency other than 
the Iowa Department of Transportation or designated Iowa 
county treasurers are accepted.

Participation in the FMCSA random drug and alcohol testing 
program is required of all drivers required to hold a CDL.
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CDL Related  
Endorsements and Restrictions
ENDORSEMENTS
	 • 	Passenger - P - Required for any vehicle rated for 16 or 

more people including the driver, or originally designed 
for 16 or more people, but altered to provide space for 
handicapped passengers. (Written and driving test) School 
bus drivers must also have a bus permit from the Depart-
ment of Education.

	 •	 School Bus - S
	 • 	Hazardous Materials - H - Required for operating any 

vehicle carrying a quantity of hazardous materials re-
quiring placarding.  (Written test for initial issuance or 
HM out-of-state transfer and renewal and upgrade.) A 
fingerprint-based criminal history check and a security 
threat background check must first be completed before 
a hazardous materials endorsement may be initially is-
sued, renewed or transferred from one state to another. 
These checks are initiated with the agent of the federal 
Transportation Security Administration (TSA). You may 
start the checks by contacting the agent, Integrated Bio-
metric Technology (IBT), by calling 877-429-7746, or by 
visiting their Web site www.hazprints.com.

 	 • 	Doubles/Triples - T - Required when pulling multiple trail-
ers. Triples are not permitted in Iowa.  (Written test.)

	 • 	Tank - N - Required for vehicles having either permanent 
or temporary tank of 1,001 gallons or more attached.  
(Written test.)

	 • 	Tank and HM - X - Combination of the Tank and HM en-
dorsements. (Tests for Tank and HM endorsements.)

RESTRICTIONS
	 • 	L - Not valid for vehicle equipped with air brakes.  (Written 

and drive tests required to obtain air brake validation.)
	 •	 M - Class A license, but only valid for driving Class B 

passenger vehicles.
	 • 	N - Class A or B license, but only valid for driving Class 

C passenger vehicles.
	 • 	3 -  The Commercial Driver’s Instruction Permit allows 

a person to drive any commercial motor vehicle as long 
as the person occupying the seat beside the driver has 
a valid license of the correct class, endorsements and 
restrictions for the vehicle being driven.  The permit is 
valid for six months and it may only be renewed once 
in a two-year period.  The CDL general knowledge test 
is required if you currently hold a non-CDL license.  A 3 
restriction can be shown on any class license.

A person may obtain the CDL class license he/she desires 
and still carry a “3” restriction on his/her license because 
the six-month term of the instruction permit has not expired.   
The license validity would be determined by checking the 
current class, endorsements and restrictions other than the 3 
restriction.  After the permit expires, as indicated on the restric-
tion supplement, a duplicate license may be issued dropping 
the 3 restriction. However, to avoid confusion while operating 
a commercial vehicle out-of-state, you may want to consider 
dropping the 3 restriction upon upgrade to the CDL.
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License Fees
BASE CDL
2-yr............................................................................. $16.00
5-yr............................................................................. $40.00

ENDORSEMENTS
Air Brakes (drop L restriction).................................... $10.00
Passenger - P............................................................ $10.00
HM - H......................................................................... $5.00
Doubles/Triples - T....................................................... $5.00
Tank - N....................................................................... $5.00
Tank & HM - X (paid for separately)
School Bus - S........................................................... $10.00
 	
Except for HM, endorsement and restriction fees are not 
charged again unless the CDL becomes invalid.

Restricted CDL
A Restricted CDL will be issued to “suppliers or employees of 
suppliers of agricultural inputs” which are defined as “sup-
pliers or applicators of agricultural chemicals, fertilizer, seed 
or animal feeds.”  The license will be issued for Class B or 
Class C at the option of the licensee, but not as a Class 
A.  The Restricted CDL will be valid for commercial motor 
vehicles requiring tank, air brake and hazardous materials 
endorsements/restrictions, but no CDL written or driving tests 
will be required, nor will endorsement fees be charged and 
no CDL endorsements/restrictions will show on the license.  
The Restricted CDL holders may operate between the place 
of business and the farm currently being serviced, but not to 
exceed 150 miles from the place of business.  The Restricted 
CDL will be valid for up to 180 days per calendar year, but 
specific validation periods will be shown on the license restric-
tion supplement.  The periods of validity, March 15 to June 
30 and October 4 to December 14, are set by administrative 
code.  The Restricted CDL must be validated before each 
period.  The applicant may revalidate up to 30 days before 
the beginning of each period.

The only hazardous materials allowed to be carried are:
	 • 	Liquid fertilizers, such as anhydrous ammonia, in quanti-

ties of 3,000 gallons or less; and
	 • 	Solid fertilizers, such as ammonium nitrate, provided they 

are not mixed with any organic substance.



To obtain the Restricted CDL, a person must have two years 
of unaccompanied driving experience, not including Moped, 
School License or Minor Restricted License. The applicant 
must have a good driving record during the most recent two 
years.  A good driving record is defined as:
	 •	 No multiple licenses;
	 • 	No license withdrawals (suspension, revocation, etc.) of 

ANY kind;
	 • 	No convictions for driving under the influence of alcohol 

or drugs;
	 • 	No convictions for committing any felony involving a motor 

vehicle;
	 • 	No convictions for speeding 15 mph or more over the 

posted limit;
	 • 	No convictions for reckless driving;
	 • 	No convictions for improper or erratic lane changes;
	 • 	No convictions for following too closely;
	 • 	No convictions for accident-related traffic law violations; 
	 • 	No record of at-fault accidents;
	 • 	No convictions for driving a CMV without a CDL or 

without the proper class or endorsement; and
	 •	 No convictions for driving a CMV without a CDL in 

immediate possession.

The Restricted CDL will cost $16 for two years or $40 for five 
years.  Each time the person comes in to update the validation 
period there will be a $1.00 charge and a complete search of 
the applicant’s driving record.

When the driver is not operating a commercial motor vehicle, 
he/she can only drive the types of vehicles he/she was valid for 
before the Restricted CDL was issued.  That license type will 
be indicated on the restriction supplement. A person already 
holding a CDL or Commercial Instruction Permit is not eligible 
for a Restricted CDL.

Who is Exempt From CDL in Iowa
Fire Fighters and Police Officers- A volunteer or paid  
firefighter while operating a fire vehicle or a peace officer while 
operating a commercial motor vehicle while executing related 
governmental functions.

Military - Active duty military personnel while operating equip-
ment owned or operated by the Department of Defense.

Recreational Vehicle - A person operating a recreational vehicle 
for personal or family use or a person operating a vehicle with 
less than 26,001 GVWR towing a travel trailer or fifth wheel 
trailer for personal or family use.

Farmers - A farmer or a person working for a farmer while 
operating a commercial vehicle controlled by the farmer within 
150 air miles of the farmer’s farm to transport the farmer’s 
own agricultural products, farm machinery or farm supplies 
to or from the farm.  This also applies to farmers who are 
exchanging services.

Home Care - A home care aide operating a motor vehicle in 
the course of the home care aide's duties.

Tickets/Violations
Federal regulations require that Iowa licensed commercial 
drivers must report ALL violations (except parking violations) 
to their employers within 30 days of conviction, whether the 
driver was operating a commercial or non-commercial vehicle.  
The drivers must also notify the Office of Driver Services, Iowa 
Department of Transportation, P.O. Box 9204, Des Moines, IA 
50306-9204 of any out-of-state violations received, (except 
parking violations), in commercial or non-commercial vehicles.  
Unemployed drivers would notify the Office of Driver Services 
of all violations (except parking violations).  Information re-
quired in this notification includes:  date, location (town and 
state), driver’s name, license number, driver signature, nature 
of violation, and type of vehicle operated.  Individual drivers 
should determine if the requirements found  in sections 383.31 
and 391.27 of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations 
apply to them.
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Disqualifications
The following offenses committed in a CMV or non‑CMV 
will result in a CDL holders disqualification for one year, or 
three years if they happen in a vehicle carrying hazardous 
materials requiring placarding:
	 • 	Operating a motor vehicle under the influence of drugs 

or alcohol;
	 • 	Refusal to submit to a chemical test;
	 • 	Failure to stop and render aid at the scene of an 

accident involving the persons vehicle; 
	 • 	A felony or aggravated misdemeanor involving the 

use of a vehicle other than an offense involving the 
manufacturing or distribution of a controlled substance.

A second offense will result in a lifetime disqualification. 
A first offense of a felony or aggravated misdemeanor 
involving the use of a vehicle involving the manufacturing 
of a controlled substance will result in a lifetime 
disqualification.

The following offenses committed in a CMV will result in a 
disqualification for one year, or three years if they happen in 
a vehicle carrying hazardous materials requiring placarding. 
A second offense will result in a lifetime disqualification.
	 • 	Operating a CMV with a 0.04 blood alcohol 

concentration (BAC);
	 • 	Operating while disqualified;
	 • 	Causing a fatality due to negligent operation.

A person convicted of any two of the following offenses 
while operating a CMV within a three‑year period will be 
disqualified for 60 days, or 120 days for three offenses in a 
three‑year period:
	 • 	Speeding 15 mph or more over the posted limit;
	 • 	Reckless driving
	 • 	Improper or erratic lane change
	 • 	Following too closely
	 • 	Violation of any traffic law in conjunction with a fatal 

accident
	 • 	Driving a CMV without obtaining a CDL
	 • 	Driving a CMV without a valid CDL in the driver’s 

possession
	 • 	Driving a CMV without the proper class of CDL and/or 

endorsements

A conviction of a railroad crossing at grade violation while 
driving a CMV will result in a 60-day disqualification for the 
first conviction; 120 days for a second conviction, and one 
year if convicted of a third or subsequent crossing at grade 
violation:
	 • 	If the driver is not always required to stop at a railroad 

crossing, failing to slow down when approaching the 
crossing and check that the railroad tracks are clear of 
an approaching train before proceeding;

	 • 	If the driver is not always required to stop at a railroad 
crossing, failing to stop before reaching the crossing if 
the railroad tracks are not clear;

	 •	 Failing to refrain from proceeding through a railroad cross-
ing if sufficient space is not available to drive completely 
through the crossing without stopping;

	 •	 Failing to obey a traffic control device or the directions of 
an enforcement official at a railroad crossing;

	 •	 Failing  to have sufficient undercarriage clearance before 
negotiating a railroad crossing.

A person convicted of violating an out-of-service order will 
be disqualified for:
	 • 	90 days for the first conviction;
	 • 	1 year for the first conviction while transportating HM 

requiring placarding or while operating a commercial 
motor vehicle transportating more than 15 passengers, 
including the driver;

	 • 	1 year for the second conviction for separate incidents in 
10 years;

	 • 	3-5 years for the second or subsequent conviction while 
operating a vehicle requiring HM or passenger endorse-
ment;

	 • 	3-5 years for third or subsequent conviction for separate 
incidents in 10 years.  

A person’s commercial privilege is disqualified when the 
driver’s non-commercial privilege is withdrawn (suspended, 
revoked, etc.).

When only the commercial privilege is disqualified, the person 
may obtain a non-commercial license for the period of the 
disqualification.

Once a person chooses to carry a non-commercial license, 
all written and driving tests will be required to regain the com-
mercial privileges.

Federal regulations require all commercial drivers to be part 
of a drug and alcohol random testing program.
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OWI - Operating While 
Intoxicated or Drugged
In addition to the OWI laws that apply to all drivers in Iowa, 
there are special laws that apply to people holding CDLs while 
driving motor vehicles.  These are explained in the “Disquali-
fications” section of this booklet.

Also Iowa has adopted federal regulations which prohibit:
	 • 	Consuming alcohol within four hours of going on duty; 

or 
	 • 	Consuming alcohol while on duty or being under the 

influence or having any measured alcohol concentration 
or any detected presence of alcohol while on duty.

If a driver is found in violation, he/she will immediately be 
placed out of service for 24 hours.

Iowa law includes an Implied Consent Law.  Under this law, 
any peace officer can ask you to submit to a breath test, urine 
test or blood test if the officer feels you may be driving under 
the influence of alcohol or drugs.

If you take the test and fail or refuse to take the test, your 
license can be taken away on the spot!  In either of these 
cases, the officer will issue you an immediate notice of revoca-
tion/disqualification and a 10-day temporary license.

If the tests indicate a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or 
more, you will be issued an immediate notice of revocation and 
a 10-day temporary license.  There is a 48-hour jail sentence 
that is mandatory for your first OWI conviction.  For a second 
conviction there is a 7-day mandatory jail sentence.

If you have a BAC of .08 or more you will lose your license 
for either six months or one year, depending on your prior 
record.

If you refuse to take a chemical test you may lose your license 
for even longer.  If it is your first revocation, you will lose your 
license for one year.  If you have had other revocations for 
related offenses, the revocation is for 2 years.  If you are con-
victed of OWI and have not had your license revoked under 
the implied consent law, you will lose your license for 180 days 
or up to two years, depending on your prior record.

A conviction by the court may result in jail, a fine, or other 
penalty.  This is in addition to the revocation of your driving 
privileges.

If your license is revoked due to operating while under the 
influence of alcohol or a controlled substance, you will be re-
quired to attend a course for drinking drivers and will undergo 
substance abuse evaluation and complete any recommended 
treatment. This must be done at your own expense.

Civil Penalty
If your license is revoked for refusing to submit to a chemical 
test for OWI, having an alcohol concentration of .08 or greater, 
or a conviction of operating while intoxicated or drugged, you 
will have to pay a $200 civil penalty in addition to other rein-
statement fees.  Most non-OWI suspensions or revocations 
now requiire payment of a $200 civil penalty to the DOT before 
reinstatement is allowed.

Open Container Law
Iowa law and federal safety regulations prevent the driver of 
any commercial vehicle from having opened or UNOPENED 
alcohol in the vehicle.  Penalty for violation is a fine and 24 
hours out of service.

It is illegal in Iowa to drive with an open container of beer or 
any other alcoholic beverage if the open container is in the 
passenger compartment including the glove compartment of 
a non-commercial vehicle.  This applies to both drivers and 
passengers. The penalty for violating this open container law 
can be a $100 fine or 30 days in jail.

Work Permits
Work permits (Temporary Restricted Licenses) may not be 
used for operation of a commercial motor vehicle.
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☛   "Seating Capacity" includes the driver
☛   "Gross Vehicle Weight Rating" (GVWR) means the weight specified by the manufacturer as the loaded weight.
☛   "CDL" means Commercial Driver's License - Passenger Endorsement Required

☛  "Gross Vehicle Weight Rating" (GVWR) means the weight specified by the manufacturer as the loaded weight of a single vehicle.
☛ "Gross Combination Weight Rating" (GCWR) means the combined weights specified by the manufacturer as the loaded weight of each vehicle in 

a  combination of vehicles.
☛   "CDL" means Commercial Driver's License.

Iowa Driver Licensing Requirements for Some Common Truck Configurations

Iowa Driver Licensing Requirements for Some Common Passenger Vehicles

A class "C" non-commercial license is the basic operator's license required to drive a passenger car, pickup, small van, etc.

For additional information, call 1-800-532-1121

	 Less than 16,001 lbs.		                  No  towed vehicle		  "C" Non-commercial

	 Less than 16,001 lbs.	 x		  x		  "C" Non-commercial

	 Less than 16,001 lbs.		  x	 x		  "C" Non-commercial

	 Less than 16,001 lbs.		  x		  x	 "A"  CDL

	 16,001 to 26,000 lbs.		                  No  towed vehicle		  "D" Non-commercial

	 16,001 to 26,000 lbs.	 x		  x		  "D" Non-commercial

	 16,001 to 26,000 lbs.		  x		  x	 "A" CDL

	 Over 26,000 lbs.		                  No  towed vehicle		  "B" CDL

	 Over 26,000 lbs.	 x			   x	 "B" CDL

	 Over 26,000 lbs.		  x		  x	 "A" CDL		

Power unit GVWR
Towed vehicle GVWR GCWR

License class
Less than
10,001 lbs.

Over
10,000 lbs.

Less than
26,001 lbs.

Over
26,000 lbs.

	 Less than 16	 x		  x		  "C" Non-commercial

	 Less than 16		  x	 x		  "D" Non-commercial

	 Less than 16		  x	 x		  "D" Non-commercial

		  x	 x	 x		  "C"  CDL

	 Less than 16		  x	 x		  "D" Non-commercial

	 16 or more	 x	 x	 x		  "C" CDL

	 16 or more	 x	 x		  x	 "B" CDL

	 16 or more	 x	 x	 x	        	          "C" CDL

	 16 or more	 x	 x		  x	 "B" CDL

	 16 or more	 x	 x		  x	 "B" CDL	

Typical Vehicle
Driver Status GVWR

License class
Volunteer Paid Less than

26,001 lbs.
Over

26,000 lbs.

Seating Capacity

Less than 16
(Handicap equipped 

over 10,000 lbs. GVWR)

Towed vehicle affects license class
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Notes: 
Commercial Driver's License (CDL) endorsements and restrictions apply to "tow truck alone" operation at all times.

When the towing operation is an emergency "first move" from the site of a highway malfunction or accident to the nearest 
appropriate repair facility, then no CDL endorsements apply to the towed vehicle.

When the towing operation is a “subsequent move” from one repair or disposal facility to another, then endorsements to the 
vehicle being towed are required. Exception: A tow truck operator need not possess a passenger endorsement to tow a 
passenger commercial motor vehicle.

"Gross Vehicle Weight Rating" (GVWR) means the weight specified by the manufacturer as the loaded weight of a single 
vehicle.
"Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) means the combined weights specified by the manufacturer as the loaded 
weight of each vehicle in a combination of vehicles.

Iowa Operator Licensing
Typical Tow Truck Configurations
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The chauffeur's license is NOT valid as a Commercial Driver's License

Attention Chauffeurs :
•  a volunteer firefighter or volunteer ambulance driver 

while operating a fire, ambulance or rescue vehicle;
•  a Department of Corrections or a Department of Hu-

man 	Services employee transporting persons in an 
automobile.

 
The class "D" (chauffeur's) license will have an endorse-
ment on the license according to the type of vehicle in 
which the test was taken.

Endorsements:
1. Truck-tractor semitrailer combination. (Also valid for 

endorsements "2" & "3").
2. Vehicle with GVWR 16,001 or more pounds (not to exceed 

26,000 pounds), not valid for truck-tractor semitrailer 
combination. (Also valid for endorsement "3").

3. Passenger vehicle designed to carry 15 or fewer per-
sons, including the driver.

A class "D" license is also valid to operate a private pas-
senger car or other  vehicles, except a motorcycle or a 
vehicle requiring specific licensing to operate.

Iowa law requires  the following drivers to possess a class 
"D" (chauffeur's) license unless they possess a Com-
mercial Driver's License valid for the vehicle when:

•  transporting 15 or fewer persons (including driver) for 
wages, compensation or hire;

•  operating a farm truck-tractor or tractor-trailer within 
150 air miles of the farm and while transporting farm 
products to or from that farm;

•  operating a single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight 	
rating (GVWR) specified by the manufacturer of 16,001- 
26,000 pounds.

Persons exempt from class "D" (chauffeur's) license 
requirements are:
•  military personnel while on active duty and while operat-

ing military vehicles;
•  a farmer or farmer's hired help while operating a truck, 

other than a truck-tractor, owned by the farmer and used 
to transport the farmer's own products or property; 

•  a person operating a farm tractor or implement of  
husbandry to or from the home farm to any adjacent 
or nearby land;
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Class "D" license fees: $16 - 2 years / $40 - 5 years (initial and renewal)



CDL skill/driving tests are given at the DOT sites listed below. 
Some Iowa County Treasurers also offer the CDL skill/driving tests. 

Contact the local offices for availability and times.
You may also check the Web site: www.dot.state.ia.us/mvd/ods/dlsites.htm

Visit our Web site at: www.dot.state.ia.us

Driver Services telephone numbers:
1-800-532-1121
515-244-9124

Motor Vehicle Enforcement telephone numbers:
Commercial Vehicle Information 1-800-925-6469 

Motor Carrier Services 515-237-3264
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Ames................................................................. Tuesday-Saturday
Burlington.......................................................... Tuesday-Saturday
Carroll................................................................ Tuesday-Saturday
Cedar Rapids..................................................... Tuesday-Saturday
Clinton............................................................... Tuesday-Saturday
Council Bluffs..................................................... Tuesday-Saturday
Davenport.......................................................... Tuesday-Saturday
Ankeny............................................................... Tuesday-Saturday
(6310 SE Convenience Blvd, Exit 89, I-35, North of Des Moines)
Dubuque............................................................ Tuesday-Saturday
Fort Dodge........................................................ Tuesday-Saturday
Iowa City............................................................ Tuesday-Saturday 
Marshalltown..................................................... Tuesday-Saturday
Mason City......................................................... Tuesday-Saturday
Muscatine.......................................................... Tuesday-Saturday
Ottumwa............................................................ Tuesday-Saturday
Sioux City.......................................................... Tuesday-Saturday
Spencer............................................................. Tuesday-Saturday
Waterloo............................................................ Tuesday-Saturday

	 Town	   Day



Form	431211
10-04

CERTIFICATION FOR COMMERCIAL DRIVER'S LICENSE

License	#

Audit	#

Date

Clerk

Full	Name Date	of	Birth

Driver's	License	Number Social	Security	Number

			Address 						City 			State 			Zip

I certify that I am either a resident of Iowa or a resident of a country other than the United States or Canada.

I certify that I do not hold a driver's license other than the one to be replaced by	the	commercial	driver's	license.

I	certify	that	the	vehicle	 I	will	operate	 in	 the	driving	skills	 tests	 is	representative	of	 the	 largest	type	of	commercial	motor
vehicle	I	will	operate	for	which	a	commercial	driver's	license	is	required.

I	certify	that	I	am	not	subject	to	any	commercial	driver's	license	disqualification	and	have	not	committed	an	offense	or	act
which	either	alone	or	with	previous	offenses	or	acts	could	result	in	commercial	driver's	license	disqualification.

I	 certify	 that	 I	 am	 not	 subject	 to	 any	 driver's	 license	 suspension,	 revocation,	 cancellation,	 denial,	 or	 bar	 and	 have	 not
committed	 an	 offense	 or	 act	 which	 either	 alone	 or	 with	 previous	 offenses	 or	 acts	 could	 result	 in	 license	 suspension,
revocation,	cancellation,	denial,	or	bar.

INDICATE WHICH STATEMENT APPLIES TO YOU BY PLACING AN "X" IN THE APPROPRIATE SPACE
(ONLY ONE STATEMENT CAN APPLY).

I am subject to and meet the driver qualifications of 49 Code of Federal Regulations, Part 391. (Interstate)

I	am	subject	to	and	meet	the	driver	qualifications	of	49	Code	of	Federal	Regulations,	Part	391,	adopted	pursuant	to
Iowa	Code	Sections	321.449	and	321.450.	(Intrastate)

I	am	not	subject	to	either	of	the	above	driver	qualifications.

I	certify	 the	above	 information	 is	 true.	A	false	statement	will	 result	 in	cancellation	of	my	Iowa	motor	vehicle	 license	and
disqualification	from	operating	a	commercial	motor	vehicle	for	a	period	of	60	days.

*

Signature Date

PERJURY IS A CLASS "D" FELONY PUNISHABLE BY UP TO FIVE (5) YEARS IMPRISONMENT AND A FINE OF
UP TO $7,500. IOWA CODE §720.2, 902.9.

Certifi cation for Commercial Driver's License (Form 431211) must be completed by every person applying for a new or 
duplicate CDL or when upgrading a CDL. In addition to various certifi cations, you must indicate if you are subject to and 
meet driver qualifi cations for interstate or intrastate operation. In some cases a driver may not be subject to either of the 
qualifi cations if exemptions apply.

Defi nitions:
Interstate commerce - moving goods or passengers across a state line, including international boundries, or wholly within 
one state as part of a through movement that originates or terminates in another state or country.

Intrastate commerce - moving goods or passengers solely within the state of Iowa providing those goods and passengers 
originate in Iowa and their destination is within Iowa.

If you are uncertain whether you are subject to these regulations, please call the Offi ce of Motor Vehicle Enforce-
ment Information Line at 800-925-6469 or the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's regional Ames, IA offi ce at 
515-233-7400.
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Federal and state laws prohibit employment and/or public accommodation discrimination on the basis of age, color, creed, 
disability, gender identity, national origin, pregnancy, race, religion, sex, sexual orientation or veteran’s status.  If you believe 

you have been discriminated against, please contact the Iowa Civil Rights Commission at 800-457-4416 or Iowa Department of 
Transportation’s affirmative action officer.  If you need accommodations because of a disability to access the Iowa Department 

of Transportation’s services, contact the agency’s affirmative action officer at 800-262-0003.


