FIRST RESPONDER

L

Certifying Authority	Steve Mercer Bureau of Emergency Medical Services Iowa Department of Public Health Lucas State Office Bldg 321 E 12th St Des Moines IA 50319-0075 Phone: (515) 725-0322 Fax: (515) 725-0318 E-mail: smercer@idph.state.ia.us
Legal Authority	Code of Iowa 147A
Job Description	A first responder uses stabilizing techniques on patients prior to the arrival of an ambulance.
Education & Experience Required	A first responder applicant must be at least 17 years of age, proficient in reading, writing, and speaking English, and must have successfully completed a course in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR). He/she must complete a minimum of 50 classroom hours, complete clinical hours as required by the training program, and successfully complete a state written and practical exam.
Continuing Education	Twelve hours of continuing education are required biennially for certification renewal as well as having a current CPR course completion card.
Examination	Applicants must pass a written and practical examination approved by the state.
Fees	Application:\$20Duration:Two yearsRenewal:NoneExam:\$20 – National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians \$20 – Iowa Department of Public Health
SOC Code, Title, & Avg. Hourly Wage	29-2041 – Emergency Medical Technicians and Paramedics (\$10.88)
Number of Licenses Issued	Total number of certificates active as of December 31, 2003: 2,701 2002: 2,557 2001: 2,871 2000: N/A 1999: N/A 1998: 1,666